Summer Home with Guest House on Beautiful Green Lake *Reduced!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:N/A
- Pets allowed:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
NOT JUST A VACATION... Nestled among majestic pine, maple, and oak trees on a professionally landscaped, 280 ft. waterfront parcel, this is the escape you have been looking for.
The spacious main house, with two large bedrooms and a sofa bed in the sunken family room, sleeps six comfortably. The master suite comes with its own private deck. Tastefully furnished and decorated in a nautical motif, the main house sits on a bluff overlooking pristine Green Lake. With an expansive open floor plan boasting two full baths, a warm and inviting family room with fireplace, fully appointed kitchen, two separate dining areas, and a bright and breezy knotty pine sunroom, your group can enjoy numerous indoor activities without infringement. An expanse of windows along the entire rear elevation offers sweeping views of the beautiful vista. A huge deck overlooks the lake, private beach, and dock with swim platform; great for relaxing, barbecuing, or watching the kids play in the shallow sandy bottom beach area.
The fully furnished, two-story guest house, rebuilt in 1997, is finished in knotty pine and offers a quaint yet modern "Up North" style. With three bedrooms, two full baths, a living room with wet bar and gas fireplace, as well as a wrap-around deck overlooking a fire pit and the lake shoreline, the guest house, which sleeps six to seven, is a favorite escape for visiting friends and relatives. Both houses offer separate laundry facilities and the main house has central air conditioning.
Green Lake is a 2000-acre, all sports lake. However, with a large portion of its shoreline dedicated to a state park, nature preserve, and the world famous Interlochen Center for the Arts and Arts Academy, Green Lake has limited boat traffic. Consequently, it is a sanctuary for a plethora of wild life including loons, herons, white tail deer, raccoons, beavers, and a variety of game fish such as bass, walleye, pike, perch, and bluegill. Great for swimming, boating, skiing, fishing, or sailing, Green Lake is a wonderful haven for the entire family. We provide a rowboat, canoe, and paddleboat for casual summer fun.
We are just minutes from Traverse City and Grand Traverse Bay, Crystal Mountain Ski and Golf Resort, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Seashore, Leland Shanty Town, numerous wineries, concert halls, Leelanau Sands Casino, award winning golf courses, Little Betsie River, and Lake Michigan.
This exclusive property is the vacation residence of two families. Only qualified adult applicants with positive references will be accepted. Availability is limited so make your reservations early. OFF SEASON RENTALS AVAILABLE ON LIMITED BASIS, PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL FOR SPECIAL PRICING. Sorry, NO SMOKING, NO PETS.
Keywords: House & Guest House
- Vacation Rental
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Not Allowed
- 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 8-12
- Bedroom 1
- Bedroom 2
- Bedroom 3
- 4.0 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
- Bathroom 2
- Bathroom 3
- Bathroom 4
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Air Conditioning:
- Washing Machine:
- Linens Provided
- Clothes Dryer
- DVD Player
- CD Player
- Video Library
- Satellite / Cable
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
- Free Long Distance
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
Location & View
- Theme Parks
- Jet Skiing
- Water Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Cross Country Skiing
- Miniature Golf
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
- Wildlife Viewing
- Live Theater
- Hot Air Ballooning
- Canoing, Charter Fishing & Excursions
ReviewsWrite a review
Not the best value in vacation rentals
Not the best value in vacation rentals
The grounds are very nice with a good dock for the boat we rented. The lake is nice as well, but has the swimmers itch bug, so you need to towel off each time you get out. The guest house has no AC and is just too hot for July or August, so we spent little time in that house. The main house has a big living room, so on the hot nights people could sleep on the floor there. The internet didn't work, and the house smelled of mildew. I expected and little more for the price we paid.
- Guest John
- Date of stay 07/21/12
- Review Submitted 08/24/12
Owner response: We used the property the following week and did not experience any of the issues that this renter mentioned. Our property is very traditional and much of the appeal is in the ambience and the experience of the lake and surroundings. We do our best to keep everything in the best working order. It is true that the main house has A/C while the guest house does not, however, the guest house is shaded by several mature hardwood trees that provide a canopy of shade reducing the temperature in the house. There are also ceiing fans in each room of the guest house that help keep it cool. However, several weeks this summer were unusually hot (temps in the 90's) so it may have been warmer than usual in the guest house. When we were there it was in the 80's and the guest house was cool. Never used the A/C in the main house which is also shaded. The internet worked fine while we were there the following week. We did take a call from this family and tried to help with the WIFI connection but it does take some expertise on the part of the user to secure the signal. Asked the customer to call our partner who set up the cable and internet so he could help or call the cable company for service but they never did. As for the mildew, this is just not so. If they leave wet towels around then they will probably smell eventually. We provide a washer and dryer in both houses for their use throughout the stay. Swimmer's itch can be a problem if a person does not take proper precautions. Rinsing and towelling off is all that is necessary. We do provide an outdoor faucet and hose for this purpose among others. Again, we did not experience swimmer's itch the following week when we had a full house of 13 people including 3 small children. It should be noted that this renter was the first complaint we have had in 12 years of ownership. Other extenuating circumstances may have contributed to this review.
July-August, NOW REDUCED TO $3400/WK (Saturday-Saturday) + $1000 Security Deposit. Rate is for both houses or Main house only. Sorry, we cannot split the rent. Rate includes $175 allowance for cleaning, excess will be charged back. $1000 Deposit at time of reservation with balance due 30 days prior to rental date. Deposit is non-refundable if cancelled within 90 days of rental and we are unable to re-rent for that week. CALL OR EMAIL FOR OFF-SEASON RATES AND AVAILABILITY.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Before paying contact the owner to confirm payment details.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
- Primary: (727) 364-9083
- Secondary: (727) 372-9361 (Florida, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Main house living and family rooms
Main house rear deck overlooks Green Lake and swimming area.
Main house sunroom is a refreshing retreat for reading or friendly gatherings
Guest house living room
Green Lake from the main deck
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2002.
Date last modified - Thursday, May 23, 2013