Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
"Open Breeze"

Open Breeze - Luxury Near Beach Home on Captiva [#18626] | View Property

Captiva Island
House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths (Sleeps 12)
$3,900/wk US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (15)

Sort by:
  • 50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

    50th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

    • Guest Ma & Pa (Conway, AR)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/17/10
    We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with our immediate family with a week's vacation to "Open Breeze." There are 10 of us with 4 being grandchildren ages 21, 16, 15, and 11. It was a tremendous success with everyone enjoying the house, location, and the house being spacious enough for everyone to get away, if wanted. Our favorite place was the front screened in porch in the mornings--the first one up made coffee and as the rest got up, joined the group on the porch. We enjoyed being within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Our 15 year old grandson's wish was to catch a shark which he did while fishing one night from the beach--a 2 foot long shark. He got it on the beach and took a picture; the hook came out by itself so he was able to push it back in the water with his net. We all enjoyed nightly trips to the beach for "crabbing" --catching one in a net and keeping it in a bucket until the next one was caught, keeping the larger one until it was time to go in and then letting the last one go also--you never knew which way it would run. We all agreed this was a meaningful way to celebrate 50 years--as a family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. While we have always enjoyed the home with our families, it is always wonderful knowing that others feel that this is a "home away from home." Glad we could facilitate such a wonderful vacation with such fond memories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • great expectations

    great expectations

    • Guest vicious (munster,in)
    • Date of stay 01/30/10
    • Review Submitted 02/09/10
    the property was very clean and very spacious..the furniture was a little outdated and wicker arms were falling off the chairs but the bathrooms were beautiful and updated..the pool didn't work until the last day when they put a new motor in to warm..but they were out everyday fixing little things..the ice machine didn't work but they brought bags of ice to accomodate us..the bubble room and many attractions were outside our door..and the beach was right down the street..they were very well stocked with kitchen equipment for cooking..TV's in every bedroom and alot of games for kids..we loved the screened in porch and the big breakroom right off the kitchen..I would recommend this to a friend and I love Captiva and would definitely come back..we had two families with kids under the age of 7 and they had a blast..one child was 15 months old and they had a pack and play and highchair which was wonderful..also they had great pool equipment for the 4 year and 7year olds to play with and go to the beach..they had a great little study nook upstairs with internet excess and a great place to do business..and a washer and dryer upstairs besides the one downstairs..the master suite upstairs is awsome and away from the rest of the house for quiet and privacy..All in all we loved this house..we had 4 rainy days but the kids kept busy..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Ava Marcy

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Ava Marcy

    • Guest Judy Marcy
    • Date of stay 05/30/09
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    This house was the best vacation house that my family and I have ever stayed in. We had so much more fun at the house! Every morning we sit on the porch, drink coffee, eat breakfast and work on our 500 piece puzzle. The pool and hot tub were one of the best parts. My room has a big closet and my bed is soft. We went to the beach every day, except when we went on a boat on Tuesday. We went shelling on Cayo Costa and had lunch on Cabbage Key. This was one of the best vacations ever! Thank you!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Millers -- February 2009

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Millers -- February 2009

    • Guest Chris Miller
    • Date of stay 02/20/09
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    Open Breeze is the best vacation our family has ever had. We love the pool, porch and easy access to beach and restaurants. We had enough space to always feel relaxed -- definitely my favorite vacation spot!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Marguliez Family -- November 15-22,2008

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Marguliez Family -- November 15-22,2008

    • Guest Marguliez
    • Date of stay 11/15/08
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    The extended Marguliez clan (Illinois, Boston and Santa Fe) loved this house and all it had to offer. It's wonderful for families with little kids--A well-equipped kitchen and loads of play space. Such a nice lane and beautiful beach. Unfortunately, we hit the only cold week of the year and it was nice to have some room to roam in the house, even if we couldn't use the porch!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Stivers (June 2-16, 2007)

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The Stivers (June 2-16, 2007)

    • Guest Anne Stivers
    • Date of stay 06/02/07
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    Thank you! We loved staying in your lovely "Open Breeze." This is a very important reunion of our family yearly. This was the perfect venue for our clan. Weather beautiful. Landscaping and pool great! Can't wait to come back and definitely hard to say goodbye!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Repeat rentors since 2007 -- first review...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Repeat rentors since 2007 -- first review...

    • Guest Jerry Cismoski
    • Date of stay 02/24/07
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    What a wonderful place you have here. Our family completely relaxed, the weather was great and no one wants to leave. That's a sign that we need to book this great place for next year -- same week. Our grandchildren (ages 2 and 4) think that it is their house. We vacation this same week every year, usually at different parts of the country, but your home is so perfect, we can't do any better. We'll be back, and we'll also tell our friends. Thank you so much. Jerry and Sue Cismoski family, Oak Lawn, IL

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • repeat guest since 2007 -- first review

    Guest comment entered by owner

    repeat guest since 2007 -- first review

    • Guest Elaine Rubenstein
    • Date of stay 02/17/07
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    Our family of nine enjoyed a fantastic week vacationing at Open Breeze on Captiva! Very familiar with the area -- we've spent over five years vacationing on Sanibel -- and decided to try Captiva. This house, its location on the island, the excellent management combined to make this the best ever! Great space, decor, amenities, perfect private pool and hot tub...Wow! We're looking forward to being here again for the February school break next year. Thank you. Elaine Rubenstein, Casenovia, NY

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Yearly guests since 2006 -- review from 1st visit

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Yearly guests since 2006 -- review from 1st visit

    • Guest Elaine Wagner
    • Date of stay 03/25/06
    • Review Submitted 09/02/10
    We had a wonderful family vacation at Open Breeze. What a perfect place to relax and recharge. This was our first vacation on Captiva after many on Sanibel. We found it is charming. Everything was perfect...the weather, the pool, the beach and your beautiful home. We hope to return. Thank you. -- Elaine and C.B. Wagner; son Jeff and his family Nancy, Kelsey and Mitchell; Daughter Kristan Mueller and her family Pat, Anna and Sarah, Cincinnati, OH. From one of the grandchildren on the trip who has written each year since 2006: "I loved this house so much. This house is so big and exciting. I love the beach and the pool. We went to both every single day. I cried when we had to leave." -- Kelsey Wagner

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Lou, Mike, Julie, Dot & 6 kids (Glen Rock, N.J.)
    • Date of stay 08/01/04
    • Review Submitted 08/17/04
    We stayed at "Open Breeze" the last week of April and had the best vacation of all our visits to Captiva. The house is one of the nicest I have ever been in and had plenty of space and activities for the kids. In closing, I hope "Open Breeze" has survived hurricane Charley unscathed and I wish the people of Captiva all the best.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Trudy_HAC15433 (Maryland)
    • Date of stay 07/01/04
    • Review Submitted 07/19/04
    Fabulous & Fantatsic! The week that we spent in Captiva at Open Breeze was great. The house is beautiful and has all the amenities you could ask for; from the breezy front porch spanning the width of the house to the screened-in private pool & hot tub, there was nothing to do but relax! The endless seashells, spectacular sunsets and incredible encounters with wildlife and marinelife define the essence of Captiva. The Open Breeze house provides the ideal location to enjoy all of these. Nestled a few steps away from the gulf and around the corner from several restaurants & shops, it is the perfect backdrop to enjoy all the beauty that Captiva offers. From the great blue herons to the sea turtles, manatees and dolphins, we experienced it all! After the day's adventures outside, it was a treat to sit down and kick-back in the Open Breeze house and enjoy the bright, airy atmosphere. The master suites provided a wonderful retreat. The large kitchen and spacious living area were perfect for our nights spent playing games, watching a movie or just enjoying each other's company. We recommend this vacation only if you are looking for absolute comfort within the beautiful and captivating surroundings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest "Just the girls" (Pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 11/01/03
    • Review Submitted 11/13/03
    Thanks soooooo much for letting us rent your GORGEOUS home on Captiva. We had a GREAT week, and the location couldn't have been more perfect. The local wildlife was perfectly queued daily to our arrival on the beach. The Dolphins jumped, the Osprey fished, the Bald Eagles soared and a local Racoon even stopped by (outside the screen enclosure)one evening while we were hot tubbin to say hello!!!We made use of the grill most every night, and could not have done so without the well stocked kitchen. The shelling got better and better as the week went on and we sat many mornings on the porch comparing finds, and had a couple of killer Scrabble tournaments going too. We all loved your dining area table, and we were trying to figure a way to get it in a suitcase. The decor is just perfect for the house. It was so comfortable, it made you feel right at home instantly. We had a wonderful week and it's insipired us to make it a regular thing to go away, with just the girls. Thanks again, Donna, Katie, Karen, Dianne, Martha, Cindy and Jill

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Toby & Barry (New York)
    • Date of stay 08/01/03
    • Review Submitted 08/30/03
    Our stay at "Open Breeze," was an unqualified success. It was the ideal location for our family reunion. The layout of the house was terrific, providing everyone with excellent communal and private spaces. You did a great job with the furnishings. We all felt comfortable and as if we were in our own homes. The proximity to the beach and the Captiva sunsets was a plus. We made extensive use of the pool, especially at the end of our busy days, and celebrated several family dinners around the large dining table. All of our children said they look forward to returning.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Vicki Kositzky (Escanaba, MI)
    • Date of stay 08/01/03
    • Review Submitted 07/31/03
    My daughter and I stayed here in August of 2002 for 8 days. We were looking for a quiet, relaxed place for a much needed vacation. There isn't any way that I could put into words what our week was like. It was the BEST vacation that I have ever gone on. The house is beyond description and if possible even better that the pictures. Be it quiet or lots of activity you are looking for it's all right there. Needly to say we are going back and even though it is more space that we need, once you've been to the best it is hard to take less.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Mary
    • Date of stay 07/27/03
    • Review Submitted 07/26/03
    Thank you so much for renting out your beach home! Your home was beautiful & we had a great time. It was the right size to get everyone together, yet you could easily find a spot to get in your quite time & be alone. I love Captiva and this is by far my favorite house! Hopefully we can rent from you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]