Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Relax and Rejuvanate with a full menu of Hawaiian Healing Spa Treatments.

Hawaiian Spa Retreat ~ Elegant Cottages in Native Botanical Garden [#185455] | View Property

Makawao
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)
$100-$125 Per Night
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Lovely retreat and spa

    Lovely retreat and spa

    • Guest Kim (Durham, NC)
    • Date of stay 10/27/12
    • Review Submitted 11/11/12
    I stayed 5 nights at Hale Ho'omana, and also had the Island Escape bath/scrub/hot lava stone massage/wrap. It was all beautiful. Everyone on the staff was thoughtful and kind -- going the extra mile to make sure I had a good experience. Lehua cottage was lovely, comfortable, and quiet. I enjoyed my time staying there, and enjoyed it as a base for exploring upcountry Maui. But the spa experience! -- best ever. Robin worked so intuitively, carefully, and thoroughly on the tension patterns in my neck. Healing and enlightening. What I also loved about it was that it wasn't just body work. As Robin said, when done in the spirit, all lomi is prayer. And so it was.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • An oasis

    An oasis

    • Guest moe (CT)
    • Date of stay 06/15/12
    • Review Submitted 06/22/12
    A lovely place to get away to ....nestled in the hills it's a little sanctuary. I stayed in the cottage which was delightful ....full bath and kitchenette with a very simple pleasant beachy decore. I travel for work a lot and have begun to stay in cottages just like this ...feels like home and you get away from the generic stiff hotel chains. Would definitely stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great rental

    Great rental

    • Guest Al (Yukon)
    • Date of stay 12/21/11
    • Review Submitted 01/24/12
    We really enjoyed our stay over Christmas. Nice big space for our group (5 adults and 1 child). Location might not suit everyone as it is a bit of a drive everywhere---however, it's a beautiful drive.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • travler

    travler

    • Guest nick-o (Santa Fe NM)
    • Date of stay 12/16/11
    • Review Submitted 12/29/11
    I had a great time and the people were great and friendly. My room was clean and had everything I needed for my stay. I will be comming back

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Habitat for Humanity Team stay at Hale Ho'omana

    Habitat for Humanity Team stay at Hale Ho'omana

    • Guest Jessie (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/17/11
    My team of 14 stayed 11 nights at Hale Ho'omana. I've been on 30 Habitat trips with teams. Hale Ho'omana ranks #1 as a great place for a group to stay. The living/dining area was great for meetings, but also for casually visiting. Being able to use the kitchen to prepare most of our meals saved us a huge amount of money. The facility had a lot to do with the community feeling that developed among team members. I would very highly recommend the facility to anyone looking for group accommodations.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Maui Owi 2

    Maui Owi 2

    • Guest Buzz (Wisconsin)
    • Date of stay 11/03/11
    • Review Submitted 11/24/11
    Had a great stay in the Bamboo Cottage. Small but comfortable and private! Had room for some meals in, kitchen area, and clean. Even had a requirement for a workout on a pulled hamstring and two of those got me back to walking and the rest of my vacation.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • November Getaway

    November Getaway

    • Guest Retired Sequimers (Sequim, WA)
    • Date of stay 11/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/25/11
    Great place to stay while seeing the sights of Upcountry -- Haleakala, winery, etc. Even would be a good place to work out of for a day trip to Hana. Quiet and away from busy West Maui. Also a good place to stay the first night after arriving to the airport. Jason gave us some good tourist info about snorkling & other must things to do on the island. Great breakfast in the morning -- more than enough to choose from plus fresh fruit from the island.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Home away from Home

    Home away from Home

    • Guest Roni (Pukalani, HI)
    • Date of stay 10/02/11
    • Review Submitted 11/08/11
    Jeana and Justin have created a beautiful and sacred space. They are loving and kind and make you feel like family. The rooms are beautiful and the property is well manicured. The massage here is incredible, Jeana has personally trained everyone of her therapist and it shows. The hard work and dedication from this ohana is profound and you can't help but what to share in the joy.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hale Ho'omana - a quiet Hawaiian get-away - off the beaten path

    Hale Ho'omana - a quiet Hawaiian get-away - off the beaten path

    • Guest JACfamily (Portland, OR, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/12/11
    • Review Submitted 05/21/11
    Jeana and Justin have created a very comfortable and peaceful retreat center. We came for our own personal retreat and it was perfect. Wish we could have experienced their spa services - they sound amazing. We stayed in the Lehua Cottage - the room was incredibly clean and comfortable, had everything we needed and we didn't mind driving to where we wanted to go. Close to Pa'ia (a wonderful, quirky beach town) and Makawao on Maui. The only reason for 4 out of 5 stars is because you need to drive to destinations as opposed to more centrally located accommodations, but we didn't mind. Our desire for this time in Hawaii wasn't a 5-star hotel and we found exactly what we were looking for at Hale Ho'omana. Jeana, Justin, and their staff exude the Hawaiian spirit of aloha and go out of their way to make you feel so very comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful place to stay.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • a slice of heaven

    a slice of heaven

    • Guest Mj (Mammoth Lakes, California)
    • Date of stay 02/28/11
    • Review Submitted 03/22/11
    I have been blessed to call Olinda, Maui, home at times in my life, so was very excited to stay on this property. This retreat is truly a slice of heaven. I really enjoyed my week here, and indulged in a massage while here, I have only good things to say!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A lovely getaway.

    A lovely getaway.

    • Guest miyuki (Honolulu, Hawaii)
    • Date of stay 02/19/11
    • Review Submitted 03/03/11
    The bamboo cottage was cozy and clean, well-equipped and I loved the quietness. You have to drive through a rainforest that in itself is a treasure to get there, yet still it is close enough to the little town of Makawao. Jeana was very friendly and I wish I had more time to enjoy the property. I would definitely recommend Hale Ho'omana.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best massage of all time!!!!!!

    Best massage of all time!!!!!!

    • Guest GH (Redwood City)
    • Date of stay 01/31/11
    • Review Submitted 03/13/11
    My wife and I visited Hale Ho'omana January 31, 2011. I had a 90 minute Lomi Lomi massage with Jeana. I have had many massages from many different massage therapists. This was, by far the BEST massage I have ever experienced. My wife had the Lomi Ko (body polish) and was absolutely "glowing". She loved it! Our next visit to Maui, we have decided it worth it to stay two extra days and schedule time at Hale Ho'omana, once when we get in and once before we leave. Sincerely, Greg Hall, Redwood City, CA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Magical Maui experience!

    Magical Maui experience!

    • Guest Eco-Girl (La Jolla Ca)
    • Date of stay 11/24/10
    • Review Submitted 12/17/10
    From the beautiful landscape of native plant and wildlife-to the high end feel of the spa and yoga rooms- this place is a must! Getting the real local Maui experience with the amazing staff Hale ho omana is more than just a place to set your bags - If you like nature- local influence - beautiful relaxing and rejuvenating spa/yoga options - seclusion -organic home made products --and private accommodations then this place is a major hit! I live in a very beautiful coastal village where its hard to beat the atmosphere when I travel- and I still did not want to leave Hale ho omana!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Local Charmer

    Local Charmer

    • Guest 3Ms Mom (San Diego, CA)
    • Date of stay 11/22/10
    • Review Submitted 12/15/10
    We cannot say enough amazing things about Hale Hoomana! It is a bit rustic, but in a charming way and you can't beat the price. My kids absolutely LOVED this place...Jeana and Justin told us to make ourselves at home and even gave us a quick tour of the property, taking the time to show the kids where the best fruit was to pick, names of plants, and local stories too. They were so friendly and helpful to recommend good beaches for the kids or kid-friendly restaurants. They know everyone in town, so when we wanted to go paddle-boarding, they hooked us up with somebody for lessons. When we wanted to hear live music, they had a friend playing at one of the restaurant clubs so everywhere we went, we could mention that Jeana sent us and all of a sudden we it was like we were old friends getting special treatment. Each morning, the kids would wake up and run around outside to gather fruit for our breakfast - guavas, bananas, loquats - fascinating. Several mornings, there was yoga offered in a large studio which was so refreshing and fun. I also had the opportunity to get a massage in the spa that was AMAZING!!! It was very peaceful, laid-back and welcoming. If you want to take a step off the beaten path and get the local treatment, this is the place for you. Thanks for a great trip...we will definitely be back!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful Ohana Energy

    Beautiful Ohana Energy

    • Guest Rainbow (Makawao, HI)
    • Date of stay 08/06/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    The beautiful Ohana-'family' energy of Hale Ho'omana was comforting and refreshing.....they truly embody the Hawaiian spirit of Aloha and being pono-'balanced' in their relations and service they provide....an amazing experience** Such a blessing for my journey on the island~ Mahalo nui loa Hale Ho'omana!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Extraordinary
    • Date of stay 06/02/10
    • Review Submitted 08/27/10
    Aloha Jeana and Justin, We just wanted to thank you again for our time at Hale Ho'omana Retreat... it was a great blessing for us and an extraordinary beginning to our pilgrimage and time with Ram Dass. May you be richly blessed as you offer your hospitality to the world! Benjy and Heather Wertheimer (Shantala) www.shantalamusic.com

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/3

  • A True Gem!

    A True Gem!

    • Guest Donae (California, USA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/06/10
    Hale Hoomana is absolutely delightful and perfectly located upcountry – I completely felt that I was swept away in a true tropical paradise. While enjoying several of the incredible Hawaiian spa services, I began to relax more and more and found myself sinking into a slower rhythm of the island life style and connecting into the healing mana of Hawaii. The adorable town of Makawao was nearby filled with one-of-a-kind boutiques, the infamous Haliimaile General Store lived up to its name and many day adventures were fun-filled! It was a real treat to return each day to a hidden sanctuary ~ mahalo nui loa!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]