Central London Daily Letting Apartment Next to Marble Arch.
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:1 night
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Wandsworth apartment description
This flat at Upper Berkeley St, Westminster, W1H-5QD, has JUST BEEN FULLY REPAIRED, RENEWED AND DECORATED throughout.in 2013. It has a double bedroom plus a very large comfortable double sofa bed. The boiler is new and the hot water supply never runs out. All equipment is maintained or replaced as necessary. It is only five minutes walk to Sainsbury's, Waitrose or Tesco supermarkets, the Central Line Metro, Hyde Park, Oxford Street shops and the West End entertainments. The six screen Marble Arch Odeon and three pubs are only five minutes walk away. Fifty yards from your door is a coin op laundry with dryers. An Internet Cafe is just 30 yards away next to the traffic lights. An Olympic size pool, Central Line metro and buses are just around the corner You have your own personal ground floor key entry and your security and privacy is guaranteed. Your holiday haven is central to the west end shops, pubs, restaurants, sporting facilities (200yds) and a free WiFi hotspot at the Portland Bar opposite.
Local information: This is a wonderful holiday center as many of central London's shopping and entertainment attractions are within walking distance. You can come on any day. Hot water and central heating are fed from a continual new (May 2012) hot water source. The Airbus from Heathrow stops at Marble Arch nearby the Central line tube. Also the red buses to all parts of the city. Paddington station is a 10 minute taxi ride. A coin op launderette with dryers, paper shop and several pubs are only one minute away. Local restaurants of all kinds are nearby. Marks and Spencer, Selfridges, Sainsbury's Waitrose and Primark only a few minutes on foot. The six screen Odeon cinema is a three minutes walk around the corner. Swimmers can enjoy an Olympic pool, only 300 yards away. Please contact us as early as possible and avoid losing your dates.
Domestic notes: The kitchen area has a shelved peninsular unit, 2 ring ceramic electric hob, fridge, microwave, boiling jug and a toaster. Your stainless steel sink unit has a mixer tap and halogen lamps over for lighting. There is also an iron with board and a vacuum cleaner. The sitting room TV is new and receives digital BBC and ITV channels. A small ante room provides storage for utility items and luggage. Duvets, sheets, slips and towels are included. No extra baggage during your travels.The bathroom has been totally renewed, re-tiled and all of the suite replaced. You have a deep king size luxury tub with thermostatic controls, a full size stand underneath shower and a very modern wash basin and toilet. Local coin op laundry facilities with dryers are 1 minute away.
- 5 story
- On floor 1
- 34 m²
- Vacation Rental
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Beds for 4
- The bedroom has a new double size bed provided with a mattress cover, sheets, pillows and a duvet. If required. In the living room, there is a full size double convertible settee. It is the equivalent of a 56' double and very comfortable. It is also provided with its mattress cover, pillows and a duvet. A dressing table with drawers, a wardrobe, two bedroom chairs, bedside tables and shelving complete the bedroom furniture. It is very quiet at night, but those in the living room will hear a little street noise. This is central London!! Sheets, duvets, slips and towels are provided at no extra charge. No overweight problems with your baggage. You can, of course, bring your own if you wish. Access to the bathroom is via the utility area directly from the bedroom....moreless
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
- This modern bathroom suite is new and it includes a very large full length deep tub. The shower is over the bath and is a proper full man size installation. The continual supply boiler ensures that your hot water never runs cold! The walls and the floor are tiled and the WC is the modern wall suspended type. The bath has a thermostatic hot water control which you set to your desired temperature. As the condensing boiler is always on, you should run the hot for 30 sec in order to achieve your preferred temperature. After that, it just continues to supply as much as you wish....moreless
- Rest assured that this central and ideal location is fully equipped and maintained. The new modern bathroom has a full size bath, a shower and a 'constant supply' boiler. It never runs out! Also, your rooms are quiet, centrally heated and you have a very peaceful bedroom. New duvets were supplied one year ago..There is a double bed in the bedroom and a very large full size double convertible settee situated in the living room. Private personal key access is secure and easy with wide doorways, no steps and everything at ground floor level. You can be confident that your accommodation is as described, peaceful and secure. You will find the flat a warm haven of calm after too long spent at the shops! Please note that if you turn left out of the flat, there is an Internet Cafe for surfing and document printing just 30 meters away. The Tyburn Pub, near the Odeon Cinema and the Portland Bar, opposite, also advertise a free WiFi connection. Just buy a drink and surf!...moreless
- Books - Fiction / Non-Fiction
- Tourist Attractions
- Autumn Foliage
- Recreation Centre
- Live Theatre
- Laundrette - Not Serviced
- Not Necessary
- Sight Seeing
- Gambling Casinos
- Outlet Shopping
local services and businesses
- Medical Services
- Fitness Centre
- Laundrette - Serviced
- City Centre
sports and adventure activities
- Dining Area
- Iron & Board
- Parking Off Street:
- Parking On Street
- Living Room:
- Linens Provided:
- Cooking Utensils:
Pool / Spa
ReviewsWrite a review
Great place for a single female traveller
Great place for a single female traveller
I stayed here whilst attending a conference in Holborn. I was very impressed by the flat. It was very secure and had everything I needed for the time I stayed there. The space is ideal for eating in and the rooms well proportioned and spacious. The location is excellent close to shops, restaurants and tubes and the bedroom was very quiet at night and I am a light sleeper. I heard nothing from neighbours above or below except the front door opening/closing which meant I was undisturbed. The flat is clean and well maintained and well equipped. Key collection and handover was very smooth Overall I would recommend - the flat is great value and compares well with hotels in that you can eat in and save considerably on expensive eating out - certainly I now have the bug for flat rental and plan to go back in the future
- Guest kpe (wales, uk)
- Date of stay 09/10/09
- Review Submitted 09/14/09
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with young children, tourists without a car, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway.
Owner response: It's good that Krista has the "bug" to come back. Now it's YOUR chance to discover this great location. Thank you. Mike.
Excellent base for a stay in London
Excellent base for a stay in London
This flat is an excellent location for the centre of London, 10 minutes walk from Marble Arch station which is on the central line. The flat is light, well furnished and well equipped lounge/diner/kitchen. The large separate bedroom was extremely quiet at night both from neighbours above and from street noise. The bed is very comfy. There is a separate bathroom with powerful shower and full bath. There was lots of hot water. The flat has high ceilings and large windows which means it is light. The flat has been redecorated since I last visited and has improved in this and in the fact the fridge is now in the kitchen, meaning the bedroom is quieter.
- Guest krista E.
- Date of stay 10/08/13
- Review Submitted 10/13/13
Owner response: It is good to receive a supportive review from an old client. Especially as she has taken note of the recent full refurbishment and redecoration. Also, the exterior of the property has just been decorated, so you will happy both inside and out! Thank you (Mike, Owner).
Great location for sightseeing and shopping
Great location for sightseeing and shopping
The location of this apartment was even better than I´d imagined: Really close to Oxford Street (shopping!!) and Marble Arch with excellent bus and tube connections for sightseeing around central London. But to start at the beginning: Booking was quick and simple, and everything was in order when we arrived at the flat. It is as described, no more and no less. The house itself is quiet and the location is surprisingly quiet for central London. Pubs and many good restaurants within a couple of minutes walk, same with supermarkets and ATMs. All in all very good value for money compared to hotels, great location! Thank you Mike for letting us stay at your flat and thank you Emad for great service upon arrival and departure.
- Guest The Danish Germans (Harrislee, Germany)
- Date of stay 07/23/13
- Review Submitted 07/31/13
Owner response: It is a most pleasant change to receive a genuine review from someone who has enjoyed our flat and who is not one of the sad few who come and purposefully try to bring down the quality of their accommodation. Just a few clients have been like this over the years and I am sorry for them. This just refurbished central apartment has just been completely refurbished and decorated. Also, the exterior of the building has been repainted. Come and see it! Thank you to the Danish German clients and welcome back anytime. Mike, your friendly owner.
The flat had a great location (not so quiet but that's to be expected for ground floor in Central London) which meant getting around the city was really simple. The place wasn't as clean as I'd hoped and there were a few other little things that were a pain - could have used more towels etc. But in the end it was good value and a well-placed base for us to go out and about in London from.
- Guest Catriona F.
- Date of stay 10/22/12
- Review Submitted 01/12/13
Owner response: Hello Catriona. It has taken nearly three months for you to write your review. O.K., now I have news for you. This February the entire flat is being renewed and refurbished throughout. I am delighted that you found the position good for your purposes and I am now pleased to offer you a sparkling new personal holiday location a little later in 2013. Keep your eye on the web site. See you next time!! Mike.
I confirm that the location of the apartment is really excellent: easy to reach markets and restaurants, oxford street and marble arch where to find bus and metro very useful. The area is quiet and well attended. The apartment is more 'spacious than we imagined but inside, due to discharge of the kitchen, or old carpet there is a lingering smell and annoying. The mattresses of the two single beds are completely smashed and highly recommend the owner to replace them. (I weigh 55kg and 40kg my daughter, we're not exactly heavy weights). With little attention could be a very good solution.
- Guest alex c.
- Date of stay 08/17/12
- Review Submitted 09/03/12
Owner response: The apartment has been completely refurbished in light of this client's remarks. The twin beds have been completely replaced and a new kitchen area installed. Everything has been redecorated. We hope that you return to see the improvements.
Cosy and Convenient
Cosy and Convenient
This apartment has some huge plusses: Location, functionality, no stairs to climb, someone almost always nearby to help with problems, a great bathroom with lots of hot water, and quality restaurants, shops (the Halal mini-supermarket down the street has amazing croissant!), and launderette a few steps away from the door. The apartment definitely looked lived-in, but that is inevitable when a place is rented out a lot. It was clean and well-maintained. We stayed there for three weeks, so we were happy that there was a good vacuum cleaner and cleaning supplies on hand. The pub across the street has very good food. The contact, Noeline was an absolute star! Back to location: the neighborhood is lovely. The street is actually a little busy, but we never felt bothered by the noise. The windows keep a lot of the sound out. The neighbors were quiet as well. The apartment is near Hyde Park and Oxford Street so you can take your pick of shopping or walking in the park! When I was looking for a place to rent as close to Bloomsbury as possible (my daughter did a summer course there), this was not only the most reasonably priced four person apartment in that part of town (20min. by tube), but the landlord was the only one who didn't raise his price by two or three times just because the Olympics were going on. Believe me, I scoured the internet to find a place and was disgusted by how people were trying to profit from the event. Thank you Mike!
- Guest Antonia B.
- Date of stay 07/21/12
- Review Submitted 08/24/12
Owner response: I wish to thank Antonia for her great review. Also to say that the apartment is being refurbished in February, 2013, so that you can all look forward to an even better experience. Our costs increase annually, like everyone's, but we do try to maintain our increases at a minimum. Be seeing you!!
Great place for a family
Great place for a family
This apartment was really perfect and nice for a family wanting to be in central London. It was close to tube, supermarkets and restaurants. The apartment was spacious, cosy and clean and there was everything we needed for a 3-days visit in London. Very comfortable accomodation! Thanks for the owner and manager for being very helpful and kind! We have nothing to complain, everything was perfect! Family from Finland with 2 children
- Guest Tiina J.
- Date of stay 07/18/12
- Review Submitted 08/01/12
Owner response: We are really pleased that Tina and her family enjoyed their stay in our "clean and cosy" apartment. We like to offer a home to come back to after a day out in London. Come again Tina and thank you for your review.
Bad start as unable to contact on arrival, managed to phone emergency contact person who thought we were arriving the following day so flat not prepared on arrival. We went out for the afternoon to allow it to be sorted, only other problem was that we had to go shopping for toilet rolls at 10.30 on the Sat. night!! Still these things happen sometimes. Saying this, the flat was in a lovely location and ideal for myself my husband and adult daughter. Only minutes from Marble Arch and Hyde Park. We had a lovely weekend for the Queens Diamond Jubilee and really only used the flat for showering, changing and sleeping for which is was ideal.
- Guest Diane B.
- Date of stay 06/02/12
- Review Submitted 06/12/12
Owner response: Hello Diane. Sorry that there was a mis-communication regarding your arrival date which lead to the flat not being serviced properly. Anyway, things turned out OK and we hope to see you again. The Green Valley supermarket is only 30 metres to the right from the flat for all kinds of food and utilities. They open until midnight. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Mike.
No Hot Water...not much help given
No Hot Water...not much help given
Let me just say that the flat is as advertised. It's in a nice location, with convenient grocery and retail, with the tube a couple of blocks away. It was of sufficient size and mostly comfortable. Now for the bad.... The hot water went out the second night of our four nights there. To be fair, this was found out on a Saturday night, and it must be hard to get service on a Sunday. The fact is we were without hot water (or heat in a chilly spring visit) from Saturday night, to when we left on Tuesday morning. Not only did I not meet the owner (which I understand) but I never met the manager. I received and dropped off keys and gave my complaint about the hot water to a news shop person, and I didn't get good response. It was a "these things happen" and a "it's British Gas's fault". I understand that unforeseen problems happen, but I didn't feel that there was concern for the situation, nor a desire to make it right. After multiple emails to the owner, I finally received a half off next visit offer. I am not likely to even be able to take up such an offer. I feel that the lack of response and the obvious dodgy hot water system cannot allow me to recommend this rental.
- Guest Andrew P. (Fitchburg, Massachusetts)
- Date of stay 04/27/12
- Review Submitted 05/09/12
Owner response: This occurred two months ago and, unfortunately, at the weekend. When things fail, it has to happen to someone and we are very sorry that their holiday was spoiled. Although the boiler was only 3.5 years old, it was replaced with a new one immediately after our client's departure. That was the best that we could do. I am pleased to report that everything is working perfectly and you are assured of a comfortable stay at this convenient location.
Nice little apartement
Nice little apartement
Positiv is the location, shops, supermarket, restaurants and metro station nearby. Normal noice for London Central. Nicely new refurbished and decorated, but bathroom disappointed us a bit, because there is no decoration at all and it has a really ugly window with chipped paint and no curtain or blinds. Towels need to be replaced, they look a bit old and used. Unfortunately the whole house is under construction, i.e. scaffolding outside, inside all the workers stuff and dirt etc. which is also in the apartment. A relaxing breakfast in the morning no chance, as the workers start at 8.00 a.m. with heavy works. If you are a person with high standard in security, this apartment is not suitable for you, because the apartment door lock is a joke. It looks like a cabinet lock without a door catch. You were told to make sure that the door is always closed, but if you don't do so, it will be wide open. My advice leave the key in when you are in the apartment, otherwise everybody, who is interested, could spy through the keyhole. The front door, if not carefully closed and nobody does so, is so loud, that the dishes rattle in the cupboard and you get the feeling the wall colapses behind you. Apart of that it was nice staying there and we enjoyed London a lot. Price performance ratio was ok and when construction works are finished it will be a lot better.
- Guest Marita S.
- Date of stay 06/15/13
- Review Submitted 06/30/13
Owner response: The apartment on the top floor of the house is being enlarged. Also the whole house exterior is being repainted. This requires scaffolding to the entire front of the house. Your personal and just fully refurbished flat is unaffected by these short term works which will be to the benefit of all future clients. I apologise for matters outside of my control. The entire bathroom is tiled. We will attend to the window paintwork upon our next visit.We are pleased that you enjoyed everything else in the flat and its central location.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Oct 10 - Oct 9, 2014
1 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
The flat sleeps four in comfort. However, the rental quoted of £100 daily is for the entire accommodation for up to TWO PERSONS.all inclusive of cleaning, utilities, sheets, towels and heating. For THREE OR FOUR PERSONS, the charge is £110 a night. Linen, duvets, sheets, slips, towels and cleaning are included in your rental. No problems with extra airline baggage weights.
A 20% deposit is payable upon reserving. The balance will be due two months prior to entry. Thank you.
- Taxes Not included
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: London Heathrow at 30 Kilometres
- Nearest Train: Paddington at 2 Kilometres
- Nearest Motorway: A4 leading to the M4 at 3 Kilometres
- Nearest Barpub: The Portland Bar and Restaurant at 50 Metres
- Nearest Restaurant: Several at 100 Metres
Year Purchased: 1987
About the owner: I used this flat while I was working for the Royal College of Art (University of London). I am now retired and live in France.
Why the Owner Chose Wandsworth:
It is so central for everything in London with every kind of facility on your doorstep. So, I bought the property. During 2013, it has been totally renewed throughout. You will love the all new kitchen and 100% redecoration, etc.
The Unique Benefits at this Apartment:
Ground floor, secure, quiet, private and easy access to anywhere that you wish to go.
- Primary: +33 (0)5 53 29 45 17 Email enquiries are preferred.
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
SITTING ROOM including a double king size convertible settee.
DINING AREA with a four seater gate leg table and a mirror over.
THE BEDROOM with a double bed and a mirrored wall cupboard.
THE BATHROOM with a king size bath and a modern wall mounted toilet.
CERAMIC HOB with fridge and stainless steel sink. Abundant cupboard space.
UTILITY ROOM with a work top and large cupboard. The bathroom is beyond.
SITTING ROOM showing the coffee table and two of the four dining chairs.
PINE CUPBOARD with your crockery and glasses.
CHEST OF DRAWERS with two bedroom chairs and a trouser press.
THE SHOWER over your bath.
WORKTOP AREA with toaster, microwave and boiling jug. Kitchen utensils above.
1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
+33 (0)5 53 29 45 17
Email enquiries are preferred.
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.