Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Kana'i A Nalu #217 - Living Room

Paradise Found Beachfront Condo April May Special $135/Night Plus Tax and Clean [#17923] | View Property

Maalaea
Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$1,365 - $1,890/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (23)

Sort by:
  • Awesome Views!

    Awesome Views!

    • Guest Maree S.
    • Date of stay 12/19/13
    • Review Submitted 01/21/14
    We were able to spend a wonderful Christmas vacation at this spacious Maui condo! The condo was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a perfect trip. They even provided beach gear (beach chairs, cooler, boogie boards, etc.) which was much appreciated. We spent most of the time on the lanai and enjoyed the most amazing views!! We loved watching the sunrise over Haleakala each morning and we were lucky to see whales and turtles! The condo is situated steps from the beach on a very beautiful bay. We rented a stand-up paddle board and were able to learn how to use it at the beach right in front of the condo. We enjoyed staying in Maalaea and being central to all areas of the island. We took many day trips which included hiking Waihee ridge and Pipiwai trails, Snorkel trip with the Pacific Whale foundation, Road to Hana and snorkeling the many beautiful South beaches and nature reserves. It was so nice to have a great condo to come back to after a day of adventure. We also enjoyed the pool, grills and beautiful landscaping of the resort. Thank you Don and Colleen for sharing your piece of paradise. We hope to come back again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Get away for a week on Maui

    Get away for a week on Maui

    • Guest James (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 11/10/13
    • Review Submitted 11/21/13
    My wife and I stayed a week at this unit and found it perfect. We took morning walks on the 3 miles of beach which are in front and adjacent to the condo complex. Most of this beach area is part of park which is uninhabited. At the top of the steps that lead to the beach are two water showers, one for the feet and one for the whole body. We left our shoes in the grass and walked barefooted on the beach. I did some snorkeling out front and found a few colorful fish to observe. Oh yes, a pool is available as are gas grill in the common area. The unit is tastefully decorated and provides a comfortable place to reside. It was just my wife and I, but four people could easily stay with two bedrooms and two full baths. We ate breakfast on the lanai watching the waves roll-in. I went scuba diving one day and left my wife at the condo but she was quite comfortable with the view of the sea and her reading. The unit is on the second floor with elevator access—we took the steps after the initially moving in. The complex is on a dead end road providing a quiet escape from traffic. My wife and I would recommend this unit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Blaine, Wa.

    Blaine, Wa.

    • Guest You bet you! (Blaine, Wa.)
    • Date of stay 10/03/13
    • Review Submitted 10/22/13
    Another wonderful vacation at Kanai a Nalu. 217 is the perfect location, but is need of some deep cleaning and upgrading. Don and Colleen's beautiful rugs have some terrible stains, the oven does not heat above 300, and many tiles are broken. We had many more ants, flies and roaches this visit, even after spraying, and the whole complex was without water for a day. The weather was perfect, ocean and pool both warmer than last trip. We shared BBQ nights with family and friends also staying at the complex. Food at Buzz's Wharf and Lahaina Fish Co is great, Molokini trip on Four Winds fun, and luau at Royal Lahaina better than before. Can't wait for next year! ( maybe a different unit )

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We appresiate guest comments and suggestions. They help us manaage our unit better and get the most out of our staff. We have iniated a program of added equipment and help for our maid on back to back turn arounds. We think this will help with the cleanliness of the unit. The lania tiles are a long term problem and we are looking at replacing all of the tiles as replacements for the present tiles are not available. We are looking at doing this when we have a break in rentals in early December. Insects are a constant problem in a tropical setting like Maui. The unit is sprayed quarterly. If we have a complaint the condo complex manager can call the exterminater for a touch up. We have also put out ant and roach traps as well as making sure the kitchen is spotless so insects do not have breeding ground. The area rugs are not stained but have become discolored due to frequent cleaning. We have investigated replacing them but we are only able to find them in beige or a variation on beige not a good color for a rental. We will keep working on this. The oven tempature problem has been investigated in the past with the servceman unable to duplicate the problem We are trying again with a different service man. I am sure we have all had a problem with an appliance or car that would not repeat itself when the workman of mechanic was present. We are constantly striving to make our condo one of the best in Maui. We can only do this by receiving comments from guests. Thank you. March update: The Lanai has been retiled thus addressing the broken tile comment.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Review od property 17923

    Review od property 17923

    • Guest Deborah C.
    • Date of stay 09/21/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    The condo was exactly as shown in pictures, was very well maintained and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend it to a friend or relative. I hope to even come back myself in the next couple of years. The only small suggestion is that the patio screen kpt falling off the hinges. Think a new screen door is needed. Minor though and certainly didn't impact our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: WE appreciate the comments by guests. This is the first we have heard of the patio screen door problem and we will have our handyman look into it. Don and Colleen Huntress

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Surf was up!

    Surf was up!

    • Guest sue j.
    • Date of stay 05/15/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    This location was perfect. Central Maui has so much to offer. This condo faces the ocean, and the surf was up for the first 6 days and there were surfers from early morning til dark. The on the 6 th day it was all done....water calm and no more surfers.... The grounds are beautiful, very well maintained. The condo needs some attention. The closet door in 2nd bedroom is rusted and no longer opens very well. The oven does not heat over 300 and the ice maker/water does not work. (However it made ice so we were OK). Towels were stained. The windows are quite dirty in both bedrooms, especially the screens. Another owner told me they can be removed and cleaned quite easily. The patio screen could be replaced and the tile on the patio has some chipping. The condo is lovely but it felt perhaps the owner has not been there for awhile

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: The closet door was off its track. The rust is a long range problem so we are trying to schedue it in early December when we have a break in the rentals. We called a service man for the oven but he was unable to duplicate the problem. We are replacing the ice/water dispenser. We were in Maui in July and August and repaced towels, sheets and one bed spread. We also had the windows and screens cleaned. The term 'the patio screen should be replaced' is not definative enough to take any action on. The lanai floor tiles are another of the long range problems. We are unable to find replacement tiles in the right size so we are looking at repalacing the whole lania flooring. We are looking to do this in early December also. Thank you for your comments and suggestions.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Escape from the Fray

    Escape from the Fray

    • Guest Moshom & Kohkom (Regina, SK)
    • Date of stay 04/08/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    We loved staying at Don and Colleen's wonderful condo. The location was idea for people who hate crowds. The condo is located near the end of Hauoli St. in Ma'alaea, which is a quiet little village away from the traffic but close enough to Kihei and Kahului for convenient access to shopping and all the tourist spots. The condo is beachfront on the second floor, so there is a view of both the water and the garden and pool. The beach goes on forever. The condo's grounds are immaculate and the condo spacious and beautifully decorated. There is no air-conditioning, but there are ceiling vans in the bedrooms and dining and living room. With all the windows, there was plenty of breeze for us to stay cool. The condo had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a kitchen for the price of a hotel room. We will never stay in a hotel again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. We like the affimation that we are getting it right.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Maui Experience

    Maui Experience

    • Guest Norway (Oregon)
    • Date of stay 03/22/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    This is our second year staying in this unit. We love it! The furnishings are beautiful! And the view...well, they do call it paradise. One of our favorite things to do is BBQ and meet all the friendly and nice people staying there too. Probably would't come back in March for spring vacation again...rain and too many kids. At one time I counted 14 kids in the pool. But we're in Maui! There are only a few things we would like to mention that we think could be improved upon. The master bathroom had a really bad musty smell that lasted about 3-4 days. The hair dryer in the master bath didn't work. And the ice maker didn't work either. Comparing this unit to a few others, updating could be in order. Did these things put a damper on our week; absolutely not. Would we stay again; yes! Working with Don is a very easy. He is available to answer any questions we have. We really appreciated the %10 off for returning guest. We would recommend this unit and place to everybody!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing from you. Our manager went to the condo to investigated the musty smell. Everything was fine when she was there and there has not been a reoccurance of this complaint. The ice water dispenser has been replaced after a lengthy wait for parts.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Paradise Found - Review

    Paradise Found - Review

    • Guest Tom (Bothell, WA)
    • Date of stay 01/27/13
    • Review Submitted 02/10/13
    Location: Excellent jumping off point for parts north or south. Condition: Excellent - accurately described; wonderful view of ocean Maintained: Excellent - very clean; treats in frig upon arrival Helpful: Very quick and accurate responses from owner Recommend: Definitely.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ma'alaea condo

    Ma'alaea condo

    • Guest Ruth (Idaho)
    • Date of stay 12/31/12
    • Review Submitted 01/13/13
    Our stay in the condo was picture perfect. The ocean is right outside your window. We watched whales breach, turtles swimmng and even sharks one morning. We had 6 adults in our party and there was enough room for everyone without feeling crowded. The condo was clean and comfortable and we loved the island theme decor. The location is centrally located which makes travel around the island convenient. Don was very accessible and accomodating. We loved our trip and hope to get back to Maui soon

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. We are glad to see we are getting it right.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • loved it

    loved it

    • Guest Karen (Mendota Heights MN USA)
    • Date of stay 12/01/12
    • Review Submitted 12/28/12
    Every glowing report you have read in the other reviews is true. What a great place. In our search for peace and quiet, a condo on the beach at the end of a dead end road across from acres and acres of sugar cane, no hotels, no traffic was, indeed, what we found when we turned into the parking lot of Kanai a Nalu. You will love being in a corner unit since no one ever walks by and the breezes embrace all of the rooms of this very pretty residence. The owners have decorated with tasteful artifacts from the islands and Colleen's paintings are beautiful. We planned to cook-in every day and found the kitchen had everything we needed (except for a stove-top espresso maker which we brought from home and left for our next visit). Every morning we had our coffee and gazed at the ocean and the sunrise. We grilled local fish for dinner and bought produce at the tiny Tradewinds market just up the street where the owners have local farmers drop off a little bit of everything: unbelievable peppers, papayas, potatoes, strawberries, tomatoes and gigantic buttery avocado. What a treat! Check out their great sandwiches to take to the beach and their very local recipe for breakfast fried rice with eggs and meats which we ate on the morning we left. You will also find Whole Foods, Safeway (get a Safeway discount card, no charge), Costco, and many outdoor markets. We ate papaya with every meal and kept cut up local fresh fruit in the freezer when a smoothie was just what we wanted after snorkeling at one of the dozens of extraordinary beaches. Yes, it's windy but only part of the day. The winds keep the flying insects to butterflies and the intense sun to very comfortable. Look for the "welcome basket" in the frig. We found a pineapple, mango tea, local coffee, and homemade banana bread. What a nice surprise. Thanks Don and Colleen. Our first visit to Maui could not have been better. Warm greetings from the snowdrifts of Minnesota.

    Owner response: It is always nice to receive such a nice review. It is a reward for the time and effort we have put in to make our condo a slice of the island experience. We will look forward to your return. Meanwhile, we will take good care of the stove top espresso machine. Don and Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Minnesota Couple

    Minnesota Couple

    • Guest Hawklones (Minnesota)
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 11/06/12
    The location of this condo is perfect - right on the beach. Each morning we awoke to a beautiful sunrise, shining into the bedroom window. It was great to walk on the beach a couple times each day. It was splendid to fall asleep each night to the sound of the ocean waves. The condo was clean and creatively decorated and supplied with everything to meet our needs. We appreciate the welcome gift of coffee, a pineapple, jam and banana bread. It was very helpful to talk to Don on the phone, and he sent us materials to prepare for our trip. Our stay was perfect in every way.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is always nice to receive affirmation that we are doing it right. Don and Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • ANNIVERSARY PARADISE

    ANNIVERSARY PARADISE

    • Guest mike and ann (maine)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/27/12
    We loved Maui and this condo. Our first exp. in Hawaii so we had a full bucket list. Our drive to the condo was about 15 min. It is on 250 Hauoli Street. Now with GPS's an address a must. However, garmen was sl. short so keep going by a 3-4 condo buildings and you'll come to Kana'i Nalu. A very well maintained property. They were out daily cleaning, and working around to keep it up. The condo unit is strategically located in a corner unit. Very quiet. No one going by your door. We had gone grocery shopping first but I recommend you wait. This is one well stocked unit. There was a welcome package of a pineapple, banana bread, coffee, jelly, and cream for your coffee. A very nice touch. Their are things like spices, condiments, coffee filters, plastic wrap, tin foil, paper towels, toilet tissue, laundry soap and cleaning supplies, beach towels & beach chairs. These are the things most of us go buy and leave if we can. Our bucket list included, Old Lahaina Luau, Haleakea National Park -for the Sunrise. COLD at the top. Bring layers to wear-,Up Country, Ioa Valley State Park and the road beyond, Road to Hana, Lahaina, Banyan Tree Park and much more. Finally, I said time out and we spent 2 days on the beach in front of our unit and enjoying the pool. Heaven...Don and Colleen were nice enough to include in an email restaurants and other things to do. When we first arrived we went for lunch at Buzz's Wharf. We found that we were busy sightseeing all day, at days end we came home, showered, changed and then went to explore the local restaurants. We ate at the Waterfront Restaurant, Beach Bums, Premo which are all almost in walking distance. Good food, atmosphere and prices as expected. This is Hawaii. Most of our meals were $35-$50 a plate. If you expect it, its OK. We ate at Kimo"s in Lahaina x 2. The best fish ever. We only ate fish while in Maui. My husband is not a fish person but he is now. We ate at Mama's fish house and it was the best. The outside with the old boat in front makes you wonder but the inside and the valet service makes you feel special. Knowing what day and who caught your fish was very unique. Most main dishes are around $45 to $50. Worth every penny. This property is LOCATION LOCATION, LOCATION. Very central to it all. No air conditioning, but mostly OK due to the natural winds. Bathroom could use a vent, kind of stuffy. Loved every minute of our stay and would recommend this to others. A really great place. Thanks so much.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for the nice response. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the bathroom vent. Don and Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfection!

    Perfection!

    • Guest HappyInMaui (Washingtom, DC)
    • Date of stay 08/14/12
    • Review Submitted 08/22/12
    This condo could not have been more perfect. Very comfortable and well-supplied. The location is ideal, with the lanai just over a beach that brims with activity but is never crowded. Early morning rising was a delight, watching the sun rise over Haleakala as we sat with coffe on the lanai. Two mornings, we were treated to watching seals playing just in front of the building. The building is ideally situated, close to Maalaea harbor and plenty of good restaurants, and right on a nice beach. Within the building, the unit is perfectly situated. It's a corner unit, which means that, unlike most other units in the building, the second bedroom window opens onto the courtyard and pool, rather than the walkway. And the living room and master bedroom open onto the water. All rooms are great for catching the cool ocean breezes. We undoubtedly will be back, and now that we are spoiled, cannot imagine staying anywhere but here.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We work hard to please and it is nice to see it is paying off. Don and Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous Location!

    Fabulous Location!

    • Guest IndiesBlue (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/02/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    This condo is located on the beach! The view from the lanai is amazing! You can see for a long distance up and down the sandy beach and across the water for miles. It's an easy drive everywhere you want to go on Maui. The condo is artfully decorated. We kept noticing new pictures and objects everyday! The two bedrooms are separated nicely for privacy. The winds blow through keeping it cool without air conditioning. Having fresh wonderful air was a treat! The ocean waves make a soothing sound to sleep by! The only minus was some dust gathering in the corners.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We bought the unit just for that breeze. We'll get after those dust curls. Don and Colleen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paradise Perfect

    Paradise Perfect

    • Guest Kathleen D.
    • Date of stay 04/24/12
    • Review Submitted 05/07/12
    We've travelled worldwide for the last 20 years and this was our first time renting a condominium. The description of the property was very accurate indeed. We did have a few questions regarding the amenities...hairdryer, toilet paper, ironing board etc. but all was answered the moment we called. I even found nail polish remover under the bathroom sink! The only restaurant we found to be disappointing was Buzz's--the fresh fish special which I ordered for my birthday was like an overcooked dried out chicken breast (they did comp it). We climbed Haleakala, saw whales and drove the crazy road to Hana--all great. And the morning walks on the beach right off the lanai were wonderful. Our last question is in regard to the damage deposit--who contacts us and how long till the reimbursement? Five Stars to a great vacation rental 206324!

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. We work hard to get it right.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • 40th Anniversary

    40th Anniversary

    • Guest Maggedy Ann (Tyler, TX)
    • Date of stay 04/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/19/12
    This rental was everything we wanted to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. It was clean, well-maintained, and had a wonderful view of the ocean. We also liked the location--a long stretch of beach to take peaceful walks and well within driving distance from the airport and other attractions. I would definitely recommend this unit to a friend or relative.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. See you next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place! Great location!

    Great place! Great location!

    • Guest Josh (Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/29/12
    • Review Submitted 03/16/12
    We have been visiting Maui since 2006 and stayed at Maalaea each time. This unit has the best location of anyone we have stayed at. It is convenient, very private, and has an incredible view. It is also in one of the few complexes that has good beach access. I would definitely recommend this location to a friend.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We are always happy when our guests appreciate the things that made us buy the condo twelve years ago. We fell in love with the awesome views, the sandy beach at our door, the second floor location for added security, and the end corner location for added privacy and views. We hope you will join our many guests who return year after year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Can't beat the location

    Can't beat the location

    • Guest Gene (California)
    • Date of stay 08/09/11
    • Review Submitted 08/27/11
    This place has everything you would want, along with a great owner. Don went above and beyond what was expected in meeting our needs. One could not ask for better assistance from the owner and those who take care of the unit. If you want to explore the island, you cannot find a better deal. This location is far away from the crowds, but only a short drive from anything that you would need. The condo has everything that you would need and the view is beautiful, we were lulled to sleep every night with the waves. You will not be disappointed if you are to choose this condo.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for your comments. You hit all of the reasons we bought this condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • family vacation

    family vacation

    • Guest 4 plus MIL (Terrace BC canada)
    • Date of stay 04/04/11
    • Review Submitted 04/25/11
    perfect accommodations for our family's needs. Travelled with grandparent and two children (5 & 2). The location and condo were perfect. Quiet, friendly location and being on the second floor was perfect. The screen door at the front locked as well which allowed us to keep the main door open for the island breeze while making sure our children were secured inside. The grounds were immaculate and the pool was also cleaned. Amazing! will be back to this location and condo!

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: We pride ourself in being a fmaily friendly condo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Will always stay at the Kanai A Nalu!!

    Will always stay at the Kanai A Nalu!!

    • Guest Whale watcher (Tacoma, WA)
    • Date of stay 02/22/11
    • Review Submitted 04/22/11
    My family has been staying at these condos since the 70's. The location is ideal, the beach and view of the bay is awesome! We've stayed in several different condos. This is the first time in this one. The negatives...there was lots of clutter in the closets and under the sink from stuff left by others. There was little room in the closet in the second room due to ice chests, beach chairs, assorted plastic bags of stuff, old shoes etc. The slider screen door was broken. It needed to be kept closed due to the little flies, but it was a challenge to open and close. One of the rollers was broken. I would have fixed it if I could. Although we rarely watched TV, it was no bigger then a computer monitor, with very poor sound, stored in an over sized entertainment center. The cleaning crew was given a short time to clean, as the previous renters left a day later then planned. It was clean enough, but needed a thorough cleaning throughout. The kitchen was well equipped but there too were leftover things from others, that cluttered the cupboards. There were little ants in the kitchen and bathroom. The positives...the beds were very comfortable in both rooms. Being a corner, ocean front unit was perfect! The view is spectacular! You are literally feet from the beach. The grounds are well kept, the pool is clean and there are plenty of lawn chairs. It was whale season and they put on quite a show. The beach is great. There were plenty of bath and beach towels and linens. All of these negative things are fixable and I'm sure will be taken care of. I highly recommend the Kanai to families or couples. We will always stay there!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We appreciate the reviews - the five stars tell us we are doing things right and the three star reviews tell us we need to take notice. The beggest problem here was that we let the previous renters stay an extra day and the condo needed much more cleaning than our crew is used to. I know they worked very hard but couldn't finish all they really would have done if they had the time. As a result we learned that we must follow stays of over three weeks with a full day and a half before the next renter. We hope that this will improve this situation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Our Private Retreat

    Our Private Retreat

    • Guest Take me to Maui (Seattle Washington)
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 04/01/10
    My friends and I (4 women in our 50's) loved our stay in Don and Colleen's Ma'Alaea Bay condo. The building is ideally situated at the end of a dead end road - very quiet, no traffic. And yet just a short drive to Kihei or north to the airport. And the condo is ideally situated within the building as well - we loved that it is an end unit, we couldn't see or hear any of the other units, just had our wonderful view out to the water. The pictures on the website are exactly what the condo and the view look like - no surprises. The beach in front of the condo feels like your own private beach - very few people, even though we had perfect weather for every day of our stay during the high season. If you're looking for peace and relaxation, this is the place to be. Beds were very comfortable. We also loved having the DVR; the Olympics were on TV during our stay so that was a real bonus. Don and Colleen were responsive to our needs, they live nearby and we liked that. Favorite nearby activity is the Maui Ocean Center, just a 10 minute stroll down the street; we enjoyed the restaurants and shops there as well. Okay, so now I'm going to stop praising this condo because I want it to be available for me next time! :-)

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/20/10
    • Review Submitted 02/20/10
    We stayed Feb 2010 in this beautiful condo. It is so much quieter than Kaanapali as there are just a few Condos and most only 4 stories, not 30 storiest. We were RIGHT ON the beach and could hear the waves each evening thru the master bedroom window. It is SO CENTRALLY located that we could go to almost every place on the Island in just 15 minutes time. The Whale foundation, Aquarium and small shopping area, and dining within walking distance were also excellent. We had a truly wonderful time enjoying the Condo and the Island. We are former Oahu residents, so are very aware of how crowded many places and Resorts are. Be sure and go walk the Grounds at the Grand Wailea and at least part of the Hana Road experience. We had people who got car sick but enjoyed just a few miles of the Hana road. We flew around in a small aircraft (pilot with us) and looks like the Helicopter flights (Air Maui) would be wonderful to do another trip.

    Owner response: Thank for the pointers on the flying. Enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Corry (Los Gatos, California)
    • Date of stay 08/01/07
    • Review Submitted 08/24/07
    This is the 2nd time we stayed at Don and Colleen's condo. This latest time was 8/5/07 through 8/21/07. They have a very nice condo, great for a family. I love the location and that is an end unit. Master looks over the beach and pool, 2nd looks over the pool. No issues with not wanting to leave a window open in the 2nd bedroom since a lot of the time the second bedrooms face a walkway. Lanai looks directly onto the beach (35 ft). No A/C, but it is not needed with the tradewinds that come through the valley and through Maalaea. Nice central location 20-25 minutes to Lahina, 10 minutes to central Kihei, 10 minutes to Kahalui. Like not being in the middle of a "city", sugarcane field behind complex. A little market within walking distance up the street for the emergency milk or small needs. I like the tile floor throughout the unit, so much easier to see that it is clean than carpet. We usually had breakfast at the condo, 75 / 25 on dinner, using the BBQ's out by the pool is very nice setting (they have gas a charcoal). Had no problems with anything, a non issue which is how it is supposed to work.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]