Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Relax or Dine AlFresco on a Fine Day

Charming Country Home, Near Scenic Seaside Westport Town [#181862] | View Property

Westport
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 12)
€600 - €950 per week (EUR)
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (41)

Sort by:
  • Home Away from Home

    Home Away from Home

    • Guest Richard H.
    • Date of stay 08/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/16/13
    This house exceeded our expectations. The house was very clean upon arrival. Little notes though out the house explained everything we needed to know about the operation of things in the house. The kitchen was equipped with everything need to prepare as simple or complex a meal as needed. The view from the kitchen was something we could not get enough of. Satellite TV and internet allowed us to keep in touch with home. Phone was available to receive calls or make calls with a calling card which can be purchased in one of the towns. We were so comfortable we hated to leave. Shopping and restaurants were not far away. We were amazed how every thing was well thought out in the house to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We would recommend to friends.

    Owner response: We are so glad you chose our home over the many options available to guests in the area. I'm glad your experience was so enjoyable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Felt like home

    Felt like home

    • Guest rolo (USA)
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    We stayed here with another family during our first week in Ireland and it was by far the nicest place we stayed. It has all of the conveniences you could possibly need and the view from the back is spectaclular! The first thing I saw when I walked out the back door the morning following our arrival was a rainbow and it's one of my favorite pictures from our trip. This was our first visit and certainly won't be the last. From the races in Ballinrobe to Matt Molloy's in Westport, it was a dream come true!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Teach Mo Chroi' it solidifies our decision to share the house with others. Weren't you lucky the races were in town during your stay not everyone gets that chance, I hope you won some money!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

    Wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/25/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    This is the absolute BEST vacation home. Great location! It is equipped with anything you could every need or want. Plenty of towels, bedding, and kitchen utensils. POWER CONVERTERS were a lifesaver!!! Beautiful views. Quiet countryside. Perfect for families. I look forward to staying here on my next visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/4

  • A little bit of Heaven on Earth

    A little bit of Heaven on Earth

    • Guest Louise Q.
    • Date of stay 09/19/12
    • Review Submitted 10/08/12
    This was a beautiful home in a beautiful setting - the mountains in the backyard and equipped with everything anyone could need. Our neighbors the sheep and a few cows - were fabulous. Maura and her husband helped us become familiar with the amenities and we had a WONDERFUL visit. The area was wonderful and we took full advantage of it. Everything was as promised and then some, there was nothing that we needed and we LOVED the place. Driving down the narrow road you come out to the house and cannot believe the beauty !!! This is a place not to be missed.. We took advantage of the Grill for dinner one evening and enjoyed the evening at home with a fire in the wood stove... This lovely home is very conveniently located to many locations in the Mayo area and we took full advantage . We went to Cong to see where the Quiet Man was filmed and onto Galway. Another day went tot the beginning of the Achill Peninsular and Kylemore Abbey were amongst other places we visited .. The people of Ireland are it's biggest assest - we met the lovelest people - wherever we went - ALL were Sooooo - welcoming and very happy to assist and help us with whatever we needed .. THX to everyone ... GO and See Ireland !!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Review of Charming Country Home

    Review of Charming Country Home

    • Guest Donna M.
    • Date of stay 08/17/12
    • Review Submitted 09/06/12
    Our family was delighted with this cottage rental in County Mayo. There was easy access to all surrounding towns and sites, but completely private down a lovely lane. The view from the back patio was amazing. The cottage was well equipped, plenty of room to spread out. It really made our first visit to Ireland a pleasure.

    Owner response: Our close proximity to major towns and attractions is what draws guests to us, but the added bonus of being tucked away from the main roads in a quiet tranquil area with scenic mountain views is what really makes us unique. We're happy you enjoyed your visit.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A little bit of Heaven

    A little bit of Heaven

    • Guest Lynn R.
    • Date of stay 07/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    Teach Mo Chroi is truly a little bit of heaven. The house is spacious with all the amenities of a U.S. home, including a dishwasher! The kitchen is a delight with a grand view of Croagh Patrick through the patio doors and a large table which made for many wonderful conversations with family and friends. The availability of 110 volt electricity made the job of keeping all of our gadgets fully charged much easier. The location is outstanding with just enough day trips for our 3 week stay. Well, there were some favorites that we had to see twice. We especially enjoyed Tom Henegan’s farm and the cruise on Lake Corrib. The short distance to both Westport and Castlebar was a great advantage. The peacefulness because of being off the main road was an added attraction. Karla is a great help with all the arrangements. Her local staff was also a bonus.

    Owner response: Thank you for choosing Teach Mo Chroi', we know there are many homes available for rental. It's always nice to hear that our guests mirror our feelings about our home. I'm so glad you visited Heneghan's farm and took the cruise on Lough Corrib to the Island, after so many visits they're still among my favorites.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Wonderful Vacation

    Wonderful Vacation

    • Guest Ann C.
    • Date of stay 06/30/12
    • Review Submitted 08/11/12
    This was our first visit to Ireland. We had a wonderful time. The home was lovely. The house was very clean, had all the major appliances, and the beds were very comfortable. There was plenty of space for our family of eight. The view of the mountains and Croagh Patrick from the back of the house was gorgeous. We enjoyed our stay and saw many of the attractions that the owners recommended. Wish we could have stayed longer. We would definitely go back again. Just be careful driving on the very narrow roads.

    Owner response: We're very happy you had a wonderful trip and enjoyed the home. Providing our guests with a list of recommended outings is important to us, because its often the unusual offerings in the area that can leave the greatest impressions. It is our goal to provide our guests with positive memorable Irish experiences.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The perfect home away from home!

    The perfect home away from home!

    • Guest Sandy K.
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/23/12
    We stayed for 12 days in this wonderful house while visiting County Mayo from the USA. It was the perfect location for staying while exploring the west of Ireland. There were 7 of us and we had more than enough room in this spacious house and inviting house. It was very clean and well-maintained both indoors and out and had every amenity that was needed. It truly was like being in your own home in another country. Our host and housekeeper were more than helpful in showing/telling us how everything worked and were available if we needed to telephone with questions. The location of the house is situated between Ballinrobe and Castlebar, and it was very easy to drive to either town for grocery shopping, etc. We cooked most of our meals instead of going out to eat at restaurants and found the kitchen to be well-equipped. The home is child-friendly as well, which was a plus for us since we had one teenager and one child in our group. They enjoyed the basketball and soccer goals. There is also a swing set for younger children. I highly recommend staying here if you are planning on visiting Mayo. It really made our vacation more enjoyable, comfortable and memorable! Thank you again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Simply Amazing!!

    Simply Amazing!!

    • Guest Kathleen B.
    • Date of stay 03/10/12
    • Review Submitted 04/06/12
    This was my first time using Home Away and it was terrific! This house is gorgeous and although the pictures are great, when you see the house in person it is just breath-taking! The setting is gorgeous! There is beautiful countryside all around and beautiful green fields with sheep and lambs running all around. It's extremely peaceful and an ideal place to just sit and relax outside on the back patio. The house is spotless, well-equipped, and there was nothing at all lacking! We loved the floor plan as it it was great to have the older kids at one end of the house away and the master bedroom at the other end where it was away from the "late-night noise"! Karla is wonderful to work with and very helpful with travel advice and sight-seeing information. I HIGHLY recommend this house for a vacation get-away. It's a great location for doing day-trips and just off the beaten path enough to be able to sit outside and just enjoy the quiet. This was our first trip to Ireland and hopefully it won't be our last!! If we do go back to Ireland again, "Teach Mo Chroi" is definately our new "home away from home"!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Spacious yet cozy home in great location!

    Spacious yet cozy home in great location!

    • Guest Meaghen G.
    • Date of stay 10/27/11
    • Review Submitted 11/06/11
    My family had a fabulous stay at this lovely home. The home was clean, spacious and had everything our family of 5 needed for a relaxing vacation in Ireland. The views were gorgeous, the setting so peaceful. The bedrooms and kitchen were large and the bathrooms very up to date. We took several day-trips from here, including to gorgeous Achill Island, Westport, Ashford Castle (where we fished and did horseback riding), and to visit family in Sligo. We enjoyed cooking in the cozy kitchen, and relaxing fireside in the evenings. Highly recommended!

    Owner response: We are always pleased to hear back from our guests. It is our strong desire to offer exceptional accommodations at a reasonable price which typically ensures an enjoyable and memorable visit for our guests. We Thank you for choosing Teach Mo Chroi'.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Amazing stay

    Amazing stay

    • Guest Dennis C.
    • Date of stay 08/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/22/11
    Our extended family stayed at Teach Mo Chroi for a month, using it as our home away from home. We had grandparents, parents, grandkids, cousins, uncles and friends stay here, and it couldn't have been any better. The house is roomy, comfortable and up-to-date. The bathrooms and bedrooms are all clean, well-appointed and comfortable. The layout is perfect for larger groups - it's easy to simply shut a door and close off one side of the house (for sleeping kids, for instance). The Abbey Pub near the Ballintuber Abbey was our favorite spot, and Hugh and family will be remembered fondly. But more than that, we found working with the Geraghty's to be a delight. They made sure we were more than taken care of, and that everything was "just right." Our trip to Ireland was a true pleasure, and one that we all will remember for our lifetime. Thank you to Karla and Sean for taking such good care of us. We won't forget it, and highly recommend your home to any travelers to Ireland.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so glad you had a great stay at Teach Mo Chroi'. It reminds us, why we designed the house with this purpose in mind, so that families young and old could gather together to create lifelong memories. It's our pleasure to have been a part of them. All the best, Karla

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great House for All Ages

    Great House for All Ages

    • Guest Freddie (Vermont, USA)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 08/01/11
    This house is perfect for a large group as it is spacious and comfortable. We agree with previous reviews that it looks great in the photos but is even better in person. The beds were all very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water and towels. The kids were very happy they were able to recharge the electronics with the American current and it was so nice to have the washer and dryer and hair dryers. Surrounded by fields, the house is very quiet with beautiful views and spotlessly clean. We were fortunate to have a week of sunshine and easily made many short trips to Cong and Westport. My husband was the driver and he had no problem with the boreen, though his passengers were sometimes a little nervous. One evening we ran into a group of cows who very amiably moved out of the way. All our communications with the owners were very satisfactory. We recommend this house and its gracious owners very highly.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Owner response: While our home is booked nearly full every summer, when our guests return home to their busy lives few take the time to enter a review so we are grateful you made the effort. We work hard to provide a welcoming, clean, and comfortable environment for our guests and believe we have accomplished that goal every time. However, It is very nice to hear it directly from our guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything Outstanding!

    Everything Outstanding!

    • Guest Tom (Schaumburg, Illinois, USA)
    • Date of stay 10/16/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    Stayed here with father, brother and 3 sisters on a once in a lifetime family trip to western Ireland in Oct of 2010. These accommodations were superb and we all wish we could return. This home is well cared for, clean, up to date and has everything you'll ever need for your stay (especially in the kitchen). The bedrooms are large and the 3 bathrooms proved more than adequate. Views from the back yard are breath taking and the location is convenient to many attractions as well as the towns of Westport and Castlebar. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to this area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Home - Fabulous Location!

    Beautiful Home - Fabulous Location!

    • Guest Patrick (Littleton, CO)
    • Date of stay 10/06/10
    • Review Submitted 10/22/10
    Although we stayed in a number of great places during our trip to Ireland, I think I was looking most forward to our stay here. We were not disappointed. Your home is welcoming, and completely comfortable. We enjoyed our time there immensely. The view of Croagh Patrick from the kitchen was a very special moment for us both. The proximity to Westport, Cong, Galway and all points in between made this great places from which to make a home base for any long term stay. Hopefully, we will be able to come back to Ireland before too much time has passed and if possible, we will be sure to stay here again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Lovely Home for Visiting the West of Ireland

    Lovely Home for Visiting the West of Ireland

    • Guest Jen (Atlantic Highlands, NJ)
    • Date of stay 09/26/10
    • Review Submitted 10/13/10
    We just returned from a lovely few days at Teach Mo Chroi. The house is very well appointed with plenty of room for a family to spread out. All of the rooms were very clean and the beds were super comfortable! My daughter loved playing on the swing-set and visiting the nearby horse and cows. It's a great base for visits to Westport, Castlebar and Louisberg, although the drive down the boreen is a bit intimidating. After a day of sightseeing, Teach Mo Chroi was a welcoming place to return to!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Westport Family Reunion

    Westport Family Reunion

    • Guest Westport Family Reunion (Lombard, Il)
    • Date of stay 08/07/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    We just returned from a family reunion with 19 members of our family. We rented 2 houses, this being one of them. We were thrilled with this rental! The home is absolutely beautiful and so comfortable. Everyone had plenty of space to relax, the rooms are very large and decorated so nice! The kitchen was great for a large family dinner and the view from the backyard is spectacular! The location was perfect for touring around County Mayo. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for a rental in the Westport, Castlebar area. IWe hope to stay here again sometime in the future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Accomodations

    Charming Accomodations

    • Guest Bee (Chicago)
    • Date of stay 07/14/10
    • Review Submitted 08/02/10
    We recently stayed at this charming home during a family vacation to our 'ancestral roots'. The home is lovely, very spacious and well appointed. Amenities were plentiful, beds were comfortable and rooms were nicely laid out. Three of the bedrooms were situated in their own 'wing' and could be closed off from the rest of the house for plenty of peace and tranquility. The setting is beautiful. Just don't be scared by the long, very narrow driveway, when first arriving. We used this home as a base for our day trips throughout County Mayo and it worked just perfectly. We visited Westport, Achill Island, Asford Castle, Knock, Ballintubber Abbey and even took in a horse race in Ballinrobe. It is a great place if you want a 'homey' place to come home to after a day of sightseeing.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to explore Ireland’s West Coast

    Great place to explore Ireland’s West Coast

    • Guest Matthew L. (Kingsport, TN, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/03/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    Great house for a large group. We had 8 adults (4 couples) and this is a large house…very impressive. We loved the remote location, yet it was very easy/quick to get into Westport each evening for music and a pint or two. We hiked the “Croagh Patrick” (locals call it “The Reek”), hiked several days in the Connemara area, and spent a great day on Achill Island – all easy drives from this location. The best part of the location for us was the proximity to the Ballintubber Abbey, which was simply amazing…you could actually feel that you were on holy ground. The only thing I can compare it to was my first trip to Rome and Vatican city. We attended Mass on Sunday and found that they have had uninterrupted Mass at this Abbey for 800 years!!! The history here is simply amazing. I highly recommend this property.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ideal setting for our extended family vacation

    Ideal setting for our extended family vacation

    • Guest Linda nad Jim (Pearl River, New York)
    • Date of stay 05/15/10
    • Review Submitted 06/09/10
    For our 40th anniversary Jim and I decided to treat ourselves to a long vacation in Ireland with our grown sons, their wives and our 2 year old granddaughter. It was a dream come true. The house provided the perfect homebase for exploring the west of Ireland and even an easy day trip to Dublin, flights into to Shannon and Dublin were equally accessible. The open layout of the house gave us plenty of room for a mixed little families to spread out and 3 full bathrooms were a godsend. The warm, relaxing living room gave us someplace to unwind at the end of our very busy days. Everyone enjoyed the DVD collection and the myriad TV channels. The american current made it exceptionally easy to re charge phones and cameras. The kitchen was a dream, spacious and FULLY equipped. The large family style table was our planning center each morning and the high chair for our little was a welcome surprize - ( the pack and play crib also worked out perfectly). The BOOK of maps, local info, menus, etc was very helpful, another great touch. The patio was perfect for the long evenings, diiner on the grill, sitting in the swing and my favorite, morning tea in view of misty Croagh Patrick. Our time even allowed Jim and I a chance to kick back and enjoy the house and grounds as we babysat while our kids enjoyed an "alone" night at nearby Ashford Castle. The house and yard gave our little girl a safe place to run and play and experience the neighboring cows and horses. We all enjoyed the long walks down the quiet lanes with extrordinarty views. Our entire trip trip was made so much easier because of your attention to detail from the laundry rooms to the bright, airy bedrooms with comfortable beds, to the welcoming and knowlegeable Maura who greeted us on arrival. Everything far surpassed our expectations - Thank you.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Must Stay!

    A Must Stay!

    • Guest ttroo (Schaumburg, IL (outside Chicago))
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 06/11/10
    This home is great! Spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The website photos are great but in person this home is even better! This house is equipped with an American clothes washer and dryer, great big COMFORTABLE beds; living and lounging areas located away from the bedrooms enough so that people can stay up and socialize without disturbing those that have gone to bed. The kitchen is equipped with just about any utensil you might need and with the back patio offering a gas grill, patio furniture and a swing it is perfect for barbequing or just relaxing. A very unusual feature (and the one I really loved/appreciated) is that this house is wired with both Irish and American style electrical outlets so charging our American made devices was so convenient. ~ Truthfully this house has everything any guest would need. This home is nestled back on a "narrow" and quaint country lane in the village of Ballintubber, about 8 miles outside of Westport and Castlebar town centers. Each day we'd set out to explore another one of the regions spectacular sights. It was perfectly located to do half day or full day trips to places like Ashford Castle, Kylemore Abbey, Clifden and the Connemara Country, Achill Island, Westport Town, Croagh Patrick (didn't climb it, but worth a visit nonetheless), Ballintubber Abbey and a drive into Galway City, just to name a few. Can't say enough about how nice and helpful Karla was when booking our stay. Offering great suggestions about sights to see in the other parts of the country we were planning to tour. Though this is a self catering home, Maura could not have been more accommodating if there was anything we needed. And if by any chance we had forgotten to ask something no worries, as Karla & Gerry had thought of that too. Just inside the house on the telephone table is a very helpful book of information that offers suggestions and answers just about any question you might have. I can't say enough about it. If you plan to visit this area of Ireland you must stay here.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First class and family friendly

    First class and family friendly

    • Guest mike and nancy c (LaGrange, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 03/28/10
    • Review Submitted 04/18/10
    Karla and family, Thanks for making your wonderful house available for us. We stayed but three days, easily could have been three weeks---a GREAT place to start and end a day in the west of Ireland. Thoughtful, friendly owners (Karla and family) have thought of everything travellers might appreciate, and were responsive and a pleasure to make arrangements with. Welcoming agent (Maura) was very helpful with a delightful welcome. The house and grounds are even better than the description and photos indicate. If you're heading out west, I can't imagine a better place to stay. It was our base for daytrips to Westport, Balleycroy, And Leenane. If and when we return to Ireland, this will be number one on our accomodation wish list. Thanks again. Mike and Nancy C

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Karen O'Brien (North Reading, MA)
    • Date of stay 10/07/09
    • Review Submitted 10/07/09
    Teach Mo Chroi was the perfect home for our family's vacation to Ireland. The location was ideal for all the places we visited such as Galway, Connemara National Park and the Kylemore Abbey, Knock, Croagh Patrick, Achill Island as well as the charming towns of Westport, Castlebar and Ballintubber. The Ballintubber Abbey, just a mile down the road, was filled with history and wonderful people. The pastor personally gave us a tour and showed us where St Patrick baptized people. The house itself was spacious, immaculate and extremely comfortable, with all the amenities of home. The whole house converter for US current made the charging of iPods, cell phones, camcorder and the laptop easy. The children enjoyed the basketball court and soccer field as well as the tire swing. The backyard had a beutiful view of Croagh Patrick, and we soon learned that we could tell the weather for the day by looking at the mountain. If we could see it, it would be a beautiful day...if not, bring the raincoats! Staying at Teach Mo Chroi made touring easy as well as relaxing. Without a doubt, on our next trip back to Ireland, we will be looking to stay there!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Volpe Family (Braintree, MA)
    • Date of stay 08/13/09
    • Review Submitted 08/13/09
    Karla & Family -- We wanted to let you know how much we LOVED your home. It was simply paradise!! I don't think there was anything more to ask for. There was not one thing missing! The location was perfect -- centrally located near all the places we wanted to visit and having all that privacy was a bonus! Our children had the best time, between basketball in the drive, soccer in the field, swings and visiting the neighbors (the cows and donkeys), and just being able to be outside and run around. We had great luck with the weather -- just a few rainy spells. We absolutely fell in love with Ireland! It is incredibly beautiful and the people were so friendly and warm -- what a nice change from being around the "Yanks". We will return to Ireland again some day and without a moment's hesitation, would love to stay at your beautiful home again. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Patrick Munroe (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 08/05/09
    • Review Submitted 08/05/09
    I have visited Ireland many many times over the past 35 years and I am therefore familiar with renting Irish accomodations. When I saw and entered Karla's beautiful home I knew I had hit the jackpot and found the dream home of Irish dream homes. Maura who showed us around and familarized us with the house was wonderful, pleasant and very kind. She showed us the American clothes drier and washer and the American style as well as Irish style electrical outlets. A very unusual feature. The home is tastefully decorated with exceptional appointments and was in immaculate condition. You immediately get a very homey feeling when you enter the home and the feeling stays with you even after you leave. It is very comfortable with great beds, living and lounging areas and a well equipped kitchen. There were 9 of us who spent a week there and it was like living in a magical Irish fairy tale. We had more than enough room. Our family were exploring our ancestral homes in the Mayo/Galway area,something we had talked about doing for a long time and finally did. Karla's house was in just the right place. If someone wants a place where there is ready access to Galway, Cong where the movie The Quiet Man was filmed, Yeats country, the wonderful quaint city of Westport, Castlebar, or the Knock airport, then this is the place to stay. An added bonus is the wonderful scenery surrounding the house. From the rear patio one sees Croagh Patrick ( known locally as the Reek ) and it is a lovely majestic mountain. St. Patrick worshipped at it's peak and to this day pilgrims from all over Ireland climb the mountain in an act of worship and penance on the last Sunday of July each year. The house also provides easy access to the very scenic Achill Island area of Mayo. The west coast of Ireland has a mountain range which follows the coast, so on a trip to Galway one can have sea views and mountain views on the same trip. One can visit Connemara, the Gaelic speaking region as well as Cliften en route. We spent a glorious week there and spent our second week on the Irish east coast. Next time we will spend our entire two weeks at Karla's lovely home, take in all the local goodies, relax and enjoy. Karla and Maura, you were so pleasant to work with that we are already looking forward to the next time. You are the best and all of my family agrees. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one. Kind regards. Patrick Munroe

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Hirz Family (Cleveland, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 08/04/09
    • Review Submitted 08/04/09
    What an incredible place!! From the interior decorating to the breathtaking views, this was truly a great place to stay. There was plenty of space for all eleven of us to co-exist in the same house together. We had a delightful time and found the location centralized to everything we wanted to see and do (Westport, Ashford Castle, Achill Island, Croagh Patrick, Knock - Galway, too). We were visiting Ireland to meet with relatives. The house was roomy and well-equipped enough to entertain and feed large parties of guests. We would absolutely book this house again should we decide to make the trek back to Ireland. Thanks for opening your home to us, Karla and Gerry!! Also, a great big thanks to Maura for her hospitality; we appreciate all of her help!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mary Casey (-)
    • Date of stay 07/13/09
    • Review Submitted 07/13/09
    We spent a beautiful week at Carla and Gerry's house. The house was everything she said and more, and the pictures do not do it justice. The scenery around the house was amazing. She was wonderful to accommodate us at such short notice. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest John and Nancy1 (Warren, NJ)
    • Date of stay 04/29/09
    • Review Submitted 04/29/09
    A great place, very comfortable. Warm even when the Irish skies are "spitting". We had been in County Mayo 27 years ago, but had never been to Wesport, Newport, Achill Island or Castlebar. Our hike up Croagh Patrick and up the Coast Road on Achill were very memorable...All the conveniences of home, including a grill in the back yard which allowed us to grill dinner from the local butcher, with Croagh Patrick in the sunset. Awesome...Can't wait to go back. Thanks Gerry and Karla.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Cate2 (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 04/20/09
    • Review Submitted 04/20/09
    Our family of seven stayed in the house for two nights in March 2009. We were beyond pleased -- not just with the house itself, which was lovely and fit our needs perfectly, but with Maura and Karla's attention to our needs. This is the perfect base for exploring Mayo and the Achill Islands, and I can't recommend it enough.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mary E. (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/28/09
    • Review Submitted 03/28/09
    This is a delightfully decorated home with plenty of room for a family gathering. We enjoyed our time here so much; the house is warm and comfortable with a great yard and patio to enjoy on warm days. On cool evenings we enjoyed burning the wood stove and fireplace while we watched Irish movies! Westport is a beautiful little city and the whole area kept us busy with activities for the week we had there. Also, it’s nice to be so near a train route where we easily took a day trip to enjoy Dublin without the worries of driving ourselves. We would love to come back. Thanks, Karla, for sharing your beautiful home with us!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Lynnette Samuel (Twin Lakes, WI)
    • Date of stay 12/04/08
    • Review Submitted 12/04/08
    When my family planned a family reunion in Ireland I was so excited. We had castle, bed and breakfasts and rental cottages that we stayed in. Before the trip I was the most excited about staying in a castle, I didn’t think the bed and breakfasts or cottages would be better than that. However, I was delightfully surprised. We stayed in a beautiful cottage—we would call a house, in Mayo. When we turned into the drive that was barely noticeable with all of the trees and pasture around it, I wasn’t sure what to expect. When we reached the end of the drive, there was the loveliest cottage I could have imagined. It reminded me of all of those postcards you get from places like Ireland . The pastures were green, the cows and sheep were looking at us, and there was the cottage with a big red door. My dad is from Ireland and this trip was a family reunion for his 75th birthday. He immediately fell in love with this place. He actually asked me to get a picture of him standing at the big red door of the cottage. The cottage had large bedrooms and very comfortable bedding. This home was so tastefully decorated and furnished I couldn’t believe what a bargain we received. There was a laundry area with washing machine and dryer. I loved to sit on the backside of the house and stare out into the field, I felt Ireland in every breath sitting in that yard. I hope to return one day and spend an entire week or two at that cottage. As a matter of fact, I couldn’t believe when I did a school project which was setting up a fake Irish tour company. I had been picking lodging in various areas on the internet. When it came to picking lodging in Mayo I read the description of a house and it reminded me of the one we stayed at. I picked the house as an option in my tour company, and when I shoed my sister she said I think that is the house we stayed at in Mayo. I said no way. She looked at the phone number and said it was the one, and when I pulled up a picture of the house, sure enough there was the red door my dad stood in front of! If you are looking for a piece of mind, peace and serenity, and the feel of Ireland , I would highly recommend a stay at this lovely home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Dorothy Sands (Elkhorn, WI)
    • Date of stay 12/03/08
    • Review Submitted 12/02/08
    We stayed here in May 2007. Everything was perfect! Setting was beautiful, directions were accurate and the house was fully enjoyed. Even with ten of us staying there we did not feel crowded in any way. Having the U.S. electric as an option and washer/dryer were bonuses we did not expect. Would definitely stay again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Tom Welsh1 (Naples, Italy)
    • Date of stay 11/30/08
    • Review Submitted 11/30/08
    The pictures simply do not do justice to this place! We stayed here from 22-27 November 2008. The days were short, the weather wet and cold, and not many touristy things to do. This made the house only that much more wonderful: a hot cup of coffee or hot chocolate, a fire and a book. It was all good. The house has lots of room, is very, very clean, and is beautifully decorated. After a day of rides through beautiful County Mayo, to Knock and Galway, we looked forward to returning "home" every night for a hot homemade dinner and some relaxing family time. Moreover, we were warmly greeted by the house's curator who explained how to operate everything and let us know that she was only a phone call away. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone, just not for the week that we are going back! And we are going back again!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dianne Mowery (Burlington, WI)
    • Date of stay 10/08/08
    • Review Submitted 10/08/08
    The house is huge, very clean, and a beautiful view! This house was great!! We visited in May 2007. Every room was very spacious. The kitchen was grand. Plenty of bedrooms and washrooms. There were 10 of us that stayed here. I would recommend anybody to stay here. I hope some day to go back and stay even longer!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Therese Loftus (-)
    • Date of stay 09/25/08
    • Review Submitted 09/25/08
    We stayed with a group in this lovely home last summer and had a wonderful time. Plenty of space, conveniently located, and very scenic! You are just a short drive from a number of historic 'tourist' attractions. The house is beautifully decorated as well. Great for large groups or even those traveling with children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • -

    -

    • Guest Pattylu (Chicago, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 09/22/08
    • Review Submitted 09/22/08
    My family and my brother's family stayed there together in June 2008. There were 10 of us altogether, and we were very comfortable. I especially liked that the kitchen was very large and far enough away from the bedrooms so the early birds and late nighters could have a place to gather. My husband and nephew prepared some great meals there also, it has all the equipment needed. My 11 year old niece really liked the swing set in the yard, and my 18 yr. nephew got to play some rugby outside, too, with a neighbor boy. My son is disabled and so it was difficult for him to use the bathtubs, but the master suite has a walk in shower, so that worked out okay. A shower chair would have been best, but we made do. Maura was helpful when we needed,but there was plenty of information in the house about places to visit nearby. Galway City was fun as well as Kylemore Abbey. We would definitely like to go back to this home!

    Owner response: Sometimes as owners we miss details which can enhance the experience of our guests. We welcome, as well as rely on, your comments and suggestions to enable us to provide the best accommodations possible. On this advice, we have invested in a shower chair as well as some non-slip mats to assist those guests that may require a bit more help in the bathroom.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Susan Whitwell (Chicago, IL)
    • Date of stay 09/22/08
    • Review Submitted 09/22/08
    A charming and wonderful way to enjoy time in Ireland. The house was welcoming, spacious and warm. Could even visit with the cows & sheep in the nearby pasture in the morning! It is ideally located in a quaint little town and perfect for day tours around the west coast. Can't say enough and highly recommend a visit!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Bernadette Scharf (Naperville,IL)
    • Date of stay 09/17/08
    • Review Submitted 09/17/08
    This house is wonderful! The pictures don't do it justice. The house is very big and exceptionally clean. My husband, four children and I were there the first week of August. We went on day trips everyday and saw the whole west coast of Ireland. This house is very close to Castlebar and Westport. My children ages 6-14 loved it! You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere because the view of the mountains and Croagh Patrick are amazing from the back yard! But you are still close enough to visit the bigger cities. Great house and great location!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/14/08
    • Review Submitted 09/14/08
    Our May 2007 family stay in this home was wonderful. It's BIG, clean, and has all the comforts of your own home. Our time there was ideal in every way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest Therese & Arlene L. (mother / daughter) (River Forest, Illinois)
    • Date of stay 08/16/08
    • Review Submitted 06/08/10
    We stayed with a group in this lovely home last summer and had a wonderful time. Plenty of space, conveniently located, and very scenic! You are just a short drive from a number of historic 'tourist' attractions. The house is beautifully decorated as well. Great for large groups or even those traveling with children.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Mark Vander Steeg (Appleton Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 07/29/08
    • Review Submitted 07/29/08
    This home surpassed greatly our expectations. The view of Croagh Patrick was beautiful as were the sheep each day that cam to our pasture. The home is ideally located for travel. The beds were fantastic and the pictures do not do the neatness and elegance of this spacious home justice. We enjoyed meals and wine by the fireplace. The hosts were extremely kind and helpful as was the neighborhood Abbey. You can't go wrong with this home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • What a perfect house for a group!

    What a perfect house for a group!

    • Guest Pattylu (Chicago, IL USA)
    • Date of stay 06/21/08
    • Review Submitted 06/12/10
    My family and my brother's family stayed there together in June 2008. There were 10 of us altogether, and we were very comfortable. I especially liked that the kitchen was very large and far enough away from the bedrooms so the early birds and late nighters could have a place to gather. My husband and nephew prepared some great meals there also, it has all the equipment needed. My 11 year old niece really liked the swing set in the yard, and my 18 yr. nephew got to play some rugby outside, too, with a neighbor boy. My son is disabled and so it was difficult for him to use the bathtubs, but the master suite has a walk in shower, so that worked out okay. A shower chair would have been best, but we made do. Maura was helpful when we needed, but there was plenty of information in the house about places to visit nearby. Galway City was fun as well as Kylemore Abbey. We would definitely like to go back to this home! Owner's Response: Sometimes as owners we miss details which can enhance the experience of our guests. We welcome, as well as rely on, your comments and suggestions to enable us to provide the best accommodations possible. On this advice, we have invested in a shower chair as well as some non-slip mats to assist those guests that may require a bit more help in the bathroom.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]