Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
View of the living room

Spectacular Custom-Built North Berkeley Vacation Flat [#196109] | View Property

Berkeley
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-5)
$300/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • Adorable and perfectly equipped!

    Adorable and perfectly equipped!

    • Guest Sam
    • Date of stay 02/21/14
    • Review Submitted 02/27/14
    An absolute treat! A very charming stay in a great location and excellent furnishings and decorations. Our only complaint if you would call it as such is the beds were a little small and on the firm side. The owners Arun and Suzy were more than accommodating and even had the refrigerator stocked with more than you could imagine for our stay! Highly recommended and we will be back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great space

    Great space

    • Guest Katie H.
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 02/06/14
    We were so happy with this home and with the wonderful, responsive owners. There was plenty of room to spread out and enjoy the views - the front and side decks were a big hit in the unseasonably warm weather, along with the living room equipped with a nice stereo and CD collection. We found everything we needed to cook at the flat and enjoyed our walks to the Gourmet Ghetto or North Berkeley when we weren't up for cooking. The owners always tried to save us the street parking spot closest to the property, but parking was never an issue. I slept on the futon and found it to be very comfortable and my folks enjoyed the master bedroom. Both the pull out couch and the futon were made up for us and the owners even stocked the fridge with a few basics. Thanks so much for a great stay!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • An AMAZING Place to Stay

    An AMAZING Place to Stay

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/04/13
    • Review Submitted 12/13/13
    The pictures on the website are accurate, but they really don't indicate how fabulous this place really is. Three comfortable bedrooms, living space and a great kitchen set up. I shared this property with 2 friends for a week while we were taking a workshop. The location and amenities were perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fantastic, perfect home:)

    Fantastic, perfect home:)

    • Guest Anne T.
    • Date of stay 11/13/13
    • Review Submitted 12/03/13
    13 November to 24 November. We were mother, father and two grandmothers visiting our daughter who is studying at The University of Berkeley. This house was really a home away, a fantastic house! It was very clean, good furnished, we made several wonderful meals in that wonderful kitchen. Suzy and Arun was very helpful and two amazing people! We would highly recomend this beautiful house, and would love to stay here again sometimes!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • As Advertised!

    As Advertised!

    • Guest Sam R. (Austin, Texas)
    • Date of stay 11/07/13
    • Review Submitted 11/15/13
    As a frequent VRBO user, the question we always have is are there recent reviews and are they accurate. We stayed here last week and found that all of the previous excellent reviews to be right on. The owners were very helpful and on sight if you have any questions. This was a delightful place to stay in Berkeley for 5 days. We highly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • WONDERFUL!

    WONDERFUL!

    • Guest Keith K. (Ulm, Montana USA)
    • Date of stay 10/24/13
    • Review Submitted 11/01/13
    We had a great time in Berkeley and enjoyed this lovely property so much. The apartment is well appointed, beautiful and was comfortable for our 3 generation family get together. It was especially nice to have a dining room table that could accommodate the five of us plus our son, daughter-in-law and grandson who live in Berkeley. We cooked several family meals there The front porch/deck with views of the Golden Gate was fun to sit out on, in sunny weather. The property is beautifully landscaped too. Our hosts could not have been more gracious or responsive while communicating about the rental and upon our arrival. They had even stocked breakfast items for our first morning. It was a totally wonderful experience. Highly recommend this rental property.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Lovely home with great views

    Lovely home with great views

    • Guest Kermit S.
    • Date of stay 09/08/13
    • Review Submitted 09/14/13
    This was an absolute gem of a place, and the owner is a gem as well! Comfortable rooms, beautiful views (altho we had fog for our last couple of days), easy (walking) access to BART, great neighborhood for walking.( Must point our that our group really enjoys the hills, hiking, etc). Provisions left in the fridge included enough for breakfast for 4 for the next couple of days, as well as a bottle of wine for our evening arrival. Suzy is knowledgeable about the area, and so kind! We really enjoyed our stay, and highly recommend this place.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfortable Home

    Comfortable Home

    • Guest Susan (Connecticut)
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/09/13
    My husband and I stayed at this unit while we were visiting with family in the area, and we loved it! We spent our time in the unit watching television, using the wireless network, reading, or just enjoying one of the two porches. The flat was spacious and comfortable, and tastefully decorated. It was also furnished with all the comforts of home. The necessary linens were provided for the bedrooms and baths, and the kitchen was equipped with everything necessary for cooking and serving meals. The owners, Arun and Suzy, were very friendly and helpful, going so far as to stock the refrigerator with breakfast foods for our arrival. We give this flat the highest recommendation - we would definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent!

    Excellent!

    • Guest Cathy & Perry (Toronto, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    We stayed at this property during the first of a 2 week vacation in California. The listing is very accurate, and we found the flat to be comfortable, well-appointed, with a well-stocked kitchen, including some very welcome grocery and beverages in the fridge upon our arrival. Great location with proximity to BART, and driving into SF was easy. The house is very quiet and surrounded by lovely flowering trees/plants. Suzy and Arun were helpful when needed but non-intrusive, allowing us to feel relaxed in our own environment. Thanks for a great first week!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Exceptional

    Exceptional

    • Guest Will (Berkeley, CA)
    • Date of stay 05/13/11
    • Review Submitted 05/21/11
    I am extremely fortunate to have found this flat instead of booking a hotel for my family for the weekend of my graduation. They all loved their stay here. Arun and Suzy are very friendly and thoughtful; they went above and beyond to make sure that we had everything we needed for a fantastic weekend. It's an exquisitely furnished, modern, and beautiful flat in a pleasant neighborhood. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A very comfortable house

    A very comfortable house

    • Guest Pamela (Santiago, Chile)
    • Date of stay 01/29/11
    • Review Submitted 03/02/11
    We visited Berkeley in February 2011 from Chile, we felt in home, you have all the things that you need, included dvds for the kids, movies, etc. It was very clean. The location was great.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolutely Perfect

    Absolutely Perfect

    • Guest Samantha (Portland Oregon)
    • Date of stay 10/15/10
    • Review Submitted 10/17/10
    I am a very particular and very fussy traveler. This property not only met but exceeded my high expectations. The owner's descriptions and photos were accurate. The flat is immaculate, well appointed, quiet, and beautiful. A common complaint I have with rentals are the beds, but not here. My 4 year old actually requested to come back to the apartment so he could get into the "super cozy bed." Firm mattress, high count cotton sheets. Delicious. And the owner even allowed us a slightly late check out for a 2 day stay. We'll come back, no doubt.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Perfect Berkeley Accommodations

    Perfect Berkeley Accommodations

    • Guest Bruce (West Palm Beach, Florida)
    • Date of stay 05/20/10
    • Review Submitted 07/11/10
    A wonderful place to stay in Berkeley. Very comfortable, well maintained accommodations for our family of 5 adults, Conveniently located. On street parking directly in front of flat always available. Very friendly and helpful owners. Strongly recommended

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Gorgeous home, immaculate and luxurious, perfect retreat, wonderful hosts

    Gorgeous home, immaculate and luxurious, perfect retreat, wonderful hosts

    • Guest ValKat (NYC)
    • Date of stay 05/16/10
    • Review Submitted 05/23/10
    We feel tremendously lucky to have found Suzy and Arun's flat in the Berkeley hills. Every detail and wish has been anticipated in the furnishing of this oasis. It is quietly tasteful, with top-of-the-line appointments in each of the many rooms. It is also remarkably quiet and private. The light and views are perfect. Suzy and Arun are exceptionally warm and accomodating. We were travelling with two small children and felt that the home was ideally suited to their comfort as well.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/15/10
    • Review Submitted 02/15/10
    We were so lucky to find such a wonderful place to stay while visiting Berkeley. Both Suzy and Arun were helpful in letting us know the fun and interesting places to eat and visit. How many times can you stay at a hotel where the hosts have had a restaurant in NYC? Their help combined with a beautiful place made our trip to the Bay Area much easier than we thought it would be. The other thing my husband and I really appreciated was the privacy. We aren't the usual B&B types. But once we settled in, questions were answered, and we knew what was what, we had our own space to enjoy.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest RIchard from Mass (Ipswich,MA)
    • Date of stay 10/01/08
    • Review Submitted 10/20/08
    When we read the comments from the New Albany guests, we thought they must have read our minds. Absolutely the same experience my wife and our had. Could not recommend Arun and Suzy's apartment more highly.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guestbook Comment

    Guestbook Comment

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/08
    • Review Submitted 09/05/08
    We had a terrific stay. The flat is perfectly appointed. It felt like coming home. Arun and Suzie went way above and beyond to make their place extremely livable and were extremely gracious hosts. The flat is within walking distance of shops, a terrific bakery and quaint restaurants. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay and my wife daughter and I can't recommend this place highly enough.

    Owner response: Thank you, Steve, Kimberly and Christina! It was truly wonderful not only having you as our guests, but having you as our first guests!. We wish you all the best. Take care. Best wishes, Arun and Suzy

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]