Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Wood and Water on Beautiful Seneca Lake

You sent a message to this owner.

Every season offers gorgeous sunsets from our deck

Every season offers gorgeous sunsets from our deck Seneca Lake View Gathering room Or favorite: amazing lake view Kitchen Master Bedroom, queen size bed, private bath, faces the lake Master Bath (1 of 3 bathrooms) Downstairs shower (1 of 3 bathrooms) natural marble Fishing off dock Lakeside Deck Washer and Dryer Bedroom (1 of 5): king-size bed upstairs Bedroom  (1 of 5): queen bed upstairs Bedroom (1 of 5) queen-size bed and twin bed upstairs Upstairs bathroom: shower and tub Sailing the Sunfish

Calendar

Last updated: 04/13/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:Contact owner
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:No
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Geneva house description

Our family takes July 4th week but are willing to rent it for $3,500 for the week.

Enjoy sunsets on the east side of Seneca Lake in this new 5 bedroom, 3 full bath (brand-new marble shower and tub), year-round home on over an acre and finished in 2007. This is an all wood interior home hand-built. No drywall or plywood - all solid wood.

This waterfront home is ½ mile from East Lake Road back a private drive. If you like peaceful lakeside accommodations with no traffic noise, no roads to worry about, consider "Wood and Water".

Enjoy the first floor master bedroom facing the water. The master bath has a large Jacuzzi for relaxation. An additional full bath is on the first floor as well. Two lakeside bedrooms on the second floor with queen beds and two additional second floor bedrooms have several twins in each and one has a full size crib.

Ceiling fans in every room. Second floor lakeside play area has plenty of room for kids. Large flat panel HDTV with cable and HD DVD. TV, DVD, VHS also available in play-room. Clock radios have CD and hook up to MP3's. High speed WI-FI throughout on a protected network

There is over 100' of frontage on Seneca Lake with a new permanent 100 foot plus dock with room on the end for the whole gang. Water depth increases gradually. Lots of white cedar Adirondack chairs and tables on the beach. Shade or sun - your choice.
Sunfish sailboat, canoe, new paddleboat, kids raft all on the beach for you to enjoy.

This is a vacation home and is limited to 13 guests. It is not a home to rent and host parties or gatherings above the maximum occupancy of 13. The 13 guests number applies day or night.

Rental is Sunday to Sunday - in at 4PM out at 10AM.

We want to be very clear - no house parties!

CANCELLATIONS: A forty-five(45) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than forty-five(45) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 5% Cancellation fee or $50 whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, or that are made within 45 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment/reservation deposit. If already paid, all security deposits will be returned in full if you cancel. Additionally, if we are able book the home during the same dates (your cancel dates) we will refund you minus the aforementioned 5% cancellation fee. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. You may choose to purchase travel insurance separately.



Keywords: Beautiful hand-built 5 bedroom all wood home on the water. There are three queen-sized beds, one king and four twins, plus a roll-out and futon.

Property Type

      • House

      Accommodation Type

          • Vacation Rental

          Suitability

          • Pets Not Allowed:

            Our home is pet free and there are no carpets. All wood floors reduce the impact of allergies. Our son has allergies and asthma so we keep the place as allergy free as possible - thus no pets. If we find evidence of a pet we keep the entire security policy - no exception....moreless

          • Non Smoking Only:

            Any evidence of smoking and we keep entire security deposit and will charge for additional professional cleaning services....moreless

          • Minimum Age Limit For Renters:

            We do not rent to minors - period...moreless

          • Children Welcome

          Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14, Beds for 14

          Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms

          Kitchen & Dining

          • Kitchen:

            Everything is here for 12 people - new house = new appliances...moreless

          • Cooking Utensils:

            Everything you need...moreless

          • Microwave
          • Ice Maker
          • Refrigerator

          Amenities

          • Parking Off Street:

            Up to 10 Vehicles...moreless

          • Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer
          • Washing Machine
          • Babysitter
          • Clothes Dryer
          • Linens Provided

          Other Amenities

              • Permanent dock over 100 feet long and 16 feet wide on the end, Large Jacuzzi in the master bath, Hi speed wifi throughout, over an acre of yard, over 100 feet of waterfront, 3 waterfront bedrooms with queens, east side of the Seneca Lake so great sunsets, canoe, paddleboat, sailboat, kids small raft....moreless

              Entertainment

              • Satellite / Cable:

                (3) HD Cable...moreless

              • DVD Player
              • Stereo
              • VCR
              • CD Player

              Communications

              • Wireless Internet:

                High-speed wifi with extra distance - not tethered to a cable...moreless

              • Telephone:

                For 911 calls - great cell phone reception in the area....moreless

              • Broadband Access:

                High-speed Roadrunner connection...moreless

              Pool & Spa

                  Outdoor Features

                  • Deck / Patio
                  • Balcony
                  • Outdoor Grill

                  Location & View

                  • Beachfront:

                    Lighted stairs to the beach, firewood stacked for campfire and over 100' of beach-front, room enough for the whole gang. Hammock - white cedar Adirondack chairs and tables all add to the beach....moreless

                  • Lakefront:

                    Located on the East side of Seneca so you get to view the wonderful sunsets. Enjoy a glass of award winning wine from one of the many world class Seneca Lake wineries....moreless

                  • Lake View:

                    Gorgeous lake views from the house as well as beachfront....moreless

                  • Rural
                  • Village

                  Car

                      • Necessary

                      Activities

                      • Snorkeling/Diving
                      • Fishing
                      • Water Skiing
                      • Kayaking
                      • Cycling
                      • Laundromat
                      • Hospital
                      • Massage Therapist
                      • Swimming
                      • Medical Services
                      • Wind-Surfing
                      • Jet Skiing
                      • Mountain Biking
                      • Golf
                      • Tennis
                      • Hunting
                      • Cross Country Skiing
                      • Hiking
                      • Parasailing
                      • Sailing
                      • Groceries
                      • Health/Beauty Spa
                      • Cinemas
                      • Museums
                      • Outlet Shopping
                      • Bird Watching
                      • Water Parks
                      • Playground
                      • Winery Tours
                      • Restaurants
                      • Theme Parks
                      • Horseshoes
                      • Antiquing
                      • Wildlife Viewing
                      • ATM/Bank
                      • Fitness Center
                      • Scenic Drives
                      • Paddle Boating
                      • Boating
                      • Sight Seeing
                      • Shopping

                      Other Activities

                          • Great fireworks displays on holidays right from the dock, go from Seneca Lake all the way to the ocean - connected to the canal system, Watkins Glen at south end of lake so world class NASCAR, Hobart and William Smith Colleges 10 minutes away, Syracuse and Rochester less than an hour away....moreless
                           

                          Reviews

                          Write a review
                          • Great Stay

                            Great Stay

                            • Guest Sherry (Sweet valley,PA)
                            • Date of stay 03/28/14
                            • Review Submitted 04/02/14
                            A group of friends stayed at wood and water as a base for a wine week-end. We thoroughly enjoyed the house and the scenery. The house offered a comfy place to relax. The beds were super cozy on such a chilly (and snowy) weekend.

                            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Fun times, old friend

                            Fun times, old friend

                            • Guest Vallie (Kalamazoo, mi)
                            • Date of stay 10/18/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/24/13
                            We had a wonderful time overall. The owner was very quick to answer us and settle us in. We would have preferred a fireplace, but that was our fault for not checking. Having a few more personal recommendations on things to do and places to eat would be helpful, but having good internet service made doing research easy.

                            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Lovely Autumn Retreat

                            Lovely Autumn Retreat

                            • Guest Sandy (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada)
                            • Date of stay 10/11/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/23/13
                            We had a family gathering of 12 for Thanksgiving (Canadian). It was a beautiful place to stay with sunset views over the lake. Everyone was seated comfortably around the table for turkey and pumpkin pie, without having to split into two groups at different tables, which was great. Lots of activities close by - we shopped, hiked, wine-toured and boated. The owner was very helpful and responsive to all our questions. Wi-Fi and cell reception were no problem. Also, a really nice, friendly little church close by - a very short drive or a modest walk.

                            Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Wonderful Place!

                            Wonderful Place!

                            • Guest Susan H. (Poughkeepsie, NY.)
                            • Date of stay 09/27/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/04/13
                            Just spent a fantastic weekend at Wood and Water for a college roommate reunion. The house is beautiful, clean, and has everything we could want. The view is incredible and it has a huge deck across the front. It is on spectacular property with plenty of room for cars, and you can walk right in level with the parking area which made it so easy to unpack. I was surprised at the beautiful lakefront area. It has a nice, sloping walk down to the water with a large beach and adirondack chairs around a campfire area. There were 8 of us women, and we all got our own bed, there was a huge long dining table for us all, and plenty of seating in the living area. The entire place is knotty pine. The bathrooms are really nice, with gorgeous stone shower areas. There were quite a few wineries close to chose from. The landlord was great to deal with too. We loved our stay here, and actually: pleasing 8 50+ year old women is a hard thing to do.

                            Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Sept 2013

                            Sept 2013

                            • Guest Lisa (Douglassville, PA/ USA)
                            • Date of stay 09/18/13
                            • Review Submitted 10/03/13
                            We really enjoyed our stay at Wood and Water. We found it to be just as described with the exception of being a little dusty. However, the bathrooms were spotless. The location is wonderful- central to wineries, restaurants, shopping, and Hobart & Willam Smith Colleges.The view was gorgeous. The setup of the house is perfect for a large group. It even has a playroom and crib for little one's. Modern enough but still with a "quaint cabin feel". Easy beach access. Enjoyed morning yoga on the deck overlooking the steps/lake. Owners responded promptly and politely to problems with TV. I would definitely recommend this location & hope to stay again. Recommended activities: hiking at Watkins Glen, Crow's Nest restaurant at Seneca Yacht Club, J. Olivers (olive oil & balsamic store in Canandaigua), The Country Ewe (shopping in Canadaigua); wineries - Glenora, Atwater, Shelldrake are great and our favorite - Herman Weimer.

                            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                          • Wonderful vacation property

                            Wonderful vacation property

                            • Guest Tracy (Canada)
                            • Date of stay 08/25/13
                            • Review Submitted 09/24/13
                            Our family of 10 - 6 adults and 4 children - spent a week at Wood and Water and we had a wonderful time. The cottage was very clean and exactly as advertised. We found the owners very easy to deal with. During our week we enjoyed the use of the canoe, sailboat and paddleboat. The dock and deck, even inside the cottage with it's beautiful views, gave us many areas to relax and spend quality time together. The kids jumped off the end of the dock all day long. We also enjoyed the area surrounding the cottage - visiting wineries, hiking the gorge in Watkins Glen and renting a pontoon boat for a day out on the lake. I would recommend this cottage rental and would return again.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

                          • Family time on the lake

                            Family time on the lake

                            • Guest D (CA)
                            • Date of stay 07/07/13
                            • Review Submitted 07/23/13
                            We joined family members for a lovely time on Seneca lake. We enjoyed the use of the boats; canoe, sailboat and paddleboat. Folks could relax by the water or on the decks or in the house. We all enjoyed our time on the water. The owner was responsive with regards to any questions we had. A lovely family vacation.

                            Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                          • Not what was advertised

                            Not what was advertised

                            • Guest pam d (buffalo)
                            • Date of stay 06/09/13
                            • Review Submitted 07/01/13
                            Our experience there was not great for the following reasons: -property was advertised with a useable dock, after deposit was giving property owner stated no boats are to be docked only for pick up and drop off. Also there are no cleats on the dock. -both options to travel to the water are not safe or easily navigatable. The grass path was constantly wet due to poor drainage. The stairs were very narrow with only 1 railing -satellite dish was mounted to a tree and only worked half the time during our stay -Internet was down half the stay -all outdoor furniture was dirty -grass was not cut in weeks -outdoor patio table had no glass (owner put warped boards in place) -garbage can was full on arrival (in rental agreement it states if you leave any garbage upon departure there is a $150 per bag surcharge. We informed owner of this and nothing was done. -no toilet paper was provided (per agreement property owner was to provide) -6 light bulbs burnt out on arrival, had to buy our own replacement bulbs. - Most of the outlets did not work in the house - 2 weeks after departure the owner contacts us via phone and states that we broke a drawer in the refrigerator, which we did not, and the house was occupied by another guest the later on our departure date. In our opinion the owners are using the security deposit for an extra income. These people promise the world, have tons of rules and do not deliver.

                            Owner response: Irresponsible and Disrespectful Renter: broke our property, broke areas in contract, and broke into restricted area of our home. 1.We withhold high property standards; the care and safety of our home and our renters is paramount. 2.We offer precisely what we advertise and our customer service is terrific. We are always available to assist renters, before, during and after their stay. 3. We have one of the longest and most beautiful docks on the lake. We offer: a Sunfish, canoe, paddle boat, swimming from dock, a boat hoist for most powerboats. Tenants should to not tie up because Seneca Lake produces sizable waves and boats become trapped under the dock, causing damage to both dock and boat. Most homes on the lake have hoists for this reason. This is explained in our rental guidelines, provided to every tenant. 4. Our home is approx. 40 feet above shore, offering tremendous views of the lake’s North end. We offer two ways to the beach: a 50-step staircase or a slope with a rock wall to hold on to. Our family has had no problem traversing the slope, including our mother with hip replacements. However, the decent can be hard for some. The constant floods that week caused the conditions to be slick; neither tenants the weeks before or after had any issues. Please see excellent tenant review two weeks prior: had a wonderful stay in spite of bad weather. 5.The satellite and Internet can be affected by storms. We can fix the Internet immediately. We were able the fix the problem within a half hour of this tenant’s call. 6. Garbage: that week, we ordered a full dumpster with ample space for trash for all tenants. 7. We stock all light bulbs in the cupboard over the washer/dryer. 8. We provide a few rolls of single ply toilet paper per bathroom and advise tenants staying for the full week to purchase a supply; clear in the rental guidelines. 9. Due to bad weather, an electrical breaker blew; some lights and outlets went out. We can fix this situation with one phone call. 10.In terms of breaking our property, the tenants broke a drawer in a brand new refrigerator and refused responsibility. We sent a photo and a receipt for the replacement. They sent angry emails and embarked upon this negative and false review. 11.We, Kevin and Lisa Harrington, uphold two honest businesses and are forthcoming with all information regarding our lake house. Our goal is to ensure that your stay is safe and offers wonderful lifelong memories.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/7

                          • Very Pleased

                            Very Pleased

                            • Guest Anonymous
                            • Date of stay 06/06/13
                            • Review Submitted 06/12/13
                            I organized a small group of women for a weekend trip to Seneca Lake. We were very pleased with the size, cleanliness, view, and overall feel of the rental. The lake was gorgeous. We sat at the end of the long dock and enjoyed each other's company. There didn't appear to be air conditioning, so we were happy that it was a bit chilly outside. The wooden feel and look of the home was quite appealing. In addition, the owner of the property was extremely kind. I would book this place again for my family or friends.

                            Recommended for: Romantic getaway, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                          • Great home helped to make up for terrible weather

                            Great home helped to make up for terrible weather

                            • Guest mike (Easton, PA )
                            • Date of stay 05/23/13
                            • Review Submitted 06/11/13
                            Unfortunately we had terrible Memorial weekend weather, but fortunately the home helped make up for it with it's charm. The knotty pine wood throughout gives the place a very warm feeling. The bedrooms were spacious and gave plenty of room for about 10 of us. The kitchen was well stocked and in good working order. The great room is pretty big, and helped to allow us watch the poor weather but keep good spirits. Great views from there! The dock is in great shape, but unfortunately I didn't have long to use it. Plenty of parking, nice friendly neighbors. Very clean inside. The location is also very nice in that it is in the country, but very close to all the action. Everything you need is within 10 minutes from the place. We received our deposit back very quickly, and the owners were quick to answer all my questions while planning the details. All the important things you don't think of but really should, were taken care of here (plenty of hot running water, quiet setting, functional appliances, no surprises). I also think the home is advertised correctly for what you get. I would recommend this place if it seems a good fit for your group.

                            Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing, girls getaway.

                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                           
                          Pre-Season (Spring 14')Apr 17-Jun 18 $2,000/wk, $425/2 night, $350/night 3+ nights
                          Peak (Summer 14') ... Jun 16-Sep 16...$2,800/week (full weeks only)
                          Post (Fall 13') Sep 16-Nov 13 $2,300/wk, $475/2 nights, $375 night 3 nights plus.
                          Winter (13'-14') Nov 13-April 16 $2,300/wk, $350/night 2 night min.
                          $500 security deposit due 10 days prior to rental. 1/2 rent required to reserve.
                          The Rental Week Begins on Sunday, Check In At 4pm, Check Out At 10am.
                          We must receive 1/2 the rent in order to reserve the property.
                          $75 min. cleaning fee, based on level of cleanliness and services required.
                          

                          Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.


                          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
                          Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more


                          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                           

                          Calendar

                          Last updated: 04/13/2014
                          Check availability
                          23 Available
                          21 Unavailable
                          22 Today
                          23 Selected dates
                           

                          Location

                           

                          Owner info

                          Why the Owner Chose Geneva:
                          We purchased this home from a family who built it together by hand, and we hope to maintain the wonderfully warm and inviting feel. The view of the lake from this home is so inspirational, the waters clean, refreshing and replenishing. Besides relaxing and taking in the beautiful surroundings, there are various water sports to be enjoyed --boating, sailing, canoeing--there are over 37 wonderful wineries peppered around the lake, local dairy farms for cheese and ice cream tasting, local parks and beaches, biking and hiking paths, restaurants, spas, water parks, even Waterloo Outlet Mall is close for rainy days. We hope to retire in this lake home someday. With two small children and a family landscaping business we are limited in the time that we spend at the lake. Therefore, we are renting it to allow others the opportunity to enjoy the peaceful setting on the water--renting also helps pay the taxes and with maintenance costs. So please enjoy the all wood home and the stars - the quiet and the lake.

                          The Unique Benefits at this House:
                          With the low ambient light you will see lots of stars. Just walk out the door onto the deck and look up - millions of stars and the sound of waves. In the winter enjoy all the wild waterfowl from all over North America - Seneca Lake does not freeze so enjoy all the waterfowl wintering over - including lots of loons. See Osprey and bald eagles fish and fly. This is a place of peace and quiet - of nature and when inside the wood smell and sight gives a comfort to all.


                          Contact us

                          Speaks: english

                           

                          Photos

                          • Every season offers gorgeous sunsets from our deck

                            Every season offers gorgeous sunsets from our deck

                          • Gathering room

                            Gathering room

                          • Kitchen

                            Kitchen

                          • Master Bath (1 of 3 bathrooms)

                            Master Bath (1 of 3 bathrooms)

                          • Fishing off dock

                            Fishing off dock

                          • Washer and Dryer

                            Washer and Dryer

                          • Bedroom  (1 of 5): queen bed upstairs

                            Bedroom (1 of 5): queen bed upstairs

                          • Upstairs bathroom: shower and tub

                            Upstairs bathroom: shower and tub

                          • Seneca Lake View

                            Seneca Lake View

                          • Or favorite: amazing lake view

                            Or favorite: amazing lake view

                          • Master Bedroom, queen size bed, private bath, faces the lake

                            Master Bedroom, queen size bed, private bath, faces the lake

                          • Downstairs shower (1 of 3 bathrooms) natural marble

                            Downstairs shower (1 of 3 bathrooms) natural marble

                          • Lakeside Deck

                            Lakeside Deck

                          • Bedroom (1 of 5): king-size bed upstairs

                            Bedroom (1 of 5): king-size bed upstairs

                          • Bedroom (1 of 5) queen-size bed and twin bed upstairs

                            Bedroom (1 of 5) queen-size bed and twin bed upstairs

                          • Sailing the Sunfish

                            Sailing the Sunfish

                          VRBO #196935

                          There have been  visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .

                          This listing was first published here in 2008.

                          Date last modified - Sunday, January 26, 2014

                          19

                          5 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
                          Sleeps 14

                          View calendar: Updated 04/13/14
                          Owner
                          Email owner

                          (585) 223-6448

                          Speaks: english
                          Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
                          Add vacation protection services to your booking

                          Three services to protect your trip:

                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                          Get it now

                          advertisement