Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Home in the Woods!

Home in the Woods and on the Creek! [#191809] | View Property

Payson
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)
$145 - $180/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (59)

Sort by:
  • Cozy Home on Christopher Creek

    Cozy Home on Christopher Creek

    • Guest City Folk
    • Date of stay 02/01/14
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    My husband and I stayed at this place for our anniversary. Its a very cozy place with all the bare Necessities(kitchen& bathroom supplies). Both bedrooms have their very own bathrooms. Both bedrooms are very spacious. We most enjoyed having a fire on the deck and listening to the creek. This location is close to the lakes for fishing. We will defiantly visit again. Next time we will come up in summer so we catch trout from the deck :)

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Spacious Creekside home in Christopher Creek.

    Spacious Creekside home in Christopher Creek.

    • Guest Christie Mc (Gilbert, AZ)
    • Date of stay 01/04/14
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Great weekend get away 2 hours away from Phoenix. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood with easy access to hiking trails. Spacious accommodations with a very nice deck with a creek running right out your back door. We had a wonderful time playing games and laughing after dinner each night. If you are looking for a quiet get away with your friends or family.... look no further.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Great cabin near a creek

    Great cabin near a creek

    • Guest Mike (PHoenix,)
    • Date of stay 11/27/13
    • Review Submitted 12/09/13
    We love to get away and stay and new place around AZ, This place was wonderful, tranquil, and peaceful! We saw lots of wild deer and had a super time. The weather and cool breeze was wonderful. We loved the sound of the creek almost like a babbling creek sound. Very relaxing. Anita was a pleasure to work with. I would come again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Owner response: Thanks so much! It was a pleasure having you!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Wonderful Creekside Home

    Wonderful Creekside Home

    • Guest creeker (United States)
    • Date of stay 10/26/13
    • Review Submitted 11/06/13
    This is a very spacious, beautifully appointed home. Everything you could possibly need is right here. TV, games , and the most comfortable beds ever. Sitting on the deck and listening to the creek is a very soothing, serene, romantic experience. We truly loved our stay, and hope to be back very frequently. Highly reccomended for everyone. Thank you so much!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you! Maybe we'll see you when there's snow! Our road gets plowed first since its so close to the fire station. Last year we got lots more than a dusting, and the rim is a wonderful place for cross country skiing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • WYSIWYG

    WYSIWYG

    • Guest Niranjan N.
    • Date of stay 10/18/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    Pros - The pictures & description is exactly what this place is. We were a group of 10 and we stayed comfortably over the weekend. Anita provides w/ extra blankets & pillows for larger groups. Home is well equipped with heaters, utensils & hot water :) .. The deck outside is wonderful with the Gas grill, plenty of chairs & creek flows right by. Also, noise is expected with a larger group, but we didn't have cops knocking on our door, so I guess neighbours were OK with it :P With it's close proximity to woods canyon lake & a couple of sunset points.. it's a perfect Con - The only thing that would have made this perfect, if it was more secluded with no close neighbours.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank you for coming and taking such good care of the place! I'm sorry you were disturbed by neighors - there usually is not anyone but a few walkers on the road after Labor Day! I hope we'll see you again soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Serene

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful and Serene

    • Guest Phil, Janet, Clare
    • Date of stay 09/26/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    A wonderful, tranquil, and peaceful place! Your home is beautiful and very serene. Enjoyed star-gazing at night and listening to the creek by day. A much needed respite for all. Thank you.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Very Relaxing!!

    Very Relaxing!!

    • Guest Dude (Phoenix, AZ )
    • Date of stay 09/23/13
    • Review Submitted 10/19/13
    A very nicely furnished house on the creek with all of the amenities. My wife and I took her mother along, who is wheelchair bound, and found the place to be excellently laid out and furnished for one who is motationally challenged. The deck is right up against the creek, and it was very relaxing listening to the water flow by. All in all, a splendid time was had by all.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Cool getaway

    Cool getaway

    • Guest Cindy (Phoenix, Az)
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    The weather and cool breeze was wonderful. We loved the sound of the creek almost like a babbling creek sound. Very relaxing. The bedrooms and bathrooms were a nice size. We left early because both mattresses were lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. The shower head was not up to par. The kitchen chairs were like sitting on wood as most of the padding was gone. Even the silver wear had an odd metallic taste. The sliding glass screen to the porch needing fixing. If the weather would have been hotter the one small AC in the kitchen would not have been enough to get the heat at bay. Very little has to be done to make Anita's Creekside Haven a wonderful enjoying experience. I hope these changes can be made by next summer so we can book a 2-3 week slot.

    Recommended for: Age 55+

    Owner response: I am very sorry my home was not as well appointed as it usually is. After non-stop rental parties all summer long, I am ready to replace the silverware and fix the chairs - I'm sure you will have a much more enjoyable stay next time! The screens are already fixed! The mattresses have "toppers" . I have had no other complaints about them and they can be easily removed to the closets until the next guests. I will make sure the bed suits you next time!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Another Excellent Stay!

    Another Excellent Stay!

    • Guest HG (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 09/07/13
    This is our second visit to Anita's Creekside Haven. We enjoyed this one as much as our first last year. There were three of us ladies and we found the house completely comfortable, with three nice bathrooms! The kitchen is large which was great as we all chipped in to fix meals. And, of course, we spent lots of time on the creekside deck. We plan to make this an annual trip!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Caught rainbow trout!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Caught rainbow trout!

    • Guest Rochell and Jon
    • Date of stay 08/06/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    Great house, squirrels, birds and deck! We even caught one rainbow trout in Christopher Creek! (Released it back to wild.) Woods Canyon Lake was a great suggestion. Had great time. We will be in touch to rent again in near future! Thank you!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Girls retreat!

    Girls retreat!

    • Guest Ck (Gilbert )
    • Date of stay 05/17/13
    • Review Submitted 05/23/13
    We had a wonderfully relaxing and refreshing girls weekend at Anita's cabin. The cabin is comfortable and the deck overlooking the running creek was host to much of our weekend including daily yoga. We all agreed we will plan another visit in the future. Thanks Anita!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • cabin

    cabin

    • Guest Fred B. (Phoenix, Arizona)
    • Date of stay 02/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/26/13
    the cabin was very nice, the weather was a little wet and the dirt road turned into a mud road. Everything inside the cabin was in good order. All in all we enjoyed the time at the cabin.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sorry all the snow made things muddy for awhile - at least the roads dry up quickly and become very suitable again! Glad you enjoyed the home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Weekend

    Wonderful Weekend

    • Guest ArizonaCouple (Scottsdale)
    • Date of stay 11/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/21/12
    We arrived after dark, but the property was fairly easy to locate... owner gave us good directions. Front porch light was on as well as lighting inside. On the kitchen counter was a fresh baked pan of brownies which we thought was a nice touch. The home is very spacious, with two master suites on each end of the house, living area in the center. Fairly well maintained, although the back deck and patio furniture could use a little upkeep. Everything was clean and worked as expected. The property description was accurate. This property seemed to us to be one of the best kept properties in the area. Several surrounding homes seemed somewhat unkept and run down. On the plus side, the home backs right up to Christopher Creek, which makes for wonderful afternoons and evenings sitting on the deck, listening to the sound of water running by. Owner was very engaged, easy to reach prior to our arrival, as well as upon our departure. Overall, we thought this was a very nice property and will recommend it to friends and family.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Birthday Surprise!

    Birthday Surprise!

    • Guest Mike B.
    • Date of stay 11/01/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    Anita was very personably greeting us with home baked brownies upon our arrival. Wheelchair accessible, however the master bathroom may be difficult for a power chair user. Beautiful patio, the pictures do NOT do it justice. The home is very large with 2 separate suites, 2 couples could stay & have their own space. We love Payson, & Anita's was an amazing birthday surprise. Thank you!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • So relaxing!

    So relaxing!

    • Guest 2Hawkeyes (Phoenix, AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/30/12
    • Review Submitted 10/24/12
    Our second stay at Anita's was very restful and serene. Meals out on the deck with just the sounds of the creek, birds and rustling leaves was just what we needed to recuperate after a stressful work week!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Little Piece of Heaven

    Little Piece of Heaven

    • Guest ChaCha (Laveen AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/10/12
    • Review Submitted 09/16/12
    The property was just as described and more spacious than the photos reflect. We felt very safe and slept with the arcadia doors open so we could hear the creek that runs along the back of property. When we arrived, Anita was there to greet us with freshly baked brownies. She is very friendly and was helpful in answering questions about where to go fishing and the surrounding area. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return for another visit. We have already recommended this property to our family, friends and coworkers.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • So Peaceful and Beautiful!

    So Peaceful and Beautiful!

    • Guest AZ Resident (Phoenix area)
    • Date of stay 08/30/12
    • Review Submitted 09/04/12
    We just got home from spending a long Labor Day weekend in this comfortable, welcoming and spacious home. The fact that it is right on the banks of Christopher Creek is what makes this even more special. Every morning we would head out to have our coffee overlooking the running creek and listen to it's sounds over the rocks - totally mesmerizing and i spent as much time as i could outside on that deck. It is set in a little community of homes along the creek and up the hillside behind it. Every day I would walk the dirt road under the canopy of trees down to the old homestead and the meadow surrounding it. We saw a deer our first night there on the front yard when we came home from dinner. Lots of squirrels and bluejays as well. We did a daytrip down to Strawberry/Pine and one to the lakes north up the highway. The Creekside Steakhouse up the road was so hospitable and full of history and charm, went there twice. Had a good dinner at Kohl's Ranch dining room as well. Anita has everything in her place to make you feel at home and comfortable. She warmly greeted us upon arrival and was available by phone when we had questions, she was terrific! I can still hear the creek running in my head and wish i was back sitting on that deck!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • charming Cool Escape

    charming Cool Escape

    • Guest coachwfe (Desert Hills, AZ)
    • Date of stay 08/13/12
    • Review Submitted 08/24/12
    Anita's home was lovely and perfectly set up for two couples to share. The two bedrooms even had bathrooms with double sinks, so no one got the smaller space! She met us with a lovely plate of brownies which added a homey touch to our vacation. The back deck was a wonderful place for relaxing and squirrel watching. We enjoyed the walks in the area and found the house perfectly equipped for our stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Total relaxation!!!

    Total relaxation!!!

    • Guest 2Hawkeyes (Phoenix, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/24/12
    • Review Submitted 08/03/12
    My husband and I had the most relaxing time at Anita's Hideaway. In fact, my husband says it's the most relaxing few days he's had in a very long time. We brought our own food and never moved from the home. The deck was fantastic with a great deal of squirrel and hummingbird activity. And between the sounds of the stream and the rain we were lulled into dreamy naptime every afternoon! I've already recommended this home to a friend and we hope to return again soon!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great cottage!

    Great cottage!

    • Guest Ali (Phoenix)
    • Date of stay 07/15/12
    • Review Submitted 07/27/12
    We really enjoyed escaping the desert heat! This house was very clean with an adequately stocked kitchen. The deck is wonderful and the creek below provided hours of entertainment for my children. We went to Kohls Ranch for a horseback ride to a waterfall and highly recommend it! Lots of great hiking and lakes nearby. We will be back!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fabulous stay!

    Fabulous stay!

    • Guest HG (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/29/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    We were only able to go up for the weekend but it was just what we needed. We mostly camped out on the deck with our feet up watching/listening to the creek. Fed the squirrels who were a riot. Also got to watch a couple of Red headed woodpeckers feeding their young in a nearby tree. The house is fantastic - great kitchen! Definitely would stay again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing, Refreshing---AMAZING!!!!

    Relaxing, Refreshing---AMAZING!!!!

    • Guest GM2twins (chandler, az)
    • Date of stay 05/13/12
    • Review Submitted 05/20/12
    Anita's Creekside Haven is exactly that--a Haven where one can escape from the heat and the hustle and bustle of everyday city life. The back patio is a wonderful place to recline and listen to nature. Squirrels live nearby and visit frequently. The babbling creek is a welcome sound, as is the wind rustling through the trees. The weather was fabulous. Inside, Anita has all you could need for a pleasant stay. Her spice cabinet lacks nothing. The refrigerator has condiments galore and the cupboards are chock full of kitchen utensils and dishes. The accommodations are comfortable and the rooms are large. There are plenty of extra linens, should you need them, as well as a washer and dryer (detergent and fabric softener included). We had our grandsons up for 2 days and they had a tremendous time. We visited the fish hatchery and hiked a trail. But, I think they had the most fun trying to "find the Ogre who lives under the bridge" down the street from Anita's---kids imaginations. We will be back to Anita's. She is exceptional! Yes, we had the brownies waiting for us when we arrived. A very nice touch. Thank YOU Anita for allowing us to share your little slice of heaven.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Loved, loved, loved it!

    Loved, loved, loved it!

    • Guest Duff (Ash Fork Arizona)
    • Date of stay 05/05/12
    • Review Submitted 05/08/12
    If you are looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place for you. The home itself is spacious and well-appointed and then there's the creekside deck. Breakfast on the deck convinced us we didn't want to leave. Had planned to go into Payson for dinner but decided to go to the local convenience store to pick up a few things and cook at the house. Strongly suggest grocery shopping at home or in Payson prior to arrival to avoid limited selection and high prices. Freshly baked brownies when we arrived were a real treat. Planning on going back again as soon as we can.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful Setting Along a Creek!

    Beautiful Setting Along a Creek!

    • Guest Gatorrose (Queen Creek)
    • Date of stay 04/27/12
    • Review Submitted 04/30/12
    This home is absolutly great! It was so relaxing sitting on the back deck and listening to the creek flow by. The squirrels will keep you entertained jumping from tree to tree. It was so enjoyable we spent a whole day on the back deck. Also Anita was very helpfull and was egar to make our visit pleasant. She even had fresh brownies waiting for us. I would reccomend this place to anyone just for the peace and relaxation.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Week at Anita's

    Week at Anita's

    • Guest Brian and Cindy (Tucson)
    • Date of stay 04/20/12
    • Review Submitted 05/03/12
    We spent a very relaxing week at Anita's, enjoying the house, creek running behind the deck and watching the squirrels all day and deer that visited in the evenings. The house was very well equipped and comfortable, and in a nice quiet location. We also had several good meals at the Creekside and the Landmark, who by the way has fantastic Bloody Mary's. Also about Anita; we had scheduled our time previously in October of 2011, but on the way up there I had a medical emergency and spent 5 days in the hospital in Casa Grande, and never made it up to Christopher Creek. Anita very graciously offered to let us reschedule our time, and six months later we finally made it up there. She was very nice to deal with and we felt she went above and beyond helping us after my medical problem. Spend some time there, you will enjoy it and leave relaxed.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Easter in the mountains with family as guests

    Easter in the mountains with family as guests

    • Guest kimbapat (Mesa, Az)
    • Date of stay 04/07/12
    • Review Submitted 04/15/12
    What a lovely place. We arrived on Saturday to crisp mountain air in this beautifully forested area. Large deck was perfect for family gathering on Easter Sunday. Everyone came up for the day and there was plenty of space and seating for all to enjoy BBQ and egg hunt. Everyone left that day and we enjoyed the most relaxing week I have ever had. The home was well equipped with everything one could need. On Saturday we received an amazing gift of snow, which covered everything with a beautiful blanket of white fluffiness. I haven't seen snow fall in many years as I live in the desert. Feeding squirrels, blue jays and woodpeckers was an added delight. I would recommend to anyone that needs a little downtime in a peaceful setting with the sounds of the creek to melt away all the tension of daily life. Thanks again Anita for a much needed rest in your lovely home.

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Weekend Getaway!

    Perfect Weekend Getaway!

    • Guest Piersons and K2 (Phoenix, AZ)
    • Date of stay 04/05/12
    • Review Submitted 04/13/12
    We had a wonderful time at Anita's Haven! What we really needed was a few days to relax and recharge and that's what we got. We arrived to fresh cooked brownies waiting for us, which was such a wonderful touch that we really appreciated. The home is cozy and comfortable and it was perfect for our little group of two couples and two dogs. We cooked all of our meals and found the kitchen fully equipped for everything we needed. One of the highlights was reading the afternoon away on the large back deck while listening to the creek meander down below. The dogs loved watching the squirrels play out the window, too! Thanks, Anita! We home to come back and visit again!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Creekside location is spectacular!

    Creekside location is spectacular!

    • Guest rblueeden (Gilbert)
    • Date of stay 03/13/12
    • Review Submitted 03/24/12
    Our family had a wonderful, relaxing time at Anita's cabin, so much that we hope to make this our go to cabin for years to come! The house was cozy...the creek steps from the deck was OUTSTANDING!! Oh, and the warm brownies to welcome us were thoughtful and delicious!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • turkeys

    turkeys

    • Guest speedway (goldcanyon,az)
    • Date of stay 12/23/11
    • Review Submitted 01/02/12
    My Wife and i enjoyed our Christmas get away in Christoher Creek..Vey nice setting with Creek in backh not to mention herd of about 20Turkeys who were in front yard one morning...Good Kitchen with two good restaurants very near by...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Seminar get away

    Seminar get away

    • Guest Herminator (Tucson, Az.)
    • Date of stay 09/17/11
    • Review Submitted 10/02/11
    What a great stay. I had a seminar at a local golf course I needed to attend on a Monday morning. We arrived Saturday afternoon at 4:00 and were met by Anita. She had brownies baking in the oven to greet us. She told us about the house and showed my wife and I around. She also told us about the area and the best place to eat. We were planning on cooking but after one meal at the Creekside Steakhouse, we were hooked. We had a fire going the first night in the fire pit, wood provided. Sunday morning was a delight waking up to 42 degrees (80's in Tucson) and retrieved breakfast from the Steakhouse. Watched football in bed and had an all around great stay. The seminar was only 20 minutes away and packing up afterwards was not rushed. I highly recommend this rental and we will be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Perfect summer getaway

    Perfect summer getaway

    • Guest Greg and Debby (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/22/11
    • Review Submitted 08/13/11
    Escaped the Phoenix July heat for 3 nights at Anita's and it was enjoyable from start to finish. Easy to find, wonderful furnished home and the deck was divine! Home has a great layout for gathering space as well as private time. Everything clean and comfortable and in good order. A short drive to lots of great hiking. But the best part was relaxing and being out of the crazy city! Hoping to make a return visit this fall, but next summer we'll want to book for at least a full week.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Anniversary Stay

    Anniversary Stay

    • Guest Troy & Laurie (Camp Verde, AZ)
    • Date of stay 05/18/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    What a great property for our anniversary vacation! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay. Anita's home met all of our expectations. We loved the backyard deck complete with squirrels for our amusement. Having the creek right there was so peaceful and relaxing. The home was clean and comfortable, with a fully stocked kitchen. We really loved strolling through the neighborhood. The steakhouse just up the street was good. We watched dozens of hummingbirds zipping around the feeders outside the restaurant windows. I was able to catch a bunch of trout from Tonto Creek just down the road. I highly recommend Anita's Creekside Haven to anyone wanting a beautiful, serene setting for a relaxing escape.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Spring Break by the creek

    Spring Break by the creek

    • Guest Crystal (Tempe, Az)
    • Date of stay 03/14/11
    • Review Submitted 03/19/11
    Wow, what an amazing time! We really enjoyed staying at Anita's creek side haven. The house is spacious and the two master bedrooms are roomy and private for both couples (we traveled with my parents). Eating meals by the creek was a highlight. The location is relaxing and quite, very Zen :). Another great feature (and rare for cabins) is that my sister, who is in a wheelchair, was able to visit for a day and easily access the home. The home and back porch are all on one level and there is a small ramp up to the front porch. The bathrooms are large (however, the showers are not "roll-in" but may work for many depending on one's disability/need). We hope to stay again soon!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • December Birthday Weekend

    December Birthday Weekend

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/03/10
    • Review Submitted 12/26/10
    Anita's home is indeed a haven. We arrived for our birthday weekend to be greeted warmly by Anita and her furry companion. The property is everything advertised. The kitchen's quite large and well-stocked including an instant hot water tap. Glass doors in both bedrooms and the main part of the house look out onto the patio and creek. I can only imagine how delightful this must be in the summer with the doors open. Each bedroom is en suite - very clean and well-maintained - plus there's a third full bath attached to the laundry area. Our party of four adults and three dogs felt right at home from the beginning. Not only was it a birthday weekend, but we were in Payson to cut our Christmas tree - another stunningly successful project. Assuming we get tree-cutting permits in 2011, we'll be back to Anita's again next year. Thanks, Anita, for your courtesy and your lovely residence.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thank you! I look forward to seeing you next year!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Getaway with Friends...

    Relaxing Getaway with Friends...

    • Guest Mary (Chandler, AZ)
    • Date of stay 11/05/10
    • Review Submitted 11/14/10
    Anita you have a wonderful Getaway in Christopher Creek, we loved sitting outside listening to the creek and enjoyed making smores on the campfire pit you have. I thought that the house was excellent in size and spaciousness for all of us. We went hiking at Woods Caynon Lake which is only about half hour away, very nice. We will be coming back again to visit and will recommend to others, cost was fair and reasonable, and everything you need is there. Thank you for letting us share your home and for the nice ymmy brownies...

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing, Enjoyable, and Accessible!

    Relaxing, Enjoyable, and Accessible!

    • Guest Barry, Anna, and Kids (Tucson, AZ)
    • Date of stay 10/11/10
    • Review Submitted 10/21/10
    Anita has a very nice home here, with a great, relaxing environment. The floorplan is wide open and easily accessible when using a wheelchair (I, Barry, use a power wheelchair). The two bedrooms are large enough for maneuverability, and the bathrooms afford easy entry and egress. The shower stall in the Master bath has two seats, one in each back corner of its six-foot or so width, with a three piece sliding door system, so that over half of the width is open on either end you choose. This may be an advantage or disadvantage to you, depending upon your circumstances, physically speaking. I believe I will bring a free-standing shower seat with me next time we come. And we DO plan to come again. The simple act of sitting on the back deck overlooking the stream was awesome, since it had been so long since I had enjoyed that pleasure. And the lack of noisy activity around you, save the mild chatter of the stream replete with frogs (and an occasional scampering squirrel on the deck), is renewing to the soul, if I can wax poetic for the moment. My 15-year-old son enjoyed going up and down the creek, catching his first trout on fly tackle (catch-and-release), while the two 12-year-old girls got to hike and explore unfettered by traffic or worries of homework. Games and books are plentifully stocked at Anita's place, as well as most of the eating and cooking utensils you will need. All-in-all, probably the best vacation/getaway/retreat we've experienced in years. Thanks, Anita!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The Jacksons (Chandler, AZ)

    The Jacksons (Chandler, AZ)

    • Guest Diane (Chandler, AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/16/10
    • Review Submitted 06/22/10
    Anita, We had a fantastic time. Your home is very lovely. The spacious floorplan was perfect for our family. The back patio area was a book readers dream. The sounds of the creek and the cool breeze blowing was an added treat. All of the people that we encounted during our walks were all so nice. The Steak House has great food and the ladies at the Market were very helpful with information on the area. We will be coming back!!!!!! Would love to see Christopher Creek with snow. Thank you for allowing us to visit your hideaway!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • quiet, restful

    quiet, restful

    • Guest Ray (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 06/04/10
    • Review Submitted 06/25/10
    Property was as advertised - spacious, well furnished, creekside. Our party of three spent a week there in June. Temperatures were at times in the high 90's, but the house remained nicely cool. I slept with the glass door open and screen closed and enjoyed the sounds of the creek all night long. Local mini-mart has everything we needed to supplement the food we brought, and Payson is about a half hour away. Nice and quiet!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Rita & Saffron (Tempe, AZ)
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 02/18/10
    What a terrific place to rest and recharge. The house is large, cozy and has everything you could want. The location is fantastic. I loved listening to the creek and the night sky was a wonder. My cocker spaniel was delighted by the snow and crazy for the squirrels! We'll be back next winter to "recharge" once again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Maia, family and friends (Chandler, AZ)
    • Date of stay 02/02/10
    • Review Submitted 02/02/10
    Anita, you have a beautiful cabin by the creek. We enjoyed our stay for New Year's Eve very much. Not to mention the snow we got on the first night. Our son was so happy to play with the fresh powder. I will recommend your place to all of our friends looking for a weekend (or more) escape in the mountains. For everyone who wants to know - the space is open and well stocked with all the amenities you might need. We will for sure be staying there again. Anita, thank you for sharing your home with us.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/03/09
    • Review Submitted 12/03/09
    We had a great Thanksgiving at Anita's. It’s always a challenge to find a place with equal accommodations for each couple. Who gets the king bed and who gets the double? And no matter how close your family or friends are, sharing a bathroom is difficult. Anita’s has three! The split floor plan is perfect for two couples. Each bedroom is very spacious with a king-sized bed and its own dressing area and large, full bath. Anita’s was more than roomy enough for all 4 of us AND our 4 dogs. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare and serve a great Thanksgiving dinner and big enough to allow all of us to cook at the same time with plenty of elbow room to spare. The cupboard even had a large selection of spices (and cookbooks too)! We brought a ton of food and between the counters, cupboards and side-by-side freezer/fridge we had more than enough storage space. There was also plenty of firewood for the patio fireplace which allowed us to spend a lot of time relaxing on the deck and listening to the creek. The dogs were never bored, they had a ball watching and chasing the squirrels, it was entertaining for all of us! We were so comfortable at Anita’s that we only ventured out once during our week-long stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Milisa (Gilbert, AZ)
    • Date of stay 11/29/09
    • Review Submitted 11/29/09
    Your home was PERFECT for our ladies retreat!! We had everything we needed and felt welcomed and comfortable, while being away from the city. We'll definitely be back!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Dena5 (-)
    • Date of stay 10/20/09
    • Review Submitted 10/20/09
    We had a wonderful stay. The house is very roomy and comfortable for two couples. The split floor plan provides plenty of privacy. The large deck was perfect for relaxing, listening to the stream and watching the squirrels play. Thanks Anita! We'll be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest wayne berry
    • Date of stay 10/05/09
    • Review Submitted 10/05/09
    ANITA, JUST WANTED TO TELL YOU HOW MUCH WE ENJOYED OUR STAY.THE HOUSE WAS BEAUTIFUL,HAD EVERYTHING WE COULD POSSIBLY NEED. THE PEACEFULLNESS OF THE SOUND OF THE CREEK AND THE BREEZE IN THE TREES TRULY WAS A WONDERFUL CHARGE TO OUR SPIRITUAL BATTERIES.EVERTHING WAS PERFECT AND I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOUR PLACE TO ANYONE.WE WILL BE STAYING AGAIN SOON. WAYNE,KAREN AND MOOSE,KAREN AND MOOSE

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jack36 (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 09/27/09
    • Review Submitted 09/27/09
    Your very nice property with all necessary accommodations produced an excellent week away from work! The layout of the house and the large deck are excellent for one couple or two.... The sounds of the creek and birds were a welcome relief from the hectic city pace, plus the clear sky and fresh air were an added benefit. We look forward to another visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jack
    • Date of stay 08/30/09
    • Review Submitted 08/29/09
    Your very nice property with all necessary accommodations produced an excellent week away from work! The layout of the house and the large deck are excellent for one couple or two. The sounds of the creek and birds were a welcome relief from the hectic city pace, plus the clear sky and fresh air were an added benefit. We look forward to another visit soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Jerry & Virginia
    • Date of stay 07/27/09
    • Review Submitted 07/26/09
    Anita- Thank you for sharing your home with us. We had a marvelous time. The house is beautiful and the patio was a fantastic place to relax each evening.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Lorraine & John (Fountain Hills, Az)
    • Date of stay 07/24/09
    • Review Submitted 07/24/09
    Our week long stay at Anita's Creekside Haven was very quiet and relaxing. The home is very nice, spacious and very private for two couples.The huge deck is next to a running creek and the sound is so peaceful. We really enjoyed ourselves and will go back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest David & Donna
    • Date of stay 07/16/09
    • Review Submitted 07/15/09
    Not only is the location very beautiful, but so is the house and it's comfortable as well. There were four of us as well as our two dogs and it was plenty roomy. The deck is huge and sitting out there listening to the creek was so peaceful and relaxing. Our dogs loved chasing the squirrels back up the trees. We will be back soon to this wonderful country getaway. Thanks Anita. Dave and Donna

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Dave & Donna (Maricopa, AZ)
    • Date of stay 07/06/09
    • Review Submitted 07/06/09
    This is not only a beautiful location it is a beautiful and comfortable home. We stayed 4 nights with our dogs and they did not want to leave. The deck has so much room you can find either a shady or sunny spot the entire day. This is a very relaxing getaway and we can't wait to come back. Dave

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next