Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The cottage in summer

Cozy Appalachian Trail Cottage: What Makes You Happy? [#182629] | View Property

Bethel
2 Bedrooms plus large loft with twin bed and double bed, 1 Bathroom, sleeps 7
$185/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (113)

Sort by:
  • The perfect getaway.

    The perfect getaway.

    • Guest Bronwyn R.
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    What a beautiful cottage and ideal natural setting. My husband, daughter and I stayed at the cabin for a long weekend in February along with a couple we are friends with and their infant son. The house is clean, cozy and well organized. We enjoyed the fireplace and making smores. There was a few inches of snow on the ground so we had a ball sledding. We also enjoyed the nearby hiking trails. But mostly we relaxed and enjoyed the fireplace and each others company. We didn't see much of the surrounding area attractions, but did get the chance to stop in to nearby Martin's Market which was worth the trip. If you like peace and quiet and a beautiful natural setting, I can't recommend this place enough. We all agreed that we would love to come back in the warmer weather and do some more hiking and take a dip in the creek.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Rustic but with all the comforts of home

    Rustic but with all the comforts of home

    • Guest Mark` S.
    • Date of stay 01/17/14
    • Review Submitted 03/11/14
    This property was a perfect winter rental. We hiked the nearby snowy Appalachian trail during the day, and warmed up by the fire at night. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking accessories necessary to make any simple or complex meal. The beds were comfortable and the large open dining area/living area was perfect for socializing. I recommend breaking out the Clue game.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Winter's rest...

    Winter's rest...

    • Guest Kate J.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/01/14
    First, the rest and quiet was wonderful--the only sound was the rushing brook or the pattering raindrops on the one rainy day we were there. The stars shone like mirrors on the other nights and the dawn sunrise painted a spectacular sky in the crisp frosty air. For those who like more to do, well, there's plenty and it's close by. For those who like a library--it is quiet and full of interesting books. For those who like to cook--a very large, well-stocked kitchen with great utensils, dishes and the staples that make traveling easier--sugar, coffee, tea, cocoa. For those who like to sleep--the most extraordinarily comfortable beds and pillows. Ahhh. The care that has been taken by Liz and Ken (the owners) to make one feel like a welcome guest is evident throughout. The decor is in harmony with its setting, yet sophisticated and interesting. We brought a 15 year old who absolutely loved climbing the rock-solid ladder to the loft where he remained completely undisturbed since we, the grownups, didn't venture over the top but once. We loved our stay and will try to go again when it's summer and we can look for the secret swing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Winter Wonderland

    Winter Wonderland

    • Guest Wendy (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 12/05/13
    • Review Submitted 12/27/13
    We returned to the "Christmas Cabin" for a long weekend filled with holiday cheer. As a part of that endeavor - we baked cookies, filled out our holiday cards, and watched our favorite holiday classics. We also took a day trip to Littitz, PA where they were having a holiday festival complete with street musicians, Santa Claus riding down the street on a fire truck, and a scavenger hunt for kids at all the local businesses! Our new adventure included a trip to the Peanut Shoppe in Port Clinton where we purchased new and old-school treats for the whole family to enjoy. On our last day at the cabin we were greeted with a heavy snowfall to round out the winter wonderland. We only wish we could have stayed curled up by the fire. . . Thanks again to Liz and Ken for sharing your charming and cozy cabin with all of us!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heavenly Wild!

    Heavenly Wild!

    • Guest Renee (Greater Philadelphia)
    • Date of stay 11/22/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    Looking for a wonderful cabin in the woods -- with all the amenities, including full S'mores fixings? -- well, look no further. Snug and charming, we found our hideaway just right in every way. Clean, cozy, and far enough off the beaten path to get some real R&R (beds are divine!), yet close enough to plenty of diversions, restaurants, shops, etc. Owners were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. You just can't ask for a better getaway!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • THIS COTTAGE MAKES US HAPPY!!!

    THIS COTTAGE MAKES US HAPPY!!!

    • Guest Alyson E.
    • Date of stay 09/27/13
    • Review Submitted 10/23/13
    WOW!! Everything about this lovely space says "welcome! you are home now!" in the most cozy, charming, and self assured way. It is truly impossible not to relax, unclench, and breathe a bit more deeply in the comforts of this clean & cared for home. My two girlfriends and I gathered here to celebrate our 40th birthdays and many years of friendship, and we're all discussing how soon we can come back, both together, and with our families, to experience again the magic of this cabin & environs. Liz is fantastic to work with, and feels like a friend after just an email or two. From the perfectly appointed kitchen (frosty beer mugs! space for your own stuff! a lovely coffee grinder! s'mores provisions!) to helpful notes and suggestions, to a fireplace thoughtfully at the ready, to wonderfully comfortable bedding and pillows, Liz has clearly offered not just her home but a bit of her heart. We are most thankful our chance to enjoy this very special place and recommend it wholeheartedly!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Everything we hoped for and more

    Everything we hoped for and more

    • Guest Michael K.
    • Date of stay 08/30/13
    • Review Submitted 09/10/13
    I guess the best place to start is to say that if you rent the cabin, you're not renting a house, you're renting a home. It's apparent from the old photographs and the immaculate upkeep of the cabin that this is/was a labor of love. We felt at home from the moment we walked through the door and fortunate to have found such a gem. They get the big things right.... - clean! - everything thoughtfully organized - helpful information about local services, attractions, etc. - notes galore on operation of the tv, internet, heating/cooling so there's never a moment of frustration. They get the small things right.... - fireplace loaded and ready to be lit (too bad it was a warm/muggy weekend) - S'mores fixins attractively arranged on the dining table. - Frosty mugs waiting in the freezer which we enjoyed several times. Everything you could possibly want is there, and exactly where it should be. Every time I found myself wondering "do they have this", and "I wonder if it's over here", there it was. My wife wanted to make chocolate chip cookies from scratch for her father (who is local to the area), we went to make a list and found the only thing we needed were the chips. Amazing. If you've got things to do in the area as we did, or better yet nothing to do, this is an ideal place to call home. We've rented many places over the years and this is by far our best experience. Kudos to the owners for their continued commitment to excellence. Until we can return again, please don't change a thing. Cheers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful, cozy, serene... just perfect!

    Peaceful, cozy, serene... just perfect!

    • Guest Jennifer F.
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 09/03/13
    I stayed at this wonderful place with my daughter (5 years old) and two friends of mine and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Liz was so incredibly kind, helpful, well organized - everything was perfectly prepared so we immediately felt completely at home. My daughter loved it too - plenty for her to play inside; and the creek, rocks to climb and the swing outside made it the perfect natural playground. The cottage is perfectly cozy, yet with plenty of space and at the same time we had the opportunity to explore some of the natural attractions in the surroundings - thanks to Liz's great list of ideas and recommendations. All in all, we all just loved it and would love to stay there again some day - highly recommended to all! Many sincere thanks to Liz and family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Slice Of Heaven!

    A Slice Of Heaven!

    • Guest Dennis R.
    • Date of stay 08/03/13
    • Review Submitted 08/18/13
    This cabin is so fantastic! It's hard to add much to all the reviews you can read here, but believe every word. If you can't relax and unwind while staying here, I'm afraid relaxation will forever escape you! We enjoyed EVERYTHING about the cabin and our dealings with Liz. She leaves lots of little notes; read them because every one of them helps you enjoy your time there. The location is great; close to many things but away from everything at the same time. It's an easy place to maintain a slow pace and to enjoy life's little wonders. We hadn't even made it inside the cabin when I saw the glider on the porch and was already in heaven. That glider, on that porch, guitar in hand and libation nearby....well, there's not much left on my bucket list after that. We started our days late on purpose and very slowly branched back out into the world where we took in only a few of the many suggestions Liz has thoughtfully left for you. We would eat a late lunch/early dinner, always mindful of the time needed to get back to the cabin for a few cocktails on the porch, a fire in that gorgeous fireplace and light snacks and s'mores. Now I don't know if I ever ate (3) s'mores in my life, on purpose. But my wife toasted the marshmallows that first night and put one together and I must say, in those evening moments, by that fire, it would seem strange to NOT eat a s'more. I loved the fact that from the outside the cabin looks as if it's remote enough for a moonshine still out back yet in side is all the luxury and amenity you can imagine. The kitchen is wonderfully modern and well appointed. There are games, books, all kinds of things to keep you occupied if you need it. There was TV we never turned on and a nice sounding stereo which we used a little bit. Still, I was looking for a place to do nothing and this was the place to do it. We left very reluctantly as I'm sure most guests do and it really feels like you are leaving old friends that you want to get back and see again soon. Liz is a marvel; helpful and accommodating at every turn. It's not a question of if we'll return to this cabin, just a matter of when. Already we've started framing conversations about other stays we may need to make that are not precisely 'vacation', in terms of 'it's that's not far from the cabin, we could stay there'! You will enjoy your stay here! Very highly recommended!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peace & Tranquility

    Peace & Tranquility

    • Guest Joe & Debbie B. (Lebanon County, PA)
    • Date of stay 07/21/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    My husband and I needed some time away from our ministry to unwind. We were able to reserve this awesome cabin very quickly! What a blessing! The cabin is so rustic on the outside but completely redone and up-to-date on the inside. I was thrilled at the amount of electrical outlets throughout. The kitchen is very comfortable with everything you would want to create any culinary masterpiece. I told my husband how much I enjoyed cooking in someone else's kitchen with all the right pots and pans necessary. What a joy! The coffee grinder was great and created some fabulous coffee. We had quite a bit of rain but not worry! There are plenty of board games to choose from. Our hiking trip got seriously bugged out but that was due to high heat and humidity. The cabin was, however, extremely comfortable with plenty of fans and open windows. Oh and Liz has created an amazing book of "Things to Do in the Area" that is excellent. You won't have to plan until you get there! Only drawback is there is no outside fire pit...but that didn't take away from the enjoyment of our get-away.Thanks Liz for creating such a peaceful place to remove ourselves from life for a few days. God Bless You!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • The Perfect Getaway

    The Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Amy S.
    • Date of stay 07/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/24/13
    I can't say enough positive things about The Appalachian Cottage and the owners Liz and Ken! This was my first VRBO experience and it was 100% positive. The cottage is just as adorable in person as it appears in pictures - it's the prefect blend of mountain-cottage charm and modern updates. And it's pristine - loved that! From the comfy beds and fluffy towels, to the well-stocked kitchen that I LOVED cooking in, we couldn't stop saying "This place is sooo cute!" We were there during a 90+ degree heatwave, but with the canopy of trees, the cool stream just steps from the front door, and the whole-house exhaust fans, the cottage was still quite comfortable! It felt luxurious, yet peaceful and secluded. We had delightful short trips out to Blue Marsh Lake for a 'beach day', Clover Hill winery for a surprising delightful wine tasting, and a stroll down West Reading's Penn Ave to explore the trendy and unique shops - a little but of everything is within 30 minutes or so. And I must say, working with the owner Liz was delightful. She's gracious, quick to respond to questions, and makes you feel as though you are chatting with a dear old friend - so welcoming! This was truly a 5-star rental that I hope to return to in the future. Thanks Liz and Ken!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best vacation ever!

    Best vacation ever!

    • Guest Christopher P.
    • Date of stay 07/07/13
    • Review Submitted 07/14/13
    My fiancé and I had the time of our lives here, everything was so peaceful and secluded. It felt like we had the whole mountain to ourselves. The cabin itself was so crisp and cool during the hot summer days and nights,We even made a fire in the beautiful fireplace! We slept like babys during the night and had a lovely hike during the day. Thank you Soo much Liz and Ken.. We Will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Easy Getaway

    Easy Getaway

    • Guest tom m.
    • Date of stay 05/23/13
    • Review Submitted 06/01/13
    My wife, two adult sons and I made a quick and easy drive from our Bucks County Pa house to the location. The feel of the cabin and the woods, however, was far from Philadelphia suburbia. The condition of the cabin was immaculate and the eclectic decor and varied books were immediately welcoming. My sons found an Appalachian Trail map and put it to use with a four mile hike south. Based on a tip from Liz, they found a beautiful spring fed lake not far off the trail that few other hikers seemed aware of. This was the highlight of their stay. Mine was some excellent trout fishing in nearby Little Schuylkill Creek. We enjoyed many of the suggestions found in Liz' little black book. America's oldest brewery - Yuengling was not far and the tour interesting. A hike at Hawk Mountain had us planning a return trip in the fall when the hawks are migrating. West Reading had shops and restaurants we never knew of and definitely worth investigating. Clover Hill Winery had some good wines and biking along Tulpehocken Creek was flat, shady and scenic for many miles. After busy days outdoors, we relaxed with dinners in a well stocked kitchen.The fireplace was great, lit easily and provided a perfect setting to open some windows and listen to the quiet of nature. A great spot to leave it all behind and relax.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • We Didn't Want To Leave

    We Didn't Want To Leave

    • Guest J C. (Wilmington DE, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/14/13
    From the initial email to the final wrap-up, we had a wonderful experience renting from Liz and Ken. The directions to the cabin, keys, and all the details of settling in were simple and helpful. The cabin was immaculate and homey, and well-stocked with kitchen and bathroom items. From having a fire laid in the fireplace, ready for us to strike a match, to the fluffy towels, to the assortment of coffee, tea and hot cocoa, we found everything to be even better than expected. The front porch was the perfect spot for our morning coffee and evening glass of wine. We had wonderful weather so we hiked, toured the Yuengling Brewery, went wine-tasting, shopped at the flea/farmer's market, and visited Hawk Mountain. We wouldn't have minded some rain because the cabin had masses of books, magazines, games and puzzles which we didn't have time to enjoy this time around. As soon as our schedules allow, we will be back. I'm already recommending this cabin to friends and relatives, so I hope there will be room on the calendar for our group of 4.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Jenny V.
    • Date of stay 04/17/13
    • Review Submitted 04/18/13
    We loved the cabin! Everything was perfectly organized for a relaxing weekend in the woods. The cabin is so well decorated. The kitchen is very well equipped, the beds are very comfortable. The fireplace was amazing and the marshmallows delicious! We hiked for hours on the Appalachian trail without seeing people. We'll be back!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The cottage

    The cottage

    • Guest Suzette S.
    • Date of stay 01/11/13
    • Review Submitted 01/16/13
    another world, cozy, well appointed and yet close enough to home in the philly suburbs. we loved this place! the weather was cold and wet but we STILL had a great time building fires, roasting marshmallows and playing games. we ventured out to a funky flee market, ate some down-home food and bought too much candy in port clinton, all welcome childish delights! Liz, your enthusiasm, and desire for a great experience was felt and realized. many thanks. i can't wait to get there again to walk in the woods. thank you for creating and sharing such a special place. all the best, sps

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect!

    Perfect!

    • Guest Sarah B (Wyoming)
    • Date of stay 12/28/12
    • Review Submitted 01/27/13
    I was looking for an inexpensive, cozy getaway for my sister's 30th birthday when I happened upon Liz's cabin. One look at the pictures and the reviews and I just had a sense that this was it. I couldn't have been more right! I quickly reached out to Liz and asked about the dates. It was a holiday weekend and often, those dates can be tough to reserve because owners are looking for very specific rental dates. Liz worked with me from the start and made the entire booking process painless. She was responsive to questions up front and continued to make herself available through our time at the cabin. The cabin is perfect. Quaint, comfortable, clean and really spacious. We had seven in our party and didn't once feel too crowded. We played games, took a glass blowing class at Goggleworks in Reading, found a great restaurant thanks to Liz's extensive local homemade guidebok, cooked, laughed...it really was perfect. I live in Wyoming so won't be able to visit quite as often as I'd like, but the rest of the ladies have already started planning their next visit. I have a feeling that Liz's cabin will be a part of our friends' and family's future traditions for a long time to come.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cozy Christmas Cabin Revisited!

    Cozy Christmas Cabin Revisited!

    • Guest Wendy (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 12/22/12
    Every year we take a trip to Liz and Ken's wonderful cottage in the woods and every year new and happy memories are created! This year we came over a very chilly and rainy weekend - which was still perfect for enjoying fires, baking cookies and playing in the loft. Every year we try and do something new - this year's joy was a trip to Lititz, PA - a charming little town about an hour away from the cottage. We went to some great stores including the local toy store, the book store, and the Curiousity Shop that everyone loved and where we finished up our Christmas shopping. We also had lunch at a place called Tomato Pie - cozy and delicious and purchased some sweet treats at the Wilbur chocolate store and museum. A great day and some great new memories. Thanks as always - we will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A clean, comfortable, quiet retreat!

    A clean, comfortable, quiet retreat!

    • Guest Nicole K.
    • Date of stay 11/22/12
    • Review Submitted 12/19/12
    The cabin is incredible homey, tastefully decorated, clean, and complete with everything you could need. We felt so at home here we truly didn't want to leave. Our two young children LOVED the spacious loft stocked with toys. If you want a quiet mountain experience, this is it. But if you need a little more, there is internet, cable, books, and numerous activity suggestions. Liz and Ken leave a detailed book with lots of sight seeing recommendations and helpful tips. The property is isolated enough to feel private but not so much that you feel lost. Having coffee on the porch, sitting by the roaring fire, finding the "secret swing" up on the mountain, a welcome kit for making smores, and listening to the children play in the loft...all make for great memories. But we will surely rent the cabin again. I miss it already.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Absolutely Perfect Experience

    Absolutely Perfect Experience

    • Guest Joe P.
    • Date of stay 11/15/12
    • Review Submitted 11/21/12
    This was the absolutely perfect place for our long weekend. It was me and my wife's 1st wedding anniversary and we wanted a nice relaxing weekend away, and that is exactly what we got. We arrived late on Thursday night and found the place with no trouble at all thanks to the owner's (Liz) door to door directions. Upon entering the cottage we were greeted with a nice hand written note, a bottle of sparkling cider and two glasses and some supplies to make smores on the fire. The house was so well maintained and so clean, was decorated really great and just the overall layout and design made the place so inviting and enjoyable. We built a fire in the great stone fireplace, opened some wine, and just had the most relaxing and stress free weekend. The house has everything you could possibly need with the exception of your clothes and groceries. From towels to blankets, board games, wireless internet and cable, firewood, there isn't anything we needed that we didn't have. And if you're looking for privacy, there is a ton of that too. Liz was so helpful in helping us plan some activities and things to do while up there, and the binder at the cottage gives you SO many options of things to do, a description of them, and directions to them as well. After speaking with her the first few times, it was as if we'd known her for years and it was just the personal experience we needed. We will absolutely be returning to this place and we look forward to even staying longer. You will not find a better place to go and although we don't have any, it is very kid friendly and they made sure to keep the kinds in mind with the loft and all of the toys and games supplied in the house. As for what we did; Friday we went into West Reading, which was about 30 minutes. There are lots of little shops, some good restaurants and dessert shops, and we just walked around for a while. Saturday we did a mini winery Tour visiting a few of the local wineries, all of the information was provided by Liz and we got around just fine. We look forward to returning and can't wait to go back.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Weekend Away

    A Weekend Away

    • Guest Casey (NJ)
    • Date of stay 10/25/12
    • Review Submitted 11/29/12
    My husband and I were looking for a weekend getaway and thought this cabin might fit the bill. It far exceeded our expectations. While Liz and Ken have a notebook full of ideas for exploring the area, we chose to stay in and do nothing but read books, enjoying the absolute quiet of the woods  The cabin has a rustic exterior but the inside is fully drywalled and is weather-tight so you'll be very comfortable.  The five star reviews are spot-on and I'll venture to say you'll not find nicer hosts anywhere on VRBO!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Would highly recommend

    Would highly recommend

    • Guest Jamin Y.
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 10/21/12
    My wife, three young daughters, and I thoroughly enjoyed several nights and a day at the Appalachian Trail Cottage. We needed respite from what has been an absolutely crazy life for the last several months. We felt restored after our short time there, and hope to return someday. The cabin is beautiful and fully furnished. It rained through early afternoon the day we were there, so we made s'mores, watched a movie, and the girls played with some of the many toys in the loft. We enjoyed the fall splendor surrounding cabin and in the late afternoon, went hiking on the nearby Appalachian trail. Thanks for the wonderful time in a beautiful setting!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A great find, nice cabin tucked away in the woods

    A great find, nice cabin tucked away in the woods

    • Guest Karl5 (-)
    • Date of stay 10/06/12
    • Review Submitted 10/16/12
    This place is great, we loved it. If you are considering this cabin, you will not be disappointed. My three children loved the loft, ladder and all the toys, books and games provided. No need to bring any books or toys, it is all there. Cozy and warm feeling inside the place, nice fireplace (we were provided with plenty of wood for the fire and makings for Smore's). Close to a lot of activities, especially hiking trails. Hope to return again.....Liz, the owner is very kind and easy to deal with and will go above and beyond the call to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Yes, I would recommend it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Felt Like Home Immediately

    Felt Like Home Immediately

    • Guest Lynne V.
    • Date of stay 09/09/12
    • Review Submitted 09/21/12
    The moment we walked into the cabin, we felt at home. It is exactly as described in all the glowing recommendations - we didn't believe it would live up to the hype, but it really did (and then some)! My sister, cousin and I take a week at the end of each summer to spend a week together - we call it our "WONK" (Women Only - No Kids). Over the past 20 years, our WONKs were spent at the beach or on cruises, so we were used to a lot of activity. As we are all 'city girls,' we were a little apprehensive about spending a week in the woods, but it proved to be exactly what we needed! Thank you Liz and Ken for being the absolute perfect hosts. The advice and sightseeing suggestions we received from Liz were spot-on, and the cabin 'instructions' made it easy to settle into the peaceful space. We visited Hawk's Mountain (I think that's what it's called), took Amish buggy rides, and generally ate and shopped our way through the area. We were especially enchanted with the people we met - very friendly, helpful, and genuine. All in all, we loved it, and understand why people keep coming back for more! Thanks again for everything. I just wish we could award more stars!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Little Slice of Heaven

    A Little Slice of Heaven

    • Guest L (Mohnton, PA)
    • Date of stay 09/07/12
    • Review Submitted 09/13/12
    Instead of having a bachelorette party, my bridesmaids and I rented this cabin for the weekend. The cabin was beautifully updated with all the modern conveniences of being at home. Even though there was 5 girls, we felt like we had a lot of room to spread out. I loved waking up and sitting on the porch with a cup of coffee. There were very clear instructions for everything and the owner was more than happy to answer any questions we had. I plan on staying again, but with the hubby next time :)

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful cabin getaway

    Wonderful cabin getaway

    • Guest Ismail K.
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    We had a wonderful stay at this property over Labor Day weekend. The location is easily accessible from NYC/Philly/DC and once you arrive you are completely surrounded by the woods. The property is well furnished, stocked with all the kitchen essentials needed, clean, and very comfortable. We had the fireplace going a few nights and enjoyed some of the hiking trails nearby. Great customer service leading up to the trip and while we were there. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a weekend escape!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    • Guest kathy f.
    • Date of stay 08/19/12
    • Review Submitted 08/26/12
    This secluded, magical cottage is only five minutes away from a major highway, yet you feel like you are in the middle of 200 acres of seclusion. The cottage is modern inside, with brand new kitchen, bathroom, and all appliances that provide the comfort of home. The huge porch provides a pleasant breeze, and a view of the woods and stream. A hike up the mountain, behind the house, takes you on a journey to the "secret swing".......a beautiful ride above the mountains. A five-minute car ride takes you to the parking lot to hike the Appalacian Trail. You can hike 1 mile to the mystery frog pond, and an eight mile hike to the waterfalls, or more. "Smores" supplies are provided by the generous owners of the Magical Cottage, and the fireplace provided a cozy vehicle to create a forever memory as we enjoyed "Smores" in August! My husband, daughter (30 years old) and friend had the best week ever. We came back rested, refreshed and so happy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect way to relax!

    Perfect way to relax!

    • Guest Nicole G.
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 12/31/12
    We LOVE this place! This was my second time staying here and it was as peaceful the second time as it was the first. My first stay was a weekend away with my sister, the location was about half way between us (MD and MA) and easy to get to. The second stay was a birthday present to my boyfriend and he loved it. The cottage is cozy and comfortable and the owner's hospitality is amazing. There's plenty to do in the area but, that's only if you can bring yourself to leave the cabin. The porch is perfect for relaxing and there's nothing better than curling up with a warm drink and a good book in front of the fireplace. I can't wait to go back. My sister and I are already scheming our next girl's weekend there this summer. The only downside to the cabin is having to leave it at the end of the stay. Even my boyfriend looked sad when we left. PS. We'd love to take the Jeep stay at the cabin in the winter after a fresh snow.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Cabin For All Seasons

    A Cabin For All Seasons

    • Guest June B.
    • Date of stay 07/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/24/12
    Pennsylvainia was stunningly beautiful and having a rustic gem of a cabin in the Blue Mountains to relax and rejuvenate was pure nirvana. I frequently use vacation rental sites for my travel lodging from three or four days to a month. Ken and Liz's homey, but updated cabin is enhanced by their own personal charm, which is evident the moment you step onto the porch. There is a sense of coming home, of welcoming. I look forward to experiencing the remaining three seasons at the AT cottage, including reading by the living room fireplace or just sipping wine on the porch. We enjoyed the nearby caves and walking the Appalachian Trail. Breakfast in Hershey and dinner at The Grey Stone Restaurant in Pottsville should be on your to-do list. If you don't have your very own cabin in the woods, then do the next best thing. Email Ken and Liz and book theirs!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The best little cabin in the woods

    The best little cabin in the woods

    • Guest Susan B.
    • Date of stay 06/12/12
    • Review Submitted 07/02/12
    What a wonderful, peaceful and beautiful retreat. Even the pictures don't do this gem justice. The sparkling creek, the woodland setting and the fabulous layout of the cabin itself ensure peace and relaxation aplenty. The cabin is beautifully laid out with a cute sleeping loft, two ample bedrooms and a modern kitchen that would put most others to shame. Having morning coffee on the rustic front porch is the delight at the beginning of the day and a homey fire sparking in the stone hearth is the perfect ending. There is so much to see and do in the area and the hosts have scads of information and directions to and about everything. Walk the Appalachian Trail, bike through state game lands, swim in a refreshing water hole, hike Hawk Mountain and sample the local fair, knowing all the time you have a restful spot to call home when all the fun is over for the day. Beautifully equipped and very accessible to many activities. We will definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Bride to Be Nests with Best Friends in Blissful Cabin

    Bride to Be Nests with Best Friends in Blissful Cabin

    • Guest slee (Philadelphia, PA)
    • Date of stay 05/26/12
    • Review Submitted 06/11/12
    This is a gorgeous, nourishing place! I came on memorial day weekend with two friends to celebrate that my wedding would be in less than a month. When we arrived we were struck by how GREEN it was. There were s'more fixins on the table ready for our fire. The kitchen was ample for cooking and candle light meals. We spent the weekend drinking tea on the porch, hiking the Appalachian Trail (just up the road!), watching movies, and even doing some yoga on the porch. I hope to be back someday!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Wow!!! I am amazed that this bride wrote this review a couple of weeks after her wedding. At a time when she had a million things to do, she took precious moments to sit down and reflect upon her experience at our place and share her thoughts with everyone visiting our site. That means the world to Ken and me. We wish her the best in her new life and look forward to her return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful Cabin in the woods

    Peaceful Cabin in the woods

    • Guest Caitlin C.
    • Date of stay 04/06/12
    • Review Submitted 05/09/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this beautifully designed cabin in the woods. It was so good to sit at the kitchen table and look out at the expanse of trees or walk down to the babbling brook and let my daughter splash around. The cabin met and exceded our expectations. It is the happy marriage of coziness with all modern conveniences:wifi, cable tv, washer dryer, etc The cabin is beautifully kept and lovingly designed with great attention to detail. We were greeted with the makings for smores and the wood was set up in the fireplace for a fire. It was the ultimate sign of welcome and care. We had three small children with us-so we visited Dutch Wonderland (about an hours drive) and the kids got a huge kick out of the place. There were no lines on the day we visited. Overall, I think this is an ideal place to relax and enjoy your family or friends!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cozy spot in a relaxing location

    Cozy spot in a relaxing location

    • Guest Gordon C. (Huntingtown, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 04/01/12
    • Review Submitted 04/07/12
    Our family of 5 chose this location because of proximity to the Appalachian Trail and because of the consistently awesome reviews. From the start, Liz did everything she could to make this an enjoyable experience - even allowed our dog, Pumpkin, to stay. This was spring break for our three children (17, 15 & 12) and was more relaxing than we could have imagined. Of course we had some teen outbursts but overall it was just what we needed - especially with our eldest leaving for college soon. We made a fire every night and split our wood into 2"x2" slats for easy burning. Roasted a few marshmallows each night (thanks Liz)! We also managed to avoid watching any TV until the 4th night - but then only to keep up with Survivor. We hiked on the Appalachian trail, the Ken Lowe trail and drove into te town of Lititz for Wilbur Chocolates and to eat at the Tomatoe Pie Cafe. For my wife it was most relaxing as she was able to idly sit back and read in front of the fire or sit on the porch and enjoy the relative silence of nature. The cottage is clean, well stocked and very quiet. Thank you for the peace and quiet!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful place in the woods

    A wonderful place in the woods

    • Guest Jessamyn T. (New York, New York)
    • Date of stay 03/30/12
    • Review Submitted 06/25/12
    Liz and her family have a wonderful place in the woods.It is beautifully kept, and Liz is a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Never Disappoints

    Never Disappoints

    • Guest Jeffrey R. (Keansburg, NJ)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    This being out second visit to this quaint little cabin, I had been counting the days until our arrival. And of course Ken & Liz didn't disappoint! This was actually a surprise weekend for my wife who had been having a busy few weeks at work and needed a relaxing getaway. I also invited another couple to join us for our first night - and it was so nice to kick back in front of the fire an chat. The morning coffee on the front porch couldn't have been more perfect. I am already trying to figure out when we can make out next trip! Long live Liz & Ken! :-)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful hideaway

    wonderful hideaway

    • Guest elizabeth z.
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    The cozy Appalachian trail cottage is a lovely, quiet hideaway dreamily close to the Appalachian trail and lots of hiking. Liz and Ken are amazing hosts; kind, thoughtful, clean and organized! A perfect meet me in the middle spot between NYC and Washington DC!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Getaway

    Amazing Getaway

    • Guest Andrew S.
    • Date of stay 02/10/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    My husband and I spent an amazing weekend at this cabin getaway. From the moment we walked in the door and saw the makings for s'mores on the table, we knew that this place was special. Every detail was wonderful -- dry firewood on the front porch, well stocked kitchen, much attention to "comforts" of home. It is nice to know that an oasis is a short drive from home. We were able to take part in the Berks County Wine Trail Wine & Chocolate weekend as well. We enjoyed a somewhat snowy weekend, cannot wait to come back and enjoy the other seasons. Thank you Liz and Ken for all you have done to make this a great retreat. We have been spreading your praises to all who will listen. Cindy & Andrew

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Stay

    Perfect Stay

    • Guest leanne b. (jersey city)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/01/12
    Spent this past weekend at the super cozy AT Cabin! 'Cabin' is an understatement, its really a modern, well appointed home. It beautiful, clean, and super comfortable. We spent almost the entire weekend inside near the fire and around the kitchen table, exactly the seclusion and relaxation we were looking for. There are plenty of opportunities for peaceful walks in any direction when you leave the house. Owners are super friendly and very helpful with questions, everything has directions and works great. I would recommend staying here to almost anyone, the loft might be tricky for some folks, as its accessed from a ladder and has a low ceiling, but its really just extra space, the main floor of the cabin is plenty. Loved it and will go back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • secluded cozy getaway!

    secluded cozy getaway!

    • Guest leanne b. (jersey city)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 01/31/12
    Just returned from a wonderful relaxing weekend at the cabin! Its really a beautiful modern well appointed home more than it is a cabin! Has everything you need as is described in the listing. Liz is super friendly and helpful with any questions. Will make it a point to return soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another wonderful visit

    Another wonderful visit

    • Guest Michael W. (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 01/02/12
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    We had another wonderful visit to the AT Cabin. Liz and Ken are wonderful hosts and the visit was perfect in every way.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect getaway with friends!

    Perfect getaway with friends!

    • Guest Amanda W.
    • Date of stay 12/30/11
    • Review Submitted 03/20/12
    A group of friends (3 couples) stayed at the cabin for New Year's this past year and it was an AMAZING time!! The cabin is the perfect size and a great balance of comfort and rustic charm. Liz and Ken are gracious and attentive, even leaving smores in the kitchen and and cold beer mugs in the freezer for us upon arrival! We can't wait to come back in different seasons.. Great place to relax, recharge, reconnect...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Holiday week at the cabin

    Holiday week at the cabin

    • Guest Sue S.
    • Date of stay 12/20/11
    • Review Submitted 01/11/12
    We loved the cabin. The minute we walked in the front door and saw the stonewall fireplace and the ladder to the loft we fell in love. It is obvious to us why we see so many repeat families coming back to this cabin. It is clean and obviously loved. The cabin is full of many extras; such as teas, coffee, reading glasses, suntan lotion and a variety of children's toys. We even found day-glow orange caps and vest for safe hiking during hunting season. It was quiet and comfortable. The owners have thought of everything right down to providing firewood and all the fixing for smores. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything one could need. My son and granddaughter loved the loft. He played with the dinosaurs and train tracks all week. Several members of our family hiked up around the back and found the secret swing. They had a blast. Though there are plenty of activities to participate in the area. This cabin is a perfect peaceful retreat. We had a lovely relaxing Christmas in its warmth. We'll back. The owners responses prior to and throughout were helpful and immediate. We have already made tentative to return. Our friends have asked where this wonderful place was just so they can stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • relaxing weekend

    relaxing weekend

    • Guest Katharine D.
    • Date of stay 12/15/11
    • Review Submitted 12/19/11
    My family of 5 spent a wonderful winter weekend at this cottage to celebrate my husband's birthday. We did a little hiking, a little cooking and a lot of relaxing. It was a wonderful place to "get away from it all" and reconnect as a family. My children spent hours in the loft, and while they needed a bit of help getting up and down the ladder, it was a perfect place to play. We will definitely come again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Cottage

    The Cottage

    • Guest Jan M.
    • Date of stay 11/22/11
    • Review Submitted 12/09/11
    We spent our Thanksgiving holiday at this wonderful cottage. It was as described and more. The setting was uncrowded and peaceful. It was just what a bunch of city people needed to regroup from our busy lives. The owners were thoughtful and attentive to our needs. We especially enjoyed the notebooks filled with ideas for viewing the local sites. Our visits to the Appalachian Trail and Yuengling Brewery were highlights for us. The cabin was clean and well-maintained. We would stay here again if the opportunity should present itself.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Cabin Experience

    Amazing Cabin Experience

    • Guest Richard M.
    • Date of stay 11/18/11
    • Review Submitted 11/21/11
    I was on the search for a cozy cabin half way between Washington DC and New York City and this is it! Had an amazing time staying at Liz and Ken's one of a kind cabin. In the thick of the woods you really feel tucked away and still only a short drive to civilization. I will definitely be staying here again. Hiking, And S'mores are literally waiting....

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Retreat

    Perfect Retreat

    • Guest Sara J.
    • Date of stay 11/09/11
    • Review Submitted 12/03/11
    This was a perfect spot for our work retreat. The cabin is cozy, comfortable and well appointed and maintained. It has a wonderful combination of modern convemiences and old fashioned charm. The two bedrooms are spacious, and the loft worked well for two adult men, low celings notwithstanding. With five adults indoors for much of the time, we never felt crowded, and we felt very well taken care of. Our hosts were helpful with every detail, from step-by-step directions to troubleshooting internet connectivity while we were there. They also left fixins for smores, along with firewood and kindling - a really thoughtful touch. It was raining a good bit of the time we were there, so we didn't spend much time outdoors, but the setting is beautiful, in the hills nestled among a stream and woodland trails. I highly recommend the cabin for anyone looking for a peaceful retreat not too far from the city.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fun at the Cottage!

    Fun at the Cottage!

    • Guest Ed & Maryann S.
    • Date of stay 10/19/11
    • Review Submitted 10/27/11
    Great time! Very cozy and relaxing. Just what my wife and I needed. Beautiful place. Very clean and comfortable We were there two days and didn't venture out much. We had the fire going and had intimate dinners right there. The porch was fun to sit out on and listen to the stream down below. We hope to be back next year. Liz and Ken were wonderful hosts. Anything we needed was just a phone call away. We would recommend this cabin every one of our friends. Enjoy!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Matt and 3 princesses in the cabin!

    Matt and 3 princesses in the cabin!

    • Guest matt m.
    • Date of stay 09/03/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    We arrived Saturday morning to find much more than a "cabin" in the woods. "WOW" were the first words out of our mouths. My 5 year old daughter immediately went up to the "loft" and was enthralled. Everything is so clean and well kept. The smores and skewers were even out and ready for the fireplace. Liz was so helpful before we got there and even while we were there. She told us where the "cool" places were to go and visit. We even had internet to search for things in the area. Although, Liz is full of info on the area and can tell what's the best for your family. We left Saturday afternoon to go the PA Energy Fest. I'm no tree hugger but the carnival atmosphere was awesome for my family (just as Liz predicted). We came back to the cottage after dinner and stoked a good fire for smores (and to keep us warm). Even though the heat system is fantastic, there's nothing like a roaring fire keep you warm! On Sunday we woke up to the smouldering ashes and threw on some more logs. This got us through breakfast. When the fire died down, we went to see the old fashioned train ride and Crystal Cave (both were Liz's recommendations). They are both about 20 minutes away and an easy country drive. Both were outstanding suggestions for my family. She also has multiple booklets of attractions which most of them were hand written (showing her dedication to guest services) Going out to these places is nice but the next time we go, we are going to stay right there on the property and explore the nature and enjoy the cottage more. Everything you can possibly need is inside (or outside even). And, Liz is the most gracious and sweet host. There is plenty of room for even a large family with all the amenities that make you feel at home (despite being the only house for as far as the eye can see). I would recommend this place to anyone who wants an amazing peaceful weekend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect spot to see Pennsylvania

    Perfect spot to see Pennsylvania

    • Guest Alyssa D.
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/15/11
    We stayed for a week this August. We have 4 children ages 9,7,5 and 4. They absolutely LOVED the loft area of the cabin. We used the cabin as our base and made day trips to Gettysburg, Philadelphia, Lancaster, Valley Forget and more. Liz was very helpful. My boys were interested in the Underground Railroad and she even left a DVD for us to watch on the underground railroad in Chester County! The cabin is wonderfully stocked and the full size washer and dryer are a god send when travelling with children! The place was spotless. While the cabin is remote, it is a nice central location. We were able to do day trips with no issues. We even went hiking at Hawks Mountain which Liz had suggested. I don't have anything but good things to say about this place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Back to our Hideaway

    Back to our Hideaway

    • Guest Kristine P.
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    My husband (then-boyfriend) and I visited this beautiful cottage in the Winter of 2009. Back then, we came here for a mini-vacation - just the two of us - and had planned to go hiking a bit but mostly wanted to stay indoors and relax by the fire. We had planned for 3 nights but, unfortunately, on the first night that we were to arrive, I was still reeling from a terrible case of the flu. Liz was so kind and understanding, and told us that we had already booked all 3 nights, so to come if we could, but that she would honor any missed nights if they needed to be rescheduled. We were able to make it for the 2nd and 3rd booked nights of our stay.. and it was one of the most memorable escapes that my husband and I have had with one another. We went hiking and explored the pond. We went to the Yuengling brewery in nearby Pottsville. Of course, we visited Cabelas. But what really made the vacation so wonderful is all the time we spent indoors, by the beautiful fireplace: roasting marshmallows, drinking hot cocoa, playing Scrabble, reading ghost stories to one another, cooking dinner together. We had such a relaxing, romantic weekend, and since then, we have always reminisced on that time, and what a perfect place the "Tankel House" was to recharge, unwind, and just enjoy each other's company. Flash forward to August 2011 and we are back for a whole different experience. This time, with Chris' brother and sister-in-law, their two girls (6 and 8) and my sister. When booking, Liz remembered us and told us that we had one night stay waiting for us! What a memory! It was a full house. I never fully appreciated the wonders of the loft until I saw how the girls instantly fell in love with it. They wanted to stay up there forever. It rained quite a bit during our weekend, but we had a blast regardless. Back to the Yuengling brewery. Hiking and frog-spotting at the pond. Horseback riding. Playing games upstairs in the loft and at the kitchen table. Reading stories quietly to ourselves or aloud to one another. We had a great time with the family. Liz and Ken's cottage is/was perfect for both kinds of vacations: a romantic getaway for two and a bustling kid-friendly family get-together. We will absolutely be back. PS Liz even left my husband and I a beautiful card and gift for our recent marriage. Such a thoughtful couple and gracious hosts. We will never stay anywhere else in the area; You shouldn't either, reader!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 3 [ 1 | 2 | 3 ] Next