Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
***Mystic Mountain Hideaway***

May Special*Hot Tub*Fireplace*Wifi*Dogs Ok*Secluded**Hike*Fish [#205227] | View Property

Helen
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 5)
$99 - $175/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (57)

Sort by:
  • Relaxing vacation in the mountains!

    Relaxing vacation in the mountains!

    • Guest The Meyer Family
    • Date of stay 04/07/14
    • Review Submitted 04/13/14
    We took our three children (9 yr old and 6 yr old twins) to the N. GA mountains for a few days during spring break and had a great time. We loved the seclusion, even though we were a short 5 minute drive to Helen. The only issue we had was that the roof leaked in a couple of places. Once we found them and put some bowls under them, it was fine. I'm sure the owner will have them fixed now that they know where the leaks are located.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • PERFECT LOCATION

    PERFECT LOCATION

    • Guest Lisa S.
    • Date of stay 04/03/14
    • Review Submitted 04/09/14
    Perfectly secluded quaint little cabin. My family of 4 LOVED it's proximity to everything, it's charm and it's seclusion for the outside world. Beautiful inside and PERFECT outside. Loved the hot tub and the outside deck most of all. My kids never even turned on the tv!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Mountain Retreat/Anniversary

    Mountain Retreat/Anniversary

    • Guest Elaine C.
    • Date of stay 03/23/14
    • Review Submitted 03/31/14
    We were very pleased with the cabin and it's location. As stated, it is very secluded and high on the mountain side. The hot tub was wonderful. I loved the lights on the deck, nice atmosphere at night for a nice soak after hiking. The cabin was extremely clean and the master bed was very comfortable. The fireplace kept the place warm and cozy all night. Very pet friendly, our dogs enjoyed the mountains. Only downside, our dogs are walkers and you had to go up or down, not flat ground; but, that was good exercise! I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a quiet place to get away. We will definitely return!

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful. Relaxing. Secluded. Clean.

    Wonderful. Relaxing. Secluded. Clean.

    • Guest Ashley Mussman
    • Date of stay 02/02/14
    • Review Submitted 02/07/14
    My husband and I (and our lab) stayed at mystic hideaway for a few nights this last weekend. We would recommend it to anyone. It is perfect for both a romantic getaway as well as a family trip. It's so close to the local grocery store (Betty's) if you want to cook in the nicely equipped kitchen. The hot tub is fabulous. I am 8.5 months pregnant and was so bummed because I thought that I would not be able to get in but there was a perfect extra tall seat that I was able to sit on and still keep the belly out :) the master bed was so comfortable. There are plenty of heat sources all over the house. We had fun watching old VHS movies that we hadn't seen since we were in our teens. What a wonderful time. We will definitely be back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful Cabin

    Wonderful Cabin

    • Guest Chris
    • Date of stay 01/22/14
    • Review Submitted 02/04/14
    We had a Great time in the cabin. Highly recommend it for anyone who wants a nice relaxing and peaceful getaway

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The most wonderful spot to ring in the New Year

    The most wonderful spot to ring in the New Year

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 12/30/13
    • Review Submitted 01/06/14
    Upon walking in everything was clean and crisp. The owner provided excellent directions to the property. There were no 'emergencies' except for a threat of black ice. Discussed it all with owner and had no problem driving out of cabin. There is an emergency place to park in case of snow/ice. We cooked and ate in the cabin and had our New Year's Day Southern meal of pork tenderloin, collard greens and black eyed peas. Went into Helen to buy fudge and to check out the shoe store. Everything was open and not crowded but busy. This happens to be a wonderful cabin that I have rented before and look forward to returning. I would recommend this cabin to everyone that I know.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Amazing cabin!

    Amazing cabin!

    • Guest Amber D.
    • Date of stay 12/27/13
    • Review Submitted 01/16/14
    My husband and I headed to Mystic Mountain Hideaway for a three night getaway after Christmas. I was pleasantly surprised when I stepped into the cabin. It was very clean and cozy. I absolutely loved the adorable loft bedroom, and we enjoyed the fireplace and hot tub. This cabin is close to everything you will need, and I cannot brag enough on the owners Pam and Jerry. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. They were able to help my husband and I order an event online that my husband was dying to watch. They made it very easy with a simple invoice to my email address. I would recommend this cabin, and I look forward to visiting it again in the future!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quaint, secluded cabin in great location

    Quaint, secluded cabin in great location

    • Guest SarahCat (United States)
    • Date of stay 12/13/13
    • Review Submitted 12/18/13
    This cabin is exactly what my boyfriend and I wanted for our weekend away. It was secluded enough to feel private, but it was very conveniently located and it only took a few minutes to drive into Helen. We really appreciated this cabin being pet-friendly and my boyfriend's dog had a fantastic time chasing his frisbee up and down the hill. We had a fantastic time relaxing in the hot tub since the dog was too tired to bother us! The hot tub, outdoor fire pit, and huge bed were the best features. My only suggestion for improvement would be upgrading the tv, but we would definitely rent this cabin again.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Cabin Review

    Cabin Review

    • Guest Diana P.
    • Date of stay 11/15/13
    • Review Submitted 11/18/13
    Just left today and enjoyed our visit. Very private yet very close to Helen. Comfy, peaceful and relaxing...even on a rainy weekend. Just sent the link to a friend and think she will book soon.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Mini-moon in the mountains with fresh air and some relaxation!! Just what we needed!

    Mini-moon in the mountains with fresh air and some relaxation!! Just what we needed!

    • Guest Brad F. (Douglas, GA)
    • Date of stay 10/12/13
    • Review Submitted 10/21/13
    We recently spent our honeymoon or what we are calling our "mini-moon" of 4 days, 3 nights in this cabin. My wife is a teacher, so we couldn't spend more days here out of school, but we wish we could have. The tempartures were great, so we didn't have to use hardly any A/C nor heating. The cabin was only a short distance to helen and some other great sightseeing federal and state parks and trails. The cabin is a little older and the electronics/appliances are also, but everything worked great that we had to use and it just has that comfy home feel to it. Besides, we weren't there to watch tv or do a bunch of cooking, we came to relax and enjoy and that's just what the cabin gave us! The cabin trial in is a bit an of an interesting trip too!!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Relaxing and Refreshing!

    Relaxing and Refreshing!

    • Guest Paulette L. (Lakeland, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 10/04/13
    • Review Submitted 10/10/13
    My husband and I had a wonderful time during our stay. Cabin was very nice and clean. Secluded and peaceful. Hot tub was great! I would definitely recommend to a friend. The only thing that was not available was an ironing board. Iron was provided, but no board. We made due though! Everyone was very nice and pleasant to work with on reservations. No hassle at all!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Return to nature.

    Return to nature.

    • Guest Denise B. (I live in central Florida.)
    • Date of stay 10/01/13
    • Review Submitted 10/09/13
    First of all, I read several reviews about the trail up to the cabin being difficult. I myself figured if I were going to the Mystic MOUNTAIN Hideaway, that going up a mountain might be what one would expect, and plan for. My husband and I looked at it as an adventure. If you want flat, and boring come on down to Orlando Florida. See ya'll there. LOL Now to the Hideaway. It is truly Mystic. You are surrounded by trees, and cool evening breezes. The first night was a little scary, as we are not used to silence. The only things we heard were the crickets, frogs, and the occasional hoot of a forest owls. Having a hot cup of morning coffee on the porch swing, watching the sun rise along the trees. This cabin was enchanting in every way. Wait until you experience the lights that surround you on the deck. The soft glow of light makes for a romantic environment. The cabin itself was tastefully decorated, and clean. We felt quite at home, and wished we had booked a longer stay. We had a little mojo with our truck that needed mechanical attention. Pam got my husband in touch with wonderful garage. They made it up the hill and towed our truck to their garage. I couldn't believe how quickly they responded, especially not being locals. The repair was complete the next morning. Can't get that kind of service in a lot of places. We felt relaxed and rejuvenated when it was time to go. I wanted to get back on to that hammock, light another fire, and listen to the night owls. But we had to go. I do hope everyone who stays at the Mystic Mountain Hideaway enjoys and respects the wildlife and beauty of the little cabin in the mountains, We can't wait to return. A part of our hearts are still there. Love you Pam With Blessings, Mark & Denise :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great, quaint getaway close to Helen

    Great, quaint getaway close to Helen

    • Guest Tim R.
    • Date of stay 08/23/13
    • Review Submitted 08/28/13
    Our family and dogs enjoyed the cabin very much. We were able to spend some time in Helen and spent a lot of time relaxing in the hot tub and on the deck. Great visit, look forward to booking again.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great place to relax!

    Great place to relax!

    • Guest Lori V.
    • Date of stay 08/16/13
    • Review Submitted 08/27/13
    This was a great cabin and it was super clean. It was exactly as advertised and all of the paperwork, etc couldn't have been easier to do. The owners were great and I truly would recommend it to anyone. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us!!!!!!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Celebrating 32 Years of Marriage With Some Us Time!

    Celebrating 32 Years of Marriage With Some Us Time!

    • Guest Jo (Orlando, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 06/23/13
    First let me begin by saying that even though we have never met in person, I feel like I have made a friend through emails - Pam, the owner, is a sincere and wonderful lady interested in making every renters experience a pleasurable one. The cabin has charm and warmth was evident the minute you walked in. It was clean and I am neurotic about cleanliness! Furnished with everything to make your stay feel like home from furniture, appliances, linens, kitchen needs, TV, collection of leisure entertainment-books, videos, DVDs, hammock, hot tub .. and more! From napping in the hammock to relaxing in the hot tub after a long day of hiking, we were able to unwind. Sitting on the porch swing drinking coffee or sipping wine and watching the sun stream through the trees and listen to the rain was the best. The surroundings are beautiful and so secluded yet so close to Helen. Not so interested in the "tourist" life of Helen, the cabin was a great central location to drive a half hour in any direction to find great trails in the many state parks to hike. The small towns nearby were charming and wineries! We never ran out of hiking trails from Unicoi, Ravens Cliff, Tallulah Gorge, Black Rock Mountain, Anna Ruby Falls, and the one we never made it to -Panther Mountain. Farmer Markets nearby, Mark of the Potter, and country stores in Sautee Nacoochee. After tiring days, the couch was my favorite to curl up on and sleep and my husband loved the recliner along with a wonderful mattress on the bed upstairs! Throughout the area including right at the cabin are so many beautiful photo opportunities! I could go on but you get the idea - a great cabin to rent for some calm from your daily life!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 6/6

  • Perfect Getaway

    Perfect Getaway

    • Guest Morgan H.
    • Date of stay 04/18/13
    • Review Submitted 04/22/13
    I was so excited to find this cabin available on VRBO.com and even more pleased that it was exactly as advertised when we arrived. This cabin is cutely decorated and they really did think of everything when it came to making sure you weren't in need of certain items once arriving. I would recommend this cabin to anyone looking to visit the Helen area.

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Cozy, relaxing, and private stay!!

    Cozy, relaxing, and private stay!!

    • Guest Megan I.
    • Date of stay 03/31/13
    • Review Submitted 04/06/13
    My husband and I looked up several different places online to stay when planning our trip to Helen, but I was so happy that we decided to choose Mystic Mountain Hideaway! It was cozy, quiet, and private, yet so close to everything. The actual town of Helen is only a couple miles away and there are a lot of great places to eat, shops to visit, and things to do. My husband and I did a lot of hiking (where we saw some beautiful waterfalls) during our vacation and the cabin was a great central location to stay. Not only was Mystic Mountain Hideaway located in a convenient location, but it is a beautiful property! It was such a nice, quiet place to relax after a long day of hiking in beautiful Georgia! We really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub : ) Best part of our trip was that our black lab was able to enjoy the vacation with us! It was so great to bring him along on all of our hikes and he loved staying at Mystic Mountain Hideaway too! There was so much room for him to sniff and explore: ). Overall I would highly recommend this property! It is a great stay for anyone who is planning a trip to Helen or surrounding area and wants a private location with lots to do! Great for couples or a family!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice Cabin

    Nice Cabin

    • Guest Larry and Summer Purvis (Pelahatchie, Mississippi)
    • Date of stay 03/09/13
    • Review Submitted 03/19/13
    My wife and I just returned from a weeks' stay. The cabin is as advertised. Great location, yet secluded. There are always a few minor things that could be better, but overall, a nice cabin for the value. It was difficult to get the heat right but mainly due to the drastic changes in the weather. Would have liked to have a light switch to turn on the outside lights from inside the house and a back door light that worked. The motion detection light in the front came on and off several times during the night but I think a tree limb just needed trimming. The wind chime in the tree is nice during the day but was a bit annoying at night and was too high to temp silence at night. Some inside dead boldt locks would be nice. Those are all petty items. The cabin was well furnished and very comfortable. Many have complained about the driveway up but we made it fine in a Mustang, just go slow, no problems. If you want a nice paved driveway get a cabin next to the highway. It even poured one night and we had no driveway problems the next morning. We saw turkeys almost every day. The hot tub and deck were very enjoyable. Good cable TV and enjoyed the Wi-Fi connection. Overall a nice cabin, great location, and I would give a favorable recommendation.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great Birthday Weekend!

    Great Birthday Weekend!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/12/13
    Several of us went to Mystic Mountain for a birthday weekend. We enjoyed to cabin immensely! On our second day there it snowed! It was beautiful to see the cabin and woods covered in white. We were warm and cozy inside and even went in the hot tub outside in the snow! The cabin had everything we needed. We stayed in and cooked all weekend and never lacked anything. The decor and bedding were wonderful. The BBQ grill is amazing! Overall we had a great experience and would definitely go back.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Nice place to stay

    Nice place to stay

    • Guest Daughmk (Florida)
    • Date of stay 12/26/12
    • Review Submitted 01/02/13
    We enjoyed our stay at Mystic Mountain cabin. Pam was so very nice and helpful with our reservation. The cabin pictures are a very good representation! It was very cozy, enjoyable and only 5 minutes from the downtown Village of Helen. The only thing negative I would say about this property is that the cleaning fee was a little steep for the job that was done prior to our arrival. The floors were so dirty that our socks were black and we had to sweep upon arrival. I'm sure a mention of that to the owners would prompt a little extra attention to it. Other than that it was a wonderful stay!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Weekend away with My Man.

    Weekend away with My Man.

    • Guest Ninarody (Jacksonville, Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/30/12
    • Review Submitted 12/09/12
    Mystic Mountain Hideaway was exactly as shown on the website..very cozy, quiet, and romantic..The hot tub was hot when we arrived which was great..We enjoyed beautiful weather which we took full advantage of with our shopping in Helen and the outer areas. Hope to make a trip back again in the near future..BTW, the owner was very helpful with our access, and gave us a feeling of "here if you need me"..which is great.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Secluded Relaxation

    Secluded Relaxation

    • Guest MS (Canton, GA)
    • Date of stay 11/21/12
    • Review Submitted 11/26/12
    A wonderful hideaway for complete relaxation! Every detail was perfect from the decor to the extra electric fireplaces/heater in bathroom, hammock, wood burning fireplaces indoor and out, hot tub, rocking swing, soft chimes....a perfect Thanksgiving!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • beautiful view

    beautiful view

    • Guest kanihoaw (augusta)
    • Date of stay 11/09/12
    • Review Submitted 11/16/12
    Our stay at the cabin was great. The weather couldn't have been better. The kids really loved it. We took advantage of the grill and the hot tub. The cabin was clean and the pictures were definatly a good reflection of the cabin. I would recommend the cabin to family and friends. The owner was very helpful and pleasant.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Not a dull moment..

    Not a dull moment..

    • Guest Ragan (Atlanta, GA)
    • Date of stay 10/26/12
    • Review Submitted 11/02/12
    I just wanted to say how much fun we had staying at your cabin! As soon as we arrived, we turned on the hottub and realized it was pretty cold. We called Jerry to make sure we were doing it right and he came right over. Come to find out, the water had just been changed from the previous renter and it was going to take some time to get heated up. Not a problem! 2 things I loved about this - 1: Jerry was very easy to reach and came right over to help out 2: The water was changed and IS changed everytime a guest leaves. (Jerry, it was so nice meeting you! And thank you so much for taking time out of your day.) Long story short - The cabin was amazing. Seconds from downtown Helen, LITERALLY. The privacy is unreal. The beds were SOOO comfortable. The space was just perfect for the 4 of us. The accorns were quite annoying but added to our fun. I actually got hit by one (it did NOT feel good) but it was quite funny. Our little dog absolutely LOVED it. We went for a little stroll down the hill and could barely make it back up. So, the driveway was pretty steep and some of the other reviews made me worry about what car to take. If I can drive my 2-door honda up this hill, ANYBODY can drive up this hill. I could go on and on.. We just made so many wonderful memories that weekend and we can't wait to come back! Thank you SO much for such a great cabin!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Blue moon in Helen

    Blue moon in Helen

    • Guest Pam (Winder,Georgia)
    • Date of stay 08/31/12
    • Review Submitted 09/09/12
    Perfect location to make new memories....and the dogs had a great time, too! Can sit on the porch swing and watch the rain fall in comfort!

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful Anniversary Celebration!

    Wonderful Anniversary Celebration!

    • Guest Debbie (Palm Harbor, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/05/12
    My husband and I really enjoyed celebrating our 30th anniversary here at Mystic Mountain! Everything we needed was at our fingertips! Pam was very helpful and stayed in contact to answer any questions I had. Even with last minute uncertainty if we could make the trip, she was so understanding and willing to work it out with us should we have to reschedule. Fortunately, we did not. The kitchen was fully equipped, the wi- fi worked well with very good instructions, the TV was easy to use and had great reception. It was hot during our visit and the AC worked wonderfully and cooled down the cabin quickly; we had to turn it up because we actually got too cold! We really enjoyed the hot tub, especially at night under the stars. It was used everyday! The location is perfect; close enough to Helen for shopping and dining but far away enough to feel you're secluded and in your own private mini-resort. We recommend driving into Cleveland for grocery shopping; it has a big Ingles store that had everything we needed. Betty's country general store in Helen was also convenient for groceries and just fun to walk through. It's a must see when you visit Helen. We also brought along our 5 year old Aussie who loved staying out on the front porch sniffing the fresh air and enjoying all the sights and sounds of nature like the hummingbird who visited a few times. We visited nearby Lake Burton and rented a boat for a half day. We recommend a visit here; it's a scenic lake with many beautiful homes along the shoreline. Overall, it was a relaxing, private getaway and one we'll always remember as we celebrated our milestone anniversary!

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • iT'S THE BEST!!!!!!

    iT'S THE BEST!!!!!!

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 08/22/12
    • Review Submitted 05/02/13
    i FOUND THIS TERRIFIC PROPERTY ON VRBO. I'VE STAYED MANY TIMES AND I ALWAYS TRY TO RENT THIS PROPERTY WHEN I NEED TO GET AWAY. THE PROBLEM IS THAT I AM QUITE CONTENT TO SIT ON THE PORCH SEEING AS MY FAVORITE PAST TIME IS HOLDING DOWN THE SWING WHEN I AM THERE. ALL OF MY STAYS HAVE BEEN AWESOME. PAM IS A DELIGHT. I SEE THAT THERE ISA ZIP LINE IN HELEN AND MUST HUSBAND WANTS TO TRY IT OUT. EVERYTHING THAT IS POSTED IS DEFINITELY ACCURATE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY TO EVERYONE AND TO ESPECIALLY TO DOG OWNERS. I KEEP TRYING TO RENT FOR NEW YEAR'S.....THAT ONE BOOKS FAST. MANY THANKS TO PAM AND A BIG THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR HOME.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Nestled In Nature, Our Blissful 5 Star Vacation

    Nestled In Nature, Our Blissful 5 Star Vacation

    • Guest Jerry V (Decatur, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 08/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/15/12
    This great log cabin set the stage for our terrific vacation. When we turned off of the highway and began traveling up this beautiful trail we expected to find something special at the end and we did. The cabin was on the side of the mountain truly nestled in the woods. We felt like we had found a secret place. If you like nothing but the sights and sounds of nature this is the place to be. The cabin was colorful, clean, bright, and cheerful. You can tell a lot of work and thought has been put into this cabin. It had a romantic setting and we enjoyed candles on the deck at dinner along with soaking in the hot tub. The beds and linens are nice, and the kitchen had everything we needed. We got to watch TV in bed, and I even read a book laying in the hammock. We were thrilled to see some deer passing through. Pam was great and made everything easy for us. All of the Helen festivities, restaurants, hiking, fishing, and tubing were within 5 minutes from the cabin. If you like a cabin in the woods I would recommend Mystic Mtn. Hideaway. It looks just like the pictures on the website. I hope we can stay longer next time.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect Cabin for Us!

    Perfect Cabin for Us!

    • Guest KMom (Crestview, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/19/12
    • Review Submitted 08/02/12
    Mystic Mountain was the absolute perfect cabin for me, my husband and our 2 pups. It was very close to Helen but still deep in the mountains where we were still secluded. The hot tub was very relaxing and CLEAN! I would recommend Mystic Mountain to anyone interested in staying near Helen who want a quiet, clean, relaxing vacation. P.s. the driveway is a little bumpy but we didn't mind since we had an SUV!

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Close to town, clean and cozy

    Close to town, clean and cozy

    • Guest Dave Wave (South Florida)
    • Date of stay 06/27/12
    • Review Submitted 07/04/12
    We really enjoyed our four nights at this cozy cabin, which is nestled into the woods on a quiet mountain just a few minutes from town. The cabin was roomy enough for two adults, four kids, and two black labs, and would also make a great place for a couple's weekend. The cabin was clean and stocked with everything we needed for our stay, and it was nice having a washer/dryer to keep up with the dirty stuff. The road to the cabin was pretty rough when we arrived, and our two wheel drive van struggled to make it up the hill when it was fully loaded. The road was scheduled to be serviced after our visit, so we caught it at a bad time, but even on a good day I would be hesitant to drive it in anything with low ground clearance or low profile tires. This is the nature of mountain property, and a trade-off to get the to the peace and quiet that this cabin offers. Overall we were very pleased with the cabin, and would choose it again for a stay in the future. The owner is very gracious and responsive, and went out of her way to make our stay the best it could be.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Mystic Mountain Hideaway complete Bliss

    Mystic Mountain Hideaway complete Bliss

    • Guest Carey (New Port Richey, FL)
    • Date of stay 06/01/12
    • Review Submitted 06/09/12
    We loved the Mystic Mountain Hideaway! It was the perfect escape to the great outdoors. Peaceful and relaxing in everyway. The cabin for the size is actually quite spacious. My husband watched TV downstairs while the kids and I watched movies upstairs, but only after we spent the entire evening outside under the beautiful GA tree canopy. The men gathered our fire wood daily (although you can purchase at the local grocery store if your not adventurous)and got our fire started for the evening. The kids and daddy hung out in the hammock and mommy and grandma sat in the rocking chairs on the deck. We grilled out every night, roasted marshmallows for our smores, and then dipped in the hot tub! Life could not get any better. Our kids 4 and 6 so enojoyed our stay. They love the bunkbeds and cabin stairs. The beds were all super comfy and the lines quite nice. I don't think anyone could not love this wonderful cabin. The town of Helen was adorable and we came for the Hotair Balloon Festival. It was beautiful. The parks in the area were fabulous as well. We give the cabin and area FIVE STARS! Our only complaint....our stay was too short! Carey - New Port Richey FL

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Time to slow down

    Time to slow down

    • Guest Shane L. (Thomasville, Georgia)
    • Date of stay 04/04/12
    • Review Submitted 04/18/12
    We really enjoyed the cabin. The quiet was very nice and our phones did not work which was awesome. It rained while we were there. It sure was awesome to hear the drops hitting the tin roof, best music in the world when you need to relax. The road is a little difficult to traverse, make sure you have a SUV. I told my wife as we drove up the path if I heard banjo music they were on their own. We will be going back I know in the future.

    Owner response: Hi Shane, Please give everybody the Cabin Phone Number so they can call you, unless you really don't want to be called, lol. Most people have cell service, and just a few don't. The Wifi is very good. Look forward to seeing you again. Blessings, Pam Love

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Spring Vacation

    Spring Vacation

    • Guest Angie (West Bloomfield, MI)
    • Date of stay 03/28/12
    • Review Submitted 04/05/12
    We just spent a week at the Mystic Mountain cabin and had a great time. It was perfect for us and our two dogs. The bed up in the loft was super comfy and with the cool spring air at night making it perfect way to wake up. The location was great being a short drive from all the Helen shops/restaurants but yet very secluded. The driveway is quite steep and needed to be graded but if you go slow we made it up easily in our small car. We had little luck fishing as the river was quite low at this time of year. The pictures very well represented everything the cabin had to offer. We had never been to this area before and I would stay again!!

    Recommended for: Pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: Hi Angie, I am so glad you had a great time. I have a small car too, and the trail was just graded and rebuilt. I wish it could have been done a little sooner, but I know you will enjoy it on your next trip up. Thanks for coming. Blessings, Pam Love

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Greet Weekend

    Greet Weekend

    • Guest In Need of an Escape (Braselton GA)
    • Date of stay 03/16/12
    • Review Submitted 03/19/12
    Had a great weekend at the cabin. Enjoyed the rustic outdoors and especially the hot tub. Owner is very easy to work with. Will return again soon!! Only complaint was the driveway, glad we had a 4x4 truck otherwise we would have been in trouble.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Best cabin for seclusion, comfort, yet convenience!

    Best cabin for seclusion, comfort, yet convenience!

    • Guest BJinGA68 (Gainesville, GA)
    • Date of stay 03/09/12
    • Review Submitted 03/14/12
    My husband and I stayed at Mystic Mtn. Hideaway this past weekend and we cannot wait to come back. It is the perfect place to go for a relaxing and secluded romantic getaway....yet you are five minutes to main street Helen! It is the perfect cabin....and I wish it was mine!

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Cozy cabin. Perfect spot for dogs.

    Cozy cabin. Perfect spot for dogs.

    • Guest Crystal w. (South Carolina)
    • Date of stay 01/09/12
    • Review Submitted 01/12/12
    This cabin was perfect for our dog and very cozy for us! Our dog enjoyed running around the property finding sticks and we didn't have to worry about cars nearby! We enjoyed the hottub every night and sitting on the porch in the mornings. the town of Helen was just right down the road, however, it is shut down during the week in January! On our way out Thursday, some shops were open but a lot were still closed. The restaurants that ARE open during the week close at 6, but will close on Tuesdays and any day that it rains(said a shop owner).. The Nacoochee grill was very good and the only place open until 9. We took our 4 month old to Babyland and enjoyed getting her first Cabbage Patch Doll. We would recommend this cabin for a small family.. Wish we had one more day to relax and do nothing!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Time in Mystic Mountains

    Great Time in Mystic Mountains

    • Guest Henry B.
    • Date of stay 12/17/11
    • Review Submitted 12/24/11
    We had a wonderful family vacation. The cabin is very well described on the web and the pictures are an accurate reflection of the property. The cabin is decorated lovely both indoors and out. Just what one expects in the mountains. Cabin is very clean and comfortable. The only ding I would give the cabin is that the water pressure in the kitchen sink is very very low (the owners really should have this addressed as it makes washing dishes a pain). However, bathroom water pressure is fine so that there is no problem with bathing. The cabin is within a few miles of the town and many hiking trails yet very secluded. My family loved the region and has plans on going back. We will definitely rent the same cabin again if it is available. All-in-all, the owners have done an excellent job and offer a great value for the money. We had a great time and will recommend the cabin and Helen to our friends.

    Owner response: Thank you for the lovely compliments. I am always thrilled to hear when somebody has a great time! I received your email saying that you would like to schedule 3 reservations between now and next Christmas. Wow, that is wonderful!!! After many attempts....I am not sure what the next step is for the kitchen sink water pressure. It has a brand new faucet, I had a new water pump put in the well, and I have changed the water filtration system. I will keep plugging away at it until I hit the right thing. You will find your spring vacation there to have an entirely different look, and feel compared to your winter vacation. It is almost like you have been to two different places by experiencing the different seasons. Thank you for being lovely guest, and I look forward to your next visit. Blessings, Pam

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great Location and Cabin

    Great Location and Cabin

    • Guest Liz (Augusta)
    • Date of stay 12/01/11
    • Review Submitted 12/06/11
    Great Location very close to downtown Helen, but it feels like you are miles and miles away from everything!! Our dog absolutely loved being able to run free and be a dog!! Looks like alot of work has gone into this cabin and property. It was charming yet rustic at the same time. We will be going back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Filled all our expectations!!

    Filled all our expectations!!

    • Guest Gisel Carolina (South Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/26/11
    • Review Submitted 12/03/11
    It was lovely although we were only able to stay for a short 2 nights, but we loved every minute of it! The cabin was all we hoped it would be. It was only mins from downtown Helen and yet it is completely secluded located up on a hill, very quiet and surrounded by pure nature. Unicoi state park is also only mins away with many activities. We enjoyed sightseeing through it and were amazed how beautiful and spiritual it is. The accomodations were real cozy and we had everything we needed. The house is beautifully decorated and it is bigger than what we thought it would be. The space is very open which is nice because no matter where any of us were in the house, we felt close and cozy. The images on this site are a good representation of the house. Even more amazing is the beautiful soft morning light that comes thru the many windows throughout the house. We also enjoyed the indoor and outdoor fire places. The deck outside is perfect for hanging out and enjoying the jacuzzi and bbq grill. I cannot say enough good things! We will definitely be back and stay longer.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 17/18

  • Wonderful

    Wonderful

    • Guest Margie (Moreland, Ga.)
    • Date of stay 10/19/11
    • Review Submitted 10/30/11
    We had a great girls outing! Relaxing and wonderful. I can't wait to go back. Country store was wonderful. Inly minutes to down town Helan! Hot tub was wonderful with outside fire going. Very clean and cozy!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 5/5

  • Perfect Cabin to relax and unwind..

    Perfect Cabin to relax and unwind..

    • Guest Nikki C. (Winder, GA )
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/15/11
    This cabin is the perfect "getaway cabin". It was better than what I had expected. The Hot Tub was relaxing and the rain on the tin roof that night made for a good night's sleep. Pam was so easy to deal with. My husband and I fell in love with this cabin and fell in love again with each other. We will be visiting again.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 8/8

  • Beautiful and VERY Secluded, :) yet so near to Helen.

    Beautiful and VERY Secluded, :) yet so near to Helen.

    • Guest Travis (Jacksonville, Fl)
    • Date of stay 05/01/11
    • Review Submitted 05/10/11
    My wife and I spent our honeymoon in the cabin and it was wonderful very cozy and very private. I highly recommend this for couples who want to get away. It is very close to several state parks and just a couple miles from beautiful Helen, Ga. We are already planning to return for our anniversary and we have only been married for two weeks.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7

  • Can't wait to go back!!!

    Can't wait to go back!!!

    • Guest Nanci (Chicago area)
    • Date of stay 07/09/10
    • Review Submitted 07/20/10
    Our stay at Mystic Mountain was absolutely wonderful. The description didn't do it justice. The cabin was larger than excpected, very well stocked and very very clean with great furnishings.It is a perfect place for a romantic getaway or for a small group. . If you want to relax in a beautiful place, this is the perfect location. We liked the privacy as well as the convenient location to town. Go to Trolls Tavern and sit outside on the river for a great lunch and view of all the "tubers" on the Hooch. Betty's General store has everything you could want. We will be back! .

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 12/12

  • Just What We Expected!

    Just What We Expected!

    • Guest kelley (Boynton Beach FL)
    • Date of stay 07/01/10
    • Review Submitted 07/13/10
    As we drove up the long dirt driveway, we enjoyed the trickling stream off to our right! What an entrance. The trees canopy the drive up leading you away from downtown into your secluded hideaway! We arrived and let the dogs out of the truck to just roam. The hot tub rumbled and the fresh air was invigorating! We unpacked and headed back into town, (only a mile and a half) we brought back some groceries from the BEST grocery store I have ever been to. We enjoyed some adult beverages, music, fire pit and hot tub... We also went tubing and relaxed on the river---- A must! We headed down town and had dinner on the river and we were so happy we did! We spent so much time just enjoying the cabin and it's natural surroundings.. I would love to go back, time flies when we are having fun!!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 16/16

  • Wonderful, Peaceful, Beautiful

    Wonderful, Peaceful, Beautiful

    • Guest cgd (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 02/05/10
    • Review Submitted 03/12/10
    We stayed at Mystic Mountain Cabin for one month in February of 2010. What a great cabin - I have never been more "at home" away from home. We loved the location - just a short drive to Helen and near to many other small towns - but secluded and private. The surroundings were so pretty - a little river runs through the property. We had fires outside at night - the star gazing was amazing while sitting in the hot tub! I slept so well at the cabin - the king sized bed was so comfortable and it was nice to have high quality linens while away from home. Mystic had everything we needed and more. The owners Pam and Jerry really care about this wonderful place and you can see that in the details of the cabin - and we were lucky enough to meet them - such incredible people. If you are looking for a place to stay in White County - you must check this out!!! WOW!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 15/15

    • Guest Teresa44 (McDonough, GA)
    • Date of stay 12/14/09
    • Review Submitted 12/14/09
    This is the best cabin by far. Loved the privacy and the view is FABULOUS!! Will definately come back again. Highly recommended for anyone who just wants to get away but still be close enough to Helen for play.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

    • Guest George and Bonnie (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 11/12/09
    • Review Submitted 11/12/09
    Shhhh IT'S OUR SECRET! Date of Stay: August 2009 Amazing - a place that lives up to the pictures and description and went beyond our expectations. From the moment we pulled up the private drive, we knew we were on to something good. So close to Helen, and yet away from it all up there on that mountain. Our 10-year-old daughter had a fantastic time exploring. Our 10-year-old dog stayed by the fireplace indoors and loved the freedom outdoors. The outdoor fireplace made for some memorable nights - and too many smores! Clean, quiet, peaceful, and all the amenities you could want. The deck - our favorite spot for morning coffee and evening wine. Thank you. We'll be back for sure!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

    • Guest DallasD (Titusville, FL)
    • Date of stay 11/12/09
    • Review Submitted 11/12/09
    Date of Stay: August 2009 I really needed a stress reliever and mystic hideaway was just the ticket. Well worth the money, and I plan to do it again! I have told all my friends about it, and they are interested, too. What a wonderful, stress-free, peaceful place to be. I am so thankful to the owners for sharing this treat

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 10/10

  • Shhhh IT'S OUR SECRET!

    Shhhh IT'S OUR SECRET!

    • Guest George and Bonnie (Orlando, Florida)
    • Date of stay 08/17/09
    • Review Submitted 10/13/09
    Amazing - a place that lives up to the pictures and description and went beyond our expectations. From the moment we pulled up the private drive, we knew we were on to something good. So close to Helen, and yet away from it all up there on that mountain. Our 10-year-old daughter had a fantastic time exploring. Our 10-year-old dog stayed by the fireplace indoors and loved the freedom outdoors. The outdoor fireplace made for some memorable nights - and too many smores! Clean, quiet, peaceful, and all the amenities you could want. The deck - our favorite spot for morning coffee and evening wine. Thank you. We'll be back for sure!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 11/11

  • Wonderful dream of a place

    Wonderful dream of a place

    • Guest DallasD (Titusville, FL)
    • Date of stay 08/01/09
    • Review Submitted 08/29/09
    I really needed a stress reliever and mystic hideaway was just the ticket. Well worth the money, and I plan to do it again! I have told all my friends about it, and they are interested, too. What a wonderful, stress-free, peaceful place to be. I am so thankful to the owners for sharing this treat.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 18/18



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next