Detroit Lake Oregon Get Away!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Detroit cabin description
Located in the forest above Detroit lake, this Cabin boasts the smell of fresh cut pine and tree top views with privacy. The owners have spent much time to make the cabin a perfect get away. Enjoy the cozy gas stove or venture out onto the large deck with forested view of the mountains and the small town of Detroit.
Close to great activities! Just minutes to the lake or Breitenbush River. The snow is usually at the cabin or less than 45 minutes away for snow skiing at Hoo Doo Ski Bowl. Snow parks are near or two hours to Bachelor Ski Resort. Breitenbush Hot Springs is about 20 minutes away for a day of food, fun and tubing in an old growth forest.
Located about an hour west of Sisters for great shopping or 1.5 hours to Bend.
For more information, please click on the link below.
Keywords: Knotted pine cozy cabin, near lake, forest, wooded A-frame frame, water frontage, mountains,
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Clothing Optional/Nude Sunbathing Nearby
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, Beds for 2-4
- Double Beds (3) Full size bed Located in the master bedroom loft as well as two full size futons in the second bedroom located downstairs that is only accessible through the outside. For the adventurous ones we provide a 4 man tent that set up on the back deck. The tent does not change the alowable occupants for the cabin....moreless
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- Main level
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker:
- Cooking Utensils
- Dishes & Utensils
- Gas Fireplace:
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Towels Provided
- Washing Machine
- Pool Table:
- Video Library:
- Music Library:
Pool & Spa
- Outdoor Grill:
- Deck / Patio
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Monument View:
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Rock Climbing
- Jet Skiing
- Whitewater Rafting
- Freshwater Fishing
- Hunting Small Game
- Hunting Big Game
- Mountain Climbing
- Scenic Drives
- Paddle Boating
- Horseback Riding
- Bird Watching
- Wildlife Viewing
- Cross Country Skiing
- Sight Seeing
- Located on Detroit Lake this small towne buzzes with activity in the spring ramping up to summer fun! Then in Autumn falling quiet to winter snows and some rowdy storms that pass through the Cascades. Enjoy the Lake with two Marinas a myriad of restaurants and three grocery stores. Check out the close by activites at the Insider Guide Link for other summer and winter activities....moreless
ReviewsWrite a review
beautiful A frame retreat
beautiful A frame retreat
we had a lovely time. our cabin was clean spacious and had everything we needed. loved the hot tub! and loved the bedroom at the top of the A frame.
- Guest Alexis (Portland)
- Date of stay 08/19/13
- Review Submitted 09/13/13
Recommended for: Romantic getaway, tourists without a car.
A spelndid time at Tres Bien - Merci!!!
A spelndid time at Tres Bien - Merci!!!
We had an awesome time at the cabin. Everything was very clean, comfortable and the ammenities numerous and plentiful. Located amongst trees overlooking the town of Detroit, the setting is perfect for the hout tub, fire pit and huge deck in back, as well as the seating outside in front. You can tell a lot of thought went into this home away from home. We'll definitely be back again!
- Guest Chaz (Portland, OR)
- Date of stay 08/16/13
- Review Submitted 08/22/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a great getaway and we love that we get to share it with wonderful visitors such as you.
Million dollar vacation
Million dollar vacation
A million dollar vacation for a small amount of $...
- Guest sherry a.
- Date of stay 07/26/13
- Review Submitted 07/31/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you Sherry, It is a treasure isn't it!
My wife and I stayed at this cabin for a weekend and played on the lake. First off the pictures do not do it justice it is bigger than it appears. We loved having meals out on the back deck and soaking in the hot tub in the evening and looking at the stars. It was really close to the marina which was great for us. Teresa was really helpful anytime that I needed her leading up to and during our stay. Also the fire pit was great for roasting marsh mellows. We will recommend this cabin to our friends and family and will surely come back again.
- Guest Doug (Eugene, OR)
- Date of stay 07/12/13
- Review Submitted 07/19/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you for your review! We love that you enjoyed the hot tub. The pictures don't do it justice but I love that people are pleasantly surprised by the space rather than disappointed. Please do recommend friends and family and winter is a a great time to hide away too.
My husband, son, and I have a very relaxing weekend. The weather was not the best but we enjoyed our stay in the cabin. The only down fall was parking on the road ,no radio or large broom. The cabin was very clean and the kitchen had everything we needed. We would recommend this cabin to our friends. Thank you very much for allowing us to stay.
- Guest Anonymous
- Date of stay 05/24/13
- Review Submitted 05/30/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you for your review. We hope to hear from you again. In response to the "no radio" we are looking at different options and also it reminds me to let people know to bring their IPod or other player because you can plug it into the TV. As for the "no broom" we use the vacuum to pick up the dirt. It works best. Thanks again for staying and we look forward to staying at the cabin again. Rick & Teresa
I will not stay here again, nor recommend this to cabin anyone. I was a little surprised by our treatment by Teresa. I felt like we were putting her out by our stay. We won our stay through an auction, but it seems by doing so it put us in sort of a second class guest status. I kept asking myself, "Does she not like us?" The cabin was clean and it was nice. The lower, detached bedroom was a little odd, but what's a little quirkiness, right.? So the cabin was good, but the expectation around cleaning and the rituals around check-in and out were annoying. The owner was nice enough to give us 3 additional hours after checkout to CLEAN the place.."because that's how long it takes to clean." Honestly? So rather than have a nice relaxing day of check out.......instead.....We were asked to change and wash all the bedding using a washer and dryer big enough to wash, maybe 2 sheets. It took us all morning (more than 3 hours) to do all the laundry. We had to mop the floors (by hand - no mop supplied), clean the bathrooms and kitchen, vacuum, etc. If we used the propane for the fireplace, even for just one hour, we were required to refill the tank (so no fire for us). All of these expectations were well succinctly spelled out in the welcome manual. I've never stayed anywhere that had this many requirements. Of course, none of this was mentioned in the auction information. To top it off,....even though we followed every cleaning and checkout bullet point to the "t", Teresa took well over a month to send us our deposit after we contacted her several times.
- Guest Pete (United States)
- Date of stay 12/20/12
- Review Submitted 05/27/13
Owner response: Shannon, First of all I do want to say that there was never any intention to give you the sense that you did not rate 1st class service. If I had known that you felt this way, I would have taken any action necessary to make sure you felt important. Our check out times are set up for guests to have some fun on the day of check out and to allow enough time to prepare the cabin for the next guest to arrive to a clean cabin. It is not expected to take three hours to clean and prepare the cabin for the next guest. And if this was communicated to you in any way, I am sorry. We run back to back check in and check out times and this saves costs because we do not hire out to have our cabin cleaned after each guest. We have worked this system now for five years and so far we have been successful and have not recieved a complaint. Our cleaning requirements does not include washing sheets and I am sorry that this was not communicated to you clearly. It does not ask for it in the instructions and if it does, this is in error. Again our cleaning requirements allows us to keep costs down, it allows the next guest to arrive to a clean cabin, just like you did, and most cases this system has worked for the last five years. You are right we do not provide a mop but generally it has been ok to just quickly go over the floor with a damp cloth. I come in and do the deep cleaning on a regular basis. I am sorry that cleaning the floor was disagreeable to you. Finally about the propane. Not everyone chooses to use the propane and in order for us to keep the rental rates down we don't add propane costs to the rates and instead we ask visitors to refill the propane if they use again our system has worked. It is only a 7 gallon tank and because we are not there to refill it every time a guest leaves it it full for the next guest as a courtesy. Please accept my humble apologies and I am willing to offer you another complimentary two night stay to hopefully give us both another opportunity to have a more positive experience. As for the Security Deposit that was delayed in being returned to you, yes there are times that processes are slowed down and I did express my regrets to you and I am doing it again. We will not require another security deposit if you so choose to stay at the cabin again. Please consider another stay and hopefully this negative review can be turned into something more positive. Sincerely, Teresa
Went there to work on my book of fourteen years; the presence in and out was perfect. I fell in love with the decor and have been trying to locate the Le Rooster Dish Set since. Would highly recommend this rental anytime.
- Guest Dimples (United States)
- Date of stay 03/11/13
- Review Submitted 03/28/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, tourists without a car.
Cabin at Detroit Lake
Cabin at Detroit Lake
What a sweet place to hide out from reality... It was everything we had hoped for Quiet, peacefull, clean, comfortable and even the hot tub was fired up for us!! Teresa was fast in repyling to my questions. I will and have recomended this property to my friends and family.
- Guest Bob (Newberg,Oregon)
- Date of stay 02/01/13
- Review Submitted 02/07/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
It was everything we hoped for and expected. The location was not only child friendly, (although we did leave our kiddos at home) but was also VERY CLEAN and well taken care of. You can tell a lot of love and care has been put into this place. The cabin itself was far better (and felt bigger) than the pictures shown. My husband and I had a wonderful time relaxing in this home and lounging in the hammock. :) The owner was VERY helpful and quick in answering all questions and was also extremely friendly. I have to say, if you are looking for a romantic getaway or a place to relax with the kids, this fits both expectations! A++ Thank you!
- Guest Mia S. (Longview, WA)
- Date of stay 09/03/12
- Review Submitted 10/11/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank You Mia for the wonderful review. My husband and I both love to come there on our own as well as together and with the kids. Thanks for choosing our lovely cabin for your get away. Teresa Maurmann
Great details features like architectural details w/ ceiling fan. Also the Rooster Dishes, Happy Trails silverware, Miele vacuum cleaner and washer/dryer were a nice touch. Sleeping on the full size bed with down pillows was peaceful with the windows closed to minimize street noise. The futon were not as comfortable and the outside access to the separate bedroom was not obvious when we arrived. We had to hunt for the sheets to make up the full size mattress upstairs. We enjoyed the pizza in Mill City on Hwy 22. Overall we had a fabulous comfortable enjoyable 5 nights in Detroit holiday doing hiking at Triangulation Peak, Opal Creek Loop, Pamelia Lake and Sahalie Falls/Tamolitch Pool. We would definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives. We commend the owners on their helpfulness and look forward to spending time in Detroit in future years. Thanks for the wonderful memories. ;-]
- Guest Rick (Sammamish, WA)
- Date of stay 07/27/12
- Review Submitted 08/04/12
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Rates Oct 1, 2013 - April 30, 2014 $105.00/night* for two. Add'l $25/person/night Rates May 1 - Sept 30, 2014 $125/night* for two. Additional $20/person/night. *Does not include State and City of Detroit lodging tax Minimum two night stay (flexible during winter) No refunds on cancellations/additional guests require 7 day notice Holiday weekends are 3 night minimum stay-winter negotiable A refundable security deposit of $150.00 is required upon reservation- Security Deposit can take maximum 21 days to refund from check out date
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Portland International at 125 Miles
- Nearest Train: Salem Oregon at 52 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Pacific Ocean at 110 Miles
- Nearest Ski: Hoo Doo at 40 Miles
- Nearest Golf: Elk Horn at 28 Miles
Year Purchased: 2007
About the owner: We have been married since 2005. We have three kids and 2 Huskies. We love them all very much! My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2007. We decided that life is too short to work so much and rarely spend family time together. We found our cabin in October 2007.
Why the Owner Chose Detroit:
Mostly for the Lake. But it now goes deeper than that. It is an oasis of calm, grounding and recharging for everyone in the family including the dogs.
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
It's endless. The best times for my wife and I is in the snow. Turn on the gas fireplace. Grab a book and snuggle up. Napping and reading all day with snacks and good conversation. The kids love any adventure outside. Walking around town, going to the lake or exploring the woods. We are just a few minutes to swimming, snow skiing, hiking and the hot springs.
- Primary: (503) 949-7064 (Oregon, USA)
- Secondary: 503-949-7064 (Oregon, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Nestled in the snow during the great storm of 2006.
Mt Jefferson Hike
Ha-mick and shoes
Partial hot tub cover under construction for viewing rain and snow.
View of Detroit lake from Brietenbush Look out trail
Early morning coffee in the hot tub
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Tuesday, November 12, 2013
2 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.