Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

3BR Gem. Bright. Fresh. Panoramic View. Hike Out Back. 5 Min to Vill [#202008] | View Property

Northstar
House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$285-$495/nt
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (22)

Sort by:
  • Loved staying here.

    Loved staying here.

    • Guest happytraveler (SF Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 11/07/11
    This was the most comfortable I've ever been in a vacation rental house. The owner seems to have thought of everything in creating a welcoming place to stay. It's a very appealing and comfortable house, with many artistic touches, as well as thoughtful additions such as good magazines, books, an outstandingly equipped kitchen, wireless internet, a good tv. The bedrooms were very comfortable with beautiful linens, plenty of privacy with the two full bathrooms upstairs, and additional bathroom on the first level. We enjoyed cooking, relaxing on the deck over cocktails, sitting at the dining table surrounded by windows looking out on the views of nature. Terrific walking trails right out the door. Well located - short easy drives to Lake Tahoe and Donner Lake, as well as Truckee and shopping. We enjoyed the autumn weather and views, and see why this is a place to enjoy year round.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Even better than "advertised"

    Even better than "advertised"

    • Guest City Girl (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 10/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/18/11
    Had a perfect fall weekend in this lovely house. The property is as described - lots of light, very fresh with a terrific, relaxing view of the valley. The house feels loved and welcoming - there are some rentals that feel tired, and this is NOT one of those. The downstairs is great for entertaining, cooking, hanging out and talking - open floor plan with a kitchen, dining area and living room all around the fireplace. The 3 bedrooms are upstairs, and carefully laid out for privacy. The owner has added many thoughtful and fun touches, whether in the kids' room with a big stuffed bear or in the kitchen with more condiments & pots than I have in my home kitchen. The outside deck was perfect for cocktails on a warm-to-cooling fall night - quiet view of the valley, bright yellow aspens rustling nearby. I imagine this house is great anytime of year, and would absolutely return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Awesome home. Close to Village, but private and lovely

    Awesome home. Close to Village, but private and lovely

    • Guest Ally (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 09/09/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    Can't say enough about this place. It's really a lovely home, not a typical rental. Warm, comfortable, decorated with taste, great kitchen, and what a view. It was perfect for our family... fresh, 3 spacious bedrooms, clean. We will be back this winter. Thanks.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great weekend getaway

    Great weekend getaway

    • Guest Bill (Menlo Park, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/29/11
    • Review Submitted 08/06/11
    My quasi-wife and I had a very comfortable, relaxing, long August weekend in this cabin. It's very comfortable, and is well-equipped. With an unobstructed view to the meadow, we felt it had the best views in the development, and most rooms showcased it with ample windows. It's not too big for one couple, just right for two couples, and probably fine for three couples, especially if the third couple prefers sleeping in separate beds :-). We acclimated by hiking the trails around the cabin, and hiked the Tahoe Rim Trail the next day. Another day, we drove down to Lake Tahoe. But most of the time, we just lazed around the cabin in the comfy chairs and out on the deck. A free shuttle was just a phone call away which would have taken us to the rec center with jacuzzi had we wished (or gym, or ski area). We cooked on the barbecue every night and found all the cooking and eating implements we needed. I thought the mosquitoes would be bad (late July/early August) since it was a late season this year, but they were almost absent. I did get a few bites after sitting out on the desk after dusk, but had I been wearing pants and socks, I probably wouldn't have noticed. We're definitely planning to return every year!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect house, great location

    Perfect house, great location

    • Guest Dean (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 04/01/11
    • Review Submitted 04/10/11
    Andrea's house is excellent. It's not in the middle of nowhere as we expected based on the photos, it's actualy right near the village of Northstar. Perfect. And has access to a field through the backyard for skiing or (in my case) snowshoeing with 2 little girls in a sled behind me. Perfect for a family. I had my parents with me along with my daughters and my sister and there was room for all of us! Can't say enough about Andrea. Great hostess, even if remote. We will definitely consider this one again. Thanks for the great memories!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks Dean, for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed the location--the beauty of the Valley out the back door, and the convenience to the Village and slopes. You and your family were wonderful guests and we would love to have you back. Thanks for the feedback.... I will post some pictures of the house in the context of the neighborhood. Best, Andrea

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Excellent Home Away from Home

    Excellent Home Away from Home

    • Guest Robert (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/27/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/11
    Aside from all the usual desirable attributes of a perfect get-away house in the mountains (like the proximity to slopes, neighborhood setting, impeccable cleanliness, appliances, comfortable beds, etc), this rental exceed everyone's expectations - just randomly open a drawer in any room of the house and you'll feel like the owners are mind-readers - amazingly well equipped with everything a party could possibly need. Awesome work / party / relaxation space with a couple walls of windows so there's no mistaking where you are. Big back yard, kids' sled run nearby; alpine skiing from the patio; totally comfortable and secure-feeling environment. Owners are "above and beyond" providers - e.g., there are literally dozenS (like x3) of different spices in a kitchen drawer for tenants to use! They've even figured out the best way on the planet to deal with the problem of storing lids to a battalion of pots and pans. Everything you'd want in a mountain cabin (iPod jack included).

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • X-country skiing and extreme fireside comfort

    X-country skiing and extreme fireside comfort

    • Guest Paula (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 01/27/11
    • Review Submitted 02/02/11
    This one has it all! Play in the snow right outside the back door—snowshoe, ski, make snow forts and snow men. What a delight to not have to get in your car to do it all. And then, back inside, it's sheer comfort and delight. Warm yourself by the fire in the huge river rock fireplace. Cook up a warm meal in the gourmet-equipped kitchen. Or just sit and read in the overstuffed furniture....all while gazing out at an unobstructed view of the wide Sierra meadow. Relaxing and thrilling, all in one open, light-drenched place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks Paula from San Francisco! We are so glad you enjoyed our home. Hope you'll come in the summer too!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect weekend for two family getaway

    Perfect weekend for two family getaway

    • Guest jenn (Berkeley)
    • Date of stay 01/13/11
    • Review Submitted 01/19/11
    The house was lovely and just perfect for our two family vacation. The kids played in the back yard building snow forts and pulling sleds while I relaxed in the living room with my book. Everyone had a great time skiing, and I made use of the excellent complimentary Recreational Center and soaked in luxurious outdoor hottub. This was a perfect weekend and we will be sure to return. Thanks, Andrea!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Great Mountain Getaway

    A Great Mountain Getaway

    • Guest Aven (Santa Cruz, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/26/10
    • Review Submitted 09/05/10
    Your house is lovely and very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the view of the meadow and beyond. It was so pleasant to watch the morning light move across the meadow that I lingered in ed much longer than is my habit. Thanks for sharing your home. Next time we head for the mountains, we'd love to stay there again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Gorgeous, comfortable, complete, can't wait to return!

    Gorgeous, comfortable, complete, can't wait to return!

    • Guest Leapfrog (San Mateo, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/23/10
    • Review Submitted 11/21/10
    This place is wonderful! My family (5 of us) stayed this summer and can't wait to return; it's in an ideal location for any time of the year. The house is beautifully decorated in a comfortable style, it has a great view with floor to ceiling windows looking out over an open plain, nice cozy living room and has everything you could possibly want for your stay: really comfortable beds, all the kitchen supplies pots, pans, dishes, internet, etc. It is conveniently located to lots of activities; I don't think anything was more than about 20 minutes away - we went hiking (right from the house), jogging, swimming in the NorthStar pool and in Lake Tahoe, played tennis, went inner tubing, made candles, made bracelets, went out to dinner, ate at home, caught crawdads, and more. Plus the owner is very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this house!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Beautiful stay at Northstar

    Beautiful stay at Northstar

    • Guest LMR (Robinson)
    • Date of stay 06/25/10
    • Review Submitted 08/08/10
    Our stay in this beautiful, well-maintained home was the perfect spot for a relaxing & comfortable weekend away for 3 couples. The cabin's location is beautiful; the deck overlooks a large meadow edged by majestic pines. We dined on the deck for breakfast, and star-gazed at night - the perfect location to begin and end our day. The owners are gracious and helpful. We can't wait to return.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful, comfortable and well appointed home

    Beautiful, comfortable and well appointed home

    • Guest Happy at Northstar (Atherton, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/24/10
    • Review Submitted 07/06/10
    This place is absolutely wonderful. This beautiful house is warm, inviting and comfortable. The home is in wonderful condition and the kitchen has everything you could possibly want. Beds are very comfortable too. The layout of the house is great so even if you have 6 people there everyone can either be together or find their own space to hang out. These owners are very easy to communicate with. We would highly recommend it and can't wait to return some time soon. The recreation area is just gorgeous. Sitting in the hot tub under the redwoods is amazing.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks very your nice review. We are always so happy when guests enjoy the house as much as we do.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/31/10
    • Review Submitted 01/31/10
    Northstar has quickly become our destination of choice for ski vacations. This home is a great place from which to enjoy the resort. There's plenty of room to spread out. It's also well appointed, very clean and has the wonderful Martis Valley as a backyard. The convenient shuttle gets you slopeside (or back home) in minutes. And the owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/25/10
    • Review Submitted 01/25/10
    This is a beautiful house and in a great location! The best part was the shuttle service. Within minutes you are at the slopes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/11/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our New Year's vacation at this house. Everything was so organized and well prepared. The house could not be closer to North Star and easy access was provided via the shuttle. North Star is wonderful for the New Year. The backyard was wonderful for the kids, where they built their first snowman. Thanks for everything, we will definitely be back!!

    Owner response: We are delighted you enjoyed the house. The snowmen were INCREDIBLE! It was a delight to see your creation. You were great tenants. Thanks, and come back again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Andrew30 (Marin County)
    • Date of stay 10/23/09
    • Review Submitted 10/23/09
    Great Northstar rental. you've got the peace and quiet of staying right on the valley. and short shuttle to slopes. kids play in snow in back yard. Great value.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/24/09
    This is our third stay at this lovely Northstar home. It was everything we remembered and more. The house is charmingly decorated and feels like you are staying in a home, not in a rental. We love the location and the view. The kitchen is well equipped and well stocked. We will definitely come back again.

    Owner response: We're so glad you had another nice stay! Look forward to seeing you again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 04/21/09
    • Review Submitted 04/21/09
    This is a charming house with lovely views. The owner keeps this house in excellent condition...very clean and well stocked with cooking utensils. I appreciated the charming decoration and the owner's responsiveness. The kids loved the large backyard and expansive fields beyond. My husband enjoyed the convenience and ease of the rec center priviliges (when not skiing) and my inlaws enjoyed the comfort of the house. We stayed here twice this season--we know we will be back!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 01/13/09
    • Review Submitted 01/13/09
    We absolutely recommend this wonderful rental. We stayed with 4 adults and 2 young children and had more than enough room for everyone. The location has door-door shuttle access, or a 2 min car ride, to everything Northstar has to offer. The house is tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, and has everything you need for cooking. The owners were very professional and communicative.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/18/08
    • Review Submitted 11/18/08
    This home has it all and is one we'll certainly return to in the near future. In addition to all the great amenities you'd expect from a top-tier vacation house, you also get one of the best unobstructed views in the Northstar area, with a big deck in back perfect for taking it all in. Right behind the deck are miles of cross country skiing and hiking trails, which our family greatly appreciated since it meant not having to pack everyone and everything back into the car just to get to the trails. Truly a big plus. Can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Beth29 (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 11/16/08
    • Review Submitted 11/15/08
    What a happy and relaxing place. Loved the special touches and antiques. Plus, so easy to get to the slopes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 11/14/08
    • Review Submitted 11/14/08
    We loved staying in this well-appointed Northstar home. We especially enjoyed cross country skiing right out the back door. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare gourmet meals. We will definitely stay here again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]