Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
'Cabanas Potosi'

Inexpensive Ecological Mountain Cabins Birders Welcome! [#162797] | View Property

El Valle de Anton (Crater Valley)
Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 3)
$56/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Great little hideaway in the Valle

    Great little hideaway in the Valle

    • Guest Ronald B.
    • Date of stay 01/16/14
    • Review Submitted 01/25/14
    The wentholds are such lovely people! Their passions for the environment, the birds, and the region of el Valle is inspiring! The accomodations are modest and clean . It can be a bit noisy when the winds are howling at night and the Roosters awaken you in the morning, but I find that charming. If you need it perfectly quiet to sleep, you should not stay here...although you will be sorry that you didn't put up with the "charm"...really! It was such a delightful place...we will return Dennis and Maria!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Of course it is windy in El Valle. It always is during dry season at 3,000 feet. Yes, you hear the roosters because this is in the interior of Central America not a large city. If you like to immerse into the natural rain forest, Cabanas Potosi is beautiful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • great experience

    great experience

    • Guest Brigitte (Framingham, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/11/13
    Me and my daughter stayed at Cabana Potosi, for 3 days and it was a wonderfull time, the owner gave us a lot of tips and a map what to do in the area, recomended restaurants and helped us getting into town. She also spoke very good English. The property was very clean. The house was nice with a fan, refrigerator, warm water, shower, and toilet. The garden was much better than the photos showed. We could relax in hammocs and look at the nice, well-maintained garden. They knew a lot about the animals around, especially birds. They are very concerned about the enviroment especially cleaning up the town (which is not very developed yet in the rest of Panama) . We went hiking, looking for waterfalls, square trees and had some very good food at the local restaurants. It is a 20 min. walk from the village. I woud reconmend these cabins very much. (-:

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wnygal

    wnygal

    • Guest wnygal (Olean, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    This place is very cute, clean and perfectly comfortable. The owners are also very friendly, ready to accommodate your needs in any way reasonably possible. They also feed the birds outside their kitchen, which provides an interesting morning display. Their parrot is adorable. Also, Dennis took the time to give us very complete directions to Panama City's Tocumen Airport, which proved to be excellent. Thank you, Dennis! However, the reference you may read to "flow-through air conditioning" is intended as a humorous reference to the air that flows through the open windows. We were there in the rainy season, and it was certainly cool enough to sleep at night. But there was no escaping the humidity. Also, with open windows, one needs to be prepared to hear all of the animals at night. Since we travel with a sound machine, they did not bother us, but our neighbors without such a machine certainly heard them. I had been worried about the quality of the beds in the pictures I saw on the internet, but they were perfectly comfortable. (I am a "princess and the pea," so that's saying something!) The morning coffee was good, and we simply bought rolls the day before to have for breakfast. The first cup is free, the next is 50 cents. They are also located a few minutes outside of town, which may not be for everyone. However, since we had our own rental car, the location was not an issue. The wireless is also available near their office, not in the cabins. I did not choose to look at the internet that day and night, so it was not a problem. The restaurant we tried on their recommendation was hard to find but was pleasant, with a creek running through it. I really enjoyed their special, the Salmon Rincon Vallero, that is, the salmon with the house's special sauce. It was quite good. So, all in all, I would definitely recommend this place to people looking for a quiet, clean, well-run and inexpensive place to stay, with the caveats mentioned above.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Magnifico!

    Magnifico!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/20/13
    • Review Submitted 03/24/13
    This place is just perfect for a peaceful gateaway in the beautiful El Valle De Anton. The owners, Dennis and Mireya, are wonderful people, very welcoming and eager to make your stay the best possible. The place is simply gorgeous. While there, I highly recommand booking a birding tour with Mario Bernal, Mireya's brother, one of the best birding guide in Panama. In only a few hours of birding, we managed to see more than 58 different species of birds! Mario is a very good teacher and so passionate about birds that you can only enjoy the tour.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing and Scenic

    Relaxing and Scenic

    • Guest Liz (Dallas, Texas)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/13
    We had a wonderful stay with the most gracious host and hostess. Denny and Mireya are very knowledgeable about the area. They will be able to answer any questions you may have on things to do, things to see and places to eat. The pictures provided of their property are exactly what it is like...beautiful flowers, areas to relax and hammocks to take an afternoon nap. Many birds will come to feast on the food that Mireya puts out for them in the morning and late afternoon. We even saw a sloth early one morning. Within a 45 minute drive you can also enjoy a beautiful beach or go golfing. For the birdie's out there, this is for sure a place to come! We also found that in this area you don't have to worry about drinking the water and there were very few bugs. There is a wonderful local spa, bakery, and charming zoo. We enjoyed dining at Artash, Brushetta's, and Carlo's jsut to mention a few. This is a trip that we are so glad we made. Thank you again, Denny and Mireya for making it a memorable trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Relaxing Stay

    Relaxing Stay

    • Guest Jessie (Grovetown, Georgia, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/14/12
    • Review Submitted 05/13/12
    If you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle of the big city, forget about your troubles, and just unwind, this is definitely a place to go. I love to take pictures and I thought I was going to wear out my camera. There is so much to see and experience here. From waterfalls and hot water springs to nice strolls in the countryside. Mario, the naturalist who leads the bird watching tour, is unbelievable. Within four hours, we saw over sixty species of birds and I took over 500 photos. At the end of each day we just sat on the porch gazed at all the stars in the sky, drank a nice glass of wine, and just did nothing. How much better could life get. Thanks Dennis and Mireya for all the help and an excellent five day visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • “Speak kind words....

    Guest comment entered by owner

    “Speak kind words....

    • Guest Keith from UK
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/18/12
    Hi Fellow Travellers, “Speak kind words, receive kind echoes” the decorative plaque on the wall of our little room here at Cabanas Potosi says. That phrase is descriptive of the attitude of the owners of this place. Their helpfulness and concern for their guests manifests itself in many ways. We have seldom experienced this kind of service and attention at any of the places we have stayed. They make El Valle extra special for anyone visiting here. I put a link to them under the Businesses We Support heading in the right column. If you come here, we would highly recommend Cabanas Potosi and the rates are, to say the least, reasonable. For $44.50 per night, with the 7th night free, you get an extra clean room with a fridge, fans a bathroom with hot water and louvered windows that let the breezes through. There are two beds per room and the mattresses are firm and comfortable. There are only four rooms so you get to meet everyone else that is traveling through. Also, the grounds are beautifully landscaped and impeccably maintained. You also get an endless supply of cheerfully provided helpful information from the English speaking owners Mireya (pronounced Marayah) and Dennis.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Beautiful Setting, Friendly People

    Beautiful Setting, Friendly People

    • Guest Kay (Bishop, California, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/12
    • Review Submitted 03/09/12
    My husband and I loved the personal attention we got at this accommodation. Dennis and Mireya were very helpful and friendly. We birded every day with Mireya's brother, an excellent guide, but reserve him before going to Panama; he is very busy. We were usually out very early in the morning and back tired and late in the afternoon, so we depended on the market for food to eat in the room. Town is about a 20 minute walk. The fruit at the outdoor market was excellent. The grocery stores are limited. Breakfasts and lunches were bread from the bakery, yogurt, and peanut butter. A substantial restaurant lunch during our midday break, got us through the day. Dennis and Mireya can recommend some excellent restaurants. We only had time to get tempting looks at the artisan's market. I heard that the Sunday market is bigger and better than during the week. Another reason we would like to come back is the hiking. It was obvious from our birding outings and a little map that Dennis gave us that there are lots of backroads and trails to hike in this gorgeous countryside.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Beautiful peaceful place

    Beautiful peaceful place

    • Guest gypsyjennifer (USA)
    • Date of stay 11/01/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    What a beautiful place this was to stay. Going to bed and waking up in the morning to sounds of nature, crickets, owls, birds etc. And then the mountain view. Lying in the hammock observing all the birds flying around was amazing. Dennis and Mireya, thank you, thank you, for such a wonderful experience, your friendship and so much help you gave me. Mireya is a world of knowledge of the area and introduced me to some interesting people. Thanks also for taking me to see the parade and village festivities. So appreciate everything you did for me. And I definitely want to come back and spend more time in the beautiful El Valle and especially at your cabanas. Many many thanks Jennifer, USA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Great place with excellent hosts

    Great place with excellent hosts

    • Guest Farieda (Panama City, Panama)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    I stayed here with 3 of my friends and we had a fantastic time. The cabins are perfect, not too small, located in a beautiful garden. Anything you need, the hosts will try to accomdate you. I will definitely come back here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Wonderful Stay

    Wonderful Stay

    • Guest Jackie and Gino (Philadelphia, PA USA)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 09/14/11
    We had a wonderful time at Cabanas Potosi. It is the perfect place to stay in El Valle - only a few minutes away from the main street but far enough to feel like you're worlds away from anywhere else. There is so much to do in and around the area that we didn't want to leave. The beds were comfortable, the rooms spacious, and the grounds beautiful. The owners are wonderful people who are friendly and welcoming and ready to help or offer advice when needed. Definitely stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marie, Helene and Jeannie
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/15/11
    We want to thank Dennis & Mireya (Owners of Cabanas Potosi) so much form their hospitality. We felt like we were at home. You were so generous. You made a big difference in our trip. You were our adoptive grand parents. You do a lot of good things for your community and your visitors (Us!) and our stay with you was remarkable. (Fantastic!) You were exceptional and we did not want to leave and continue to stay there. Your lives are so interesting. We had a good time with you, at the cabins, in your house, at the resturants and at the beach. We would like to take Cabanas Potosi back with us to Quebec. Thank you so much! You made a difference in our trip and lives will visiting El Valle. We wish we could visit you every week.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Excellent Experience

    Excellent Experience

    • Guest Nan (US, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 04/19/11
    • Review Submitted 05/17/11
    I enjoyed the accomodations, hospitality and genuine home grown warmth of the bungalos. The total adventure exceeded all our expectations and we had the time of our lives. We were able to take part in numerous tours and nature hikes, bird-watching and enjoyment of the uncluttered natural resources of the surrounding rain forest and gardens. I particularly enjoyed interaction with the native populace and their genuine pride in their wares and the abundance and availability of vegetation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you and appreciate your kind thoughts about your stay at Cabanas Potosi. Please come and see us again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Cabanas Potosi

    Cabanas Potosi

    • Guest Karen & Steven (Austin, TX USA)
    • Date of stay 01/30/11
    • Review Submitted 02/16/11
    These cabanas are more beautiful than pictures can show, so is El Valle de Anton! The owners/ workers were incredibly helpful, and went beyond any expectations to insure we saw everything we wanted to see while visiting the town. The owner picked us up from the bus station downtown, gave us a quick tour of the town to get us acquainted with surroundings like restaurants, stores, etc. Then, we arrived at the cabanas, where he hung a hammock outside our cabin, and we were instantly relaxing in the beauty of the mountains. the next morning, we were treated to coffee they grow and roast themselves The morning after they went well above and beyond expectations and drove us to Santiago and made sure we were able to get to our next destination safely. I love these cabanas, these people, and El Valle de Anton!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Muchas gracias por su linda observacion. We are happy that you love everything about Panama. Best wishes in your narriage and remember to say to each other ¨Te quiero un Potosi´¨. Until we see you again. Love to hear from you from time to time. Carinos Mireya and Dennis and Connet

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wonderful, relaxining, beautiful and scenic

    Wonderful, relaxining, beautiful and scenic

    • Guest Dan (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 01/27/11
    • Review Submitted 02/15/11
    Wonderful grounds and clean, beautiful accommodations. The owners are happy, helpful, and present. Feel at home and for such an affordable price!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We always appreciate all of our clients and are really glad they enjoy staying with us. We open up our house as well as our cabins to all of our clients so they will feel at home and comfortable while visiting us at Cabanas Potosi.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Margaret and Moe
    • Date of stay 11/19/10
    • Review Submitted 12/06/10
    Dear Dennis and Mireya, My husband Moe (Maurice Wick) and I stayed with you two weekends ago and Iam writing a belated thanks and greetings to you both. We enjoyed ourvisit immensely, both to El Valle and to your cabins. Thank you for yourhospitality, particularly driving us to see the golden frogs and thesquare trees. Today we travel to Santa Fe principally to visit the coffee co-op and haveone final look at the interior of Panama. Our best to you both for the coming festive season and new year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Rick & Kim
    • Date of stay 10/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/24/10
    Hello Dennis & Mireya We want to thank you again for our wonderful stay in Cabanas Potosi. Hope we can get togther again in Colorado when you visit in January.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mary & Joe from Michigan
    • Date of stay 10/08/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    It was nice to see you guys again. We really enjoyed our stay at Cabanas Potosi and your wonderful hospitility. We are looking forward to coming back again in he near future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Fred
    • Date of stay 09/20/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    Thank you both so much for being such good friends while I was visiting Panama and Cabanas Potosi. Your kindness goes beyond the fact that I was just one of your clients. Your sincere generosity and staying at Cabanas Potosi was the highlight of my trip. Hope to see you in Colorado when you come to visit. Tell the parrots I said hi!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Onno from The Netherlands
    • Date of stay 08/10/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    We really enjoyed our two days at Cabanas Potosi. Your friendship and kindness to your clients is outstanding. They way you open up your house to help us really relates to your goal of "Mi casa tu casa". Thanks for all your help in assisting us to solve our travel probelms.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Nicoli from Spain
    • Date of stay 07/20/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    Thank for you warm charm. You helped make our six day stay at Cabanas Potosi very relaxing. We appreciate how much you shared of your place to make us feel really comfortable. Especially when I need a differnt mattress to sleep on. With a wonderful smile and kindness you adapted to my request without a probelm. I can see the comfort of your clients is very important to you. Even though this was our third time staying at Cabanas Potosi, your attention and flexibility to our comfort was very pleasing to make our stay so enjoyable. Thanks!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jaime from Panama
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    Muchas gratis for your hospitility while my family and I stayed at Cabanas Potosi. We heard about your place and friendship from friends of ours and that is why we came here for the weekend. Our children really enjoyed visiting with your parrots and playing games. We liked it here because it is so peaceful and quite compared to Panama City. It really gives us time to relax in your hammocks compared to the noise of the city. Also, we enjoyed all the birds and lushness of your place. Your yard is like a little park. Hope to stay with you again soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Daniel
    • Date of stay 02/26/10
    • Review Submitted 02/15/11
    I wanted to thank you for such a lovely stay. We came about 3 weeks ago and spent two nights at Cabanas Potosi and were thrilled by the clean, nice rooms, the quiet, beautifu setting, and the gorgeous views...as well as the affordable price. I also wanted to ask if you could give me the name and/or telephone number of the art gallery/cafe that is across the street from the gourmet coffee shop? Thank you, looking forward to next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]