Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Aerial view of the house

Kai Honu Hale 3-Level Oceanfront Home with Views from Every Room [#173027] | View Property

Pahoa
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-7)
$155 - $165/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (46)

Sort by:
  • A great place to stay on the island's east side!!

    A great place to stay on the island's east side!!

    • Guest Nancy P.
    • Date of stay 03/17/14
    • Review Submitted 04/01/14
    We stayed here for the first few days of our family's first trip to the Big Island and loved it! The house is exactly as described in the listing and the photos you see are exactly what you get. The view when you walk in the door out to the ocean was amazing. Every room provided the same great view and we loved the waves crashing into the rocks and like others have commented, you might get a little wet from the spray from being so close to the ocean. We really enjoyed the neighbourhood too and took lots of evening walks. It was a great starting point for exploring the Volcanoe Park and taking a drive down the ocean road to the Lava Tree State Monument Park. If we ever come back to the Big Island, we would definitely consider staying here again. Liv was great to deal with as well.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I really strive on giving all my guests a relaxing home base on their island stay with great importance on the guest knowing that it is their home away from home. I really do my best to leave my guests alone so they feel like the house is theirs, unless their is an important issue that needs to be resolved. I truly hope you do come back and visit Kai Honu Hale someday!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved the sound of the surf of the blue Pacific!

    Loved the sound of the surf of the blue Pacific!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/18/14
    • Review Submitted 03/21/14
    We were lucky to be able to stay here for 23 days. Each day if felt more like home. The pictures and description of this house were very accurate. This home was very clean and had just about everything you'd need for a great stay. I felt like Goldilocks...I had to lay down on each bed to find the one that was "just right". For us, it was the loft bedroom because we like a firmer mattress. Of course the 3rd floor bedroom had the best view, but all bedrooms have great views. I love being that close to the ocean. You're so close, that if you wear glasses and sit on the lanai very much, you'll be cleaning your glasses a lot (but, didn't mind it at all). We saw whales quite often, but most of the time, we could just see their blows and peeks of their bodies. On two occasions, we did see a whales breech. Liv was very easy to work with both before and during our stay. I would definitely recommend this place with no hesitation. We don't eat out a lot (this is how we can stay in Hawaii for a month at a time) so the only restaurant I can recommend is Merriman's in Waimea; we ate there on Valentine's Day...it was great! This was our first stay on this side of the island, except for 3 nights in the town of Volcano in 2012, as previously we stayed in Kona. Visiting Volcanoes National Park is a must. Going into Waipio Valley is also a must. Unless you're serious hikers, I would recommend the Waipio Valley Shuttle with Doug as your guide...the trip is beautiful and Doug is so full of information. We loved driving along the Hamakua Cost and I loved the town of Honoka'a. Another nice town I like is Hawi. Also took a drive to look at Pololu Valley. A must drive is the "red road". Although no longer red, it is a beautiful drive on 137. You go in and out of tree tunnels and get beautiful views of the ocean. One of the things we had never done before was to visit the Lava Tree State Park...very interesting and a beautiful walk. We also suggest driving on the Old Government Beach Road not far from the house. Can't remember the name of the road that turns into this road, but I sure Liv could direct you. It is also one of the routes that can get you to the red road. My husband did a morning walk almost every day. Didn't know if we would like staying the whole month on the wetter side of the Big Island. Loved it! Yes, we did get more rain, but it did not ruin any trips we took. If it was raining where we were, we just drove a ways and it was not very long before the rain stopped.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Seaside Delight!

    Seaside Delight!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/08/14
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    When we got to the house we went straight to the back door and threw open the back door! Wow! The ocean was right there! The house has so many windows! It is located in a great, quiet, non touristy neighborhood without the traffic and hubbub of Hilo or Kona. We saw turtles, whales, and even a rainbow right from the lanai! We would still be there if we could! Our bosses denied our request for a vacation extension. Thanks for sharing your home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest Jennifer S.
    • Date of stay 11/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    We had a blast staying here while we visited the Big Island. This property has just about everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, and the view is to die for! We spent hours just sitting out back watching the waves crash against the rocks, even getting several visits from some sea turtles. The house gets a nice, constant breeze and stayed fairly comfortable while we were there. You're roughly 40 minutes away from Hilo here, but the drive is so easy it doesn't seem to take that long at all. You're also just a little over an hour from Volcano and the Volcanoes National Park, but again, it doesn't feel like that long of a drive. Make sure to check out Ken's House of Pancakes in Hilo. We ended up eating there a couple of times. This house is in a great location with breathtaking views, and Liv was a gem to work with. I highly recommend it for your trip to the Big Island!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Visiting from Oregon

    Visiting from Oregon

    • Guest Traveler (Oregon, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/14/13
    • Review Submitted 11/10/13
    We had a wonderful week exploring the Big Island of Hawaii and coming "home" to relax in this comfortable house was the perfect way to end each day! The ocean just outside the back door was spectacular every evening and inspiring to wake up to. The little frogs with the big voice made for a mystical touch to each evening. Puna district has a vast variety of things to see, do and explore and we filled our day doing it all. We also made a trip over to the Kona side of the Island one day and the southern most tip of the Island on another day and after each trip, filled with lots of exploring, swimming & snorkeling, we still got home with time left to relax in the evening before turning in for the night. We enjoyed being away from the crowds, feeling like we were at home in Hawaii and enjoyed staying away from the commercial atmosphere of a hotel. Thank you Livy for allowing us to borrow your lovely house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing piece of Heaven

    Amazing piece of Heaven

    • Guest Aulani (Dublin, CA)
    • Date of stay 09/09/13
    • Review Submitted 09/24/13
    It was such a blessing to stay at this beautiful rental that is well equipped, beautifully decorated and situated with the most amazing view of the big blue ocean. It is our ideal relaxation and retreat home to vacation at. We loved the sound of the waves hitting the rocks that soothed our souls and relaxed our minds. Most of the time we were in total peace just listening to the waves and enjoying the view. No matter where we went out too once we returned back it always felt like home full of love and peace. This rental has more than you can ask for. The location is awesome and centrally located between Hilo and Kalapana on this side of the island. We even enjoyed our walks/jogs around the neighborhood beautiful views and friendly neighbors everyday. I must say I stayed here for 14days and I still wasn't ready to go home. Liv is very professional and friendly which makes renting her vacation home even more of a blessing. She is always available and makes the transaction super easy along with her clear and easy directions. You cannot put a price on a little piece of Heaven! Go for it you will fall in love with the Big Island more while staying here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Quiet, quaint house...

    Quiet, quaint house...

    • Guest karen j.
    • Date of stay 08/19/13
    • Review Submitted 09/06/13
    Four of us stayed here in August, with two kids age 12 and 15. There was plenty of room, it was clean, alway from traffic. The location wasn't too bad, about a 10 min drive to grocery stores and restaurants. Being able to sit outside at night/morning to eat/drink, listen to the waves and watch the turtles, made up for any distance we had to travel. We shut windows when we left the house during the day so it would get a little hot, but after a couple of hours of letting the breeze in, the temperature was fine. We enjoyed sleeping to the waves crashing outside-a sound we aren't used to back home. Overall it was a nice place to come back to at night to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. The owner Liv, was fantastic to deal with. Very friendly, responded to questions and emails right away. Would recommend this rental for those who want to get away from it all and get a taste of life in a small town on the Big Island.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Mar-velous and sea-rend

    Mar-velous and sea-rend

    • Guest Tom and Linda (Southern Oregon)
    • Date of stay 08/10/13
    • Review Submitted 08/21/13
    The location and views were impeccable. The condition of the house was equally wonderful; it was neat, clean, well-stocked and immensely comfortable. Perhaps one of its greatest features was the owners. Liv communicated with us all throughout the time leading up to our 9-day stay. Our only regrets were that we could not have stayed longer and could not spot the huge turtles that frequented the rocky shores in front of the house. (Liv and her husband pointed those out to us on our last day.) Mahalo

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • SRQ823

    SRQ823

    • Guest SRQ823 (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 07/31/13
    • Review Submitted 08/23/13
    We had a great time staying here. When we arrived and opened the door for the first time it was unbelievable. At that immediate angle of entering the house you would be looking down through the floor-to-ceiling windows. All you could see was the ocean as if it were coming right into the living area. Our first morning and every morning that we were there we would wake before 6:00 am to watch the sun rise and there are really no words to describe that. Every sunrise was different and my pictures do not do them justice. We would sit outside at night and the stars and galaxies were never more clear and seemed so close. Watching the turtles surfing with the waves was fun...sometimes 3 and 4 at a time would surface. When the waves would turn you could see the reefs below and the aqua colored water would churn into a clean white suds pounding against the cliffs. We enjoyed the Botanical Gardens in Hilo which is amazing...a must see. We went the the Volcano Nat'l Park twice. The drive down the lava mountain to the bottom was better the second time because it was clear and you felt as if you were driving into the Pacific Ocean at certain twists and turns. There was a small plaza with your grocery/gas/pharmacy needs 10 minutes up the road. In Pahoa Village there is a great little restaurant called Kaleo's which served the best coconut shrimp. We stayed on the other side of the island in Kona one night while traveling around the the Big Island. We stopped at the Black Sand Beach and South Point on our way..a must see! There are many hotels near the Kona airport to pick from. We stayed at the Hilton of which we had the best seat in the house sitting with the Buddha..... watching the sun set on the Pacific Ocean. The next day we traveled up to Waimea to the Parker Center. The views along the journey are breath taking and cannot be described as each turn along the scenic ride was different. Akaka Falls was another stop that we are glad we made. We stopped at the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Visitor Center. There is so much more we could have done...but we were most content and most relaxed when we got back to our house right on the Pacific Ocean. We are glad we went when we did and did not wait or put it off. I had this place bookmarked for 2 years on my computer and I knew we would get there sooner than later. Thanks again to Liv....everything was as described in your information given. It is definitely what we would call "A little piece of SERENITY

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • COULD WE LIVE THERE FOREVER? PLEASE ???

    COULD WE LIVE THERE FOREVER? PLEASE ???

    • Guest tinmngary (Housron, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/25/13
    The drive to the house was an incredibly beautiful lead up to the FANTASTIC experience that was staying at Kai Honu Hale. The closer we got to the house, the more "Hawaii" and exciting it was. Our first view of the house as we drove down the driveway made us feel immediaiately like we had come home. So in all honesty, the experience which was our PERFECT stay at Kai Honu Hale started before we even got inside! I am telling you that our time spent in that house, on the edge of the cliff overlooking the ocean, was like a six day long DREAM. Every minute, we were telling each other how unreal it all was, how LUCKY we were and how much we loved the house ... it's size, location, ammenities, hominess. We really felt spoiled rotten and thought that if you are going to come to Hawaii, THIS is how it should be. WOW ! Seeing the sites and driving around the island were like stepping into a movie of course. But, I tell you that we looked forward to coming "home" each and every day. I am not exaggerating one bit. Being around that kitchen table eating the food we prepared, eating cheese and crackers, drinking wine, playing on our iPads, cell phones and cameras. Those times were just as important, enjoyable and special to us as everything else we did on The Big Island. We had the house completely open when we were at home. the first thing we did when we walked in was open every window in the house, even the one in the bathroom in the shower. The breeze! Oh wow! The BREEZE. I am telling you, every facet of staying in this house added bonus points to being in Hawaii. Sleeping with the windows open, the air swirling and blowing around the bedrooms, the ocean waves crashing, the enchanting Puerto Rican frogs lulled us to sleep every night. I only wish the wave machine that I have here at our house in Houston sounded CLOSE to as wonderful as this was. The flow of the rooms in the house is perfect. The bathrooms are located well. We took one bedroom. Our friend who came with us had the whole upstairs to himself. It was a perfect layout for us. And there was STILL one bedroom we never even used! HA! We used it as a staging area for the events we had planned for each day. And the ocean view. HOLY WOW !!! I think I took a few dozen pictures just trying to capture the perfect waves crashing. I took dozens of pictures, minutes apart, of the sun setting and rising. Even the rain blowing in over the horizon was breathtaking. And the sweet sweet turtles!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Ka Honu Hale Feed back

    Ka Honu Hale Feed back

    • Guest ptcruzerlover (Corona, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/22/13
    • Review Submitted 06/07/13
    My husband and I travel often, sometimes with friends or alone. We were celebrating our anniversary and stayed 5 days here and found this house very special to us.. Since our oldest daughter, her husband and almost 2 year old granddaughter were going to meet us there, we needed a few extra little things that this house had. Whatever we needed to make our stay here, was all right here at our finger tips.. We did not get a chance to use the Beach Bikes with baby seats attached or the BBQ in the garage, but knowing it was there in case we decided to go for a bike ride or have a BBQ, was nice to know. FIRST, follow the directions that Liv provides... My husband insisted on using his Garmin GPS device and it eventually took us down a pretty primitve road, at which point we had to turn around as were were driving a Mustang and there was NO WAY we could make it down this primitive road. Liv's directions are accruate and I even tried to use my iPhone to get directions, with NO success. It was LATE when we arrived, the sounds of the Ocean crashing against the shoreline was a wonderful sound to our ears after traveling all day and the drive from Kona over... Waking up in the morning to the wonderful view, the sounds of the ocean and having a cup of coffee while watching the turtles surface for air, and watching the sunsets was just beyond amazing... I searched and searched through alot of VRBO and Home Away From Home Listings, and after several weeks, and just a few emails to Liv, our family selected this listing to stay in, with no regrets or negative feed back. We found the listing met the descrition accurately, the view was better than the photos's although the photo's were very nice, the property was well maintained and I would recommend this listing to family and friends and we would definately go back and stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Family Vacation

    Family Vacation

    • Guest znpsubway (Utah)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/22/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful home. The setting was breathtaking and the neighborhood was very quiet. The only sound we heard was coming from the ocean. Instructions given to us were very clear and accurate. Thanks again for allowing our family to stay a couple nights at your beautiful home.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Shangri-La where sounds of ocean greeted our every moment, turtles and whales, too

    Beautiful Shangri-La where sounds of ocean greeted our every moment, turtles and whales, too

    • Guest reva p.
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/23/13
    The view is what you notice first, after the sign that says " Beware of falling coconuts" in the driveway! but it's the ocean right outside the house, the waves in shades of cyan, azure, aquamarine, onto the lava rocks. The endless sky. You can see for miles up the coast. It's breathtaking. The grounds are immaculate, with both shady and sunny areas to sit or lounge. Several times we carried chairs upstairs to the deck off the Master bedroom where the view is even more amazing. And for those ocassions when you must come indoors, you enjoy a well-furnished, attractive, home, full of light and pillows and Hawaiian fabrics. Each bed had quilts and extra pillows of every type and hue. So comfortable to sleep in and on. The Master Bath has an enjoyable shower, plenty of water, as does the other full bath. An amazingly comfortable armchair in the living room, a coffee table that provided us room and comfort for feet up, snacks, games, etc. Great TV reception, including many music-only channels which we enjoyed. The spacious and bright kitchen had everything we needed, and more. We found ourselves wanting to cook our own meals ("Da Market" within blocks has good beef, supermarket in Pahoa has everything, Farmers Market in Hilo only 30 mins away) and enjoy the house rather than eat out every night. The house has wonderful windows allowing for ocean breezes and great light in every room. Just on the ther side of the main neighborhood road is a rough but passable one-lane road that meanders through unbelievably beautiful rain forest and tropical forest leading to the lighthouse where you can see how the lava came within a few feet but spared it! Continue on a few minutes and you come to the Tidepools. The water was a bit chilly but this is still an amazing place to spend the day sunbathing, snorkeling, exploring tidepool after tidepool. The "information Lady" walks around to meet and greet and tells yu all about the pools, the earthquake, the lava flows, very interesting. There is also a park at Mile 13 and 14 with the most breathtaking views in the world! but use some care, the waves can break way way high - one caught hubby and drenched him head to toe. Yes, to those of you who are hesitating, there are teeny-tiny black ants that visit around the kitchen sink but a quick sponge rid us of the problem. They do not bite, so dn't let them keep you from renting this fantastic house. Liv is so nice, friendly, helpful, we feel we know her. We'll be back

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • It's True :-)

    It's True :-)

    • Guest Mellie (Cranberry Twp., PA USA)
    • Date of stay 01/23/13
    • Review Submitted 02/13/13
    All the wonderful reviews we read are true . . . this house is ideal! The only things we can add to this symphony of surf are the amazing sites of a moonbow connecting ocean to land . . . the full moon over the ocean and a light drizzle gave us that spectacular nighttime rainbow. And we saw SO many whales from the patio, they were so close that the binoculars Liv provided weren't always necessary. It was a special treat when we saw a whale and her baby breach so nearby! And finally, Mauna Kea Observatory has tours to the summit on Saturdays and Sundays . . . we got to go inside the Keck-I Observatory!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • wave watcher vacation

    wave watcher vacation

    • Guest wave watcher (hollister, ca usa)
    • Date of stay 01/09/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/13
    our two-week stay in january 2013 was absolutely wonderfull. the ocean waves just outside the door give a sense of complete seclusion. we really appreciate the use of only organic cleaning products, good for the planet and healthy for us. we heartily reccomend this property for anyone wanting a get-away vacation for complete relaxation or a base to come home to after an active day.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Perfect Spot for Exploring the Big Island

    Perfect Spot for Exploring the Big Island

    • Guest Sarah F. (Orinda, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 12/13/12
    This home is everything that was promised, and more. Our family of 6 loved our stay here, it was the perfect base for exploring the volcano and the Big Island. Home was clean and very well appointed. The ocean crashing lulled us to sleep every night. The view was mesmerizing and we could have enjoyed every day just sitting and watching the waves! But, there was so much to explore nearby - the volcano is close and our kids loved the volcanically heated swimming pool about 20 minutes away. Thank you Liv for sharing your lovely home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay! Please come back and visit someday. I am so grateful for all my appreciative guests like you who take the time out to write a review for my rental. Aloha a hui hou, Liv

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Bit Of Paradise

    A Bit Of Paradise

    • Guest Dave (Hunt, Tx.)
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 12/10/12
    What a great house - super location with sound of the sea just outside.Couldn't be better! Thanks Liv, the house was wonderful.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers.

    Owner response: I am so lucky to get wonderful guests like you who take the time out of their busy lives to submit a review after staying at my oceanfront home. All my reviews are submitted from my guests who have stayed and not written in by myself(copied from the guest book). Thanks David and I am so happy you and your guests enjoyed yourselves. Hope you come and visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely perfect with stunning views

    Absolutely perfect with stunning views

    • Guest Hannah (Oakland, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/04/12
    • Review Submitted 12/07/12
    This home was wonderful, really ideal and way more than we expected! It's even nicer than described on the website. The owner was amazingly attentive and responded immediately to texts and phone calls. We definitely plan on coming back here again. The house was clean and well-stocked with everything we needed (except our food). It has spectacular views and is close to all the sites we wanted to see (volcano park, lava flows, botanical gardens, hiking, swimming). The kitchen was bright, sunny and a happy breakfast place; views all around were amazing. We loved the white noise of the ocean and drinking coffee in the mornings outside. We brought our 3-year-old twins and they loved the Aloha toy box. Can't think of anything negative except a little mouse we saw (and got rid of!). But, a few critters are to be expected in such a green, lush place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the review:). I try to make our rental very kid friendly because I have three kids myself and want all families to feel at home. I am so sorry to hear about the little white mouse. It probably came in because there is no screen door on the slider. I've tried numerous times to put a screen door but without fail, they all rust out. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come again. Aloha.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Ideal Rental for Hilo and Volcanoes

    Ideal Rental for Hilo and Volcanoes

    • Guest Henry (State College, PA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    Our family of 7 adults found this place to be the ideal rental for visiting the Hilo area and Volcano National Park. The photos don't lie and the house is indeed overlooking the ocean with crashing waves and early morning sunrises. The neighborhood is a nice residential one yet the location is within easy driving distance of the local communities and their accompanying drug/grocery/ and other stores. We originally had reservations about staying near the "wet" side of the island but it was bright and sunny the four days of our stay. Sitting out on the expansive patio at night looking at the incredible sweep of stars in the clear skies was an extra bonus. The property was clean and well kept and we would definitely return here!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved the crashing waves!

    Loved the crashing waves!

    • Guest Honolulu Girl (Honolulu, HI)
    • Date of stay 05/12/12
    • Review Submitted 05/15/12
    We only got to stay here two nights, but loved it! Very comfortable house. The kitchen is very well equipped which was great for us. Our favorite thing was the sound of the crashing waves! Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Three Missouri Retired Teachers

    Three Missouri Retired Teachers

    • Guest Cheryl (Missouri)
    • Date of stay 02/16/12
    • Review Submitted 02/26/12
    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you for sharing your space with us. We really enjoyed your house! The view is just amazing! Beautiful! Hearing the waves crashing at anyplace in the house is just wonderful and so relaxing; even prettier to sit on the deck and watch the ocean and to see the whales. We hated to leave the house to tour the rest of the island! We have been to Europe, the Caribbean, Canada, and many places in the U. S., but this view from your house is the best that we have ever seen. We appreciate the opportunity to visit your part of the world, and to enjoy such a beautiful area. We also appreciate Liv, her quick responses, and easy to contact. The description and information on VRBO #173027 is accurate and very helpful in choosing a place to stay. After seeing the house, and the view, we decided that we were the luckiest people to find such a wonderful place to stay. We highly recommend this house to anyone!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Cheryl for being such great guests too. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • What a relaxing weekend

    What a relaxing weekend

    • Guest Kona Kathy (Kailua Kona, HI)
    • Date of stay 07/02/11
    • Review Submitted 07/09/11
    WOW is the first word that came out of our mouths as we walked in the door of the house! What an amazing view and house! Literally on the ocean! Waves crashing. Relaxing weekend. Some of us explored the island, but my sister and I felt compelled to just sit there take in the views and RELAX! Close to Hilo, Volcano National Park and assorted other adventures. Wish we had stayed longer, but since we are Big Island residents....WE WILL BE BACK! There are so many turtles right off the coast, we lost count. Dolphins greeted us the second morning. And the star viewing was spectacular! Thanks for sharing the amazing property! Aloha!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wedding Anniversary

    Wedding Anniversary

    • Guest Ken & Bev (Milliken, CO)
    • Date of stay 05/31/11
    • Review Submitted 06/09/11
    Enjoyed our three night stay. Very adequate accommodations right on the ocean. Nice location for sightseeing drives in that section of the island. Would recommend Pahoa Fish & Chips and Luqinns both in Pahoa Village. I would stay there again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • A Great Place to Get Away

    A Great Place to Get Away

    • Guest Matt (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/22/11
    • Review Submitted 06/07/11
    This was our first stop on a two week Big Island trip. We couldn't have started off better. The house is well decorated and the bathrooms and kitchen were well stocked for all our needs. The first thing we loved about this location was the crashing surf that could be heard throughout the house when we walked through the door. It really struck home then that we were on the Big Island! We spent many a night enjoying the view of the crashing waves from the upper deck and patio. Pahoa town is just down the way for grocery needs, but Hilo is also just a short drive if you need to go to KTA or Walmart. We ended up buying most of our produce from the Hilo market and cooked a lot of inexpensive meals in the kitchen. We took walks down to Kahakai Park and collected a couple cocnuts to make fresh pina coladas and smoothies. This house is conveniently located to run down to the Waiopae tidepools or Lava Tree State Park. Volcano and the Park are also just a short drive away. As for the neighborhood, we fell in love with the laid back Puna vibe. The people we met were very friendly, and the verdant landscape is lush and vibrant. If you plan to stay in the Hilo area, but don't mind being about 20 minutes from downtown, then this is the place for you. We were so sad to move on to our next house after 4 nights in this location. We hope to return again soon! Mahalo, Liv!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Had a great time!

    Had a great time!

    • Guest Ross (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 05/24/11
    Stayed here in May, 2011 with my family. We really enjoyed our stay. The property was everything it was described as. Quite the experience staying in an ocean view house. We even saw sea turtles coming up for air every so often. The location was great for us as we wanted to visit Volcano National Park and Hilo. This was situated nicely between the two of them. Make sure you don't miss the hot spring pools. 90 degree water connected to the ocean. It was amazing! Hope to return some day.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • More Than We Could Ask For!!

    More Than We Could Ask For!!

    • Guest islandstyles (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 09/10/10
    • Review Submitted 11/03/10
    My family and I spent two wonderful weeks here and it was more than we could have ever asked for. The house is beautiful, well maintained, had everything we needed for our stay (including coconut shampoo and conditioner which was a delightful surprise), and has an absolutely gorgeous view. Liv was so helpful and always responded to my email quickly. I would recommend this house to anyone without any hesitation!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • As great as it looks -- it's even better!

    As great as it looks -- it's even better!

    • Guest travelaim (Terre Haute, IN)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 08/16/10
    My family just had a wonderful week at this beautiful house! The ocean views are breathtaking -- the house is clean and well cared for -- and the location is great for exploring the volcanoes (the primary purpose of our visit) and the rest of the Big Island. To reiterate my title -- the house looked beautiful and like a great deal on the website -- but it exceeded my expectations. The owner was incredibly helpful, friendly and responsive. I would absolutely recommend this house. Also -- if you happen to stay in this area, I strongly recommend dining at Kaleo's in Pahoa. The whole family visited for a great lunch, and my husband and I returned for dinner a few days later to celebrate our anniversary -- great food, friendly staff, lovely live music in the evenings.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Could not have asked for a better rental!

    Could not have asked for a better rental!

    • Guest Dasgupta (Dallas, TX)
    • Date of stay 05/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    We rented this place for 4 days - I just wish we could have stayed in it a little while longer. The sunrise and all-day views alone are enough for me to recommend this place to anyone; add to it the clean, crisp sheets, the well-stocked pantry, the nicel decor, the washer/dryer and this place is a steal. The owners are also super gracious; I just cant say enough good things about this place. If you plan to stay on the Eastern side of the island, this is a great place to be at. the only thing to keep in mind is that if you are arriving from Hilo later at night, you would be wise to pick up some basic groceries and dinner from Hilo before making the almost hour long drive to Pahoa. The location made it convininet to access the northern part of the island as well as the south..... We cant say enough nice things about this place - we lovved it. Thanks Liv!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for such a wonderful response. I really appreciate when people enjoy my vacation rental as much as me and my family does. Aloha a hui hou!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • We had such a great time.

    We had such a great time.

    • Guest Emily S (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 05/17/10
    • Review Submitted 06/04/10
    We loved being able to stay in this house. The house is very clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The owner is a joy to work with, and very responsive to any requests. To see the sunrise, just open your eyes, and then keep them open, because there is a lot to see. The waves were pretty big when we were there, and added another dimension to ocean watching. They were beautiful. I loved watching the sea turtles pop their heads up between waves. So many beautiful things to see: Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden, Volcano National Park, Lava Tree State Park, from the South Point to Waipo Valley in the north. All were easy to get to, and there was so much to explore in between. Then, back "home" to beauty, comfort, and relaxation. It was very easy to prepare meals in this house also. Everything we needed was there, which is definitely not true of many places we have stayed. Although we enjoyed the Kona side of the island as well, we all missed the little bit of paradise that we had found in this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Dylan B. (Princeton, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/29/09
    • Review Submitted 08/29/09
    We recently (family of 5) spent a week in this house and had a fantastic time! I absolutely loved sleeping with the windows open, allowing the cool breezes and sounds of the ocean waves to drift into the house. In fact you are so close to the ocean, that you have to spray the windows once in awhile to remove the salt spray (it really improves your view of the sunrise from inside the house too!). The house was well stocked, and made for a perfect "home-away-from-home" for the week. The location in Pahoa is perfect for exploring the Volcano National Park and Hilo, and it is really close to the "end of the road" where you can hike in and see the lava flows into the ocean (you have to do this at night...so it is nice to be "close to home" for this one!). We even explored the west side (Kona, Kealakekua, Capt. Cook) using Pahoa as our home base, and the drives were not bad at all. I highly recommend this property, and we hope to be back in the winter one of these days, so we can watch the whales from the house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Cozy House

    Cozy House

    • Guest BigIsland (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 07/17/09
    • Review Submitted 07/06/10
    We spent three nights at this house in late June, and absolutely loved the experience. House is situated in a quiet neighborhood with panoramic ocean views from the backyard and good views from almost all the rooms. We slept on the top floor and woke up to beautiful sunrise every morning. House itself is very cozy with all the kitchen amenities you might need( we had two young kids on the party, and it was perfect for fixing up quick meals for them, even the grown ups ate in sometimes). House has comfortable beds, and clean bathrooms. Backyard was relaxing, we loved watching the stars and listening to the waves at night. Liv was excellent to work with, very responsive. I would stay here again without a second thought if I make another trip to the island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Amanda Salter
    • Date of stay 04/28/09
    • Review Submitted 04/27/09
    We had such a fabulous time! I almost don't want to tell anyone else about this place, because it was such a find. Most of the house is windows facing the ocean and you sleep with the windows open and the crashing waves beneath your bed. And while it rained constantly in Hilo, and was voggy at the Volcano, it was always sunny and beautiful at the house. Definitely drive through the jungle the 2 miles to the hot pools! An experience we won't soon forget. Thanks again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Cindy and Jimmy (Slidell, La.)
    • Date of stay 04/09/09
    • Review Submitted 04/09/09
    We just got back from our stay at this lovely house. We stayed from 3-28-0- to 4-04-09 and wished we could have stayed longer. The house is everything it appears to be in the pictures,it completly meet our expections. The views are amazing and you are just a few feet from the ocean. You can sit up in the bed and watch the sun rise. We sleep with the windows open, the breeze,ocean sounds and very comfortable beds made for a good nights sleep. Nice comminuty and neighbors. We highly recommend this house! Do visit the town of Pahoa, and walk to the lava flow. The blue book at he house lead us to a lot of great places to see. Aloha, the Jacksons

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anna-Marie and Jim O'Brien (Tempe, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 02/28/09
    • Review Submitted 02/28/09
    We had a wonderful time staying in this house for our vacation. Everything was as stated in the VRBO advertisement - the house was clean, comfortable, nicely appointed, comfy beds, nicely equipped kitchen. It felt just like a beach house should - relaxing and not too fussy. The views were amazing, and the ocean is RIGHT there. It was a perfect home base for all of our Big Island adventures. Highly recommend, will be back next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/05/08
    • Review Submitted 12/04/08
    Our stay of two weeks in this beautiful house gave us much pleasure; it is a lovely, well kept and lovingly decorated house with awesome views: the wide ocean during the day and awesome stars in the night. We hope to return again. Bruno and Ursula from Switzerland Nov. 4 to 18, 2008.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous18 (-)
    • Date of stay 10/02/08
    • Review Submitted 10/02/08
    This is a very well kept vacation rental. Everything that was specified on the page was exact and true. The views were amazing, the area was just what I wanted to get to a lot of places in Puna/Hilo. The caretakers were very nice people to deal with. I would recommend this rental!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest The Mattoxes (Pleasanton, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/24/08
    • Review Submitted 07/23/08
    This very well maintained and immaculate house was a perfect place for our Big Island vacation. Everyone in our family enjoyed our stay. The sound of the ocean rocked us to sleep. It was great to sit out in the porch at night to watch the stars, the beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. Highly recommend this to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Stephanie Fraize (Orlando, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/20/08
    • Review Submitted 07/20/08
    My husband & I and 2 of our friends just stayed in your beautiful rental house. It was a great location for checking out all the cool stuff on the East side of the island. The house had everything we could need and the views are amazing. It was neat to be able to watch the sunrise from bed in the master bedroom. We'd definitely recommend this home to anyone looking.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Betty & Hugh Baker (Kailua-Kona, HI)
    • Date of stay 07/13/08
    • Review Submitted 07/13/08
    Absolutely fabulous! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your beautiful home and the ocean views and wave sound was phenomenal. This was the highlight for our trip to the east side of the island. Thank you for sharing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest david & patty childress (tucson, az)
    • Date of stay 07/06/08
    • Review Submitted 07/06/08
    We recently stayed in your rental home and it was an excellent base to explore the island of Hawaii. The house exceeded our expectations. It was absolutly beautiful. We'll definitely recommend your home to everyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest The Bells
    • Date of stay 06/10/08
    • Review Submitted 06/09/08
    We recently rented #173027 near Pahoa, HI. It was a wonderful place to vacation. The home was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The kitchen included basic ingredients and equipment which made meal preparation a snap. The view is fantastic, awesome, grand, spectacular and all other adjectives that are along this line. The sound of the waves 24/7 was music to our ears. We enjoyed watching the sea turtles from the home. We highly recommend this as a vacation spot. " Karen and Curt Bell, Michigan

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/27/08
    • Review Submitted 05/27/08
    The perfect house in perfect setting for our family! Immaculate, beautifully furnished, tastefully decorated, this lovely home was beyond our expectations! Comfortable beds, terrific kitchen, the sound of the ocean and an awesome view with a beautiful patio to take it all in! Located in a nice residential area with nice neighbors. Owners are fantastic. No vog here! Weather was perfect! Would definitely stay here again! G. Family, Portland, Oregon

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/14/08
    • Review Submitted 05/14/08
    Wonderful place to stay. Great views, owners and neighbors are very friendly and helpful, very affordable, and close to all activites of eastern part of island. This home really is as nice as it looks in the pictures. Would definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/03/08
    • Review Submitted 05/03/08
    What a great place! Beautiful location right on the water where the surf is easily heard throughout the house. Very clean and affordable oceanfront. The owners were fantastic and very accomdodating. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Asaf1 (Sunnyvale,CA)
    • Date of stay 05/02/08
    • Review Submitted 05/02/08
    This house is fantastic- Brand new kitchen, well maintained, and breathtaking view of the ocean.20 min south to Hilo. Really worth the money !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/21/08
    • Review Submitted 04/20/08
    Wonderful place to stay and the owners are awesome! We were grateful to be able to stay in this lovely and quiet home while being captivated by the sounds of the ocean. Short drive to Hilo and super close to the very quaint Pahoa town. You won't find a better place to stay for this price!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]