Beautiful All-Season Northern Wisconsin Lakeshore Chalet
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:Contact owner
- Pets considered:Yes
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Siren cabin description
Relax and enjoy our year-round lakeshore chalet style home on Upper Clam Lake near Siren, Wisconsin. This getaway retreat is less than 2 hours from Minneapolis/St. Paul.
Our home is fully furnished with all of the modern amenities and conveniences to make your stay comfortable, yet encompasses the rustic cabin atmosphere with cedar siding, knotty pine ceilings, stone fireplace and hardwood (heated) floors to provide the 'retreat' feeling you desire.
This spacious 1,800 square foot home with attached screen porch is big enough for large families and friends. There is ample bedrooms and sleeping areas to give every member of your group a place to 'escape' - a critical necessity!
There is no shortage of activities for kids and adults regardless of season - kids can play basketball (2 hoops and paved court), trampoline, large flat yard, full beach and private dock. Great fishing off the dock, a bonfire pit and plenty of roads / trails for daily walks and hikes. Clam Lake is one of the best fishing spots in the area year round. Enjoy snowmobiling, biking, or hiking on the nearby Gandy Dancer Trail. Four-Wheeler trails are also in the area.
The home is perfectly suited for a private winter chalet retreat in the winter time with direct access to the late for snowmobiliing, fishing or skiing. The heated floors, gas fireplace and modern conveniences (i.e cable) allow for a perfect winter or summer retreat!
The home is situated on a private wooded lot which typically is visited daily by local deer and wildlife.
Siren (4 miles away) is a vibrant resort town with many restaurants, winte-tasting events, antique and gift shops, along with scrap-booking and quilting stores with helpfull personnel and classes to explore. There is a movie theatre, mini-golf, public beach /park and indoor skating rink if part of your clan has an desire to explore and enjoy life in-town. There are several golf courses in the area, including Siren National (18 holes) and the new re-opened Hole in the Wall Casino, just outside of town.
Come explore what Siren has to offer - you will have the time of your life!
- 1850 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Pets Considered
- Long-Term Renters Welcome
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14, Beds for 10-14
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
- Coffee Maker:
- Dishes & Utensils:
- Cooking Utensils:
- Pantry Items:
- Linens Provided:
- Gas Fireplace:
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
- Air Conditioning
- Parking Off Street
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Satellite / Cable:
- Ping Pong Table
- CD Player
- Video Library
- Lawn / Garden:
- Water Sports Gear:
- Deck / Patio
- Sports & Activities
- Tourist Attractions
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Mountain Biking
- Cross Country Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Water Skiing
- Hunting Small Game
- Hunting Big Game
- Basketball Court
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
- Recreation Center
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Miniature Golf
- Fitness Center
- Medical Services
- Sight Seeing
- Gambling Casinos
ReviewsWrite a review
Our family rented this lake home in July for our vacation. We have 3 kids (ages 12, 9, 7) and a golden retriever. We painstakingly reviewed VRBO listings to find the best options and prices. While we love VRBO and have used it several times, it is a bit daunting to not really know what your place is going to look lit is really like until you arrive! The cabin and location was perfect - we had great weather and much of the vacation was spent in the lake swimming or pulling tubes behind the boat. The kids loved fishing off the dock. They have a great bonfire pit for nightly fires. We definitely did not want to leave by the end of the week! We especially loved the privacy of the cabin - it is wooded on all sides. I loved being able to go for my morning run around the 2 1/2 mile loop - we saw deer, wild turkeys and eagle every day! Rachel and I loved having a Wi-Fi connection and it was convenient to be able to bring Jake (our dog); he loved it! The listing accurately represented what we expected for our rental. Modern, updated and clean - which we appreciated! The convenience of the lake with a nearby small town with plenty of activities (i.e. mini-golf, grocery stores and restaurants) is absolutely necessary for young families. We also loved that the property had a trampoline, basketball and a large yard. VERY important for active children! The lake home is ideal for families. There is plenty to do, yet ample room to just relax. The deck or screen porch is perfect for afternoons and evenings. We liked that it had separate spaces and was large enough to 'escape' if necessary. The upstairs loft worked out great for the kids. We have already contacted the owner to possibly rent again next year. We might even rent it this winter to go snowmobiling, it is a great location. The owner did a nice job of providing what we needed in advance to be prepared such as directions, helpful hints, etc. He sent a nice welcome letter and was available for questions and general information. RJ
- Guest RJ (Minneapolis area)
- Date of stay 07/15/13
- Review Submitted 10/28/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+, romantic getaway, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Girl's Getaway Weekend
Girl's Getaway Weekend
We rented this lake home in October for a 4 day / 3 night girls 'getaway' weekend. We are a group of 7-9 women who have an annual weekend for the girls. This is our 3rd year renting this lake home and it is perfect! The owner continues to make improvements. The cabin is modern and updated (stainless appliances, granite counters, flatscreen TV's). It has plenty of space and having THREE bathrooms is very nice! The cabin itself is private allowing our group to spend time on the deck, screen porch, evening bonfire and boche ball in the yard without any worry of bothering (or being bothered) by anyone. We had mixed weather - 2 sunny days and 1 rainy - but there is always something to do. We had bonfires, played outdoor games, grilled on the deck and watched movies on the flatscreen TV and enjoyed the company of each other. We love the location - its only a couple miles from Siren and there are other towns nearby. It feels like the perfect mix of 'cabin time' while also exploring the local venues of nearby towns. As a group of 'ladies' we can be a bit critical, however the owner alway exceeds our expectations - it always clean and inviting for our stay. The atmosphere, venue and location is better than described. Anyone interested in a girls weekend - this is the perfect place, we have already signed up for next year!
- Guest Chrissy (Edina, MN )
- Date of stay 10/10/13
- Review Submitted 10/28/13
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, age 55+, romantic getaway, adventure seekers, pet owners, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
Great Family Getaway!
Great Family Getaway!
We had a wonderful week at this cabin in 2010, as we are looking for our 2011 summer vacation plans and hoping to get here again! The property is private, self-contained and modern. The lake, dock, trampoline, basketball, large yard and of course....cable TV gave our 3 kids (and a friend) plenty of activities to enjoy. The adults enjoyed the screen porch, pontoon rides, golfing, cocktail hour on the deck and the grill! The weather was 'almost' perfect, we had several bonfires and s'mores and the cabin is so modern and new, we enjoyed the indoors as much as the outside. The town of Siren is charming with antiques, restaurants and of course minature golfing for the kids. Definitely recommended for anybody with a family looking for a weeks relaxation and getaway. We hope to make this experience a tradition.
- Guest Steve and Nancy (Minneapolis)
- Date of stay 07/11/10
- Review Submitted 04/23/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+, pet owners, families with teenagers.
Beautiful setting and spacious floor plan and amenities for extended family stay. Property description not entirely accurate: screened porch unusable due to broken screens and heavy mosquito population, ice maker not in working order, dishwasher leaked, dryer not working properly ( LOTS of hair and lint left on "clean" sheets ), library ( ? ) of videos = 3. Left property cleaner than we found it, but deposit has yet to be returned, and phone calls and emails to owner have likewise been ignored.
- Guest Christine (Atlanta, GA)
- Date of stay 08/20/10
- Review Submitted 10/29/10
Owner response: In 2010 we had a difficult time with our cleaning and caretaker team responsible for this property and it was not managed as professionally as it had been in 2008 and 2009. The owner was not available due to personal issues for the entire summer of 2010. These issues have been addressed and our property is restored to the beautiful property it was prior to 2010. We have purchased new patio furniture for the screen porch, new deck furniture and a new kitchen table. We have even purchased a flat screen TV for the living area! There will be landscaping improvements this spring and we expect this property to exceed it original beauty that was so popular in 2007, 2008 and 2009!
The vacation from hell
The vacation from hell
My family of 10 stayed here for 2 weeks in August, 2010, and paid quite a bit of money to do so. There was not one day that we didn't have a problem that required a phone call. From a beehive that the owner knew about to a garage full of two weeks worth of garbage from the renters prior to our arrival to no hot water at night. I could go on and on. The house was filthy and half of the "amenities" in the house were broken. I have pictures. The beds were horribly made. The bedframe in the master bedroom is broken. And my poor husband found a pair of women's underwear behind the dresser, and they didn't belong to us! There is NO beach at all. The screened in porch would have been wonderful however many of the screens are torn or broken so it was a mosquito fest. Upon our arrival there were no supplies. The grill was disgustingly filthy and even after it was "cleaned" we were still unable to use it. We spent a day of our vacation cleaning the house so that we were comfortable with our children being there. The trampoline is falling apart, bordering on unsafe. The toilet in the upstairs bathroom clogged repeatedly to the point that we just stopped using it. One or two of the beautiful windows that overlook the lake are broken as are the vertical blinds that cover the sliding glass doors. In addition, the sliding glass door frames leak into the house when it rains. After all of this we were expected to make sure we left the house in the same condition we got it, trust me when I say we left it better. We were also expected to do laundry for the housekeeper so that it was "easier" on her. And after cleaning as we did I was still charged a cleaning fee. On the plus side, the fishing was good as was the weather. The woman and her family who maintain the property were very nice and always available, unlike the owner. Although it wasn't their fault, it was not always conducive to have them there almost every day. And despite all of the obstacles, we as a family still had a good time. The owner told me that I would get my deposit check back as well as a partial refund however to this date I have neither heard from him or received any checks. I would discourage anyone from renting this property however I would definitely recommend the lake and the area. There was plenty to do in the surrounding towns for all ages.
- Guest Cristy (Illinois)
- Date of stay 08/01/10
- Review Submitted 10/25/10
Owner response: I am very sorry that Christy and her family had a poor experience during her stay. We had 22 rentals in 2010 (12 during the summer) and everyone except those listed on this review had a wonderful time. However, we are only planning on have 6 or 7 rental during the summer of 2011 to ensure it is managed more proactively. From the first day of her stay, it was clear, Christy was not happy with our property and she was looking for something much more luxurious than our property offers. Our lakehome is very new (7 years old) and is very much like a home. I did offer a full refund immediately if they were unhappy and wanted to leave, they declined and said they would have a good experience despite their unhappiness. I wish she would have had a better experience and feel terrible that she left unhappy. I did spoke to Christy everyday, my caretaker responded to her each daily with her requests. One interesting item is that when I recieved my cable bill for the time of her stay, I found more than $150 of purchased pornographic movies ordered during their stay! Each of Christy's issues have been repaired, cleaned or replaced. We also have new patio furniture, new screen porch furniture, a new kitchen table and updated landscaping. The issues have been fixed, they are: 1) lower part of the torn screen doors in screen porch have been fixed (they were torn by the previous renter), 2) the toilet was unplugged (there was a large piece of jewelry that had been dropped into it) and 3) the gas grill was completely cleaned and checked to ensure it was working.
Nice getaway in a good location
Nice getaway in a good location
This house is very nice, though it could be cleaned better. The views of the lake and the lake access were great. The owner inaccurately listed cable and Wi-Fi as amenities. A phone call to the owner with questions when I arrived at the property was never returned during the 3 days I was there.
- Guest Jay & Family (Minnesota)
- Date of stay 06/11/10
- Review Submitted 06/13/10
Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Jay and I communicated multiple times on Thursday (6/10) and Friday (6/11) as payment had not been recieved. It was 'overnighted' to my home on the Friday of their stay. Unfortunately I did not recieve their voice message until Sunday (lthey eft it on Saturday) in regards to the Dish remote not working. It was working properly (I was at property the following weekend and checked it myself), however, as you may know, the remote control of a Dish TV works differently than a remote for Cable TV. I am very sorry it did not work as easily as they had expected. Jay is accurate in that the Wi FI is not operational (due to the city delayed installation). I have revised the amenities to reflect this change. Fortunately, very nearby is a free WiFI coffee shop that is frequently used!
Had a great week there in late July 2008. Very comfortable and beautiful home. Everybody kept busy with fishing, tubing, golfing, swimming,eating,reading...and my favorite napping. Perfect getaway! Thanks for the use of your home. Marty McNally
- Guest Marty McNally (Lockport, Illinois)
- Date of stay 08/10/08
- Review Submitted 08/10/08
This cabin is perfect. It has everything you could need or want for a week at the lake. Caught plenty of fish, relaxed, swam, kids played basketball, jumped on the tramp. Our granddaughter caught her first fish. Went and had pedicures in town with Becky. Perfect week at the cabin.
- Guest Karen Thell (Somerset, Wi)
- Date of stay 07/14/08
- Review Submitted 07/14/08
We so enjoyed our stay in this lovely Chalet...we had everything we could have wanted or needed at our disposal. The cabin itself is lovely, and provided more than enough room for the 5 of us. The sandy bottom lake was perfect for kids young and old to swim. We found the location to be very peaceful and quiet, but we could quickly be in town if we wanted to see a movie, or run to the grocery store. We will most certainly be back!
- Guest Mark & Kris Larson (Minneapolis MN)
- Date of stay 07/08/08
- Review Submitted 07/08/08
Gorgeous cabin with ALL the comforts of home. Clam Lake is beautiful and Siren has so much to offer, yet still feels like a small town. Our honeymoon getaway could not have been better. Thank you!
- Guest Brenda12 (Oakdale, MN)
- Date of stay 07/08/08
- Review Submitted 07/08/08
Summer .. Memorial Day-Labor Day .. $799/weekend (Fri-Sun) .. $1590/week (Mon-Sun) Fall/Winter/Spring Rates .......... $499/weekend (Fri-Sun) .. $ 990/week (Mon-Sun) Additional $99 cleaning fee assessed on all stays. Requires $250 fully refundable deposit. Full payment (check) due in advance. No taxes or additional fees beyond quoted fees - inclusive of all charges Flexible fall / winter / spring rates & dates = please inquire!
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 1997
About the owner: Busy, active family (2 teenage boys and Dad!) who love the water and special moments at the lake! Grew up in 'god's country' (Lake country in Wisconsin) and want to give those same special memories to my children. I hope you can have some of those moment as well - enjoy our home.
Why the Owner Chose Siren:
To escape the city and corporate life and decompress ocassionally.
The Unique Benefits at this Cabin:
Relaxing, antique shopping (many shps), scrap-booking (this area is know for it's shops and classes), stopping at Burnett Dairy for fresh ice cream and yogurt (a MUST stop if taking 70 in and/or out of Siren), kids love the trampoline and catching fish off the dock, attending numerous festivals, visiting local animal shelter, we always discover something new.
- Primary: (612) 210-4987
Summer day from the lake...
Screen porch overlooking deck, lake and yard...and no bugs!
Doe with fawns in driveway - there are always deer around us!
Lake from the dock, July 2012
New furniture..and 40' flat screen TV (in armoire), if downtime is needed!
Updated kitchen - stainless appliances!
Dining Room overlooking lake!
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Tuesday, October 29, 2013