Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Harbor Hideaway

Harbor Hideaway Whidbey Island Waterfront Vacation Rental [#178504] | View Property

Freeland
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths (Sleeps 13-15)
From $450-$575/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful and Interesting

    Beautiful and Interesting

    • Guest Ross Patterson (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 03/13/14
    • Review Submitted 03/24/14
    The house is well stocked, a functional and interesting layout. The yard is huge, beautiful and excellently landscaped. The fire-ring is awesome. Just all around excellent.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful oasis

    Peaceful oasis

    • Guest Seattle doc (Seattle)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/15/13
    We (12 adults + 1 baby) had a wonderful, peaceful stay at Harbor Hideaway. Spectacular views, spacious and comfortable accommodations, and attentive owners. The hot tub was relaxing and the fire pit was magnificent! There is also private access to the beach. We've stayed at many rental homes in the greater-Seattle area -- this was by far our favorite place!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent place for reunion

    Excellent place for reunion

    • Guest florence L.
    • Date of stay 09/10/13
    • Review Submitted 10/13/13
    I could not say more about this place. Our family of 14 had a wonderful time staying here. We wish we could have stayed longer. We definitely will stay here again. The clam digging, beach, sun rise and camp fire will be remembered forever. Thanks John for providing such a wonderful place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful Home

    Beautiful Home

    • Guest Kathy (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/12/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    Our stay at the Harbor Hideaway was terrific. The landscaped gardens are beautiful and the home has wonderful amenities. Each room has its own bathroom and tv - allowing each guest some privacy and downtime (especially when travelling with kids)! Hot tub on the deck is terrific and the highlight was having the two fire pits on the property. Nightly marshmallows are a must. Everything on the island is easy to get to - a really peaceful and fun stay. Trek down to the water is a bit of a hike but a fun climb.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING!!!

    AMAZING!!!

    • Guest Donella B.
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    If you are in need of an escape from the city or life in general this should be the place. My husband and I stayed here a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The property is large, especially for two people but it was nice to spend our days in the landscaped yard, jacuzzi, or down at the beach. We weren't in the home much because the yard is so beautiful. It was nice to listen to the birds and watch the bay tide change throughout the day. This place feels like a secluded hideaway, yet a mile away is a grocery store, restaurants, +++. It was a quick drive from the ferry to go to Seattle and the drive/ferry to Olympic National Park was nice too. This was our first trip to the west coast and we have found our dream place. The home has all the amenities you could need and the owners were exceptional with assisting with all our needs. I can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing property!

    Amazing property!

    • Guest SILVER (United States)
    • Date of stay 06/23/13
    • Review Submitted 07/08/13
    If you are in need of an escape from the city or life in general this should be the place. My husband and I stayed here a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The property is large, especially for two people but it was nice to spend our days in the landscaped yard, jacuzzi, or down at the beach. We weren't in the home much because the yard is so beautiful. It was nice to listen to the birds and watch the bay tide change throughout the day. This place feels like a secluded hideaway, yet a mile away is a grocery store, restaurants, +++. It was a quick drive from the ferry to go to Seattle and the drive/ferry to Olympic National Park was nice too. This was our first trip to the west coast and we have found our dream place. The home has all the amenities you could need and the owners were exceptional with assisting with all our needs. I can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest mike (san antonio, texas)
    • Date of stay 05/09/13
    • Review Submitted 05/24/13
    A family wedding on Whidbey Island brought our family to the area. This being our first trip to the area, we were clueless as to where 5 adults and 5 young adults would be comfortable for 5 days. The description and on-line pictures of Harbor Hideaway appeared to be the perfect place. We were so impressed with the comfort and beauty of the house that we were satisfied to spend all of our time, except for the wedding, enjoying the quietness and beauty of the Hideaway. The house, grounds, location, etc. meet all expectations. We look forward to a return trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Mike, It was a pleasure having you and your group stay with us and we look forward to meeting again. Regards, John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We Hope to Get Back to Harbor Hideaway Again !!

    We Hope to Get Back to Harbor Hideaway Again !!

    • Guest Patty (Overland Park, KS USA)
    • Date of stay 08/29/12
    • Review Submitted 09/18/12
    Our family of 10 (from Kansas, California, and Minnesota) gathered for our son's wedding on Whidbey and thoroughly enjoyed our time on the Island and marveled at the beauty and cleanliness of your home. It is big, bright, spacious, and has terrific views of the water. The landscaping is immaculate and stunning. We were met on arrival by a host who showed us around and made us feel very comfortable. She gave us her number to reach her with any questions during our stay. We cooked several meals together and found every instrument we needed. Owing to the wedding events, we never did get time to use the hot tub, though it looked awesome. My husband spent a good bit of time down at the table and deck overlooking the water, when he wanted to “get away from the crowd” and read in peace. The big bedroom in the lower level was perfect for our son’s family with 2 young children. It was very spacious and they loved it as they could go right out into the yard to play. We had a marshmallow roast at the fire pit the night before leaving. That was so much fun. Everyone spent a lot of time out on the main deck as the weather was perfect. Our sister from Seattle, who has stayed at various places on Whidbey over the years said she’d never seen a rental home on Whidbey quite like this . She told us it wasn’t a “typical rental property” - more like a real home. She will be recommending it to other Seattle-ites in the future! Our whole tribe would like to come back someday and stay at Harbor Hideaway again. It was perfect in every way. Thank you for being so gracious.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Rendezvous

    Family Rendezvous

    • Guest Jan (Deary, Idaho)
    • Date of stay 07/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    Members of our family living in four different states (Illinois, Idaho, Arizona, and Washington) came together at Harbor Hideaway from 10-15 July 2012. All of us loved the place. It was clean, comfortable and felt like home. There was plenty of sleeping space for our group of 14 and it was very private and quiet. The center isle in the well-equipped kitchen was a favorite gathering place as people prepared meals. The balconies and large windows allowed great views of the harbor....you can even see Mt. Baker from one spot on the grounds. We enjoyed the beautifully landscaped yard (including the birdhouse tree), the outdoor grill and dining facilities on the lower balcony, the hot tub, and the fire pit where we spent many evenings around the fire making s’mores and sharing memories and experiences. It was a fabulous place for kids and adults. We played croquet and made numerous trips up and down the stairs (lighted at night) to the beach to enjoy the numerous intertidal creatures.....a treat for us mid-westerners! Weather was quite diverse and entertaining.....varying from sunny warm days interspersed with numerous thunderstorms that provided challenges to our crab-potting efforts. The lifting fog in the morning and its reflection on the still water of the harbor provided great photographic opportunities. We saw plenty of wildlife, including a deer and her two young fawns who obviously considered the area as their home, traversing from one wooded area to another (often crossing the parking area behind the house), great blue herons, golden and bald eagles. When we had a question regarding the hot tub use, we received immediate assistance from the local manager who was friendly and helpful. My two personal favorite things at Harbor Hideaway were: 1) the overhanging deck projecting out over the cliff that was a good place to watch and photograph foraging bald eagles, lifting fog, and boating activities in the harbor, and 2) the piano in the living/dining room. Our entire family group would give Harbor Hideaway an A+, would definitely recommend it to friends and family, and would love to come back again sometime. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful place with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent vacation spot!

    Excellent vacation spot!

    • Guest IslandGirl (Avalon, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/01/12
    • Review Submitted 07/16/12
    This house exceeded our expectations. We had 3 generations, ranging in age from 3 to 73. ALL were comfortable! Really enjoyed having a home-base to venture out from to explore the island. Microwave was outdated, but hot tub & firepit more than made ip for that minor inconvenience. Truly, the only thing missing was a hammock!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family reunion at Whidbey Island

    Family reunion at Whidbey Island

    • Guest Russ (Chicago suburbs, IL)
    • Date of stay 06/23/12
    • Review Submitted 07/09/12
    Before a family wedding in Seattle on June 30th, we decided to enjoy a week on Whidbey Island. My wife and I, our two sons and their wives and our granddaughter all had a fabulous time. The house and grounds were amazing. Everthing at the house was in top shape and the views were priceless. We had dinner every night on the balcony and the well equiped kitchen and 4 burner grill made it so easy to eat in. The location is perfect for sightseeing the entire island. The tranquility of the propery location was so wonderful. We enjoyed the hot tub, the fire pit, the Gazebo and the open upper deck deck and the stairs to the water where there was another fire pit. All of us highly recommend this house

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Carroll Family

    Carroll Family

    • Guest BC (Lincoln, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/13/12
    • Review Submitted 06/24/12
    This is our second stay at the Harbor Hideaway. Again we arrived to find the house immaculate. The new gazebo, firepit and spa are a real plus. Also there's a brand new bbq which we used a lot. Again the entire property, house and amenities are fabulous. This is a great layout for parents with adult children and the grandkids. Fun for everyone and a very cost effective location for a large group. We were again visited by the neighborhood deer and rabbits, fun. Short day trips to fabulous waterfront cities, i.e. Coupeville, and Langley, make it a great destination.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the great review but the best compliment was your return stay with us. We much appreciate the confidence you placed in Harbor Hideaway by coming back again. John

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Team Building Trip

    Team Building Trip

    • Guest Coach (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 04/02/12
    The property is gorgeous and, with the house, lends itself to varied activities. A short drive takes you to interesting places for further exercises. The house is large enough to be comfortable, but still feels cozy. I can imagine this house for bridal shower getaway, family get-together, management retreat, writer workshop, meditation weekend, the list is endless. One usually has to go to a luxury resort hotel for the view and amenities available here. We are thrilled to have found it for a team-building trip that was very successful.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great getaway spot!

    Great getaway spot!

    • Guest stephc (seattle, wa)
    • Date of stay 12/02/11
    • Review Submitted 01/02/12
    We stayed at Harbor Hideaway during the first week in December for a family birthday party. The home was in perfect condition, and the views were amazing! We enjoyed the large kitchen—it was great for cooking group meals and socializing with a view of the harbor. The hot tub was nice for the cool evenings, and we made use of the upper bonfire area. We’ll definitely be back again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We were very happy with your group and look forward to seeing you again. John and Ria

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great For Families or Groups

    Great For Families or Groups

    • Guest madeline (seattle)
    • Date of stay 11/12/10
    • Review Submitted 01/31/11
    My extended family stayed here while attending a wedding at Useless Bay Country Club. The property was exactly what we needed. Our group consisted of 7 adults and one toddler. The property is laid out so that there are bedrooms on all three floors. This ensured maximum privacy for everyone. We had one member of our group with mobility issues and she was able to use the bedroom on the main floor and never needed to go up or down any stairs during our stay. Each bedroom has its own dedicated bathroom so none of the couples had to share. There is a huge backyard which was perfect for letting our toddler run around and blow off steam. The property is waterfront, but it is a long climb down several sets of stairs to get to it. Our member with mobility issues was not able to make the hike but the rest of us would climb down and back at least once a day. There view into the bay from the house is beautiful and we saw eagles on two mornings. There are also several beaches, parks and hikes nearby that we visited that were all just a short drive away.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Madeline, Thank you for your comments; they are greatly appreciated. We have taken great care to ensure that those who are physically impaired can also enjoy the comfort of our home. The property is medium bank waterfront with about 75 feet of elevation difference to the water. We are mindful of creating a pleasant experience as you traverse to and from the beach. The stairs are new with sitting decks at the top and along the way. We continue to add carefully chosen shrubs, trees and other plants, extending our gardens all the way down. Our guests particularly like going to the beach at night for a fire and to take in the quiet ambiance of Holmes Harbor. The dimly lit path gives the perfect amount of lighting to safely see your way from top to bottom, without disturbing the tranquil serenity of this beautiful Whidbey Island experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Amazing

    Amazing

    • Guest G and K (Houston, Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/13/10
    • Review Submitted 07/20/10
    Harbor Hideaway was perfect for our group of eight. Location right on the water meant many hours relaxing and enjoying the view of water, birds, bunnies, and deer. Close to miles of hikes and days of sightseeing on Whidbey Island.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you G and K, We really appreciate your review and encourage all our guests to share their experience at Harbor Hideaway. John D.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • A Beautiful Weekend!

    A Beautiful Weekend!

    • Guest Lindsay & Mike (Colton, Oregon)
    • Date of stay 05/12/09
    • Review Submitted 05/28/10
    A gorgeous day for an outdoor wedding! This was the best weekend of my life! To look out on the bay while I did my vows was amazing. Thank you for letting me have the ceremony at your gorgeous house! Absolutely perfect. We look forward to our next stay with lots of wonderful memories to share!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Lindsay, thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you chose us for your special day. Unfortunately, Harbor Hideaway is unable to host any future wedding events.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/10



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]