Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
oceanside view of Hale 'O Bali from deck

Authentic Indonesian, Oceanfront , Romantic, Charming, [#18560] | View Property

Kaneohe
House, 1 Bedroom + Loft + Den, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)
From $185/nt - $1190/wk Hale 'O Bali
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (40)

Sort by:
  • Every One Needs A Little Aloha... and this is the place to find it!

    Every One Needs A Little Aloha... and this is the place to find it!

    • Guest Michelle and Family (Wisconsin, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/08/14
    • Review Submitted 04/16/14
    Let's put it this way- when we closed the gate on our final day and said our goodbyes, we all got a little teary eyed. Our family was looking for beauty, tranquility, and a paradise away from the hustle and bustle of our every day lives. When we arrived, everything was as described in the listing and so much more. If you are looking for a vacation rental away from the typical tourist traps but an easy drive from just about everything on the island, look no further. Our goal was to wake up, walk out on the lanai and drink our coffee before hitting the beaches, the north shore, the hiking and waterfalls and Hale 'O Bali was the prime location to get to it all! And if we wanted to just relax, you couldn't get any better with the beautiful views of the ocean off the lanai, the mountains on the opposite side and the beautiful landscaping on the property itself. I have to speak to the excellent correspondence from Leilani throughout the reservation process. We had never booked a rental like this before, and all our worries seem to melt into thin air. We never had to wait more than 24 hours to get a response (and that's even with the time difference!). There were no surprises (no bad ones that is) and all the amenities as described were accurately portrayed and better than imagined. The rental was stocked with a lot of extras (beach/picnic gear, bathroom products, condiments for cooking, etc.) Originally, we had planned on only 3 people (My husband and I and our teenage son) but were ecstatic that our college age daughter was able to come with, last minute. Leilani was extremely accommodating to our last minute addition and we are so grateful! Just a note to those who read this review: The rental is not soundproof. HOWEVER, we found this to enhance the beauty of this place and the authenticity of the experience we were after. The sounds of the water on the shore, the fountain/pond from the master bedroom, the foliage and swaying of the trees against the wind, the soft breezes throughout the house and even the crowing of the rooster in the morning (We do not agree with prior reviews as far as the rooster...we Loved this!) was just the type of "zen" we were seeking! As I said when I started this review, we were all teary eyed when we left....we didn't WANT to leave. Aloha and Mahalo for welcoming us to your beautiful paradise!! We cannot WAIT to return(We are already checking dates for 2015)!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Wow! So glad you decided to give Hale 'O Bali an opportunity to house an nurture your bodies and spirits!!! Hope to see you all again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful trip.

    Wonderful trip.

    • Guest Nancy C. (Poughquag, New York)
    • Date of stay 03/08/14
    • Review Submitted 03/30/14
    We had a great trip to Oahu. Our stay at Bali Hale was perfect for our needs. We were able to wake up and see the sunrise over the bay every morning. We spent most of our time on the deck so we could enjoy the fantastic Hawaiian weather. Our accommodations were well equipped and we used the grill often to barbecue after our days of sightseeing and hiking. It was nice that the house had beach towels, beach chairs and a small cooler that we could use for lunches on the beach. It is quiet and relaxing and we would recommend this home to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Kevin N. (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    We stayed at the Hale O' Bali for four nights in late September. The house was nicely furnished and supplied. The location is awesome. Even if you are on vacation you have to check out the sunrise. Breathtaking. The directions provided are good but the numbering system used in Hawaii can be challenging. Arriving the first time after dark was aided by GPS. Location is great for access to the North Shore, Away from the H1 traffic. Would love to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great experience

    Great experience

    • Guest Kevin N. (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 09/19/13
    • Review Submitted 10/02/13
    We stayed at the Hale O' Bali for four nights in late September. The house was nicely furnished and supplied. The location is awesome. Even if you are on vacation you have to check out the sunrise. Breathtaking. The directions provided are good but the numbering system used in Hawaii can be challenging. Arriving the first time after dark was aided by GPS. Location is great for access to the North Shore, Away from the H1 traffic. Would love to go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: So Happy you enjoyed Hale 'O Bali! Hope we see you again! Mahalo, Leilani

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful!!

    Beautiful!!

    • Guest Jen S.
    • Date of stay 04/08/13
    • Review Submitted 04/18/13
    We just recently stayed at the Hale 'O Bali and loved it! We have 2 young children and the location was very accommodating. Hale 'O Bali was the perfect place to start off a wonderful vacation. The house is private, secure and beautiful. Each morning we watched the sunrise while sitting on the deck. The weather was gorgeous, only raining while we slept :) We had great neighbors - pleasant surprise. The walls are thin (think more cabin like) so I can see how others might have had a different experience, especially if they had loud neighbors. You can hear the road noise, but Hali 'O Bali has a pond/waterfall out the master bedroom window - that noise combined with the fan almost blocked it completely. There are many nice beaches close by - we recommend Kailua which is south about 20 minutes - they also have a Whole Foods & Starbucks! Our kids loved searching for lizards and enjoyed all the beautiful landscaping at Hali 'O Bali. Thank you very much for a great stay!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Indonesian Home

    Beautiful Indonesian Home

    • Guest Lisa H.
    • Date of stay 03/03/13
    • Review Submitted 03/29/13
    This was our first visit to Oahu and were thrilled to arrive at such a lovely home. It was dark when we arrived so we did not appreciate the beauty of this home until morning. It is just as described with the bay views and the majestic mountains to the sides. Views from all sides of this home.The sunrises were wonderful. It was very quiet and peaceful (except for the Roosters) The home was well appointed, clean and comfortable. We were pleased to have all we needed to enjoy the island. Two guide books helped us plan our days. We were even able to listen to Hawaiian music while drinking a glass of wine taking in the amazing spot on a lovely island. I loved this location away from the hustle and bustle of the city area. Leilani was very responsive with all our questions. She sent us great directions to the place. We did arrive in the dark and my only comment would be that the light was left on as it was hard to find the door. I would highly recommend this property to my friends, family and anyone wanting a romantic stay. Lisa and John

    Manager response: We are so delighted and so happy when our guests are happy. Thank you Lisa and John and hope to see you both again! Leilani & Bali Kai family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Perfect View, Comfortable Home

    Perfect View, Comfortable Home

    • Guest Shanette P.
    • Date of stay 12/06/12
    • Review Submitted 12/11/12
    I must say I was a bit anxious to arrive at Hale O'Bali, upon arrival however it was everything I expected and more! The everything from the entrance to the view was just incredible! The home as clean, well-kept and perfect for two. Lelani is a great owner as she is on-hand as needed during your stay. Beware of the rooster that awakes you at 4 am! We actually got accustomed to it though-ha! Overall this place made our first experience in Hawaii very comfortable and at a very affordable price. Once we got used to the drive it seemed fairly easy to commute back & forth from Honolulu/Waikiki to Kaneohe. We also had very pleasant neighbors during our stay to make it even more homey!

    Manager response: Thank you for this excellent review! The wild chickens are beautiful but sometimes noisy! We do have an ongoing trapping strategy for controlling the buggers!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • It don't get no better than this.

    It don't get no better than this.

    • Guest Jeremiah & the Mrs. (Oahu)
    • Date of stay 05/25/12
    • Review Submitted 06/28/12
    We have traveled extensively throughout the Pacific and Far East and have found no better accommodations anywhere. Hale "O Bale provides the best of all possible worlds, from the authentic Far East ambiance of the facility to the breathtaking vistas of a Pacific Island getaway. The facilities have a comfortable, homey atmosphere and the setting cannot be bested anywhere. The location proved easy accessible to all the major attractions on Oahu without the contrived appearance of the more well known tourist facilities. Mores the pity if you do not avail yourself of this experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Aloha Bev, Your poetic praises are humbling. Mahalo.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Oahu

    Wouldn't stay anywhere else on Oahu

    • Guest SlugBugRosie (Anchorage, AK)
    • Date of stay 03/11/12
    • Review Submitted 04/20/12
    My two young kids and I were completely delighted with this property. The large yard, the pond with waterfall, the coconut trees along the shore were exactly what I wanted them to experience here. No Waikiki towers for us! We were able to go out each night and catch frogs and in the grass just like I did when I was a kid on Kauai. The house with wrap around lanai was just as described. Absolutely perfect. Plenty of room for us to spread out. I can see that some people might find the road noise less than ideal but we didn't lose any sleep over it. The neighborhood rooster though..that was a different matter. We all resolved to never own a rooster. Ever. Geraldine come over the first evening we were there and brought us basic groceries like OJ and spaghetti. What a sweet lady! The house was clean. Everything worked. The bed was huge and comfortable. The washing machine was so convenient. I feel sorry for anyone in a hotel. We would love the chance to stay here again. Would be great to have the rest of my family stay in the neighboring house next time. The location was ideal for us because we could go north to great beaches, south to Kaneohe and Makapuu. Plus Chinaman's hat was right off our deck and the Byodo-In Temple was just a short jog down the road. It was literally in the middle of all our favorite spots. Thank you for sharing your lovely house, Leilani!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Darci, You are so welcome! Hope you can come back to enjoy more of all the aloha there is at Hale 'O Bali and Bali Kai Estate. So glad you enjoyed yourselves! Leilani

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Peaceful place and gorgeous sunrise!

    Peaceful place and gorgeous sunrise!

    • Guest Jan (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 02/02/12
    • Review Submitted 02/27/12
    My husband and I spend a week here with my parents. The house itself is beautiful. The garden is even more amazing, thriving with lush trees and vibrant flowers. We picked fresh breadfruits from the garden and boil/pan fried for breakfast. The breadfruits are huge! It took four of us two meals to finish one breadfruit. The first morning, we walked down the lawn and watched sunrise by the water. I highly recommend it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • lovely spot

    lovely spot

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/04/12
    • Review Submitted 02/28/12
    We enjoyed our week at this beautiful property and well equipped house. It was nice to be away from the Honolulu crowds. We especially enjoyed the beach at Kualoa Regional Park, just down the road. The owner was very responsive and helpful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Nesin dormida

    Nesin dormida

    • Guest Bella (Santa cruz)
    • Date of stay 12/29/11
    • Review Submitted 12/31/11
    Means, no one sleeps. We were shocked at the noise. Forget sleeping if the neighbor is watching tv. Forget sleeping if there is traffic, which is constant. Our neighbors left after two day days though they had paid for seven. These quaint little huts are single wall construction a method of throwing boards side by side as one would build a Childs playhouse. You can see daylight through the walls. Therefore we really had room mates of the people in the next unit. When someone took a shower I was afraid a truck was about to crash through the wall.

    Manager response: We are sorry our guest did not appreciate the single wall construction of this authentic Indonesian home which was built from Chempaca wood in Sulawesi Indonesia in the Minahasa style. She was deconstructed and shipped to Hawaii in 1995. The carpenter is tending to the small separations between a few wall boards in the den. We appreciate these comments about noise from the adjacent house and will take these to heart. Although the adjacent home was recently remodelled we will be limiting use of one or both houses to the same party to eliminate the issue of "room mates in the next unit". We have erected an 8 foot hight lava rock wall to help deflect noise and are in the process of installing solid wood rolling gates to help further deflect road noise. We do warn guests that the house is located off a busy highway on our web description. The road noise is most noticeable at rush hour and again at around 9:30pm when a line of buses passes by heading back to town from the awesome show at the Polynesian Cultural Center in Laie. Most of our guests are delighted with the accommodations and find their experience at Hale 'O Bali to be peaceful, restful, rejuvenating, joyful, and healing. We do ask our guests to be candid and open with their experiences and hope this open dialog will only help to make your experience at Hale 'O Bali richer. Sincerely, Leilani Sim-Godbehere and Hale 'O Bali family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Incredible!

    Incredible!

    • Guest Kasie G.
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    I live in Kaneohe, and my sister came for a week to visit from the mainland. We looked around for awhile for a good house to rent or B&B to stay in for a few days to keep away from the hotels and get away from my place. The area where this is located is notoriously beautiful, one of my favorite places to go for runs, and is close to Kualoa Ranch and on the way to the North Shore, so the location is perfect. The area is residential and ranch, so the scenery is pretty, and there are no commercial areas within a few miles. This place exceeded our expectations in every way!! The house is GORGEOUS; it's quaint, islandy, plenty big enough for the two of us (though if you have more than two, or two and a child or two, I'd suggest waiting until the bigger house connected by the lanai is finished and renting that one). There is a fridge, oven, microwave, coffeemaker and most utensil's you'll need. The view from the back lanai is a breathtaking panorama of Kaneohe bay and Mokulii. There is a long yard that is a nice minute or two walk down to the water. The landscaping is beautiful, with tropical plants and a small pond with a waterfall. The property is separated from the main road by a beautiful lava rock wall, and from the neighbors by wall, plants, and space, so it feels very private. The driveway is big enough to park inside the gate, so you don't have to park on the street. They were working on the driveway and landscaping while we were there, so I can't wait to see what it must look like now! Also, Leilani and her family are amazing people. Since they were renovating the larger house next door, we were blessed to be able to speak with them just about every day (though I'm sure they wanted us to go do vacationy things and stop harassing them! :) ). They were beyond helpful and accommodating, super sweet and trustworthy, and we could tell how much they loved the property and wanted everyone who stays there to have the best time possible. It really is difficult on the windward side to find a nice place to stay for a reasonable cost without feeling like you're either in a hotel or in someone's vacation home that hasn't been renovated since the 70s. This place is really worth it, and the fact that the owners are great people is a plus. You get so much more here for the cost of a hotel room in Waikiki. We will definitely be back, and are planning to bring the whole family and rent both units they next time they come visit.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Seriously...don't stay anywhere else

    Seriously...don't stay anywhere else

    • Guest Kasie G.
    • Date of stay 11/04/11
    • Review Submitted 11/22/11
    I live in Kaneohe, and my sister came for a week to visit from the mainland. We looked around for awhile for a good house to rent or B&B to stay in for a few days to keep away from the hotels and get away from my place. The area where this is located is notoriously beautiful, one of my favorite places to go for runs, and is close to Kualoa Ranch and on the way to the North Shore, so the location is perfect. The area is residential and ranch, so the scenery is pretty, and there are no commercial areas within a few miles. This place exceeded our expectations in every way!! The house is GORGEOUS; it's quaint, islandy, plenty big enough for the two of us (though if you have more than two, or two and a child or two, I'd suggest waiting until the bigger house connected by the lanai is finished and renting that one). There is a fridge, oven, microwave, coffeemaker and most utensil's you'll need. The view from the back lanai is a breathtaking panorama of Kaneohe bay and Mokulii. There is a long yard that is a nice minute or two walk down to the water. The landscaping is beautiful, with tropical plants and a small pond with a waterfall. The property is separated from the main road by a beautiful lava rock wall, and from the neighbors by wall, plants, and space, so it feels very private. The driveway is big enough to park inside the gate, so you don't have to park on the street. They were working on the driveway and landscaping while we were there, so I can't wait to see what it must look like now! Also, Leilani and her family are amazing people. Since they were renovating the larger house next door, we were blessed to be able to speak with them just about every day (though I'm sure they wanted us to go do vacationy things and stop harassing them! :) ). They were beyond helpful and accommodating, super sweet and trustworthy, and we could tell how much they loved the property and wanted everyone who stays there to have the best time possible. It really is difficult on the windward side to find a nice place to stay for a reasonable cost without feeling like you're either in a hotel or in someone's vacation home that hasn't been renovated since the 70s. This place is really worth it, and the fact that the owners are great people is a plus. You get so much more here for the cost of a hotel room in Waikiki. We will definitely be back, and are planning to bring the whole family and rent both units they next time they come visit.

    Manager response: Wow! Two amazing, lovely, professional women have come and enjoyed the beauty and charming accommodations that Hale 'O Bali has provided. These guests were gracious and delightful and any homeowners dream guests to accommodate. We have been so humbled and honored to have hosted them. Truthfully, I would love to adopt both of them. Our family looks forward to hosting their entire clan next time they're all in town. Many mahalos.... words are not enough. Best wishes and blessings to both sisters and their families to keep them safe and happy until we meet again. Leilani & family

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Needs some cleaning and upgrading

    Needs some cleaning and upgrading

    • Guest Jeff R.
    • Date of stay 08/26/11
    • Review Submitted 09/09/11
    I want to try to write this review of Hale o Bali without being to harsh. This is because I think that for the price this property has some worthwhile qualities. Subtracting that for the equation there were several things about this place that will prevent me from returning. This first thing you need to know is that this is basically a detached duplex. The photos online at this time do not show the other similar structure that is part of the same property. The lanai wraps around both buildings connecting them. The photos are shot at an angle that does not allow you to see the true property and this is not mentioned in the description. Secondly this place is not clean. The refrigerator has rust stains all over the exterior ( the inside is fine), the blinds were very dusty, the walls were dirty, and DO NOT plan on using the loft. I climbed up just to take a look and the loft at this time looks like an attack used for storage. There are two beds up the but there is no way in heck I would ever sleep in them or up there. It's a mess. We had a roach problem as well. I tried to factor in the fact that this is a tropical climate but I have stayed on the islands many times and never had this issue in any of the other places I have stayed. In addition there are two 4" geckos living behind a picture frame near the kitchen. I sort of like geckos so I was ok with it but it's pretty dramatic when they both come out at around 10:00 at night to hunt bugs. They found plenty to eat! The overall appearance was mediocre. The place needs some upgrades to put it into rental condition even at this affordable price. The view was nice, the lanai was also nice especially in the AM and PM. I could have live without the shed near the parking area or the storage of someone's things under the lanai. All pretty unsightly. If you are looking for an inexpensive place away for Honolulu that gives you a little solitude be forwarned before you go that this place needs some work. As of this writing I noticed that all of the reviews on line for Hale o Bali are a few years old. Hopefully this one will stay online and give some current info to help you in making your choice of accommodations.

    Manager response: We are sorry our guests had some issues with Hale 'O Bali during their stay. We do appreciate constructive criticism but prefer the opportunity to speak directly with our guests about their concerns. All of the positive points made were appreciated . The views are indeed SPECTACULAR and the price is AFFORDABLE. Hale 'O Bali is a separate freestanding house and not a detached duplex. There are two Indonesian houses on the property. This IS clearly stated on the web description Photos posted highlight Hale 'O Bali. The house is cleaned by a professional housecleaner. We will share this guests concerns. The refrigerator has some rust on the exterior. Hale 'O Bali is a beach house. We do not utilize the loft UNLESS there is a larger group who book the house and request this space. The beds are both covered to protect them while they're not in use. A professional pest control company, Terminix, is contracted to protect the premises on a quarterly basis. Geckos in island homes are a normal occurrence. Fortunately, they are harmless. The shed is 8'x 12' and has tropical plants around it. It is quite unobtrusive, does not prevent one from parking, and does not make any noise at all. The covered lanai is not part of Hale 'O Bali but belongs to the main house . It is not visible from Hale 'O Bali unless one is walking on the lanai stairs. The area below the lanai is being PAINTED. The painter is storing his supplies. The main house is being cleaned and painted so please excuse the TEMPORARY bit of stored items which will soon be transformed into another lovely sitting/living parlor for our guests to enjoy the serenity of paradise. We do hope that those who visit us at Hale 'O Bali will come to enjoy its splendor. If there is anything a guest needs or suggests we will try our best to accommodate them. Your comfort and happiness are paramount to our success as a small family owned and operated unique island vacation home. We take great pride in caring for Hale 'O Bali. We take great lengths to make Hale 'O Bali comfortable, cozy, and clean for our guests. Sincerely, Hale 'O Bali Family Leilani Sim-Godbehere Hale 'O Bali Manager

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Rick Brackeen (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 02/23/10
    • Review Submitted 02/23/10
    My wife and I visited Oahu the last week of January, 2010 and had a fabulous stay at Hale 'O Bali. It was extremely peaceful and the waterfall was a bonus. Never again will we stay in a hotel on the island. We are planning another trip this summer and plan on staying at Hale 'O Bali again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/5

  • We loved Hale 'O Bali

    We loved Hale 'O Bali

    • Guest Celebrators (Celebration, Florida USA)
    • Date of stay 06/16/09
    • Review Submitted 06/27/09
    We just spent a week at Hale 'O Bali, and had a fabulous time. This home sits on the windward side, in an area that, in our opinion, is the most breathtakingly beautiful area of Oahu. We love renting a cottage instead of staying in a hotel, as it feels more like we are 'living' in the place, rather than visiting it. For us, Hale 'O Bali was the perfect choice. With it's unique Indonesian/island architectural character, rural setting with stunning views of both the ocean and the mountains, and awakening to roosters and birds chirping, just being in the house made us feel very connected to nature, and a real part of Hawaii. The house was spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The bedroom is large, and there's a ton of drawer and closet space. I wished the shower was a smidge bigger, but that's no big deal. Over all, the bathroom was very nice. Lots of towels and plenty of towel bars to let things dry in the tropical climate, and a washer and dryer. During our visit, it rained often, which is very normal for that part of Hawaii, and why it is so gloriously beautiful. Our benchmark for a great place to stay is "is it a good rainy day house" - can you be happy there if weather or other factors keep you couped up for a while. Hale 'O Bali is perfect, because even when you're at home, you are looking out through an entire wall of windows, on to beautiful mountains, lush foliage, and the ocean. Outdoor living is great with a very large deck, nicely furnished. It is ocean front, though it is not a swimming beach. We consider this a plus, as there were no beach-goers out our window. Just lovely foliage, a huge lawn leading to the water, and a half dozen swaying palms framing the view of the ocean. For your beach fix, just hop in the jeep and go up the road in either direction, and you've got beaches galore. Although the home gives you a lovely away-from-it-all feeling, it is a short (and stunningly beautiful) drive south to Kailua and Lanikai beaches, an easy, and gorgeous, jaunt to Honolulu, and right on the way to the wonderful North Shore. All in all, we would highly recommend this house. It is a unique experience. The owner provided us with excellent service, the home and grounds are beautifully maintained, and we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. We would stay there again, in a minute, and heartily recommend it to others traveling to Oahu. M and J June 2009

    Manager response: To M& J, It gives us such delight to be able to share the beauty,unique experience, and comfort that Hale 'O Bali provides. Thank you to you and all the other guests for sharing your thoughts about Hale 'O Bali! We hope to see you again! Mahalo, Leilani & Charlie

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/01/09
    • Review Submitted 01/27/09
    Our stay at Hale 'O Bali was one of those rare experiences where reality meets or exceeds expectations. The home is spacious, light, airy, well-appointed and perfectly situated, with a clear view of the ocean and shoreline at the edge of the property. There's no beach but excellent beaches are just a few minutes away, as are stores, restaurants, and a range of tourist attractions - best of which is the Polynesian Cultural Center in L?'ie. Hale 'O Bali is a restful, welcoming place, away from the touristic concentrations on the other side of the Ko'olau mountains. Highly recommended!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Oahu Alternative

    Oahu Alternative

    • Guest Robin79 (Wheat Ridge, CO)
    • Date of stay 11/10/08
    • Review Submitted 11/18/08
    If you are looking for a quiet place on Oahu, away from the traffic and crowds of Honolulu, this is a great choice. The setting and the house are both gorgeous! I would recommend Hale O'Bali to people who want a comfortable and serene place to return to after a long day of hiking, swimming, and exploring.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Hale 'O Bali, the peaceful choice

    Hale 'O Bali, the peaceful choice

    • Guest Ventura Couple (Ventura CA)
    • Date of stay 11/06/08
    • Review Submitted 11/13/08
    We had the most amazing honeymoon stay at Hale O Bali. Nov 6 - 10, 2008. The hale and surroundings are exquisite and peaceful. Leilani and Charlie have truly created the perfect retreat on the East side of Oahu.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • 5 day stay at Hale O' Bali

    5 day stay at Hale O' Bali

    • Guest recent traveller 08 (Toronto, Ontario Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/30/08
    • Review Submitted 06/10/08
    I have recently returned from a 9 day stay in Hawaii with 5 of those days at Hale O' Bali. The property was very nice with excellent views of the sun rising. Minimal amount of time spent at the house as we were always out exploring the island. As nice as Waikiki is, our preference was returning to the house each night. Nice to have the laundry and fridge. Perfect little house right off the highway. Negative: Although right on the water swimming was not really an option and the bed was just okay (king size though)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Heaven on Earth

    Heaven on Earth

    • Guest Mimizeenj (Washington, NJ)
    • Date of stay 10/01/07
    • Review Submitted 12/19/07
    Hale 'O Bali was a wonderful place to spend our 40th Anniversary. The property was exactly as it was described and the location was great..close enough to everything and far enough from everything. I'd recommend the property to anyone with a family or just a couple.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/07
    • Review Submitted 02/15/07
    Truly, this was a rental that was beyond our dreams. The venue was exquisite, and the accomadations more than we expected. What you don't see on the website is the large master bedroom which made our day. The interior gives you a feeling of not only spaciousness but of an island. You know, what we all think about when we travel so far and want to get away. You have an ocean view and a mountain right at it's side. You have chickens and roosters walking over the place, but not intrusive, so what you have is the best of all worlds. Water, mountains and a taste of country. For anyone reading this and considering Hale "O Bali, consider your search done. This is the complete package.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Karen & Mike (Lancaster, PA)
    • Date of stay 12/01/06
    • Review Submitted 12/08/06
    My husband and I stayed at this beautiful retreat for our honeymoon this past June. I am so thankful that we stayed here rather than a hotel. It was wonderful to be able to do laundry and eat meals at home if we didn't feel like going out. The view in the backyard was breathtaking and it was very quiet. It is such a bargain compared to the overcrowded hotels in Waikiki. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone who stays on Oahu.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Michaela Kral (Euless, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/24/05
    • Review Submitted 07/24/05
    My husband and I stayed at this property in January. I could have never expected this rental to be so beautiful, clean and stocked. This is my number one vacation rental ever. I have recommended this to several people since we've returned to Texas. The sunrises are breathtaking from the sitting room with a wall of windows looking out to the sea (or from the deck just on the other side of those windows). The bed was large (king) and comfortable. The waterfall outside the bedroom was soothing. Everything we could have needed was exactly where I would have looked for it in my own home. One morning, make sure you wake up before sunrise and take your camera down to the edge of the water. Watch the sunrise and the beauty of the changing colors of the landscape to your left. This view made for one of the most beautiful pictures from my trip - and I have the 8x10 on my desk at work. People stop by all the time and ask where that picture was taken. Kailua is only about 15-20 minutes away and was my favorite town on Oahu. I recommend having breakfast at Cinnamon's and using the local outfitters for watersports. It's a big enough town to have access to everything you could need, but it's so much more "Hawaiian" to me than Honolulu. Closer to the rental, I recommend Haleiwa Joe's for dinner one night. Arrive before sunset, go in and put your name on the list for a table by the rail (if you haven't already made reservations, which you really should for a rail table) and ask how to get down to the Haiku garden. Take a stroll in this peaceful little garden where weddings often take place and then go back up to the restaurant for a dinner in a half open restaurant overlooking the garden with tiki lanterns lining the rail. It's beautiful..and also one of my favorite memories. Take in a few cocktails to help you feel the magic of this romantic place. I also recommend stopping at the Valley of the Temples one morning (better lighting conditions). It's a cemetary, but a most remarkable cemetary with a beautiful replica of a Japanese temple at the back. Both Haleiwa Joe's and the Valley of the Temples are within 5-10 minutes of Hale O' Bali (this vacation rental). I hope that we have the opportunity to return someday...and that we'll be able to have a more leisurely experience, enjoying these favorite things just a little longer. When I'm in a stressful situation and I need to close my eyes and think of a beautiful calming memory, this

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Michaela Kral (Euless, TX)
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/23/05
    My husband and I stayed at this property in January. I could have never expected this rental to be so beautiful, clean and stocked. This is my number one vacation rental ever. I have recommended this to several people since we've returned to Texas. The sunrises are breathtaking from the sitting room with a wall of windows looking out to the sea (or from the deck just on the other side of those windows). The bed was large (king) and comfortable. The waterfall outside the bedroom was soothing. Everything we could have needed was exactly where I would have looked for it in my own home. One morning, make sure you wake up before sunrise and take your camera down to the edge of the water. Watch the sunrise and the beauty of the changing colors of the landscape to your left. This view made for one of the most beautiful pictures from my trip - and I have the 8x10 on my desk at work. People stop by all the time and ask where that picture was taken. Kailua is only about 15-20 minutes away and was my favorite town on Oahu. I recommend having breakfast at Cinnamon's and using the local outfitters for watersports. It's a big enough town to have access to everything you could need, but it's so much more "Hawaiian" to me than Honolulu. Closer to the rental, I recommend Haleiwa Joe's for dinner one night. Arrive before sunset, go in and put your name on the list for a table by the rail (if you haven't already made reservations, which you really should for a rail table) and ask how to get down to the Haiku garden. Take a stroll in this peaceful little garden where weddings often take place and then go back up to the restaurant for a dinner in a half open restaurant overlooking the garden with tiki lanterns lining the rail. It's beautiful..and also one of my favorite memories. Take in a few cocktails to help you feel the magic of this romantic place. I also recommend stopping at the Valley of the Temples one morning (better lighting conditions). It's a cemetary, but a most remarkable cemetary with a beautiful replica of a Japanese temple at the back. Both Haleiwa Joe's and the Valley of the Temples are within 5-10 minutes of Hale O' Bali (this vacation rental). I hope that we have the opportunity to return someday...and that we'll be able to have a more leisurely experience, enjoying these favorite things just a little longer. When I'm in a stressful situation and I need to close my eyes and think of a beautiful calming memory, this is the place that I dream of. I'd be happy to provide recommendations to anyone or answer any questions about my experience on Oahu or in this rental. Please e-mail me at michaela1k (at) msn. com. Michaela Dallas, TX

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Mary Karniss (Menlo,Wa.)
    • Date of stay 07/01/05
    • Review Submitted 07/12/05
    My mother and I spent a delightful 10 days at this vacation rental. Charlie and Leilani were both very helpful. This is a wonderful spot from which to sightsee in Honolulu or snorkel on the North Shore. The pond and waterfall outside of the bedroom window was very restful.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Kristen MacKenzie (Seattle, Wa)
    • Date of stay 11/01/04
    • Review Submitted 11/21/04
    We arrived at night during a fleeting moment of absolutely clear sky. Being away from city lights finally, the brilliance of the stars was astounding. We were overwhelmed by what we found for our lodgings. (Although incidently we couldn't tell which house was ours so we woke up Charlie who kindly showed us to the right place) The loft scared us a bit as it had a very small mattress with soiled sheets and gecko droppings. Such relief to find the huge king size bed in pristine state. All beautiful. The only thing we were unhappy about after that was that the entire last day we were there yard work was being done at such deafening noise volume that we didn't feel able to stay. We were very unhappy with that. That being said, we found in to be an incredible vacation spot with totally unusual qualities that add to its beauty immensely.

    Manager response: I am happy to know Kristen and Jay had an overall positive rating for Hale 'O Bali. The loft is generally kept in a semi closed condition when not in use. For parties of two like Kristen's the large bedroom is prepped for the new arrivals but the loft is left "dormant". The loft is cleaned and prepped for parties of 3 or 4 persons who may choose to use the sleeping loft as an alternative to the sleeping space in the den. So sorry about the yard men. We do try to schedule them when we have an open day without guests but sometimes that is difficult to juggle. Thankyou for your comments as we strive to make Hale 'O Bali the best of the best vacation rentals. Leilani Sim-Godbehere Hale 'O Bali Agent

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Joan and Kevin Blacken (Canandaigua, NY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/04
    • Review Submitted 03/08/04
    We very much enjoyed our stay here. The house has everything you could need. The decor is very impressive and the home has many beautiful features, from the fish pond with waterfall, to the lovely deck overlooking the ocean. Our only wish is that our stay had been longer. I strongly recommend this home over a stay in Waikiki!! Many thanks from, Joan and Kevin Blacken Canandaigua, NY

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Gary and Ellaine (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/03
    • Review Submitted 09/30/03
    We've stayed in many different condos throughout the Islands over the past 20 years --Hale O' Bali was the most well equipped and comfortable place we've visited. Our 7 days seemed as though we were actually residents of Hawaii (vs tourists). It's also located in the most beautiful part of Oahu; so green and lush. The sunrises are awesome!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bob & Kristin Johns (Salt Lake City, UT)
    • Date of stay 06/01/03
    • Review Submitted 06/18/03
    We loved our stay at Hale O Bali! What a perfect location to homebase from. Kualoa Beach & Ranch (where Jurrasic Park was filmed) is less then 5 minutes away and other great attractions all over the island are within 20-45 minutes drive: Polynesian Cultural Center, North Shore (Banzai, Sunset and Waimea Beaches + Shark's Cove), Kailua Beach, Lanikai Beach, Blowhole, Hanauma Bay, Waikiki, etc, etc.... A nice restaurant close by is Haleiwa Joe's (ask Leilani for directions). Other fun places to eat include: Kua Aina Sandwich shop in Haleiwa on the North Shore and Cheeseburger in Paradise in Waikiki. We stayed for 8 days/7 nights and went all over the island. Leilani is a great host and the property is terrific!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Diana & Dick (Spokane, WA)
    • Date of stay 06/01/03
    • Review Submitted 06/16/03
    We had the best time at Hale O'Bali! Very Hawaiian, comfortable and cozy; great location. Leilani, Montana (and Luna) were great hosts and always helpful with tips and info about the island. Thank you all for a great Hawaiian vacation!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bruce & Elaine (Powder Springs, GA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/03
    • Review Submitted 05/24/03
    We had a fantastic week on Oahu, based at Hale 'O Bali. Leilani & family are great hosts and the cottage is very well equipped, everything we needed was available. The beautiful plantings & flowers, the garden pond & waterfall, the gorgeous sunrise views and Leilani's hospitality made for a perfect week. We had the beaches & many of the other sites we visited almost to ourselves. After exploring the rest of the island, we couldn't have picked a better location to stay at.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Courtney_HAC3246 (Granby, MA)
    • Date of stay 05/01/03
    • Review Submitted 05/13/03
    My stay at the Hali O Bali was perfect. The rental was very clean and every amenity was provided. It is in a great spot on the island, situated between the North Shore and Honolulu, right on the ocean. Leilani, the rental owner, was very helpful and always offered her tips for places to see and things to do on the island. I didn’t want to come back home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Cindy Condon (Salem, OR)
    • Date of stay 04/01/03
    • Review Submitted 04/23/03
    Our 13 day stay at Hali O'Bali was the perfect vacation in paradise. With easy access to our favorite spots on the North Shore and Honolulu, it was ideal for our family of 4, with 2 teens. The house is well equipped, has a wonderful view, and is in a most relaxing setting, outside the hustle and bustle of the city. While staying here, schedule a day for the Haiku Steps which take you to the top of the mountains. It's incredible.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/03
    • Review Submitted 03/28/03
    Hale 'O Bali was my transitional home for 2 months while I moved my family to Hawaii. It is a lovely and comfortable retreat in a beautiful country setting. Leilani and her family are gracious hosts. Hali 'O Bali is true Hawaii living!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Bill & Joyce Paris (Rohnert Park,CA)
    • Date of stay 03/01/03
    • Review Submitted 03/27/03
    We loved the beauty of the Hale O Bali.Our hosts,the Sim- Godbehere family were gracious and helpful.We loved the sound of the trickling water fall right outside our bedroom window,lureing us to sleep on the fresh sented sheets.It's all the added special touches that our hosts provide that made our stay even more special.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest E J Jarboe (Burbank CA)
    • Date of stay 02/01/03
    • Review Submitted 02/27/03
    Hale 'O Bali is a wonderful place to stay at. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay for a week in Jan in 2003. Leilani was very helpful and a gracious host during our visit. I highly reccommend the place to anyone looking for for peace and quiet in a beautiful part of O'ahu

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Beth Nichols (Honolulu, HI)
    • Date of stay 12/01/02
    • Review Submitted 12/12/02
    My husband and I stayed at Hale Bali for his birthday this year and he said it was the best birthday ever! We both agreed we wanted to build a house exactly like it. It's like staying in Bali. Leilani takes great care of her guests and even called us to let us know how beautiful the moon looked that night. We highly recommend this romantic getaway!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by manager

    • Guest Leilani Sim-Godbehere
    • Date of stay 10/15/02
    • Review Submitted 10/14/02
    I've been preparing this romantic,unique home to be as comfortable as it is delightful. I welcome everyone to Hale'O Bali to share in the beauty and joy that our island paradise provides.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]