Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Pool and chimney

Historic Luxury Hacienda with Sumptuous Design [#202866] | View Property

Merida
Villa, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 5 Baths (Sleeps 13)
$650 - $1,400/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (21)

Sort by:
  • Outstanding.....

    Outstanding.....

    • Guest Ade
    • Date of stay 03/29/14
    • Review Submitted 04/11/14
    First off this is the first time I have bothered to review a holiday accomodation and secondly I am not entirely sure I want to share this gem with anyone else. But in the spirit in which we were received by the most gracious hosts of Casa Sisal I feel duty bound to take the time to give credit where it is due. The property itself is of course stunning. Look at the pictures. It does not disappoint in the flesh and nor is it photographed omitting noisy neighbours or ugly views. Secluded, subtle and an oasis of peaceful calm. Most previous reviews mention the fireflies on the lawn of an evening. I now understand why. Impossible to put into words or indeed film or photograph. What most don't mention is the incredible calm of early morning there. Very special. Good architectural fore thought meant my family of five 'lived' easily in this space. The space works very well. Location wise very convenient for Merida and the week barely gave us time to scratch the surface of all the sites within day trip distance. The Hacienda itself is of course stunning and a great contrast to the clean lines of Casa Sisal. Utterly genuine honest hosts who are as enthused by the houses as we were. A rare find and a true 'keeper'.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • First-rate, stunning, & extraordinary!

    First-rate, stunning, & extraordinary!

    • Guest Bailey (Boulder, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/28/14
    Words can not describe the luxury and relaxation that is awaiting you at Hacienda Sac Chich. I went on a girls trip to Merida and this home exceeded our expectations. The property and accommodations were exceptional. The home is beautiful and well maintained with secret treasures all over the property. After spending the day sipping margaritas by the pool we would move to the roof where we could watch the sunset or out onto the lush property to watch the fireflies flicker with breath-taking beauty. When we had our fill of relaxation we would go into town to get freshly made tortillas and authentic Mayan cuisine or we would take a day trip to see the Mayan ruins and swim in the underground water caves (cenotes)! The owners were beyond wonderful-super helpful and kind. I highly recommend this property-you will have an unforgettable experience!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Oasis in the Yucatan!

    Amazing Oasis in the Yucatan!

    • Guest Tracy (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/25/14
    Hacienda Sac Chich is one of the best places I have ever stayed! Located 40 minutes from the Merida airport it is easily accessible. Sac Chich offers a luxury experience in the heart of the Yucatan with easy access to the surrounding sites, such as the city of Merida, off the beaten path cenotes-where you will be the only one exploring the water caves, Mayan ruins, outdoor markets, and exploring the local scene. You can ride a bike to pick up freshly made corn tortillas and frozen fruit bars. The property houses spacious bedrooms with queen/king beds and individual bedrooms. There are small ponds full of lily pads and frogs, palm trees, and nothing but green surrounding you. You will have a pool all to yourself that is perfect for sipping freshly made margaritas and reading a book. There is a roof top to watch the sunsets, bocce ball, a field full of fireflies at night and a great sound system, in case you want to have a dance party. Everything is clean and well taken care of. The owners are more than happy to supply you with where to shop/dine, the best keep secrets of the area, maps with directions to everything and any other help you need. Staying here we had privacy, quiet, comfort, easy access to exploring and a place that felt like we had a home during our vacation. There is nothing negative I can say about my stay here. I would highly recommend Hacienda Sac Chich to anyone who is looking for a cultural Mexico experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Stunning paradise

    Stunning paradise

    • Guest Heather114 (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 02/28/14
    • Review Submitted 03/23/14
    Hacienda Sac Chich is the most awe inspiring place I have been to - exotic singing birds; lush plants; phenomenal food; refreshing pool and lounging areas; great sound system that can be linked to different areas of the house; star-gazing platform on the roof to watch the sunset and the stars; privacy. It is located perfectly for day trips to cenotes, ruins, the beach and the city, but feels like a complete escape from it all behind the limestone walls and under the royal palms. Spending time here was the trip of a lifetime. A real thinking place.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Montana Madre

    Montana Madre

    • Guest Jann - Montana (Livingston, MT. USA)
    • Date of stay 11/15/13
    • Review Submitted 11/26/13
    I have stayed at Hacienda Sac Chich several times and look forward to the feeling of calm the minute I get there. The owners have mixed Mayan history with easy luxury. (I mean - fabulous all-cotton sheets, fluffy pillows and plush Turkish towels! Among many other things - all of the wonderful fabrics, candles, furnishings!). I adore the ambience of sheer grand-ness. We wake up to rustling palms and trills of the cellphone/slide-whistle birds (my own term, but you'll find that's what they sound like...). At dusk, fireflies sparkle over the great lawn of Casa Sisal. You want to chase them in the grass. Sac Chich is absolutely majestic. I look in awe at the 20-ft high ceilings, ochre colored walls, massive old stone work and huge mahogany doors It was the Casa de Maquina, after all, and has machinery in its beginnings. The property is lush with every kind of tropical greenery - palms of every kind, ginger plants, hibiscus, and bougainvilleas.The staff is always attentive and caring, just ask. You can totally linger at the hacienda and enjoy it in itself or venture away to explore. It's an easy half-day trip to the cenotes, henequen plantations, and famous Mayan ruins. We like the lesser known ones that are closer and more fun! Visit nearby colorful villages such as Acanceh or Tixcocob - the hammock town- or spend several days exploring Merida, capital city of Yucatan. Relax poolside or read email in the huge open-air loggia. At night, everyone in the world becomes a kid again star gazing from the roof top. The grand circular stairway to the roof is also an architectural marvel. For me, my favorite thing is to cocoon in the courtyard with books and wine, enjoying the ever changing Yucatan sky overhead. You won 't regret or forget your stay here!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • AMAZING!

    AMAZING!

    • Guest Tom (Australia) (Australia)
    • Date of stay 10/28/13
    • Review Submitted 11/25/13
    My (recently new) fiancé and I stayed for a week at Casa Sisal after stumbling upon it online while planning our Mexican holiday from Australia. We were both immensely blown away with our experience at Casa Sisal. I would highly recommend (and have been) staying here. Cyndy, the owner is very kind and aims to please. I coordinated with her to plan the surprise proposal for our engagement during our stay at Casa Sisal. it couldn't have been planned any better and Cyndy was very helpful in arranging everything we needed prior to arrival. She arranged a beautiful table with flowers and candles and recommended a great private chef. An unforgettable night. Right from the front gate, the perfectly manicured grounds, the house, the location and the facilities are AMAZING. The house has everything you need to stay comfortable as if you had never left home. Although it's location is not right in town, travelling by car is easy and a fun adventure. It also makes it easy to see other towns and sights in the area. Maps and guides of the area made by Cyndy are also very helpful. Honestly, we have never been to such an amazing getaway in all our travels and will definitely be a returning, even all the way from Australia.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Casa Sisal - Living the dream

    Casa Sisal - Living the dream

    • Guest Neil (London)
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/29/13
    Casa Sisal is an architectural masterpiece and without doubt the most incredible place we ever imagined staying! Amazingly when we arrived it was even more astounding than we thought possible. Everything about the property and gardens was completely effortless. Everything was where you wanted it to be if you had designed it specifically for yourself! The kitchen, sunken lounge area, pool, bedrooms and huge open windows all set off by the elegant and stylish furnishings. Around every corner is another interesting view or stunning vista. This alone would have made our honeymoon stay unforgettable. However, we also had the incredible service and attention from Cyndy (the owner - accessible remotely from about 3 months before we arrived to a fortnight after!) and the ladies and gentlemen who prepared our food, kept the house spotless and the gardens effortlessly manicured. The location is also perfect for exploring the area, though, once you arrive it is almost impossible to leave the house.. Finally I actually cannot believe the incredible value of it. We have paid 4 or 5 times this to stay in places that will not hold such as happy place in our heart as Casa Sisal.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fantastic

    Fantastic

    • Guest New Yorker (NYC)
    • Date of stay 01/02/13
    • Review Submitted 04/02/13
    I came with my five year old, two year old, wife, father and step-mother. We had an abundance of rooms and hope to return with a larger group. The house is beautiful, the grounds are lovely, the staff perfect. At first the towns around the very luxurious hacienda seem impoverished, but as you stay longer you will notice a real living community, that is very interesting and seems connected by real values, and then you will begin to find treasures all around you. Or you can just stay on the grounds and be perfectly happy in your own private resort. We will return, though next time via the Merida airport instead of Cancun, and we will stop at the Walmart on the way out of town to load up on food for our very particular little kids, but I would also ask the staff to cook more nights, the one time we did it, the meal was excellent. The relationship to the other house gives plenty of distance, but is also close enough that taking both houses for a really large group would work very well. Anyway, I highly recommend this house, I don't have as single criticism. Perfect.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Dream Mayan Vacation Retreat

    Dream Mayan Vacation Retreat

    • Guest H.S. (CO)
    • Date of stay 06/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    Wow -- we had seen the pictures but they paled in comparison to Hacienda Sac Chich in person. We were blown away by every luxurious detail from the exquisite colonial and modern architecture of both buildings and the fabulous appointments of every room on the property to the drop-dead beauty of the pools, gardens and grounds. We felt like Kings and Queens since we had the entire Hacienda to ourselves. We relaxed by the pool, savored candlelight dinners in the magic of the bodega, climbed to the rooftop viewing area for star-gazing, played a little bocce ball, read in the soaking tub, and enjoyed huevos ranchos and other delights prepared by the lovely Yucatacan ladies in the comfort of the traditional mayan kitchen. Everything was perfect. We loved how close Hacienda Sac Chich is to all the sites of the Peninsula -- we drove to the mayan ruins, several fascinating cenotes, and to the Gulf where we savored cervesas under yalapas, viewed the flamingos in Celestun and toured the walled city of Campeche. It is all close by. The best part of every day was returning to the comfortable elegance of the Hacienda for margaritas and a dip in the exquisite pool. We will return again and can't wait to have a family gathering there in Sac Chich. It surpassed our expectations!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • b-day party trip

    b-day party trip

    • Guest lisa (denver, co)
    • Date of stay 01/05/12
    • Review Submitted 02/06/12
    the most generous hosts a person could wish for and a truly magical experience. property is spectacular and the area is rich in history. friendly people, great food, and yummy tequila - what more could a person ask for!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Dream lingers

    The Dream lingers

    • Guest artana (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 03/31/10
    • Review Submitted 03/31/10
    After our experience visiting Hacienda Sac Chic, the magical memories still linger with color images in my mind. It was a fabulous mix of activity, architectural history, cultural diversity, epicurean surprises and days that flowed with no sense of time. Relaxing by the pool, dining with large groups of friends, candles flickering in the warm gentle evenings while the music filled the air. The attention to detail, the warmth of the owners and the gracious hospitality was not to be exceeded in all my years of experienced as a well seasoned traveler. Would I return? Yes, however, only with my closest friends and family to share yet again this unsurpassed experience, inhale the local fragrances and feast my eyes on the tropical paradise. It is beyond a five star experience. They have established a new higher standard. Go and enjoy your dream memories.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Chuck16 (Minneapolis, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/15/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/10
    I just want to let you know how much I enjoyed my stay at Hacienda Sac Chich. It was absolutely amazing…the gardens, the buildings, the roof top sunsets, the staff, all you great directions….everything was so fantastic. I can’t wait to go back. Sophie was a great addition to the hacienda. She was really fun to have around. Bartola and Soco were great and perceptive as you had said. I really enjoyed the proximity to so much fun stuff: Merida, Acanceh, Izamal, the tres cenotes in Cuzama, Hacienda San Jose. And there were so many places we did not make it to: Mayapan, Hacienda Teya, more of Merida, all the famous taco places.I loved the home-made popsicles, the pedi-cab rides, the village setting and so much more …it’s just great! Thank you both so much for opening up your lovely and oh so special home to us. We feel privileged to have been able to enjoy it and hope so much to return. With such fond memories.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Jennifer299 (Saint Paul, MN)
    • Date of stay 03/15/10
    • Review Submitted 03/15/10
    As you drive the five miles or so off the main road from Merida or Cancun (HWY 180) passing through a few small yucatacan villages, you immediately start to relax. You see the simple way people live, the children running around playing, the school children in uniform gathered around a store during a break, and lots of women walking about on their daily missions. The countryside seems a million miles from the traditional, hectic US life. And that is just what we were after. As you enter the tiny town of Sac Chich you arrive at the Hacienda through iron gates and into a tropical paradise. Soco and Bartola, the domestic help, are there with shy smiles and fresh tortillas, guacamole, and other traditional snacks waiting for us. But where to go to eat them??? Shall we go to the roof top and listen to the birds and catch some sun? Or should we go to the pool, or sit by the water gardens or in the loggia? Or stay right in the kitchen, cooled by soaring ceilings and cool breezes through the French window? These are the types of dilemmas you are up against. And at every meal!! The hacienda itself is an amazing estate…the gardens, the interior with its high ceilings and antique henequen machine equipment, the bedrooms with lovely linens, the pool, the loggia, the indoor sitting area, the roof top lounge for viewing the sun set…it’s all so great. Cyndy and Howard have thought of everything and were so helpful with maps, rides from the airport, local information and arranging for meals to be prepared in house. Another thing we love about Hacienda Sac Chich is its proximity to so many great places to visit. There is a ton to do/explore if you wish. There is a great little town about a mile away called Acanceh, population about 4,000, that has great taco stands, a morning market, a clinic, home-made coconut ice-cream (that alone I would travel thousands of miles for)…just about anything you need. We walked into town in the cool of the morning and took a “pedi-cab” back to the hacienda with our market wares. So fun and so charming. Our kids loved it. The other thing I would travel thousands of miles to see again were the hundreds of lightning bugs that lit up the grasses and trees right after it got dark. If you walk through the loggia gate looking towards casa sisal (a super cool, modern house on the property) and let your eyes adjust to the immense dark a few seconds you will see them! And then soon the frogs come out to sing/scream! And the sta

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

    • Guest Joanna22 (Denver)
    • Date of stay 02/18/10
    • Review Submitted 02/18/10
    Hacienda Sac Chich was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed! The rooms were all comparable to top notch hotels. The room I stayed in had a very comfortable king sized bed with plush white linens. The building itself is incredible because of the historical significance and yet, it still maintains a modern feeling. The property provides a very relaxing atmosphere. I really enjoyed walking the grounds and taking pictures of all the beautiful flowers and lush shrubbery. We went during the summer (July) and while during the day it was hot, the infinity pool was never far away. The town itself is close enough to feel like your not alone. To my recollection there was a really delicious restaurant by the town square and a great place to grab beers and sodas. The hacienda is also distant enough to feel like you are in your own private world. We took side trips to the pyramids and cenotes (underground pools) on the weekend and everything was close enough that getting to attractions was not a problem. I highly advise anyone who is looking for a place to rent to pick Sac Chich! The experience I had was one of a kind and unforgettable to say the least.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/10/10
    • Review Submitted 02/10/10
    Hda Sac Chich is the perfect antidote to cookie-cutter vacation resorts. This property is one of a kind--absolutely unique and breathtakingly beautiful. You'll be living in the hacienda culture that dominated the Yucatan more than a century ago, but you'll have contemporary comfort and design blended into the architecture of the industrial revolution. There are too many unique places and spaces to describe--the pool, the rooftop, the sunken lounge in the master suite, the bocce court, the loft, and the utterly spectacular guest rooms in the new building. If you can drag yourself away from the hacienda, there are plenty of fascinating side trips to cenotes, Mayan ruins and colonial cities such as Merida and Valladolid. But whether you explore the region or stay on the grounds, this will be one vacation you'll never forget.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Kit P. (Boston, MA)
    • Date of stay 06/19/09
    • Review Submitted 06/19/09
    You enter into a tropical garden paradise. The atmosphere of Sac Chich makes you feel more as though you are in a castle than a transformed, historic factory. Architecturally it is very unique.Candle light fills the indoor and outdoor spaces at night creating a very romantic scene. Our bedrooms were very large and clean. The owners have elegant taste and have decorated the whole compound with lovely furnishings. We stayed quite cool within these high, stone walls despite the heat outside. The staff is very friendly and did the things for us that brought Sac Chich beyond just renting a house for vacation. Without the intrusion of a hotel staff we felt like we were hacienda owners! There is a large grass area where we played soccer and frisbee, we toured nearby Mayan ruins,we rode the bikes through Mayan villages, we trampolined, we swam in cenotes and the pool. There was more to do than our time allowed. And who wants to leave the lure of this place? The beautiful pool area is where we had the most fun playing water volleyball and then relaxing on lounges under the shade of the pergola, listening to the many varieties of song birds. The owners were very knowledgeable of the Merida area, directing us to historic ruins, cenotes, and local festivals. Pictures cannot capture how grand Sac Chich is. Our Sac Chich stay was a wonderful and unique vacation experience that this family of 4 totally enjoyed and we look forward to our return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/08/09
    • Review Submitted 06/08/09
    For anyone who is looking for a unique vacation - far from your typical Hyatt Resort - look no farther. Experience the real Mexico in an exquisite environment that blends traditional architecture with modern amenities. From the moment you arrive you understand that you have been transported to a very special world. We just returned from the hacienda where our group of 5 friends enjoyed a "ladies only" birthday vacation. We each had our own bedroom and bath but spent most of our time poolside with margaritas in hand - made with the freshly squeezed lime juice that the staff has prepared each day. But the hacienda owners also guided us to a host of memorable experiences throughout the region including exploring Mayan ruins, cooling off in a Mexican cenote, and visiting the lively city of Merida. This is a wonderful place for any occasion but a very special place for a special occasion.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest J & J Stratis (Denver, CO)
    • Date of stay 10/03/08
    • Review Submitted 10/03/08
    What bliss! We had a truly unforgettable 30th wedding anniversary celebration at Sac Chich! Exquisite style and attention to detail make this beautiful home a luxurious destination. We look forward to returning again soon to relax at this lavish refuge and to explore more of the fascinating Yucatan.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Katherine Dines (-)
    • Date of stay 09/17/08
    • Review Submitted 09/17/08
    This hacienda is a treasure that is perfect for ANY group or event. My husband and I spent one magical Christmas there and over the past five years, have celebrated several other happy occasions including a May birthday and Valentine's Day. Sac Chic is as private as it gets, yet also conveniently located near many of the lesser- known Yucatan attractions. It has the original adobe charm that many remodeled haciendas lack. The designer/architects and owners have created a comfortable sanctuary as well as a marvelous historical estate with all the creature comforts. Some of our favorite Sac Chic moments include: candlelit dinners on the open-air platform; lolling by the pool while sipping a margarita; marveling at an electrical storm from the gardens; and taking a nap in a hammock listening to birds call at sunset. Once you go there, Sac Chic will become etched in your mind and soul and you will want to return again and again.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 09/16/08
    • Review Submitted 09/16/08
    I've been to Sac Chich several times and each time I find something I didn't before. It's perfect balance of great design, relaxed atmosphere and wonderful help there make it a place for me to go and unplug. A perfect place to "do nothing" or take day trips to the great ruins, the beach or even Tulum......perfect…

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

    • Guest Heather114 (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 09/16/08
    • Review Submitted 09/16/08
    There is no place in the world quite like Hda. Sac Chich. I just got back from a week long stay in August and I cannot wait to return. It is the perfect place to be for any occasion at any time of year. Whether you go for romantic getaway, a girls' vacation, or a family reunion, Hda. Sac Chich will deliver magical and memorable magic. I spent every morning lying in bed listening to the exotic birds sing their morning tune, followed by some hours by the infinity pool, sipping on coffee and reading. The outdoor speakers throughout the house and yard make the whole hacienda the perfect place for an improptu dance party whenever you get the urge. This is the most rejuvenating vacation I have ever been on, and I hope I can go back to the beautiful Sac Chich soon! Thanks for sharing this rare glimpsse at heaven on earth.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]