Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
I know getting up early on vacation is tough, but it has its rewards.

Oceanfront. Lowest Rental Rate on the Island [#173310] | View Property

Harbor Island
Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$495-$795/wk - $1095/mo
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (61)

Sort by:
  • Sightseeing Vacation

    Sightseeing Vacation

    • Guest Margaret E.
    • Date of stay 11/09/13
    • Review Submitted 11/21/13
    My week on Harbor Island was lovely - the condo was as advertised, clean and very quiet. Views of the marsh were fantastic. Most appreciative of the park pass to visit beautiful Hunting Island. So much gorgeous scenery to photograph! I had to upload my camera cards every night from all the pictures I took! This trip was a preliminary trip to check out the Beaufort area as a possible retirement home; I really hated to leave!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Pleasurable Excursion

    A Pleasurable Excursion

    • Guest Judy
    • Date of stay 10/30/13
    • Review Submitted 12/07/13
    We spent a great week in the low country. The property was very clean and comfortable. The view of the salt marsh from the living room and master bedroom was beautiful. The visits to Hunting Island for biking and beach walking in a Maritime Forest felt magical. Keep in mind that the price does not include taxes and security deposit. Our only complaint was not having internet in the condo but that wouldn't be a problem if you were truly trying to get away from it all. You can walk down the road to get wifi if needed. I would definitely go again but next time I would bring our kayaks!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Valueu

    Great Valueu

    • Guest Summer S.
    • Date of stay 09/18/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    My sister, my mom, and I stayed at this property for 8 days. The view from the deck is so beautiful! You can see the tide come in and out in the marsh. The beach is a short walk away with such diverse wildlife. So many birds (pelicans, sandpipers, etc.)) and we also saw horseshoe crabs there. We went to the Huntington State Park just down the road while we were there. We climbed the lighthouse and walked on the beach. It was wonderful to see the different landscapes in the area. They also have a pier you can fish from. Gay's Seafood Market is a must if you love fresh seafood! Just a short distance away. The area also has major grocery stores about 20 - 30 minutes away. We all had a wonderful time. Wish we could have stayed....

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing family vacation

    Amazing family vacation

    • Guest Stephanie P. (Midway, Tennessee)
    • Date of stay 07/13/13
    • Review Submitted 07/20/13
    This was one of the best trips we have ever had. The accommodations were awesome. The condo was very well represented by the renter with absolutely no surprises. The view was breathtaking. The condo was super clean and very well maintained. The layout was perfect for our family and we highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a very laid back relaxing vacation. This was our first trip to Harbor Island and our first experience using VRBO....both beat our highest expectations. Our family had no issues during the entire trip and I can see why people make this their vacation destination yearly. There is no doubt that we will be back to Harbor Island and that we will be staying in the same location. The rental process was so simple and the property manager was so easy to deal with. You can't go wrong renting this unit if you love a great view, beach accessibility, cleanliness, and security. We made memories that will last a lifetime. I was sad to see our week come to an end because it was some of the best times our family has ever had on vacation. The location of this rental is so convenient to anything you might want to do. We took advantage of the beach, fishing off the pier at Hunting Island State Park, climbing the lighthouse, sightseeing in the nearby towns, and hanging out at the pool. Oh and the beds were so comfortable, just what you are looking for after a long day out & about. Don't miss out on this awesome place. You won't be disappointed. A huge thank you goes out to the renter who made this trip so very special for us. As most people know finding the right place to stay is the hardest part. Well, our family nailed it with this unit!! We are looking forward to many many more visits.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Our Second Visit

    Our Second Visit

    • Guest TX travelers (Fort Worth, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/07/13
    We just finished our second visit to Harbor Island and it was just as wonderful as our first visit. My family really loves the beach and the condo is incredibly comfortable. We will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful and Bountiful!

    Beautiful and Bountiful!

    • Guest Gil and Debbie (Lawrenceville, GA)
    • Date of stay 04/27/13
    • Review Submitted 05/24/13
    We stayed here for a long weekend recently and had a blast! We love birding and lucked up on a bunch of nesting birds right on the property! We saw so many different varieties of birds, it was incredible! We were able to see the eggs, babies and even a little mating activity. Also heard a gator nab somebody! Wow! The condo is as described and was clean. We did need to air it out a bit upon arrival as the cleaning solution was strongly scented-but, hey, at least it was clean! I would definitely recommend the property and the area, in general. The beach was practically deserted and really pretty. It was a bit cool during our stay, so no swimming, but did enjoy the beach. We love the eastern coast and look forward to a return trip soon. Thanks for having us!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rest and Relax, Explore and More

    Rest and Relax, Explore and More

    • Guest Happy Travelers (Normal, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 04/16/13
    • Review Submitted 06/15/13
    This was our second visit to Harbor Island, and both times we had the pleasure of staying in this unit. The location is lovely -- close to the beach, with a delightful view of the marsh. The unit itself is comfortable, clean, and well-equipped for cooking, resting, and relaxing. We had fun exploring Frogmore on this trip, as well as the lighthouse at the state park just down the road. If you are looking for a restful, relaxing place to stay, close to the beach, with the option of sight-seeing, this is the place for you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Suntanned and relaxed

    Suntanned and relaxed

    • Guest Flip flop tan (Lexington KY)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    We just returned from Harbor Island and just had to let everyone know what a great place it was to go on vacation! My husband started out everyday with a walk along the beach and chatted with some of the "Turtle Volunteers" about the nests, sightings etc. We would pack up and go about a mile down the road to a State park-Hunting Island. Big waves, uncrowded sandy beaches and an unspoiled "Jurassic Park" atmosphere even impressed my teenager! Light House was a must see.After the beach we went to one of the pools every afternoon and then headed towards Beaufort for dinner. Dockside and Steamers were great-and also thanks to Publix and Gay fish Company.We had fresh seafood everynight! Drinks on the deck in the evening were wonderful with the breeze blowing the palm trees. We also took a day trip into Savannah and ate at Paula Deen's restauant.Pictures don't do this place justice!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Had a wonderful vacation

    Had a wonderful vacation

    • Guest karkey78 (Huntsville, AL)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 06/28/12
    It was my spouse, our two children (3 and 6 yrs old) and myself. The condo wasn't too small for our family and the views are breath taking. My husband said it was like a mural was painted on a wall it was such a beautiful view. You can hear the ocean, see huntings island/beach, and the marsh is so calming. The condo was very clean. Our only criticism is not having a phone or internet in the condo. We didn't have cell phone signal so people couldn't contact us easily if they needed us. My husband is a Marine and he needed access to his e-mails every night to work. Luckily, we were able to purchase wireless internet for a week from a company there and it wasn't too expensive :-) The clubhouse has wireless for free, but he never needed to check it during the day b/c that took away from our fun time with the kids. Traffic is very minimal as most walk or ride bikes there and all the guests were as nice as can be. Everyone waved at everybody even though no one knew the other person...it was a great family community made up of strangers. We walked everywhere we went...beach, tennis courts, and pool and that's with a 3 year old doing all her own walking so in my opinion this condo was in the perfect location to get to all of those easily. It was a great experience and we highly recommend the place. The pool and beach were never too crowded and we were able to teach our 6 yr old how to swim. My kids loved 'catching' hermit crabs on the beach! We hardly went anywhere b/c there was no need to leave the island except to eat. I have always played tennis so I enjoyed being able to go to the courts (which were nice) and was able to start teaching my children to play a great sport. It's been almost a week since we left and my baby girl is still crying wanting to know when we are going back to 'our other house on the beach' and when I told her we didn't own it she asked when we were buying it! lol Both kids at different times have asked if we could just move there they loved it so much (and that's with them sharing a room AND had no toys...I'm a mom in shock! lol)! Thanks for offering a great place at such an affordable price...we WILL be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Looking for a Great Vacation Spot?

    Looking for a Great Vacation Spot?

    • Guest Happy Travelers (Normal, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 04/09/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    You will want to check out Harbor Island, and this condo is a great place to stay! The website gives you a good idea of what to expect here; this condo is clean and comfortable, with plenty of room, and the view of the marsh is delightful. Not only that, but the birds on the island are interesting and fun to watch. You won't need an alarm clock - they will sing you awake gently. The beach on Harbor Island is lovely, with lots of room to walk, look for shells, wade (or swim), watch for dolphins, or count pelicans -- as well as all the other species of birds that stop by here as they migrate. We were a little too early for the loggerhead turtles, but can't complain -- there was plenty to see and enjoy! Beaufort is wonderful, and quite near by, but even closer we found things to do -- we enjoyed a visit to the Penn Center, as well as to Hunting Island. We took advantage of delicious, very local fresh shrimp and flounder, and enjoyed a bit of souvenir shopping. Peter and his assistant were helpful, both in the booking and planning of our trip, but also once we arrived -- they answered our questions and one (very minor) concern without hesitation. All in all, if you are looking for a great vacation spot, you'll definitely want to consider Harbor Island -- and this condo is a great place to stay while you are there.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • 2012 Family Spring Break

    2012 Family Spring Break

    • Guest RRKJ (Wilmington, OH)
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/09/12
    My family has been to the areas in and around Beaufort, SC for several years. We really love that area and were looking for a condo after years of camping or staying in cabins nearby. We were very pleased to have found a condo on Harbor Island. The condo was in great condition, the view out the back patio and master bedroom were better than on the condo's page, and the pool, tennis, and short walk to the beach were great! Our kids, 9 and 13, also loved it. We saw the resident osprey, horseshoe crabs on the beach, great waves, nice sand, and we saw crabs, dolphins, and other wildlife. The neighbors were all quiet and friendly. Definitely a good deal and Peter is very responsive.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cedar Reef Condo A-209

    Cedar Reef Condo A-209

    • Guest Lyn (Center Harbor NH)
    • Date of stay 12/12/11
    • Review Submitted 03/25/12
    The condo was very quiet and plenty big enough for two people and guests. The view from the deck was amazing. Looking out over the marsh and being able to hear and see the ocean was great. Hardly any traffic at all so walks on the roads were nice and biking. Long walks on the beautiful sandy beach to see the dolphins and porpoise was a real treat. If you're a bird lover- there are tons of them.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Terrific Vacation!

    Terrific Vacation!

    • Guest Traveling Family (Bristol, TN)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 09/02/11
    We had an absolutely wonderful trip! This was our first time visiting Harbor Island but are certain that it will not be our last. Our children had so much fun visiting the pools and beach. We were very surprised at the calmness of the ocean. We visited the pier at Hunting Island and our boys got to encounter two young sharks that a fisherman caught. We were pleased with the condo as it was clean and had the supplies to meet our needs. We contacted Peter with questions during our stay and he replied promptly. We would definitely consider staying here in the future!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I've Got My Feet in the Sand and a great book in my hand.

    I've Got My Feet in the Sand and a great book in my hand.

    • Guest RKC (Marion, Virginia)
    • Date of stay 07/30/11
    • Review Submitted 08/07/11
    Just returned from one of the best vacations our family has experienced. Loved this condo. Definately all the comforts of home. Very clean, welcoming. The rental process for this condo is so easy and hassle free. The pricing was a major reason for our family being able to go. The entire Island is so uncrowed and wonderful. The Hunting Island State Park pass is a huge plus to this rental. We loved Hunting Island Beach it is so beautiful, uncrowded and wonderful for beach combing. We spent most of our days there. We got to see one of the turtle nest on Harbor Island hatch and baby turtles head to the ocean. So amazing. Loved all the wildlife on the entire island. Must eat at Johnson's Creek Tavern just a mile or two from Harbor Island. Boondocks, The Shrimp Shack and The Cheesy Pizza are also great places to eat. This was definately one of the most relaxing vacations our family has had. No rushing, bumping elbows or waiting. The marsh lands are beautiful. This island is a wonderful place to get away from it all and truly relax. Both Harbor Island Beach and Hunting Island Beach are not crowded you almost feel like you are there all by yourselves. All the amenities at Harbor Island were great. We had the pool to ourselves on several occasions. Truly a little piece of Heaven. Peter is wonderful to work with. The pictures and description of the rental are spot on. A great place for families. Really liked that it is a gated community and well maintained. The only bad thing is that the week went by so fast and would have loved to been able to stay another one or two. My husband and son in law are golfers and really enjoyed golfing on several occasions.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • TX travelers

    TX travelers

    • Guest TX travelers (Fort Worth, TX)
    • Date of stay 06/11/11
    • Review Submitted 06/18/11
    My family and I had an incredible time. The condo was clean, well stocked, and very close to the beach. We even saw dolphins while we were on the beach,

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Very Quiet Stay. . WE WILL COME BACK!!!!

    Very Quiet Stay. . WE WILL COME BACK!!!!

    • Guest Nick (La Vergne, Tn)
    • Date of stay 05/15/11
    • Review Submitted 05/25/11
    We walked in and the pictures did not do the place justice. It was just amazing. Me and my just loved the place. It came with everything you needed. We walked down to the beach and the whole time we were there we only saw about 5 people on the beach. He also left us with a pass to hunting island, This is a must go. Very VERY beautiful stay. We will come back!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Review of VRBO 168339

    Review of VRBO 168339

    • Guest Bev (Fort Collins, CO)
    • Date of stay 04/16/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    What a beautiful location! The fantastic uncrowded beaches were definitely an asset to our spring vacation. After much searching, we selected this particular property because of the photos, and after talking with the owner to get specifics, decided this was THE place. We hope to return another time to visit other fasinating sites. Some of the activities we'd recommend are visiting Savannah and taking a tour to get oriented; traveling to Charleston, taking another tour, going to see Fort Sumter, and any of the plantations - we especially enjoyed the Old City Market. Other sites we enjoyed were Hunting Island, and, of course, Beaufort. We did a lot of history touring around the local area. We ate crab and/or shrimp every day and enjoyed dinner at the Boondocks, Dockside, Gilligans, and The Lady & Sons in Savannah. This trip was an anniversary celebration, and we definitely could have stayed longer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful, quiet beach getaway

    Beautiful, quiet beach getaway

    • Guest S, B & E (Detroit, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 09/25/10
    • Review Submitted 11/20/10
    This condo was the perfect getaway for us. If you haven't visited the area, Harbor Island is a teeny, tiny barrier island with vacation rentals - some single-family fancy outfits, and some more basic condos like this one. This unit had everything we needed. It was very comfortable and clean. Maybe could use some updating, but overall we were really really happy with the amenities. Peter was also outstanding to deal with. Prompt, polite, knowledgeable, and easygoing. The big draw here, and what would bring us back, is the beautiful and quiet beach. This unit is on the top floor, and it's a short walk to the beach on a boardwalk that sits above the dry marsh. The pool is close by as well. We didn't use the workout facility, but there is one right next to the pool. This is a great place to go if you want to be away from crowds and busy resort places. We would certainly recommend it to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Harbor Island Condo

    Harbor Island Condo

    • Guest John (Chapin, SC)
    • Date of stay 09/19/10
    • Review Submitted 09/26/10
    Very nice place to stay. All the comforts of home. I especially liked the three bathrooms. I would mention that there are over 30 steps(stairs) to the bedrooms and if you need to make several trips it can get you out of breath. The beach is nice and close and all the other amenities are very nice. The beach at Hunting Island State Park is a little nicer, however. Very close less than two miles to that beach and a pass is included. Great place to go bicycling as well. Make sure you make out a list of food etc. before heading out to the condo, because it is a good drive to the supermarket. I would definitely go again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: The good news about the 30 steps to the bedrooms is that includes the the flight and a half of outside stairs to get to the front door. Once you are inside there is a flight of stairs to the bedroom. We do not recommend our place to families with small children. The supermarkets are about 8 miles away.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Family Vacation

    Great Family Vacation

    • Guest Satisfied Family (Greenville, NC)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 09/05/10
    Nice, clean condo a short walk from beach and pool. Safe, quiet area for families with small children. Beach was beautiful, pristine, and practically empty. Savannah and Charleston nearby for day trips. Weather was fantastic (uninterrupted sun). We would definitely return.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Harbor Island Vacation

    Wonderful Harbor Island Vacation

    • Guest Charlene (Kingston, OH)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/10/10
    The condo was just as described with wonderful amenities. Harbor Island is gorgeous and we had a very relaxing trip to the area. We enjoyed Hunting Island and really appreciated the use of the park pass to get into the park. Beaufort is a quaint town with wonderful shops, restaurants (great wine tasting too!) and beautiful scenery. The entire complex was quiet and a great place to relax - away from mainstream malls and large housing communities. Working with Peter was wonderful as he was prompt with communication and was very informative. We definitely would recommend this property to anyone looking to have a relaxing worry free vacation. The beach was just a short walk away and provided stunning sunsets as we took our nightly beach walk. During the day, the mostly calm water was a great way to cool off. If you are looking for a beach that is not overcrowded this is the place! Thank you for a wonderful trip, Peter.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Most Relaxing Vacation

    Most Relaxing Vacation

    • Guest Harbor Island Fanatic (Piedmont, SC)
    • Date of stay 07/24/10
    • Review Submitted 08/07/10
    Just wanted to take a moment and thank you for s smooth and easy process for renting this Condo for the week. Everything went fine, the unit was nice and clean when we arrived and we left it the same way we found it and we thoroughly enjoyed our week. One of the most relaxing vacations I have had in a while and we fell in love with Harbor Island – so much so that we are seriously considering buying a unit down there for our retirement needs.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Harbor Island Vacation

    Harbor Island Vacation

    • Guest Ken (Suwanee, GA)
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    The beach of Harbor Island was fantastic. One of only a handful of beaches along the entire east coast that was not spoiled by massive high-rise condos only inches from the sea. The views of the salt marshes from the balcony were spectacular. The condo was comfortably furnished, and had all of the amenities of your own home. It was also easily spacious enough for 4 people. A beautiful location that I would recommend to anyone.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • First Family Vacation

    First Family Vacation

    • Guest luvthesea (Fairview Park, OHIO)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/19/10
    We found the condo to be exactly what was described. Private, simple and relaxing. The photos gave us a great idea of what to expect. Having never done this before, working with Peter was nice. He told us what we needed to do and we did it. Very simple and no surprises. We really appreciated all you did. We would definitely recommend and stay at this property again. Though it was extremely hot is S.C. we did many activities in the morning. And one of the three pools or beach in the afternoon. Hunting Island lighthouse, carriage tour of Beaufort. Both are highly recommended.We also went to Parris Island on the Fourth of July. That was spectacular! We also bought sea scallops from Gay's, they were out of this world. The drive-in was great. Toy Story 3 was perfect for the kids. We grilled mostly at the condo but we did eat at Boondocks and Johnson Creek Tavern. Both were nice and kid friendly. Thanks Peter, we had a great time.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing Vacation

    Relaxing Vacation

    • Guest Janet (Roanoke,VA)
    • Date of stay 06/26/10
    • Review Submitted 07/05/10
    We had a wonderful time at Harbor Island. The island is peaceful and relaxing with an abundance of wild life which we enjoyed. Our teenage daughters even enjoyed it and would like to return sometime. Fishing was good. The state park is beautiful. The condo is exactly as described: clean, nice view and well stocked. We enjoyed watching several videos filmed in the area. Peter is excellent to work with in taking care of your reservation. We would recommend Harbor Island to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family with teenagers

    Family with teenagers

    • Guest European (Gothemburg, Sweden)
    • Date of stay 06/19/10
    • Review Submitted 07/01/10
    We had a great week in this calm and secluded gated community. Everything was as shown in the pictures, and I appreciate the extra nice inclusions, like novels and cooking books of local authors, some basic supplies, etc. The balcony heading south-east was at first a bad surprice, but after a while we found it relaxing that there was no sunshine early mornings and evenings. The view is not actually heading towards the beach, you walk past the building to find the nice beach path. We liked to watch the beach in different tides, and to swim in the high tidal waves in the State Park, thanks for including the pass! To the closest food store it is at lest 15 min drive from the apartment, Beaufort is around 30 min away with legal speed. The drive in movie is great! Do not forget mosquito candles that most S Carolinans used around their cars, to be able to sit in the open air. For us Europeans it would be nice to have a parasol to bring to the beach in the apartment, if possible. We warmly recommend this apartment and to rent from Mr Cole!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Beach Vacation!

    Excellent Beach Vacation!

    • Guest Stribster (Boiling Springs, SC)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 06/27/10
    We had an excellent vacation at Harbor Island! The condo was clean and convenient to the beach. The pool and clubhouse where not far away, but we spent all our time in the sand. The beach is a short walk over the boardwalk from the condo to the beach. I recommend families having a beach cart that they can load all the "beach items" on and pull to the beach. If you have a cart or a wagon with wheels, use the public boardwalk to the right of the condo. It has no steps on the boardwalk which helps when pulling a cart. Harbor Island is a great vacation spot for families that don't won't to deal with the touristy destinations found elsewhere along the SC coast. It has everything I look for: A great beach, beautiful views/scenery, and no crowds at any time of the day! The water is perfect for small kids. Very calm, and you can walk out for several hundred yards during high tide. At low tide, you are left with tidal pools for the kids to play in and a hundred + yards of beach. If you want to go out and eat, there are several options that are convenient. Some of the noteworthy ones are: Boondocks & the Foolish Frog. Both are very close to Harbor Island. For some reason, The Shrimp Shack gets a lot of praise and recommendation. Growing up in SC and being very accustomed to good low country cooking, I cannot recommend stopping there to eat. To me it is plain basic fried seafood done cheap at a high price. I would highly recommend driving another mile up the road to eat at Boondocks (we left a menu for you). The drive-in theatre is also less than 30 minutes away and is a great evening outing. They have two screens, one with two adult oriented movies (rated PG-13 & R) and one with two family oriented movies (rated PG). The movies are current new releases. This provides a unique and affordable family night out. Peter, that manages this property, is excellent to work with! I highly recommend this location and his services. We had a great time and will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Family Beach Vacation!

    Great Family Beach Vacation!

    • Guest Stribster (Boiling Springs, SC)
    • Date of stay 06/12/10
    • Review Submitted 06/27/10
    We had an excellent vacation at Harbor Island! The condo was clean and convenient to the beach. The pool and clubhouse where not far away, but we spent all our time in the sand. The beach is a short walk over the boardwalk from the condo to the beach. I recommend families having a beach cart that they can load all the "beach items" on and pull to the beach. If you have a cart or a wagon with wheels, use the public boardwalk to the right of the condo. It has no steps on the boardwalk which helps when pulling a cart. Harbor Island is a great vacation spot for families that don't won't to deal with the touristy destinations found elsewhere along the SC coast. It has everything I look for: A great beach, beautiful views/scenery, and no crowds at any time of the day! The water is perfect for small kids. Very calm, and you can walk out for several hundred yards during high tide. At low tide, you are left with tidal pools for the kids to play in and a hundred + yards of beach. If you want to go out and eat, there are several options that are convenient. Some of the noteworthy ones are: Boondocks & the Foolish Frog. Both are very close to Harbor Island. For some reason, The Shrimp Shack gets a lot of praise and recommendation. Growing up in SC and being very accustomed to good low country cooking, I cannot recommend stopping there to eat. To me it is plain basic fried seafood done cheap at a high price. I would highly recommend driving another mile up the road to eat at Boondocks (we left a menu for you). The drive-in theatre is also less than 30 minutes away and is a great evening outing. They have two screens, one with two adult oriented movies (rated PG-13 & R) and one with two family oriented movies (rated PG). The movies are current new releases. This provides a unique and affordable family night out. Peter, that manages this property, is excellent to work with! I highly recommend this location and his services. We had a great time and will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Harbor Island 2010

    Harbor Island 2010

    • Guest Chris (St. Louis, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/05/10
    • Review Submitted 07/06/10
    This condo was just what we expected, no surprises and DEFINITELY no disappointments. There is so much life on the beach. There were dolphins swimming 50feet from us, we saw many different kinds of jellyfish, my daughter had a different hermit crab pet everyday at the beach and at night back at the condo they caught frogs. It was truly an AMAZING vacation. It was nice that the state park pass for Hunting Island was provided by the owner. The kids loved the lighthouse and beach there had bigger waves for them to play in. It was the BEST family trip ever, so relaxing...I felt right at home. Also, we enjoyed Beaufort all the little shops and restaurants right on the boardwalk. My kids played at the playground and ate snowcones while sitting on the swings. Don't miss out on the Drive In it is a "MUST" if you have children with you. Thanks Peter you were great to work with, no problems at all.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Fantastic Find

    Fantastic Find

    • Guest outoftowners (Salisbury, MD)
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/06/10
    First off Peter was fantastic work with. He answered our questions quickly and the paperwork went smoothly. The place was just as described. Walking distance to the beach and pool. Lots of amenities at HI. The ladies working the clubhouse were helpful and friendly. The condo was fantastic. It was clean and well kept and it fit our needs perfectly. I loved have my coffee on the deck in the am and my wine in the evenings. We can't wait until we can come back again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Memorable Honeymoon

    Memorable Honeymoon

    • Guest HappyCouple (Anderson, SC, 29625)
    • Date of stay 05/22/10
    • Review Submitted 06/21/10
    We were very pleased with the condo. The description is pretty accurate; we were able to relax inside as well as outside of the condo. The view was gorgeous as we observed different kinds of life roaming the marshes. We had almost everything we needed in the condo as well as the variety of entertainment we did not expect. We watched movies (describing the area) and used brochures provided for our use. The owner provided resources for our use, so we didn't have to spend time. We just enjoyed our time without any worry.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Harbor Island

    Harbor Island

    • Guest wessel (Pittsfield, Ma)
    • Date of stay 04/24/10
    • Review Submitted 05/03/10
    The condo is in the perfect place for enjoying the beach. It is so relaxing and walking a non crowded beach was a pleasure. Early morning views went great with a cup of coffee. Used the park pass to go to Hunting State Park. Great place to go and bring a picnic, swim in the ocean and go hiking. Ate at all of the local resturants: Johnson Creek Taveran, Boondocks, Foolish Frog. Had the best seafood ever. We were lucky enough to be there at breeding time for the great white egrets a real special treat. Definitely would recommend staying here. Whish we could have stayed longer. If you use a GPS to find Harbor Island you will need to put in the street name and a single diget number and St. Helenas Island and you get there with no problems.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great private area to get away

    great private area to get away

    • Guest kristy h. (Brownstown, MI )
    • Date of stay 04/10/10
    • Review Submitted 06/01/10
    The property is in a great area to get away. You are close enough to areas such as Hitton Head, Charleston, Savannah, etc. but far enough to not be consumed by crowds. The beach was beautiful, and never crowded. The condo is in nice gated community that is safe and friendly. We had 2 small children traveling with us, and they were never bored (with 2 pools, playground, beach). If you don't mind the short trip to town (about 15 min.), it's perfect.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Deb Warner (Hockessin, Delaware)
    • Date of stay 01/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    My husband and I, along with my parents stayed at this lovely condo the week following Xmas. The view was great and the unit was exactly as described.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Watts Family1 (Lilburn, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/20/09
    • Review Submitted 09/20/09
    We enjoyed our stay tremendously, the view from the condo was phenomenal! I loved the master bed, the sheets, the comforter. Beautiful, soft ,comfortable and after a long day at the beach, to crawl into that bed, pop a movie into the t.v. and relax was heaven. Our teens enjoyed the drive in tremendously. Something we as a family have never done. Beaufort was charming and the ladies at the visitor's center were lovely and helpful and gave us each a coupon for free chocolate. Yumm. The beach was amazing. On the whole a great vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rob Spencer (Milwaukee, WI)
    • Date of stay 09/20/09
    • Review Submitted 09/20/09
    This was a wonderful place for a vacation on a budget. Everything was exactly as described--the pictures don't even do it justice. It is secluded and very safe. The view of the marsh is beautiful, with the ocean in the background. The walk to the beach is not bad. The condo itself does not need a thing--there would be ample room for a decent-sized family. We are planning on returning. Highly recommended! We were fortunate to take some historical Beaufort tours and see a movie at the Highway 21 Drive-In... they need your support! The drive-in will never die.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest 2drchevy (Rhinebeck, NY USA)
    • Date of stay 07/28/09
    • Review Submitted 07/28/09
    The condo was exactly as described in the ad. Given we were on a 900 mile road trip through the Carolinas, visiting friends and relatives who had moved from the frigid north, we needed a place to rest after our excursions. This condo filled the bill completely. It is indeed 'a home away from home'. The furnishings were more than comfortable and with bathrooms upstairs and down, more than convenient. The beach (almost all to yourself as described) is 5 minute walk; the sand is sparkling clean and seems to run on forever. There's a charcoal bar-b-que outside for a couple of condos to use, the deck has THE best breezes, since when others were panting from the heat, we were actually cold at times. There are 3 TVs, 2 with DVD players, one with VHS tape and an ample supply of videos. There's WiFi if your REALLY REALLY can't get away from it all completely for a week. The pass to Hunting Island State Park is great; don't miss it. Restaurants (make sure to stop at Boondock's), food markets and churches are a FAST 14 miles away on Lady's Island. Beaufort is also not to be missed from waterfront walk to horse drawn tour, all the charm one would expect from a southern city. All in all, this is a great place and though ours have moved on, don't forget the kids. The unit is kid friendly, and the beach & fishing wonderful. Last but not least, any minor problems you might encounter are quickly tended to and corrected. Lots of other places ignore you once they have your money. Not here; you call they come, just as it should be. A great place to know is there at the end of a long journey. Hope to make the trip again; it was worth it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Barbara and Dan (Danville, Indiana)
    • Date of stay 07/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/09
    We had a great time at the condo. It was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the DVDs and the wonderful view of the marshes and the beach. We really enjoyed the local restaurants, especially, Boondoogles (905 Bay Street), which had excellent soups and shrimp specials. If you want really fresh seafood Gay's Fish Market was just down the street. It had wonderful scallops. Be sure to take advantage of the pass to Hunter's Island provided by the owner. We went on a number of nature talks and walks. The kids liked best the sea kayaking where you can see dolphins up close. We also went crabbing and explored the historical sites in the area. We were very pleased with everything.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    Great time. Beautiful location. Perfect for young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • THE place at journey's end

    THE place at journey's end

    • Guest 2drchevy (Rhinebeck, NY USA)
    • Date of stay 07/18/09
    • Review Submitted 10/08/09
    The condo was exactly as described in the ad. Given we were on a 900 mile road trip through the Carolinas, visiting friends and relatives who had moved from the frigid north, we needed a place to rest after our excursions. This condo filled the bill completely. It is indeed 'a home away from home'. The furnishings were more than comfortable and with bathrooms upstairs and down, more than convenient. The beach (almost all to yourself as described) is 5 minute walk; the sand is sparkling clean and seems to run on forever. There's a charcoal barbecue outside for a couple of condos to use, the deck has THE best breezes since, when others were panting from the heat, we were actually cold at times. There are 3 TVs, 2 with DVD players, one with VHS tape and an ample supply of videos. There's WfFi if your REALLY REALLY can't get away from it all completely for a week. The pass to Hunting Island State Park is great; don't miss it. Restaurants (make sure to stop at Boondock's), food markets and churches are a FAST 14miles away on Lady's Island. Beaufort is also not to be missed from waterfront walk to horse drawn tour, all the charm one would expect from a southern city. All in all, this is a great place and though ours have moved on, don't forget the kids. The unit is kid friendly, and the beach & fishing wonderful. Last but not least, any minor problems you might encounter are quickly tended to and corrected. Lots of other places ignore you once they have your money. Not here; you call they come, just as it should be. A great place to know is there at the end of a long journey. Hope to make the trip again; it was worth it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Harbor Island

    Harbor Island

    • Guest A.C.S. (Ypsilanti, MI)
    • Date of stay 06/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/07/09
    We just returned from Harbor Island last night and my two daughters are already planning the next trip. We really enjoyed the condo. It was very clean and convenient to Beaufort, Savannah, Charleston, and Hilton Head. We spent time every day at the beach and in the pool. Both pools were beautiful and very close to the condo. We loved Hunting Island. What an amazing State Park. The views from the deck are amazing. I will miss having my morning coffee out there every day. Harbor Island is really a great place to go on vacation. I highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/10/09
    • Review Submitted 06/10/09
    We returned from South Carolina last week. We had a nice time on Harbor Island and found the condo to be spacious and accommodating, especially since the weather kept us indoors more than we had planned. We loved the scenery and the views! We also loved the natural environment and saw a deer and raccoons near the balcony. Since we made it a point to take the boardwalk that had a sign about alligators, we did see a small alligator which added to the excitement of the vacation. All in all, a great place to visit! My only criticisms would be the weather!!! (Although we heard how strange it was to have the weather we did). Overall, we appreciated the opportunity to stay at the island, the beach was great and we would love to return again. I am assuming you found the condo in order upon our departure and that we can expect our deposit in the mail soon. Thanks again, Julie Skodak

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Janis Whisenant (Columbia, SC )
    • Date of stay 05/27/09
    • Review Submitted 05/27/09
    The view from the condo is spectacular with the marsh and the ocean in background. The condo is very clean and comfortable with all amenities for an enjoyable stay. The beach is easily accessed and perfect for children. We will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest debbie (etowah,nc)
    • Date of stay 04/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/19/09
    the condo was nice and clean. even though there were tornado watches - had a great time-- the thunder and lightning was awesome!- would( and have) recommended this condo to several friends- thank you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/01/09
    • Review Submitted 04/14/09
    the condo turn out to be a perfect place for the family. Nice location free state park pass and only 15-20 min from beaufort. Great spot to take the family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/11/09
    My sister was visiting from St. Louis and this was the perfect getaway for us to spend together. We loved the condo, nicely kept and what a tranquil view of the marsh and ocean. We also truly enjoyed Hunting Island (thanks for the pass). We went there almost every day. We loved downtown Beaufort with the reastaurants and great shopping. My husband was so jealous when he saw the pictures I brought home. We are definetly going to stay here again. And Peter, you were a joy to talk to. Thanks.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/01/08
    • Review Submitted 11/11/08
    The rental was comfortable. The view was great. We had a nice beach to walk on. We were close to Beaufort and to Hunting Island State Park. One of the really nice things was, there were a lot of places selling fresh seafood nearby. If you didn't want to cook your own, there were plenty of good restaurants.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/25/08
    Thank you for allowing us to make your Harbor Island home our home for a week recently. The condo was comfortable and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Hunting Island pass was a nice bonus, as we always go a time or two while we are visiting. Great collection of DVD's, video tapes and books...thanks for providing these! We went on a river safari with Capt. Bill for the first time this trip and really had a nice time. He let our son drive the boat and we saw LOTS of dolphins. We saw a gator at harbor island for the first time ever and a mother and baby dolphin were stranded on the beach while we were there. Luckily, someone found them quickly and they were kept wet until they could be led back out into the water. From the balcony we also saw a black snake several different days going from one bush to another. He must have made himself a home outside your unit. Thanks again for a nice week away from the daily grind. Wish I were back there now.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/10/08
    WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY IN THE CONDO! IT WAS A NICE SHORT WALK TO THE BEACH AND BOTH POOLS. WE REALLY ENJOYED THE FREE PASS TO HUNTING ISLAND STATE PARK. THAT SAVED US A LOT OF MONEY BECAUSE WE ALWAYS GO THERE A FEW DAYS A WEEK ANYWAY BECAUSE MY KIDS LIKE THE BIGGER WAVES AT THE BEACH THERE. I ALSO APPRECIATE YOU GIVING US $10.00 BACK TOWARD OUR PURCHASES AT GAYS. WE VISIT THERE MANY TIMES DURING THE WEEK FOR SHRIMP TO EAT WHILE WE ARE THERE AND ALWAYS BRING SOME HOME TO FREEZE. THANK YOU ALSO FOR TELLING US ABOUT THE DRIVE IN MOVIE. IT WAS THE FIRST TIME ANY OF US HAD BEEN TO A DRIVE IN MOVIE AND WE REALLY ENJOYED THAT! THE CONDO WAS NICE AND CLEAN AND WE HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED TO ENJOY OUR WEEK THERE. I LOOK FORWARD TO VISITING AGAIN NEXT YEAR! THANK YOU FOR RENTING THE PLACE TO US. WE HAVE BEEN GOING TO HARBOR ISLAND FOR 8 YEARS NOW AND I REALLY ENJOYED DEALING WITH YOU- YOU ARE A VERY NICE PERSON TO DEAL WITH! THANK YOU! THE SMITH FAMILY

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/01/08
    • Review Submitted 08/03/08
    Our family had a wonderful time during our vacation in Harbor Island, SC. Thank you for the use of the condo and for the recommendations you made about the area. The condo was very clean upon arrival. Both the handyman and Barbara, the owner of the cleaning service, visited us while we were getting settled in. I mentioned to Mark that the cabinet above the washing machine does not stay closed, and that the toilet in the twin bedroom's bath has a constant dripping sound. Other than those minor things, we found everything in working order. As Peter and I discussed over the phone, my kids had requested blueberry muffins on vacation. There was not a muffin pan in the condo, so I purchased one as you had instructed and will send you the receipt for reimbursement. We also made a meal from the Gay Fish Co.'s wonderful offerings one evening and I will send that receipt as well. We appreciate the $10 toward the purchse. Our boys, ages 7 and 5, had a great time at this beach. We loved the soft sand, the shallowness and gentleness of the surf, and all of the hermit crabs. We spent most of our mornings at the beach, then usually played some tennis and hit the pool in the afternoon. We visited Hunting Island State Park (thank you for the pass!) and climbed to the top of the lighthouse, then spent the day splashing in the waves there. We went to the Hwy. 21 drive-in theater to see Space Chimips and the kids got a big kick out of lying in the back of the SUV surrounded by pillows, munching on popcorn, sipping lemonade, and watching a movie outside! All-in-all, a really nice vacation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next