Seaside Simplicity, Private Pool, Oceanfront- Avail. Dec Weeks Rec. 20% Off
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:2-7 nights
- Pets considered:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
VRBO Bear stayed here: We found this property to be beary special Read review
Beaufort house description
This Non-Smoking home is situated on the northern end of Harbor Island where there are only beachfront lots. The north end of Harbor Island has white sandy beaches facing where the St. Helena Sound meet the Atlantic Ocean. As you look out over the ocean and the many dolphins that jump and play 15 feet out in the surf, you are facing Edisto Island and a national nature preserve. Enjoy incredible sunsets over the salt water marsh that is just across Harbor River - true low country scenery. Come listen to Jimmy Buffet... sittin' on the dock of the bay... eating cheeseburgers in paradise... drinking margaritas in Margaritaville.
The master bedroom is on the main level with a private screened porch and a master bath with a jetted tub overlooking the ocean/beach. There is one other bedroom downstairs and then three additional bedrooms upstairs (two overlook the ocean and the third overlooks the marsh - amazing sunsets). There are four TVs/DVDs (with an flat screen TV (36') in the living room). An exterior shower eases the sand and salt water removal from yourselves and clothing after swimming and building sand castles on the beach.
Bedding includes one King, three Queens, and two Bunkbeds (twin on full & twin on twin). You will love this piece of paradise. We have just purchased new luxury mattresses for the King and Queen beds!!! You will sleep peacefully all night long!!!
These beaches are very shallow so they are not surfing beaches. People do surf on our neighboring island, SC State Park Hunting Island.
Forrest Gump's shrimp boats are docked just north on St. Helena Island. You will see them out in the ocean at dawn, silouhetted against the incredible sunrises. Come see why this special area is utilized as the background for a dozen popular movies, such as Forrest Gump, Prince of Tides, and The Big Chill.
Keywords: Oceanfront Home, Seaside Simplicity, Harbor Island, 5 bedroom beach home,
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Non Smoking Only
- Children Welcome
- Pets Not Allowed
Bedrooms: 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13, Beds for 11-13
Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms
Kitchen & Dining
(2) We have two full size refrigerators standing side by side in the kitchen. It is best to put drinks in one refrigerator and your meats in the other since the one with drinks in it will be opened frequently....moreless
- Ice Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Linens Provided:
- Parking Off Street:
- Washing Machine:
- Clothes Dryer:
- Wood Fireplace
- Air Conditioning
- Phone (FREE LONG DISTANCE), Basic Cable TV, DVD
- Video Library:
- CD Player
- DVD Player
- Wireless Internet:
- Free Long Distance
Pool & Spa
- Private Pool:
- Jetted Tub
- Outdoor Grill
Location & View
- Wildlife Viewing
- Bird Watching
- Fitness Center
- Outlet Shopping
- Live Theater
- Horseback Riding
- Scenic Drives
- Sight Seeing
- Health/Beauty Spa
ReviewsWrite a review
VRBO Bear stayed here:
My South Carolina vacation was wonderful at this beachfront house. The location was perfect. It was great walking the beach, and fishing. My friends and I caught Spot and Red Drum while fishing between the bay and ocean – all just a short walk from the house. When surf fishing and crabbing didn’t fill our days and our nets, we kayaked the marshes. Wildlife was all around. Dolphin watching was a sport each day directly in front of the house. The pool was not the only thing private; it was a rare day to find another soul on the beach.
I loved the low country with its local flare and quaint shops in Beaufort and Front Royal. One of the seafood restaurants was a favorite. The dockside dining was great. What could be better for a bear’s lunch than fresh shrimp right off the boats?
Another great spot was Hunting Island State Park, only a 5 minute drive away. It offers lush surroundings with a nature walk and the Atlantic beach for shelling. A lighthouse completes this picturesque island and offers spectacular views from atop!
Back at the beach house at the end of the day, the supper comfy beds helped us relax to enjoy each new day’s beautiful view.
For a memorable getaway, Seaside Simplicity is the place to visit!
The VRBO Bear
Older house, poorly maintaned, requires YOUR time to make it work
Older house, poorly maintaned, requires YOUR time to make it work
Harbor Island is cute and quiet. Dolphins, Hunting Island State Park, etc. But this house is older with peeling paint on the deck and outdoor stairs, cracked tiles in the kitchen, dirty carpet on the stairs. Still, it wasn't too pricey, and we could've overlooked those - hey, we're at the beach. But when we arrived, the house smelled of chemicals. Turns out it was paint fumes. Fresh, wet paint on a piece of furniture in one of the bedrooms. Had to call the rental agency and have them move it - they set it on the porch. Then we realized the pool - for which we'd paid the extra charge to heat - was not heated. Would've been nice to get what we reserved and paid for. Rental agency sent someone over to turn it on and refunded us a day's-worth of heating charge, but that was a full day of our short vacation without the heated pool - a necessity in mid-October, by the way. The first morning, I tried to access the internet to get some critical work done, but it did not work. After several calls to the rental agency, it was obvious they did not have the knowledge or skill to get it fixed. So I made several calls to the local provider, Comcast, who told me there was and had been trouble with service at the house. The rental agency/owner had to schedule a service visit from Comcast the next day. And guess who waited for 4 hours for a Comcast tech that never showed up? The rental agency/owner? Nope. Me. I continued to talk to the rental agency/owner who told me the issue had been escalated with Comcast. But the internet was never fixed. And when I suggested to the rental agency tha ti hoped they would make it right, i.e., refund some of the price, they said, "We went by the house, and it works." Right. The folks who had no clue how to fix it are sure there's no problem now that we’re gone. If you want an older house in need of some updates - maybe a fresh coat of paint more than 12 hours before you arrive - and don't mind spending your vacation troubleshooting a bunch of things that aren't as advertised, then this house might be for you. Otherwise, spend your money, valuable time, and vacation somewhere else.
- Guest Jared M.
- Date of stay 10/16/13
- Review Submitted 10/26/13
Owner response: We are so sorry this guest had internet issues during his stay. But, to say our house is poorly maintained is unfair. I take full responsibility for not having the pool heater turned on; that was my error. I am not perfect, but I work diligently and will continue to work harder so that this type of error does not occur again. We were happy to refund the pool heating fee for the 1 night. My maintenance contractor jumped the gun on finding a dresser that needed a little paint, not realizing we had a check-in that day. But, when we called him, he returned from home after 6pm and moved the piece of furniture outside so the paint odor would be removed from the one bedroom upstairs. I do respond as quickly as possible as soon as an issue is brought to my attention. When there is a service problem with power/water/cable/phone, we schedule a service call. We are so used to this island life, I forget that our guests come from environments where outages are rare. We will absolutely meet the service person, but when a guest offers because they will be at the house, then I accept the offer. In this case, Comcast did not show up upon the scheduled time and I had to escalate the call. I do apologize again for the internet not working during our guests' stay. Problems do occur that we have no control over. We always try to do our best to take care and respond to our guests as quickly as possible. Our current guest is not experiencing similar problems, nor did the previous guest the week before have any issues. This particular week, it was working for the first few days and then apparently sporadically until Comcast went out. We like to verify a problem is solved, so on check-out day, we went into the house and verified the internet was working. We also emailed the next arrival to notify them of the recent issue and asked them to let me know if it happens again. Here are a few suggestions to fellow travelers: We recommend that you have a plan if you have to "work" while on vacation: a) bring an ethernet cable so you can connect directly if there is a wireless problem, b) use your cellphone as a hotspot, c) bring a hotspot, d) come use our office to work, or e) access free wifi at the Beach Club on Harbor Island. We strive to make each guests stay comfortable and relaxing and enjoyable.
This listing was perfect for our extended family. The description was accurate and the pictures gave us an excellent idea of what was in store for us on arrival. The owner was quick to answer any questions or concerns, We absolutely loved the private pool and being just steps from the beach. We took my mother-in-law on vacation with us for the first time and she was able to have her privacy. The area is peaceful and quiet but a short distance from beautiful, historic Beaufort, SC. The guys did a lot of surf fishing on the channel and in front of the house. Great fishing. The local resturaunts have pretty good food. Johnsons Creek Tavern is just outside the gate and has a fun , caual atmosphere. The food at Boondocks was good but the hour wait for our food was diappointing. If you want fine dining it is just a short drive into Beaufort. I recommend this listing. Seaside Getaways is the local company that handled the transactions and maintains the property. They are AWESOME! Just a phone call away if you need them.. Their warm welcome to the area was the start of a fabulous vacation. We have used Seaside for several years and are never disappointed.
- Guest LittleBit (Lexington, SC )
- Date of stay 09/01/11
- Review Submitted 02/23/12
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+.
This is a great rental property. The house is clean and the owners are always helpful. I would highly reccommend this property for families. Harbor Island is a great vacation spot and this is a great house.
- Guest no nickname (columbia,sc)
- Date of stay 06/15/11
- Review Submitted 06/15/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, families with young children, age 55+.
Owner response: We do appreciate hearing back from our guests to let us know how they enjoyed our home and our little piece of paradise! And always look forward to suggestions for improvements. We just installed new tile floors in our master bathroom and our bathroom upstairs. It looks GREAT.
Fantastic Vacation Home and Location
Fantastic Vacation Home and Location
This is a wonderful home in a great location with awesome hosts. We cant say one bad thing about the whole experience. Seaside was great to work with prior to making the booking. The home was clean and ready very comfortable and had everything we needed. We stay in vacation rentals like this 2-3 times a year for our family vacations and this is at the top end of homes we have rented over the years. The owners were great to deal with as well and don't just hide behind some rental agent.
- Guest Freemans (SE Michigan)
- Date of stay 04/23/11
- Review Submitted 05/04/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing, age 55+.
Owner response: We are so glad you had such a wonderful time. That is our goal. We strive to provide everyone great memories with their loved ones in a comfortable environment.
A Good Stay While at USMC Graduation
A Good Stay While at USMC Graduation
Our group of 12 was glad that we chose to stay here, instead of at a hotel, during our visit to South Carolina for Marine Corps graduation. The house was comfortable, safe, and convenient, and less than thirty minutes from Parris Island. The rooms were large and comfortable and the wide beach was a lovely luxury. We saw dolphins playing less than 30 feet from shore. We were a little disappointed in the quality of the furnishings and appliances. One TV didn't work well, the dishwasher was loud and inefficient, and the hot water lasted for only two showers. For the price, however, we felt the benefits outweighed the disadvantages. So glad we decided to stay!
- Guest Upstate NYer (New York)
- Date of stay 02/09/11
- Review Submitted 02/15/11
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, age 55+.
Owner response: We thank you for your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we are very proud of your Marine and his decision to protect our country. And I appreciate you giving me more specifics when I sent you a followup email. We are here 24/7 to make your stay most enjoyable and next time, please do call our office so that we have time to address any issues. We take great pride in our home and do our best to remedy any maintenance issues right away. We purchased a new customer metal and wicker headboard in January 2011 that does not fit a standard metal frame. So, we installed a custom built wood frame. We will look at it again to see if there is anything cosmetically that we can do differently. We have pictures of the Master Bedroom on this listing, so you can see what this bed looks like. Ron addressed your concern about the quality of the appliances, which you reported to us in the followup email as a refrigerator shelf out of alignment. It has been reseated. We do want to know when shelves are askew, so we do appreciate you letting us know so that we can fix prior to the next guest arriving. Our hot water heater is a recently purchased 50 gallon tank. We have found from our experience at the house that 2-3 people can take 15 minute showers before the water in the tank needs to reheat. We have found that it is best not to have the dishwasher running or washing machine operating when multiple people need to shower in the mornings. Thank you again. And we hope you will return for a future stay.
|Dates||Nightly||Wknd Night||Weekend||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Nov 30 - Mar 7, 2014
2 night min stay
Mar 8 - May 16, 2014
3 night min stay
May 17 - Jun 6, 2014
5 night min stay
Jun 7 - Aug 15, 2014
7 night min stay
Aug 16 - Sep 8, 2014
6 night min stay
Sep 9 - Nov 28, 2014
3 night min stay
Nov 29 - Mar 6, 2015
2 night min stay
Additional information about rental rates
Please add 10% tax & $125 Reservation/Damage Fee. 2 Car Passes are included in weekly stays. Less than a week stays please add $240 cleaning fee.
Fees and Rental Conditions:
- Property Damage Protection: $49
- Taxes Not included
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check or direct bank transfer. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Learn more
Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now
Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.
- Nearest Airport: Savannah International Airport at 50 Miles
- Nearest Beach: Harbor Island at Beaufort
Year Purchased: 2004
About the owner: Ron and I moved here to Beaufort from Atlanta almost 6 years ago. This is quite a change of pace from living in Atlanta and we LOVE it. We wanted a nice place to raise our three girls and we believe we have found it in Beaufort!!! Harbor Island was just listed in Southern Living magazine (April 2010) as one of the top secret beaches. Come see for yourself what makes this place so unique.
Why the Owner Chose Beaufort:
We love to spend time with family. This island has the amenities that children love (pool, playground, tennis, etc), but with a bonus of being a small gated community so that I feel comfortable letting my children play on the beach unsupervised. It is a very relaxing way to vacation. In addition, since the ocean is very shallow, it is a safe swimming/beach environment for small children and a wealth of exploration available at low tide.
- Primary: (843) 838-8001 (South Carolina, USA)
- Secondary: +843 Toll Free: (888) 216-1080 x 8388001
Living & Dining Room
Upstairs queen with private deck
Beach Front home with pirvate pool
View from Living Room
Private Pool overlooking the ocean
Living Room with a View
Queen 2 Upstairs
Bunk bed room
There have been visitors to this page since the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2003.
Date last modified - Friday, December 06, 2013
5 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
Get an instant quote
Always make sure to call the number on the listing to confirm payment details. Only pay using credit card, PayPal, check, or direct bank transfer. Learn More
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.