Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Sunny and comfortable living-room

Warm and Charming Home in Le Plateau Montreal [#171433ha] | View Property

Montreal
5 bedrooms, sleeps 8, 2 bathrooms, feel like being at home
$193 - $264/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • A very nice place to stay in a fun part of Montreal

    A very nice place to stay in a fun part of Montreal

    • Guest Ben G. (East Brunswick, NJ)
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    We just came back from a week at this two story apartment in the Plateau section of Montreal. The apartment uses the 2nd and 3rd floor of a typical three-story townhouse in the area. The place is beautifully furnished in a way that makes you feel very much like you're at home and not in a hotel room. We never actually got to meet our hosts, Benoit and Caroline, because we were running around so much, but we spoke and texted with them several times - they were very communicative and helpful. The apartment is on a quiet street but it's just one block from Avenue du Mont Royal, which has lots of shops, cafes and restaurants, and it's easy walking distance to the Metro and other fun parts of the city like Rue St. Denis and the very pretty La Fontaine Park. (If you're familiar with New York City, the neighborhood feels a somewhat like Park Slope in Brooklyn.) There's a good parking spot in the back; we found it easier to drive places than pay for the Metro for four people and getting around the city from here was very simple. We didn't take advantage of the kitchen, but our hosts had stocked it with all the pots, pans, plates and utensils that we would need to cook a nice meal and the big dining room table would make it very comfortable for as many as 8-10 people. There are very nice decks on both floors which we enjoyed while having our morning coffee. We weren't traveling with small children, but I noticed lots of items that would be helpful to a family with kids like a high chair and toys and if I recall correctly, a stroller. The only things to bear in mind is that you are living in a residential block and we often heard our neighbors entertaining out on their decks at night. This didn't bother us, but others may feel differently. Also, we stayed during a particularly hot week in Montreal; the temperature was in the 80's most days (Fahrenheit) and like many Montreal apartments, there's no air conditioning. On the hottest days, it was a little uncomfortable until late evening.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Really Great Montreal Experience

    A Really Great Montreal Experience

    • Guest Robert B.
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/23/12
    We stayed at Benoit and Caroline's place while attending a family wedding in downtown Montreal. We had 7 adults and 2 babies and there was plenty of room for everyone, and lots of toys for the kids, and room to play with them! The kitchen is well equipped. B & C are very laid back and very accommodating. we were all very comfortable. The neighborhood is a lot of fun - our regret is that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy it more. Just walking up and down Mont-Royal and enjoying the boutiques, restaurants, bakeries and so on made one feel part of the Montreal culture. Everything one could possibly need is within a short walk, and we were able to get to the downtown activities easily by car, and if it weren't for the babies, Metro would have worked just as well. After we left, Caroline sent an e-mail saying, "Bon retour à la mason." We hope we will have the opportunity to do just that. Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Comfortable stay!

    Comfortable stay!

    • Guest Melanie N. (York, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 08/04/12
    • Review Submitted 09/30/12
    The home was very comfortable and suited our group very well. There were 6 of us, including 4 adults and two children ages 4 and 5. Bedrooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. The children has plenty of space to play upstairs and down but had almost their own private play area upstairs. We walked to the metro daily to explore other parts of Montreal but we all very much enjoyed walking up and down Mont-Royal which has so many dining options with many different cuisines! Easy walk to lovely patisseries and boulangeries.This townhome also has a nice balcony with a table and chairs just outside the kitchen which is not pictured. Many parks and interesting sites to see in Montreal. We enjoyed walking in Old Montreal and the Parc Jean-Drapeau was a hit for the kids. Suggest going to Old Montreal at night to see the lights. Kitchen was very well-equipped but we ended up eating every meal out because there were so many great options and we wanted to try them all! Excellent poutine at Mont-Royal Hot Dog. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very spacious

    Very spacious

    • Guest Irma I.
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    We enjoyed this condo very much. We went with my daughter her husband and their two children. We loved the location. I do not drive and everything I needed and wanted was within walking distance on Mont Royal. We were there for Canadian Grand Prix. It was my daughters and her two children's first time in Montreal and mine also. I have recommended this condo to a friend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The description is correct, and so much more!

    The description is correct, and so much more!

    • Guest Denise R.
    • Date of stay 04/28/12
    • Review Submitted 05/26/12
    The home is big and beautiful. We were a large group visiting for a family function, and this home provided ample room for everyone. The kitchen is well stocked for the days we decided to stay at home and cook. But believe me that didn't happen often because of the choice of restaurants basically outside the door! Being so close to Mont Royal was wonderful, we walked everywhere we needed to go, and for trips farther away, the Metro took us there. A car in this part of the city isn't necessary, but when needed, thank goodness there are parking spaces available with the unit! The bedrooms are big, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are gorgeous. I would recommend this accomodation to anyone who needs the space, and for our next trip into Montreal, I will definitely book again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A beautiful home

    A beautiful home

    • Guest nikhil a.
    • Date of stay 11/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/04/11
    We stayed at Caroline and Benoit's place while attending a conference in Montreal this past november. It was absolutely lovely. The rooms were all very comfortable, and there was lots of shared common space for six adults to feel at home in the apartment without feeling like we were falling over each other. Many a nice meal was shared at the breakfast table and prepared in the kitchen, which has everything you will need. Rent this home. You won't be sorry!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A perfect family getaway in Le Plateau

    A perfect family getaway in Le Plateau

    • Guest Amanda K.
    • Date of stay 10/24/11
    • Review Submitted 11/03/11
    We spent 6 delightful nights at this home. Its location is ideal, on a quiet tree-lined residential street just off the main street of the Plateau. Avenue Mont-Royal has all of life's necessities within a few blocks: patisseries, boulangeries, grocery stores, a pharmacy, a panoply of restaurants, wine, ATMs, some great toy stores, bagels, bookstores, music stores, and a shop that sells sublime macarons. Buses and BIXI rental bikes are at the end of the block, and the metro is about a 10 minute walk. From there, it's just 3 stops to downtown/vieux Montreal or 4 stops to the Marche Jean-Talon, an epic farmer's market. The house itself is very spacious, immaculate, and chic. Our family of 2 adults and 2 young kids had ample room to play and host dinner parties. Caroline and Benoit graciously went out of their way to provide toys and books so the kids would stay entertained. They were unobtrusive and very helpful hosts. Montreal is a delightful place to visit over Halloween, with abundant fall leaves and many people in costume. Most of the summer terrasses and outdoor activities have closed for the season, but there's still plenty to do and see. We can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A perfect stay

    A perfect stay

    • Guest Birgit M.
    • Date of stay 07/23/11
    • Review Submitted 10/11/11
    We were visiting from Germany and stayed in the house for three weeks. We had a wonderful time! Everything was as described, it felt pretty much like home. Also, we loved the neighbourhood with all its little shops and easy access to everything. We definitely hope to return to Montreal and to Caroline and Benoit's house at some point in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Convenient and comfortable charming apartment

    Convenient and comfortable charming apartment

    • Guest Liz (Huntingtown, MD USA)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 10/18/10
    Everything about our experience renting this apartment was easy and pleasant. Benoit and Caroline were friendly and helpful, and the house was a great base of operations for our two families (4 adults & 4 children ages 8-11). There was plenty of room. The back deck is a delightful place for eating and hanging out. The kids had plenty of turf upstairs. Linens were amply stocked and the beds comfortable. There is a Bixi stand at the end of the street, or if you want to walk, le Plateau is all around you, with shops, groceries, pastries, restos, and bars. The Metro, which is very user-friendly, is an easy walk and will deliver you to the rest of Montreal. I would go back in a heartbeat if circumstances permitted. Thanks for everything!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful place and location

    wonderful place and location

    • Guest Martha B. (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 06/03/09
    • Review Submitted 06/27/09
    Eight members of our family stayed at this lovely apartment for 10 days in early June. We had a brunch for about 30 people one day and it was perfect for entertaining. The apartment is very clean and up to date. Downstairs, (second floor of building) there is a bath off the hall and a queen bedroom with plenty of closet space. The bath has a tub with shower attachment, but not a shower stall. The upstairs bath is bigger with a full tub and shower head and has lots of natural light due to a skylight. The two queen bedrooms upstairs are of nice size with closets and the twin bedrooms are larger than they appear in the photo - but no closet space. There is another open room upstairs that was popular with small children at the brunch as it has some of the family's toys available. The kitchen doesn't have much counter space, but has everything one could need. The back deck has a table with chairs and a BBQ (gas). The dining area is open to the kitchen and has a nice large table. The living area is small, but backs up to a library space - again it was all perfect for the crowd we had - great flow throughout the downstairs. Owners were more than gracious - although we didn't meet them until we left as we had everything we needed at the apartment. There were plenty of towels and tea towels. We did buy bath soap, extra tp, paper towels and dish washing liquid. There was dishwasher detergent for the full sized dishwasher and laundry detergent for the full size washer and dryer. There are parking spaces for two cars if you squeeze. The apartment is just north of Mont Royal (less than half a block) and couldn't be more convenient to restos, the local dep, cute shops, ATM, and a SAQ liquor store. Parc La Fontaine is in easy walking distance as is the Mont Royal metro stop. There is construction of two buildings on Garnier just down the block, but we weren't bothered by the noise. There is no air conditioning, but several standing fans and wonderful casement windows that open easily for cross ventilation. We didn't have the windows open very often but if we had, perhaps street noise would have been an issue, although Garnier is not a major thoroughfare. Stairs to front door are straight up, but the back stairs is a winding stair case - this would not be good for persons not able to climb stairs with ease. We would definitely stay here again if we have a large group. It felt like home and we were sad to leave.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fabulous location

    Fabulous location

    • Guest Wonder Woman de Bellefeuille (Laurentians)
    • Date of stay 11/13/08
    • Review Submitted 11/25/08
    This is our second annual at this perfect getaway location. Close to neat shops and exposure to the Plateau life of this vibrant city. A few walking blocks to the Metro, this place is perfect for the shopping getaway. Clean, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Merci!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place, great neighborhood, wonderful hosts

    Great place, great neighborhood, wonderful hosts

    • Guest Barbara19 (New York)
    • Date of stay 05/02/08
    • Review Submitted 05/13/08
    This is a lovely home -- spacious, meticulous, and stylish as well. The photos are inviting but do not do justice to the size, privacy and at-home feel that is evident here. It is everything you could wish for in a get-away place. The entire neighborhood is filled with shops, restaurants, interesting churches and architecture. Benoit and Caroline are lovely and gracious people; we would return here and would recommend this to all vacationers.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Property 171433

    Property 171433

    • Guest yogurt (Houston)
    • Date of stay 04/19/08
    • Review Submitted 05/06/08
    The location of this property was top notch - convenient to subway, taxis and bus. The neighborhood was lovely - many parks for children to enjoy, shops and cafes. The owners were responsive to our every need and were most gracious. The apartment was clean and easy to keep with washer and dryer and beautifully equipped for small children. Our party of 8 adults and one child was most comfortable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • Great house in a great location.

    Great house in a great location.

    • Guest JesseFromBrooklyn (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/08
    • Review Submitted 04/01/08
    We rented this home during the final week of March. The house was wonderful, very clean with lots of amenities, and nicely decorated. The location was perfect, right by Mont Royal; near to the Metro and lots of great stores and cafes. We highly suggest this to others, and it was very affordable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • It felt like home - it was wonderful.

    It felt like home - it was wonderful.

    • Guest Alexandra (Los Angeles, CA, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/01/07
    • Review Submitted 01/03/08
    We rented this home for Christmas this winter for 8 nights. It was wonderful! The owners are extremely kind and helpful. Made us feel like we were renting from a friend, they even brought us a tree-stand for our Christmas tree. This charming house was very clean with no clutter and just the right amount of stuff to make you feel like you have a home to live in for your vacation. There are three rooms with big beds and two rooms that would be great for kids or singles. On our vacation we had two couples - so each couple got their own floor. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook a Christmas feast. The dining room and living room are both very inviting. The best part about this home was the location. It is the Plateau right off Mount Royal. This means you are in walking distance (a block) of great great great food, cafes, shopping, taxis, and a pharmacy. We walked up and down Mount Royal most days. It was my favorite neighborhood of all of Montreal. About a $10 taxi ride to anywhere in the city. And there is a metro within a 10 minute walk (that was in the snow) I do plan on returning to Montreal and would stay here in a heart beat...in fact this charming home & the couple that owns it would inspire me to come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]