Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Front of The Gathering Place in Fresh Snow

Magnificent Home in Taos- Walk to Plaza & Easy Drive to Ski [#18471] | View Property

Taos
House, 6 Bedrooms + Loft + The Getaway Apartment, 5 Baths (Sleeps 14)
$350 - $800/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • The perfect house for a four family winter vacation!

    The perfect house for a four family winter vacation!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/28/13
    • Review Submitted 01/13/14
    Great house for our group of 17 (8 adults, 9 children). There was plenty of room for everybody and the large kitchen was outstanding. The amenities were excellent and Kate insured we had everything we needed. The location was also prime as we could easily walk downtown for shopping, restaurants, and cocktails. It was also a great central location for ski trips to Taos Ski Valley, Angelfire and Red River. I'd recommend this house to any group looking for a great place to stay in Taos!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Anne (Pueblo, CO)
    • Date of stay 11/06/13
    • Review Submitted 11/13/13
    The Gathering Place was the perfect getaway for our large family vacation. Not only is the location wonderful, which is minutes from the downtown of Taos, but the house also offered plenty of space and amenities. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone visiting Taos with a large group.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house for a large group

    Great house for a large group

    • Guest PT (Carlsbad, New Mexico)
    • Date of stay 07/10/13
    • Review Submitted 07/17/13
    This house was really great for our large group and the owner's daughter was very helpful and nice. There was some dust and cobwebs in places, but overall the home was clean and well kept. We spent a lot of time talking and relaxing in the back yard; which was nice and peaceful. There is no air conditioning (which is very normal for that elevation), so on a warm summer day the house can get a little warm in the afternoon and the loft was almost too warm to sleep in even with a fan. Overall though, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Ski Group

    Ski Group

    • Guest the gang!! (houston texas)
    • Date of stay 03/10/13
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    My group loved the house. We had 13 adults and 7 children under the age of 7!! We cooked breakfast and dinner every night. The kitchen was perfect and we could almost seat everyone. We loved the big kitchen dining area since it was where most of the adults stayed! Several made use of the hot tub and enjoyed it. We will be reserving it soon for next spring break-as soon as we get an accurate count on who will be returning-we may have more!! Might need those apart. across the street!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Ski Retreat

    Great Ski Retreat

    • Guest Susie (Lavon, TX)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/15/13
    Our stay was wonderful!! The house was perfect for our large group. Plenty of rooms . The kitchen area is wonderful. Great gathering room to visit, play games, and share meals. Dinah was very helpful. Hope we will be able to visit again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Hiking Group

    Hiking Group

    • Guest GranJane (Midland,TX)
    • Date of stay 10/14/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    Twelve women, college friends, living now all over the country - and France - convened in Taos for a week of hiking, sight-seeing and catching up. This house was PERFECT! Kitchen large enough for lots of cooks/cleaner-uppers, plenty of bedrooms and FIVE bathrooms, a terrific large living room great for visiting, and we could all get around the dining table for meals. From this wonderful property we could walk all over Taos: museums, galleries, shops, the Plaza, everywhere!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The gathering house

    The gathering house

    • Guest Muggles (Tonkawa, OK, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/18/12
    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
    House was everything and then much more! We want to rent again next year. The home was comfortable and very user friendly. The owner had great notes on how to use everything and had many extra niceties!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful House with Plenty of Room!

    Wonderful House with Plenty of Room!

    • Guest Tim (Tulsa, OK)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/22/12
    Great house with plenty of room for everyone to have beds for our group of 12. Very convenient to have four bathrooms all with showers. Location was perfect, a short walk to shops and restaurants.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • 3 generation snow ski trip

    3 generation snow ski trip

    • Guest cheryl (piedmont, oklahoma)
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 03/17/12
    The property owners were very helpful to us. The house was so comfortable. It was well stocked with anything we needed. We had 8 adults and 9 children 2 to 16. There was plenty of room and privacy for all. The hot tub was a good and welcome relaxation as each day of skiing ended. The kitchen was amazing. We utilized all 3 of the refrigerators as we cooked each am and pm. There was plenty of room for all the chefs in the family. This is a house we would recommend. The additional benefits werethe convience of shopping and a park close. The grounds were well kept and looked like they would be beautiful ion the spring, summer and fall (things were just budding out and daffoidils were beginning to open

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great house for a group!

    Great house for a group!

    • Guest Avid Skier (Waterloo, ON)
    • Date of stay 02/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/13/12
    Our stay at this eclectic home was wonderful. It is ideal for a group of family. The kitchen is large and easy to work in. The bedrooms are very quiet - nothing can be heard through the walls. Great location - walking distance to local restaurants and only 25 minutes from Taos Ski Mountain.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Love at first sight!

    Love at first sight!

    • Guest katie (colorado)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/31/11
    We stayed in the gatherine place this fall for a birthday trip. We rented the guest and main house for the weekend. The house is amazing!! No pictures can do justice to the breathtaking Taos home. A 10 min walk to the plaza and anything else you'd need in Taos. There are more then enough rooms and beds and plenty of room. It's great for a nice dinner in with all the windows looking into the yard or a fun game night sitting around the fire! I missed the house from the moment we left, can't wait to go back next year!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect vacation home for large groups

    Perfect vacation home for large groups

    • Guest Satish (Denver)
    • Date of stay 09/02/11
    • Review Submitted 09/07/11
    We around 8 families stayed in this vacation home over the Sep 2nd long weekend. It was perfect for the group and we had a fabulous time . The house is fully equipped with what is needed and is at a perfect location. I would recommend this vacation home to all my other friends visiting Taos town. Thanks to Dinah for her professionalism and all the help when needed.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Classy and spacious

    Classy and spacious

    • Guest Barb (Wausau, WI)
    • Date of stay 07/20/11
    • Review Submitted 08/24/11
    The Gathering Place with the attached apartment was the perfect spot for our families to stay to celebrate our daughter's summer wedding in Taos. Everyone (16 people) had lots of space so if they wanted to rest during the day, go to bed early or sleep in, they could. The outdoor patio with two tables and garden, the huge kitchen and spacious living room were fabulous for all of us to be together. There were even two washers and dryers. The location is on a quiet street with a very short walk to the Plaza so those who wanted to stroll on their own to the shops could do so. The house was definitely more than we had hoped for. Seymour, the caretaker, was readily available and he even voluntarily completed a woodworking project with our nephew. The only problem with our stay was that the time went way too fast! We would love to come back in the winter and ski at the mountain.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Weekend

    Perfect Weekend

    • Guest ReunionPlanner (Simi Valley, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/15/11
    • Review Submitted 07/19/11
    We just got back home after staying at the Gathering Place in Taos over the weekend. It was everything it could possibly have been and way more than we were expecting it to be. The pictures just didn't do it justice. We had our cousins, who were staying at the Casitas, come over on Sunday to play games and hang out and have dinner. With 22 people to entertain we didn't feel the least bit crowded or uncomfortable. There was a place for everyone, even those who needed a nap or some quiet time during the fun. We wish we could pick up that house and take it with us to every city where we have a family reunion. The Gathering Place will never be forgotten and will forever be such a fond memory for us!!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family Reunion/High School Graduation

    Family Reunion/High School Graduation

    • Guest Huc (Savannah Georgia)
    • Date of stay 05/26/11
    • Review Submitted 06/08/11
    We rented this property for a family reunion and it was absolutely perfect. We really were not sure we would all fit comforatably, however the set up was amazing. The spacious kitchen with open seating and the nice size porch in the back were perfect areas to sit and socialize for hours. We cooked most of our meals at the house and the kitchen is more than fully furnished with every dish, glass, pot, pan, utensil, spice, etc. you would ever need to feed a large family. Thank you again for your help and if our travels bring us back to Taos, we will give you a call.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Labor Day Weekend in Taos

    Labor Day Weekend in Taos

    • Guest Carol Sue (Lubbock, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 09/12/10
    I recently organized a group of 10 women to stay at The Gathering Place. The accomodations were perfect and just as described in the listing. The location was within walking distance from the square in Taos and surrounded by beautiful scenery. All of the women in my group were equally pleased with the location and their accomodations. The beds were extremely comfortable, the kitchen area was fabulous as well as the porch area just outside the kitchen. The house was extremely clean, including bath and utility areas. Dinah and Seymore were very personable and helpful with questions and suggestions. I would definitely recommend The Gathering Place and I hope to stay there again especially since the place is pet friendly and we did have a pet staying with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Best place to stay in Taos!!!

    Best place to stay in Taos!!!

    • Guest Debra (Austin)
    • Date of stay 03/13/10
    • Review Submitted 01/07/11
    We have stayed at The Gathering Place twice, and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. Seymour and Dinah are such gracious hosts, and their place is like a home away from home, but better. Everything about the house makes for an inviting retreat - it is so comfortable, beautiful, and lets friends and family spend time together but have space for their own privacy if desired. As a place to get together with friends and family, to cook, relax, and just enjoy Taos and each other, the house cannot be beat. The location is great, within easy walking distance of the Plaza. We certainly hope that Seymour and Dinah continue to rent out their home, so we can enjoy it again and again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Our Visit

    Our Visit

    • Guest Marilyn (Texas)
    • Date of stay 07/15/07
    • Review Submitted 09/09/10
    This was the most wonderful home away from home! The owners were fantastic! We all had a wonderful time! There was nothing missing from the experience. Great house, lots to see, places to go! It was comfortable visiting. We had a group of 5 families and 16 people. There was room for all and space to spare!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]