Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Rhododendrons at the Ridgetop Retreat cabin

April Special-$135/nt.! Awesome View! New River Access! Well-Maintained Cabin! [#17372] | View Property

Boone
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 5)
$135 - $150/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (95)

Sort by:
  • Awesome place to stay!

    Awesome place to stay!

    • Guest Sharon & Abe
    • Date of stay 02/21/14
    • Review Submitted 03/05/14
    The cabin and scenery are awesome. We stayed at Ridgetop several times and its a beautiful cabin and the view of the mountains are breathtaking. Everything you need is available to use, cabin is exceptionally clean and the location is quite and enjoyable. It is conventiently located near Boone and Blowing Rock and there is a lot of places to hike and walk. A wonderful place to stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great getaway

    A great getaway

    • Guest Megan M.
    • Date of stay 12/31/13
    • Review Submitted 01/15/14
    We had a wonderful time relaxing in this cabin. We were able to see it snow twice and cozied up to the fireplace. Would rent again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • cabin

    cabin

    • Guest VICKI W.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/14/14
    THIS CABIN WAS GREAT THE DIRECTIONS GIVEN WERE EXCELLENT THE PACKET THAT WAS EMAILED CONTAINED EVERYTHING WE NEEDED TO KNOW. THE CABIN ITSELF WAS VERY CLEAN AND HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED. IT WAS VERY COZY THE KIDS LOVED THE FIREPLACE AND I LOVED THE VIEW. MY DOG LOVED IT ALSO BECAUSE OF THE FENCED IN BACK YARD. WE LOVED IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE. WOULD LET PEOPLE KNOW THAT IT IS A DRIVE BACK TO TOWN WHICH WE DID NOT MIND AT ALL. WE APPRECIATE THE USE OF THE CABIN AND WILL BE BACK. THANKYOU

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ridgetop Retreat in Fleetwood Falls NC

    Ridgetop Retreat in Fleetwood Falls NC

    • Guest Egan (Fayetteville, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/09/13
    I stayed at Ridgetop Retreat the last weekend of September 2013. The cabin was absolutely perfect, inside and out. Furnished appropriately, clean, comfortable. The long-range view is spectacular. The weather was perfect the entire weekend and ideal for using the deck and yard. Fleetwood Falls is a wonderful community for walking and enjoying nature. When you are at Ridgetop Retreat you can enjoy a wonderful respite from the noise, traffic and distractions of city living. West Jefferson is a short and pleasant drive away for food, supplies, or other needs. However, once you are at Ridgetop Retreat, you wish that you didn't have to leave. I look forward to visiting again in the near future and thank the owners for their willingness to share such a wonderful treasure with others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest Bella (Bahama)
    • Date of stay 08/14/13
    • Review Submitted 08/20/13
    We had a great time at Ridgetop Retreat. The view was amazing, the home was well furnished and clean, and our dog loved the fenced in area. It was probably the most relaxed and comfortable we have ever been in a vacation rental. West Jefferson was just a short (and pretty) ride with a lot of neat shops and a park that is dog-friendly! We are thankful the Ridgetop Retreat owners are willing to share their mountain home and hope to return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Couple

    Couple

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/03/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    My husband and I went for our 27th wedding anniversary. My husband graduated from ASU in Boone so he likes to visit this area. The cabin was spotless and the best asset was the wonderful dek on the back with a beautiful view. It was very quiet and peaceful. Unfortunately it rained a lot when we were there so w hope to o back with better weather do we can enjoy the deck more. Would definitely return again. Great visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Met the Muse!

    Met the Muse!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/20/13
    • Review Submitted 06/25/13
    The pictures of the cabin just don't do it justice... it was breath-taking, serene, and so clean. I loved walking through the front door and being greated by the long-range views. The morning fog in the valley was straight from a Bob Ross painting. Especially appreciated the fire pit, the gas fire place, and the grill.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Week

    Wonderful Week

    • Guest Gary and Hope (Salisbury, N. C.)
    • Date of stay 06/02/13
    • Review Submitted 06/10/13
    I only gave the cabin 5 stars because I couldn't get the computer to cheat and give it 7 or 8 stars. The view off the back deck is wonderful. The cabin had everything you could imagine, from DVD's to books to board games. It was clean with plenty of towels. We were there on a cool summer week and the gas logs still had the pilot burning so we burned them a couple of nights. We had greens one night and had not thought to get vinegar which we love on them and guess what, there was vinegar in the cabin. We cannot say enough nice about the cabin. The rocking chairs on the back deck got a lot of use and it is at the end of the road so we walked a lot and almost never saw a car as we walked. I'm not sure what I would call the view, but it's more awesome than the word awesome describes.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Views

    Amazing Views

    • Guest summergirl (Raleigh)
    • Date of stay 05/24/13
    • Review Submitted 06/05/13
    Was the best vacation. The house was very clean and inviting. It was very relaxing and so great that we could bring our dog. The owners make everything really easy and supply you with all the information you need. We will definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rainy Day Getaway

    Rainy Day Getaway

    • Guest Sally (Midlothian, VA, 23112, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/13
    • Review Submitted 05/28/13
    This cabin was very much as described - cozy, clean and welcoming, with beautiful mountain views and a lovely fenced yard for a dog to safely play. It was a great fit for us, a couple celebrating 24 years together, and our beloved dog. We stayed one week during "May Monsoon Season" and had a magical time. Surrounded by and above the clouds, we witnessed rain and sun together and alternately moving through the valleys below, offering ever changing amazing views of the surrounding mountain peaks and slopes with the herds of cows and the Christmas Tree Farm and the deep shadows of hidden places. We were more than content to stay put on the mountain top by the fireside, venturing forth between showers to stroll or hike on the beautiful paths and trails surrounding us on all sides. Thanks to the exceedingly helpful supplemental information the owners provided, we were well prepared to get the most out of our visit, rain or shine, which is exactly what we did! We would definitely recommend this cabin to a couple as a romantic getaway any time of year, or to a small family in season when the weather is likely to be more clear and conducive to hiking and sightseeing and other energetic outdoor activities! (Footnote: I just noted a discrepancy in this form's header. The property listing shows "2 baths" but it was a full bath down and only a half bath in loft.)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your very favorable review! Thanks also for catching the mistake in the listing header. We have requested that VRBO make the correction and they have done so.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect for Families

    Perfect for Families

    • Guest The Deatons (Charlotte, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/25/13
    We really enjoyed our stay. The area was beautiful and quiet and we were lucky enough to have some snow (almost got snowed in). It was nice to be able to bring our lab along and our girls enjoyed having the loft to themselves. Thanks so much.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A dad and four 13 year old girls

    A dad and four 13 year old girls

    • Guest Pat Campana (North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 02/22/13
    • Review Submitted 03/05/13
    I had four 13 year old girls and they had a blast as I did. It was a little tough to get there at night and with fog but in the morning the view was spectacular. The cabin was perfect fit for all of us. What a great time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic mountain getaway

    Fantastic mountain getaway

    • Guest Angela (Gainesville, FL)
    • Date of stay 02/14/13
    • Review Submitted 02/20/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed the cabin and everything it had to offer. The views on the way up the mountain were gorgeous and the cabin itself was adorable with lovely views. We really enjoyed our weekend. We spent a lot of time in and around Boone, which was about 25 minutes from the cabin. The cabin was great, comfortable and perfect to bring our dog. It was the first time he had been in snow and he had the best time, the fenced in backyard was perfect for him! The last night we were there we spent grilling dinner and cuddling up by the fireplace. Very romantic for valentine's weekend and an absolutely perfect getaway. For anyone who wants advice on restaurants, we went to two places we absolutely loved....Proper and Vidalia, both in downtown Boone and both delicious!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful experience; very relaxing

    Wonderful experience; very relaxing

    • Guest Marc & Molly (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 01/11/13
    • Review Submitted 01/18/13
    This charming cabin, in a beautiful neighborhood, completely met our expectations if not exceeded it. It is ideal for couples (or young families) who desire a relaxing weekend/week away with some hiking along the way. The cabin is close to an entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway with great trails within short driving distances. We were very impressed how well the cabin is equipped with utensils, paper-ware, you name it.... Interacting with the owners was also very personal; as if we were staying at a friend's place. We highly recommend this cabin and will definitely return.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect relaxing getaway!!

    Perfect relaxing getaway!!

    • Guest offfbrand (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/07/12
    • Review Submitted 12/19/12
    The wife and I were looking for a nice quiet spot to escape for our anniversary and loved the Ridgetop Retreat. Perfect distance from everything! Hidden away on top of a quiet hill, yet close enough to 2 cities to find what we needed.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Family Holiday

    Family Holiday

    • Guest MJ (Dania, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/19/12
    • Review Submitted 12/02/12
    We rented Ridgetop Retreat for the Thanksgiving holiday and what a wonderful treat it was! The cabin is spectacular. Watching the sun rise over the valley and mountains each morning was breathtaking. The cabin is extremely well appointed and we lacked for nothing. The owners are a pleasure to work with and sent out an information packet in advance of our stay that covered absolutely everything, so we were very confident in the workings of the cabin. We would highly recommend the Ridgetop Retreat and look forward to our next stay there!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • the cabin was amazing, and wonderfully kept

    the cabin was amazing, and wonderfully kept

    • Guest former ASU alumni Mom (Upstate SC)
    • Date of stay 09/22/12
    • Review Submitted 09/27/12
    It was a girls weekend with myself and two sisters in law. My son had attended ASU 15 years ago, so it was a nice weekend to reflect on his growth since that time. But the ladies were able to enjoy the Daniel Boone restaruant and Mast General. It was a bit breezy to attempt the fire pit and building of a fire for the marshmallows. We enjoyed the view from the balcony and the chance to bond without the rest of the family influence.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Nice Cabin

    Nice Cabin

    • Guest North Georgia (Cumming, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 09/21/12
    • Review Submitted 10/01/12
    Very cozy cabin with a nice deck out back and a great view overlooking a valley with a Christmas Tree farm. Really enjoyed sitting out back in the morning, crisp morning air with a cup of coffee. Nice den area with a loft upstairs and main bedroom down stairs. Very clean and easy access. We will defiantly visit again. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Review of 17372

    Review of 17372

    • Guest Helen and Richard (New bern, nc/new York)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/17/12
    Beautiful cabin..fenced yard for pet..beautiful decor in home..kitchen great with all necessities..beautiful view..be ready for interesting drive to cabin but once you do it no problem..great food 4miles down railroad grade rd..again have I said beautiful enough..highly recommend..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing setting

    Relaxing setting

    • Guest Middle age Honeymooners! (NC)
    • Date of stay 08/20/12
    • Review Submitted 09/02/12
    Renters were very helpful and clear about rental procedures. The house has AWESOME views and is very quiet although neighbors are close by. The house is very well maintained and clean. You could tell the owners put forth much effort to provide a comfortable and cozy environment. We enjoyed the newly expanded deck with the amazing mountain views. The development is an older one and therefore quiet and peaceful. It is a great place to unwind and recover!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • MH

    MH

    • Guest Mick (Salisbury,NC)
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/27/12
    Great mountain cabin. Wonderful views

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Relaxing at Ridge Tpo

    Relaxing at Ridge Tpo

    • Guest NRCCDan (York, SC)
    • Date of stay 07/27/12
    • Review Submitted 08/10/12
    This was our second stay at Ridge Top and though we enjoyed the first, staying here for a week was so perfect I can't begin to express how much we enjoyed ourselves. Every morning and through out the day, sitting on the back porch was like looking at a live painting. This week at Ridge Top will list as one of our all time best vacations. The house just makes you feel at home in every way. Hiking was close by, Kyaking just down the road now near Todd, good food in West Jefferson, we love this place and would encourage all to give this beautiful place a try! We look forward to spending some weekends there real soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PD

    PD

    • Guest PD (Durham NC)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/15/12
    This cabin is really cozy and has excellent views!! Everything was clean and kitchen had good supply of basic things. They also have good collection of kid's books and toys, our son enjoyed it. We really liked walking on the trails in the neighborhood with our dog. This place is secluded at the same time not too far from places like Boone, Blowing Rock and West Jefferson. We went to Todd for Tubing in the New River which is very closeby. We would definitely rent this place again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Diana

    Diana

    • Guest Diana (tennessee)
    • Date of stay 06/16/12
    • Review Submitted 07/11/12
    Stayed at the cabin for 42nd anniversary it was great would definetly recommend. Rik was great and answered all our questions. Great Directions

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful property

    Wonderful property

    • Guest Chris (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 06/16/12
    My husband and I just got back from a lovely week at Ridgetop Retreat! The photos do not do it justice! The views are even more spectacular in person. We've rented numerous homes over the years and this is by far the cleanest and most well maintained property we've stayed in. We spent time in Todd, Boone, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountain, rented kayaks from The River Girl, roasted hot dogs and made s'mores in the fire pit, and enjoyed evenings at the cabin watching the sun set. We would definitely recommend this property to others!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • RESTFUL Ridgetop Retreat!

    RESTFUL Ridgetop Retreat!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    My family of 5 wnjoyed the beautiful views while staying at this well maintained cabin. Ridgetop Retreat is very clean and extremely comfortable! The property owner handled the rental transaction very professionally. Highly recommended

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome Cabin!

    Awesome Cabin!

    • Guest Amanda (Hope Mills, NC )
    • Date of stay 03/29/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    Thank you so much for opening yourl home to us! We had such a great time and the cabin was perfect for our little family. We loved the views and fishing in the lake and river nearby. The accomadations were great and we look forward to coming back in the future!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Muncie, IN

    Muncie, IN

    • Guest Dan (Muncie, IN)
    • Date of stay 03/25/12
    • Review Submitted 03/29/12
    The property was everything it was advertised to be. Very clean, and well appointed with all of the little touches (books, videos, CD's, firewood, towels and linens) and many more little extras. Also, the owners provided a great guide sheet to all of the operating features of the cabin which was very useful. A great place for 2 or a small family of 4.. Really enjoyed the peacefulness of the cabin, even though it is in a development. It served as a great base for our outdoor activities (hiking, biking and climbing). The views from the deck were outstanding. And Boone was a great outlet for shopping.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for the nice review, Dan & Dina! Glad you had a great time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Peaceful and Perfect

    Absolutely Peaceful and Perfect

    • Guest Birseany (Concord, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/15/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    It was my birthday and I wanted to enjoy the weekend with my boyfriend. We wanted a romantic cabin that would be secluded with a beautiful view but close enough to gas stations and stores. And we got what we wanted. The perfect word to describe the inside of the cabin is: cozy. It is big enough for a family of four (comfortably) and great for couples. The master bedroom and the living room had a wonderful sunset view of the mountains. We also took a few photos of the serene morning fog wisping through the hills. The living room was connected to the outside balcony which was perfect! Everything was clean and working when we arrived; never had any trouble. We enjoyed the grill and especially enjoyed eating our meals on the picnic listening to nature and enjoying the view. The owners responded swiftly to our questions and were very reasonable. They answered all of our questions-every detail that we wanted they had an answer. They were very genuine and pleasant folks. We drove just a few minutes down the mountain into town to get some extra things we needed and hiked along one of the trails nearby to enjoy the mini waterfall. We visited the Blue Ridge Mountains on our way back home, which was a close drive from the cabin, and OMG - beautiful experience! We'd love to come back and stay again. Thank you so much Rick and Mary for a wonderful experience ;)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome weekend!!!

    Awesome weekend!!!

    • Guest clm (Weddington, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/17/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    We had the best time at the cabin. Everything was so cozy and comfortable the only bad part is we didn't get to stay longer. We went skiing and ice skating and made smores in the fire pit out back. Our boys said it was their favorite vacation and we were only there two days. We cannot wait to go back again soon!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you had a great time and hope you can stay with us again (remember, return guests get a 10% discount)!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Place to Relax

    Perfect Place to Relax

    • Guest Asher (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 02/09/12
    • Review Submitted 02/12/12
    We came to Boone to celebrate my husband's birthday with our chocolate lab. The cabin was lovely and the pictures didn't do it justice. It was so cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting in front of the fireplace with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The roads around the cabin were wonderful for walking and provided many amazing views as well. The area was quiet and relaxing, which is just what we came for. The fenced backyard was perfect for our dog to run around in, and we enjoyed making a fire outside in the firepit to sit and enjoy. The cabin was spotless and there were plenty of cooking utensils to make our own food. We brought everything to the cabin for meals as the drive down the hill and to a grocery is a bit away.

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ridgetop Retreat

    Ridgetop Retreat

    • Guest Sharon (Kannapolis NC)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/05/12
    Awesome place. Cozy cabin with beautiful scenery to wake up and see, cabin was clean and we had everything we needed. Lots of great placed in ares to eat and shop Owners provided cabin info and were great to provide details. We love this place!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing getaway

    Relaxing getaway

    • Guest Marie (United States)
    • Date of stay 01/14/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    I really enjoyed the weekend I spent at this cabin. It snowed the night we arrived and had fun sledding down the street the following morning. Because of the snow and lack of 4 wheel drive we didn't want to risk exploring the surrounding area by car. That was not a problem though because the home was so comfortable and we had plenty of good food to eat. There were also a number of games, puzzles, and books to entertain us. The one thing it didn't have was a coffee grinder, which happened to be the only thing I forgot! There was some instant coffee in the cupboard though, so thank you. I would definitely recommend this for a couple, a couple and a friend, or a couple with a small child or two. The master bed was extremely comfortable and the home contained all the cookwear and utensils we needed. We also enjoyed having the firepit in the back yard and plenty of firewood. The view was beautiful from the back porch and yard. Thanks for allowing us to have a wonderful weekend in the mountains!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace!

    Peace!

    • Guest NRCCDan (York, SC)
    • Date of stay 11/20/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    What we really needed was a couple of days away to just unwind and this place was the ticket! We felt at home the minute we walked in, looking off the front deck was spectacular, walking the dog on the loop was so quiet and relaxing. My wife and I can't thank you enough for letting us share your home, we loved every minute. The fenced are was great for the dog, never had to worry about her wondering off, thanks!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Be ready...

    Be ready...

    • Guest Amber and Jimmy (So Pines, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    ...to be amazed at the awesomeness that this cabin provides. We decided to get away for a quick weekend to the mountains from the east coast of North Carolina and needed a place to stay. After searching for a few hours while drinking some beer, we stumbled upon the Ridgetop Retreat. The pictures on the website only do the cabin half of the justice they deserve. The view is amazing right from the deck. The fire pit only further enhances a nice sunset, which we enjoyed over a few more beers. The cabin, as you'll notice by the other reviews, has been enjoyed by many of which many have left some sort of trinket or item they needed while staying behind for others to enjoy. The place is set up like a house that you're borrowing from your best friend as it feels comfortable and welcomes you; not typical of a rental cabin. We can't say enough good things about the place that haven't already been said. Only recommendation is to grab food (dinner or breakfast) prior to your arrival because it's hard to tear yourself away from the place in order to drive back down the mountain for something to eat. Thanks and look forward to getting up there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great fall weekend get-away!

    Great fall weekend get-away!

    • Guest Bob (Marietta, GA )
    • Date of stay 10/28/11
    • Review Submitted 11/17/11
    Very nice, clean cozy cabin. Wonderful view, and great area for long walks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Fall Get-Away ! ! !

    Wonderful Fall Get-Away ! ! !

    • Guest Kathy (Mooresville, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/23/11
    • Review Submitted 11/09/11
    The cabin was exactly what we needed ! ! ! We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to spend time together, leave the "real world" behind, and enjoy the outdoors. We very much enjoyed out stay. The view from the deck was breath-taking and the colors outstanding. The cabin was easy to get to, and within driving distance of the Boone/Blowing Rock/West Jefferson/Jefferson areas which offered many fun and exciting activities for during the day. Being able to return to the cabin for a restful afternoon/evening was just what we needed to refocus our lives. We look forward to visiting the cabin again real soon. We would strongly recommend for a romantic get-away adventure.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ridgetop Retreat

    Ridgetop Retreat

    • Guest Jack n Linda (Richmond)
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 09/21/11
    We had one of our most memorable vacations at this wonderful hideaway! The cabin is spectacular inside and out. The view from the deck is amazing - we loved having our morning coffee and glass of wine in the evening there. The cabin has ALL the comforts of home - full kitchen with all the necessary items, towels nice and fluffy, dreamy bed, and plenty of hot water in the shower. All of the sights to see (Grandfather Mtn, etc) are close by, but cabin is removed enough that it is peaceful and serene there. We thank the owners SO MUCH for being pet friendly. Our dogs enjoyed the vacation as much as we did! We recommend this property very highly!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Could have stayed a month

    Could have stayed a month

    • Guest Kat (Charlotte, NC )
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/16/11
    This was the perfect long weekend destination for 4 adults (one couple and two close friends), and 2 adult (i.e. calm) dogs. The house is immaculate and the location is just amazing. We rode our bikes from the house to nearby Todd, drove into Boone for a festival on the ASU campus and dinner out, hiked the Parkway, and spent a lot of time exploring the community itself and just relaxing and grilling out on the back deck, enjoying the view. The dogs loved the backyard and long walks. Our trip was over Labor Day weekend, but we did not notice any crowds. There are other homes nearby, but the cabin retains a secluded feel. My only complaint is that we did not plan to stay the entire week (a month would have been even better). My only advice is to bring groceries, once you get here you won't want to leave. Thanks so much and we hope to be back soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Recent stay in cabin

    Recent stay in cabin

    • Guest gman (New Waterford, OH)
    • Date of stay 07/25/11
    • Review Submitted 08/04/11
    A very nice cabin. The view is awesome. A lot of little things that one might need are in the cabin for the renters use. It really makes you feel at home. I would recommend this one to anyone.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Jim & Karie from Charlotte NC

    Jim & Karie from Charlotte NC

    • Guest Jim (Charlotte)
    • Date of stay 06/03/11
    • Review Submitted 06/09/11
    We had a great weekend! The cabin is very nice and very well furnished! If you want to spend a quiet time away here is the place to go! We will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Views and a great Cabin

    Beautiful Views and a great Cabin

    • Guest Dustin J (Brunswick)
    • Date of stay 04/29/11
    • Review Submitted 06/13/11
    My father, brother and myself stayed at Rick's cabin while we were in town to attend Merlefest. The views from the back porch were amazing The cabin is very clean and well stocked with all the amenities you would need including dishes. The beds were very comfortable. Rick was great at answering any questions I had. I highly recommend this cabin to anyone that is in this area. And we drove the Blue Ridge Parkway back towards home!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful, Cozy Mountain Cabin

    Wonderful, Cozy Mountain Cabin

    • Guest Debbie (Lexington, NC)
    • Date of stay 04/18/11
    • Review Submitted 04/28/11
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cozy mountain cabin. The cabin has a wonderful view of the mountains. It is well decorated, well equipped and very clean. It provided a great, relaxing mountain getaway.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • "Cabin Sweet Cabin"

    "Cabin Sweet Cabin"

    • Guest Blessed Ones (Raleigh, NC)
    • Date of stay 03/26/11
    • Review Submitted 04/06/11
    CLEANLINESS- EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN EVERYTHING WORKED PERFECTLY IF YOU DON'T MIND, MAYBE, SOME MORE GAMES My wife and I really enjoyed spending our anniversary at your cabin. It was everything we could have asked for. God has awesomely blessed you two to be able to share your blessings with others, and we truly appreciate. This may be our getaway spot every year to spend our anniversary. Thank you and God Bless. Sincerely, The Alstons

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • amazing!

    amazing!

    • Guest heather (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 02/18/11
    • Review Submitted 02/25/11
    The view was just amazing! Everything we needed in the cabin, which meant a lot less packing. Very clean! Loved the fire pit and the balcony. Nothing bad to say about this one!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wow!

    Wow!

    • Guest Dawn (Sunbright, TN)
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/09/11
    This was the first time we had rented a cabin anywhere... I was very pleased with this one! Rick and Mary have done everything possible to make you feel comfortable and welcomed... there was a even a griddle in the cabin to make pancakes! Thank you so much for a pet-friendly, family-friendly rental in such a beautiful location!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • January 2012

    January 2012

    • Guest Lisa (Osteen Florida)
    • Date of stay 01/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay at your beautiful cabin. For us it was a last minute decision to make this stop on our way back to Florida. It was so peaceful and relaxing I can assure you that we will be back for a longer stay.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WOW What a view

    WOW What a view

    • Guest squeeky (RR, North Carolina)
    • Date of stay 12/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/08/10
    This cabin is located in a nice area with the best views. I have stayed there twice now and look forward to the next trip to stay at this very nice cozy and clean cabin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice review and thanks for your loyalty to our cabin. Glad you had another good visit and hope you can stay with us again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Enjoyed our stay!

    Enjoyed our stay!

    • Guest Ken & Barb (Maryville, TN)
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/02/10
    We really enjoyed our stay in your cabin! The cabin was very clean, it was stocked well with items we needed (even had cannisters of flour and sugar!). We loved the gas log fireplace and had it running every afternoon/evening. Our dog enjoyed the fireplace too, and laid on his bed right in front of the hearth for most of the visit. The proximity to the Parkway, Boone and Blowing Rock was excellent. Just a short drive over. Our son loved the loft bedroom, and enjoyed the movie selections. Before the cold front moved in, we enjoyed the 1 mile walk in the neighborhood, and loved the views, both from the cabin and on the walk. The sofa was very comfy, and that's where I spent much of my time, with a book. Thanks again for sharing the cabin, we hope to return soon!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Glad you had a good visit and that you found everything you needed. Thanks also for submitting a review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful view; attention to detail

    Beautiful view; attention to detail

    • Guest Rich (Huntersville, NC)
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 12/02/10
    The view from this home is fantastic. It would be great any time of year. The owners have paid attention to every detail. Every time we need something it was there - usually in the first place we looked. The cabin is nicely furnished, exceptionally clean and well equipped. Although this was our first stay in this cabin, we know the area from previous stays in other cabins. But we still found the notes on things to do to be very helpful. The only downside is, with just one bedroom, a person sleeping in the loft will wake up whenever anyone else is up and around.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks for your nice review, Rich. I just want to clarify for future renters that the cabin has two bedrooms. There is a master bedroom downstairs that is completely enclosed. The second bedroom is a loft that has two sleeping areas, one with a queen bed and the second with a twin bed. As with all lofts, there are walls on 3 sides, with the 4th side open to the lower living area. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next