Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Stunning pool setting for refreshing fun

Views, Pool, and Spa Near Santa Cruz Beaches [#165307] | View Property

Santa Cruz
Estate, 7 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 16)
$800 - $1,050/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • 50th Birthday Get Together

    50th Birthday Get Together

    • Guest JL (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    My wife and I came down from Seattle to meet up with friends from San Jose and Southern California for her 50th Birthday. We planned on several excursions, but ended up spending most of our time at the property itself! It was hard to pull ourselves away from the beautiful surroundings. thanks for a great weekend!

    Owner response: Thanks for your kind words John. We get a similar response from many of our guests....they never want to leave the property to see the tourist activities in the area that they had planned to visit, since they have what they really were looking for in a vacation at Huckleberry Woods Escape. It means much more coming from one of our guests that anything we could say.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 50th Anniversary Celebration

    50th Anniversary Celebration

    • Guest Fred (El Segundo, CA/USA)
    • Date of stay 07/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/31/13
    Our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay celebrating our 50th Anniversary. We were 6 adults, 4 children ages 9-15 and 2 pets. Owner's attention to detail was superior. It's a perfect home for families to interact and bond, or even enjoy quiet time. We visited Mystery Spot, Big Basin, Santa Cruz Mission, Loch Loman, and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk. We enjoyed the pool and spa daily. We prepared all meals in the well-appointed kitchen except one dinner at Stagnaro's on the pier in Santa Cruz. Prior to our arrival, management there made an exception to its no-reservations policy in light of our celebration, and we were reserved at the best table upstairs. The listing is accurate and photos reflect appearance and amenities very well. This beautiful property was very clean and well-maintained. All questions/concerns were answered immediately. We heartily recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for confirming that the photos are accurate, as I know this is always a concern of our guests. We are very careful to keep everything in perfect condition for our wonderful guests, as we strive to provide an experience that is not marred in any way. We provide a venue for memories to be created.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The extended Forkish clan

    The extended Forkish clan

    • Guest Jo (Sunnyvale, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/13
    • Review Submitted 07/15/13
    We had the best time ever at Huckleberry Woods Escape! It was perfect for every member of our very diverse extended family of 11 (room for more!). Nancy and EJ were incredible hosts -- just be sure to ask if you have questions or problems (we didn't and then learned all kinds of cool things about how it could have been even better!). They both feel like part of our family now, and I can't wait to hear more stories from EJ about the history and ecology of the area. Beautiful trail down to the creek and nice walk to town for supplies, etc. (downhill easy, uphill, don't buy too much!) The grandkids (2.5 and 5) LOVED the tree house Gorgeous gardens, flowers, etc. -- and more to come next summer, so I hear! We enjoyed the spa on the first two days when it was a bit misty and cool, but then just spent the hot days in the pool. One morning at Big Basin and another in Santa Cruz, but after that just totally relaxed and left the house only to buy food to cook in the fabulous kitchen and on the grill just outside. A truly special place for a large family gathering!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jo's family was a joy to host, as they really utilized the property as a vacation destination. Huckleberry Woods Escape is located in the rare Coastal Redwood forest, which are the tallest trees in the world. It's a fragile ecological environment, that we feel fortunate to be the guardians of, and we will teach anyone that has the time and interest about the area's unique character. This property is a continual work in progress, as each season we add new amenities for family enjoyment. In addition to the new horeshoe staduim, we now also provide a ping pong table, which Jo's family can enjoy together when they return to visit us again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • serene retreat with lots of room

    serene retreat with lots of room

    • Guest Navneet S.
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 07/02/13
    We had our first stay at this house for a family reunion, with 13 people staying at the house. The setting of the house is beautiful, surrounded by nature, with no road noise. The house has a beautiful deck with views of the mountains, and redwood trees all around. There was plenty of space for all of us, and the house was decorated tastefully. The kitchen has all the amenities you can think of. The hosts, Nance and EJ are very warm and welcoming, and gave us a nice tour of the inside/outside of the house upon arrival, and were very responsive to our needs. Overall, a great place for a family gathering!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Navneet's international family was a joy to host at Huckleberry Woods Escape. They appreciated our quick attention to their requests, and I hear one of the sons comment "We get all of these extra amenities plus concierge service!" World travelers feel more comfortable having someone on hand to immediately fix things that break, give them advice on the best restaurants, and cater to their special requests, and yet we are "invisible" when not needed. We found a notepad that had been used as a diary by one of the granddaughters that started: "Today was the start of our family Santa Cruz trip. The house we are renting has a tree house, pool, hot tub, swing, huge garden, and a hammock! It is so cool! (picture of a heart) This house ROCKS!! (smiley face)." It warmed my heart to see how much the property was appreciated.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Reunion

    Family Reunion

    • Guest lori w.
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    The house was perfect! The views from the deck were tremendous! Had a family reunion with 16 people aging from 9 to 74. Many things to do. We lived outdoors. Kids had fun with the treehouse and the pool. Adults enjoyed sitting around the fireplace outdoors. Would surely go back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Lori's family was exactly what we have modeled Huckleberry Woods Escape to accommodate...a world class vacation destination for multigenerational families. We actively accommodate all ages in a beautiful, comfortable and well maintained property.....from seniors with their special mobility and safety requirements, down to infants who need cribs, highchairs and areas that are quiet for naptimes. The children love the treehouse and pool, and we have just finished a tournament rules horseshoe stadium that has been a big hit with our guests this season...something fun for everyone from 8 to 80 to play together. The adults seem to be particularly fond of the spa at night and double hammock during the day, and appreciate the quiet areas they can go to read or drift off, away from the activities. We pride ourselves in providing for every detail, large and small, to make your visit to the redwood forest fun and effortless, and educate about the our unique environment. We also reconfigure the bedrooms for each group's individual needs, and provide on-site concierge services at no additional cost. The two most used words we hear from our guests to describe their experience at Huckleberry Woods Escape is "magical" and "memorable". Bring your family to "Escape Together"!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great stay in the woods

    Great stay in the woods

    • Guest Rick (Sparks Nv)
    • Date of stay 04/06/13
    • Review Submitted 05/15/13
    We were the first quests of the year at Huckleberry Woods Excape. Nancy was very accomodating in arranging the sleeping accomodations to fit our family needs. We filled all the beds and bedrooms with family. Upon arriving we were met by Nancy and EJ with a welcome basket (a really nice touch). We enjoyed the completely stocked kitchen for all our meals. Even though it was early in the year the grandkids braved the pool and especially enjoyed the tree house. The hot tub was good for the old folks. The outdoor space including barbarque, outdoor heaters, and fire pit were wonderful amenities. The location next to the two redwood state parks and the Santa Cruz coast line was quite appealing and gave us lots to do. We hope to make it back some day. Rick, Charl and family

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Rick's family is the perfect fit for Huckleberry Woods Escape. We gear the entire property to families with children, to "Escape Together", which is our motto. Our goal is to provide a venue for three generations to bond, in an inspiring and fun location. We provide an opportunity for families to learn about the pristine and rare redwood forest, while playing together. Rick's famiily came for the April Spring break period, when we first open the property for the season. The bulbs were blooming, the weather was exceptional, and we thoroughly enjoyed hearing the laughter of children again for the start of our 6th year. We hope to see them again for future visits. Our many return visitors always appreciate the discount we provide when they book for repeat visits, and there is always something new to see or do on the property. This year we will be finishing the tournament horshoe pit....and our plans for next year will be really amazing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Magical wonderland for children

    Magical wonderland for children

    • Guest Frequent traveler (Cambridge, ma)
    • Date of stay 10/18/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    Our group totaled 11 adults and five kids (toddlers to elementary school). This was a great place to stay as it was spacious (large, comfortable common areas) with nice amenities. What distinguishes this property, though, is the thoughtful way that nancy has designed the outdoor spaces. The pool/spa area and garden are gated and locked for safety. The kids and adults loved the pool and the abundant pool toys. But what the kids really loved was the garden, apple trees, and nature walk - they never got tired of exploring and they really didn't want to leave! Great spot!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you Tammy and Natalie for such a nice review. As I've mentioned before, these reviews are one of the most important parts of the web site, as they can give potential guests a wonderful vision of how the property can really suit their needs, not just how the owners represent their property on the web site. This is a truely unique vacation rental, some say more like a resort in an enchanted forest, that we are constantly improving for the pleasure of our friends that come to Huckleberry Woods Escape year after year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hard to leave Huckleberry Woods

    Hard to leave Huckleberry Woods

    • Guest Janet and Bill 1 (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    We decided Huckleberry Woods Escape looked like the perfect place for our annual family reunion and we were right. We have been renting homes in different parts of the United States for the past 7 years and Huckleberry Woods proved to be one of our very favorite places. We were going to be a large group this year with people coming and going and at times anywhere from 11 to 16 people staying. We had more than enough space for everyone. There are wonderful decks to gather on for a morning cup of coffee or an evening glass of wine to enjoy the magnificent views. The entire home is so well maintained and fixing meals for a large group is no problem in the incredible kitchen. Nancy and EJ met us at the house and gave us a complete tour of the home and property. Everyone enjoyed the pool - especially our two grandsons who also explored the treehouse. We had family from age 6 to 82 plus pets and we all agree we would love to come back again. Thank you Nancy and EJ for a great vacation!

    Owner response: We always appreciate reviews from our past guests, as it gives other potential groups a good understanding of what their experience would be like if they came to Huckleberry Woods Escape. We are completing our 5th season, and the friends that we have invited into our property have told us many times that the photos just don't do justice to the ambiance that the property provides, as the magic just has to be experienced. Janet's multigenerational family from San Diego is the perfect demographic for what we offer, as they travel often with their family and understand the advantages that our property has over other large homes they have rented. We pride ourselves in offering so much more than just a place to sleep, as this is truely an environment where wonderful memories are formed in a magnificant setting that encourages group bonding, and yet still provides plenty of areas to get away from the activities for private relaxation. Thanks Janet for such a nice review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful for a Group Getaway

    Wonderful for a Group Getaway

    • Guest Sue (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/11
    • Review Submitted 10/01/11
    Our group had a truly wonderful time at Huckleberry Woods. Perfect for a large group get together, this place had absolutely everything we needed. We could have just stayed at the house the whole time, with the beautiful views, pool, amazing kitchen, and multiple decks to relax on. However, we also took advantage of the great location and went hiking, to a wine tasting, and enjoyed a few of the great places in small downtown Boulder Creek. Far more beautiful and larger than the pictures show. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Gathering Place

    A Gathering Place

    • Guest Jeannine R.
    • Date of stay 07/18/11
    • Review Submitted 08/29/11
    We are large family group of 16, ranging in ages from 12-60. I had originally picked this property with my 96 yr old mother in mind and while she did not make it, this property was a perfect home for all. Plenty of room to spread out and have privacy,and plenty of pool and deck seating to enjoy everyone's company. We especially loved joining whichever early bird made it up & out onto the deck first, with our cup of coffee in hand, we'd ease into the day ahead. We ended the day once again gathered around the same deck, but instead of coffee we enjoyed s'mores, music and a beautiful fire. A gourmet kitchen made meal times a joy, no such thing as too many cooks in this kitchen! However, while this property does accept pets it is much more of a luxury home than a country cabin and we were glad we had made other arrangements for our dogs. We would love to spend a vacation here again!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jeannine's family was a perfect configuration for Huckleberry Woods Escape, as the property caters to groups that have a wide range of ages and diverse needs. The estate is a wonderful venue to bring families together to celebrate all stages of life. Jeannie's group was fortunate to have enjoyed the outdoor fireplace, as it brings an ambiance that is hard to find anywhere else.....bright stars overhead surrounded by a pristine forest, deck speakers that bring any selection of music from the vast music library, and plenty of outdoor seating to share family secrets, tell ghost tales, and catch up on recent events. It's quite magical. Thank you Jeannie for your insightful comments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mountain Getaway

    Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Jen (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 07/13/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    Beautiful. Amazing. Relazing. Just a few words to describe our outstanding trip to "Huckleberry Woods Escape." Four families, including mine, stayed here for 5 days and truly enjoyed every minute of our time. The children's ages ranged from 4 months to 7 years. The kids rarely left the pool area, and if they did, it was merely to grab a quick sandwich or play in the tree house. They are still talking about how much fun they had and want to go back! The adults spent a fair amount of time at the pool, but also in the gourmet kitchen. Every night we prepared a big dinner, which was super easy and fun since the house had everything we needed to cook. At night we found ourselves sitting on the deck with a fire. The stars were beautiful and so was the peaceful surrounding. A few of the days we ventured 20 minutes away for some hiking and various sightseeing. We also took the 30 min. drive to the Santa Cruz boardwalk. I would HIGHLY recommend this house to anyone; especially with a larger group of kids or teenagers. You will definitely create memories that last a life time. We sure did!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Jen's group of friends were the perfect guests to enjoy the magical ambiance that Huckleberry Woods has to offer, and her comments are very much appreciated. They discovered how perfectly this house is set up for multiple family vacationing, with plenty of space for everyone, and were able to enjoy "green living" without any extra thought. They effortlessly recycled, composted, used eco-friendly laundering products, low energy lighting, and the solor heated pool. They can feel good about having a low impact on the environment, in addition to the stress-free relaxation they enjoyed in the enchanting redwood forest. As Jen expressed, the time spend playing with the children in the pool, cooking together in a gourmet kitchen, and talking around a fireplace under the stars were memorable experiences that they can take with them forever, which is the goal of Huckleberry Wood Escape. We hope to see them again soon, to add their names to our long list of returning friends.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Place for a group gathering

    Great Place for a group gathering

    • Guest Lance K (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/04/10
    We rented this awesome property for a 50th Birthday party with about 12 friends in mid July. The place was perfect - plenty of room for people to party and/or have some private time, huge, well stocked kitchen for group meals, tons of decking, perfect weather, pool with plenty of floaty devices and just the right temperature, and gorgeous mountain views. And for those who wish to engage in activities outside the house, santa cruz isn't far, town is walking distance, and some of the best hiking around is very close by. Thanks for sharing this property with us...

    Owner response: Lance's group was a pleasure to have stay at HWE as they really utilized, and appreciated, the fact that there are multiple areas that they were able to be together as a large group, and lots of nooks and comfy places to sit privately and reflect on life....and turning 50. As with most of our guests who love to cook, they enjoyed the well appointed kitchen with top of the line applicances, cookware, and table service, with plenty of counter space for multiple chefs. They didn't have to bring anything with them except the food to prepare and the friends to enjoy it with. Lance, thank you so much for sharing your experience, and I know the next 50 years will be even more exciting and pleasureable than the first 50. Cheers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Pete Lewis (St. Paul, MN)
    • Date of stay 08/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/25/09
    This beautiful house recently served as our central base for a three generation family reunion. We had 5 couples and 6 young kids in our party, and the house provided wonderful accomodations. Between the pool, the tree house, evening fires on the deck, and an occasional movie, the kids never got bored. Some of our local relatives also dropped in to visit, and all were impressed. The location was also great for our frequent trips to the redwoods, Santa Cruz, and into San Francisco. Nance was a terrific host, giving us a very detailed tour of the entire house, making sure we all felt welcome and at home. Hopefully we'll be able to come back soon.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thanks for a memorable stay.

    Thanks for a memorable stay.

    • Guest John R. (Santa Clara, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 12/12/08
    • Review Submitted 01/19/09
    Thank you so much, George and Nancy, for a memorable stay. Your home was so meticulously maintained. I confess that I am particular about allergies and dust—I had no problem in your home. The house was gorgeous and the views spectacular. I loved the tree house for the kids and the huge redwoods on the property. Everyone loved the pool and hot tub and sitting on the deck in the evening. I have looked at many homes in the Santa Cruz area for vacations and none have been as clean and able to accommodate our large group like your home. It was ideal for our large family. Equivalent rooms at a same quality hotel would have cost us way more and we would not have been able to have our meals at one table! Thanks again, see you next year. John and Nina Santa Clara, CA.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Sabrina and Danielle
    • Date of stay 08/24/08
    • Review Submitted 08/23/08
    What a piece of paradise! Rising with the fog covering the mountain tops. Nightly soaks in the spa gazing at the stars. Smelling clean, clear redwood air. This home is a sanctury and we have received so much nurturing, inspiration, and fun here. Thank you for creating this lovely space for us to retreat and create peace. You went above and beyond to make our stay as seamless, comfortable, and relaxing as we could have imagined. This home is truely a haven for the soul.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Perfect Retreat

    The Perfect Retreat

    • Guest cybrena (felton, california, usa)
    • Date of stay 08/22/08
    • Review Submitted 09/16/09
    Look no further than Huckleberry Woods Escape! This is truly the BEST place you will find, at a very affordable rate with thoughtful, professional hosts and an amazing home for your vacation, retreat, gathering, etc. I did extensive research to find a place for our retreat and Huckleberry Woods won hands down, it is simply in a category of it's own that is not duplicated anywhere I've found. We loved it so much we considered reserving it for the next year even though we didn't have anything planned yet. Believe me, this beautiful paradise is perfect - the house is immaculately clean in every nook and cranny, the style of the home is gorgeous and elegant while also being comfortable and cozy like home, amazing vast forest views, pool, hot tub, plenty of room, new/plush towels, bedding, etc, private, quiet and so much more. While some places you see the photos and think it's going to be wonderful and you find yourself disappointed seeing the real thing, with Huckleberry Woods Escape the photos show it's beauty and charm and the real thing is even better. Another plus is that your hosts are thoughtful, kind, extremely professional and very thorough in what they do. A wonderful place to create memories!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A magical haven

    A magical haven

    • Guest Carolien v. (Oregon House, CA, U.S.A.)
    • Date of stay 08/09/08
    • Review Submitted 03/02/09
    We had an unforgettable family reunion in this amazing house. Four families with five children and eight adults, aged 9 to 74. Two of the families traveled all the way from Europe for this, and it was so worth it! The house provided the perfect balance for togetherness and the need for private space. We'd have long, drawn out breakfasts at the table, coffee and lunches on the deck together, fun bar-b-ques, drinks and 's'mores' by the fire on the deck at night. In between everyone could choose to do something different; a plunge in the lovely pool, working out on the "work-out" deck, read a book in the comfortable livingroom, take a walk in the beautiful surroundings, climb the treehouse. Some of us liked to disappear into the incredible kitchen, which is every chef's dream kitchen! We loved the late night jacuzzi moments under the stars, while the children were sleeping in their comfy beds. The house was equipped with every possible luxury, from piles of soft bath towels to a library of d.v.d.'s for the large flatscreen t.v., to the many c.d.'s to be played even outside on the deck. It almost seemed like a pity to leave this haven for one of the many great things to do in the area. But we loved our trips to the ocean, to Carmel, to down town Santa Cruz, all within very reasonable reach from the house. Great to come back "home", though! We felt taken care of all the way - from the warm and friendly welcome into the crispy clean house, to the many tips and recommendations, to the smooth follow-up practicalities. The pictures on this site are nice, but truly don't reflect the grandeur of this dream vacation house. So much space, and yet it's intimate and cozy. It took us a long time to find a spot to accomodate the variety of people in our family and this house offered everything and more it promised to be. Looking at the pictures now again brings back many beautiful memories of our time there - maybe it's time for another reunion...

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • You'll Never Want to Leave

    You'll Never Want to Leave

    • Guest BrookeG (Walnut Creek, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/30/08
    • Review Submitted 08/06/08
    I would recommend Huckleberry Woods Escape to anyone looking for a house (estate, really) that's a destination within itself. George does a great job providing pictures and content to describe the property...but somehow it was even more fantastic in person. It was the perfect location for several families with children, because it's literally like three houses in one. You have the main floor, the three bedrooms with a seperate family room and kitchen downstairs, and then the private carriage house. We had five families onsite, and everyone was pleased with their accommodations. It's obvious that the property is well-loved. It's truly like getting to stay in someone's fabulous house while they are away on vacation. In fact, the owners gave us a tour and a gift basket upon our arrival. It was easy to plan activities with their recommendations (golf, hiking, surfing, dinner out). The amazing deck with fireplace, the treehouse, the fabulous pool and spa...I'm ready to book for next year just writing this review.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: We appreciate the love that Brooke's group gave back to Huckleberry Woods Escape, and would welcome them back at any time. The photos that they sent us of their group on the deck and the children's Tree House Club rules made our day. We pride ourselves in providing the little extra touches that make this vacation home a unique and special experience, and are looking for groups that can appreciate the finer things in life in a fun, comfortable, and environmentally friendly setting. Thanks Brooke for showcasing that so well! Note from Nancy 2012: While George passed shortly after Brooke's family visited in 2009, we have continued on in the same tradition, continuously improving and adding to the magic of the property,and have erected a redwood bear on the property in George's memory. The Carriage House is now my private residence, close enough for my guests to get any assistance they need, and separate enough that some groups never see us at all during their stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Huckleberry Woods--great place for a wedding!

    Huckleberry Woods--great place for a wedding!

    • Guest Just Hitched (Santa Cruz, California)
    • Date of stay 06/19/08
    • Review Submitted 03/02/09
    Huckleberry Woods Escape provided a great venue for my husband and I to get married last summer. The well appointed house had all of the amenities for our guests, including luxurious bedrooms, an entertainment center, deck lounging and BBQ equipment, a gourmet kitchen, a hot tub and an awesome pool! The house and property most definitely lived up to its description in what was provided. We knew we wanted an intimate wedding, and we were looking for a place large enough for our closest family and friends, but not so huge that our humble budget could not afford it. Huckleberry Woods provided just what we wanted: a venue that could accomodate guests flying in from out of town, a pool to help create that laid-back feeling we wanted (not to mention an escape from the mountain heat and fires of summer '08), and a gourmet kitchen where we could prepare our own food for the wedding. We also wanted a place that would have perfect weather, even with the lower-lying coastal fog all too familiar to Santa Cruz County locals, and was centrally located for people traveling from the Bay Area. The other plus about Huckleberry is the fact that it is senior, kid and pet-friendly, for we wanted our extended family members, ranging in ages from 5-80, to be able to attend and enjoy themselves. Because the house and property are already so beautiful and beatifully maintained, we did minimal decorating for our wedding. We chose the theme of sunflowers and simple red Chinese parasols and fans, and we accented the gazebo near the pool with these items. Our guests mostly sat around the pool, feet dangling in, or up on the deck overhead while we exchanged our vows. I would happily recommend Huckleberry Woods Escape to family and friends (in fact, I already have!), especially those looking for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Bay Area, or those who want a different experience from the predictably expensive and foggy beach house of south county. Huckleberry Woods is ideal for family reunions, retreats, or groups of friends who want to spend time with each other, not necessarily out on the town. Many of our guests raved about the location and accomodations. I want to thank George and Nancy for helping us to make such a memorable experience, and we hope to return one day soon for a family getaway.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners.

    Owner response: 2013: While we can no longer offer the property for special events like Rachel and Andrew's wedding due to the new Santa Cruz County vacation rental permitting rules, we thoroughly enjoyed having them as a repeat group the following year to celebrate their anniversary.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Gathering Place for Family and Friends

    Wonderful Gathering Place for Family and Friends

    • Guest CA Central Coast Fan (Portland, OR)
    • Date of stay 06/13/08
    • Review Submitted 03/02/09
    Huckleberry House, is great all around -- enjoying the spectacular views, deck, and pool, and access to the Santa Cruz Mountains outside, and the comfortable, well equipped and well cared-for house inside. George and Nancy were extremely helpful and accommodating to the needs of our group, even rearranging furniture to match our needs -- five families/couples coming from 4 states with kids ranging from six-month old twins to 11 year olds. I would recommend it as best matching a slightly smaller group than our huge group due to the lack of a bathroom in the guest house. Unless that has changed, the house would be best for up to about 12-14 bathroom-users (adults plus kids) -- compared to our 16 (not counting the twins)! -- but the experience was still pleasant with our extra-large group.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: We took Gabriela's suggestion and reconfigured the house to accommodate everyone under one roof, and added a bathroom and outdoor shower at the pool. We enjoy making improvements every year, and will continue to suprise our returning guests with unexpected new upgrades.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A little piece of heaven.

    A little piece of heaven.

    • Guest SpecialK (CA)
    • Date of stay 05/06/08
    • Review Submitted 06/03/08
    Driving in was such a treat, all those big beautiful Redwoods. It’s was so peaceful and quite, with a little back home built in. The rooms are pretty and the entire place and grounds are so clean, cooking our meals in the gourmet kitchen, to sit down at the table in front of those windows and look out into the mountains was spectacular. This was the first vacation we had that we didn’t have to figure out where to go or what to do. It’s all right there. Having your own private pool and spa is the only way to go. We enjoyed walking around the fenced in yard with beautiful gardens and I even tried to climb the rope to the tree house. I applaud the owners for sharing “A little piece of heaven” with us. Regards.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]