Cape San Blas Beach House W/Pool and Tiki Bar! Filling Fast!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:7 nights
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
Private Homes house description
Call your friends and don't miss out on this private home that looks more like a private island paradise! The owner just finished a massive upgrade in the backyard that will make this house fill up fast!!!
The owner of Above & Beyond just is now accepting reservations for 2012 as this is one of the most sought after homes on Cape San Blas Beach. What a great place to hang our in your own Oasis at the beach and private pool with over 30 palm trees around this exceptional home. If you're a Jimmy Buffet fan, this is YOUR kind of house! Tastefully decorated and a true island paradise!
This one of a kind house is strictly non-smoking and no pets! Above & Beyond is luxuriously-appointed beach home has breathtaking views and is the closest house to the white sand private beach with a pool on the whole peninsula. Features include: professionally decorated interior, professionally manicured landscaping with 40+ beautiful palm trees around Gulf-side pool and property, THREE spacious MASTER SUITES (one king downstairs and a king and queen upstairs), a kids' bedroom, a bahamian style tiki bar lined in 100 year old cypress harvested from a river bottom in Florida specifically for this house, WONDERFUL outdoor hot/cold private shower, direct beach access via private crush-shelled 20yd walkway onto the beach, and a large family room with large TV and DVD player. Also Free Domestic Long Distance & Internet Access!!
This home is beautiful and has not EVER been damaged by weather! Cape San Blas, located on the beautiful, pristine ST JOE PENINSULA, which has been named America's number one ranked beach in the USA. Your beach, right beyond the private pool, has beautiful white sand and emerald-green water, and you can have a campfire on the beach or fish right in front of Above and Beyond! The Park offers nature trails, scalloping, fishing, wildlife viewing, canoeing, horseback riding, kayaking, snorkling, biking, boating, and many other activities. A new bike trail was completed that starts at this house and takes you to the state park. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of 'The Forgotten Coast', truly one of the last unspoiled areas of Florida's Panhandle. Cape San Blas has relatively little development...no high-rise development, no congestion and no fighting for position on the beach, as the beaches are sparsely populated even during peak season.
Visit nearby historic Apalachicola and Port Saint Joe for fine seafood & dining, antiques, market shopping, boutiques, quaint shops, home tours, fishing charters and other activities. Golf is a few minutes away in Port St. Joe. If it's nightlife you want, Mexico Beach is only 20 minutes away, and a day trip to Panama City is only 45 minutes away! Kids love exploring the beach that is over 12 miles long!
For several families vacationing together, other adjacent homes are available for rental as well. Sorry, no pets or smoking allowed. All 3 master bedrooms have no adjoining walls to other suites to maintain maximum privacy, all have private full baths, and all have private covered verandas overlooking the beach and pool (no others have this on the whole cape!). The 4th bedroom is set up for kids, and has a trundle bed under the bunks so there is plenty of room for 4 kids.
Here's our one piece of advice (even if you don't get this house this year because it rents every week every Summer). Don't wait and get stuck in a home that is less than advertised. Above and Beyond is one of the most sought after houses on the cape because of the location and layout, and owners limit the number rentals each year. This house is certifiably beautiful but there are others out there that have old photos and the house is not well kept.
If you are looking for a truly beautiful home we would suggest moving quickly because it will rent quickly for Spring and Summer. It sits right in the middle of America's #1 Beach!
Let us answer two questions that are asked A LOT! YES, this house is on the beach side with NO ROAD between you and the sand. To get to the beach, you walk out of the pool gate and across the backyard and over the beach dune (30 second commute). Next, YES, you really can lay in bed and see the beach and dolphin in the ocean, and hear the waves all night. NO, this is NOT a crowded Panama City Beach experience, it is privately owned homes and very pristine and natural - voted #1 Beach In America a few years back. It is a very special house, in a very special place, on a barrier island that you'll want to visit many more times.
Keywords: Beach, house, cape, sand, san, blast, blas, Florida, gulf, panhandle, pool, vacation, view, private, heated, pool, kids, spring, summer, water, FL, beautiful, large, clean
- 2 story
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Children Welcome
- Non Smoking Only
Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 10
- King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bathroom
Kitchen & Dining
- Ice Maker
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Parking For RV/Boat/Trailer:
- Covered Parking:
- Air Conditioning
- Clothes Dryer
- Washing Machine
- Linens Provided
- Private Gulf-side Pool, Dune Walkover for Direct Access to Beach, 3 ofthe 4 bedrooms are consider masters with their own balcony and bathroom. Screened Patio Area, Cable TV's (4), CD/DVD Player, Non-Smoking Environment, Professionally Managed by Area's Largest and Most Respected Management Companies (complete with maintenance and housekeeping staff), Pool has outside shower and adjacent screened room with patio table and chairs, Screened room has Gulf view, with two sliding screen doors opening directly to pool deck area...moreless
- CD Player
- Satellite / Cable
- Wireless Internet:
- Broadband Access:
- Computer Available
- Free Long Distance
Pool & Spa
- Deck / Patio:
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Ocean View:
- Beach View:
- Water View
- Water Skiing
- Jet Skiing
- Deepsea Fishing
- Roller Blading
- Bird Watching
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Horseback Riding
ReviewsWrite a review
Friends and Family
Friends and Family
This house has some nice Amenities, but is very poorly kept and it is almost impossible to get a call or email back from the owner, it was 10:00 pm the night before we were to check in before I ever got ahold of the owner for any kind of check in info. Still don't have any check out info We had no hot water when we got there and after two days of trying to contact the owner he answered, he said to try resetting the breaker NO HELP and could not get any response from owner any more. No lights downstairs at pool area No trash cans outside to put your trash for pick up we used neighbors We were told we were not the only ones that had problems and not get a call back. House is not as close to the beach as you think but not bad House needs to be turned over to a rental co. in my opinion so someone could upkeep and you could have someone to contact for problems. Price to high for shape of this house!
- Guest Chris C.
- Date of stay 08/10/13
- Review Submitted 08/23/13
Owner response: As an owner I give my personal cell phone number and one to my local manager as well. Hot water heater tripped a breaker, and I had 3 huge garbage cans and at this moment am kind of wondering where they went. Sorry, we had a renter that was hard on our house as previously noted - which has only happened one other time in 7 years. We have some repairs to do as a result, and have planned some additional upgrades this year - but please understand that all the planning in the world won't reverse the damage that a drunken high school party can do in a night. It's heart breaking to get that call, and I'll spend the next few trips straightening out the havoc. This year we spent $10,000 on new A/C units, re-carpeted the house, finished a massive backyard $20,000 project that includes the tiki bar - and all will be as good as new when we can get down there in the next few weeks. BTW, the house has a key code on front and back door and no keys are needed. Check in is to walk in on Saturday, and check out is to strip the beds and leave so Clare can clean the house.
This rental is ok, but could be phenomenal with some changes and repairs. There are some particulars that are important to note and should be considered before booking. The pool is great, and was the real selling point for my family. There's an enormous amount of patio space on each level, and makes for some relaxing evenings. That's a good thing. You CAN see the ocean from the balconies, but the mention in the description about being able to see dolphins is a stretch. There are sand dunes and other homes between this house and the beach. The walk to the beach isn't bad, but wear sandals because part of the walk is on a crushed shell access road. The bar underneath the house is cool, but the lighting leaves something to be desired. The one light over the patio table next to the bar was missing and had wires hanging down. There are christmas lights strung underneath the thatch roof, but bring an extension cord to plug them in. Also, if you're renting in the summer months, be aware that the air-conditioning units are located a few feet away from the patio bar, so that's just about all you can hear. The units ran the entire time we were there. The interior of the home has typical beach decor. If you want comfort, bring your own linens. The towels are small and not high quality. The bed sheets have seen alot of use and probably need to be replaced. We got used to them, but they're not hotel quality, so keep that in mind. The kitchen has most of everything you'll need to cook, but one of the drawers in the kitchen was just hanging in the cabinet. The tracks were broken off. Its looks terrible and makes you wonder why it hasn't been fixed. The downstairs bedroom bathroom hot water didn't work and was turned off because of a leak. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in the shower area. Also, the toilet is oval shaped, but the seat has been replaced with a cheap round one. It's a little hard to use for larger people. Not sure why they didn't just replace it with the proper one. The upstairs 2nd bedroom has a walk-in closet, but there was a large amount of mold on the walls and door. We kept it shut to limit our exposure and the possibility of breathing it in. The bathroom toilet in that bathroom had a broken seat that had been taped with black duct tape. Not sure how the cleaning crew sanitized black duct tape before we arrived, but it did make us wonder why we spent so much to rent it. WiFi was unreliable, which made it hard to stream music.
- Guest Todd (United States)
- Date of stay 06/29/13
- Review Submitted 08/12/13
Recommended for: Families with young children.
Owner response: Todd, It's rare we've ever had a mediocre response but beyond my apology I will tell you that a family prior to your arrival didn't have the level of respect for our home that we expected. Broken toilet seats and items missing, left doors open that allowed the high efficiency brand new $10,000 A/C units running that created mold in a closet that remains closed (and hot because it's by the 2nd floor attic), and I'm finding out scorched the linens (we didn't know). On top of that I'm told by the neighbors there was quite a party one night when the guests left the teenagers alone in the house - so if anyone is reading this and is thinking about leaving the house in the hands of a bunch of teenagers, please move to the next home and rent it - our home is much more special than that. Todd, I'm sorry and all I can say is that many of these items that occurred over the summer are already repaired and we will have it in pristine shape by next spring.
4 families from Georgia
4 families from Georgia
The house was very nice. The Tiki Bar down by the pool was gorgeous but unusable due to no lighting that worked. The tv's are older models and do not have a very good picture. The house is located close to the beach and that was wonderful. Also, the beach itself is beautiful. Not very crowded, which is wonderful. We put our cabana up and left it up most of the entire week. The water is a beautiful green in which you can see to the bottom. Waves are not rough so the younger kids had a wonderful time in the water. Our cell phones had no service the entire time we were there except when we went into town. There is a oyster bar not too far up the road that is wonderful. We would definitely recommend it. We would rent this place again and recommend it to a friend or relative. The entire area is a great place to vacation.
- Guest Flyflap (GA)
- Date of stay 06/01/13
- Review Submitted 07/13/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+, families with teenagers.
Owner response: Rhonda, Thanks for staying with us. We just built the Tiki bar and didn't get the final ceiling fans and lighting complete so it only had the previous source which admittedly is not up par with the quality of everything else we upgraded - but we're on it and will put it on our list....and there is always a list by the end of Summer when at least 14 weeks of rentals stay with us. Hope to see you next year.
Loved the area. We had a wonderful, relaxing week at the beach. This area is not crowded which made it even more enjoyable. The pictures did lead you to believe the house and pool were right on the beach. There are a few houses in front of this one but you still get a great view and it's just a SHORT walk to the beach. The property was clean and nicely furnished. We had trouble with the TV in the main living area so guys weren't able to catch the golf in an area where they could all sit comfortably and the kids had down time and weren't able to watch it but they watched movies instead. The TV was a minor issue. Cape San Blas Trading Post is the go to place if you find you forgot something - otherwise you have to go in to Port St. Joe for groceries, etc.(only about 20 min drive). We had dinner two nights at Coneheads which was about a mile from the house....good food!!! As mentioned earlier, there is not a lot of commercialized entertainment but Panama City Beach is only a short drive if you just need the entertainment - for those with teenagers.
- Guest LalaH (Georgia)
- Date of stay 05/25/13
- Review Submitted 06/04/13
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, tourists without a car, age 55+, girls getaway, families with teenagers.
FabulousAmbience - Cozy and Warm!!!!
FabulousAmbience - Cozy and Warm!!!!
I have been there in October for the past 4 or 5 years; perhaps this will be my 5th year. I seldom leave the site, only for a bike rental or ice cream from the local ice cream shoppe. The bedrooms are spacious with a view that is spectacular from any of them, from both sunrise to sunset.; great for couples getaway or my favorite way - with my girlfriends!!!!
- Guest Mimi (McDonough, GA)
- Date of stay 10/08/11
- Review Submitted 06/24/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners.
The Rohrer Family
The Rohrer Family
Wonderful place for family to celebrate PaPa Ed's 80th birthday.... We loved the place. It was beautiful and located on a nice deserted beach. The tiki-bar and pool made it all extra special. All the photos really showcased what was actually there, except there was no photo of the small bedroom. It really is for 3 very young children. We had four good-sized teenagers. The property is well maintained. The pool man comes twice a week. The owner is planning to do more upgrades which will included new carpet. The owner was very responsive to all our concerns. We definitely would recommend this property to others...in fact all of our family would love to return next year (if Grammy pays). There is lots to do around the area..fishing, kyacking, kiting, sunning, but NO amusement parks or commercial money grabbers. There are lots of good seafood places to eat and an excellent pizza place in St.Joe. Bring along good beach reading and board games.
- Guest Grammy (Dunwoody, GA)
- Date of stay 05/26/12
- Review Submitted 06/09/12
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with teenagers.
Look here first
Look here first
We stayed at this beach home Mar 19 to 26, 2011 and were thrilled about the location and accomodations. The place is stunning and spacious and has a lot to offer. I always worry about the cleanliness and this place was super clean and updated. This beach is one of the best. The swimming was excellent and it is very close to some small grocery stores so we did not need to go far for food and sunscreen. The owners were very quick to respond to any of our questions and were very helpful.
- Guest cynthia h (eau claire, wi)
- Date of stay 03/19/11
- Review Submitted 04/15/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, age 55+, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
I Love this House
I Love this House
We just rented this house again for 2011 after staying in it last Summer. Our family has been to the Cape for years and other houses were a total disappointment compared to this one. It's beautiful and the pool is wonderful that close to the beach!!!!!! Our kids were back and forth from beach to pool 20 times a day and they got to fish on the beach and have a few fires at night right behind the house. I"m going to rent it for a girls trip in October too
- Guest Summer Family (Nashville, TN)
- Date of stay 07/10/10
- Review Submitted 02/24/11
Recommended for: Families with young children, adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.
Owner response: We are so glad to have you back! Thank you for the kind words. We have had the whole house painted since you were here last year, and as always I am planning a few upgrades. Have a great trip!!!!
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
7 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
1/2 for deposit
1/2 within 30 days of rental
Additional Fees and Taxes:
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details.
Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
Year Purchased: 2006
About the owner: The owners of Above & Beyond live in Atlanta and enjoy time at the pool, the lake, and have a 16 year old high school daughter.
Why the Owner Chose Private Homes:
One walk down the beach and you'll understand the Cape. It's quiet, beautiful, and unspoiled like so many beaches that have become tourist traps. The few people you do see will say hello if you address them, or allow you your private walk. It's an ideal place to relax, get some sun, and connect with people who are lucky enough to come with you.
The Unique Benefits at this House:
The beach was named the #1 beach in the country a few years ago, and has since undergone a beach restoration. There are dolphin pods with as many as 200, sea turtles hatch on the beach (you'll see their nests), the fishing is great, and the water is emerald green because of the sugar white sand.
- Click Here to see All My Rental Listings
The back of the house faces the beach and ideal for day and night time activity!
Cypress Tiki Bar - just add a favorite beverage and friends
No Shoes Requirred for BBQs - this photo taken during bar constuction
Bahama style decor inside the house for when you come from the beach and pool
Master #2 with private deck and bath too - no bedrooms have adjoining walls!
View from balcony - every bedroom you can watch and hear the waves break!
The beach at our house is white sand and green water! Dolfins are there often
Walk across the back yard and over the beach walk over - a 30 second commute!!
The house has private decks on each bedroom and a huge central deck over pool
View of the new pool area with Tiki Bar...more photos soon but it's amazing!!
Theres an incredible and private outdoor shower by the pool and tiki bar!!!
Master #1 King Tommy Bahama decor and private bath and deck
Master #3 is a queen with a private deck and bath as well.
Yes, this is actually a picture of our kids on New Years Eve...great sunsets!
Aerial shot of the cape...we're about half way out on the right side!
There are 26 palms around the house, and you can watch the waves from the decks
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2003.
Date last modified - Wednesday, August 28, 2013