Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Entrance - Casa Parota, 1/4 acre grounds

Casa Parota at La Puntilla - Sleeps 8 [#1783] | View Property

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
3+ Bedrooms and 3 Bathrooms, Large Private Pool. Gated Community of 19 homes.
$250 - $500/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (16)

Sort by:
  • We've used VRBO 20 times-Parota is the best!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    We've used VRBO 20 times-Parota is the best!

    • Guest Ryan
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/02/14
    Hi Amy; I just wanted to send you a quick email and let you know our stay at your property was excellent! Your place was a perfect spot for our family to spend our vacation. I would also like to say that I have used VRBO about 20 times in the past years and your place is probably one of the most organized and well-equipped places we've stayed at. The information book you have at the house was excellent and I don't think there was one thing we wished we had in the kitchen or the house for that matter. The vehicle was also a great option.Thanks again for letting us enjoy your place. We will definitely stay at your place again in the future. Cheers

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Next time we'll bring half the amount of clothes

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Next time we'll bring half the amount of clothes

    • Guest Dave and Betty Anne
    • Date of stay 01/18/14
    • Review Submitted 02/25/14
    First off we would like to Thank you, Amy, for all that you have done for us during our month-long vacation. Your attention to detail from booking the property, to our last day, made our stay very comfortable. This guarded, quiet, well-manicured property, is located walking distance along the ocean, to the charming town of La Cruz Huanacaxtle.As you enter the property you instantly appreciate the spacious cleanliness. The view from the deck is stunning. As you look past your private pool, you have a courtyard view followed by the ocean, with the Sierra Madres as a backdrop. We made use of the gas range and BBQ but very much enjoyed the 2 meals that Lupita prepared for us. Thank you Lupita! On our next visit we will bring half the amount of clothes thanks to the main floor laundry. We appreciated having air conditioning and ceiling fans in every room as it was hot for every one of the 28 days. The private pool was cleaned three times a week, and was used every day. A short walk along the beach takes you to the town of La Cruz where you will enjoy countless dining establishments and entertainment. Make sure you take in the Sunday Farmer's Market at the Marina from 10AM-2PM. Some of our favourites were Philo's (ribs), Roberto's (view), Oso's (oysters Rockefeller), and our very favourite was Frascati's, ask for Carlos and enjoy their fresh-made pasta (11 thin layered lasagne). We rented our vehicle from Gecko and highly recommend them, Adam and Lalo are great to deal with and they arrange for pick up and your return to the airport. We drove to Sayulita, Rincon de Guayabitos and love the beach at Destiladeras. We very much enjoyed Vallarta Adventures' "Rhythm of the Nights" at Las Caletas, the Ally Cat catamaran to the Marieta Islands, deep sea fishing and golf at the Flamingos. We look forward to returning as we felt very much at home at La Puntilla estates.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Week!

    Perfect Week!

    • Guest Steve & Georgette (Oceanside, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/19/13
    • Review Submitted 05/06/13
    What a perfect week. We arrived at the airport to the Expedition waiting for us in the parking lot. We hopped in and were on our way, arriving at the house within 25 minutes. it couldn't have been any simpler or more convenient! The house was incredibly well equipped. The owner, Amy, and property manager John, were very accommodating and John attended to our slight problem with the Internet (which was our error) immediately. He offered us excellent suggestions for events to attend and places to eat/visit during our stay. The house and furnishings were beautiful, clean and well maintained. We attended the Farmer's Market in La Cruz and it was wonderful, a great event to take advantage of if you are there at the right time. We loved the house and the complex of La Puntilla. Very peaceful and everyone could not have been more welcoming. The house is situated so it is about a 30-40 min drive into Old Vallarta and only 15 min from Sayulita. The beach was beautiful in front of the property and we rarely saw more than one or two persons on the beach, ever! We have stayed in several VRBOs in Vallarta and the surrounding towns and this is our favorite! Thank you Amy for sharing your beautiful home and to John for all your knowledge and help!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Vacation

    Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Leslie A.
    • Date of stay 02/03/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Parota. After our first visit in Feb 2011, we were slightly nervous to return to the same place for fear of ruining a perfect memory....however, it was perfect once again! We had three adults and three kids staying at Casa Parota for 11 days. We never ran out of things to do, either at the house, in La Cruz, or at the many different towns and beaches that are a short drive away. Our favourite beach was Destiladeras Beach - a beautiful, quiet beach where we often saw whales swimming by. The fish sold on the beach is delicious, and very reasonably priced. The Sunday market at La Cruz was a great opportunity to check out local artisans - I would recommend walking there along the beach as it's very popular and parking can get a bit hectic. The kids also enjoyed themselves as there was a live band and a kids area where they could try kids yoga and do crafts for free! The house is well set up for families, and having a pool is great for the kids to swim in the afternoons when the sun is a bit too hot at the beach. The staff were all professional and friendly, and took good care of the pool, gardens, and house. All in all, a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We hope to be able to return again one day soon!

    Manager response: THANK YOU for such a wonderful review. We are over the moon that you had a good time. We love to share the wonderfulness of Mexico with guests! Amy and Bill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect Again!

    Guest comment entered by manager

    Perfect Again!

    • Guest L. A., Vancouver BC Canada
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/21/13
    Hi Amy, Just wanted to drop you a note to let you know we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Parota. After having such a perfect first visit in Feb 2011, a part of us was nervous to return to the same place for fear of ruining a perfect memory....however, it was perfect once again! One of the surprises of the visit was the President of Mexico's visit to La Cruz, starting with the makeover blitz of La Cruz just ahead of his visit and the onslaught of what seemed like platoons of police/army into the area. We were actually pulled over by the army on our way back to the house from Destiladeras Beach and were pleasantly surprised by how polite and professional the officer was (despite my heart nearly pounding out of my chest when we got flagged over!). During our stay our 17 month old ran a fever for a couple of days, so we ended up taking him see Dr. Mauro Malja Santoyo in Bucerias. Turned out he had an infection, which luckily was able to be rapidly dealt with using antibiotics. Just before heading out to the airport we realized we needed something to keep the antibiotics cold during the trip back, so we ended up using one of your small red cooler lunch bags (there were two of them in the lower drawer to the left of the water cooler). We're more than happy to mail the bag back to you, either to Mexico or Portland. If you'd like us to, just let us know where you'd like it sent. Thank you for the privilege of letting us rent your home. We hope to be able to return again one day!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Another wonderful stay

    Another wonderful stay

    • Guest Ha T. (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/10/12
    This was my second stay at Casa Parota and it was another wonderful experience. Everything was smoothly organized by Amy, and Gabby (the property manager) was readily available for questions and advice. The house was as beautiful as I remembered. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you will need to cook and season your food. The pool was big and clean. The community was very safe and all the staff were super friendly. We took a stroll on the private beach every evening, and we adopted the neighborhood dog, Canelo, during our week stay :) If you're looking for a comfortable, quiet and relaxing getaway, this house is it!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: THANK YOU SO MUCH for your kind words! We hope you come back again. Bill and Amy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect!!!

    Perfect!!!

    • Guest Stacy H.
    • Date of stay 10/20/11
    • Review Submitted 02/07/12
    Casa Perota was absolutely perfect! We thouroughly enjoyes the house, beach, views, as well as the canine companionship of La Puntilla. We loved cooking inside and out, sleeping in and waking up early, taking day trips and lounging, all of the above. This vacation rental is perfect for families, adults, children, groups, which ever you prefer. A HUGE thanks to Amy et all for the fantastic rental and most enjoyable time we've had in a long time!

    Manager response: Thank you to Stacy and family. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return to Casa Parota. Canelo, our neighborhood dog, looks forward to your return, also!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • We LOVED it

    We LOVED it

    • Guest Ha T. (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 10/16/10
    If you're looking for peace, quiet, and comfort, this place is it. The house has everything you will need for your stay and the owners are so easy and pleasant to deal with. It's nice to get out of the hustle and bustle of PV proper and see "real parts" of PV. Some of my favorite highlights: - comfortable beds - the POOL is fantastic! it's so nice to have your own pool that is clean and beautiful. No need to put up with obnoxious people and their kids! - maid service every other day - peaceful, quiet, and well kept community - fully stocked kitchen - excellent customer service We will be sure to come back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Manager response: Thank you so much for your kind words! The Welches

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • We rented this fantastic house again!

    We rented this fantastic house again!

    • Guest Joyce and Mike (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 06/09/08
    • Review Submitted 09/14/08
    This has to be the best holiday home ever! We booked our holiday again with Amy, who was professional and informative, answering any of our questions quickly and efficiently! There is nothing more we could have asked for at this home away from home! You just need to pack your clothing and everything else is already at the house! We brought 2 other couples along with us this time and there was plenty of room, lots of time around the pool, barbecuing and making margueritas. The guys enjoyed golfing at the different courses and the ladies relaxed by the pool and went on long walks on the beach. The shopping in town was a lot of fun also. I'm sure we'll be back for a third time soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 9/9

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Frank Masser_HAC45971 (Salem, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 03/01/06
    • Review Submitted 03/06/06
    I just got back into town and wanted to thank you for the wonderful time we spent at Casa Parota. The car was a real plus when we arrived at the airport. It was great to simply walk past all the taxi peddlers and go directly to "our" car. Same with the departure. We had a small key problem when we first arrived at the house. (it didn't work) I went next door and met Wayne and Laura who gave us a beer while they tried to track down someone that could help us. A very friendly lady named Michelle showed up and gave us a key that fit the door. We then went to find a place to eat in La Cruz, and ended up eating in a restuarant serving Scottish food. (go figure) I can't remember the name of it, but it filled the bill that first night. John showed up the next day to find out about the key situation and brought us new jug of water. Your manual was a life saver. We used it to find just about everything we needed. The directions were great and the descriptions right on. The intent of our trip was a birthday celebration for my wife and her mother. Your place was a real oasis to come back to after walking the streets of Puerta Vallarta, and driving to the small villages you pointed out in your manual. It was so nice to just jump in our own pool to cool off, and kick back with a cold cervaza. Lupe showed up a little early the day we were leaving. We cleared the upstairs so she could get started and tried to stay out of her way. We all agreed that we would like to try this again next year (since we're experts at getting around now) and hope you will allow us to stay in your home again. Thanks for everything. Frank Cheryl Erik Bettie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Ed Berkowitz_HAC41894 (portola valley, ca)
    • Date of stay 01/01/06
    • Review Submitted 12/31/05
    Amy, your rental was outstanding. We traveled with 4 adults and 2 2.5 yr olds and everyone was very comfortable. Specific items we appreciated were: - house location that was close to everything (we were able to get gringo food and local food at the WalMart in PV) but still very private and quiet (we were not looking to share our vacation with 1000 strangers) - a really good bed in the master suite (others may also have been good but I only slept on one bed) - a complete kitchen with small touches like an ice shaver (good for snow cones for the kids and maragaritas for the adults) - a car in great condition that held us all (including child car seats), including clothes for 8 days - a BBQ that made eating in a breeze - a COMPLETE book of things to do, places to eat/shop, contact numbers just in case of emergency, ... - resource down there (property manager) to help with the little things (we finished the propane so he got it filled up) - a house keeper that did a great job Our standards are very high and the house was perfect. We can't think of anything we'd change. Thanks again...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest N. Schneider-Deacon
    • Date of stay 12/30/05
    • Review Submitted 12/29/05
    Just wanted to say Merry Christmas to you and your family. Amy, we had an absolutely fabulous time in your home. You and your husband have created a dream home to be appreciated by many. Like I had said before, the design and attention to detail made it. I have to say that the pictures on-line did not do it justice. It's a must see to believe.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Linda_HAC3800 (Omaha, Ne)
    • Date of stay 06/01/03
    • Review Submitted 06/14/03
    A little bit of Paradise. A wonderful place for a family, a few couples, or just some friends. It felt like home --very clean with every amenity you could ask for. Close to the beach, restuarants,flea market,and town. And the help,from the cook, to the maid and the property managers are second to none. Highly recommend Casa Parota--we would definitely go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest J. Jarvis_HAC3627 (Portland, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 06/01/03
    • Review Submitted 06/04/03
    Thank you, thank you, for the most wonderful vacation I have had. We all spent more time relaxing by the pool and enjoying time spent with friends then we did sightseeing. The house made us feel like we were at home. The cook fed us like kings and queens. Can't say enough good things about Casa Parota, the cook, and the property management assistance. We'll be back...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest J & M Smalley_HAC1790 (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/16/03
    • Review Submitted 01/16/03
    We couldn't have asked for a more special holiday! The men played golf at different courses all week.  The ladies layed aroundthe pool - soaking up the sun and the margaritas - what could be better.The cook fixed delicious meals - we especially liked her ceviche andshrimp/beef/chicken fajitas.  What a treat! Thanks for memories to last a lifetime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest J & M Smalley_HAC1790 (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 01/01/03
    • Review Submitted 01/15/03
    We couldn't have asked for a more special holiday! The men played golf at different courses all week.  The ladies layed around the pool - soaking up the sun and the margaritas - what could be better. The cook fixed delicious meals - we especially liked her ceviche and shrimp/beef/chicken fajitas.  What a treat! Thanks for memories to last a lifetime!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]