Custom Home with Beautiful Views of Mt. Alyeska - Girdwood, Ak
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Girdwood house description
Available May 1st thru October 15th, this beautiful 5 bedroom custom-crafted home is in the heart of the Girdwood Valley. Located conveniently between Anchorage and the Kenai Peninsula, Girdwood is the perfect place to enjoy the best of Alaska. Great halibut and salmon fishing awaits just down the highway in Seward. Fabulous skiing, hiking, mountain biking, wildlife viewing, and gold panning are right out the front door.
Enjoy stunning views of Mt. Alyeska and the surrounding glacier-capped mountains from the living room and wrap-around decks. Relax by the fire, enjoy a movie on the home theatre system, or cook a meal in the gourmet kitchen.
The custom kitchen is on the main floor and features Viking range, hickory cabinets, granite countertops, and stainless appliances. The home features five bedrooms with private master suite located on the top floor. Master bath has custom travertine tile work, jetted tub, separate shower, and granite countertops.
The main floor living area features spacious living and dining areas, gas fireplace, leather furniture, and custom home theater system with large-screen Sony LCD HDTV. The top floor balcony features a spacious office area stocked with great reading material, a built-in desk, and high-speed wireless internet access. Full laundry facitlites are also located on the main floor.
Garage is not available for use by guests.
- Vacation Rental
- Pets Not Allowed
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12, Beds for 11-12
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Ice Maker
- Washing Machine
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- DVD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- CD Player
- Broadband Access
- Wireless Internet
Pool & Spa
- Jetted Tub
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Mountain Biking
- Mountain Climbing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Cross Country Skiing
- Rock Climbing
- Ice Skating
- Scenic Drives
- Sight Seeing
- Whale Watching
- Bird Watching
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Massage Therapist
- Fitness Center
- Medical Services
- Wildlife Viewing
ReviewsWrite a review
We just had a family reunion for my husband's 80th birthday. 26 family members from around the country. The cabin was perfect and made the celebration a success. Clean, spacious, and a one of a kind view! Couldn't have been better.
- Guest Maribeth (Anchorage)
- Date of stay 08/09/13
- Review Submitted 08/15/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing, age 55+.
Could not have been better
Could not have been better
We could not have asked for a better fit for our families that we reunited with from across the country. The main floor is open with enough seating to feel comfy, not stuffed. The view is gorgeous. The house was clean. There were plenty of bathrooms. Excellent communication between owner and myself. Just a wonderful experience. Thank you so much for making our family reunion more memorable...Jim and Heather
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 08/02/13
- Review Submitted 08/12/13
Owner response: We are so glad to hear you had a great reunion and that the house worked well for your family. Thank you for renting. We hope to see you again!
Overpriced for the money
Overpriced for the money
The house does not have an air conditioner. Windows don't have screens so master bedroom gets to 88 degrees around 5-6pm on a warm day. Not fun. The owner charges taxes equal to 1 night stay, never seen this before. Disposal was not working, i called the owner, they fixed it but asked not to pit anything in it. I put cucumber peels in there, really? They have a a specified check in and check out time just like in hotels and hold you to it. They charged us for late check out. There are 2 flight per day on average out of Alaska : morning and evening, make sure you take the morning flight or you end up paying. Overal, overpriced for what you pay.
- Guest Anna V.
- Date of stay 07/24/13
- Review Submitted 08/04/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing.
Owner response: We make no claims to have air-conditioning in our Girdwood home. We are in Alaska after all. Very few homes here in the 49th state are so equipped. You were fortunate enough to visit during an extended period of sunny, warm weather. I’m sure most travelers would be completely thrilled with similar weather for their Alaska visit. There are only two opening windows in our entire home that do not have screens, so closing blinds and opening windows should have sufficiently cooled the home. We charge room tax for our rental as required by the Municipality of Anchorage (12% of rental rate). This tax is charged by each and every hotel, motel, B&B, and lodging establishment within the municipality. Our rental agreement clearly states that check out time for our rental is 11am. This allows the cleaning crew time to have the home cleaned and ready for the next renters who could be checking in as soon as 4pm the same day. Your party did not leave until after 4pm on the day of your check out. Only then after a phone call from us and finally someone in person requesting you to do so. This caused us to miss our cleaning appointment. Fortunately, no one was checking in that same day or they would have arrived to a dirty house with prior guests who were stubbornly staying well past the stipulated check out time. We incurred additional fees for cleaning because there was fudge/chocolate ground into the carpet and along one of the walls. For these reasons we charged you an additional fee – which was withheld from your security deposit. According to Anchorage International Airport figures there are over 100 domestic passenger flights that depart daily from Anchorage during the summer months. 1.6 million summer visitors can’t arrive on two flights a day… As renters of a beautiful home, which we live in part of the year, we try to be as fair and accommodating to our renters as possible. We enjoy this home for part of the year and are happy to share it with guests while we are not there. We try to keep the home in excellent condition and request that renters treat it with care and abide by the rules we have set out. This ensures that the home is always clean and ready for the next guests or the return of our family.
SURPRISE WEDDING PRESENT
SURPRISE WEDDING PRESENT
We rented this property to have preparation accomodations for my daughter's (the bride) wedding party. Were we ever pleasantly surprised to have such spacious areas and the view and kitchen exceded our expectations. The owners were extremely pleasant to work with in answering questions prior to booking. We rented just after solstice and even though the weather was not the best, the views of the ever changing scenery (mama and baby moose) was beautiful and only added to the beauty of the bride!
- Guest d (sun valley, idaho)
- Date of stay 06/21/10
- Review Submitted 07/06/10
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.
AMAZING home! Our family rented this property for summer solstice in 2008. The accomodations are luxurious & spacious, and the views breathtaking. We didn't want to leave.
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 01/19/09
- Review Submitted 01/19/09
Base Rate $449/night for 1-8 guests (3 night minimum stay). $25 fee per additional guest per night. 10% discount for stays of 7 nights or more. Rate subject to 12% MOA Bed Tax. $500 refundable reservation/security deposit required to confirm reservation. Full payment of rental rate due 30 days prior to arrival. Written notice of cancellation must be received 30 days prior to stay to receive a full refund of security/rental deposits.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Primary: (907) 362-1353 (Alaska, USA)
- Secondary: (907) 224-2289 (Alaska, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Beautiful 5 Bedroom 3 Bath Home in Girdwood, Alaska
Main floor living area with gas fireplace, 47" LCD HDTV, and leather furniture
Main floor full-bathroom with solid granite countertop.
Master Bedroom with King Size Bed
Great fishing for Halibut and Salmon in Seward with ProFish-n-Sea Charters
Stunning views of Mt. Alyeska and surrounding mountains
Dining room with table for up to 8 (with additional table leaf not pictured).
Main Floor Bedroom with Two Twin Beds (can be converted to king bed).
Custom Gourmet Kitchen with Viking Range and Stainless Appliances
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Friday, May 24, 2013