Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.

Big Family Home/Beach Access

You sent a message to this owner.

Family room

Family room Dining area and kitchen Bedroom Across the street walk a mile... street view beach across the street dining/kitchen livingroom master suite backyard bbq plasma tv parking for 4 cars leather couch/great art! 2nd dining table bedroom hula palms beach acoss the street beach walk Kam Hwy?Bus service master suite bathroom

Calendar

Last updated: 04/11/2014
Check availability
23 Available
21 Unavailable
22 Today
23 Selected dates
  • Minimum stay:5-7 nights
  • Internet:Yes
  • Pets considered:Ask Owner
  • Wheel chair accessible:No

Hauula house description

Beautiful family friendly home just across the street from a white sand beach that is walkable for a mile, kayak friendly, and swimmable. The great room, dining areas, and kitchen are all open for large family gatherings and dinners.

All the bedrooms have A/C, TV's, queen beds. The master suite has a king bed, personal kitchenette, and a large bathroom. There is a second master bedroom w/ private bath. A third bathroom in the hallway services the other 2 bedrooms and the family room.

Cool, comfortable, and furnished nicely. Lots of great art too.

Beach toys, kayak, etc...

Property Type

  • 1 story
  • House
  • 2000 sq. ft.

Accommodation Type

      • Vacation Rental

      Meals

          • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

          Suitability

              • Children Welcome

              Bedrooms: 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Beds for 8-10

              Bathrooms: 3 Bathrooms

              • Bathroom 1: toilet, combination tub/shower

                ...moreless

              • Bathroom 2: toilet, combination tub/shower

                ...moreless

              • Bathroom 3: toilet, combination tub/shower

                ...moreless

              • 1 hall bath 2 bedroom baths

              Other Amenities

                  • Great family hang-out

                  Entertainment

                  • DVD Player
                  • Books
                  • Games
                  • Music Library
                  • Toys
                  • Video Library
                  • Television:

                    big screen TV...moreless

                  • Satellite / Cable
                  • VCR
                  • Stereo
                  • CD Player

                  Theme

                  • Family
                  • Away From It All

                  Car

                      • Recommended

                      Attractions

                      • Forests
                      • Rain Forests
                      • Theme Parks
                      • Restaurants

                      Leisure Activities

                      • Beachcombing
                      • Walking
                      • Shopping
                      • Luaus
                      • Scenic Drives
                      • Paddle Boating
                      • Sight Seeing

                      local services and businesses

                          • Groceries

                          Location Type

                          • Beach
                          • Near The Ocean
                          • Beach View

                          sports and adventure activities

                          • Snorkeling
                          • Surf Fishing
                          • Mountain Climbing
                          • Jet Skiing
                          • Kayaking
                          • Snorkeling/Diving
                          • Swimming
                          • Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
                          • Surfing
                          • Hiking
                          • Fishing
                          • Golf
                          • Wind-Surfing

                          catering options

                              • Guests Provide Their Own Meals

                              Dining

                                  • Dining Area

                                  forms of payment

                                      • Accept Credit Card

                                      General

                                      • Wireless Internet
                                      • Internet
                                      • Towels Provided
                                      • Washing Machine
                                      • Clothes Dryer

                                      Kitchen

                                      • Dishwasher
                                      • Refrigerator
                                      • Stove
                                      • Microwave
                                      • Coffee Maker
                                      • Toaster
                                      • Ice Maker
                                      • Pantry Items
                                      • Stove
                                      • Kitchen
                                      • Cooking Utensils
                                      • Dishes & Utensils

                                      Outside

                                      • Outdoor Grill
                                      • Deck / Patio
                                      • Water Sports Gear:

                                        snorkel gear beach chairs and umbrellas...moreless

                                      Payment Type

                                      • Amex
                                      • Visa
                                      • Mastercard

                                      Pool / Spa

                                           

                                          Reviews

                                          Write a review
                                          • NO KA OI (Is the best)

                                            NO KA OI (Is the best)

                                            • Guest Hiwahiwa (Pukalani, HI)
                                            • Date of stay 01/07/10
                                            • Review Submitted 01/18/10
                                            We were having a family reunion/birthday party on Oahu and rented this house and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Don't let the exterior fool you. It doesn't look like much when you pull on to the property, but once you open the doors - WOW! It's beautifully furnished and decorated, yet felt like I was walking into a family member's home instead of a rental. VERY comfortable and welcoming. The kitchen is perfect for entertaining. Beds were comfy and lots of extra pillows, blankets and floor mattresses for extra guests - the ones who loved the house and just couldn't leave! Fo da locals - not too much outdoor party area, but get da beach park across da street fo dat! Mahalo Jim for opening your home to our ohana! We'll be calling you!!

                                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, girls getaway, people with disabilities.

                                            Owner response: Mahalo...It's always fun to meet the locals! Thanks for staying at my house...and thanks for the good review! Jim

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

                                          • Beautiful Hawaii

                                            Beautiful Hawaii

                                            • Guest jody L.
                                            • Date of stay 03/07/14
                                            • Review Submitted 03/19/14
                                            We had an amazing time in Oahu...the house was perfect, very spacious and the location was great. The house was well stocked and we enjoyed our welcoming basket. We loved the beach being right across the street and we enjoyed using the kayak. Our family of 10 would highly recommend this house to anyone. Thank you very much Jim and willow for sharing your home with us. Hopefully we will be back again some day. Take care and Thank you !

                                            Owner response: THANK YOU JODY!

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

                                          • Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!!!!!!

                                            Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!!!!!!

                                            • Guest Becky (Wrangell Alaska)
                                            • Date of stay 01/15/14
                                            • Review Submitted 02/07/14
                                            This house made our vacation the best! It was clean and spacious. We didn't need to buy anything for snorkelling,it's all there even swim shoes in a size thirteen! We took Willows advice and stopped at Costco before leaving Honolulu but if you forget anything there is a nice market just down the road. There was a little gecko in the house,maybe we are weird but we had the best time finding him whenever we came back to the house.We are from Alaska so the air conditioner in every room was a big plus.We are already planning to come back in two years, but this time we are staying two weeks!! This is the perfect house and it has a wonderful owner and manager. Thank you so much for being the best part of our vacation!!!

                                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, romantic getaway, girls getaway, tourists without a car, people with disabilities.

                                            Owner response: Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                                          • This Place Sweats the Small Stuff - and It Makes a Huge Difference

                                            This Place Sweats the Small Stuff - and It Makes a Huge Difference

                                            • Guest Kristin (Canada)
                                            • Date of stay 04/10/13
                                            • Review Submitted 04/25/13
                                            We stayed for 1 week at this property in mid April 2013. It was a huge place for our small family of four, but we very much enjoyed the ample space. The other reviews are apt in their descriptions: the outside is non-descript and a bit deceiving: the inside is much bigger than it would seem from the exterior, and though nothing is fancy, it's definitely warm. We arrived famished and late at night and were delighted with the welcome bag of local popcorn, a fresh pineapple, some nuts and some coffee beans. The book shelves were stacked with (current) Oahu guide books, restaurant reviews, maps, and all kinds of fiction and movies -- hugely fantastic to have. The pantry had everything from olive oil to pancake mix and all kinds of spices, and the fridge was stocked with lemon juice and sauces -- a benefit to owning a very popular rental house. We mentioned we had a baby when we booked and asked if they had a crib. They did- and it was not only accessible but totally set up with blankets and sheets when we arrived -- wonderful. You don't think much about snorkel gear and stocked beach towels when booking a family vacation - at least we didn't - but the availability of all these things made a huge difference. There was even an extra new swim diaper in the bathroom, and a new bag of elastics. There was detergent in the washing machine area so we could wash our sandy bathing suits. We didn't have think about little details on anything, and it made a huge difference to us, giving us time just to enjoy each other. The only cons: not too much within driving distance except for the beach. The nearest 7 11 is not within walking distance and there's not any real town nearby. A rental car is a requirement. This home is not in a touristy area, which we liked but some might not. But we weren't there for the slurpees, and the beach is surprisingly quiet and very beautiful immediately across the street, and stretches for quite a ways. Chinaman's Hat and the North Shore are all beautifully accessible little jaunts. We'd come again for sure. Thanks, Willow and Jim.

                                            Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway.

                                            Owner response: Thank you Kristin for taking the time to give our home your review! We love hearing from our guests & hope we get the opportunity to share our home with you again! We try to think about the little things that may make traveling easier for our guests! Aloha, Jim & Willow

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                                          • Rural Vacation Rental

                                            Rural Vacation Rental

                                            • Guest Mara (Leduc, Alberta, CANADA)
                                            • Date of stay 03/31/13
                                            • Review Submitted 04/12/13
                                            My husband and I recently stayed here for a week with 3 other couples. Some of the pros and cons: Pros - main area of the house is very spacious, clean and updated. Kitchen is well equipped and has a dishwasher. We only saw one lizard and a few spiders inside the house. We loved having air conditioning and flat screen tvs in every room. Wireless was very handy. Welcome basket with coffee and treats very nice. Met with Willow the day after arrival to review alarm, garbage/recycling, ask questions, etc. Access to beach chairs, kayak, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc. No cleaning/laundering required when departing. Close to Polynesian Cultuaral Centre and the best shrimp trucks. Cons – bedrooms dated and not very clean – spider webs in corners, dirty under beds and dressers, stained carpet. Laundry in carport and only motion light for lighting. Noisy peacock and roosters next door. Tenant above carport. No ocean view. 45 minutes to Haleiwa and about an hour to Honolulu so be prepared for a lot of driving.

                                            Owner response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our vacation rental. We always appreciate our guests input & constructive criticism. We will address the issues you mentioned immediately. I hope this did not prevent you & your party from enjoying your vacation & stay in our home! We look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again! Aloha, Willow (property manager)

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                                          • Fabulous North shore home in Haula

                                            Fabulous North shore home in Haula

                                            • Guest Jane H.
                                            • Date of stay 07/01/12
                                            • Review Submitted 09/15/12
                                            Jim's home has everything you need to enjoy your Hawaiian vacation. If you need information or anything , Jim either has it or will find it. The location is ideal. The house is spacious, well equipped and very functional. Jim has thought of almost everything to enhance your stay. We enjoyed a trip of a lifetime in Jim's house. It was an absolute pleasure for all of us.

                                            Owner response: Thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure meeting your whole family! Jim

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                                          • Perfect vacation home and location.

                                            Perfect vacation home and location.

                                            • Guest Troy R.
                                            • Date of stay 05/20/12
                                            • Review Submitted 06/03/12
                                            This place was great for our group: four adults, six teens, and two babies - much better than I expected even. Here's the break down. Pros: Located in rural area Simple drive into Honolulu (45 minutes) One road to North Shore (35 minutes) Large main room Three showers Very Clean Few bugs Easy walk to beach Comfortable for all ages Safe for toddlers Tons of beach gear provided (including a kayak) Security system Many necessities were available that were not expected in the kitchen. The owner and the caretaker are VERY nice people. Cons: tight parking, but manageable for our two minivans No clocks on the walls. Seriously, that is it for Cons. We love this house and I am picky about performance. It was such a relief to come back from our adventures to a beautiful, furnished, comfortable house. I would highly recommend this rental...unless your dates conflict with mine. =o)

                                            Owner response: Seriously Troy...clocks on the wall??? Everything here is on Hawaiian Time...it happens when it happens... Thanks for the Great review! It was a pleasure having you and your group! Jim/Willow

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

                                          • Excellent

                                            Excellent

                                            • Guest Janie (Olympia, WA, USA)
                                            • Date of stay 03/30/12
                                            • Review Submitted 04/06/12
                                            My family stayed here for about a week (March 30, 2012 - April 5, 2012). The house is spacious and well stocked with beach towels and toys, dishes, spices, etc. The beach across the street was very private and perfect for my 3 and 5 year old to play at. Jim was friendly and helpful, even to the extent of passing along Groupon deals. When the days of our flights changed, he also modified the dates of our stay at no additional charge. The welcome basket was a wonderful treat, too. Very convenient and friendly and I would stay here again without hesitation.

                                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway.

                                            Owner response: MAHALO! for the great review. It was a pleasure having you stay at our house. Hope to see you again! ALOHA! Jim Franklin Willow Grabner

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                                          • Fun Times

                                            Fun Times

                                            • Guest RB (Alpine, UT)
                                            • Date of stay 02/02/12
                                            • Review Submitted 02/27/12
                                            We stayed during early February, and found the location and amenities to be really great. We had our extended family, and there was plenty of space for everyone. It's also a real benefit to have all of the beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, etc. available for use. Jim was so easy to work with, and perhaps most importantly, we would definitely stay at this property again!

                                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, girls getaway.

                                            Owner response: Aloha! and Mahalo for the nice review! Hope to see you again! Jim

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

                                          • Family Reunion

                                            Family Reunion

                                            • Guest Linda (Millbrae)
                                            • Date of stay 01/25/12
                                            • Review Submitted 02/26/12
                                            We had a three generation family holiday starting January 25th. The house was fantastic! We were a party of 8 - and had tons on room. The common area (living room, dining room, kitchen) is warm and inviting. Not fancy, but very warm and quite large. We found some puzzles and set up a separate table just for puzzles (quite nice NOT to have the TV going all the time). Appliances all worked just great - and we shared cooking duties. The beach is just across the street - quiet, very swimmable and has tons of coral and seashells on the beach. The house is well stocked with snorkel equipment, beach chairs, towels and a kayak. There were many books in the house that referenced local hangouts and maps. Two master suites- how great!! I know the house is booked about a year in advance - but if you can get in, you won't be disappointed.

                                            Recommended for: Sightseeing, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, adventure seekers, people with disabilities.

                                            Owner response: Many Mahalos for your nice review! ALOHA! Jim

                                            Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

                                           
                                          Rental basis: Per property
                                          Dates Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
                                          Thanksgiving week
                                          Nov 23 - Nov 30, 2014
                                          7 night min stay

                                          $2,500
                                          My Standard Rate
                                          5 night min stay
                                          $325
                                          $2,100 $6,500
                                          * Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

                                          Additional information about rental rates

                                          Fees:

                                          • cleaning fee $150 + tax
                                          • Tax Rate 13.9%

                                          Notes:

                                          discount if paid in full up front.

                                          I accept Paypal which is the easiest way to pay.

                                          I also accept credit cards or a personal check. If paying by check I will hold the dates for 7 days to allow for mail time.


                                          This owner accepts HomeAway payments.
                                          Always use this free service to protect your payments up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private. With HomeAway Payments, your credit card information is not seen by the owner or manager. NEVER pay by cash or instant money transfer services such as Western Union or MoneyGram. Call the owner to confirm booking request.


                                          Don't forget your vacation protection! Get protected now

                                          Adding our Vacation Protection services can make sure your getaway goes smoothly, no matter what. We offer Cancellation Protection, Carefree Rental Guarantee, and Damage Protection so you can truly relax.

                                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
                                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.
                                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.
                                           

                                          Calendar

                                          Last updated: 04/11/2014
                                          Check availability
                                          23 Available
                                          21 Unavailable
                                          22 Today
                                          23 Selected dates
                                           

                                          Location

                                           

                                          Owner info

                                          Year Purchased: 2006

                                          About the owner: I have lived in Hawaii for about 20 years now. I own a small business: www.sunshinearts.net I purchased this home to live in but it's just too big for me! I decided to use as a vacation rental and have had great success as you can see from my reviews. These days I live 1/2 time in the Philippines with my beautiful wife and 2 new babies! I plan to bring them to Hawaii eventually and live in the house...but for now I am sticking with the vacation rental biz....

                                          Why the Owner Chose Hauula:
                                          Close to the beach with 'deeded beach access' and very roomy!

                                          The Unique Benefits at this House:
                                          Plenty of room for a large family and easy access to the beach.


                                          Contact us

                                          Speaks: english

                                          Links to more information:

                                           

                                          Photos

                                          • Family room

                                            Family room

                                          • Bedroom

                                            Bedroom

                                          • walk a mile...

                                            walk a mile...

                                          • beach across the street

                                            beach across the street

                                          • livingroom

                                            livingroom

                                          • backyard bbq

                                            backyard bbq

                                          • parking for 4 cars

                                            parking for 4 cars

                                          • 2nd dining table

                                            2nd dining table

                                          • hula palms

                                            hula palms

                                          • beach walk

                                            beach walk

                                          • master suite bathroom

                                            master suite bathroom

                                          • Dining area and kitchen

                                            Dining area and kitchen

                                          • Across the street

                                            Across the street

                                          • street view

                                            street view

                                          • dining/kitchen

                                            dining/kitchen

                                          • master suite

                                            master suite

                                          • plasma tv

                                            plasma tv

                                          • leather couch/great art!

                                            leather couch/great art!

                                          • bedroom

                                            bedroom

                                          • beach acoss the street

                                            beach acoss the street

                                          • Kam Hwy?Bus service

                                            Kam Hwy?Bus service

                                          $325 - $357 per night (USD)
                                          23

                                          4 Bedroom / 3 Bathroom
                                          Sleeps 10

                                          View calendar: Updated 04/11/14
                                          Minimum stay: 5-7 nights
                                          Dates are unavailable
                                          Please stay a bit longer. A stay of nights or more is required for these dates.
                                          This listing requires that rentals start on a .
                                          Get an instant quote
                                          Owner
                                          Email owner

                                          +1 808 352-0118

                                          Speaks: english
                                          This owner accepts HomeAway Payments. Always use this free service to protect your payment up to $10,000 against fraud while keeping your financial information private.
                                          Add vacation protection services to your booking

                                          Three services to protect your trip:

                                          Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.

                                          Guarantee the rental meets your expectations.

                                          Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


                                          Get it now

                                          advertisement