Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Waterfront Vacation Home for the Whole Family, Pets Welcomed [#161757] | View Property

Freeport
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)
$1350-$3250/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Maine vacationer

    Maine vacationer

    • Guest Rusty (Brookline, Ma)
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/14/13
    Definitely the nicest vacation house we've ever been too - Everything in beautiful condition - gorgeous water views from living room, kitchen and bedrooms - Huge kitchen with top-of-the-line equipment and appliances -Fenced yard - great for kids and dogs - Kitchen A lot of luxuries you wouldn't expect ! Can't wait to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Maine Mutt Mansion

    Maine Mutt Mansion

    • Guest Jim B (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    Great house, nice condition. Plenty of room for 8, a stretch for 9 (there are fold out couch/futon things in an open area). Only one bedroom downstairs. Older travelers should be aware there are stairs. Kayaks are a lot of fun, but difficult to get down to water. Not sure if there were instructions I missed. In any case at high-ish tide you can roam around the entire inlet area. Beautiful. I wish I would have been able to bring dogs as they have dog bowls and beds for them. Overall, very nice place. I can recommend it.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Vacation Ever!

    Best Vacation Ever!

    • Guest Debbie (Kansas)
    • Date of stay 05/09/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    My first time renting over the internet. I must admit I was a little nervous, but this was the best experience. Owners were so helpful and responsive to my questions. We had 8 adults and plenty of space. Plus our dog Bosley. Photos don't do this place justice. It was beautiful and clean. Well supplied in every area. Check out all the area attractions listed. So much to do. The best though was our seafood night at the house. Beautiful water views and so peaceful. We definitely want to go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A PERFECT getaway

    A PERFECT getaway

    • Guest JnJ (Ocracoke NC)
    • Date of stay 01/24/13
    • Review Submitted 02/25/13
    We rented this home knowing it was January in Maine. We were looking for quiet and comfortable--did we ever find it! We LOVED staying here. The house was simpy amazing--the kitchen had everything we needed for cooking comfort foods--and there were even back ups if something didn't work! The house could not have been better stocked. We even left a bunch of spices and seasonings to add to the collection. Here's the one downside to MMM--you won't want to leave the house EVER! We build a fire every day and sat and admired the view for hours. We have recommended the house to friends and family who might vacation in Maine in the future. A great BIG thank you to the owners--your house is: Lovely. Warm. Inviting. Comfortable. Well stocked. Honestly, I can say enough about the house and it's location. And yes, our dogs LOVED it as much as we did. I think there were some cries as we pulled out of the driveway for the last time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Amazing experience

    Amazing experience

    • Guest Family with pup (HOBBS)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/02/11
    This was our favorite trip to Maine and we spend so much time in this extraordinary home watching the sun set, tide come in and out. Fully stocked with everything you need and such a warm wonderful place. Our dog absolutely loved the deck and spent a lot of time just lounging in the sun watching the sea birds. Quick drive to Freeport which has fab shopping and restaurants. Also the kids loved going to Portland to go out on the lobster boat. Highly recommend the area, the home and the experience. Shannon, Greg, Sarah, Allison and TITUS, the dog

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Mutts Up!

    Mutts Up!

    • Guest Tom B.
    • Date of stay 07/16/11
    • Review Submitted 07/26/11
    Awsome! We can only echo other reviews. Private, peaceful, expansive home with beautiful deck view of cove. Well equipped with top-line accessories. Dinner on deck (including local lobster) was better than in a restaurant - especially with a table overlooking the water. Trips to Freeport, Wolf Neck Park (good hiking trails), local golf courses, and even a Sea Dog (Boston Red Socks farm club) game in Portland were some of the activities enjoyed by our group.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Pure Heaven

    Pure Heaven

    • Guest Doug (Short Pump, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/21/11
    Our stay at Mutt Mansion exceeded any expectations. The owners have delivered in their attempt to provide a care-free vacation. Too many good things to cover. The accomodations are off the charts nice. Word to the wise - stake an early claim to the king sized bed upstairs or downstairs queen as they both swallow you in comfort. We slept 8 comfortably. The kitchen offers anything you need and the "use what you need, but replace what you use" pantry is a nice touch. Highly recommend the Bow Street Market for shopping. We spent the nights working on puzzles, watching movies and playing games (all provided) Take advantage of the opportunity to trek through the woods, ride bikes (provided), kayak (provided), or hunt for mussels at low tide. Our kids (20 & 18) and parents absolutely had a blast and rank this vacation as the tops (sorry Cape Cod and Charleston). Why imagine a beautiful sunset on the expansive deck while dining on fresh caught steamed mussels when you can have the real McCoy. Saw a deer, 2 fox, and a bald eagle around the house. Centrally located for day trips to Boothbay, Wiscasset, Portland, Pemaquid, and Bailey's Island. I ate fish & chips 5 times in 8 days while my father-in-law averaged a lobster roll per day. My only complaint is directed at a resident crow who found it necessary to wake me each morning between 5:03 - 5:11 (sunrise). The complaint is short-lived as the crow provided a wake-up call to get in my daily jog (fyi - it's 1.5 miles to Flying Point Road) or kayak trip prior to heading to Bow Street Market for blueberry muffin tops. If we can figure a way to include our 2 bassett hounds, they'll be on the next trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Maine Memories

    Maine Memories

    • Guest Maine Lovers (Bowie, Maryland, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/07/10
    Maine has become our favorite place to be in the fall, sharing it with special friends. This year we stayed at the "Mutt Mansion" - picture perfect,literally. The home is simply beautiful, warm, and welcoming. The view of the bay is phenomenal and can be enjoyed from almost every room. We were able to relax and enjoy a cozy fire while viewing a spectacular sunset! This year's Maine memories are ones we will treasure and hope to return to stay at this special place on Casco Bay. To the owners: thanks for sharing your Maine mansion - it's the perfect getaway.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful

    Beautiful

    • Guest Satisfied Sisters (Wakefield, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 12/29/10
    My sisters and I go away for a weekend each year and we were lucky enough to stay at the Maine Mutt Mansion this year. Sitting on the deck, watching the sunset was just two great things we did. Everything was supplied for your stay. I am hoping to rent again soon. If you bring a dog(s) everything is also supplied for their needs. Almost don't want people to know how nice it was since it will never be available. Great place!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • WORLDS BEST VACATION HOUSE1

    WORLDS BEST VACATION HOUSE1

    • Guest Rusty (Brookline, Ma)
    • Date of stay 08/14/10
    • Review Submitted 10/28/10
    This is truly the nicest house we have rented - ever! it's very spacious, the water views are amazing, and everything is meticulously maintained. The kitchen equipment is extensive - (who ever heard of 3 coffee pots?) and everything is top-of-the line. There are 2 beautiful master bedrooms, both with decks off. The upstairs master has an enormous entertainment center - big enough for 2 families to watch movies together with plenty of room left over! There are terrific places to walk and bike - and of course - great discount shopping in Freeport (10 minutes away) There are too many amenities to enumerate - wait till you see the dog amenities - really amazing! Freeport has 2 lobster pounds (go early as the lines get really long at dinner hour), but the best restaurants are in Portland (1/2 hour away0 our favorite is "The Street" If you simply want to chill, hang out on the deck with a glass of wine - HEAVEN!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Carolyn (Easthampton MA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 09/08/10
    Our family absolutely LOVED this house for our vacation this summer. Upon arrival, we soon realized that it exceeded our expectations from the location, amount of space and amenities to the view and anything else you can think of! We felt at home and were quite content to just be there. Even though two kayaks are provided, our children were not old enough to paddle on their own so we rented a canoe from a local marina in order to experience the bay (they dropped it off at the house on Monday and picked it up on Friday....very convenient!). Our one year old golden retriever, Lucy, loved it as well and thoroughly enjoyed her jaunt down to the water to swim at high tide and go mudding at low tide! As many thumbs up as we can give this house as well as the ease and pleasure of the entire rental process with Susanne.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly Maine

    Heavenly Maine

    • Guest Jane H. (Beaufort, SC)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/14/10
    My family and I (11 people) stayed at this home for the 4th of July week. The first impression of the house is WOW! You walk in to a beautiful water view which follows you into almost every room in the house. We had plenty of room for everyone and the kitchen was wonderful. Our only complaint was the heat - little did we know that our week we had planned for so long turned out to be the hottest weather Maine has seen in ten years. Nevertheless, the comfort of the house and the location - just a hop and skip from the mega shopping in Freeport - was wonderful. Thank you for letting us use your beautiful home. This house was better than advertised and was very well-maintained. If you've never been to Maine or if you just love it, try this home for your trip. Quiet location. We sat on the deck and watch osprey flying overhead. We loved it. One must is you have to have a car.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful house in a lovely location

    Wonderful house in a lovely location

    • Guest Reid and Hollis (Plymouth, MA)
    • Date of stay 04/21/10
    • Review Submitted 05/04/10
    My husband and I and our 13 year old pug stayed at the Maine Mutt Mansion this spring and we can't say enough wonderful things about it. It's a fabulous house, in a terrific location, with wonderful amenities. The furnishings were all top notch and the kitchen a dream for those who like to cook. Everything is as described, but the location at the end of a private road can't be beat. You really do feel as if you are far away from it all. And it's absolutely spic and span...nothing out of place or needing to be cleaned. This house has TONS of charm and is appointed with lots of personal photos and memorablia. It's as if someone has invited you into their private home for a rest. Unlike other houses we have rented in the past, this one didn't come with a list of "don'ts". In fact, the owners go out of their way to provide for most everything you might need, including dog beds in just about every room. Our pug was very happy. We enjoyed watching all the wildlife, especially the baby ducks, come into the cove to feed. We were not so thrilled with the bear we heard ROAR one night, very late. At that point we were thankful that the deck is elevated! I would HIGHLY recommend this house for either small groups or a large family gathering. We went to just get away from it all, and the weather wasn't warm enough to use the thoughtfully provided kayaks. But we did enjoy sitting on the deck as well as watching the sunset from various locations in the house. We loved it so much we are hoping to return in the fall for another week! Thank you, Susanne, for having such a charming house and allowing us to stay there!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great House near Freeport

    Great House near Freeport

    • Guest Regular Maine Visitor (New York)
    • Date of stay 07/11/09
    • Review Submitted 07/22/09
    My wife and I recently stayed here for one week with two friends. The house fits the description, is very clean and well-maintained, and has many wonderful points. The wrap-around deck facing the water (and small deck above, off corner bedroom) was fabulous, with a nice Adirondack chairs and two tables with folding umbrellas - perfect for morning coffee, whiling away an afternoon, or having an outdoor meal on nice evenings. Interior furnishings are all very nice; so many rentals often seem furnished with hand-me-downs - not here! In particular, 1st floor master is great. Kitchen/dining layout is excellent (half bath off kitchen a real plus), although for such a beautifully appointed kitchen (presumably for those that love to cook, like us!), there were strange gaps in what was provided (no measuring cup for liquids - we bought one and left it behind; only one rack in oven; no wooden/large spoons for stirring) - but these are very minor things in a fantastic space. The owner generously provides many other items (e.g. paper towels). The large garage was a great bonus, but be sure to park only small cars on the left side - curve of driveway is a bit tight, and could be very tricky to maneuver into/out of that side with large car/SUV. We didn't use the two smaller upstairs bedrooms, but they'd be perfect for kids; the bedroom with the deck facing the water is particularly nice. The upstairs master is huge, but could use an armoir or two (there's no closet). Pool table and kayaks: two thumbs up!! Overall, we'd definitely recommend this house to a friend. A few minor issues: 1) if the outdoor grill runs out of gas (as it did the first time we tried to grill, before we could put our food on!), it is up to you to fill the tank at your own expense. Unless you grill out every night of the week, spending $20-30 for a single use (and financing the rest of the summer for other renters) is expecting a bit much; perhaps the owner could stock an extra filled propane tank (?); 2) instructions from the owner could perhaps be clearer regarding garbage/recycling (cans were outside and not marked; never sure if they were ours!). These are very minor items though, and easily remedied.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/09
    • Review Submitted 02/15/09
    We have just spent our 2cd winter trip to the "Maine Mutt Mansion" and we, my husband and I as well as the most important family member out Brittany Spaniel. Maggie loved every moment both time! Our first winter trip in 2008 we loved watching the tide come in and out and the Canadian geese come close to shore...Maggie was sure she could catch one, she never did LOL... This year after a year of planning Maggie learned that the bay can and does ice over and hence no geese to try to catch! But we still had fun walking in the woods, finding that mushroom grow on trees in the snow, breathtaking sunsets, reading by the fire and just relaxing... We cant say enough positive good things about this house, if you have any questions you want to ask a two time guest call or email us.... Beth and Suzanne are the perfect host who go above and beyond to make your vacation an event you will talk about all year and look forward to coming back to.... the Maine Mutt Mansion is our home away from home in Maine! thanks again the Landry family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Can't Go Wrong Here

    Can't Go Wrong Here

    • Guest Maineman (Pittsburgh, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 08/30/09
    Organized, clean, maintained, quality furnishings considering rental home. Appreciated permitting our pet lab to stay. Roomy, attractive, nice setting, quiet end of road. In a Maine perspective, close to area attractions. Most meals prepared in house (Maine fare--lobster, haddock, blueberry pie, mussel & clam, etc). Too expensive to take whole families to dinner. Bought seafood at DAY's seafood shack on Rt. 1. Bay st. grocery was very handy. We would like to come back again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • My Dream House

    My Dream House

    • Guest Lisa&Rodney (Waterloo, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/07/08
    • Review Submitted 07/01/08
    Well, our stay in June at this beautiful house was more than I could have asked for. This house was truly my dream house from top to bottom. Wonderfully kept, beautiful furnishings, quiet and peaceful setting, beautiful views...I could go on and on. Thanks for allowing us a wonderful week in your gorgeous home! Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful vacation home

    Wonderful vacation home

    • Guest Newton (Topsham Maine)
    • Date of stay 06/07/08
    • Review Submitted 06/18/08
    My family and I loved every minute of our stay in this beautiful well kept waterfront home. The property is clean, neat, and charming, and proved to be the perfect place to relax and take in the beautiful scenery on the quiet cove. This house made the perfect place for our family reunion and I would not hesitate to rent this home a second time in the future.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]