Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
This Mediteraninan style home was built in 1936 totally updated in 2007

Pensacola Historic District Near Downtown [#183441] | View Property

Pensacola
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-6)
$125/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (25)

Sort by:
  • Beautiful home away from home

    Beautiful home away from home

    • Guest Gena D.
    • Date of stay 03/30/14
    • Review Submitted 04/08/14
    Such a cute house! Very clean and surprisingly very spacious. We stayed Sunday - Friday and found everything we needed and more in this home. There were plenty of towels, wash clothes, bedding, blankets, kitchen equipment.The shed held a fire pit, charcoal grill (charcoal included, although we didn't use this), lawn chairs, and other useful things. The backyard is small, but fenced in. There is a lovely park (Alabama Square) with playground equipment just a 1/2 block away, which was perfect for our kids to play. The immediate neighborhood was okay. You are on the edge of the beautiful North Hill Historic district. I wouldn't say I felt unsafe, but I can't say it felt like the best location. There is a rental next door and rental across the street. Neighbors were quiet and we had no issues. As you ventured towards the park area mentioned above, the houses were spectacular if you are into big old well kept houses. Loved the architecture. Judith was lovely and very easy to work with. She gave us some great suggestions for places to eat and things to do. If we visit Pensacola again, I'd definately stay at this beautiful home.

    Owner response: Thank you so much. Bill and I love to share our little getaway home. Glad you liked the park. In the summer there are Ffamily type movies at the park and sometimes parties put on by the North Hill Preservation Association. Everyone loves those times.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Great Find!

    A Great Find!

    • Guest JH
    • Date of stay 01/03/14
    • Review Submitted 01/07/14
    This was a great place to stay and the host was excellent to rent from! The owner went out of her way to make things work for us as our plans kept changing and was very easy to get in touch with. The house was very clean, provided everything needed, and was in a great location! Would definitely use again and recommend to friends!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay while in Pensacola!

    Great place to stay while in Pensacola!

    • Guest Joni (katy, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/25/13
    • Review Submitted 10/01/13
    I had a wedding to photograph on Pensacola beach and this was the perfect place to stay! The owner is very nice and accommodating! I'd highly recommend staying here! I stayed with another couple and it was perfect since there was plenty of room for all of us! Thanks so much! We really enjoyed our stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highly Recommend!

    Highly Recommend!

    • Guest Mandy (Texas)
    • Date of stay 08/15/13
    • Review Submitted 09/07/13
    The listing is very accurate and does not do this place justice! Judith is wonderful to work with and the house is PERFECT for a get-away. The house is very clean and has everything you could think of (and things you wouldn't remember) in it for your use! We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and have found a place to call upon every time we visit Pensacola. I HIGHLY recommend staying here!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great family friendly get-a-way cottage

    Great family friendly get-a-way cottage

    • Guest beachgal (Baton Rouge, LA)
    • Date of stay 06/27/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    My family recently stayed at the DeSoto house for a quick trip to the beach. We had a great overall experience. The house was clean & furnished well with things we needed while away from home. It was conveniently located to many attractions, but still quite a distance from the beach itself. We were close enough to enjoy the beach & the surrounding attractions but far enough away to enjoy being away from the busyness of a big city. I would recommend the DeSoto House to anyone looking for a place to stay near the beach in Pensacola.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great House!

    Great House!

    • Guest Andrea W. (Auxvasse, MO)
    • Date of stay 06/02/13
    • Review Submitted 06/11/13
    My family and I enjoyed our stay at this house very much. It was close to many restaurants and only a short drive away from the beach. It was very convenient to have the outdoor shower to use to wash away sand before entering the house. Judith was very friendly and helpful. If we return to Pensacola in the future, we will definitely stay here again!

    Owner response: Bill and I love to "vacation" at the De Soto Street House ourselves even though we only live a couple of miles away. It is nice to be close to downtown. I go downtown often for lunch when I work on the house. Wonderful little restaurants abound. I just discovered an Olive Oil shop with cooking classes two days a week. And you get to eat what you cook! A very popular spot. (Pensacola Cooks, on Facebook) One could possibly get tired of the beach,the museums, etc, and want to do a cooking/lunch. Well, maybe if it rains.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • We LOVE Pensacola...you will, too !!!

    We LOVE Pensacola...you will, too !!!

    • Guest chubletts (Little Rock/Fayetteville, AR)
    • Date of stay 06/10/12
    • Review Submitted 07/01/12
    We found the DeSoto House on fairly short notice and luckily were able to get it for our family vacation--3 adult children and a daughter in law, just the right size to accommodate them and no running down the halls of a hotel to get to the others rooms. They were able to have a comfortable place to eat breakfast together, relax after a day at the beach, do laundry and host a family cook out on one night (originally from Pensacola)...plenty of room for the 10 that were there that night. The pictures and description were right on, everything was clean, well maintained and a fully furnished kitchen. The location is great too, not too far from Pensacola Beach, historic downtown area, restaurants and shopping. And as a pet lover I was delighted to see a momma and her kittens, we got to fed them and watch them play on the patio. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others planning a trip to beautiful Pensacola, FL.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you and your group had a good time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Makes coming "home" to it so enjoyable.

    Makes coming "home" to it so enjoyable.

    • Guest Addicted to travel (Ventura County, California)
    • Date of stay 09/07/11
    • Review Submitted 09/12/11
    We are staying here for a week for my daughter's winging ceremony and all the events that go with that. We have not seen her for a looong time since she has been so busy with flight school, so we are grabbing all the time we can. This house is making this trip just perfect. Here we have a home to welcome everyone into, including all the varied components of step-families, friends, and other student aviators. We had a BBQ one night in the back yard, too. It feels so incredibly comfortable here and has everything we need to host meals, put up unexpected guests (as the students live in Milton, but "celebrate" in Pensacola!), and just enjoy the peace and quiet when it's just my husband and I. I jog each morning and have immensely enjoyed the neighborhood. We are on the edge of such a beautiful and interesting collage of homes: differing architecture, gardens, cultures, sprinkled with parks. It's also just minutes away from shopping, dining, and the old downtown. Judy and Bill were so helpful with lots of last minute changes to our reservations and they were very welcoming and warm when we arrived. They've put a lot of love and work into this home and it shows. We didn't need them while we were here, but it helped to know we could count on them for anything we might have needed, from recommendations for dining to extra bowls for the BBQ! This was my first VRBO experience and I doubt I'll ever stay in a hotel again!! I can't wait for the next one....in Jacksonville where our new Naval Aviator will be stationed.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: It is a great pleasure for Bill and me to meet all the different people who come to the Desoto Street House. Bill was particularly pleased to meet a fellow flight student. (though Bill's class was 66 years ago and hers was this week)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great location and accomodations!

    Great location and accomodations!

    • Guest sherry G. (paige, tx)
    • Date of stay 08/08/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    We enjoyed our stay at this property very much. It is in a safe and quiet area of Pensacola but still close to all the great sights. The house was charming with plenty of space for our family of 4 (5 on one night). Everything we needed to was there. We will definitely stay at this property when in Pensacola next.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • July family vacation

    July family vacation

    • Guest JL2013 (Mansfield, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/16/11
    Really enjoyed the house! Charming old home in historic district, beautifully updated, and convenient to everthing. (We spent time downtown at the museums, and at the beach, as well as at the NAS and Blackwater River State Park) 2 adults/3 children - everything we needed, would definitely stay again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house!

    Great house!

    • Guest Hoosiers (Indiana)
    • Date of stay 03/08/11
    • Review Submitted 03/15/11
    The description of this house is very accurate! The house is very clean, roomy, nicely furnished and the beds are super comfortable! The house is located in the North Historic District so if you like historical architecture, you will really enjoy walking through the neighborhood and seeing the different styles of housing. We came to Pensacola to visit my 89 year old aunt who also thought this house was very nice. She even rode the rocking horse in the basement! Thanks Judith for sharing your beautiful home. We sure hope to come back soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Week in Pensacola

    Week in Pensacola

    • Guest DeeDee and Jake (Akron, Ohio)
    • Date of stay 02/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/06/11
    My husband and I loved this property. The house was furnished beautifully and completely. I would recommend this house to anyone planning a stay in the area. We loved the location. We walked downtown to the harbor nearly every day. We were about 15 minutes from the beach by car. One of our favorite excursions was about 30 minutes northeast of Pensacola to the Black River State Forest where we went hiking and canoeing. We debated whether to spend our vacation week at a beach property or downtown. We made the right decision.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: DeeDee and Jake, I am so pleased that you had such a good time! Living in the area I sometimes forget about some of the outlying areas that can be such fun. My family and I used to camp and picnic at Blackwater State Park at Munson quite often. There is good freshwater fishing there also. I hope the two of you return and scope out some more of our hidden gems

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Very Happy Thanksgiving

    Very Happy Thanksgiving

    • Guest Frank (Buffalo, NY)
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 11/28/10
    We and 2 of our grown children stayed at the cottage over Thanksgiving week. The cottage was immaculate and very well equipped -- better than any hotel. We were able to host Thanksgiving dinner for 10, and we lacked nothing in terms of pots, pans, dishes and utensils. The owner even bought a roasting pan for the turkey. Very nice, historic neighborhood, good for walking, convenient to all that Pensacola has to offer. We will stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful home in historic neighborhood!

    Wonderful home in historic neighborhood!

    • Guest Debbie (Carlsbad, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/18/10
    • Review Submitted 11/01/10
    My mom and I spent 4 nights here, loved the house! The bedrooms are comfortable, the kitchen fully stocked, very clean. The house has tons of character, with beautiful wood floors and a beautiful living room. I took a long walk every morning in the neighborhood, which is full of historic homes of different styles. Old Pensacola is a short walk away as well. Would definitely stay here again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming, immaculate, centrally located

    Charming, immaculate, centrally located

    • Guest Ddmamjle (Florida)
    • Date of stay 04/01/10
    • Review Submitted 04/05/10
    We had a wonderful stay at this cottage. It is even more spacious than the photos suggest. It is updated and very clean. The furnishings are new and modern, and the beds are really comfotable. The neighborhood is charming. My kids enjoyed playing in the park with the neighborhood kids. We had family over for a BBQ one night, and comfortably accomodated 11. I highly reccomend this home!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mesa
    • Date of stay 03/06/10
    • Review Submitted 03/29/10
    My guest was reluctant to leave feedback because the site requested too much personal information. She wants you to know she had a wonderful stay. This was her second trip to the De Soto Street House.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awsome Pensacola Luxury Vacation Hom

    Awsome Pensacola Luxury Vacation Hom

    • Guest Angie and Friends (Orlando, Fl)
    • Date of stay 02/22/10
    • Review Submitted 04/12/10
    I will like to take the opportunity to let you know about your vacation home in Pensacola, it was heaven sent. When I came across your add for the Pensacola house, available in such a short notice, it meant a world to me. I needed the house for one week instead of the weekend only as I anticipated but you make it possible for us to arrive earlier, making a wonderful experience for all of us. The house is so elegant, pretty and cozy that we felt right at home. My friends, who joint me in the middle of the week, were so fascinated that they went back home in love with the Pensacola area and planning to come back. Thank you so much for the cleanness, availability and presentation of the vacation home. It was an unforgettable time staying at your place and meeting you. Thanks again,

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: The house has some kind of extra charm.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • De Soto Street

    De Soto Street

    • Guest Dg&Jc (Louisville, KY)
    • Date of stay 11/24/09
    • Review Submitted 04/07/10
    We felt most fortunate to come upon this charming bungalow while looking for a rental in Pensacola. This house is very spacious, not what one might suspect from the exterior photo. The renovation had been done most tastefully. Lovely furnishings through out the house. It was well decorated and appointed with all you would ever need. Just like being at home, but so much better to be in FL. and to experience a new environment. We loved the area. It is located in an historic district with homes of every conceivable architectural style. Wonderful to walk around and view these historical properties. Also, a visit to the park, at the end of the street, makes for a relaxing time. Downtown is but a short drive or walk. We attended a performance at the renovated Saenger Theatre. The owner was very helpful making suggestions for dining & a great food market. Of course with an eat in kitchen and large dining room you don't really have to go out to dine. Her recommendations and willingness to get additional information for us was greatly appreciated. We did go to a marvelous restaurant for Thanksgiving but it was certainly not necessary. Everything you could want or need for a lovely table setting & festive ambience is available to you at De Soto Street. You are not far from the water as well. There is something here to do for everyone of all ages and interest. Go as much as you like or just kick back and relax. We hope to return for another visit and would sincerely recommended this property to anyone visiting the Pensacola area. What a delight!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Home

    Great Home

    • Guest ABT1967 (Spring, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/11/09
    • Review Submitted 07/28/09
    My kids were more than pleased with this home during our stay for the 11U World Series. I have to admit it is not often I am pleasantly surprised but this was one of them. I would definitely rent this home again.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • I'll go to this house again. And again.

    I'll go to this house again. And again.

    • Guest John's bunch (Bozeman, MT)
    • Date of stay 04/15/09
    • Review Submitted 05/06/09
    We found this house a true delight. Seems it's all it was advertised to be. Comfortable and quiet, it's easy to feel right at home. It’s tastfully and comfortably finished, and stocked with all the things you’d expect in a start-up kitchen. You can walk to the downtown and historic areas, discovery-drive to any of the many shopping districts, or be at the beach in less than 30 minutes. You're staying at the edge of the North Hill Preservation district, a remarkable neighborhood with gigantic Live Oak and Magnolia trees everywhere. Don’t miss Alabama Square, the beautiful park about a minute’s walk from the house. As you might expect, the seafood industry is very lively, and you can shop for dinner and expect the fish were caught last night. As well, fishing in general is easy to find, and it’s as fun to watch as to pull them in yourself. At the beach, you’ll see the fishing pier, people fishing out in boats, or just a bit west of the pier, the fishermen arriving early in the morning for some surf fishing. We’ll be going to Pensacola every year and in every season, and we’ll be more than happy staying at this house.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • wonderful

    wonderful

    • Guest Peg1 (Croghan,NY)
    • Date of stay 01/31/09
    • Review Submitted 04/10/09
    A wonderful house in a wonderful neighborhood. Thououghly enjoyed my stay,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house in Downtown Pensacola

    Great house in Downtown Pensacola

    • Guest Kimberly S. (Black Mountain, NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 09/16/08
    • Review Submitted 12/26/08
    This house was centrally located within minutes of everything for our family while in Pensacola. We walked to downtown and were within 15 minutes of Pensacola Beach and 10 minutes to the Airport. The house was well stocked with morning coffee needs and every other amenity you could think of while away. We would recommend this home and would rent this house again. kim and russell

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/08
    My siblings and I had a wonderful week-long stay at the DeSoto Street house. What a pleasant and comfortable house, in a great location in Pensacola - and the neighborhood is beautiful! Charles Young, Ithaca, NY

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/01/08
    • Review Submitted 07/08/08
    This lovely bungalow was perfect for our family get-together. Spacious and well-designed layout was great for entertaining and very comfortable. Weekly rate was quite affordable and owners made every effort to help with all our needs, including internet hook-up and adding extra time to our week. Fantastic neighborhood with rich history, stunning homes, and a friendly mix of hometown residents. Relaxing, close to everything. If you're tired of beach condos that feel like anthills, with traffic, noise, and glare, take a break and enjoy a relaxing stay on these quiet tree-lined streets. Suzannah, Minnesota

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mrs. Frank
    • Date of stay 05/29/08
    • Review Submitted 05/28/08
    Mrs. Frank, our first guest to use the house, stated that the house was delightful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]