Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sandy beach for miles...low bluff...water view from every window

L*U*X*U*R*Y Lake Michigan Sandy Beach W/Hot Tub! Book for Fall/2014 [#161523] | View Property

Manistee
House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths (Sleeps 14)
From $275/nt - $4250/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (20)

Sort by:
  • What a wonderful winter experience!

    What a wonderful winter experience!

    • Guest Jerry H.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/02/14
    We stayed at Eagles Shores for 3 wintery nights. It is right on Lake Michigan and we were able to watch the icy edge of the shoreline grow each day. The house is spacious and has three levels. A beautiful two story view of Lake Michigan. It is very clean and offers all the comforts of home along with a gorgeous lake view! Consider car pooling as the driveway does not hold many cars. The owner is easy to work with and an experienced rental owner. We would recommend this to a large family that wants to spend time together, no matter what season it is.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect for the whole family

    Perfect for the whole family

    • Guest Alli (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 11/01/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    My family had an excellent time at this beautiful house! We were celebrating my parents' birthdays and turned the events into a really enjoyable family vacation. The house was big, beautiful, and clean- with plenty of space for us all to be together (cooking in the big kitchen, eating at the dining room table, or playing games in front of the fireplace in the living room) and also plenty of space for us all to have time apart (having our own bedrooms and bathrooms made it feel like we were instantly "at home"). The location is fantastic- right on the water with views of the lake from every bedroom (so no one gets a bummer room!). I think my family is already thinking about next year...

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: We are always so glad to hear that our guests have had a great time and want to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Romantic getaway

    Romantic getaway

    • Guest Ella (Brownsburg, In)
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/25/13
    This place is definitely for people who love Lake Michigan! Perfect view, perfect sandy beach. Gorgeous sunsets! Loved watching the waves and hearing them at night in my sleep. Even got proposed to on the shores of the beach at sunset. (I said yes!) Secluded area, warm fireplace for chilly nights. Not far from local Manistee or lighthouse looking or leaf peeping in the Fall. Only part I would change is the spotty wifi "Lake Michigan" connection. My cell phone tower wasnt available and I had such exciting news! Ha! I guess I had to wait until vacation was over to share it. Oh well it was for the best. When you want away from it all this is the place! Thanks for sharing your home Eileen!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: I'm so happy for the newly engaged couple and glad that their stay was the perfect spot to enjoy Lake Michigan in the fall and to get engaged. Regarding the spotty cell coverage, I just discovered that when someone has an iPhone (vs an android), the password needed is the one on the modem not the one I created...something about the difference between a WPA2 and and WEP (???) Anyway, thanks to great communication between me and my guests, I have now figured out why some people (iPhone users) have problems connecting!!! All fixed!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Go for the view and the privacy!

    Go for the view and the privacy!

    • Guest KM66 (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 09/03/13
    • Review Submitted 09/17/13
    Eileen - Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home on Lake Michigan. The house was spotless, included every amenity we could ask for, and the views of the lake from the bedrooms and living area were fantastic. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves, the short walk through the bluff to the beach, the well-stocked kitchen and comfortable living room furniture. One minor quibble: the wifi is very weak at the lake house (not sure if the apt. is better as we did not try that), so if you MUST have connectivity you may be disappointed. Just accessing email was spotty, and forget trying to download pics on a webpage or search. We could have cared less, as we were there to relax and get away from work, but it is something other travelers may wish to know so they are not surprised. Everything else was oerfection!! Hope to return next year...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm glad you enjoyed our home and am sorry about your difficulty with the wifi. You were most likely trying to access the "cottage" next door which is open and is picked up weakly. The wifi in the house is called "lakemichigan" and requires the access code noted in the house folder as well as emails. I will make sure to make that distinction more prominent because I want your experience to be the absolute best!! Thanks for letting me know because that's the only way I can fix it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beach Access and Views are Perfect!

    Beach Access and Views are Perfect!

    • Guest Cara M. (Glenview, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/28/13
    I was part of an extended-family trip to this lovely home, which included little ones (as young as 1) and older ones (as old as 73). Everyone can enjoy this home as the access to the beach is so easy. The hot tub is great for days when the weather isn't perfect. The location of the home is great as well. We canoed, went to a winery, walked the river walk, and hiked Sleeping Bear Dunes. However, the best times were just lounging on the beach with loved ones (in the sun or over a bonfire). You will not be disappointed in this home. The views are just amazing! No worries at this home! The owner is very helpful and welcoming.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The perfect place for ANY group!

    The perfect place for ANY group!

    • Guest Brian M.
    • Date of stay 05/02/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    We visited this magnificent Lake Michigan home for a golf trip that took us to Arcadia Bluffs, only 15 minutes North. The group I brought to the home was blown away by the amenities and the cleanliness of the home. Eileen take sgreat pride in her rental properties and it shows. We rented the entire home including the apartment, as well as the home next door. The two homes comfortably accomodated our group of 16. We loved being centrally located to Manistee National Golf Course and Arcadia Bluffs. We also found time to play the Heathlands which is a local course in great condition. I would reccommend this house to any large group for a number of activities (golf, hunting, family reunions, beach bums). If I had to list a con about this property, I would say that parking is a little tight, so take that into consideration when arranging your travel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are so glad when large groups have enjoyed our two adjacent homes. (The review actually applies to our HA listing #179429 that features details for both homes that can sleep up to 27.) Our northern Michigan location is perfect for golfers because of the numerous clubs that are within 15 minutes. And then, of course, there is our beautiful all sand, private beach that may appeal to the non-golfers as well as shopping within 5 miles. Regarding the parking, we offer 2 driveways and allow a total of 8 cars for both homes. For those groups that are in need of additional parking, I encourage you to contact me as I have a couple of options that may allow for more vehicles.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We loved everything about Eagle Shores.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We loved everything about Eagle Shores.

    • Guest Pam
    • Date of stay 06/20/12
    • Review Submitted 06/26/12
    It was the perfect way to celebrate my recent retirement from teaching. We even saw an eagle from our windows! The house is beautiful and spacious. Our own private beach on Lake Michigan was super. Our grandchildren swam and played on the beach all day- every day (except for our two trips to the dunes north and south of Manistee) We had some very warm weather during our stay, so the lake felt great even for the middle of June. One night the grandchildren were still swimming at 9:00pm. We think that they are growing gills! We felt lucky that our stay was during the longest days of the year. Longer days meant more time to play!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Why reviews are submitted by me, the owner

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Why reviews are submitted by me, the owner

    • Guest Eileen and Michael SanFilippo, owners
    • Date of stay 12/29/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    My guests have been submitting their reviews to a link I gave them that had been set up in 2008. I only recently discovered that those reviews were not on my site. I checked with Homeaway and was told that in the spring of 2010 a guest could submit a review via the Homeaway site but needed to create a homeaway account. I guess I need to change my review requests but in the meantime, here are some reviews of our home on Lake Michigan. Of course, feel free to call me anytime with questions. And thanks for your interest!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our stay at Eagle Shores was absolutely perfect.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Our stay at Eagle Shores was absolutely perfect.

    • Guest Julia, Chicago IL
    • Date of stay 11/09/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    The house was ideal for our needs and wonderfully equipped with everything we could have asked for. During our stay we had sunshine, rain, wind, snow..and we loved it all. We played on the beach every day, traveled to all the wonderful towns we love in the area, visited the local fruit markets..but mostly we just spent quality time together in a beautiful, well loved home ..with a view that was nothing short of spectacular. Your home provided a much needed respite for us and we are so thankful to have discovered it. Thank you for your hospitality and for sharing your beautiful home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review submitted to owner

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Review submitted to owner

    • Guest Deb, East Lansing, MI
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    The house is even better than it looks in the pictures! There was plenty of room for 10 of us. The beach is beautiful and the sunsets are amazing! I would highly recommend this house. Owner Submitted Review Helpful votes:0/0.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • submitted to owner

    Guest comment entered by owner

    submitted to owner

    • Guest Harry, Hoffman Estates, IL
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    We rented this property for our family of 10 for memorial day weekend. Everyone loved this place! The house is in a fantastic location and the beach is literally steps away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will plan on being back here as soon as we can.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family weekend

    Family weekend

    • Guest ms confetti (MI)
    • Date of stay 12/30/10
    • Review Submitted 01/03/11
    This house/cottage is a beautiful place to rent. The view of Lake Michigan is awesome; the place beautiful and well equipped; plenty of room to spread out; great place to walk on the beach and across the street in the forest. Eileen is very gracious and helpful. We would highly recommend Eagle Shores for anytime of the year.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • submitted to owner

    Guest comment entered by owner

    submitted to owner

    • Guest Nick , St. Louis, MO
    • Date of stay 12/28/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    We rented this house and the apartment below over Christmas with our family. It was perfect for us, and more than large enough to be comfortable in winter. The house is gorgeous and the location is even better. The view of the lake provided constant entertainment —including bald eagles and deer. Owner Submitted Review Helpful votes:0/0.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • submitted to owner

    Guest comment entered by owner

    submitted to owner

    • Guest Beth, Dowagiac, MI
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    We are a group of eight ladies that had the most enjoyable girlfriend getaway that we've experienced in our 8 years of getaways. We will definitely return next year - the Fall is such a beautiful time to be "up north". When 8 ladies are happy, you know you have really hit a winner; thanks again, Eileen.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful, Relaxing, Beautiful

    Peaceful, Relaxing, Beautiful

    • Guest 5inourfamily (Great Lakes)
    • Date of stay 05/21/10
    • Review Submitted 05/27/10
    This property is top-notch. The home is lovely, the beach/landscape are gorgeous, and the atmosphere is very peaceful and serene. Eileen is a wonderful host. She makes herself available if you have questions or concerns, but is very respectful of your privacy. The house is very well stocked with all the necessities as well as many extras. Things that are less often thought of -- like tweezers, kitchen tools/gadgets, spices, etc. are here if you need them. If you love to go for nice, long, private beach walks; enjoy seeing deer come to the water's edge for a drink; and are awestruck by the sight of eagles flying/nesting in the trees down the beach, you won't be disappointed. Thank you, Eileen, for sharing this lovely home with us once again. We'll be back next spring!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Christine88 (Clawson, MI)
    • Date of stay 09/09/09
    • Review Submitted 09/09/09
    This place was amazing!! We have rented 4 years in a row from Eileen, she is wonderful. Awesome beach, huge, gorgeous house, everything you could want! We WILL be back next year!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Beth C.1 (South Bend, IN)
    • Date of stay 05/24/09
    • Review Submitted 05/24/09
    Even though I saw pictures I still said "WOW!" when I walked through the door. It was everything I imagined it would be. The kitchen, great room, master bedroom, and deck were outstanding. The wireless access was great to have with all the other amenities. The owners had excellent communication during the reservation process. They always responded in a timely manner, and provided excellent information to make the check in process simple. We are definitely going back for another weekend. I can't remember the last time I was so relaxed. This home gets 5 stars. It's worth every penny regardless if the weather decides to cooperate...or not!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/20/08
    • Review Submitted 10/20/08
    Although the weather was cold, windy and rainy, we greatly enjoyed our stay. This newly constructed home is beautifully appointed, cozy and comfortable with a fantastic view and private access to Lake Michigan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 10/07/08
    • Review Submitted 10/07/08
    What an excellent place! Great location, right on the beach. Unreal sunsets, close to nice restaurants, state parks, the dunes, nature trails. A beautiful new home, great fireplace, comfortable master bdrm suite. Even has Wifi. Everything in the house was clean, comfortable, labeled and easy to use. We will definetely recommend this house to our friends and hope to visit again soon! Thanks, Steve & Lisa, IL.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Deb Trombly (Fenton, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 07/23/08
    • Review Submitted 07/23/08
    Eagles Shores was by far the best beach house I've ever rented. I highly recommend anyone wanting to get away to consider this place. 5 stars from me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]