Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Main room

Nice Apartment on Left Bank - Mouffetard & Jardin Des Plantes [#198914] | View Property

Paris Arrondissement 5
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)
€120/nt - €690/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (18)

Sort by:
  • Terrific Host lovely quiet, light-filled apartment

    Terrific Host lovely quiet, light-filled apartment

    • Guest Geoffrey M.
    • Date of stay 08/01/13
    • Review Submitted 09/05/13
    The host was very helpful, gracious and prepared to ensure our stay was made as pleasant as possible. Also giving us details and suggestions and advise regarding the immediate area, Paris and beyond. We found the apartment to be as describe and pictured, clean and well maintained and being on the fifth floor the lift was really appreciated along with the quietness the apartment enjoyed. The location is walkable to many places and is also serviced by buses. We would have no hesitation in recommending this great apartment to our friends or anyone looking for great accomodation in Paris.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quiet apartment in residential area; terrific host

    Quiet apartment in residential area; terrific host

    • Guest Susan (Arizona)
    • Date of stay 10/10/12
    • Review Submitted 11/16/12
    We stayed here in October during a miserable rainy week in Paris. The apartment was clean and comfortable, and the bed was very comfortable. Only downsides were no-so-great pillows on the bed and very thin bath towels. Plus factors were a terrific English-speaking owner who fixed problems and glitches with wi-fi and phone instantly. I would suggest that he have a list in the apartment of nearby restaurants and shops and perhaps a local guide to where the RER and subway stops are. It is not in a terribly convenient neighborhood, but it is quiet and safe and bright. There are some good nearby restaurants but we had to find them on our own.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place

    Great place

    • Guest Mike (United States)
    • Date of stay 09/16/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/13
    It all depends on what you're seeking in Paris. Tremendously quiet place. 3-4 blocks to the Seine. At the Seine you are immediately in the Musee en Plein Aire which is wonderful in daytime or nightime. 3 blocks from the Jardin des Plantes, another great place which includes the Galerie d'Evolution, a truly unique museum. Restaurant up the block, Le Refuge du Passe', on Fer a Moulin, is a find (check deals on Le Guide La Fourchette website) . Frequently bought stuff on Rue Mouffetard to eat at home. Landlord instantaneously available for any issue. Internet good. Quiet neighbors. No complaints.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great experience!

    A great experience!

    • Guest Heidi (Mountain View, California)
    • Date of stay 05/03/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    I stayed in this lovely cosy apartment for three months and it was a great experience. Everything said so far about this apartment and its host is true! In addition to the great location (near 2 metro and a RER station, Jardins des Plantes, the Mosque, and the Mouffetard markets), the area is also very quiet and safe (you will see a lot of families with small children around the area). The amenity is unusually complete, even with a dishwasher and a clothes washer / dryer. What I found the most charming is the momentos left in the apartment by previous renters--sightseeing books and maps, mystery novels, restaurant business cards etc. Staying there is like being part of a community of Paris Flaneurs! I whole heartedly recommend it!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A wonderful experience

    A wonderful experience

    • Guest Madame Tut (Northern California)
    • Date of stay 10/03/11
    • Review Submitted 12/16/11
    This is a lovely apartment with a gracious host. I stayed two months and hope to return again soon. Because it is on the fifth floor and there are large windows in every room, the flat is filled with light and looks out over lush trees. The apartment is quiet and well-equipped. In addition to nearby metro stops, there are also nearby bus lines, which provide a much more scenic way for tourists to travel about Paris. The neighborhood is charming and you are close to rue Mouffetard, Marché Monge, Jardin du Plantes, the Grand Mosquée (and its tea-room and hammam), the Gobelins and much more. I highly recommend this apartment. Don't miss the adorable secret garden behind the building!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • review

    review

    • Guest lia (Drama, Greece)
    • Date of stay 07/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    Je suis restee dans cet appartement pour trois semaines, pendant le mois de Juillet 2011. Je vais a Paris une fois par an a cause de mon travail dans une maison d' editions et c' est le meilleur endroit de tout point de vue que j' ai habite a Paris. L' appartement tres claire, tres bien equipe avec tous les comforts au centre de Paris dans une petite rue tres calme et tres belle. Son proprietaire tres gentil. Je le recommande de tout mon coeur.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • lovely quartier, quiet, light-filled apartment

    lovely quartier, quiet, light-filled apartment

    • Guest Elaine (San Rafael, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/27/11
    • Review Submitted 08/19/11
    We very much enjoyed staying in this apartment. The apartment is comfortable,clean,well maintained, and well equipped. The elevator was a definite plus. Michel was extremely nice and very accommodating. I loved the location non-touristy, on a very quiet street but close to the Seine and many other areas for shopping and strolling. We would definitely stay here again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Paris July 2011

    Paris July 2011

    • Guest Suzanne & Stephen (Sydney - Australia)
    • Date of stay 06/14/11
    • Review Submitted 08/21/11
    My husband and I spent a great 7 days in Paris. We found the apartment to be in great location, close to the Metro, buses and only a short walk to the Mouffetard Market area where we ended up most nights for dinner. The apartment was very comfortable and clean and spacious. Michel was extremely helpful and friendly and was only too happy to answer all our dumb questions. The only thing missing in the kitchen was a small oven although it did have a microwave and hotplates. We would have no hesitation in recommending this great apartment to our friends or anyone looking for great accomodation in Paris. in fact we have already recommended it to friends who are planning a trip for next year. We will definately be staying there on our next visit to Paris.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A very nice, comfortable, and convenient apartment

    A very nice, comfortable, and convenient apartment

    • Guest Michael (Washington, DC)
    • Date of stay 10/25/10
    • Review Submitted 11/30/10
    I would agree with all the other 5-star reviews for this apartment. It is located on a quiet street, and we slept well. It was a great place to come home to after our exhausting urban hikes across the city. The kitchen was much larger than most of the other apartments we considered in this price range, which was great for storing and preparing the fresh food we bought at the rue Mouffetard and other markets. The nearly all-glass elevator was indeed just large enough to fit two average-sized adults, but it was modern and very functional, and certainly beat climbing the stairs. Here are some photos of the apartment that I took during our stay, which I think is the best way to show how clean, well-kept, and comfortable the apartment is: http://imgur.com/a/UsSs6/

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great apartment in an ideal location

    A great apartment in an ideal location

    • Guest Richard Y. (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/01/10
    • Review Submitted 11/27/10
    Returning for a fortnight's stay after an absence of two years, we had no difficulty confirming our original assessment that this apartment was a very fortunate discovery. If anything, it is even more attractive as a base from which to enjoy Paris because it now has wi-fi (our connection status was consistently "excellent") and is equipped with a generous range of current French travel guides. For a variety of reasons the ambiance and location of Michel's apartment is hard to beat. We loved being on the fifth floor and looking out to a screen of plane trees, chimney pots and marigolds in the window boxes opposite and down onto the attractive street life of Rue Poliveau and we particularly appreciated the apartment's quietness and convenient location. Surprisingly free of tourist traffic, this area has the great advantage of being a stone's throw from some very worthwhile destinations - among them Rue Mouffetard, Jardin des Plantes and the mosque at the Institut du Monde Arabe - and a reasonable walking distance from numerous other landmarks like the Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, the Sorbonne, Notre Dame, the Seine and Bastille. As others have noted, the apartment's owner, Michel is a perfect host and he once again spared no effort in ensuring we had everything we needed in terms of comfort and convenience. He deserves high praise for his ability to anticipate and provide for exactly what is required by his guests. My 2008 comments about the apartment's practical assets - the fact that it is clean, attractive, well equipped and comfortable are still just as valid. I'd like to add that it was also a really nice place to return to each evening after we'd spent several hours exploring Paris. We look forward to future visits and hope very much that the apartment will continue to be available. Highly recommended to others.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Property 198914 -Mouffetard & Jardin Des Plantes

    Property 198914 -Mouffetard & Jardin Des Plantes

    • Guest Ken & Terry (Vancouver, BC, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/21/10
    • Review Submitted 06/07/10
    "Our stay at Michel's was a wonderful experience. Everything was as advertised on the VRBO website. Michel was the perfect host with good information on the area and a library with a good selection of Paris books and maps. The area was a working Paris neighbourhood with less tourists than found in other areas, which was perfect for us. The shopping on the Mouffetard is an experience with wonderful foods and helpful people. We would return again without hesitation

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • quiet and spotless; comfortable and convenient

    quiet and spotless; comfortable and convenient

    • Guest barry and barbara (zimmerman, mn)
    • Date of stay 02/19/10
    • Review Submitted 04/14/10
    my husband and i stayed in this apartment for a month in march and 2 more days in april. the apartment is spotless and it is located on a quiet street. it is convenient to a couple of different metro stops and the bus. i took the bus to the alliance francaise every day-fast and easy. it is also walking distance to the rue mouffetard. it's fun to go over there to the market, purchase fresh meats, cheeses, bread and salad fixings, and prepare meals at home. michel is friendly, accessible, and helpful. everything worked and there were no problems, but i think that if there were a problem, michel would get on it right away. he's great, and he "gets it"-what we vacationers need. a great value. highly recommended. barbara and barry, minnesota, USA

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest William12 (San Jose, Costa Rica)
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 12/12/09
    My wife and I recently completed a 2-week stay at Michel’s apartment in the 5th arrondisement, a short walk from rue Mouffetard. First, let me start by saying that we have visited Paris many times before, but this was the first time we stayed at an apartment rather than a hotel. Michel’s apartments greatly enhanced our stay because we had much more living space than available in hotels, plus all the technology offerings (e.g., internet, free calls to the U.S., etc.) Michel’s apartment is conveniently located a short walk from both the Censier-Daubenton (#7 line) and the Saint Marcel (#5 line) metro lines. Using either metro line, one can easily transfer to other metro lines travel anywhere within the city in minutes. For people staying in Paris for 1 or more weeks, I highly recommend purchasing a Navigo pass, which, for about 17 euro, gives unlimited metro access from Monday to Sunday. Michel’s apartment is clean and quiet, and located in a very safe neighborhood. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are hoping to stay in Michel’s apartment again next year.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/01/09
    • Review Submitted 09/01/09
    I very much enjoyed staying at Michel's apartment. It was very clean and had the amenities I needed. It was also in a quiet location where I felt very safe. I really appreciated having the giant map on the hallway wall, the internet connection, and telephone. Michel was very professional and pleasant to work with. I would definitely recommend this apartment!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/28/09
    • Review Submitted 07/27/09
    July 1-8, 2009. Cozy, clean little apartment suitable for a couple. Good location near train station, metro and supermarket. (Gare Austerlitz, St. Marcel). Michel the owner was very helpful, spoke excellent English and set up a desktop computer with printer which was very handy for navigating parts of Paris. Free local calls and calls to North America was an added bonus. Fairly quiet location, but also close enough to Rue Mouffetard with lively streets, shops, restaurants and bars. The elevator is indeed extremely small but fits 2 adults – standing sideways and 2 pieces of luggage.. which was worth a chuckle. Good value for the money. Toronto, Canada

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 07/02/09
    • Review Submitted 07/02/09
    Very comfortable apartment for one person, with excellent location near Gare Austerlitz, St. Marcel, and Jussieu. Landlord very accommodating and willing to help at any point. Quiet location, but also close enough to Rue Mouffetard with interesting bars, cafes, and shops. Top floor apartment, little noise distraction within building. Clean apartment with good service from landlord regarding towels, bedding, etc. All inclusive utilities with printer and scanner at hand if need be. Great place to stay when alone in Paris!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/25/09
    • Review Submitted 05/25/09
    Great little apartment at a great price. The owner, Michel, was right on time and very nice. The apartment came with phone service, cable TV, and cable internet access. There's also a cell phone available if you purchase a sim card. It's very close to the metro and a supermarket. The lift (elevator) may be the smallest in existence, but was not at all an inconvenience - all our luggage (and ourselves) made it up. You just have to stand sideways! Made us laugh every time... No problems at all - highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest Libby (Brisbane, Australia)
    • Date of stay 11/08/08
    • Review Submitted 11/07/08
    We think this apartment is excellent. In our opinion it scores brilliantly on all counts. Not least of these is the location - quiet leafy street, walking distance from the wonderful Jardin des Plantes, vibrant Rue Mouffetard and a host of interesting shops and lovely old buildings.We were also very impressed with the apartment itself – it is clean and bright with light flooding into the rooms, a view out onto several beautiful old plane trees and an agreeable ambiance. The apartment is tastefully furnished and well equipped and the owner had obviously been mindful of the comfort and well being of his tenants. There was for example, a huge map of the metro on the wall (which helped us in planning how to make the most of our few days in Paris) and the offer of a laptop and mobile phone. The owner was particularly welcoming and helpful and went out of his way to ensure that we found our way around and had everything we needed. We very much enjoyed our time in Rue Poliveau and hope that this apartment will still be available next time we visit Paris. We would recommend it to others without hesitation.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]