Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Lake View From Lake House Deck in the Summer

Lakefront Mountain Retreat with Boat [#1730] | View Property

Lake Toxaway
4BR Lakefront Vacation Rental Lake Toxaway, North Carolina USA
$250 - $414/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (39)

Sort by:
  • A peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous lake home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous lake home

    • Guest Nancy and Bruce
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 11/12/12
    Thank you so much for the use of your peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous lake home. We cannot imagine a more lovely setting. We did a lot of exploring around the area- did some hikes, scouted several water falls and even went shopping in Highlands.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • The reading room looking at the lake

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The reading room looking at the lake

    • Guest Becky
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 10/13/12
    I wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our vocation and say thank you. It is beautiful there. I especially like the reading room looking to the lake off the master suite. Every morning, with coffee in hand, I spent at least thirty minutes in prayers and reading my Bible looking at the lake. Such a peafce filled way to start the day. The fun things we did and the laughter we all shared will be remembered for years. God bless you and thank you again for sharing such a blessing with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • Thanks for a great mountain lake home vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Thanks for a great mountain lake home vacation

    • Guest Bill and Bonnie
    • Date of stay 09/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/23/11
    Thanks for a great mountain lake home vacation. We especially enjoyed watching the flying squirrels as they played around the lake house deck.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • What an amazing lake view

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What an amazing lake view

    • Guest Jim and June
    • Date of stay 07/25/11
    • Review Submitted 11/23/11
    We enjoyed a relaxing week at your mountain lake retreat. The lake view was amazing and we took full advantage of the lake, the nearby waterfalls and the surrounding towns like Brevard and Cashiers. We enjoyed tubing on the French Broad River. A couple of our kids had fun at a gem mine. We rented kayaks for the week and enjoyed exploring the lake on the kayaks. You really need a boat to experience the total lakefront mountain retreat. The Brown Trout restaurant is an absolute must-- delicious food.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6

  • What a wonderful mountain lake front home

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a wonderful mountain lake front home

    • Guest Dan and Coleen
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/23/11
    We truly enjoyed our stay in your wonderful mountain lake front home. The weather was unbelievable. We enjoyed the cool mountain air and the warm sunshine. We had blast tubing on the lake. We swam from the dock and caught blue gill from the dock. The neighbors were super friendly. The kids loved the neighbors three doors down with the three dogs. They were helpful in guiding us where to go. We ate at the nearby Brown Trout restaurant which was wonderful. We loved Whitewater Falls the tallest water fall in eastern North America located just 11 miles from the lake house. We drove through the Pisgah Forest and hiked and travel to a number of the many waterfalls near the lake house. We even experienced Class One and Two white water rafting in Tuskegee Forest. What a fantastic experience for our extended family from the flat lands of Florida. We really enjoyed you lake home and everything the mountains offered.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Do places like this really exist.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Do places like this really exist.

    • Guest Sandy & Danny Alligier
    • Date of stay 10/25/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    Do places like this really exist. This is such a beautiful place. My husband said he didn’t know places like this even existed. Thank you so much.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • You have a beautiful lake house!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    You have a beautiful lake house!

    • Guest Scott Edenfeild Angie Steele
    • Date of stay 08/06/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    You have a beautiful lake house! We enjoyed boating and fishing and hiking and seeing several waterfalls. The Brown Trout Restaurant is excellent.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • What a wonderful relaxing week!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    What a wonderful relaxing week!

    • Guest The Hermans
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    What a wonderful relaxing week! Our family thoroughly enjoyed your home. Riding your boat on the lake, hiking, tubing and fishing – we enjoyed them all. The weather was wonderful;! It was a nice escape from the heat of Virginia Beach! Thank you again for a great summer vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • It is a great place to make memories.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    It is a great place to make memories.

    • Guest The Monge Family Orlando FL
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    It is a great place to make memories. We had great weather during our relaxing week. You home was lovely and Lake Toxaway is so beautiful. It is perfect for Kayakimg and tubing. We went white water rafting with “Wildwaters" – an awesome experience. We dined at Cornucopia Restaurant and Brown Trout Restaurant and highly recommend both. Thanks for renting us our lake house. It is a great place to make memories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • We loved your lake house at Lake Toxaway

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We loved your lake house at Lake Toxaway

    • Guest Jean & Charles Philpot and 6 kids.
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/11
    We really enjoyed your lake house. Thank you for sharing your house with us. We loved your lake house at Lake Toxaway with our six kids.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Lake House for Our Vacation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Perfect Lake House for Our Vacation

    • Guest Jenifer and Bill Westrom
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    Your house was perfect for our vacation! It was so comfortable and relaxing. The location and view wqas perfect. We had so much fun tubing and exploring the water falls and nearby towns. We still have a list of things to do for next years vacation at your lake house. We definitely will be back next summer! Thanks for sharing your wonderful lake house and deck boat with our family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family New Lake Retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Family New Lake Retreat

    • Guest Lowell Sigler
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    My family and I needed a vacation. Your home lived up tothe name retreat. The house was beautiful and very well kept. You can tell the house is well taken care of and is loved. I enjoyed the lake during the day and seeing the moon over the lake at night. It was nice being so close to town yet secludied in the woods. My parents had never been to the Biltmore in Asheville and it was nice only being an hour away. The road to the Biltmore is a tourist attraction seeing trees, mountains, lakes and waterfalls. Waterfalls you can even drive under! I would recommend this house and the area to other people. Thank you for giving me such a good deal on the house and for opening it up for me and my family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We enjoyed boating, fishing and walking to waterfa

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We enjoyed boating, fishing and walking to waterfa

    • Guest Scott Edenfield and Angie Steele
    • Date of stay 06/27/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    You have a beautiful lake house! We enjoyed boating, fishing and walking to waterfalls. We had a wonderful stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Watching the white squirrels and flying squirrels

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Watching the white squirrels and flying squirrels

    • Guest The Malec Family
    • Date of stay 06/13/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    We had so much fun walking the trails and swimming. Watching the white squirrels and flying squirrels was fun.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The lake is a beautiful back drop for memories

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The lake is a beautiful back drop for memories

    • Guest Cragin Family
    • Date of stay 06/06/09
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    The lake is a beautiful and is a beautiful back drop for making happy memories! We had a wonderful time. We will be back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mountain Lake House Getaway

    Mountain Lake House Getaway

    • Guest lauralovesvacations (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 05/12/09
    • Review Submitted 05/23/09
    My husband and I had a wonderful time staying in this home away from home. This beautiful home is very spacious and includes a beathtaking view of the lake from almost every room in the house. We enjoyed taking the boat out on a relaxing ride which gave an amazing view of the lake. The boat ride really made you feel apart of the lake and the mountains. We enjoyed lunch at the country club on the outside porch facing the golf course and mountains. The staff really made you feel like you were a long time resident of the lake. We also enjoyed the many quaint towns (Brevard, Ashville, Highlands and Cashiers) close to the house. All of these towns offered great restaurants and shopping. THe best thing about the house is the ability to do so many things such as hiking to beautiful waterfalls, fishing, golfing, kaiaking, zip lining or just sitting on the deck and enjoying the beautiful view of the mountain and lake. It was very relaxing and wonderful stay. We can't wait to come back to this lovely home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Land of Waterfalls and Photo Ops

    Land of Waterfalls and Photo Ops

    • Guest Labruce (Sarasota, FL)
    • Date of stay 10/18/08
    • Review Submitted 10/29/08
    This place has it all -- beautiful view, well-maintained fireplace, comfortable beds, pontoon boat, hiking trails, and great restaurants and shopping nearby. We've rented this lovely home twice and recommend it highly. The area is easily accessible, with a nice place to park and no cliffs to accidently drive over. There are several breath-taking waterfalls and parks a short drive from the house. This home will definitely remain on our short-list of places to return to time and time again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The views and accommodations are excellent

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The views and accommodations are excellent

    • Guest Bonnie Thorton
    • Date of stay 10/10/08
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    This is our second visit. The views and accommodations are excellent. You are centrally located between Cashiers, Brevard, Highlands and Asheville. The white squirrels are priceless. Shopping for art was fun. The morning walks were enlightening. We are looking forward to a return trip.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lakefront Mountain Retreat

    Lakefront Mountain Retreat

    • Guest Savage (Taylors,SC)
    • Date of stay 10/09/08
    • Review Submitted 10/22/08
    Wonderful home for four couples. Beautiful view and access to lake. Location was excellent for all of the areas activities. We were pleased that we could go right to the dock and put in the canoe and kayaks. Had an outstanding long weekend with a superb meal at Madisons in the Old Edwards Inn in Highlands.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We enjoy hiking at Toxaway Falls and tubing a lot

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We enjoy hiking at Toxaway Falls and tubing a lot

    • Guest The Pollock & Cohen Family
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    We definitely enjoyed the lake view and the rooms were awesome! Our families had an awesome vacation. We enjoyed hiking at Toxaway Falls and tubing a lot. We went on a zip line and went white water rafting. We all hated to leave THE VIEW! Thanks for letting us stay at your lake house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Mountain Experience

    Excellent Mountain Experience

    • Guest Chip P. (Maitland, Florida)
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 08/12/08
    My family and I spent 1 week at the Lakefront Mountain Retreat located on Lake Toxaway. The experience was truly wonderful. The location is great with easy access to a community dock and boat that we rented with the home. Sitting on the deck of the home which looks out onto to Lake Toxaway was fantastic. We spent a lot of time on the boat tubing with the kids and taking slow cruises before dark. The house was located near some great hiking trails, a horse farm where we went riding,a great camp where we enjoyed zip lining and golf courses where we played golf (including the Lake Toxaway Country Club). The home is also very conveniently located near a couple of great restaurants including the Brown Trout where we had a wonderful dinner. All in all my family and I had a fantastic time and highly recommend the home for anyone who loves the mountains and lake.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Owner response: Thanks Chip for your kind comments.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • We enjoyed walks in the woods and by the lake

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We enjoyed walks in the woods and by the lake

    • Guest The Player Family
    • Date of stay 11/17/07
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    We enjoyed our vacation! We enjoyed walks in the woods and by the lake. We stayed Thanksgiving week for an unusually busy family. We enjoyed the lake view. It is perfect. We will come back in the summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The fall colors are exquisite

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The fall colors are exquisite

    • Guest Lana Bruce
    • Date of stay 10/27/07
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    The fall colors are exquisite Our morning walks revealed a brilliant transforming leaf colors we really enjoyed. What a wonderful week at a sweet spot. We will be back next year for our third fall stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We had a wonderful week

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We had a wonderful week

    • Guest The Mounsey Family
    • Date of stay 07/04/07
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    We had a wonderful week swimming, hiking, motor boating and white water rafting. Nice house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We enjoyed swimming, fishing, boating, relaxing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We enjoyed swimming, fishing, boating, relaxing

    • Guest Joyce Garrens & Swishers
    • Date of stay 07/08/06
    • Review Submitted 05/31/10
    Thank you for renting your wonderful lake house! We enjoyed swimming, fishing, boating, and just relaxing. It sure is beautiful country, and I’m sure we will visit again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our "home away from home" was very comfortable

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Our "home away from home" was very comfortable

    • Guest Donna & John Patterson
    • Date of stay 10/19/05
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    We had a most wounderfully relaxing weekend in a very beautiful part of the country. Our "home away from home" was very comfortable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Your home is lovely --- the view is magnificent.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Your home is lovely --- the view is magnificent.

    • Guest The Barrett Family
    • Date of stay 07/16/05
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    Your home is lovely --- the view is magnificent. The picture and scripture on the mantel says it all! Thank you so much for sharing it all. We had a most wonderful week together.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We even saw a few white squirrels!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We even saw a few white squirrels!

    • Guest Karen and David Cuddleback
    • Date of stay 06/16/04
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    You have such a beautiful home! We had great weather all week until the last day. The good weather allow us to take advantage of the trails and waterfalls! Thanks for sharing your home. P.S. We loved the lake and we even saw a few white squirrels!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Will you have us again next year?

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Will you have us again next year?

    • Guest Ray & Fay Schulte
    • Date of stay 05/18/03
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    Will you have us again next year? It's been a great vacation! The wild life, the peace and serenity, what we all needed. Joe, your neighbor, was helpful. Thank you so much Andrew and Joan. We have beautiful memories of Lake Toxaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Two weeks Vacation in the Fall

    Two weeks Vacation in the Fall

    • Guest Andreoiaa (Princeton New Jersey )
    • Date of stay 10/05/02
    • Review Submitted 05/23/10
    Two great weeks! The leaves put an incredible show for us. We hiked, shopped, rode the parkway, went to crafts show in Asheville, watched Alabama beat Tennessee and had a great boat trip on Lake Toxaway. Your neighbor Joe was wonderful. He blew the leaves from our driveway and took us on a boat trip. We had a week with relatives from California and a week alone. You home was perfect for a crowd or a couple. You've done a great job of elevating a "rental" to a home. Thanks for a well equipped kitchen. We had enjoyable meals with several cooks amongst us. Yes, we had everything we needed! My husband appreciated your comfortable mattresses and your never ending water heater. You have a wonderful home which exhibits a lot tender loving care. Thanks for sharing it.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Where Heaven touches the earth

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Where Heaven touches the earth

    • Guest Kevin and Andrea Hughes
    • Date of stay 09/07/02
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    Where Heaven touches the earth there surely is Lake Toxaway! Rented a canoe and explored every drop of the lake. My boys, 3 year old twins, loved to fish off the dock and from the canoe (and sometimes from the dock). My wife soaked in the relaxed atmosphere and forgot the world for awhile. As for me, myself and I, Is this place for sale? Ha! Ha!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 50th Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful time!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    50th Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful time!

    • Guest The Summers Family
    • Date of stay 06/09/02
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    50th Wedding Anniversary. We had a wonderful time! We could have spent two weeks. Everything was wonderful -- boating, hiking, white water rafting, golfing, horseback riding -- jee, did I miss anything? The afternoon 2 P.M. thunderstorm gave us a nice siesta also.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The absolute best vacation we ever took

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The absolute best vacation we ever took

    • Guest Janet and Don Garr
    • Date of stay 04/18/02
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    The absolute best vacation we ever took. Your mountain home is not only beautiful but creates a state of mind.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This has been a most wonderful retreat

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This has been a most wonderful retreat

    • Guest The Hayes Family
    • Date of stay 10/26/01
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    This has been a most wonderful retreat! You have a beautiful place here. The weather was perfect. The view was amazing. The house was comfy and our family really had fun. We hope to be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We also found time to visit the Biltmore House

    Guest comment entered by owner

    We also found time to visit the Biltmore House

    • Guest The Pearson Family
    • Date of stay 08/08/01
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    We had a wonderful week here on Lake Toxaway – swimming, white water rafting, hiking, boating, skiing, tubing and fishing. We also found time to visit the Biltmore House and Highland. Thanks for sharing your home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful vacation for families from 3 states

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A wonderful vacation for families from 3 states

    • Guest The Wicker Family
    • Date of stay 04/17/01
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    What a wonderful place to have a family vacation! Our three groups from Michigan, Indiana and South Carolina met for a relaxing week of family fun. The cooler weather didn't stop us from hiking to several spectacular water falls. We also enjoyed fishing down on the dock. What a restful place to be.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First time in the USA

    Guest comment entered by owner

    First time in the USA

    • Guest The McGreal Family
    • Date of stay 09/16/00
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    First time in the USA and what a beautiful place to start! The house is very comfortable and has the most wonderful views of Lake Toxaway. The weather has been fantastic. We would've wished for better. The people have been extremely friendly. A perfect start to a perfect holiday.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • This is truly God's country

    Guest comment entered by owner

    This is truly God's country

    • Guest The Beattre Family
    • Date of stay 08/26/00
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    Your home was so comfortable. This is truly God's country. The trees, the lake, pretty flowers makes you think of the Garden of Eden. The house was so nice and clean. Wish we could stay longer. We had such fun getting together here.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • New Years from Four Countries

    Guest comment entered by owner

    New Years from Four Countries

    • Guest Keith & Phyllis Vanderzyl
    • Date of stay 01/01/00
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    New Years Four Countries January 1 2000 The first guests of 2000. What a wonderful location to bring in the New year. Guests from Israel, France, China and the United States.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]