Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Beautiful salt water swimming pool a 3 minute walk away at the Club.

Where the Ocean and Mountains Meet in Harmony! [#204376] | View Property

Playa Junquillal
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$150 - $250/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (13)

Sort by:
  • Wonderful stay at Casa Amigos

    Wonderful stay at Casa Amigos

    • Guest Lisa (Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 12/23/13
    • Review Submitted 01/05/14
    Our family of 4 had a wonderful time in Costa Rica, and Casa Amigos was perfect for our stay! The location can't be beat--easy to get to from the Liberia airport and plenty to keep us busy both inside and outside of TIerra Pacifica. Tierra Pacifica is beautiful: the pool, the nature trails, and the wildlife. Loved sharing the "neighborhood" with the howler monkeys! We also explored surrounding areas--the numerous beaches all within 45 minutes of Casa Amigos. We loved having the home to come to at the end of the day. The supermarket "next door" was perfect for us-we ate dinner at "home" a couple of nights and were able to find everything we needed there. And, there are a number of great restaurants within close proximity to Tierra Pacifica. Unfortunately, we weren't able to try them all but will just have to return! Appreciated Wes's responsiveness to all of our questions before our arrival! Thank you, Wes and Judith, for sharing your beautiful home with us.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Peaceful paradise

    Peaceful paradise

    • Guest Bill (Manassas, Va)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 07/23/13
    My wife and I had a wonderful time at Casa Amigo. Clean, comfortable as represented in the brochure, beautifully maintained gardens and landscaping, with an awesome recreation center. The pool with Jacuzzi and work out room was great. Even the guards at the main gate were friendly and helpful. Playa Junquillal was only five minutes away and we mostly had the beach to ourselves. What a great time to go. Very comfortable weather and everything was so green and verdant. Butterflies everywhere. The Howler monkeys would wake us each morning and we would howl back to let them know we were OK too. The owners, Wes and Judith could not have been more helpful and kind and really made us feel like family guests in their home. We experienced a 5.6 magnitude earthquake while we were there and the house, being built to San Francisco standards, was solid as a rock. We traveled to at least 10 different beaches and all were different and beautiful. Playa Negro was a hoot with Lolita, the 400lb pig at Lulus restaurant. She came to say hi. WoW. In the welcome center at Tierra Pacifica we met Garrett, the chef at Amigos restaurant. He offered great meals of fresh ingredients and great fresh fish and shell fish. We felt right at home and would recommend his establishment to anyone. We hope that we will be able to enjoy Casa Amigo again in the future and we would recommend this wonderful, peaceful, beautiful, safe place to everyone. A great trip.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • A treat for the senses!

    A treat for the senses!

    • Guest Mikey (Fonthill)
    • Date of stay 03/02/13
    • Review Submitted 03/23/13
    My husband and I have just returned from 19 days at Casa Amigos. The house is spacious, airy and so beautifully situated up on a hill overlooking the trees and gardens of Tierra Pacifica. We especially enjoyed the screened in porch, for viewing sunsets and sipping our morning coffee in the wonderful rocking chairs. We had so much fun stargazing from the observation deck. My dream home of the future will definitely include both of these features! The clubhouse area is like a garden of Eden- the pool sublime, the fitness centre very well equipped. The area of Junquillal has so many gorgeous beaches to explore, and surprisingly many excellent restaurants- our favourites were Mundo Milo, El Latino (best patacones around) and the special treat of Villa Deveena. We also enjoyed sunset drinks at Iguan Azul and hanging out for the day at Playa Negra and Lola's at Avellanas. Thank you Wes and Judith for sharing your little slice of heaven with us!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • What A Christmas Vacation

    What A Christmas Vacation

    • Guest Robert B.
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/06/13
    This was our first time to Costa Rica and all of our expectations were met. Casa Amigo welcomed us with bright airy rooms and beautiful vistas of Tera Pacifica and the ocean. Our family slept soundly and enjoyed each morning greeting our new day. This was our second time away from the Washington DC area for the holidays. Bright sunny days, cool evenings and club house amenities. Taking an evening swim in the pool was refreshing and as the star gazing took you back to when where a child. The location of the home was perfect as a home base allowing us to travel to other parts of the western side of Costa Rica. The people are warm and very friendly, even the busy city of San Jose was a welcoming experience. We will be back. Bob, Darlene, Heather and Zach

    Manager response: Judith and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to repeat visits in the future. Pura vida!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • March at Casa Amigos

    March at Casa Amigos

    • Guest Bonnie L.
    • Date of stay 02/23/12
    • Review Submitted 03/28/12
    We recently spent a month at Casa Amigos in Playa Junquillal. The house is beautiful and is situated in a quiet and safe community. The house has been thoughtfully designed and furnished by Wes & Judith to ensure comfort, convenience and entertainment. They went out of their way to ensure that we had information on the local scene, restaurants, day-trips, etc. They are very thoughtful hosts. It's a two minute walk to the Tierra Pacifica Club House which is phenomenal. The pool rivals many we’ve had at 4 & 5 star resorts. The “fully” equipped gym and lighted tennis court are first rate. And we often had the facilities to ourselves. Junquillal Beach is beautiful. The water is warm, the surf is fun and even in March when the temperature was in the 90’s day after day, there were few people on the beach. The locals are friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed horseback riding with Erika at Paradise Riding. Also the Palo Verde Boat Tours in Ortega is highly recommended. The boat tour was fun, educational & the white face monkeys were a hoot. To top it off, the tour concluded with a delicious Costa Rican meal. We would recommend a car rental when staying in Junquillal.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • The best vacation we have ever taken!!

    The best vacation we have ever taken!!

    • Guest Ernie and Sharon (Roaring Brook Twp, Pennsylvania, USA)
    • Date of stay 01/30/10
    • Review Submitted 02/10/10
    We have to begin this review by saying that we take 3 or 4 major vacations every year, from cruises to condos to beach houses, so when we say that this was the best vacation we have ever taken, we are not saying this lightly! I'll start by saying that we had 7 days of PERFECT weather, spectacular sunrises over the mountains and sunsets over the Pacific ocean, wonderful trade winds while we sat on the top deck - the view was magnificent! Sunrise with coffee, sunset with Baileys! You can feel the energy of the house in every room, it was very well designed by Wes and Judith for this energy to flow. You immediately felt that you and the house blended into one. The Howler Monkeys were one of the highlights of the trip. A walk into the woods towards the Organic Garden would let you observe 10-15 at a time, right above your heads! Yet you still felt quite safe. Unbelievable picture-taking opportunities. The salt water pool was by far the best we have ever been in, and we just about had it all to ourselves all the while. The pictures look inviting, but in real life it is superb! We even had a picnic lunch at the table in the pool. We took a crocodile river safari trip, and we would very highly recommend it as an integral part of your Costa Rican experience. It also had an exotic pet sanctuary and some special surprises at the end! And we were lucky to time this vacation with the releasing of the turtles into the sea after they hatched, another chance of a lifetime experience. The "locals" were all so friendly, and we felt very safe both inside and outside of this gated comunity. The beaches were beautiful, every picture we took looks like a postcard! This is truly paradise! But by far, the key factor in making this the best experience is the caring, warmth, and total dedication of Wes and Judith. From their initial design of the house, to the research and planning of local activities, to their reputation in this community, to their meticulous attention to every detail. There may be other beach houses in Costa Rica, but I challenge anyone to find owners who are so dedicated to ensuring the happiness of the renters. They have done a magnificent job in making this a totally wonderful experience. We hope to visit there again sometime, but when the word gets out about this place, it may be difficult to book it! Maybe we should book it now! I don't speak Spanish, but I am learning. My favorite phrase? Pura Vida!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Dear Ernie and Sharon, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation at Casa Amigos. You have put forward the outline of a wonderful itinerary for other vacationers to follow. The monkeys and salt water infinity pool are also our favorites and they are so much part of the vacation experience. The crocodile river safari and sea turtle release just add to the flavor of Costa Rica. Judith and I hope you will come back many times to Casa Amigos. Wes and Judith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 23/23

  • Great sunsets on the roofdeck!

    Great sunsets on the roofdeck!

    • Guest total turisto dude (Virginia)
    • Date of stay 12/29/09
    • Review Submitted 01/17/10
    Beautiful mornings on the middle deck, sunsets on the roof deck (or on the beach only minutes away). This is a very comfortable home, with a great pool at the community center (workout room is nice too) with a hot tub, and friendly neighbors. Who could ask for more? We ventured out to see different parts of Costa Rica and always were happy to come home to this immaculately landscaped home, make a nice cup of tea and sit on the deck to read or just relax after a long day. A great getaway spot. You have to see the Organic Garden in the morning. There are many blue heron and roseated spoonbills (those gorgeous pink birds) flying and hopping about. There are many restaurants close by, offering a variety of views and flavors. You will need a rental car, make it a 4 x 4, and don't forget your GPS--ours saved us a time or two from getting lost! The Costa Rican people are friendly and very helpful. We will come back!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Dear Total Turisto Dude, Judith and I are pleased that you found Casa Amigos an inviting place to use as a base for travelling to other spots in Costa Rica. Sitting on the deck and just watching the sunset over the ocean is such a treat. We will be glad to welcome you back many times. Wes and Judith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 17/17

  • Beautiful stay in Playa Junquillal

    Beautiful stay in Playa Junquillal

    • Guest Christina FC (Falls Church, VA)
    • Date of stay 12/12/09
    • Review Submitted 01/11/10
    I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful home in Playa Junquillal a few weeks ago in December. As a frequent traveler and as one who typically rents condos or houses, I can say from experience and without hesitation that Wes & Judith have created a beautiful and tranquil place for future travelers to Costa Rica, and at an exceptional value. Tierra Pacifica is a quiet community with a handful of homes that are well spaced out so it feels very private. The developers of the community took great care to preserve the natural environment and monkey migration path, and the manicured gardens and jungle are gorgeous throughout the entire community. The house and surroundings are extremely secure, thanks to a new alarm system, a gated entrance with controlled access, and guards on duty 24/7 regularly monitoring the grounds. This was nice since I am female and was staying by myself, though possibly overkill since Playa Junquillal seemed safe and quiet, with a close knit community of year round and part time residents making sure things run smoothly. As a result of there being so few homes in the community, the common areas (The Clubhouse, pool, jacuzzi, yoga studio, etc.) were almost always unoccupied when I used them. The salt water infinity pool was perfect (always a high priority for a tropical vacation), and clearly no expense was spared on it or any of the other common features which include a full gym with brand new equipment, a full size barbeque and outdoor kitchen area, and a wonderful open space with tables and chairs overlooking the pool. The property itself is virtually brand new, and extremely well maintained; it was also immaculate and bug free--an extraordinary feat in Costa Rica. The unique layout of the house, the elevation, and how it is situated on the hillside facing the Pacific, allow for maximum light and air to flow through, with clean modern minimalist decor that frames and enhances all the natural beauty around. Wes and Judith have put a lot of thought into every detail of this vacation home, and it definitely shows. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet stay in the quaint beach community of Playa Junquillal I would give it six stars if I could!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Dear Christina, We enjoyed having you as a guest and we hope to welcome you back many times in the future. Thank you for your thoughtful and generous review. I hope that other potential vacationers will take your comments to heart and also choose to join us as guests. We also enjoy the privacy and closeness to nature of Casa Amigos, especially the intimacy of the pool and Club. Wes and Judith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 18/18

  • Lovely Time at Casa Amigos

    Lovely Time at Casa Amigos

    • Guest coachellencat (charlottesville VA USA)
    • Date of stay 11/28/09
    • Review Submitted 01/18/10
    My husband and I had a wonderful time at this beautiful, spacious and comfortable house in late nov., early dec. 09. Floor plan is well laid out with plenty of breezes, great beds, fully equipped kitchen and a spectacular top deck for taking in the sunsets and starlight. We even saw a cruise ship passing by in the night! It's very quiet, peaceful views, and an easy stroll to one of the most luscious pools I've ever seen, complete with waterfalls and privacy. The ocean is maybe a 15 min walk away but it would be good to have a car to take in the many pristine beaches around, and especially "the shack" at sunset on the beach where everyone meets to greet the end of the day. I would go back there in a heartbeat - well worth it. Thanks Wes and Judith for such a nourishing place!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, people with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Dear Coachellencat, You captured our own feeling about Casa Amigos when you called it a "nourishing place". We look forward to having you back many times. Wes and Judith

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/16

  • Dry Season Visit

    Dry Season Visit

    • Guest Superscoob (Bay Area)
    • Date of stay 04/05/09
    • Review Submitted 08/31/09
    We had a wonderful stay in Casa Amigos earlier this year. I, my partner and our 3-year-old daughter enjoyed being in this part of the Nicoya Peninsula, it’s well worth the trip. The home is spacious with a relaxed feeling. Bedrooms are on the ground floor with A/C, living space on the second floor with great views toward the ocean and plenty of breezes. It’s in the middle of an environmentally friendly gated community with an organic garden, an incredible pool complete with several waterfalls, a gym, and even tennis courts. We often heard a tribe of howler monkeys in the surrounding forest. The house was comfortably furnished and has everything you need to cook, although we found plenty of great restaurants close by if you would rather eat out (try Villa Devina!). The water out of the tap is safe to drink. There’s a rooftop deck for sunbathing privately; we watched sunset from it a few times, and also stargazed in the evening – it’s a fairly ‘dark’ site if you’re in to that. The beach is a 10- to 15-minute walk -- we walked on several occasions, but a car is nice to have. There are so many pristine beach options, some a little out of walking reach, so you wouldn’t want to miss one! Snorkeling is nearby (Playa Blanca), so bring your mask & fins. My partner saw nudibranchs, angelfish, and turtles. Go – it’s worth every penny.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Dear Superscoob, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again many times in the future. Pura Vida! Judith and Wes

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 19/19

  • magical location and property

    magical location and property

    • Guest SBBJ (pennsylvania)
    • Date of stay 04/04/09
    • Review Submitted 04/26/09
    We are a family of four -two boys 11 and 8 and visited this past April. It was an incredible experience for all. The property is in a gated community and provides a lot of extras. The pool/tennis courts and workout room are situated in a spectacular setting. The house could not be situated any better, with views of Sunsets and the Pacific in the distance from its roof top balcony. There is a panaromic feel to the house with windows on all sides and private beauty out each window. The house sits on top of a hill surrounded by at least 2 acres of flowers/gardens/orchards and wildlife (Monkeys/Parrots/Geckos out your window). Perfectly Clean/well maintained and all of the amenities were provided. We even had a cookout one night over at the pool area-steaks on the grill!!! As far as area attractions-----short walk to spectacular lava rock beaches and a restaurant. We would suggest a car if you want to leave the beach or property area because it is in quite a private location. We definitely will return and recommend to all who want a peaceful/relaxing and beautiful experience.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Judith and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our house. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/16

  • march 2009

    march 2009

    • Guest pete and margie (candler nc)
    • Date of stay 03/21/09
    • Review Submitted 05/28/09
    Me and my husband stayed here the last week of March 2009. We had the best vacation ever. Wes was great, from the directions to the house to where to go to eat etc. he leaves nothing out. Barbara, the property manager, she was great, gave us some of her time which we much appreciated. The house was immaculate, airy, secure and loved having coffee in the morning on the screened front porch. The pool at Club Abzul was fabulous. We will be back! Thanks Again

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/16

  • Beautiful, relaxing and fun

    Beautiful, relaxing and fun

    • Guest jkjk (Newmarket, Ontario)
    • Date of stay 03/07/09
    • Review Submitted 03/22/09
    From our initial contact with owners to our departure, our trip could not have gone smoother. Wes was a wonderful host providing all the info needed, there was someone at the gates into Tierra Pacifica to great us and the home is exactly as shown. What stood out the most is the attention to detail and cleanliness. My family, incl. two teenagers, all enjoyed the area. Club Arbol was beautiful incl. an excellent fitness room and magnificant pool & jacuzzi. Playa Junquillal provided us with a beautiful beach, great local restaurants and friendly people. Snorkel at Playa Negra at low tide right off the beach (5 min. from home).

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Manager response: Judith and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will do our best to earn your continuing confidence. We hope you choose to spend many future vacations with us at Casa Amigos in Tierra Pacifica, Playa Junquillal. Pura Vida! Wes

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 15/15



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]