Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Section of great room

Peaceful, Private, Spacious Home Close to Gorgeous Zoni Beach [#175951ha] | View Property

Culebra
House - 3,000 sq ft 3 Bedrooms - each with private bath (sleeps 6)
$250
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful Gem

    Wonderful Gem

    • Guest Emily A.
    • Date of stay 01/25/14
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    Bonnie's house is inviting, spacious, clean, airy and well-maintained. It was a perfect set-up for my husband, 2 little ones (ages 2 and 4) and my parents who stayed in the downstairs bedroom. There's a huge and well-equipped kitchen that's great for cooking. We also really enjoyed the lovely wrap-around deck that features stunning views and a cool breeze. There's an incredible little farm next door run by a very nice woman. Sometimes the animals were up a bit early but that was okay by us because it was honestly the most sophisticated, beautiful little farm I have ever seen and a pleasure to be near. We were invited to visit one day and got to see the owner's amazing animals and she also gave us homemade milk, butter and ice cream which were incredibly delicious. Overall, the house is very comfortable and lovely as well as just a 3 minute (or 15 minute walk) away from stunning Zoni beach. The only tiny minus of the place was that washing machine wasn't working when we were there but I believe that was just a temporary issue. We sincerely enjoyed our visit and would love to return someday. A very special place indeed.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Lovely, clean, breezy, spacious and quiet

    Lovely, clean, breezy, spacious and quiet

    • Guest Julia G.
    • Date of stay 12/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/07/14
    We had a wonderful time at Bonnie's abode. The layout was perfect for a group of six (3 couples) with the rooms being removed from the dining/hang out areas and each with it's own private bathroom. The deck looking out over beautiful green pastures was covered in flowers and the starfruit tree growing along side of it provided delicious tropical treats. A car is necessary as the house is removed from town and beaches but the remoteness of the location was part of the get away appeal. We will most definitely visit again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful week for first vacation with grandchild

    wonderful week for first vacation with grandchild

    • Guest Patty (Cambridge)
    • Date of stay 04/21/13
    • Review Submitted 05/30/13
    we - my daughter and her husband and my other daughter and my husband and I had such a wonderful time at Bonnie and Sam's house. We were with my 2 1/2 year old grandson - and this house was perfect for us - the beach, which was totally deserted, was moments away and the house itself, with its lovely wraparound porch, was big enough for us all to feel we could be private when we wanted to be private and the common area large enough so that when public we did not feel crowded.We left Boston right after the Marathon incidents and this place was healing as well. I echo the above comments about the helpful information in the house. And I also agree a car is necessary. Thank you, Bonnie and Sam for a wonderful experience and we're coming back.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Enjoying Nature

    Enjoying Nature

    • Guest Barbara D.
    • Date of stay 05/02/12
    • Review Submitted 07/10/12
    Culebra is a wonderful island to get away from everyday activities and just enjoy the hills, beach and gorgeous vistas. Sam and Bonnie's home was perfect for our family of 6. We spent mornings and late evenings on the spacious deck overlooking the natural landscape and the days on Zoni Beach, about 3/4 mile from the house. Coolers, beach chairs and towels were supplied, which I especially liked. Take snorkeling gear so you can enjoy the reefs a short swim out from the beach. You will need a car just to go back and forth to town, about 5 miles away, for groceries and meals out. The kitchen is well equipped, so we grilled out and cooked in too. There is tv and internet, if you feel the need. Never having been to Culebra I had so many questions just planning our trip. I really appreciated Bonnie's quick responses to me via email and phone. Sam came by the house a couple of times during the week just to be sure all was well. I was very pleased with our choice of home, having the opportunity to see two other rentals that other family members were renting. It was a perfect week to spend time with family in beautiful surroundings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Beautiful, Light, and Spacious home

    Beautiful, Light, and Spacious home

    • Guest Randa b.
    • Date of stay 04/08/12
    • Review Submitted 04/29/12
    This wonderfully,spacious, airy, home was perfect for our family vacation. Each room had a lovely lay out with terrific views of the surrounding hills. The home is just minutes from the amazing Zoni beach that offers water perfect for swimming and snorkeling. Bonnie the owner was so helpful every step of the way from questions about the home, places to eat, or island activities. The porch wraps 3/4's around the house, terrific for a meal, watching sunsets, or relaxing. The kitchen was well equipped terrific for cooking meals and open to the great room for conversation. I would highly recommend this beautiful home to friends. The island itself is spectacular whether eating in town, swimming with sea turtles, or investigating one of the many beaches available on Culebra.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • vacation in paradise!

    vacation in paradise!

    • Guest cecilia k.
    • Date of stay 03/24/12
    • Review Submitted 04/21/12
    Great house, great location, in the middle of the countryside but not far from the beach. The house is comfortable, spacious, pretty. Kitchen is very well equipped. We are coming back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Culebra Plantation House!

    Culebra Plantation House!

    • Guest dawn g.
    • Date of stay 03/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/26/12
    We are already talking about returning to Culebra next year. We loved staying at Bonnie and Sam’s house. The home is spacious and inviting. It doesn’t feel like a rental house, but more like a lived in home. We especially liked the large veranda. We spent many lazy mornings relaxing on the nice wicker chaise lounges. The farmer’s market on Friday morning is not to be missed. Once we had all the wonderful produce in hand, we enjoyed cooking in the fully equipped kitchen. The proximity to Zoni beach is a plus. If you feel like a good walk it is doable. By car it is just a couple of minutes. Bonnie and Sam were never intrusive but very helpful if asked questions regarding restaurants or anything else about the island.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Beautiful views, comfortable living!

    Beautiful views, comfortable living!

    • Guest Ann M.
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    We have stayed on Culebra before and love the island, but our stay at Bonnie's house, put the experience right at the top. It is a very comfortable home with beautiful views of the hills and ocean in the distance. Not only was the house comfortable, but very attractive with touches that made us feel right at home. Sitting out of the porch with our coffee in the mornings set the tone for the day. We had everything we needed for a great week. Very private! We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Perfect stay in paradise!

    Perfect stay in paradise!

    • Guest Daryl S.
    • Date of stay 10/19/11
    • Review Submitted 02/22/12
    A lovely home! It has a huge open kitchen that is perfect for making dinners and entertaining. The outside decks are very spacious. We spent our mornings on them drinking coffee and admiring the views. The house is close to playa Zoni and away from the noise of town. It was ideal for the calm, relaxing vacation we planned.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peaceful, Beautiful Home

    Peaceful, Beautiful Home

    • Guest TJVA (Charlottesville, VA)
    • Date of stay 01/07/11
    • Review Submitted 01/26/11
    The house was very spacious and well-maintained. The pictures don't do it justice. We had a wonderful time and Bonnie and Sam were very helpful and welcoming. You definitely need a car to stay on this side of the island, but it is worth it, especially if you really want to get away from it all.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We would like to thank our reviewers for such a generous and thoughtful review. Indeed a car is necessary to stay on the East end of the island, but no matter where you stay if you don't have a car you will miss many of the isolated beaches and beautiful vistas.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Unwind with the psalms

    Unwind with the psalms

    • Guest bryan T.
    • Date of stay 01/03/11
    • Review Submitted 09/26/11
    Beautiful property; wonderful renters. Bonnie was great - she even stocked the fridge with a few basic necessities so we were ready to relax when we dropped our bags. A vacation in Culebra, on this property, is chance to experience the slower paced island life. A jeep rental is recommended, even though you can walk to the nearest beach - zoni beach. If you're into cooking, the kitchen is great (and eating on the porch is a heavenly experience), if not, they are some must eat at restaurants in town; to wit, Mamacitas. If you enjoy a good coffee - cappuccino? - go to The Spot. Believe it or not, the pictures, as stunning as they look, do not do the property justice. I was with a group of 6 people. It was very comfortable. There's even a star fruit tree to pick some fresh munch for breakfast... Renting a sailing boat was a highlight for me. I would recommend that to anyone who enjoys a day on the ocean in the sun...fishing...snorkelling...swimming with turtles...beach hoping... Vacationing here was an incredible experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Best place to stay in Culebra!

    Best place to stay in Culebra!

    • Guest pauline (Brooklyn, New York)
    • Date of stay 11/06/10
    • Review Submitted 11/29/10
    I just came back from an amazing week in Culebra and would HIGHLY recommend staying here. The house is gorgeous, spacious, well maintained with lots of outdoor space and great views. Everything you could possibly want in a rental is here - full (and huge!) kitchen - there is even a BBQ on the wrap around porch, spacious bedrooms, big common areas - just a great place for some rest and relaxation. Its very close to Zoni beach which is absolutely gorgeous and pristine but also a quick drive into town and flamenco beach. The owners, Bonnie and Sam have lived for many years on the island an and are incredibly welcoming and kind. This rental is fantastic - I can't wait to come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • A great stay if you want to get away!

    A great stay if you want to get away!

    • Guest IslandBeagle (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 03/27/10
    • Review Submitted 04/06/10
    We just got back from a great stay on Culebra. The owners, Bonnie and Sam, live on the island and were very friendly and helpful. When I had a small snag with some of the paperwork needed for the rental Bonnie was extremely considerate and accommodating. This meant a lot to me. They were also a good source of referrals to local businesses. Their recommendation of Capt. Brad Stephens for water taxi service worked out really well! It's nice to have a local contact if this is your first or even your fourth trip to this fun and quirky little island! The house itself was as described. It was very secluded, well-equipped, and the photos don't do justice to the beautiful setting. Culebra is a natural paradise and this house sits in the thick of it. Bonnie even placed a little sign with my name on it at the bottom of the driveway. For one week it really felt like my own place on the island. Zoni beach is very close by. While it is definitely walkable, driving was easier and a much "cooler" option. The ride to town is relatively short but you will definitely need a rental car to get here. I would definitely stay at this property again. The only *slight* negative was the internet access (if you can call it that) Since it is satellite based, the speed is varied and much slower than what most people are used to. It was nice to have when we felt like posting a picture or two to make the friends back home feel jealous! You won't be able to do much work or heavy downloads on this connection though. That being said - if you need lightning-fast internet or plan to telework, then don't go to Culebra! Slow and relaxed is the theme and pace of the whole island (and that's why you should be there!) If you want to relax, recharge, and spread out in a large, well-appointed house that is close to the beach and on one of the best kept secrets in the Caribbean, then stay here!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • my lovely and peaceful vacation in lovely Culebra

    my lovely and peaceful vacation in lovely Culebra

    • Guest SeemaS (Cooperstown, NY, USA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/09
    • Review Submitted 11/12/09
    I spent 5 days in this property recently and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is spacious, very clean, cheerful and well-equipped. The wrap around porches and many screened windows and doors make you feel like you are in the tropics. The owners were very helpful and made sure I was comfortable. I walked to Zoni beach a couple of times, which is not very far at all. By car it is only 5 minutes, The beach is quite large and gorgeous! Everywhere else is a short ride: Flamenco beach, town with its restaurants, food stores, etc. I would definately go back again and there.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • A great home

    A great home

    • Guest tprototype (Columbus, Ohio, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/16/09
    • Review Submitted 05/26/09
    This house is very nice and well maintained. It was clean and accurately advertised. The proximity to Zoni beach, one of the most beautiful and unpopulated beaches in Culebra, is the best part. There is a neighbors house near by slightly separated by foliage but we never heard nor saw them. there is no ocean view but with the beach just 4 minutes away by car it was never a concern. The only fault i could find is that the laundry machine on the property was not made available to guests, requiring a trip into town to pay a local for 24 hour service, a bit of a logistical hastle. I highly recomend cosidering this house for your next Culebra stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/9



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]