Huge 3-Story Log Cabin, Family Reunions, Retreats, Seats 28 Together for Meals!!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2-3 nights
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Burnsville cabin description
Welcome to our authentic log cabin. Our private road brings you through the gate, to the end and top of our road. From the large covered porches, you can enjoy spectacular views of 4 mountain ranges. You can sometimes hear the creek that flows through the property and down to the Pond.
Enjoy the spaciousness of this 4500 square foot, 8 bedroom, 7 bath cabin that was recently remodeled. The lodge’s interior features huge, vaulted, log beam ceilings. The Lodge was professionally decorated in a 'Mountain Lodge' and 'Americana' theme with antiques and era replica pieces. Relax in an authentic log cabin, that was custom built with timber harvested from this original homestead. The lodge has a rustic atmosphere, but includes all the modern conveniences and amenities you would expect in a new custom home.
Three of the eight bedrooms are Master suites with their own private master baths, complete with jetted Jacuzzi tubs and oversized tile showers. All of the other five bedrooms have a full bathroom with custom tile showers located adjacent to them. All of the bedrooms have authentic log beds including 1 king, 5 queen, 1 double, and 4 twin beds.We also have 6 twin mattresses with linens that can be moved from room to room. Very high quality bed linens and towels are provided and are unique to each room.
The main living room with it’s twenty foot tall log beam ceiling is completely furnished with overstuffed leather sofas and chairs and a rocker. There is also satellite TV with a DVD/VCR player. This level also includes a huge fully furnished kitchen with service to accommodate 26 people. The kitchen is big and roomy, large enough for many cooks to work in at once. A glass top stove, microwave, dishwasher and two refrigerators with ice makers will provide the necessary means to handle your large group. The main dining table, crafted of timbers cut on the property, seats 20 comfortably. A separate dining table in the adjacent room seats an additional six.
The downstairs great room features a 48 inch flat screen TV with CABLE, DVD/VCR player and a surround sound audio system. This spacious room is decorated in a mountain theme and has all leather overstuffed sofas ,chairs and ottomans. You may just want to sit on the raised hearth and enjoy the heat from the stove while watching a movie or reading a book. There is a wet bar with a small refrigerator as well as a custom pool table, and an 7 foot Air Hockey table. This level also includes the bunk house room with a full bathroom and separate laundry room with washer and dryer.
The lodge also includes four additional TV’s with separate cable receivers and a wireless internet network to meet your needs.
Outdoors is the hot tub that easily accommodates eight. The huge covered deck has several rocking chairs, a gas bar-b-cue, and a picnic table for outdoor dining. For those of you that love just sitting around a fire we have an old fashioned wood burning fire pit complete with log rail seating that over looks the mountain ranges. There is also a large wooden play set for the kids entertainment as well as huge boulders for the kids who love to climb and explore. You can walk up the trail to the very top of the mountain (about 1 mile) for a 360 degree view of four states.
Centrally located approx 30 minutes to Asheville, Spruce Pines, or skiing at Mt Mitchell or Wolf Laurel. Horseback riding, rafting, tubing or mountain bike riding are all in the area. It is about forty five minutes to Linville Caverns, Little Switzerland, Biltmore Estate, Grandfather Mountain, Blue Ridge Parkway and many other attractions.
Keywords: Huge Log Cabin ,Lodge, Rural Blue Ridge Mountain Property, Family Reunions, Group Retreats, Church groups, Business Meetings River water rafting, Handicap easy with only 2 steps, end of road privacy
- 4500 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
We are interested in the breed of dog and how well behaved it is. You know your pet. We do not want to have to have a problem with your pet marking his territory so to speak. That said..we usually leave the final decision up to you. ...moreless
- Wheelchair Accessible:
- Children Welcome:
- Smoking Allowed:
- Minimum Age Limit For Renters
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Events Allowed
Bedrooms: 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25, Beds for 18-25
Bathrooms: 7 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Dining Area Seats:
- Coffee Maker
- Ice Maker
- Pantry Items
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Parking Off Street
- Air Conditioning
- Washing Machine
- Towels Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- CD Player
- Video Games
- DVD Player
- Air Hockey
- Video Library
- Pool Table
- Broadband Access
- Outdoor Grill
- Outdoor Grill Gas
- Wood Deck
Location & View
- Mountain View
- Cross Country Skiing
- Massage Therapist
- Freshwater Fishing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Hunting Big Game
- Mountain Climbing
- Jet Skiing
- Water Tubing
- Rock Climbing
- Mountain Biking
- Equestrian Events
- Scenic Drives
- Bird Watching
- Autumn Foliage
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Paddle Boating
- Horseback Riding
- Centrally located about 30 minutes to Asheville or Spruce Pines, with snow boarding and skiing at Mt Mitchell or Wolf Laurel and Beech Mountain. Horseback riding, rafting, tubing or mountain bike riding are all in the area. The South Toe River is about three miles from the cabin and has great beaches with sandy shoreline. This is a great river for tubing, rafting or just relaxing. It is about 45 minutes to Linville Caverns, Little Switzerland, Biltmore Estate, Grandfather Mountain, Blue Ridge Parkway and many other attractions. Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowmobiling, snow tubing, wildlife viewing, rock climbing, horsehsoes Golf: There are Golf courses in the area. For information go to the Yancey County NC web page. Ski: There are Ski Resorts at Wolf Laurel and Beech Mountain that many of our guests have skied at....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
We were at the cabin with our family and had a wonderful time. We had 10 adults, 2 little girls and 2 babies. We had everything we could have asked for. The kitchen is well stocked and large enough to cook family meals. Eating together is important to us and the huge kitchen table was just perfect. We read reviews about the road and were a little concerned, but none of us had any problem what-so-ever. The decor is well done and charming. Great linens!! We hope to return for another vacation and would highly recommend it to any family.
- Guest Blessed (Texas)
- Date of stay 10/17/13
- Review Submitted 10/29/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers.
We had 8 couples at the cabin. It was great! Plenty of room for everyone. We all were able to sit down for dinner together. We did not have to eat in shifts. The rec area was fun. The pool table and air hockey in the rec room were a nice treat. The bathrooms had nice huge showers. Everybody said how comfortable their beds were. Our group had a great time. We are already planning next years trip. owner was helpful and accomodating. Highly recommend! 5 stars from all of us.
- Guest Carrie D.
- Date of stay 02/07/13
- Review Submitted 02/20/13
Great for an Adult Get-away!
Great for an Adult Get-away!
We had a group of 13 adults recently visit this cabin for a weekend get-away and we had a blast!! I truly believe that the photos on VRBO of this cabin don't do it enough justice. This was a group of friends from Charlotte, NC and we always plan an annual Fall/Winter trip to the mountains. We truly enjoyed finding this cabin....we'll probably stay here again and we'd definitely recommend it to family or friends looking for a large cabin!! A few thoughts..... - VERY Cute and "Cabin-like", we loved the country style decorations that filled the home. - While there was lots of space, it still felt home-y, and we didn't feel cramped. - There was plenty of seating for our crowd. We could easily fit seated in one room at the same time (main level living room, basement, kitchen, etc) - The kitchen was large and easily fit all of us. The kitchen is always a gathering place with this group, so there was plenty of space to hang out, cook meals, and to sit down together to eat. - You'll see other comments about the treacherous road/driveway leading to the cabin, and that's true. Our advice is 4 wheel drive, SUV or Truck type vehicles only. Also, if you have traction control on your vehicle, we suggest to turn it off (that's what worked best for us)....Good Luck. - We had some people who decided to go shopping in the town of Burnsville. Cute shops, Nice people, etc. We happened to catch the annual Christmas parade....(not a must see, but it was cute!) - In one of the restrooms, the toilet didn't work, however there was a note that the owners will be fixing it soon (so, if you're planning to book - I'm sure it'll be fixed by then). Even with that, there were still plenty of restrooms. I hope you enjoy this cabin as much as we did, it's truly perfect for a large group!
- Guest Susan (Charlotte, NC)
- Date of stay 11/30/12
- Review Submitted 12/03/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with teenagers.
Owner response: For seven years hundreds of guests have driven every type of car in and out of this driveway with NO PROBLEM. This guest stayed during the winter when there was snow and ice. We advise all of our guests to check road conditions on all mountain roads before leaving their homes. The cleaning company that cleans the cabin has a small two wheel drive car and have NEVER had any problem driving any portion of the road to the cabin!!! It is true the last 100 yards of the driveway are gravel. We intentionally leave it gravel to provide improved traction in the event of ice. Sometimes guests are not accustomed to driving uphill on gravel. Some tend to spin their tires up the hill causing a washboard effect. By the end of the week of this type of driving, the driveway can get rough. We have a tractor service that comes in and regrades the driveway every week as needed. We have guests that pull their trailers, fifth wheels and also drive their motorhomes on the driveway to stay with the group in the cabin. We try our best to keep it in good shape. We have had a sign placed at the beginning of the drive that reminds guests to please not spin their tires when driving in and out during the week. It is true that sometimes (as in this case) the toilet valve broke. It is very difficult to make some repairs in between a guest checking out and another checking in on the same day. We usually offer to return the following day and make the repair. Most guest tell us not to worry about it until after they leave.
Nice place, nice stay, but not recommended for families with kids
Nice place, nice stay, but not recommended for families with kids
Our group stayed here towards end of September, 2012. Had it not been for a single bad experience at the very end of an otherwise excellent stay, we would have given a rating of good/excellent. Overall, we had a nice stay, this is a large log cabin with all amenities as described. Nice quiet location though it was a bit difficult to locate on GPS/maps (but the instructions provided were accurate), the last 50-100 yards of the steep dirt road will be a challenge for vehicles without 4-wheel drive (we had to push our smaller cars up by hand, but it was part of a fun stay) The main issue we had with our stay was that our (fairly large) security deposit was not refunded, instead we were provided a long list of things that were allegedly not done properly or instructions not followed when we cleaned up and left. In addition to several of these allegations that we do not believe are true, we were charged for minor things like moving some of the chairs/lamps a couple of feet, not unloading the dishwasher etc. Because of this, we can only recommend this place for groups ages 55+. Familes with kids are likely to touch/move a few things in the house, and you will be charged for all of that.
- Guest Balu (NC)
- Date of stay 09/28/12
- Review Submitted 11/12/12
Recommended for: Age 55+.
Owner response: We were initially not going to respond to this guest’s review. But since we have been asked several times about it, we feel we need to respond. It is very difficult to write a rebuttal without sounding negative about this guest. We hope the following is done in a respectful manner.This is the first negative review we have received.This is also the ONLY TIME in 8 years we have needed to retain the damage deposit. The guest writes in his review that "OUR GROUP HAD AN EXCELLENT STAY,” and then gets negitive because of the deposit. There were broken pool table items,a broken leg on a coffee table,as well as broken arms on 2 different sofas.There were numerous wires that had been pulled out of the video units. All of this damage was confined to the game/theater room. When I spoke with him he told me right up front, he was not willing in any way to be responsible for any of the damages. He continued to repeat that the 14 children had touched nothing. He said they had brought their own personal karaoke unit, and the kids were happy playing with it only. The children, he told me had stayed on the lower level, and were periodically checked on.He told me the kids did not touch any of the several TV’s, DVD Players, Cable units, gaming station, or surround sound unit in any rooms ,at any time. I explained that most of the wires had been pulled out of the rear of the units. He proposed that there was most likely a break-in and the damages were committed by these intruders. We accept that there is a risk of damage each time we rent the lodge.This renter wants you to believe that he was penalized for moving items a “FEW INCHES”. THIS IS JUST NOT TRUE!! On almost every booking, guests move furniture and the extra mattress around, to better accommodate their needs. After a group leaves…an inspection/cleaning is done by a company. The results are then sent to us on the inspection /invoice.These people that work for this company do not benefit in any way by fabricating damage on the invoice.We understand and accept that there will be normal wear and tear. Writing a bad review, after saying our group had an excellent stay, is just not right. You can see from our reviews that no other guest’s have ever accused us of anything as silly as this. I would estimate that 95% of our bookings include families with children.You will have to judge for yourself what sounds feasible. We are always happy to answer any questions you might have. Respectfully Bill & Cindy owners
We went t the lodge with 7 couples.. Outstanding !!
We went t the lodge with 7 couples.. Outstanding !!
We have plans to do it again next year... Highly reccommend it for a group or family..
- Guest Popa Bear (Rougemont)
- Date of stay 10/19/11
- Review Submitted 10/28/11
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing.
This place was so comfortable and peaceful. The hummingbirds greeted us every day. Plenty of room for everyone. The cabin was really clean and we loved the kitchen. The owners were really helpful as to giving directions to the cabin and places to visit close by. They returned phone calls and e-mails quickly also. We loved the quaint town of Burnsville and Ingles was a plus. Get ready to see lots of deer and turkeys which were really enjoyable to watch. I would return again for our next family reunion and I would recomend the cabin to others..
- Guest Carol
- Date of stay 06/25/11
- Review Submitted 07/12/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers.
Good place for large group
Good place for large group
The cabin was very nicely furnished and very clean. However, there were quite a few damaged items we noticed upon our arrival. Make sure you report these so you don't get charged for them upon your departure. The room configurations worked very well for multiple families. The kitchen was very nicely stocked with pots, pans, dishes and silverware Overall, it was a nice place to stay.
- Guest Mountain Bound (Atlanta)
- Date of stay 05/28/10
- Review Submitted 09/05/10
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers.
Owner response: We try to keep the cabin very clean and neat. Sometimes there is not time to repair something between guest's visits (ie order a part or such). When we have feedback from guests we are able to get things taken care of more quickly. Thank you
We stayed here in August of 2009 and had a great time. It was a perfect layout for a group of couples. We were there for a motorcycle trip, and while the driveway is tricky with an inclined gravel switchback, it isn't that bad if you have the passenger dismount first. There was plenty to do for everyone while home. It was a good value and everyone agreed they would like return to this home at some point. The small town of Burnsville doesn't have much in the way of restaurants or entertainment but they have an Ingles Supermarket that is very impressive. I highly recommend visiting the Little Switzerland area if staying in this area.
- Guest Stephen S. (Danbury, CT)
- Date of stay 02/07/10
- Review Submitted 02/07/10
Great Cabin on the hill
Great Cabin on the hill
Recently 10 of my motorcycling friends and I rented the Davis Cabin and the cabin is gorgeous. The kitchen is enormous as is the entire cabin. The owners have taken a great deal of time to decorate it and they did a great job. We never had an issue with having people under foot since 4500 sq ft is huge. The beds are comfortable and the showers always had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The views are awesome and sitting around the fire pit at night was more fun than I remember. The only negative of the cabin was the driveway. We were all on motorcycles and the driveway is not motorcycle friendly, regardless of your experience, if it is the least bit wet. I would however highly recommend the cabin to anyone that is traveling by car or truck as the cabin is fantastic but motorcyclists should think twice.
- Guest Snake Charmer (DeBary, FL)
- Date of stay 10/10/09
- Review Submitted 10/28/09
Owner response: We were not aware of what the combination of rain and prior week's renters use of off road vehicles had done. The prior group had brought with them off road quads and dirt bikes. They had obviously been racing them up and down the driveway, creating what could only be described as a mess. We were very apologetic to the street bike group but, it was too late to make the repairs for them. We have intentionally changed the last 50 yards or so. of the driveway, to a very hard compacted gravel/fines mix. This allows for much better traction in the event of ice or snow at the cabin. We have about 300 vehicles, come in and out of the cabin driveway each year, with no problems. I am confident that there would be only positive comments if the same group stayed again.
The house was absolutely lovely and very well represented by the on-line photos. We had 11 people riding motorcycles and had a plenty of room (especially when the weather turned bad and had to spend more time in the cabin than originally anticipated). The kitche was very well equiped and the center of all activity. If I could take this kitchen, mudroom and front porch home with me, I would. This was the most comfortable I have every been away from home. Thank you very much. Warning: If you are an inexperienced bike rider, this road is not for the weak for hearts!!!!!!!!
- Guest Diana Jackson (Oviedo, FL)
- Date of stay 10/22/09
- Review Submitted 10/22/09
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
|LAST MINUTE OR WEEKDAY SALE
Nov 24 - Jan 31, 2014
2 night min stay
|2014 NORMAL YEARLY RATE
Feb 1 - May 31, 2014
2 night min stay
|2014 SUMMER & HOLIDAY RATES
Jun 1 - Aug 31, 2014
3 night min stay
|My Standard Rate
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
A $500.00 DEPOSIT IS DUE WHEN RESERVING YOUR DATES. THE REMAINING BALANCE IS DUE IN TWO EQUAL PAYMENTS. ONE PAYMENT IS DUE 90 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL.THE OTHER PAYMENT IS UE 60 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL. YOU MAY CANCEL UP TO 90 DAYS BEFORE ARRIVAL WITH A FULL REFUND.
Fees and Rental Conditions:
- Property Damage Protection: $89
- Pet Fee: $150
- Tax Rate 9.75%
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 2005
About the owner: Cindy and Bill met at church in 1974 and were married in Long Beach, CA. in 1976. Cindy worked for the school district, and Bill retired from law enforcement in 2003. They raised their family in a very rural area of California until retirement. They moved in 2004 with there 3 married children and their spouses and families to Greeneville, TN. They have 10 grandchildren and 5 adult children all living in the Greeneville area. Several other relative families have made the move to Tennessee in the years that followed.
Why the Owner Chose Burnsville:
We fell in love with this large home on our first visit, and were the owners about 30 days later. The three story Lodge originally was a 10 bedroom home. We had never seen a cabin built with such large timbers all harvested from the previous owners property. We created 3 master suites causing the reduction in the number of bedrooms. With the imediate family hovering at about 35 this cabin was just ideal. There are four large seperate gathering areas causing large groups to be able and meet without feeling closed in. After a few years of owning the cabin we decided to try renting it. About 90% of our guests come as part of a family reunion.
- Primary: +1 423-620-0212
- Secondary: +1 423-620-0213
Kitchen / Eating Area
Typical Picture of One of Eight Bedrooms
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Sunday, December 15, 2013
8 Bedroom / 7 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.