Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
AVALON- In the Heart of Downtown Saluda

Heart of Downtown Saluda-Stroll to Everything ~ Large Home! [#167970] | View Property

Saluda
House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 11-13)
$200 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (33)

Sort by:
  • Saluda home

    Saluda home

    • Guest wilmguest (Wilmington, NC)
    • Date of stay 07/09/13
    • Review Submitted 07/25/13
    Excellent location for 15 to 20 minute drive to Tryon FENCE. Quiet and peaceful setting, lots to do within short drive. Try the Gorge zipline! Enjoyed window shopping and eating in Saluda, people were so nice. Hope to visit again next year! Home is large enough for 2 families to share, we never used the downstairs bedrooms. The bedroom by the upstairs bathroom has a very uncomfortable mattress, would be nice if it were changed to a king bed. The coffeemaker is on its last legs, coffee was lukewarm. Other than that, highly recommend this home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Slice of amaericana

    Slice of amaericana

    • Guest columbia (columbia sc)
    • Date of stay 05/06/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    Beautiful mountain home. Saluda is a quaint slice of americana. Be sure to hike to Pearson Falls. Just a short drive to many attractions. Highly recomend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you liked our home and enjoyed your stay - I agree that Pearson Falls is a must-see when you visit Saluda!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful relaxing weekend!

    Wonderful relaxing weekend!

    • Guest CharlestonKatie (Charleston, SC)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/14/12
    We absolutley loved our weekend at Avalon! Teri made everything easy and was wonderful to work with - very kind and caring owner. The house was spacious, clean and very comfortable for the four adult couples sans kids for the weekend. We enjoyed walking around downtown Saluda, saw Pearsons Falls and sat by the fire for hours. Well equipped kitchen, warm beds and comfy sofas - what else could you want?! Thank you again Teri!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed your time at our home - so glad we could make it easy and fun for your group!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect for two families

    Perfect for two families

    • Guest Leila (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 10/04/12
    • Review Submitted 10/15/12
    We stayed at this property over a long weekend to attend a wedding at the Orchard Inn. It was a quick drive to visit with others and attend events at the Orchard Inn, while having our own space, privacy and deck for the kids. The house was perfect for two families and a grandma. I would recommend staying here for easy access to Saluda and Tryon.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect for two families with kids

    Perfect for two families with kids

    • Guest SCWriter (Charleston, SC)
    • Date of stay 07/19/12
    • Review Submitted 07/31/12
    We had a fantastic stay at this lovely property. With two large bedrooms downstairs and two large bedrooms upstairs, we easily accomodated our family plus a French family who was sightseeing with us. The kids with the two families (ages 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15) LOVED the fact that they had the downstairs bedrooms to themselves, and the adults loved the peace and quiet being on the main level. The kitchen is great - we made French crepes! And we adored the beautiful neighborhood and the very friendly and welcoming neighbors. We would love to be able to stay again. The only thing that's slightly different than expected was we thought the house was only a block to the Purple Onion or shopping based on the write-up. Maybe technically it can be called one block, but really, it's one long street steep hill and road to the main road, then you take a left, and it's another long, busy street to the main shopping area. It did not strike us as a comfortable walking distance (I'm not sure there were sidewalks to the main street), but, in truth, I'm sure it was only 1/2 mile away, which could be walked. But for all practical purposes, you need to plan on driving to the main street....or be a big walker and love a challenge. We highly recommend this house!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Christmas Time at Avalon in Saluda!

    Christmas Time at Avalon in Saluda!

    • Guest Kate (Vidalia, GA )
    • Date of stay 12/08/11
    • Review Submitted 12/18/11
    What a beautiful time of the year to visit Saluda and what a perfect home situated 45 minutes South of Asheville, NC. Saluda holds an annual Christmas Stroll through the picturesque town...Christmas lights outlined the buildings and music filled the air as downtown shop owners opened their doors and served hot chocolate and cookies to the guests. The home is situated so close to town that it was an easy 4 minute walk to the attractions... I recommend renting this great home! We traveled to Tryon which is a 15 minute drive around a super s-curve road taking you down a mountain. Very neat. Home was clean with two bedrooms up and two down...covered carport was nice. Quiet street. Open large kitchen (stocked with all the equipment needed) if you prefer to cook. Great time!! Kate Vidalia, GA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Tranquil Saluda Vacation

    Tranquil Saluda Vacation

    • Guest gdustbug (SC)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/20/11
    This large home accommodated our two families comfortably. We thought the home was much larger than the pictures depicted which was a nice surprise. It was great having a bathroom on each level and had plenty of linens. We enjoyed sipping on coffee while devouring the muffins and pastries from the Wildflower Bakery each cool morning for breakfast. We cooked out on the deck overlooking the "secret" garden which was also accessible from downstairs. A leisurely stroll to town which had a variety of antique stores, eclectic gift shops and dining options was delightful. We savored live music and dinner at The Purple Onion. I had lots of questions about the house and the owner responded quickly and was very helpful. I've already recommended this home to friends. If you want to experience a peaceful vacation then this is the home for you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Florence - I am so glad you guys had a great time! The great location and size of the house does make for a nice stay in Saluda!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Very nice, thanks!

    Very nice, thanks!

    • Guest Jennifer (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/01/10
    We really enjoyed the house - it was just perfect for what we needed in a great location with plenty of space for everybody. We'll look forward to staying with you again!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Fall Outing was More than expected.

    Fall Outing was More than expected.

    • Guest LE (Columbia, SC)
    • Date of stay 11/08/10
    • Review Submitted 03/08/11
    My wife and two other couples spent 4days and 3 nights in early November. Still lots of colors and great weather. We took our street ready Golf Car and greatly enjoyed the short frequent trips to "town" for whatever. The Saluda restaurants were very good for dinner and for lunch though we did eat away in Hendersonville some too. We thoroughly enjoyed the surrounding and quietness. I would have enjoyed the porchs, but our group was wanting to go, so I didn't get as much quiet time as the house called for. Parking is plentiful we had 2 cars, a trailer and the Golf Car. All 3 cars parked under the carport. The bedrooms and living spaces were large and comfortable. All appliances and services worked as promised. You can enter from the ground and use the interior steps or take the exterior porch steps which we found a little more accomodating for one of our party who has mobility issues. All in all it is a great place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Comments from the Guestbook:

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook:

    • Guest The Hopkins, Mowerys & Loughneys
    • Date of stay 03/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had a lovely week here in Saluda. Thanks so much for opening your home to us! A perfect meeting spot for a family spread out all over the southeast! Loved Pearson Falls & strolling through these darline towns, Saluda, Tryon, fishing in Columbus...a great week!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Hopkins, Mowerys & Loughneys
    • Date of stay 03/23/10
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had a lovely week here in Saluda. Thanks so much for opening your home to us! A perfect meeting spot for a family spread out all over the southeast! Loved Pearson Falls & strolling through these darline towns, Saluda, Tryon, fishing in Columbus...a great week!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook:

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook:

    • Guest Helen & Bruce
    • Date of stay 11/02/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    Thank you for five days of peace in the mountains - the only sounds the laughter of the children at the school, the rustle of the leaves and the wind brushing the eaves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Helen & Bruce
    • Date of stay 11/02/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    Thank you for five days of peace in the mountains - the only sounds the laughter of the children at the school, the rustle of the leaves and the wind brushing the eaves.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The McNairs
    • Date of stay 10/18/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    The weather was lovely! We enjoyed staying here - especially with teh trees changing color. Saluda is a nice town.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook:

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook:

    • Guest The O'Berry Family
    • Date of stay 09/30/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had a wonderful week-end in the mountains and family reunion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The O'Berry Family
    • Date of stay 09/30/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had a wonderful week-end in the mountains and family reunion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Kelly & Monnie
    • Date of stay 08/07/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    Fabulous weekend! Yay! Fantastic weekend - we rafted the upper Green, hiked in Dupont Forest, and took time to enjoy life while we were here! Thanks for the great memories!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook

    • Guest The Evatt Girls
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    The Evatt Girls so enjoyed Avalon. The house is so welcoming. We were able to let our hair down and truly enjoy our family connections and special relationships. Thanks for opening up your charming mountain home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Evatt Girls
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    The Evatt Girls so enjoyed Avalon. The house is so welcoming. We were able to let our hair down and truly enjoy our family connections and special relationships. Thanks for opening up your charming mountain home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook

    • Guest Bridgit - LSSNC
    • Date of stay 07/16/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    You have a nice home. Saluda is so quaint and beautiful. We had a good time holding down the porch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Bridgit - LSSNC
    • Date of stay 07/16/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    You have a nice home. Saluda is so quaint and beautiful. We had a good time holding down the porch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook

    • Guest The Jackson Family
    • Date of stay 07/03/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    What a wonderful home! Thanks for hving us! We all felt right at home here - cozy & peaceful to cmoe back to after a long dya of play! Close to lots of great activities! We experienced Sliding Rock, Looking Glass Falls, Green River Adventures (kayaking), some fun shopping & even caught Transformers 2 on a rainy evening! We love cozy little Saluda! Hope to be back soon! Thank you & Bless you! The Jackson Family (ass 12 of us!)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Jackson Family
    • Date of stay 07/03/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    What a wonderful home! Thanks for hving us! We all felt right at home here - cozy & peaceful to cmoe back to after a long dya of play! Close to lots of great activities! We experienced Sliding Rock, Looking Glass Falls, Green River Adventures (kayaking), some fun shopping & even caught Transformers 2 on a rainy evening! We love cozy little Saluda! Hope to be back soon! Thank you & Bless you! The Jackson Family (ass 12 of us!)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Comments from the Guestbook

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Comments from the Guestbook

    • Guest Jeannie, Louise, Debi, Elise, Frances, & Anne
    • Date of stay 06/12/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had such a lovely time in your mountain house. Great loction, minutes from downtown. We enjoyed our evening walks through the town, dessert at The Cafe and shopping on Main street. Off the beaten path is the Triple Falls in Dupont State Park, which was just beautiful and cool, refreshing water for the heat of the day. Thanks again. We'll see you next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jeannie, Louise, Debi, Elise, Frances, & Anne
    • Date of stay 06/12/09
    • Review Submitted 04/04/10
    We had such a lovely time in your mountain house. Great loction, minutes from downtown. We enjoyed our evening walks through the town, dessert at The Cafe and shopping on Main street. Off the beaten path is the Triple Falls in Dupont State Park, which was just beautiful and cool, refreshing water for the heat of the day. Thanks again. We'll see you next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Dianne 3 (Greenwood, SC)
    • Date of stay 12/30/08
    • Review Submitted 12/30/08
    We stayed for 3 nights at Thanksgiving and we had 4 families represented. The house was awesome with each family having their own bedroom. The den/kitchen combo was great. As we prepared meals we could still visit with the other family memebers. We explored the area too and enjoyed the downtown, the playground, the apple farm and even drove over to Rutherfordton for the kids' meseumn. Worth the trip to that as well. The house was very clean and very well equiped. The deck was big but was a little too cool for the time of year we were there. It was very quite. Would definetly recommend this place. Close to the interstate too, so getting there was easy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/26/08
    • Review Submitted 12/26/08
    We had a great time, the place was great, very clean and had everything we needed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest R. Ausman
    • Date of stay 11/06/08
    • Review Submitted 11/05/08
    "We had a good time and the house worked out well. The wedding was a success and we are on our way back to Hawaii. Thanks, Robert."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Well set-up for family

    Well set-up for family

    • Guest R from Hawaii (Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 10/28/08
    • Review Submitted 11/26/08
    The house worked out well for our family's with separate bedrooms and living areas on the two levels. It is an older house situated among several other homes within walking distance to downtown and most restaurants. Being just two miles from the interstate made it easy to get to Asheville (45 min) and Charlotte (1 1/2 hr). It would be nice to have had the fireplace functional as the nights were cool. However, the house was ready when we arrived and our damage deposit was returned within a week of departing. So no complaints from us.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Owner response: The fireplace is functional but since the thermostat and fireplace are upstairs, if you use the gas fireplace, the central heat and air will turn off when it gets warm upstairs and that leaves the downstairs too cold. The HVAC system is only 2 years old and heats the house very well!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest S. Messinger
    • Date of stay 07/20/08
    • Review Submitted 07/19/08
    "Thanks for the use of your beautiful house. We had a nice stay." Steve & Rafaela

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

    • Guest Darby Quirk (Raleigh NC)
    • Date of stay 06/18/08
    • Review Submitted 06/18/08
    We stayed at the house June 2008. The kitchen is big and open to the family room. The beds were all comfortable and everything was great. The location is beautiful and close to tons of activity. Would definately stay again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest A. Ramsay
    • Date of stay 05/26/08
    • Review Submitted 05/25/08
    "Teri, thanks for letting us use your house, we enjoyed it very much. It was perfect for our group."

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Altman Family
    • Date of stay 07/13/07
    • Review Submitted 07/12/07
    "Love the escape. Explored hte area and actually lost weight on the vacation from all of the walking! We enjoyed your mountain house!" The Altman Family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]