Secret Falls Cottage - Waterfall!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:Yes
Cashiers house description
Secret Falls Cottage is furnished and decorated to match the ambience of the mountains high above Cashiers, NC: natural, yet with the modern conveniences of home. You'll find a unique blend of rustic furniture, antiques, and traditional pieces enhancing the structure of the cottage itself, characterized by lots of wood and windows. With over 2100 square feet, three huge bedrooms and three full bathrooms, the cottage can easily accommodate two families or three couples!
A large covered porch is perfect for reading, relaxing, rocking, and sleeping to the soothing sounds of rushing water. Robinson Creek borders the three-acre grounds, and is great for wading, photography, or just quiet contemplation. The centerpiece of Secret Falls Cottage, of course, is a private 65-foot waterfall accessible by several pathways winding through lush rhododendron thickets. The pathway to the bottom of the falls is strenuous, but the path to the creek atop the falls is more moderate.
Play in the creek...soak in the hot tub...look out over the distant mountains from the huge covered porch...fix a snack or a meal in the fully-equipped kitchen...watch the snow fall...or get rested for the next day while listening to the roaring waterfall from your bedroom window.
Easy day trips include boating on nearby Lake Glenville, horseback riding at several venues, whitewater rafting, canoeing, antiquing, and more! It is only minutes from a major trailhead of Panthertown, one of the area's best-kept secrets!
Visiting Secret Falls Cottage is a great way to experience a true mountain vacation getaway, high up the mountain, accessed by winding roads in a more remote, peaceful neighborhood. You can imagine how the early settlers felt each morning as they awoke to the sounds of rushing water and the singing of birds - NOT the sound of traffic. Hiking down to the base of the waterfall on the steep path is an adventure that will send you back in time before everything was covered in pavement.
NOTE: Home is high in mountains and involves some travel on winding gravel roads.
Keywords: House,waterfall,trout stream,private,mountains
- 2200 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9, Beds for 7-9
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Coffee Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Washing Machine
- Linens Provided
- Gas Fireplace
- Clothes Dryer
- Air Conditioning
- Towels Provided
- Iron & Board
- Ping Pong Table
- Satellite / Cable
- Video Library
- CD Player
- DVD Player
Pool & Spa
- Hot Tub
- Jetted Tub
- Lanai / Gazebo:
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Water Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Whitewater Rafting
- Water Tubing
- Rock Climbing
- Fly Fishing
- Mountain Climbing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Scenic Drives
- Wildlife Viewing
- Bird Watching
- Medical Services
- Massage Therapist
- Sight Seeing
- Horseback Riding
ReviewsWrite a review
On August 3, 2013, we had made plans to stay at Secret Falls Cottage for the week. Upon arriving at the cottage, we were very disappointed. * The floors were dirty to the point that you could feel the dirt under your shoes. They were also sticky and there were dead bugs in the middle of the floor. * There were dirty dishes in the sink, a Mountain Dew can on the counter, and the microwave oven was dirty. * The toilets were “stained” and had not been cleaned. * There was hair in the shower drain and in the Jacuzzi. There was also a towel/blanket hanging on the porch railing. The beds were made, but with everything else so dirty how could we be sure the bedding had been cleaned? One of the main reasons why we picked Secret Falls cottage was because we were to have access to the falls, but that wasn't the case at all. My son and husband had gone down to the waterfall. There was a wooden ladder that had been broken and could not be used. My 19 year old son, who is athletic and use to climbing, had almost fell 8 ft. trying to get back up to the house. We found the place unsanitary and unsafe and we could not stay there. We called Vanessa (the owner) right away and she said she would give us a full refund, which we had not received. She did not send us a full refund. She didn’t feel that we should get the extra money because she had lost money. We had also lost money due to having to change our plans by finding a place to stay at the last minute. We had also brought some food (meat) with us that ended up going to waste. We were over 500 miles away from home and had driven 12 hours to get there, which is not new to us. The last three years, we had traveled to the Cashiers area and stayed at a different cabin, which had always been a pleasant trip. In all the years we had gone to North Carolina, this is truly the worst accommodations we had come across. I would not recommend Secret Falls Cottage to anyone, not even my worst enemies.
- Guest Donna (Hanover, PA)
- Date of stay 08/03/13
- Review Submitted 10/08/13
Owner response: Unfortunately, Ms. W had a few valid complaints - the living area floors were not up to par, a can was in the kitchen, and the ladder on the waterfall path was broken. Due to a family emergency, the woman who cleaned was unable to quite finish just prior to Ms. W's arrival; I was not told until that evening. Ms. W does not mention that, once notified, I IMMEDIATELY offered to travel 3 1/2 hours to personally correct the situation, and to refund a portion of their rental for the inconvenience. My offer was refused. Ms. W's daughter informed me they had car trouble twice on the trip and "this was the last straw" so her mother "just wanted to leave." I warned Ms. W's daughter (Ms. W never spoke to me) that they would have a hard time finding local accommodations if they left after 7 pm on a weekend at peak season, so they should stay put FOR FREE until I got there to check the situation out. Once again, my offer was refused. Later that evening, the cleaning lady told me beds were made, refrigerator and stove cleaned, bathrooms cleaned (yes, my water does stain the bowls a little but they are clean), entire master suite cleaned, downstairs carpets had been vacuumed, trash taken off, porch swept, etc. She was in progress of vacuuming the downstairs hardwoods when the emergency occurred, and confessed to probably leaving the soda can on the counter in her haste. When I arrived at my home, I was amazed to confirm that the house required only about an hour of my time to be restored to tip-top shape: certainly NOT the disaster described to me! Ms. W also failed to mention that her large party stayed at my home for several hours before reporting the problems to me. If the house was uninhabitable, how did some of the group have time to go hiking before I was notified of the issues? Regarding the wooden ladder to the falls, I did find that a portion of the bank had broken off in a storm and broke the ladder. My roommate Christina (age 64) and I (age 55) repaired the damage in about 2 hours the next morning, so I cannot fathom that a young man could not navigate the climb, as we did it carrying lumber and tools. Nonetheless, I immediately issued a full refund of the rental and security deposit, as promised. I did not refund the cleaning fee. Since the party stayed several hours before contacting me, they used the toilets, tracked in their own dirt, etc. and my policy is that the house must be cleaned again after each use. I am sorry for the trouble.
Relaxing and Private Getaway
Relaxing and Private Getaway
Secret Falls Cottage made for an awesome spring break. Five of my friends and I went up to the cabin for a week to get away from our high paced, over connected college lives. With no internet or cellphone service (we all have AT&T) at the cabin all you could do was explore the beautiful surroundings and spend time together. We were greeted with the roaring sound of the waterfall down below. The climb down, notice I didn't say stroll, is fun and you can either look at it as an inconvenience or a very rewarding challenge. Once at the bottom the sound and sight overwhelmed us and we all felt like kids again, immediately striking off into the woods to explore. Well worth your time. The majority of our time was spent around meals together. It was very enjoyable to cook together in the spacious and fully stocked kitchen and then sit down at the table for a meal. This cabin promotes a warm atmosphere that put everyone at ease and made for a relaxing stay. Will definitely return one day and refer to everyone. Cabin is well maintained and clean. Quality appliances in the fully stocked kitchen. Gas fire place was much appreciated after a day enjoying the outdoors. Location is very private. The whole cabin is spacious. The owner rocks, she was very helpful and gracious. Spent a day at Panthertown to hike and mountain bike. Easily two days worth of fun. Awesome waterfalls everywhere! The city center of Cashiers is a neat little place to explore.
- Guest Trevor (Auburn, AL)
- Date of stay 03/11/13
- Review Submitted 03/22/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
Amazing Thanksgiving Weekend
Amazing Thanksgiving Weekend
We had an incredible Thanksgiving holiday at Secret Falls Cottage. The cabin and surrounding area far exceeded our expectations (the pictures don't do it justice). We were hoping to get away to somewhere rustic and secluded and we were not disappointed. The views are amazing and we really felt like we were the only people on the mountain. The cabin is beautifully done and very comfortable ... we especially enjoyed the gas fireplace. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare a full Thanksgiving meal. It was also very nice to get into the hot tub during the cold nights and look up at the stars. The hike down to the falls was a little bit of a challenge with our 4 and 7 year old, but it was well worth it once we got to the bottom, and they had a blast ... the falls are amazing. My little girl said it all ... "this is what makes memories", and she couldn't be more right. We will definitely be back ... thanks again Vanessa.
- Guest Wes (Chapel Hill, NC)
- Date of stay 11/21/12
- Review Submitted 11/29/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway.
Secret Falls Cottage
Secret Falls Cottage
beautiful cottage, great location, amazing view; just the perfect spot for a quiet, relaxing getaway.
- Guest Bob (Kansas City, MO)
- Date of stay 10/17/12
- Review Submitted 10/24/12
Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway.
Your own private waterfall
Your own private waterfall
Loved our stay at Secret Falls Cottage! Met my husband's brother and his wife for a long weekend in the mountains. We wanted somewhere not too far from Cashiers, but very private. We were not disappointed. Secret Falls is about 1/2 hour drive from the center of Cashiers. One of the only downfalls I can say about the location is that the drive on the gravel road limits the number of times you would want to travel into town. Not a problem for us, as we were only interested in visiting and hiking. Hiking in the area is beautiful. We saw three waterfalls while hiking nearby. The view from the house is excellent. There seems to be different opinions regarding the 'treacherous' path down to the waterfall that is on the property. I will say it is not easy...however, it is so worth it!!! The waterfall is gorgeous and there is a lovely pool at the bottom. Our day on Saturday was spent playing in the water and on the rocks below the falls. The biggest bonus? It was totally private!!! The photos of the house and description of the listing is right on. We were not disappointed. Property was clean and well maintained. Not sure the cleaning crew is really looking for the cobwebs high up, but that didn't affect our weekend. We are already looking forward to returning to Cashiers and Secret Falls. It is a small piece of heaven. Thanks Vanessa!
- Guest mitch511 (Atlanta GA)
- Date of stay 07/26/12
- Review Submitted 08/01/12
Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
This place was so magical. I had a blast. The waterfall was breathtaking & there was a lot of privacy @this cabin. Id def recommend it 2 others :)
- Guest april (florida)
- Date of stay 06/19/12
- Review Submitted 06/30/12
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
We had a relaxing time at Secret Falls Cottage! The weather was cool and crisp! What a relief from the Columbia, SC heat. Loved the hike down to the falls, and appreciated how you used the ropes to help navigate - you were able to kept the integrity of the property this way!
- Guest Julee (Columbia, SC)
- Date of stay 07/18/11
- Review Submitted 11/07/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
WONDERFUL Family Getaway!
WONDERFUL Family Getaway!
We spent three wonderful nights at the Secret Fall Cottage and loved every minute of it! Our 13yr old and 10yr old scrambled up and down to the waterfall mulitple times while my husband and I relaxed on the deck. The cabin is very secluded and completely quiet....other than the sound of the waterfall nearby. The hike up and down is difficult but WELL WORTH it. We traveled into Cashiers and enjoyed THE BEST hot chocolate and chai tea at Tommy's and also hiked a great trail in Panthertown. Thanks for a great mini-vacation! We will be back!
- Guest Julie (Statesboro, GA)
- Date of stay 10/17/11
- Review Submitted 10/25/11
Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
Just What We Were Looking For!
Just What We Were Looking For!
Great house! It is far from the main road, but worth it! My wife, and my 3 kids (age 1,4,9) thought the house was perfect. Comfortable with every amenity! The hike to the waterfall is CHALLENGING, but was what we loved most! It was an adventure! The pictures don't convey how wonderful the house is, and how wonderful the location is! The sunrise and sunset from the back porch was the background for many photos!
- Guest Eddie Mosher (Vero Beach)
- Date of stay 07/22/11
- Review Submitted 08/02/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
Our family rented this cabin. It is in a lovely location and provides peace and serenity, however there are a few things you must know before going to this location. First, the cabin is WAY up on the mountain...very far away from town, restaurants, etc. Make sure you get all your groceries, supplies etc before travelling to the cabin, because it is not just a quick jaunt down to town. When we arrived, the cabin had been previously occupied and had not been cleaned. The lady who rents this relies on her cleaning person to come and clean and if she can't get up the mountain, then it doesn't get cleaned. So, before the vacation even began, I was cleaning and changing sheets. After we had the place cleaned up, it was a pretty nice evening and my kids and husband and I wanted to use the hot-tub, well, when we went down to use it, it was filthy. Apparently the pool man could not get there to clean it either. And, let's clarify the hike down to the private waterfall...it is not a hike...... it is a steep plunging hill that you have to hold onto ropes, trees whatever to get down to it...and once at the bottom, after you complete "hike"...you can't even get to the waterfall without going through mud, trees, leaves etc...what a mess!!! So, there was no splashing in the pool below the waterfall...or above the waterfall for that matter!! It's virtually impossible to get to. the waterfall unless you have major hiking gear. My kids were crying because they fell mulitple times trying to get down the hill. Very misleading information. After I complained, the owner did refund me some of my $$...but I probably wouldn't go again...pretty pricey vacation to clean, not use the hottub and not be able to enjoy all that the area has to offer in regards to quaint shops, other attainable waterfalls etc.
- Guest Melissa (Charleston, SC)
- Date of stay 09/21/09
- Review Submitted 03/27/11
Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: In both in the listing and in the rental info packet, I spell out all pertinent info about the elevation, driving time, proximity to town, etc.; therefore, none of these factors should come as a surprise. It is true that some folks should not rent Secret Falls Cottage - it is in a remote, peaceful location and is intended to provide a true mountain experience - to get away from the fast pace and noise of our regular lifestyles, enjoy the views, wildlife, numerous waterfalls within moderate walking distance, and more. It is NOT meant to be a jump-off point for shopping trips. I understand some folks are looking for more of a resort feel - with paved paths and stairs everywhere; however, my family and friends have always enjoyed hiking and camping so prefer a more natural experience. As to the waterfall hike...my 75 year old mother routinely ventures down to the creek and falls. She grew up in the mountains, so recognizes the fact that mountain hikes to special spots can be strenuous and slippery, particularly after rainfall. Again, Secret Falls Cottage was built in a site, hand-picked after many years of deliberation, that provides cool weather, rest, relaxation, and communion with nature, and I have left the property as undisturbed as possible to maintain the character of what people enjoyed in the mountains a long time ago. I would also like to point out that I do my very best (living 3+ hours away) to keep my home and property clean and in good repair for my guests. There has been a glitch 3-4 times in 11 years with the cleaning or with a power outage - however, I have always attempted to make it right with my guests.
$ 400/2 Night Weekend + $90 cleaning fee. $ 550/3 Night Weekend + $90 cleaning fee. $1200/Week + $100 cleaning fee. Extra Nights $175/Night. Minimum 3-Night Stay Around Holidays/Holiday Weekends.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
GAS LOG FIREPLACE
SPACIOUS DINING ROOM
Lower cascade of waterfall
PALATIAL MASTER BATH WITH CORNER TILE SHOWER AND WHIRLPOOL TUB
TWIN BEDS IN ONE BEDROOM
Beneath the Falls...
WADE IN THE CREEK!
Winter Wonderland Waterfall
FULLY EQUIPPED KITCHEN
MASTER BEDROOM WITH HANDMADE HEADBOARD
QUEEN BEDS IN TWO BEDROOMS
Huge Covered Deck
MISTY MORNING VIEW
Over 65 feet of cascading water...
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Sunday, September 15, 2013
3 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.