Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
"El Sueno de Mariana"

Your Own Private Resort with Panoramic View of Guiones Beach! [#199490] | View Property

Nosara
Estate, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)
$1,200-1,600/wkApt/$5,000 whole house
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (14)

Sort by:
  • Luxury in Paradise

    Luxury in Paradise

    • Guest Isabelle J. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/23/14
    • Review Submitted 02/11/14
    Spent 3 nights with girlfriends at Micki and Don's breathtaking resort! The attention to details, stunning infinity edge pool overlooking the gorgeous ocean views make this "heaven on earth." Micki and Don's warmth and hospitality just add to this amazing place! We were all so enthralled with our accommodations, we barely left during our 3 nights. You can do lots or like us you can choose to just enjoy, enjoy this magical slice of Pura Vida! I plan on going back soon! Thank you Micki and Don for making us feel so welcome in your piece of paradise. Will be back soon with my hubby!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Photos of this great private resort, Is only a hint of whats to come.. You will be blown away.

    Photos of this great private resort, Is only a hint of whats to come.. You will be blown away.

    • Guest Sue and gales (Kiowa, CO)
    • Date of stay 01/23/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    Description was more than accurate, photos on reflect a hint of whats to come. Amenities perfect. Clean and well kept.. A true Diamond!!!! Miki & Don great host of their Diamond Resort.. Our stay was wonderful, Our group made many plans for the area, but only went to the beach once.. Had just a wonderful time just hanging out by the great pool, just eating, drinking and shooting the breeze.. Can't wait to do this again at this fine Gem.. Loved it.. Thanks for making us feel like we were right at home..

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Paradies!

    Perfect Paradies!

    • Guest Diane F. (-)
    • Date of stay 01/23/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    I went there with friends for 3 nights recently and it was amazing!! From the drive up the lovely entrance,and being warmly welcomed by the owners, Micki and Don, to the beautifully landscaped grounds and amazing infinity pool, and, of course, the luxurious villa, with gorgeous tile terraces and windows all around, allowing for full effect of ocean views and breezes, our stay was absolute perfection!! For anyone looking to escape to the tropics and luxuriate in beauty and tranquillity, yet be right there with the wildlife---this is THE place to be!!! Definitely coming back---it's addicting!!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic Property in Great town

    Fantastic Property in Great town

    • Guest Scott M (SF Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 11/12/13
    • Review Submitted 12/13/13
    This place was the highlight of our 18 day stay in Costa Rica. It is worth every penny of what you will pay, incredible views,fantastic wild-life including coatimundi's and lots of Howlers. Pictures don't do it justice! The pool was a hit with the kids, and the kitchen was the perfect size for preparing meals. Nosara is a fantastic place, unspoiled, no high-rises, and the beach can't be beat.

    Recommended for: Families with young children

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Sam & Sandra

    Sam & Sandra

    • Guest Sam & Sandra (San Jose, California)
    • Date of stay 11/02/13
    • Review Submitted 11/11/13
    I don't usually give reviews but this place is so deserving of a great review. This was our first time to Costa Rica and it was the best experience I could have ever dreamed of. The owners, Micki & Don were great and let us know about several awesome restaurants and places to go. We felt at home right away. If you want an experience of Costa Rica like no other, you must stay here at El Sueno de Mariana. We thought about staying at one of the local hotels but I'm so glad we didn't. We had the pool to ourselves and the views like no other. You are surrounded by the beautiful rain forest and a rancho with hammocks. The house is so beautiful that you will feel like you never want to leave. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for an unforgettable experience. We will be back hopefully very soon.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thank You. Great guests are such a reward. You left some unexplored options for next time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Incredible! Luxury for families!

    Incredible! Luxury for families!

    • Guest M B.
    • Date of stay 07/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/09/13
    We found this rental to be ideal for our small family. We stayed ten days, the price was reasonable, and the place was exactly (better!) then described. Our daughter adored the pool -- which was bigger and better than any of the hotel pools we saw while we there. Micki and Don are great hosts and were especially wonderful with our six year old. I've used VRBO dozens of times but this is the first time I've ever written a review -- it was just that great. Every morning there was something to see -- monkeys, birds, and various critters. Needless to say, everything was comfortable -- good beds, very clean, everything worked, and there was lots of room for everybody.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Your daughter never ran out of gas in the pool. It was fun doing a Flat Stanley visit presentation for her school. Next time back she will be ready for some hot surfing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A spectacular location

    A spectacular location

    • Guest Bruce and Doris (Prince George British Columbia)
    • Date of stay 01/22/12
    • Review Submitted 02/11/12
    We enjoyed our stay very much, a wonderful view of the ocean exactly as described. The owners Don and Mickey were very hospitable, they took us to the local festival where we saw bull riding, and ate some local food which was great. Another day they offered to take us on a short hike to a waterfall, only known to locals, another great experience. They have built their dream home, and we were lucky enough to share it with them for a few days. The lower floor was all ours and was well laid out with all the amenities of home, a great infinity pool that is actually long enough to swim a decent length lap, if you want to. Howler Monkeys and birds were also present. We did lots of beach walks,Ziplined and went for an ultralight ride, all of which were a blast! I highly recommend to others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect

    Perfect

    • Guest Brian M. (NYC)
    • Date of stay 01/13/12
    • Review Submitted 02/06/12
    House was absolutely amazing. We only booked for 2 days and were very sorry we didn't make it longer. On the interior the attention to detail is beautiful. Feels like you are staying in a resort. This house is the best option in Nosara in my opinion. Pool is great to cool off in as well as the hammocks in the back. The owners are extremely friendly, easy going and offer great reccomendations of the area. Made our visit extremely pleasant. The house is exactly as described. House is perfect for couples or a small group. Can't wait to return!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Place Ever! We'll be back.

    Best Place Ever! We'll be back.

    • Guest rollingaround (Hamilton, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/06/12
    Words cannot describe the beauty and peaceful tranquility we found staying at El Sueno de Mariana. After a long day of flying and driving on roads that grew increasingly more rustic, we arrived in Nosara well after dusk. We met Don in town and followed him up the hill to his palatial residence. After unpacking we went back down hill into town to have an excellent dinner. The town - which gets closer with each visit - is a very 'laid-back' place. You can find anything you need here: bathing suits, surf boards, rental cars, fresh organic food etc. etc. It's unpretentious - a place where you can wear your bathing suit out to dinner without rinsing the salt from hair. The people are friendly and you'll generally find a mix of North Americans with some Europeans too. But, back to the house! In the morning, it became clear that this place was far, far better than we had seen online. In fact, we didn't want to leave at all. The pool is a glimmering, cool patch of parardise - surrounded by lush gardens, trees and clear blue sky that spread out across the vista down to the pounding surf of Playa Guiones. If the heat of the sun, and the fun of the pool tire you out - why not step down the path past gorgeous gardens into the cool shade of the rancho. Choose a hammock, read a book, have a nap or listen to the birds or the howler monkeys frollick in the forest that surrounds you. We spent an hour watching the howlers casually dine on flowers one morning... this is a paradise. The home is perfect. Being set apart from the town is great to avoid the bustle and dry season dust of the area - but it also provides epic ocean views, cooling breezes - and a sense of awe - as you watch the vista and sky unfold before you. We travelled with two children. They loved the pool, the gardens, the town, the surfing, the wildlife and the views. We all had imense privacy, our own washrooms, a great kitchen where we cooked many meals and almost every breakfast. Would we go back? Yes, can't wait to. The hosts are wonderful, the house is of top quality and the privacy and security is second to none.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Place Ever! We'll be back.

    Best Place Ever! We'll be back.

    • Guest rollingaround (Hamilton, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/28/11
    • Review Submitted 02/06/12
    Words cannot describe the beauty and peaceful tranquility we found staying a El Sueno de Mariana. After a long day of flying and driving on roads that grew increasingly more rustic, we arrived in Nosara well after dusk. We met Don in town and followed him up the hill to his palatial residence. After unpacking we went back down hill into town to have an excellent dinner. The town - which gets closer with each visit - is a very 'laid-back' place. You can find anything you need here: bathing suits, surf boards, rental cars, fresh organic food etc. etc. It's unpretentious - a place where you can wear your bathing suit out to dinner without rinsing the salt from hair. The people are friendly and you'll generally find a mix of North Americans with some Europeans too. But, back to the house! In the morning, it became clear that this place was far, far better than we had seen online. In fact, we didn't want to leave at all. The pool is a glimmering, cool patch of parardise - surrounded by lush gardens, trees and clear blue sky that spread out across the vista down to the pounding surf of Playa Guiones. If the heat of the sun, and the fun of the pool tire you out - why not step down the path past gorgeous gardens into the cool shade of the rancho. Choose a hammock, read a book, have a nap or listen to the birds or the howler monkeys frollick in the forest that surrounds you. We spent an hour watching the howlers casually dine on flowers one morning... this is a paradise. The home is perfect. Being set apart from the town is great to avoid the bustle and dry season dust of the area - but it also provides epic ocean views, cooling breezes - and a sense of awe - as you watch the vista and sky unfold before you. We travelled with two children. They loved the pool, the gardens, the town, the surfing, the wildlife and the views. We all had imense privacy, our own washrooms, a great kitchen where we cooked many meals and almost every breakfast. Would we go back? Yes, can't wait to. The hosts are wonderful, the house is of top quality and the privacy and security is second to none. Please view my links on youtube to see images and video of the home and us enjoying it.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Our Christmas in Paradise

    Our Christmas in Paradise

    • Guest Rabbit Tullman (Tampa, Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/19/11
    • Review Submitted 01/01/12
    There is Paradise and then there is "Take My Breath Away" Paradise. There are great owners and hosts and then there are Micki and Don. This house takes "beautiful" and "paradise" to a whole other level, and Micki and Don take sharing their rental home to another level. They are WONDERFUL!! The house is a dream, and Nosara is a whole world away from stress, task-lists, work and our busy lives. You will leave Costa Rica with a little bit of "Pura Vida".

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Heaven on Earth!

    Heaven on Earth!

    • Guest C J (California)
    • Date of stay 05/02/11
    • Review Submitted 10/05/11
    This is a palace! The house flows like a dream. It's nicer than most hotels in Costa Rica. Everything is hand-crafted, unique, cozy yet elegant. The pool is divine! There is an ocean view from the pool, a lane to actually swim laps, a waterfall, and monkeys hanging out in the trees having a blast! I never saw so many beautiful butterflies, birds, dragonflies, exotic yet harmless bugs by just sitting still in a perfect pool. The hosts arranged for the house-maid to cook us local meals which were far better than anything we got in the restaurants. It was my first trip to Costa Rica and I can't wait to return and bring friends to this house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Breathtaking Paradise

    Breathtaking Paradise

    • Guest Dave (Long Island, NY)
    • Date of stay 04/20/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    Too many words to describe this absolutely magnificent paradise getaway, but I'll try. Breathtaking, spectacular, serene, tranquil, vibrant, hospitable, romantic, dreamy, and welcoming. These are just a few that come to mind. As much or as little activity as you want, there's much of both. We loved the nearby spacious, uncrowded beach. It has great consistent surf with many local surf shops and schools that have excellent instructors. Not far from the house are the best zip-lining, snorkeling beach, variety of different cuisines, and shopping. Weather was picture perfect, sunshine everyday during our short 7 day stay. The hosts are just two of the most friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating people around. Rooms were impeccable, clean and well maintained. Our two kids (18 and 12) had their own bedroom and bathroom while the master bedroom with an oversized bathroom was more than expected. All rooms had amazing views of the immaculate pool and Pacific Ocean. Each morning, the wife and I enjoyed our quiet breakfast outside by the pool listening to local birds and an occasional monkey. Without hesitation, I would recommend this vacation paradise to my friends and relatives. I'm just sorry we didn't stay for two weeks or longer. At least we'll know for the next trip which couldn't be too soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unbelievable property: Paradise within Paradise

    Unbelievable property: Paradise within Paradise

    • Guest notrockstar (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/08/11
    • Review Submitted 01/16/11
    What can I say, this estate is breath taking. Everything from the view to the accommodations is beyond any expectations. The hosts are amazing and you are feel welcomed at all the time. Complete privacy and everything just as described. We feel very safe on the property and enjoyed the wild life of surrounding flora and fauna. Hands down, the best vacation we ever had! Do not hesitate to stay here, this is the best house in Nosara, and way worth the value!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]