Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Bright and Sunny with 3 skylights

'Sounds of the Sea' with Rooftop Oceanview Patio [#166475] | View Property

Brookings
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$135/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (58)

Sort by:
  • BELLISIMO! AMAZING VACATION HOME

    BELLISIMO! AMAZING VACATION HOME

    • Guest Sara S. (Willows)
    • Date of stay 03/06/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    Feeling really excited about our families FIRST vacation together, and to stay at Sounds of the Sea was by far the BEST decision for a vacation home we could have EVER made. I must start with the 5 STAR hospitality and cleanliness. Roberta was a very attentive, enjoyable, and super friendly lady to speak with. I had no idea, that like others have said, that this LOVELY home would surpass our expectations. Wonderful cozy beds, comfortable living room, as for the kitchen....everything and more that you could ever need. Cute backyard, breathtaking rooftop deck to see and hear the ocean. I really liked the laundry area, and if you think you forgot something, just look in the cupboards and they remembered of it for you. I believe that my mind could not have been more at ease than staying at this vacation home that truly felt like home. Loved the touch of local history in the living room, I was enlightened and appreciated reading a lot of it. Truly blessed we came across Sounds of the Sea, and are ecstatic to return for future vacations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Look no further

    Look no further

    • Guest Russ and Teri (Melba, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 12/01/13
    • Review Submitted 12/08/13
    For years we stayed in motel rooms but your home has changed all that. We had all that we needed to spend a carefree few days in Brookings. After a chilly day on the river the master shower was magnificent. We could not have asked for better accommodations with easy access to the harbor and town. Took home some steelhead (thanks to Wild Rivers Fishing)and some great memories. Can"t wait to come back and see the flowers in bloom. Thank you Roberta and Bill.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I forgot to write in the Guestbook, so here goes!

    I forgot to write in the Guestbook, so here goes!

    • Guest Ian's Mom (Sacramento, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/02/13
    Just returned home from Brookings, and we can't wait to go there again. Sounds of the Sea was the perfect vacation home for us--we have an autistic young adult and are sometimes worried that he is too much for a vacation rental. But this house was perfect and he loved it too. It was spotless when we arrived and had everything needed for a relaxing time. My son loves the Dollar Tree which was very close to the house, and they grew to know us on our daily visits there (!). He and I also took many exploring car rides to get to know the area while Dad relaxed at the house. Fell in love with Mattie's restaurant and got lucky both times we went--very little wait! And my husband really loved Wild Rivers Pizza so that was a staple during the week. The home rental process couldn't have been easier and my online correspondence with Roberta was completely stressfree--she is super nice and accommodating. And a pleasure to speak with, too. Oh, and the home is in a great location....a couple of minutes to the Port of Brookings Harbor which has a lot of cool stuff, and a few more minutes to shopping and other recreational activities. We even did Jerry's Rogue Jets boat ride, down the Rogue River and my son LOVED it! The best part was getting wet :) Jerry's is located in the cute town of Gold Beach, just 25 miles away, so we couldn't not try that. I miss Brookings already, and the "Sounds of the Sea"! :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Thank-you!

    Thank-you!

    • Guest Patty (Southern Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 08/31/13
    Roberta, we loved your home. It was our first family vacation in many years with our twins and we cannot express how homey the stay was with little ones. The first thing we noticed was the personal touches such as the dedication to your family on the rooftop. Very sweet. We appreciated how well stocked the house was. I loved having crab with not worrying about bringing my own tools! The neighborhood was very quiet and I loved being able to sit outside at night after the kids were asleep listening to the waves and the distant buoy. Your backyard was amazing--with kids I also appreciated the locked gates to the rooftop. The birds were fun to watch in the morning as was the fountain. My husband wants the grill and outdoor kitchen! I appreciated the laundry area a lot. The bedrooms were very comfortable. I am sure I have missed something! We would love to stay here again alone or without kids. It is really a perfect home. Thank-you for sharing it with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our fourth stay at Sounds of the Sea

    Our fourth stay at Sounds of the Sea

    • Guest Maggie (Grants Pass, Or)
    • Date of stay 08/15/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    Thanks Roberta and Bill for another wonderful vacation. As always, the house and yard was beautiful. The house is comfortable, well equipped and perfect for a much needed get away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Morning coffee on the rooftop deck is a treat! p.s. when we were here over July 4th....the view of the fireworks at the harbor were beautiful from the deck. We truly feel at home here. Thank you!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A place to stay where nothing has been forgotten at Sounds of the Sea.

    A place to stay where nothing has been forgotten at Sounds of the Sea.

    • Guest Dan (Pahrump, NV)
    • Date of stay 07/08/13
    • Review Submitted 07/30/13
    My wife and I had an absolutely wonderful visit with cool temperatures (we live in the desert) and a very quiet relaxing vacation. This property is definitely 5 STAR, nothing has been forgotten, from what you need to prepare a meal to serving it in style or in a relaxed setting. The home is beautifully decorated with a very private garden that leads to the observation/sun deck. The listing was accurate and the owners were more than helpful when advice was requested. I would recommend this property with no reservations. If you visit, go to Gold Beach and eat at "Rollin-in-Dough", a real treasure!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Even better than home

    Even better than home

    • Guest Lori G.
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 06/30/13
    This cottage is truly charming. We could not stop commenting how this house was even better stocked than our own homes. Every detail has been taken care of. The only complaint was that we did not book a longer trip. The property is even better than the photos and description. Everything is so cute and thoughtful. My one year old daughter came with us and we loved that we did not have to pack a playpen or highchair because they were provided at the cottage. There were even baby blankets and a quilt for the pack and play. We went salmon fishing with Charterhouse Sport Fishing. Jim is amazing and we caught five 20+ pound fish which we were able to grill in the back yard of the cottage that same day. We also had lunch at The Vista Pub which was delicious. Great food and excellent service. We are already planning our next stay at Sounds of the Sea and I look forward to chatting with Roberta again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Superb!!

    Superb!!

    • Guest Cathy (Eugene, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/26/13
    My husband and I rented Bill and Roberta's beach home for three days in March. The house was everything and more than we expected! It is an adorable, homey, comfortable place! It's super clean and very bright and lightfilled due to lots of windows and skylights. The beds are very comfortable, as is the furniture. The kitchen is one of the most well appointed ones we've been in for a vacation home. The backyard is a gem. The birds were out in force building nests for the birdhouses. The rooftop deck is a great place to hang out to soak up sun or watch the sunset. The outdoor kitchen area is great. Nothing like having a grill and a sink outside! We will definitely stay in this home should we return to Brookings again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • A Lovely Spot

    A Lovely Spot

    • Guest John (Mountain View, CA)
    • Date of stay 02/16/13
    • Review Submitted 03/01/13
    Every convenience has been thought of by Bill & Roberta, the owners. This is indeed an enjoyable place in a location that is close to all that there is to offer in Brookings.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • THIS is how a vacation rental should be!

    THIS is how a vacation rental should be!

    • Guest Becky (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/24/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    Sounds of the Sea lacks NOTHING and provides EVERYTHING you could need or want in a vacation rental. We don't know how to say it any other way. The owners of this great place have thought of everything - and more! - that you could possibly need or use during your stay. All you literally need to bring are your clothes and food items. They have provided everything else...a convenient computer station, ALL the dishes, pots/pans, cooking utensils, etc. or linens you'll ever need, very comfortable beds (and even extra cots if needed), a VERY NICE gas grilling/fire pit area with sink, counter top, patio table/chairs, a beautiful outdoor sitting area (both in the backyard and on the awesome rooftop ocean view patio), and don't get us started on all that they provide (in their garage) for your daily outings, including walking sticks, outdoor games, camping chairs and sleeping bags!! We just can't say enough about Sounds of the Sea! We have stayed in many a vacation rental and Sounds of the Sea FAR exceeds every single one of them in amenities, seamless registration procedures, effortless move-in/move-out, cleanliness, a warm and inviting home, etc etc etc! The location is great! We could truly hear the "sounds of the sea" all throughout our stay. It was wonderful and comforting. We spent a wonderful evening with my (elderly) parents, sitting around the fire pit, roasting marshmallows...AFTER having had a superb grilled steak dinner using the well-thought-out grill/sink/patio area! The owners provided the wood, starters, matches...even the "sticks" to roast our marshmallows on! We thank Sounds of the Sea for the neat time we had with my parents that evening! We couldn't have had the same experience if we had stayed at one of the local motels or campgrounds. We could go on and on about how nice Sounds of the Sea is, but we find that we are running out of "Characters remaining", so we'll finish with this...Sounds of the Sea is a wonderfully warm and inviting place and one we'll definitely use EVERY time we make the trip to Brookings! We thank God for allowing us to find Sounds of the Sea and we pray He blesses the owners of such a great place in such a great way!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfectly appointed home for a vacation retreat!

    Perfectly appointed home for a vacation retreat!

    • Guest Ted (Spokane, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/17/12
    The description didn't do justice to the wonderful furnishings, excellent cleaning and overall top of the line rental home for vacation or retreat! We rented houses from Dixon & Bodega Bay, CA, to Lanai, Maui and Arch Cape, OR, and this is the finest by far. The local are is also full of opportunities for shopping, walking on the beach and eating. We are thrilled and look forward to other opportunities to use this facility!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • sisters get away

    sisters get away

    • Guest ZuZu's Petals (Portland ,Oregon)
    • Date of stay 07/22/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    We had a lovely time during our stay at 'Sounds of the Sea'. The accomodations were virtually spotless and the bedding and towels plush and cozy. This cute cottage was a great base to set out from to enjoy JSmith river, Pistol river, antiquing, and beach combing, we even went to the Curry Co fair. We had a nice dinner at Sebastian's Seafood Grill. I especially enjoyed the harbor sounds and the close proximity to shopping and Dutch Bros. Coffee. Roberta was available by phone to answer questions and she and her family really did think of everything when outfitting this rental.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Marlene and Charlie (Mineral Bluff GA)

    Marlene and Charlie (Mineral Bluff GA)

    • Guest Marlene D.
    • Date of stay 07/14/12
    • Review Submitted 09/03/12
    Great vacation home with lovely furnishings. We really felt comfortable and "at home". The patio and deck areas are beautiful and so peaceful with lovely plants and wind chimes. Roberta and Bill have thought of every comfort from the bedding, towels, computer, kitchen and beach supplies. Charlie loves to fish and a neighbor's suggestion for charters (through Roberta) turned out to be awesome! I walked to the beach and harbor several times and as soon as the fog burned off the weather was great on the coast. We hiked the redwoods and every beach and point up 101 stopping along the way. We enjoyed most meals at home since fresh seafood is so plentiful but did find two cute restaurants, one right on the docks and a bistro in town. Do not miss any concerts in Azalea Park-perfect setting, and Loeb Park on the river, great for floating, kayaking, swimming and fishing or just sitting and reading and enjoying the sights. We did not make it to Brandy Peak but will save that for our return trip. The smoked salmon store was closed but the olive store was nice, go to the bakery in town but it is only open Friday-Sunday I believe. Local wines are abundant and reasonable. Thank you Bill and Roberta for sharing your lovely home with us-Charlie and Marlene

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Wonderful Stay!

    Wonderful Stay!

    • Guest Marci (Grants Pass. Or)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/01/12
    Roberta, We had such a wonderful stay at your beautiful home this past weekend. My husband and Ron liked being able to pull the boat into the driveway and Maggie and I loved sitting on the back patio with our coffee watching the nesting birds. It was such a fabulous time and we will most definately be making reservations again. Thank you for all your attentiveness to make your home so inviting. We had an incredible time. Marci

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great home base for trips into Redwoods - Charming!

    Great home base for trips into Redwoods - Charming!

    • Guest Michael and Barbara (Lynden, WA, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/10/11
    • Review Submitted 09/19/11
    Our stay was very pleasant and this place is just wonderful. You could not expect any better accommodation for this price, and also so close to all the attractions in southern Oregon and northern California. The rooms are very cozy, all the necessities and more are there. The owners thought of everything to make the stay as nice as it can be. The rooftop patio is great for those nice sunny and warm days and the backyard patio with grill and fire pit is just right size and so homey. There are many decent restaurants around the Brookings and Harbor and we personally recommend Art Alley Grill in Brookings. We hope to stay at your place sometimes in the future.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great place to stay - wish we could have stayed longer !

    A great place to stay - wish we could have stayed longer !

    • Guest Anne (Thomasville, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/12/11
    • Review Submitted 07/20/11
    We just recently returned from a 10 day trip through Oregon. Hands down, our whole family agreed that our stay in Brookings at "Sounds of the Sea" was the best part of our vacation. This house worked out perfectly for our family, and we really hated to leave. The house is very clean, has excellent amenities, large rooms, and it is beautifully landscaped. I highly recommend it. The owners were great to work with, even e-mailing me information ahead of time about area activities. There are many extras in the home -- special touches that made our vacation much nicer: a beautiful backyard with comfortable furniture, a high capacity washer and dryer, a heated massage chair (felt great after a long hike in the Redwood National Park), newspaper delivery, air mattresses for the kids, and wireless internet, to name a few. It is located in a quiet neighborhood with little to no traffic, but it was close enough to walk to the beach and even to the harbor/boardwalk area for dinner one night. We live on the East Coast, but someday we hope to return to Brookings and to the "Sounds of the Sea".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect family getaway!

    Perfect family getaway!

    • Guest Family of Five (KLAMATH FALLS)
    • Date of stay 07/09/11
    • Review Submitted 07/28/11
    My family enjoyed our stay at Sounds of the Sea! The home is nicely decorated, very clean, and has everything you could possibly need while on vacation (even sand toys, beach towels, and an insulated bag for lunch on the beach!). We enjoyed meals on the rooftop deck and roasting marshmallows in the backyard fire pit. The harbor is within walking distance. Our favorite beach to hang out at was Harris beach up the highway a few miles. The owners were very easy to work with and we would definitely stay here again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Inside and Out

    Beautiful Inside and Out

    • Guest Ro and Paul (Rocklin CA USA)
    • Date of stay 06/25/11
    • Review Submitted 08/30/11
    My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 weeks late June/early July including 4th of July of 2011. The fireworks from the upstairs were beautiful. Everything in this home is even better than described. From the moment we opened the front door to a lovely and thoughtfully decorated home, until the day we left, we felt as if we were in our own home. From the closets full of clean sheets and towels, to the basket of "spa" goodies in the master bathroom to the throws on the chairs and lounges to the firepit where we roasted marshmallows to the water fountain outside the master bedroom to the birdfeeders to the windchimes to the luxury of havng 2 bathrooms AND a washer/dryer and a dishwasher to the towels, beach bags, beach chairs, kites, and portable bbq in the garage, and a garage with a remote control garage opener, every detail was taken care and thought of. The owners called us after we arrived to make sure everything was okay (and it was and then some). The photos of this property are nice, but in person it is even better. VERY clean and well-maintained (and easy to maintain for the 2 weeks we were there). This is definitely the place I would recommend to family and friends or for anyone who wants/needs a little rest and relaxation. We did enjoy the Jerry's Rogue River Jet Boats, the Mystery Trees, the Avenue of the Giants and the SkyTrail, but by far, our favorite days were spent sitting on the deck reading and enjoying the ocean breeze. We will definitely be back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Chris, Suzanne and family
    • Date of stay 06/10/11
    • Review Submitted 06/24/11
    Dear Roberta and Bill, Thank You so much for allowing us into your home. We had a wonderful time. The kids camped out two nights on the deck and caught shooting stars both nights!! My wife and I very much enjoyed breakfast in the garden and the wonderfully appointed home of yours. Thank You again. You are very gracious hosts Kind regards, Chris and family from Muttietta GA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Paul and Heather
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 06/24/11
    You have a beautiful home here! We were so amazed that you really have thought of everything It made our stay so easy and carefree. We played hard everyday, lots of hiking, beach exploring and it was so nice to have a cozy home to come back to every evening. Our kids, 8 & 11 loved exploring your home but their favorite part was your backyard. They spent hours using the rooftop patio as a fort and we all enjoyed the fountain, flowers and of course roasting marshmallows. We had such a fun and memorable week and are so sad to leave our ocean retreat. Thank You Paul and family Spokane WA

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Feels like Home

    Feels like Home

    • Guest Lori (Grants Pass, OR)
    • Date of stay 03/25/11
    • Review Submitted 03/28/11
    This is a wonderful place to stay. It is just as it appears in the pictures. Very CLEAN. Owners were very concerned about it meeting our expectations. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks again for sharing your home with us!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Sounds of the Sea is Exquisite!!!!!

    Sounds of the Sea is Exquisite!!!!!

    • Guest Jeanette, Ian, Nick & Chelsea (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    "5 stars" is just not enough for this home. Far and away, this was the best vacation I've ever had. Its beautiful, inside and out. To say its "clean" is an understatement; its immaculate. I don't know if its the time, effort, money or love the owners have obviously put into this place, but there is something about this house that is just soothing and peaceful; it could be the private back yard with the soft melody of the gentle windchime, the water fountain, or maybe its the birds singing with joy because you just fed them with the birdseed from the garage. Or maybe its because you feel so utterly pampered when you climb into the bed that feels like a cloud and sigh at the luxury of the sheets. Or maybe its because on your first night there, you were awestruck looking up at the stars in the night sky and you saw a shooting star. Or maybe it was sitting around the fire pit, talking with your kids. Or maybe it was the kitchen! There is nothing you can bring from home that isn't already here...trust me, I know - I just cooked the full Thanksgiving feast in this house and everything I needed was there - meat thermometer, turkey baster, potato masher, sharp knives, measuring cups, tons of mixing bowls and baking dishes (even pie plates and muffin tins - even the paper muffin cups too!) Or maybe it was the owners. Maybe it was their thoughtfulness and consideration to make sure you want for nothing, or maybe it was their genuine concern - they call the first night to make sure you arrived, got in okay, and that everything is in order. Maybe it was because they have "in case you forgot" baskets, and provide coffee, tea, popcorn, etc. Maybe because its such a safe, quiet neighborhood. There's plenty to do in Brookings too - lots of shops, restaurants, a cinema, fishing, crabbing, beach combing, strolling on the harbor docks, the redwood parks are close. That is, if you can bring yourself to leave the house, backyard and rooftop patio! My 3 kids (21, 21, and 18 yrs) and I spent 4 nights at Sounds of the Sea. I still don't know what it is about this house that is so serene, but it doesn't matter - it only matters that it is truly an exquisite vacation rental and worth every hour of overtime I worked to get here. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Izzi (10 years old)
    • Date of stay 10/05/10
    • Review Submitted 11/08/10
    Thank You for a beautiful spot to vacation! My brother and I had the time of our lives while playing. I veritably passed out with that blue blanket. The balcony had the best view! The binoculars and telescope were genius, and appropriate really. I personally loved cooking in the kitchen. The backyard was to die for; my house will never be as beautiful to me now! It was amazing to be right next to the beach. I'll treasure my memories here always. Love from Izzy (age ten)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Happy "campers"

    Happy "campers"

    • Guest Nurse Nancy (Anderson, Ca.)
    • Date of stay 09/03/10
    • Review Submitted 09/07/10
    Our too brief stay more than met our expectations! Restful, quiet, helpful friendly neighborhood. Considerate owners who demonstrate tremendous pride of ownership and think of every detail and then some! Can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best place to stay, hands down!

    Best place to stay, hands down!

    • Guest Laurel (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/31/10
    • Review Submitted 09/03/10
    Our two year old waved at the house as we pulled away this morning and said, "Bye house. Hope to see you again soon." The house, and it's owners are the best you can get. We love everything about this place. It's positioned just right- near to town, near to the beach, a quiet neighborhood, peaceful surroundings. Bill and Roberta have certainly stocked it with everything you could need, and are so ready to help if by chance there was anything they missed (they didn't though!). The backyard was so inviting, and I could feel safe letting my toddler run around, knowing he couldn't get out of the gates or up to the rooftop patio without us. Can't wait to go back next year (or sooner if we can!) and enjoy all of the comforts of home again, next to my favorite place on earth- the ocean! Thanks again Bill and Roberta!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful, comfortable, clean, and really well equipped

    Beautiful, comfortable, clean, and really well equipped

    • Guest Tom and Karen (Concord, Ca)
    • Date of stay 08/01/10
    • Review Submitted 08/12/10
    We were thrilled with Sounds of the Sea. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and equipped with everything we could possibly need. The owners have taken great care with this property, and it is just as nice as the photos show. The furnishings are comfortable and high quality, not what you would expect in a rental. The back garden is gorgeous and feels like the perfect retreat. The owners are great to deal with, and the rental process was very easy. We walked to the harbor for the Arts Festival, and the beach. In addition, our kids loved playing at the Chetco River (Loeb State Park, a short drive away), and at the great playground at Azalea Park. The drive to the Oregon Caves was also well worth it. There is so much to do, and this home is the perfect place to return to after a busy day. It was a wonderful place to stay and we would love to stay here again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Clean, relaxing, nice home

    Clean, relaxing, nice home

    • Guest Dan (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/20/10
    • Review Submitted 08/05/10
    We stayed at this vacation rental for seven nights, and it was just like home - we had everything we needed! The rental is nicely decorated, very clean, and well stocked with the necessities - all we needed were our food and drinks. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy The owners were very helpful and even called to make sure everything was okay upon our arrival. We hope the home is available for our next trip to Brookings!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet, affordable, clean and all the comforts of home.

    Quiet, affordable, clean and all the comforts of home.

    • Guest D & L (Durham CA)
    • Date of stay 07/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/12/10
    This rental is modestly advertised. The place is decorated and landscaped like a place you see in Better Homes & Garden. The backyard is serene and peaceful. The rooftop patio is a great place to feel the cool ocean breeze and watch the fog roll in or the sunset as it meets the water. The place is clean and has all the comforts of home and more. We enjoyed every minute of our week long stay. The neighborhood is quiet, no barking dogs or loud neighbors so you can actually sleep in. Thank you so much for letting us use your home as our own. We didn't want to leave.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Not to be missed!

    Not to be missed!

    • Guest Clay & Jackie Norton (Lewiston, ID)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 06/28/10
    We've stayed in several VRBO's. Others comments say it all. The owners haven't forgotten anything; the beds are as comfortable as the best, the home is meticulously clean when you arrive, and the back yard landscaping and privacy is perfect. Relaxing on the sundeck or sitting around the fire pit was always the highlight of our day. This is absolutely the best value you will find, and the owners are REALLY nice people. We can't wait to come back!!! Thank you for a great vacation memory Bill & Roberta.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Memorial Weekend 2010

    Memorial Weekend 2010

    • Guest Saraj-Reno (Reno, Nevada)
    • Date of stay 05/28/10
    • Review Submitted 06/02/10
    The vacation rental was fabulous. Everything you needed. The backyard was just the best. We did not get to use it, as we were on the run the entire time at my grandparents place, but wish we had more time to enjoy it more. You guys did a really great job putting this place together. It was cozy and nice, clean and felt like home. Cant wait to return again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest David and Mickey
    • Date of stay 05/11/10
    • Review Submitted 06/24/11
    Roberta and Bill, We loved staying at your home! You provided everything we needed to make it feel like our home in no time at all! The weather was wonderful so we were able to enjoy the patio and the rooftop deck. It has been 6 yrs since we have been to Brookings and this time we made it to Brandy Peak Distillery for a wonderful tour and tasting. They recommended the Nautical Inn for dinner and they were right! We had a great dinner and beautiful views of the ocean. It has been great visiting one of our favorite places and escaping the heat and humidity in the south where we now live. David and Mickey Lexington,SC

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Kathy Kadera (-)
    • Date of stay 04/12/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/10
    Sounds of the Sea exceeded our expectations as a vacation destination. Clean, quiet, very well equipped, and in a convenient location. It was an easy walk to Brookings-Harbor marina for shopping, eating, and ocean strolling. We went for bike rides through quiet neighborhoods and along an ocean view road. Waking to the chirping birds in the backyard and then enjoying coffee on the patio was a highlight several mornings. The new deck above the garage was perfect for "toasting" the sunsets. We will definitely return to Sounds of the Sea. Thank you Bill and Roberta for sharing your relaxing, comfortable home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Neil
    • Date of stay 03/29/10
    • Review Submitted 04/07/10
    From out guestbook We had a great time. Thank You for providing a beautiful retreat. Everything worked out for my friends and I. We will do this again sometime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Piazzini's
    • Date of stay 03/25/10
    • Review Submitted 04/07/10
    Once again our family had a wonderful vacation. The remodel was more than we could ever have imagined! The BBQ (even in the rain) was spectacular-we didn't even get wet. I loved the new washer and dryer-was awesome to have clean clothes in 1 hour! Thank You for sharing your vacation home......."We will be back"

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Leah and Family
    • Date of stay 03/21/10
    • Review Submitted 04/07/10
    What a beautiful home! We could not have asked for a more perfect time. It was like being home but with a view. The kids loved the backyard and the sunsets on the patio. Thank you for all the details you invested in your home. We can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Yu Yun
    • Date of stay 03/17/10
    • Review Submitted 05/27/10
    From Our Guestbook....We are having a great time here visiting beaches, forests, the towns nearby and the wildlife. Really gorgeous house, well maintained. Definately a place to be revisited. Too many wows!! Thanks for the kind hosting, Roberta!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Li-Jung Chen&Chien-Jun Chen
    • Date of stay 03/17/10
    • Review Submitted 03/16/10
    Bear Bill and Roberta, Its our first time to live in American style house because we come from Taiwan where its busy and crowded. We love your house so much, not only clean and comfortable but also lovely decoration. We loved the patio where be enjoyed sunlight, sunset and stary sky. Its an unforgetable vacation and the house makes it even more pleasant.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/17/10
    • Review Submitted 02/17/10
    Wow, This place is fantastic! Large and roomy, immaculate and all the amenities you could want. The roof top deck is incredible! We can't wait to go back. Thanks Bill and Roberta!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest N/A
    • Date of stay 12/05/09
    • Review Submitted 12/04/09
    Our construction is complete and we are now open for reservations. We hope you will consider our home for your Brookings-Harbor destination! Thank You and Happy New Year! Roberta

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Ted, Marge, Karen
    • Date of stay 07/01/09
    • Review Submitted 06/30/09
    Thank You for such a lovely place to stay in-and celebrate out daughters birthday. We have been in many VRBO rentals and this one is the best decorated and equipted we have ever seen! Since we love the Oregon Coast, I am sure we will be back again! Ted, Marge and Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Betty & John
    • Date of stay 06/22/09
    • Review Submitted 06/21/09
    Dear Roberta and Bill, Incrediable- my every need (well-almost) was met. You thought of everything-cute-clean-comfortable. The only thing I might have wished-a foot massage-Ha. Thanks! Betty and John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Carlson's
    • Date of stay 09/22/08
    • Review Submitted 09/21/08
    From guestbook dated Sept.22,2008 Well Roberta & Bill, here we are again! It's nice to be back. Everything is just as clean and cozy as last time we were here in April. Thanks again for all your little touches, including the "guest toiletries". Bud and Diane Surry B.C. Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Ashes
    • Date of stay 09/19/08
    • Review Submitted 09/18/08
    Bill and Roberta, What a quiet neighborhood. Reminds us of Sundays in Paradise. The house was great and convienent to town and the local parks. The last two days gave us sunshine and blue skies, so we took advantage of that! If you are still renting this place in the future we will certainly make arrangments to stay here again. Thanks for the hospitality and the Popcorn! Tom and Karen Ash Paradise Ca

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rae Piazzini (Rogue River, OR)
    • Date of stay 09/05/08
    • Review Submitted 09/05/08
    What a deliteful home. We have rented a number of homes over the past 5 years and "Sounds of the Sea" is undeniably the best. The decor is great/the kitchen is stocked with everything you would ever need. The backyard proved very relaxing and the BBQ'ing was the best. All our beach playing needs were in the garage, even shovels and buckets for the little ones. Thank you for sharing and offering us the opportunity to enjoy some fresh ocean ir and relaxation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lewis Abrams
    • Date of stay 08/28/08
    • Review Submitted 08/27/08
    from guestbook dated Aug18-23 Dear Bill and Roberta, Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us for our vacation. We appreciated how clean everything was and for all the comforts of home. We loved the theme of your decoration. The backyard was beautiful, and if it hadn't rained,we would have used it more. We will certainly tell our friends about your home and recommend it to all. Thanks again, Lewis&Melba Fred&Veeda

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Laurel Rivera (Chico, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/08
    • Review Submitted 08/18/08
    What a wonderful place to stay! My husband, 10 year old and new 3 month old baby all enjoyed ourselves so much. My husband said it was better than a 5 star hotel since you didn't have to deal with elevators or parking. :) Roberta could add the title "All Inclusive" to this listing..all but the food, although even some of that was supplied. The linens, the decorations, the cleanliness, the backyard...too many things to list made it a perfect home away from home. We loved our stay there and will make it our yearly get away for sure.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Marie Brickley
    • Date of stay 08/17/08
    • Review Submitted 08/16/08
    from guestbook dated 8-17-2008 Bill & Roberta Thank You for sharing your beautiful home. Kelly and I had a wonderfully relaxing time while we were there. We found that the house had everything we needed and then some.The evenings, out back by the firepit , were awesome. We even made friends with a hummingbird that showed up. All and all, we had a wonderful weekend and we will be calling to stay the next time we are in Brookings. Thanks Again, Marie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Almonts (Enoch,UT)
    • Date of stay 08/14/08
    • Review Submitted 08/14/08
    Bill and Roberta, Thanks a lot for renting your house to our family!! We had a great time and everything we needed you had for us in your home. You even had Splenda for my coffee. WOW! We enjoyed all that Brookings had to offer and we hope one day to visit again. Thanks again for making us feel at home!! Bob, Mary, Luigi, Gabriel and Christiana PS We will recommend you to our friends

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Barry & Marianne Bishop
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/31/08
    From the guestbook dated 7/25-8-1 We were seeking an escape from the hot Arizona summer and found that and more while staying at your comfy spot by the harbor. We enjoyed strolling and eating double scoop cones and watching locals check their crab traps. Your place is very well equiped and our stay in such a nicely decorated home was a highlight in our drive down the Oregon Coast. The Smuggler Cove's chicken parm dinner was huge! Thanks for the great time! Marianne

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Paul an Manuella Nselel
    • Date of stay 07/19/08
    • Review Submitted 07/18/08
    Added by homeowner from guestbook dated 7-19-08 Dear Bill and Roberta, Thank You so much for renting us your wonderful house. It has everything we could ask for and even more! My kids love the cards, games and the legos. The decoration is great and your place is pristine, its as if nobody had ever been there! The kids thank you for the frisbee too! Manuella, Paul and kids

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next