Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
You can't get any closer than this without getting wet!

1st Floor Unit Steps from the Beach. $100 Gift Card for Weekly Aug to Nov [#160494] | View Property

Diplomat
Condo, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)
$149 - $207/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (29)

Sort by:
  • Fla lover

    Fla lover

    • Guest Barb D.
    • Date of stay 12/16/13
    • Review Submitted 12/30/13
    Quiet and beautiful views on the beach

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome

    Awesome

    • Guest Jason P.
    • Date of stay 12/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/24/13
    The place was larger than expected and the staff was great. Location is handy, close enough to conveniences but still remote enough to be quiet. but the view and proximity to the beach is the real reason to be here. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Better than the pictures show

    Better than the pictures show

    • Guest Jason P.
    • Date of stay 12/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/12/13
    This was the perfect rental for our family of 4, including 2 infants. The room was larger than expected. We had stayed in some hotel rooms converted to condos but they were much smaller than this unit. The building is showing its age but this room has fresh paint and furniture to brighten up the stay. The location is close enough to the grocery store and a short drive from shops and restaurants. In the end though it's all about the view and being steps (literally) away from the beach complete with amazing sun sets. Highly recommended if this is large enough for your needs. The resort staff were also excellent.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Is was a pleasure speaking with you on the phone. I'm so glad you're family had a great time. I'm sure the twins had fun on the beach and in the pool!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ended up staying longer than we anticipated!

    Ended up staying longer than we anticipated!

    • Guest Amy T.
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 11/20/13
    Very enjoyable, relaxing vacation. Very quiet area right on the beach, which is exactly what we were looking for. The Diplomat is kept spotless, including the pool area. Would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the kind words! We want everyone to enjoy their visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very relaxing stay!

    Very relaxing stay!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/09/13
    • Review Submitted 10/19/13
    We had a nice relaxing vacation. The unit location is great, just steps from the beach! It was clean and had most of what we needed. Nothing fancy or modern, but that does not matter to me. Grocery store is down the road. There was dish soap, but we had to buy a scrub sponge, paper towels and coffee filters, just an FYI. Also make sure to get laundry soap if you want to use those facilities. A grill on the grounds would have been nice also. Wifi was great to have and the signal was great! Overall we would definitely go back and I have no problem giving this unit and complex a thumbs up!

    Owner response: Thanks for you review Shelley! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, a community grill would be nice, we've mentioned that ourselves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Week!

    Great Week!

    • Guest Betty Jo M. (Fayetteville, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    This is a great unit! Very clean! You could not get a better view of the Gulf than this! The pool is nice and the daily maid service was an added bonus! The staff is friendly and always willing to help! A fully stocked kitchen made meals a breeze! Publix is just down the street and had everything you can imagine! This was a great vacation and we would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the very kind comments! Our on site staff work really hard and they will appreciate your feedback. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unpretentious Charm

    Unpretentious Charm

    • Guest Sarah (Coeur d Alene, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 04/20/13
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    How to start this review is tough because everything about our stay in 220 was excellent. We rented the condo for a week long relaxing vacation. The room is just as described and perfectly set up for a couple or a couple with a small child. The beach was about 10 steps from the back door and about 20 steps from the pool. The kitchen was well stocked and we took advantage of it by eating most lunches and dinner there twice. The only downside was the lack of a public BBQ, but had we the desire, I'm sure one of the many friendly guests would have let us borrow theirs. The grounds were well maintained and everyday the staff thoroughly cleaned the outside common areas. The room even had beach chairs and beach toys. I could go on and on but I'll leave at this was one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever taken and that was mostly due to 220 at the Diplomat. A day where your biggest concern is where to start, beach or pool, and what to drink is the perfect day.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the kind words. We love going ourselves. I agree with your comment about the BBQ area. I think it would be nice to have grilling area with a few grills available. You're right, most of the guests I run into there are more than happy to share their grill and a couple of cold drinks to. Were going down for Memorial Day weekend and again in the middle of June and can't wait. Robin, Rachel and I would be glad to host your return visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great week at the Diplomat!

    Great week at the Diplomat!

    • Guest Marg (Michigan)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/06/13
    Thanks, Rodney for a great week at your condo. We love the clean unit and the beach just steps out our door! The staff was very nice - and helpful! Hope to be back again some time!!!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway

    Owner response: Thanks you so much for the kind words! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. I look forward to hosting again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stayed November 2012

    Stayed November 2012

    • Guest Ed (Hollywood, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    Our family just spent 3 great days at the unit and loved it! It is literally less than 10 steps from the beach and you can even hear the waves breaking from inside the apt. Very relaxing mellow atmosphere and good for kids. Well-kept clean unit and friendly staff.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great weekend.

    Great weekend.

    • Guest camogirl13 (Hinesville GA)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/20/12
    My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Unit was well kept and clean. The beachfront location is perfect. We will definitely be back..

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the kind words. It's was our pleasure to host your recent visit to Florida. I hope we get to see you again soon! Robin, Rachel and I have plans to be there for the upcoming holiday weekend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An excellent spot to relax

    Guest comment entered by owner

    An excellent spot to relax

    • Guest Jan & Jean
    • Date of stay 02/18/12
    • Review Submitted 12/14/13
    An excellent spot to relax, very friendly people and staff. Glad we checked our VRBO online. Would certainly recommend this place to everyone coming to Florida.......

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Longboat Key on the Gulf

    Longboat Key on the Gulf

    • Guest Claire (NC)
    • Date of stay 01/06/12
    • Review Submitted 02/01/12
    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this relaxing and beautiful location. It was exactly as described in the listing. The unit was comfortable and clean. Rodney was prompt in responding to emails and questions and we would consider returning here in the future. We found several great restaurants within a few miles of the Diplomat. It's a perfect vacation spot for bikers or walkers with bike paths and sidewalks. The beach was also a nice walk with long sandy beaches. Although it was too cold for ocean swimming in Jan. the heated pool was well maintained.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The BEST EVER!!!

    The BEST EVER!!!

    • Guest Stacy E.
    • Date of stay 08/11/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Affordable...beautiful...clean...relaxing...right on the beach. One of the best vacations my family has ever had. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back again hopefully soon and I am telling everyone I know about it.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks for the kind words! Robin, Rachel and I look forward to the next opportunity to host a few quiet days at the beach.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kent
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 06/29/10
    "Amazing Weekend!" The Diplomat is an older condo unit complex. But it is very well maintained, and clean. The staff is very polite and willing to help you in any way even after hours, they have an em number with a live person that helps you. The unit 220 was renovated very well. Great place for a family vaction or just a weekend get away. We will be going back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Betsy
    • Date of stay 04/02/10
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    "Great location close to everything ," When you arrive you will find the staff helpful and a pleasure to deal with unlike many other Condo they treat you as if you are a owner with concerns for eny need you have. you will find that a family or couple can comfortly stay here. I cannot think of any place in Florida that you will be as close to ocean with comfort and near by shopping and dinning. You will find plenty todo here and the pace is slow for your relaxation and pleasure.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Corry
    • Date of stay 10/23/09
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    "Fantastic Place" Probably one of the best places I have stayed at in Florida. The beach is right outside. The condo was right in the middle of really nice restaurants. I am planning on staying there again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest William
    • Date of stay 10/09/09
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    "Loving Longboat" My wife and I spent a wonderful week in October on Longboat Key. This was our first time to stay at the Diplomat (vacation rental); but our third time visiting Longboat Key. We found the accomidations comfortable and a true value. The beach was "just steps" away. The whole experience was excellent; and we will certainly return in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest William V
    • Date of stay 10/01/09
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    "Loving Longboat" My wife and I spent a wonderful week in October on Longboat Key. This was our first time to stay at the Diplomat (vacation rental); but our third time visiting Longboat Key. We found the accomidations comfortable and a true value. The beach was "just steps" away. The whole experience was excellent; and we will certainly return in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ken & Pam
    • Date of stay 09/22/09
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    "Literally steps from the beach & pool" My husband and I spent a week in this very well kept older resort. We would definitely go back. At the time we visited, we practically had the beach to ourselves as well as the well maintained pool and surrounding grounds. The beach is literally right out the back door of the unit and the pool is just a few steps away. The unit has a convenient floor plan and was just the right size for two adults. The on site management was helpful. In our dealings with Mr. Jolley everything was handled professionally and smoothly. We found some interesting restaurants fairly close and St. Armands was within an easy drive for shopping and more dining. As a bonus, we had the pleasure of sandpipers and various other birds that greeted us in the mornings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Victoria
    • Date of stay 09/04/09
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    "Beautiful views and comfortable space" This unit is very nice and is ideal for a young couple with children who will be spending most of their time in the lovely pool or on the beach. It would be a bit crowded for more than two adults although we did manage. The staff were pleasant. It is a nice value in a good location. Be aware that if you come in mid September that many of the restaurants that are promoted as their best are not open. I would consider that if you are a foodie before planning to make the trip at that time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Caroline
    • Date of stay 06/26/09
    • Review Submitted 06/25/09
    We had the perfect holiday/vacation and the apartment exceeded our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only problem was having to leave & come home, I'm missing waking up in the morning to open the door & walk onto the beach! Thank you so much for a wonderful time. Kind regards, Caroline

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bill & Susan Bland
    • Date of stay 05/15/09
    • Review Submitted 05/14/09
    Just wanted to let you know that my husband and I had a GREAT time the week of May 2nd!!! We met a group of people who has been coming to the Diplomat for 20 years. We had a ball! Most likely will be back May 1, 2010!!!! Perfect accomodations!!! Exactly what we were looking for. Thank you for sharing with us!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kellie Yates
    • Date of stay 04/07/09
    • Review Submitted 04/06/09
    Rodney, Your place was better than expected. The pictures just don't do it justice! We arrived a day early and the office was able to schedule us in the room next door for one night. The view was amazing and it was so nice be able to walk right out of the room to the beach. We especially enjoyed the fact that this was not the typical "spring break" crowd. At times it seemed we were the only ones on the beach, which is exactly what we were looking for. We look forward to returning to your unit which was nicely updated and perfect for the two of us! Thanks for your cooperation and we look forward to returning. Kellie & Steven

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Longboat Key, Florida

    Longboat Key, Florida

    • Guest Ocean Lover 3 (Granite Bay, Ca)
    • Date of stay 02/13/09
    • Review Submitted 02/27/09
    Like it says, you can't get any closer to the beach & ocean than this! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & the staff was quite helpful when we asked for more hangers & to print our boarding passes. Linens were changed daily. On the negative side, our socks were filthy from walking on the floor, it needed to be washed. A pizza pan and cutter would have been appreciated as would a larger roasting type pan and more silverware. There was only one chair to sit comfortably in, other than the straight backed dining chairs. However; the bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and the sounds of the ocean were great! We enjoyed the Dockside Grill and St. Armand's Circle. Longboat Key is beautifully maintained and I would visit it again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I always appreciate guest comments. Please let me know immediately if you’re missing anything or your room hasn't been properly serviced. The staff is there to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Sometimes our winter guests forget each unit is individually owned so they take silverware, dishes etc back and forth between units and forget to bring them back. The “gremlins” must have gotten a few items.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 01/13/09
    • Review Submitted 01/12/09
    I recently viewed available units at the Diplomat on Longboat Key. It had been a while since my last visit to the Diplomat. I was very impressed with how well the property has been maintained. The building has just been painted and looks very nice. I have got to say it is one of the more attractive vacation properties in the area. Great for anyone looking for an entry level condo on Longboat Key with beach views. The views are absolutely the best you will find for the money on Longboat. Perry J. Corneau, Lic Real Estate Broker, Sarasota

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Diane Butts
    • Date of stay 11/10/08
    • Review Submitted 11/09/08
    Thanks! I’m glad your enjoyed your stay! Please keep me in mind for next time. From: Diane Butts Sent: Sunday, November 09, 2008 12:59 PMTo: Jolley, RodneySubject: Vacation Hi Rodney, Just a line to tell you how much Jack & I enjoyed our week at your beach place. It was even nicer than the pictures suggested. Had a nice chat with the owner of #216. He & his wife invited me in to see their place. Had 2 cloudy days, but there is always plenty to do down there. Take care, & hopefully we can rent your place in the future.Thanks,Diane

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jennifer & Eric Simmons
    • Date of stay 10/21/08
    • Review Submitted 10/20/08
    Hi Rodney. Thank you again for having us this Fall. We had a great time and truly enjoyed your place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/09/08
    This room was great for me and my husband. The view is beautiful and the beaches are gorgeous. We had a very relaxing vacation! We will definetely rent this place in the future!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/08/08
    Ahhhh. That's all I need to say. We had a great week at the beach and it was everything Rodney promised. The unit was right on the beach, it was neat, clean and just what we needed. Longboat Key was nothing like staying at a tourist destination. It was more like a small beach town that few people have discovered.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]