Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Beautiful Beach is only two minute walk from the house !

Charming, Cozy Cottage Within Steps to Great Food, Coffee & the Beach [#175923] | View Property

Laguna Beach
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$325 - $495/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • January memories

    January memories

    • Guest PJ K.
    • Date of stay 01/19/14
    • Review Submitted 02/09/14
    The cottage itself was an adventure for our three generation visit to Laguna Beach! The boys were delighted with their own bedroom and loft, and loved the sunroom where they read and played games. The adults enjoyed the amenities, cleanliness, and the rustic charm of the cottage, plus the proximity and easy access to the beach. Being centrally located and having rented a vehicle, we were able to easily take day trips to Disney, the San Diego Zoo, Lego Land, and Catalina. Morning hikes, great photo opportunities, tours of galleries and shops, plus exceptionally warm January weather to enjoy surf and sand, were added delights. We would definately recommend this property to friends and family members of any age or interest.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Charming cottage, nice location

    Charming cottage, nice location

    • Guest LYNN Eve K.
    • Date of stay 01/02/14
    • Review Submitted 01/11/14
    We had a mostly pleasant stay at this cottage, which is situated in the heart of Laguna Beach and just a minute's walk to great shops, restaurants and the beach. The cottage is rustic, but well-maintained, and very comfortable for four guests. Unfortunately, the home lacks central heat, so you have to rely on space heaters and the fireplace. The home is well shaded, so during our January visit, the home never really warmed up. I would imagine it would be great at other times of the year, however. Our disappointment was in dealing with the homeowner as we've never had these kind of issues with other VRBO rentals. Several weeks after booking our four-night stay, we were contacted that she accidentally double-booked our first night's stay, so we agreed to shorten our visit. Then upon arrival after a long day of travel, we had been instructed to locate the key in a lockbox at the back door. We arrived at night and lacked a flashlight, so that was a challenge. When we finally found the lockbox, it was empty. We called and emailed the owner, leaving messages and hoping to hear back shortly. We finally discovered the keys under the doormat at the front door. In the home's welcome binder, there were different instructions in the book - one page saying to leave the keys under the front mat, another page saying to leave them under the back mat. The owner was out of the country and returned our email the next day, profusely apologizing, but didn't answer my question about where to leave the keys when we left, so we followed her original instruction of using the lock box. I hope the next folks renting the place didn't experience the problems we did. The owner provided the phone number of a local assistant to call if we had any more problems, but unfortunately the number was a disconnected number, so we weren't able to get assistance on our last night when a fuse blew and the lights went out in part of the house. My advice for future renters would be to find out upfront who the local contact is should there be problems with the house. Overall, we found the house nicely situated and comfortable.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect cottage

    Perfect cottage

    • Guest Leanne E. (Grand forks, B.C.)
    • Date of stay 06/19/13
    • Review Submitted 06/29/13
    We stayed in this lovely cottage for 4 days! It has everything you need to feel at home!! We took advantage of the out door dining area!! And loved the cozy feel!! Walked to great shops and enjoyed the garden shop across the street! Would definitely stay again!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Truly Charming and Cozy!

    Truly Charming and Cozy!

    • Guest Sara W.
    • Date of stay 04/04/13
    • Review Submitted 04/18/13
    This place is wonderful. My girlfriends and I came for a weekend away from kids and responsibility and even though it didn't get a degree above 70, we had a wonderful time away. Here are some highlights. Carmen will let you know about some great little places to eat and grab coffee. Coffee Klasch is awesome. Andree's Patisserie is fabulous (just don't get coffee here;) The house is nicely stocked. There are some beach towels which was very helpful. There are not washcloths so you may want to bring those. None of us brought our kids but we did notice there are a lot of things for children, booster chair, books, beach toys, etc. I have no complaints, and will only say this one thing. The pull out bed is really uncomfortable. We ended up putting some of the cushions on the floor and sleeping on the couch and that was fine. We are all ex backpacking guides so as long as there's an inch or so of cushioning we're good to go. We'll still come back in a heartbeat. The kitchen had almost every thing we needed. We didn't get some staples and made due without but if you're there for a while you'll want to buy salt and pepper, oil, sugar, etc. You'll LOVE the location and the beaches. We'll be back, hopefully next year!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A charming place!

    A charming place!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/27/13
    • Review Submitted 03/31/13
    My daughter and I loved the place. So many fun places to play hide and seek...while mama sits next to the gorgeous fire place. I loved the big sun room - brought it so much light - and so close to the ocean! no car needed! I loved Carmen - she was great to work with!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Taking a vacation while visiting family

    Taking a vacation while visiting family

    • Guest Daniella W.
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 03/01/13
    We had a great time at this adorable beach cottage. Rustic but comfortable, the house was perfect for us and our 19 month old. Across the street from the beach and walking distance to downtown Laguna shops and restaurants. Great coffee shops nearby too. My family lives close by and we were able to host 10 people for a backyard BBQ brunch. The house had everything, looked like the photos, and was in good shape. The owner was accommodating and accessible via email. The only drawbacks were the portable heaters (it was Feb and the 3 heaters didn't adequately warm the house except for the bedrooms which got too hot) and the main bathroom tub/shower was clogged so you had to shower in 4 inches of water). Also, the outdoor laundry doors were unstable and kept falling on my head when I was operating the washing machine. Otherwise, we had a wonderful time here and I would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a great location, comfortable accommodations and an authentic Southern California vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming, great location - Best Thanksgiving ever!

    Charming, great location - Best Thanksgiving ever!

    • Guest Yasemin (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 11/22/12
    • Review Submitted 12/06/12
    My husband, 10-month-old daughter, parents and I stayed in this charming cottage for 5 days over Thanksgiving. The location was fantastic. It was a mere few steps to restaurants, shops, activities and most importantly, the beautiful beach! The owner was very helpful in preparing us for our stay and responsive throughout to our various questions about the area, etc. We were even able to cook a Thanksgiving feast for 6, complete with all the usual fixins in the amply equipped kitchen! The living spaces had plenty of seating to accommodate our family and guests and the beds were very comfortable. There is parking for two cars but most days we hung around or left on foot! We can't wait to come back when its a bit warmer to use the charming private outdoor patio. Thanks so much for a lovely stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cottage in Laguna

    Cottage in Laguna

    • Guest Harmony A.
    • Date of stay 10/23/12
    • Review Submitted 10/28/12
    What a beautiful relaxing cottage! Our 23 month old had a wonderful time playing on the back patio. We were able to walk to many restaurants, a grocery store (Ralph's) and visit the Main beach.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A little disappointing

    A little disappointing

    • Guest Nell (Holland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 10/15/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    This property needs work. The towel bars are missing in the bathrooms, the faucet in the sink swivels when you try to use it, the outdoor lighting did not work, and the brick patio in back has collapsed and is downright dangerous. Overall the house does not appear to be well cared for. The owner's local assistant was very nice - tried to get the lighting fixed for us, and brought over candles when that was not possible. The owner was a bit less cooperative - seemed almost offended that I would want to have a number to call in case of emergency. The location was good for us, the wireless internet worked well, and it generally met our needs, but I would not choose to stay there again.

    Owner response: It is always good to get reviews like these! We are always doing all we can to maintain the cottage and when guests let us know where we can improve, it's always a plus. In this case however, we found ourselves a bit confused. The cottage is in fact charming and in an amazing location. Which is why our regular guests love staying there. I'm not sure how towel racks are such an important issue, although they are in fact there. Perhaps this guests didn't see them. The outdoor lighting works just fine, it just requires for it to be plugged in. Our house manager was happy to bring this guest some candles in order for them to be pleased, even though she could have just informed them that the lights just required plugging in. There are in fact some bricks loose in the back patio due to the heavy rains that we received in Laguna Beach but we are in the process of fixing them and making them pretty again!! :-) The one point that we wanted to address is that we were annoyed in any way regarding this guests' questions regarding an emergency. By no means were we annoyed or offended, but more surprised. This was a question that we have never received not only since this is a very safe city and normally folks know what to do in case of an emergency. We are very sorry if in ay way we made this guest feel uncomfortable. That said, we feel very happy that the guests that have stayed at this cottage have found it to be warm and cozy and convenient. We look forward to continue improving the cottage for future guests !

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Relaxing, peaceful, convenient cottage!

    Relaxing, peaceful, convenient cottage!

    • Guest Kendall (Half Moon Bay)
    • Date of stay 10/05/12
    • Review Submitted 10/12/12
    What's not to love? Charming, cozy cottage just blocks from great food, coffee and the beach. We loved the patio in back - just felt like we were miles away from everything - but right in the heart of Laguna. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect family getaway

    Perfect family getaway

    • Guest Jennifer169 (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    We live in Scottsdale, AZ and stayed in this charming cottage for a week with our three children (10, 8 and 8) to escape Arizona temps. This location cannot be beat! Very short walking distance to beach, breakfast cafe, restaurants and grocery. Beach is beautiful and not crowded in the middle of July! Kids loved the surf and sand. Backyard patio was perfect for nightly grilling and kitchen was fully equipped for the task. We had a minor appliance problem and the owners resolved the problem within hours! Try the House of Big Fish for great views and dinner. We will definitely come back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Property and great location

    Great Property and great location

    • Guest Greentree (Toronto, ON)
    • Date of stay 05/19/12
    • Review Submitted 05/23/12
    We had a great long weekend at this property. We had a bit of an issue with the plumbing but Carmen promptly responded and had the problem solved within a few hours. The location is great - steps to restaurants, shops and, most importantly, the beach. We will happily come back to this property if back in Laguna. Our 2 year old loved the cottage and the beach.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful

    wonderful

    • Guest pauline f.
    • Date of stay 04/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/28/12
    A hassle free rental. Property was clean and well equipped and very homely. It was in a great location and in walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. The owner advised us of some good eateries and we sampled a few, we had memorable drinks/canapes on the hotel rooftop just a block from the house. Laguna itself is lovely - beautiful town - lots of galleries and super beaches. If you're visiting to do other attractions outside Laguna like Disneyland it was a very easy drive to the park.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sweet Cottage

    Sweet Cottage

    • Guest tarsha f.
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Sweet house, blocks from the beach. Would be lovely in Summer, but freezing in winter/Spring - limited direct sunlight into the house. Lovely gas fire, but you'll need to keep it on all day. Kitchen has the bones of a great thing - fab big gas cooker, but it's badly equipped. Crap knives, nothing but a pot to boil water in, limited serving bowls etc. If you're going to eat out lots, these things won't matter - it's a very sweet cottage.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Thank you so much for your review! As you might have noticed, the kitchen is brand new and it had so many drawers. There are many pots and pans available everywhere. They just have to be found throughout the kitchen. The knifes comment made us laugh! I'm not sure that I would call the knives c**p, but I would admit they weren't "gourmet kitchen" knives. However, since your review, we have now updated the knifes to be top notch!! Either way, I am happy that you enjoyed yourself and we agree wholeheartedly that this is a very sweet cottage! See you when you come back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Quick escape

    Quick escape

    • Guest B and B by the Sea (Las Vegas)
    • Date of stay 03/25/12
    • Review Submitted 04/11/12
    Needed an escape to the ocean. Booked a few days in advance. The pictures don't do any justice. We had the most wonderful time. The beach is so close. We will be back whenever we get the chance!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much! Loved having you at the cottage! Looking forward to seeing you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic place

    Fantastic place

    • Guest Blaine W. (Berwyn, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 01/24/12
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    Our stay here was fantastic. Our family of 5 had more than enough room, we through a get together for friends in the back, did moonlight and morning walks on the beach and generally had a blast. thanks for everything.

    Owner response: So great when guests take advantage of the surroundings and the beauty of Laguna Beach!! Thank you so much for coming and staying at the cottage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • SURFING FAMILY

    SURFING FAMILY

    • Guest surfingfamily (Houston, TX)
    • Date of stay 09/05/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    This was our second year to return to this fabulous cottage. We are a surfing family with two small children and we LOVE this home!!! I wish we could live here. Laguna is a dream for a surfing or SUP families. The beach is so close, and that is a must for carting around little ones beach toys, surf boards, and beach gear. The ownes are so kind by leaving out chairs, umbrella, and toys that guests can use. The Cottage: It is perfect for making great meals for your family. The kitchen has everything you need and there is a ton of countertop space for cooking. We loved how much room there was for our kids to spread out and play. This is such a retreat for families! I wanted to mention that I was super impressed at how clean and visually appealing the cottage is on the interior. Environments effect how you feel and I believe that is why our family had the best vacation here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Happy Cottager!

    Happy Cottager!

    • Guest happy cottager (encino, california usa)
    • Date of stay 08/24/11
    • Review Submitted 09/01/11
    My Sister and her husband rented this lovely home for a quick "end of summer getaway", my 19 year old son and I were lucky enough to join them! We spent our days exploring Laguna and this home was a fantastic spot to rest our tired tootsies! Across the street from our cottage was a delightful and unique nursery which is a definite must see. We took advantage of the free shuttles which were a cinch to get to, we were able to avoid parking at Pageant of The Masters and enjoyed the shuttle ride back. FYI- bring a sweater... The brick covered backyard was surrounded by shady ficus trees and offered a lovely place to enjoy coffee in the morning. Time was in short supply for us so we just fantasized about lighting the BBQ and enjoying a meal outdoors under the lighted patio trees. The kitchen was well supplied and a joy to use. We stocked the full size fridge with breakfast goodies from Ralph's grocery store, which was a quick drive away but we could easily have taken the shuttle to and from. The Parisian bakery tiles made this kitchen even more enchanting...I wondered if I could bake a crusty baguette! My son and I shared the bedroom with twin beds and we found the beds to be very comfortable. There was a loft overhead which would be great fun for kids. We spent one evening enjoying Pizza from Gina's (delish), in front of the big screen TV. It was very cozy. There is a fireplace too but it was just too hot to fire up during the time we were there. The house is peppered with books for reading and coffee table books filled with pictures for viewing. Lovely paintings grace the walls and remind you that you're in an artsy community. There is also an enclosed front porch which my son found perfect for working out in. I however enjoyed sitting in the swing. The pictures on the website are very nice but do not do justice. This cottage home was even more beautiful and larger than I imagined. Very comfortable and filled with nice touches. I would recommend this home for almost anyone. It could be a challenge for someone in a wheelchair/walker. I would definitely consider renting this home again! Fantastic time! Thank you!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Blissfully fun time at Laguna Beach Cottage

    Blissfully fun time at Laguna Beach Cottage

    • Guest konagirl (Encino, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/28/11
    We just wanted to let you know what a wonderful time we had in Laguna Beach with your lovely cottage as our launching pad! It was such a charming home and we really enjoyed our time together there. We kayaked, took relaxing walks on the beach and enjoyed all the great art offerings in Laguna Beach. The fun art-filled nursery across the street was so fanciful, too! And we also took your suggestion and went for drinks at Casa del Camino…and we’re so glad that we did! We hope to return someday soon….

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wish we could have stayed longer

    Wish we could have stayed longer

    • Guest asilp (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 03/25/11
    • Review Submitted 04/02/11
    The cottage was very charming, only one block from the beach, close to many restaurants and shops and Carmen was an exceptional hostess. Thanks so much; we will be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Perfect Girls' Weekend

    A Perfect Girls' Weekend

    • Guest Modern Girl Friday (Tempe, AZ)
    • Date of stay 04/23/10
    • Review Submitted 05/08/10
    Me, my 2 sisters, and my 2 friends had the best Girls' Weekend at your cottage! We enjoyed cooking a couple meals in that adorable kitchen! Our walks to Sapphire, Koffee Klatch, and French75 rounded out a great couple days of food. The beach was a convenient walk and we couldn't help but think it was our own private paradise! Your cottage was beyond what we were expecting and appreciated all the little details and comfort. We all hope that we can come back and enjoy a vacation like that again and for a longer period of time.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/7

  • Thank you.

    Thank you.

    • Guest mad and G (Minnetonka, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/21/10
    • Review Submitted 04/02/10
    The beautiful cottage was perfectly clean (thank you), charming, and certainly exceeded our expectations. Our family was very cozy and comfortable staying in this lovely cottage. We especially enjoyed the short walks to the Pacific ocean, and to the sweet breakfast spots, boutiques and restaurants on South Coast Highway. We are big fans of the Laguna Beach lifestyle and culture. We have friends in Southern California, with whom we have recommended your place for when they have out of town guests. We were very comfortable here, and iIt was perfect for us. We hope to rent with you again. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/8



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]