Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Enjoy our house.

Ocean View House on the South Pacific Coast [#202496] | View Property

Ojochal
House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)
$800-1000/wk
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (26)

Sort by:
  • Serene Privacy!

    Serene Privacy!

    • Guest Suzy (Woodbury, MN USA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/14
    • Review Submitted 04/03/14
    This is an amazing property that affords absolute privacy with incredible views of both ocean and valley. 8 minutes off the Coastanera Highway on a bumpy, road and 4 WD is a must. The house is very comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked. The pool is large enough for a family and having the washer and dryer in a separate bodega is great. The AC is wonderful in the bedrooms for sleeping and Denise was available, as needed. Plan to stock up on all your supplies if you don't want to go down the hill often. Great restaurants nearby in Ojochal, the OSA Canopy Tour is the best! You cannot go wrong with this home away from home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. You didn't mention the monkeys. I hope they visited. Thanks for your kind words. Karen and Mario

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfect Paradise

    Perfect Paradise

    • Guest Dave & Dee
    • Date of stay 02/22/14
    • Review Submitted 03/07/14
    Wow everything as it says it is,lots of interesting things to do in this area and close to everything.Private secluded everything one needs.Thanks for letting us share your piece of paradise.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: You are most welcome! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Karen and Mario

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best Visit Ever!

    Best Visit Ever!

    • Guest Andrea (Wenatchee, Washington, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/13/13
    • Review Submitted 12/29/13
    This was my 8th trip to Costa Rica over the span of 33 yrs and the best one ever. The rental house and pool were better than expected. Very clean, neat, and simplistic which allows for phenomenal views of the coastline, jungle and wildlife. Denise the property manager did an excellent job booking tours and meeting any needs that we may have had. Can hardly wait to plan a return trip in the future. Thank you for sharing your home!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A Great Honeymoon Location

    A Great Honeymoon Location

    • Guest Heather (Baltimore, Maryland)
    • Date of stay 06/25/13
    • Review Submitted 08/08/13
    My husband and I had a great stay at Casa Mono Titi. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. Plus, the views from the house are beautiful, and we enjoyed using the many porches and of course the pool! We saw lots of wildlife from the house too, including a troup of squirrel monkeys and an iguana! Denise, the helpful and enthusiastic property manager, set up all of our tours and even our rental car. She knew exactly what restaurants and beaches we should visit and when. She was very responsive and knowledgable, which made the whole trip completely stress-free. Overall, we had a memorable stay. We hope to return to Casa Mono Titi in the near future. We highly recommend renting here! P.S. The driveway is no joke. You definitely need a 4x4, and if you're not good with stick, get an automatic!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Patrick and Heather- We're so glad you two enjoyed your stay. I'm trying to convince Mario to go on the Corcovado trip before I have to go home next week. Enjoy your new life together. Karen, Mario, and Alex

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Loved it!

    Loved it!

    • Guest Karole (Lakewood, co )
    • Date of stay 06/13/13
    • Review Submitted 06/24/13
    We had an amazing week at your house. We travelled with a 3 and 2 year old, and you never know how that is going to go! They loved the pool and all the animals. House is beautiful and in great condition. Close to everything really. Cooked some nights, went out others. The view is amazing and different everyday based on clouds. Went on river boat tour in Sierpe. It was wonderful. saw every animal you could imagine and the guide was great. Denise is a great help and so sweet. Thanks for everything and we hope to be back next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks so much for the lovely comments. What fun to show little ones the monkeys and all the other critters. We'd love to have you back next year. Thanks, Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Awesome, just awesome

    Awesome, just awesome

    • Guest Darcy D.
    • Date of stay 03/23/13
    • Review Submitted 04/10/13
    We stayed at the house for 9 days and it was better than we had hoped. It was better than the description in some ways. Everything in the house worked properly. Quiet fans and good quality A/C units. For a rental home they really set it up well. Labeled switches and controls. A great guest book. And great outdoor patio furniture that real people would buy for their own house. We practically lived outdoors. There were some good start up items and basic staples in the house when we got there. The location was great as it was close enough to the main highway to be easily accessible, but it was high enough in elevation to have a spectacular view and a bit of a breeze. Positives? Views, pool was wonderful, incredible privacy, good road to the house (but steep - get a 4x4), wildlife, comfort. Negatives? Too many ants! It was a bit of battle to keep the ants at bay. The house needs an exterminator. Just keep every surface spotless and they just wander around looking for food. Don't let it deter you, just expect it. It was a wonderful experience visiting this house for 9 days. Highly recommended.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sorry about the ants! I'll ask Denise to get someone up there. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay even with the unwelcome visitors. Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A Private Paradise

    A Private Paradise

    • Guest Cynthia & Nelson (Michigan, USA)
    • Date of stay 03/11/13
    • Review Submitted 04/24/13
    My husband and I spent a week at Casa del Mono Titi with very good friends of ours. We had such a great trip, I don't know where to begin. Your home is beautiful, and the views were amazing. When renting a house online, you're not sure what to expect. You are relying on the reviews, and that descriptions and pictures are accurate. Your home was exactly as pictured, yet better in person, (pictures really don't do it justice). It is beautifully decorated, and very well stocked with everything you could need. The bedrooms were beautifully set up for our arrival with swans and flowers on our beds (like you would find at a fancy hotel). The pool was very nice and refreshing on the hot days. We used it every day (and night). There was truly no need to leave our private piece of paradise. Denise is awesome, and was so helpful. She set up all the tours we were interested in and was only a phone call, or text message, away for any questions we had. It was so nice to have someone there and available like that. Being our first time in Costa Rica, we had no idea what to do, let alone where to do it. We snorkeled at Cano Island one day (which I highly recommend), went on a day trip to the Borucan Village (very interesting, bought all our souvenirs there), visited Manuel Antonio where we saw lots of interesting critters including monkeys and sloths, and went ziplining. Denise also sent us to a wonderful little beach club, where we had some good food, a tropical beverage, and a walk on a beautiful, deserted beach (Playa Ballena)-the atmosphere of this little beach club was truly the Costa Rican paradise I had envisioned. It was such a wonderful week, the perfect combination of sight-seeing tours, and doing nothing but relaxing in the pool at your beautiful Costa Rican Casa. I also need to mention the beautiful porch and sitting areas that we enjoyed very much, and eating breakfast and dinner outside every day (never went to a restaurant-no need to). We were not fortunate enough to see the monkeys (we could hear the Howlers in the distance), or iguanas, but we did enjoy the "bigger than normal" frogs and geckos that visited us every night. This being our first time in Costa Rica, having your help, your home, and Denise made it a wonderful trip that we are looking forward to making again. Thank you for trusting us with your beautiful home.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Peace on Earth

    Peace on Earth

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 04/04/13
    We recently stayed at this beautiful tranquil home for a week. It provided us with all the relaxation we so desperately needed from our busy lives. The early morning jungle woke us with warm greetings and our delicious Costa Rican coffee was enjoyed while watching beautiful birds and other native jungle creatures. The house was perfect for us with large windows, lots of space and privacy (plus,plus,plus!!)The pictures do not show the true beauty of the property, we had a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and Cano Island. Denise, the property manager was absolutely excellent for all our needs, she provided us with booking for tours, directions to favorite beaches and dining spots. She was always just a call away - we were treated like family! We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'. There are many activities nearby to keep one occupied if so desired and the dining is exceptional in Ojochal. We certainly hope to return and possibly share this gem with friends. Thank you so much for the opportunity to share your home with us :) Pura Vida

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Muy Tranquillo

    Muy Tranquillo

    • Guest PuraVida (RI, USA)
    • Date of stay 02/05/13
    • Review Submitted 02/28/13
    My wife and I just returned from a three week stay at Casa Mono Titi and it was awesome. The pictures here on VRBO don't do the home or the views justice, both of which are beautiful. The home is nestled, literally, into a mountainside with sweeping views to the South and West of the Osa Peninsula, Sierpe River, and Cano Island. It is remote and quiet with lot's of opportunities to see wildlife; yet still only a 5 minute ride down to the main road and only 10 minutes to plenty of nice restaurants and the best beaches in Costa Rica. The property managers Denise and Eduardo are some of the nicest people you can imagine and can set you up with anything you could need as they know the area better than anyone. We had a wonderful and relaxing time and are hoping to stay here again in the future. Thanks to Karen, Denise and Eduardo for making it so easy. We hope to see you again soon!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind words. We feel very lucky to have Denise and Eduardo managing our property and hosting our guests.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Total Relaxation

    Total Relaxation

    • Guest FrequentTraveler1955 (Cary, NC USA)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 02/02/13
    We recently spent the most relaxing week we have ever had. The views and sunsets over the Pacific are amazing and the house was wonderful. We would sit on the veranda, leisurely watching the toucans, parrots and squirrel monkeys. The house is so peaceful, you feel like you have the whole world to yourself. But you are close to great restaurants and relaxing beaches. We are going back again!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A great place for relaxing in the sun and mountains

    A great place for relaxing in the sun and mountains

    • Guest marvy (carvel ab.)
    • Date of stay 12/22/12
    • Review Submitted 01/14/13
    We truly enjoyed our brief stay of 4 days in the mountains of cornado,ojochal. The place was extremely private and most enjoyable. And was close to many of the nice beaches of the coast. \only about a 2k drive up into the mountains and a splendid view. Was nice to just show up with our luggage and food, all we needed to enjoy ourselves. A totally nice set up for a nice vacation. Very clean and quite comfortable. The property manager[denise] was quite helpful with pointing out tour ideas and the way things are in costa rica. If and when we return would gladly liketo stay here again if available during our time frame. We would glady recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to have you back again. Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best time ever!

    Best time ever!

    • Guest Sean and Sandy (Arroyo Grande CA.)
    • Date of stay 05/17/12
    • Review Submitted 06/06/12
    The listing and pics accurately depict the home and surroundings. The house is fully equipped, clean and comfortable. The views are great and the wildlife is everywhere. Titi and White Faced monkeys, Toucans, Parrots and other birds galore. Coati's in the tree outside the master bedroom. Lizards, Frogs and Big Iguana's. Yes a 4X4 is required. Groceries, supplies and numerous places to eat all within 5 to 20 minutes. Our favorites are Le Bistro, Momma Y Papa and La Fogata. The BM Market in Uvita or the small market in Ojochal have all groceries you might want. We chose this home due to it being the approximate size place that we are looking to build in nearby Chontales. It is perfect for 1 or 2 couples and ALL that you need.We loved it and are looking forward to using it again. Thanks.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind words. Denise said you really enjoyed yourselves and might return! Glad to hear it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beautiful property

    Beautiful property

    • Guest Andrea (Seneca SC)
    • Date of stay 01/28/12
    • Review Submitted 02/14/12
    We stayed at this property from 1-28 to 2-4-12 with friends who have already reviewed it. We echo their sentiments. Everything was perfect. The property managers were super. Everything was clean and well maintained. Zip line at Osa Mountain Properties was so much fun!! Definitely need 4 wheel drive for the road to the house but the rough terrain only adds to the experience. Andrea and Bruce

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Vacation Of A Lifetime

    Vacation Of A Lifetime

    • Guest Steve & Dawn Pelletier (13 Graystone Road in Gray, ME 04039-7517)
    • Date of stay 01/27/12
    • Review Submitted 02/09/12
    My wife and I were invited to join long time, dear friends at this previously unknown and unheard of vacation location. It was the vacation of a lifetime for us. The accomodations were simply wonderful. The location of this home provides views and sunsets you can only dream of. During the week, we were treated to appearences from howler monkeys, tucans, parakeets, doves, iguanas, and very large frogs. The privacy and quiet relaxation at this vacation home are just what we needed to unwind from the hectic pace of life in USA. We especially loved the "privacy" of the pool for night swimming under the stars (no neighbors at all).The home has everything you could need. Our guest room twin beds were converted a king sized bed for us, prior to arrival. Our evenings spent BBQing on the tiled, open air patio, discussing the day's adventures, were just so relaxing. We can't say enough about the help and guidance that we received from Denise & Eduardo. Any minor issues that we encountered were quickly addressed by them. Denise set us up with some adventures of a lifetime, as well as directing us to "Cliff's" for a great lunch, cocktails, and free beach access. This part of Costa Rica offers a lot to do and see; all within day trips. If we ever return, we'll skip the 3.5 - 4 hr drive from Alajuelita and fly into either Quepos or Palmar Sur. The only drawback for us was that the road in and up the mountain to the house needs some work and re-grading for sure. You must rent a 4X4 to get to the house. Hang on for the ride and enjoy the thrills! Brush up on your Spanish, book a vacation week here, and make the trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: So glad you enjoyed the house! Aren't Denise and Eduardo great? We feel so lucky to have them taking care of the house and our guests. Thanks, Karen

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great house in the south pacific

    Great house in the south pacific

    • Guest Scott & Melissa (Michigan, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/13/12
    • Review Submitted 01/26/12
    This is a great house at a really reasonable price in the best part of Costa Rica. I highly recommend staying here. The property managers, Denise and Eduardo, are extremely accommodating and readily available to help you should you need it. We will be back.

    Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind words, Scott. We're glad you returned and hope you will return again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Mono Titi is "THE BEST"

    Casa Mono Titi is "THE BEST"

    • Guest David & Vikki M (Rogers, AR - USA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    We have stayed twice so far and have already made reservations to go back to Costa Rica and we would not think of staying anywhere else but Casa Mono Titi – WE LOVE IT!! It is in a fantastic setting – beautiful - quiet – private. Wildlife abounds, but you have to be observant – not all are easily visible. The house has everything you need. All you need to bring is your luggage and some groceries. With 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms there is lots of space. It has a GREAT patio. We just love having all of our meals out of doors. The pool is fantastic. Everything you need is there. Now this is just the house. There are local markets, shops & check out the farmers market on Saturday mornings in Uvita. On our last trip we made the journey to the Boruca Indian reservation, which is less than 1 hour from the house. Denise & Edurado, the property managers, are fantastic they will go out of their way to make sure everything is to your liking. The owners Mario & Karen are also great people to work with. We can’t say enough good things about Casa Mono Titi – Hey we just planned to stay there for the 3rd time!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Views! Excellent Privacy!

    Great Views! Excellent Privacy!

    • Guest Rick & Cindy (Alberta)
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/21/11
    My Husband and I stayed from February 4th to 17th, 2011. We do not recommend the drive from San Jose', as it is very long, and traffic is slow, better off to fly Sansa Air which only takes a 1/2 hour and rent your vehicle in Palmur Sur or Uvita. We enjoyed the stay mostly, as it is a very nice home, and the privacy is wonderful, pool was very refreshing. As the previous review, we did not see any Toucans, Monkeys or much of anything, for exceptions of geckos(they were also in our bedroom, they somehow crawl through the slats in the ceiling), a snake, large frogs that love to poop in the pool, and two scorpions, which gave me the heebee jeebees! Oh and don't forget the Iguana's that liked to climb the dirt mountain adjecent to the property. The drive to the home is on a very strong incline, and very rocky, you must have a 4x4 and a good fitting bra! It rained one evening which soured two trees down the mountain into the retaining wall which scared us emmensely. Our air conditioner quit in the bedroom one week into our holiday, my husband had to rig up a red neck way of keeping it cooling as it was very hot, and it wasn't repaired when we left. We also ran out of propane (on our second meal) for the BBQ 1/3 way cooking our meal, which was not pleasant, as we ended up heating the house up even more. I would suggest to the owner to have the knives sharpened, and have frying pans on hand that aren't warped, and also new sink plugs, as we washed dishes, the sinks never held water. We only eaten out a few times, and the local restaurants have wonderful food! The property managers were good, understanding and willing to accommodate. Do need internet and local telephone, would make the stay that much easier. We mostly used skype to keep in contact with our families. Would we stay again?? Probably not.... as it is a little pricy for the ammenities you receive. There are other rentals in the area that are much more reasonable and more perks. We do plan to return to Costa Rica next year!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Sorry about the problems you had during your stay at our house. Denise said that Eduardo did refill or replace the tank the next day. The air conditioner is fixed; sorry someone couldn't get to to sooner. At least you had the second bedroom to sleep in. I have spent mostly summer time (July/August) down in the house; perhaps that's why there were not toucans or monkeys, but that would surprise me. The toucans sit in the tree right outside the master bedroom window most mornings and afternoons. The monkeys wander through the trees behind the lemon tree. When one jumps from tree to tree, you can see a branch moving up and down. Then you have to scan the trees for them. They don't hang out, but wander up and down as they forage. There are lots of geckos, both inside and out. Once, one crawled into my purse and I found it when I arrived in Uvita. I'm not sure which of us was more startled! I've never seen a snake on the property though I'm sure they've been there when I was. After all, it is jungle. My husband saw a scorpion once, but I haven't. Again, I'm sorry you had problems.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Paradise

    Paradise

    • Guest Debra (Apex, NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/22/10
    • Review Submitted 01/11/11
    This was our fourth visit to Costa Rica, third visit to Ojochal, and our second stay at this wonderful house. Our time at the house couldn't have been any better. We were awakened by the serenade of the early morning rush hour of the toucans, monkeys, parrots, and Macaws in the jungle, mesmerized by the view of the ocean and Cano Island throughout the day, dazzled by the evening movement of the parrots, toucans, and monkeys, and captivated by the daily evening sunset. What more can anyone ask!!!!! A stay at this home is never long enough, and after only one week back in the States we are already planning our next trip to this property. You can determine the vacation style you want either touring the area by visiting the Osa Pennisula, Boruca Village, Cano Island or just lounge by the pool and feast at all the area restaurants. The property managers, Denise and Eduardo, can help you with any reservations or tours you need to book. There is entertainment for all ages and a wonderful vacation to be experienced. We hope all renters have as great a vacation as we did. ENJOY!! Robert, Debra, Tyler, and Wesley

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • WOW! Wildlife and exotic birds while enjoying the 5* comfort of a gorgeous home

    WOW! Wildlife and exotic birds while enjoying the 5* comfort of a gorgeous home

    • Guest Helen (Kingsville, MD, USA)
    • Date of stay 07/10/10
    • Review Submitted 07/30/10
    This was beyond my expectations of a vacation home. The location is fantastic with incredible views of the Osa Peninsula. I love the hideaway appeal of the home, knowing that you are living surrounded by nature but convenient enough to drive to the local markets for provisions and then have every amenity available in the house, from a well equipped kitchen to spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. We enjoyed seeing Squirrel Monkeys, Chestnut Mandibled Toucans, Fiery Billed Aracai Toucans, Golden Hooded Tanagers, Meally Parrotts, Blue-Gray Tanagers, Laughing Falcons, Purple Crowned Fairy Hummingbirds (along with many other types of hummingbirds) all from the comfort of an outside rocking chair while sipping locally grown coffee! Truly a paradise. The local beaches with the wonderful surf are quiet and easily accessible and coming home to then dip into the pool was an added treat. Many thanks for opening your home and sharing it with others.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WOW!! -- Casa Puntadas

    WOW!! -- Casa Puntadas

    • Guest David & Vikki M (Rogers, AR - USA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 06/19/10
    Just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Costa Rica - and YOUR house ----- WOW... Perfect - we absolutely loved your Costa Rica Home. Sometimes you don't know what you are getting just from pictures, but your home was all it appeared to be in the pictures and so much more. It is so peaceful and relaxing. We spent a lot of time there and by the pool. It's such a nice place you kind of hate to leave when you are there. The plants and the animals were fantastic. We were able to see toucans, parrots, parakeets, iguanas, and even had a huge toad that liked to share the swimming pool with us!! It was beautiful!! And all we needed to do was buy food. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. Denise & Eduardo were great and had a lot of good information. They were very helpful and able to answer all our questions. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived! We will definitely be using them to make arrangements for us next year! Yes. We are coming back next year! One week was not enough and there is so much more we want to see. Hopefully, your home will be available at the time we want to come. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else! Thanks again and we hope to be speaking with you in the future!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • WOW!!!!

    WOW!!!!

    • Guest David & Vikki M (Rogers, AR - USA)
    • Date of stay 05/07/10
    • Review Submitted 05/29/10
    Hola Karen, Vikki & I just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had in Costa Rica - and YOUR house ----- WOW... Perfect - we absolutely loved your Costa Rica Home. Sometimes you don't know what you are getting just from pictures, but your home was all it appeared to be in the pictures and so much more. It is so peaceful and relaxing. We spent a lot of time there and by the pool. It's such a nice place you kind of hate to leave when you are there. The plants and the animals were fantastic. We were able to see toucans, parrots, parakeets, iguanas, and even had a huge toad that liked to share the swimming pool with us!! It was beautiful!! And all we needed to do was buy food. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. Denise & Eduardo were great and had a lot of good information. They were very helpful and able to answer all our questions. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived! We will definitely be using them to make arrangements for us next year! Yes. We are coming back next year! One week was not enough and there is so much more we want to see. Hopefully, your home will be available at the time we want to come. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Secluded Hideway

    Secluded Hideway

    • Guest TammyC (Littleton, Colorado)
    • Date of stay 04/26/10
    • Review Submitted 06/13/10
    We stayed at this home for almost a week and had the most wonderful time! The pool and views are terrific without a neighbor in sight. The listing and pictures are completely accurate and the requirement for a 4WD vehicle is correct as you will not make it up the road to the house without one. The home is clean and comfortable while the outdoor space is incredible with a covered patio with fans to enjoy being outdoors when the storms come in. We loved waking to the toucans outside of the master bedroom window each morning and saw lots of wildlife around the house to include green parrots, white-faced monkeys, a resident coati, and many miscellaneous birds and butterflies. Karin was terrific to deal with and Denise and Eduardo, the caretakers, are a wealth of knowledge and are happy to assist in any way. We would definitely recommend the horseback ride to Nauyaca Falls and the ziplining tour in Hacienda Baru. Citrus and Exotica are completely delicious dining options and there is a little fish market (stand) at LaMacha, just outside of Dominical, with freshly caught Mahi and Shrimp (great and inexpensive!) if you want to take advantage of the grill at the house. We would recommend this house for the seclusion and value.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Trip

    Wonderful Trip

    • Guest Debra (Apex, NC, USA)
    • Date of stay 12/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    This was our third trip to Costa Rica and the Osa area and we had a wonderful time at your lovely home. Everything was great and the photos represent the house well. We particularly loved the view, the pool, and all the wildlife in the valley. We hope to return this year and will definitely book this house. Edwardo and Denise were great and we used them for booking our day trips. None of us wanted to leave and can't wait to return. You will not be disappointed to rent this home.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Highly Recommend

    Highly Recommend

    • Guest Jas3 (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 11/12/09
    • Review Submitted 05/16/10
    "We are returning to Costa Rica for our third time and staying at this lovely property for the second time. This property is very comfortable and very well appointed. The kitchen has just about every gadget you're used to at home and the home is very nice, clean and feels "like home". The grounds and pool are great and the view is fantastic. Obviously staying twice, I highly recommend this property and it's a real value! If you want to get away and enjoy a private location, yet be close to Southern Zone activities, you've found the place!"

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Returning for our second time

    Returning for our second time

    • Guest Jas3 (Austin, TX)
    • Date of stay 11/12/09
    • Review Submitted 05/15/10
    We are returning to Costa Rica for our third time and staying at this lovely property for the second time. This property is very comfortable and very well appointed. The kitchen has just about every gadget you're used to at home and the home is very nice, clean and feels "like home". The grounds and pool are great and the view is fantastic. Obviously staying twice, I highly recommend this property and it's a real value! If you want to get away and enjoy a private location, yet be close to Southern Zone activities, you've found the place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great View, Nice Accommodations, Maybe A Gamble

    Great View, Nice Accommodations, Maybe A Gamble

    • Guest WhiteNosedCoati (Hamilton, Montana, USA)
    • Date of stay 04/12/09
    • Review Submitted 01/19/11
    I stayed for 3 nights during the middle of April, right before the rainy season started. The view of the ocean was spectacular; the property was well maintained and landscaped; the location was very private; the pool was clean; the AC was cold; and the house was comfortable, clean, and decorated very nicely. Unlike other reviewers, I did not see any exotic birds or monkeys at the house, but I did find a giant frog in the pool, and I almost hit a coati on the drive away from the home. Lack of animals was not a disappointment because the house is very close to the Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge where they offer Canopy Tours. Other recommendations I would make while visiting this vacation rental is to visit Exotica Restaurant in Ojochal (some of the best food I've EVER tasted, and two 4-course meals plus drinks for under $100 US dollars), visit Playa de Ventanas (Beach of Windows, so named for the holes in the rocks), and the snorkel tour of Cano Island (Requires a short drive to Drake Bay). Denise and Eduardo (managers/caretakers) were very amicable, they helped us find plenty of activities to do on very short notice, and I feel we owe a large part of our great experiences in the area to them. ProTip: If you plan to come around rainy season, don't make reservations for activities beforehand; make reservations on the day of, or the day before, according to the weather forecast. The only downside to our stay was the water supply went out for two of the three days during our stay. We couldn't flush the toilet (stinky!), take a shower, or use the kitchen sink, and it pretty much ruined our experience of the vacation rental. Compounding the problem is the fact that there is no phone or internet at the home (only a pay-phone a few miles down the road). Eduardo and Denise let my wife use one of their showers during check-out, but the owners made no attempt at to placate us, and therefore I was disgruntled at paying full price for the rental. The road to the home is quite steep. A 4x4 vehicle is absolutely necessary and my guess is it would be impossible to drive during muddy conditions. All in all, this place was quite spectacular, but due to my unfortunate experience I would not stay again.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: I am sorry that your experience of Costa Rica was marred by the lack of water at our house. However, this is the first time I learned of it and it has been almost two years since your stay. You were there in April of 2009 and it is January of 2011. We have made partial refunds to guests even before they return home if we are aware of a problem. I wish you had contacted us after your stay. We have only been renting since 2009 and have booked four returning parties this year. One couple changed their vacation dates from the spring to the fall so that they could return to our house.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]