West Side, 101' Lake Frontage, Right on Wine Trail from $100/N
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2-7 nights
- Pets considered:Ask Owner
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Dresden cottage description
Cozy all season New England-style cottage, between Geneva and Penn Yan, that sleeps 6. Paddle boat, fire pit, gas grill, gas-fireplace for those fall and winter nights. Air conditioning and ceiling fans for those extremely hot days. New covered boat hoist and expanded 100'dock. Eat in kitchen has some spices and some staples. Rock and sandy lake bottom with long gradual deepening. Right on the wine trail. 26' LCD/ flat screen TV/ and DVD. Close to boat launch and rental. Very central to all the lakes winery's. Good cell phone service . A very tranquil property, winter or summer. New this spring WI-Fi for your laptop.
Keywords: New England Style Cottage
- 700 sq. ft.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
Bedrooms: 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6, Beds for 5-6
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Cooking Utensils
- Parking Off Street
- Air Conditioning
- Clothes Dryer
- Linens Provided
- Gas Fireplace
- Washing Machine
- Horse shoe pits, paddle boat
- Music Library
- Satellite / Cable
- DVD Player
- Video Library
- CD Player
- Kayak / Canoe
- Lawn / Garden
- Deck / Patio
- Outdoor Grill
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Water Skiing
- Medical Services
- Basketball Court
- Cross Country Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Mountain Biking
- Pier Fishing
- Freshwater Fishing
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Winery Tours
- Water Parks
- Bird Watching
- Live Theater
- Sight Seeing
- Miniature Golf
- Wildlife Viewing
- Scenic Drives
- Outlet Shopping
- Paddle Boating
ReviewsWrite a review
This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and using VBRO and and we could not have had a better experience. From our first interaction with the owner and to our eventual arrival everything was just great. We arrived to find recent newspaper clippings on the table showcasing some of the local wineries and a new brewery opening in Penn Yan. Everything in the house was clearly labeled and was very easy to use. The sunrise in the morning is just amazing and the front porch is a great place to have your morning coffee and just absorb the beauty of Seneca Lake. Yes there is a train that runs by maybe once or twice a day, but it was not a bother (the first train that we saw had 8 cars) and it generally ran in the mid morning and late afternoon. The front room was a great place to sleep (the bed was fine). We liked that we were central to pretty much everything the western shore of Seneca Lake had to offer not to mention the countless wineries and experiences along the way. If you are looking for a great place to stay while not breaking your budget in two this is definitely a good choice. We had no issues with anything during our stay....it was exactly what we expected...we are looking forward to visiting again in the near future.
- Guest PeterS. (Teaneck, New Jersey)
- Date of stay 11/02/13
- Review Submitted 11/06/13
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you Peter for the review . Reviews are the best way for me to make the property improvements . One thing that interested me was your morning coffee on the sleeping porch. I have plans early next year to replace the single bed with a dinette table for eating and viewing the lake but can be converted to a single bed when needed. Thanks tim
This is the first time, my wife or had rented from VRBO; so it’s hard to compare with what you might typically find at a property. Also, I happen to think you get what you pay for; and your expectations have to be tempered, somewhat, based on cost. This was our second time to the Finger Lakes, and we were very excited about the idea of getting a Lake House. I thought this property was going to be a real find; because until this year, it had all 5-star reviews, and was very reasonably priced. First, the good: the place is cozy and clean, and I felt like it had good amenities. Again, I don’t know what’s typical; but Wi-Fi (which we had absolutely no issue connecting to, or staying connected to, by the way) and Satellite TV were welcome. It’s on the water, of course…was well-stocked with everything we needed for the stay, and the owner has gone to the trouble of labeling everything, and providing lots of information on local shopping, attractions, etc. But now the bad: and it really starts and ends with the sleeping arrangements in this unit. As noted before: the mattress in the one, “real” bedroom is terrible. The owner acknowledged as much, from an earlier review, and vowed to replace it in August; but as of our visit, it hadn’t seemed to be done. After 2 nights, we couldn’t take it anymore, and tried to take refuge elsewhere. The pull-out sofa leaves a lot to be desired; and while we ended up on what the owner calls the “sleeper porch”, I don’t know that everyone would be entirely comfortable with that option (we had cool weather, but as someone else noted, I wouldn’t want to have to sleep out there in the dead of summer). Also, the owner is now aware of a leaky roof. We had rain our first and last day. First day was moderate, and we noticed a few drips from the ceiling in the Living Room; last day was heavy and steady, and so was the leak. I should also mention, the train did run frequently during our visit. It didn’t bother us much; but it seemed to run at least twice a day, and sometimes pretty late. Again, until this year, this property had garnered nothing but 5-star reviews. This year: (2) 3-star and now our 4. I think that should tell the owner it’s time for a little work. I think that with just a little attention to the repeatedly mentioned issues; this place would be a very nice option again. I’m not sure how well it would work for families with kids (though my wife didn’t see it that way); but it could be perfect as a romantic, couple’s getaway.
- Guest C&L (Salisbury, MD)
- Date of stay 09/29/12
- Review Submitted 10/21/12
Recommended for: Romantic getaway.
Owner response: In answer to your review: The bed was replaced in the bedroom in July, with a new Serta pillow top mattress and box springs. I am surprised to hear of your distress. I was able to use it one time myself. I like softness and put an extra foam topper on it to make it extra soft. I slept very comfortably on it. It may be different with two people. This is the 3rd.mattress in the last 4 years for that bedroom. I had complaints before it was too soft , then too hard. I thought this being a medium firm with pillow top would make everyone happy. Maybe it was too soft for you in which case you could have taken off the extra topper I would really like some feed back from you on this. As for the leak in the living room, i was very shocked when i arrived at the cottage. as you know i called you on your cell phone to get more details from the note you left. After we hung up I went up in the attic to check the roof for water, which was completely dry and then peered over to the roof peak wall, where the stone chimney is attached and noticed the wall was wet. On further investigation I discovered the ivy that's growing on the outside of the stone chimney had forced its way in causing a path for the water to flow inside , then follow the main beam to the center of the living room where the drip occured . I am very glad to have found and repaired the problem before serious damage could occur. It was a very dry summer and fall but the week you came we had some torrential rains. The only other time anyone else mentioned a leak was last year, a couple said they had a few drops in the living room during a rain. I looked and could find no place i thought a 10 year old roof would leak , but coated the valleys anyway. The cottage is rented 90% of the time, i only know of problems when people let me know of them. Sorry this happened on you stay.
Very comfy cottage, with a great retro feel. We had wonderful weather except for our last full day. Water was nice & warm for floating. My husband & son went out on the lake fishing with a local friend, and had very good luck.The dock is perfect for sunbathing and very sturdy. There are a few things that need to be addressed though. First off, NEW and WIDER steps, to access the water. The ones that are there are tiny, in very poor condition, and ivy (although beautiful) has overgrown them. There is only a scant one foot wide area, in which to put your foot. We had company a few days and they were afraid to go down to the water, which was disappointing, since that's really why they came. This repair/update REALLY needs to be priority one! Also, it should be mentioned that there are functioning train tracks within 40' feet of the kitchen door. This wasn't stated anywhere in the owners description of the camp. The train passed by 2-3 times a day...a few times at about 9-10pm. Loud is an understatement! The last thing I'd like to mention was that we never actually met the owner, which we found odd, since past renters had implied that they'd been impressed with his attentiveness. On our first night there was a problem with the TV and internet, we called his cell phone 3 times before we reached him....a little unusual we thought. The TV issue turned out to be no big deal, but, the internet problem took a 45 minute phone call, the next day, to Verizon before it was cleared up. Just not the kind of stuff you want to deal with when on vacation. All in all, we'd definitely rent again, somewhere, on Seneca Lake...it truly is a beautiful place!
- Guest BoNo (Upstate NY)
- Date of stay 07/14/12
- Review Submitted 07/21/12
Owner response: You called first night you arrived because you could not find the wep key posted on the kitchen wall. You then tried it while on the phone with me and said you were on. 2 days later, after 2 days of internet service you said you could not get on. The signal is always there. I think the problem was your computer. The steps to the beach are very sturdy iron fire escape steps with sturdy iron railing. However it is a continual job keeping the ivy back. I hope to eventually have a wooden walkway/deck running the face of the bank so the beach would be wheel chair accessible. The Fingerlakes Railroad runs the whole length of the western shore of Seneca lake and half the eastern shore. The website position map shows the rail in relation to the cottage.
I agree with others regarding the well stocked kitchen and beautiful view of the lake. The boat hoist was very convenient but birds had a nest in the rafters and were pooping all over my boat. We were expecting 2 bedrooms but were surprised to find the sleeping porch IS the second bedroom. Their is no air-conditioning or ceiling fan in the porch so we woke up every morning sweating to death! The bed in the main bedroom should be thrown in the trash. It is very old and sags in the middle. My friends woke up every day with a backache. Underneath that bed was very dusty. We were not aware that the cottage is directly accross the street from active train tracks. The ceiling fan in the living room was very loud and very off balance and had no globe to cover the lightbulb. All of the ceiling fans throughout were dirty. Overall we had a good vacation but were expecting a bit more.
- Guest dee (buffalo, ny)
- Date of stay 07/07/12
- Review Submitted 07/19/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, families with young children.
Owner response: I agree on the double bed, and will be replaced in aug. when i am there. At years end i am installing out side / inside a/c for sleeping porch bedroom with heat pump for winter so it can be closed off without cooling from living room and electric floor heater in winter. If you viewed on line map you would have seen rail tracks. some days there are no trains and others there may be 2 or 3 . since the coal burning power plant in Dresden closed trains run less. trains run on both east and west side of Seneca lake.
Can't wait to do it again!!
Can't wait to do it again!!
Some friends and I rented the cottage for a weekend of relaxation and wine touring. It far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is perfectly located, immaculate and perfectly equipped with everything you might need. Tim is extremely accommodating and organized. I would (and will!) rent from him again and again!!!
- Guest Suzette (Rochester, NY)
- Date of stay 11/04/11
- Review Submitted 11/15/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.
What a wonderful and HOT week we had at the cottage. Thank god for air conditioning! Our stay was all we could have asked for. The cottage was beautiful and well equipped. The weather exceptional! We would definetly recommend this cottage for families or any one looking to enjoy a "little piece of heaven". Thank you Tim for a vacation we won't soon forget!
- Guest Kim (Clyde, New York)
- Date of stay 07/16/11
- Review Submitted 07/23/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.
a wonderful retreat
a wonderful retreat
i just came home from a wonderful week at the cottage and i cannot praise it enough. the location? perfect. comfortable? absolutely. well appointed? tim has anticipated just about every need. the cottage was spotless, well maintained . the descrition in the listing didnt do it justice. the reality was so much better. we had lovely weather. what rain we had came was at night. the new deck with its view of the lake was well used. we spent the majority of our time on it, watching the waterfowl, enjoying the gentle lapping of the water. we also spent a couple nights with the wonderful neighbors. the cottage, the location and tims availability to answer any inquiry was so good, my companion from scotland and i booked it for next year already. id recommend it to anyone. well done tim and thank you
- Guest mj (western ny and scotland)
- Date of stay 05/21/11
- Review Submitted 05/27/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway, girls getaway.
What a great rental !!
What a great rental !!
We just got home from a wonderful weekend. Tim is a great guy to deal with. The cottage is very cozy, extremely clean and had a well equipped kitchen. Tim is very organized and has literature of stuff in the area in the cottage for everyone to look at. He had the directions to the closest grocery store that came in very handy when we arrived. We had wonderful dinners in the kitchen and our small group loved sitting in the living room by the warm fire. This cottage also has a wonderful grill that my boyfriend loved using (even though it was only 20 degrees and snowing out)! We can't wait to come back when the weather is warner so we can also enjoy the beautiful yard and to sit watch the views on the lake. I would recommend this cottage to everyone. This cottage is very close to Geneva, Bellhurst Castle and a lot of wineries. Thanks Tim for sharing your great cottage!
- Guest Mary (Kingston PA)
- Date of stay 01/15/11
- Review Submitted 01/18/11
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway.
A Beautiful Escape
A Beautiful Escape
My husband, 5-year old and I stayed in the cottage for 3 days. We were vacationing in New York from Honduras, and I would have to say this was one of the highlights of our trip. The cottage is absolutely lovely, and everything is set up so you can be completely independent. It was perfect for our son, but it would have been just as nice if it were only my husband and I. We are hoping to return some day.
- Guest Eowyn (Honduras)
- Date of stay 12/29/10
- Review Submitted 01/15/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, age 55+, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway.
Good experience to stay in lake viewing cottage
Good experience to stay in lake viewing cottage
We had great experience staying and relaxing for couple of days.Lake side view is awesome. Its a real romantic place for couples as well as big groups. Well equipped kitchen with all necessary gadgets.
- Guest Ashish (Piscataway New Jersey, USA)
- Date of stay 11/21/10
- Review Submitted 12/04/10
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, sightseeing, romantic getaway, families with young children.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
2 night min stay
Nov 3 - Apr 26
2 night min stay
Apr 27 - Jun 28
2 night min stay
Jun 29 - Aug 30
7 night min stay
Discounts: 8 nights or more: $168 Nightly
Aug 31 - Nov 2
2 night min stay
This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: rochester, N.Y. at 30 Miles
Year Purchased: 2001
About the owner: We liked the property due to its central location to all the lake winery's.
Why the Owner Chose Dresden:
Location to Winery's, close to resturants ,
The Unique Benefits at this Cottage:
Peace and Tranquillity , morning sunrise, far from road & traffic
- Primary: (585) 451-0487 (New York, USA)
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
Seneca Lake cottage
Stone gas fireplace
living room and kitchen entrance
air conditioned sleeping porch
Queen bed sleeping porch
new expanded dock
standing in kitchen
other end of porch bedroom
Electric Fireplace and heat for sleeping porch
a cozy place to grill
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2008.
Date last modified - Wednesday, October 16, 2013
1 Bedroom / 1 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.