Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Highland Guesthouse on the bank of Boulder Creek

Urban Oasis Two Blocks to Downtown Pearl Street Mall and University of Colorad [#205270] | View Property

Boulder
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)
$185 - $285/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (17)

Sort by:
  • September 2013 Flood

    September 2013 Flood

    • Guest Bob & Karen (Albany, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/13/13
    • Review Submitted 09/29/13
    We arrived for a 6-night stay after the initial mountain flooding in Colorado during September 2013, and were concerned with how our stay might be affected. Happily, the living quarters were unaffected, and the property management staff worked overtime handling the natural emergency with aplomb. This wasn't easy,and we appreciated the efforts put forth to minimize any affect on our stay. The 1-bedroom unit is perfect for a couple. There are two main spaces, the living area (kitchen/dining/living) and bedroom. These two spaces are connected via operable wooden blinds. In addition, there is a bathroom with shower, a laundry area with 'walk-in closet' storage and an outside deck. The unit's location on the second floor provides additional security and privacy, but also limits the use of the space to persons able to walk up and down stairs. The location within Boulder is a plus. One can walk to the Pearl Street pedestrian mall. The Boulder bike path is within a block, and follows Boulder Creek at this location. Our stay was too short, despite the flood, and we highly recommend this property!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Perfect Boulder Base Camp!

    Perfect Boulder Base Camp!

    • Guest Jackie H.
    • Date of stay 08/25/13
    • Review Submitted 09/04/13
    The guesthouse was perfect. Clean, spacious, and all the amenities and little extras you might ever want for. The location is perfect, it feels secluded, but is just a short walk from the Pearl Street mall. And it's hard to be falling asleep to the sound of Boulder Creek in the background. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we joked about moving in, permanently.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Really well appointed

    Really well appointed

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/26/13
    • Review Submitted 07/01/13
    We had an exceptionally positive experience staying at the Highland Guest House. The location is ideal--you're right on the creek, so it feels relaxing, but you're just a 3min walk from prime downtown. We were able to walk back and forth several times a day with our daughter (who's 2 years old). The apartment is extremely well appointed. You're also a short walk from Eben Fine Park. It's evident that lots of thought went into designing and outfitting the space. For example, there was a coffee pot, a french press, a bean grinder, and two different types of coffee in the cabinet. Something to satisfy everyone's caffeine needs! The staff was extremely friendly--they all knew we were arriving and came over to introduce themselves. We didn't take advantage of any of the resources at the Highland Social Club, but the space seemed interesting. For two adults and a toddler, the space/layout were great. We'd enthusiastically recommend this apartment.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Une adresse de très grande qualité et un accueil chaleureux

    Une adresse de très grande qualité et un accueil chaleureux

    • Guest Christian (La Varenne Saint-Hilaire 94210 FRANCE)
    • Date of stay 03/01/13
    • Review Submitted 03/18/13
    Désirant avec mon épouse rendre viste à mon fils, étudiant-chercjeur à l'Université du COLORADO, je souhaitais disposer d'une petite maison confortable où je me sente à l'aise et ai envie de revenir. Cela a été tout à fait le cas et il est clair que, à l'occasion de mes voyages à BOULDER, c'est cette adresse que je priviliegerai.

    Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Professional, highly recommended

    Professional, highly recommended

    • Guest paige (Mass)
    • Date of stay 05/22/12
    • Review Submitted 07/05/12
    This property is run by professional people with whom you can feel comfortable and trust. The management goes over and beyond to satisfy the customer. They are responsive and can be reached when needed. I highly recommend renting this property.You will not be disappointed in the top notch service.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • FANTASTIC Rental with 5 Star Service!!!

    FANTASTIC Rental with 5 Star Service!!!

    • Guest Michael S.
    • Date of stay 03/31/12
    • Review Submitted 04/24/12
    We could not have asked for a better experience for our stay in Boulder. The unit is absolutely great! We were staying for 10 days, so having a kitchen and laundry was a big selling point. The spring weather was great, so we made good use of the gas BBQ, but didn't have a chance to try the wood burning stove. We weren't sure that our 6 and 3 year olds would enjoy sleeping on the pull out sofa, but they LOVED it. We could not have asked for a better location either. Walking distance to Pearl street, stumbling distance from Boulder Creek, across the street from the beautiful public library, two blocks from a great organic market and easily accessible by car to all outer areas. But, I have to say, the best part of all was how well we were taken care of by Matthew and the rest of the staff. Whenever we needed anything, one text or call to Matthew and it was at our door step. Our stay would go something like this: "Hey, Matthew, can you fish in the creek?" (fishing poles appear at our doorstep). When an unexpected spring storm left two inches of snow: "Hey, Matthew, any sleds or saucers around?" (two saucers appear at our doorstep) Even for a quick luggage repair: "Got any pliers?" (you guessed it). We even returned home one evening to a vase of fresh cut flowers, left by Constance, who was working her tail off keeping the surrounding gardens beautiful. We were in town to house hunt and found ourselves a great little place, but I sure know where I will recommend our out of town guests stay when they come to visit. You cannot ask for a better way to experience this Beautiful city! Thanks again, Matthew, for making our visit so special!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderful Time At Highland House!

    Wonderful Time At Highland House!

    • Guest Kevin K. (McKinney, Texas)
    • Date of stay 09/18/11
    • Review Submitted 09/27/11
    We originally rented another property in Boulder but had a terrible experience the first night. The first thing next morning we called Matthew at Highland and the property was available. He met us at the condo 20 minutes later and in less than 30 minutes we were brewing coffee and having a wonderful morning on the terrace. The 1-bedroom condo was perfect for a couple looking to get away with all the amenities for a week or longer in Boulder. Within a 5 minute walk from downtown restaurants and shops, and just a few short steps to the Boulder Creek Trail system put the Highland House in the best spot in town.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful condo in a perfect location!

    Beautiful condo in a perfect location!

    • Guest Georgia (Athens, GA)
    • Date of stay 09/30/10
    • Review Submitted 11/13/10
    My husband and I stayed one week in this condominium at the beginning of October. Matt, the manager was very helpful both with e-mailed questions before the trip and on site. The location is perfect for walking to the downtown area restaurants and shops, as well as providing easy access to the Bolder Creek Pathway which offers miles of walking or biking. There are many wonderful restaurants close by, my favorite was The Kitchen. We only got in the car for easy trips to the Rocky Mountain National Park and other hiking spots in the beautiful surrounding area. The condo itself is very clean, well equipped, and comfortable. We want to go back for another week (or two) next year.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Highland Paradise

    Highland Paradise

    • Guest GatorWhit (Gainesville, FL )
    • Date of stay 05/29/10
    • Review Submitted 06/04/10
    I fell asleep each night to the soothing sounds of Boulder Creek filtering through the bedroom windows. This luxurious home has all the amenities one needs for a night, week or month of pampering. The Highland's convenient location to everything Boulder has to offer is yet another reason that made my stay here a memorable one. The staff's hyper-focus on getting EVERYTHING perfect makes staying at the Highland a must. Which is what I will do upon my next visit to Boulder. I encourage you to do the same.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Perfection in Boulder

    Perfection in Boulder

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/09/10
    • Review Submitted 06/15/10
    The Highland Guest House is perfection in Boulder. The location, staff and property couldn't be better.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Historic Highlands was everything and more!

    Historic Highlands was everything and more!

    • Guest betsy k k. (cincinnati)
    • Date of stay 05/06/10
    • Review Submitted 07/09/10
    My husband and I stayed here for the graduation of two of our kids from CU. This was perfect in every way. The location to the university and Pearl St. couldn't have been better. The amenities of the unit were accommadating for dinner and/or drinks as a family. The deck for Sunday morning breakfast was a delightful setting. This place is truly a treat.

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest The Rileys (Scottsdale, AZ)
    • Date of stay 08/17/09
    • Review Submitted 08/17/09
    The Highland Guest House is one of those secret places you seldom find and would prefer not to share, but feel you must. More like staying in the home of a friend, Boulder beckons outside your door as do the Boulder Creek Path and the Pearl St. Mall with shops, restaurants nearby. Being perched upstairs you have a clear view of the fully landscaped gardens and trees that surround. Early in the morning the staff is hand picking flowers from the garden while you drink coffee on the deck. Being outside in Boulder is the thing to do, but you'll find every comfort at the guesthouse, high quality linens,books, beautiful rugs, comfy bed, sofa and plenty of utensils, washer/dryer, modernized kitchen. TV and high speed internet available (but please try not to work!!) I must agree with other reviewers in saying that the owner and the staff are what make this place super special, easy process to book, so try to fall in step with them if you can. Enjoy the privacy of your own space at the end of your day. Perfect for visiting relatives, professors, CU parents, retirees. Walking distance to Whole Foods, CU, restaurants and shops. Will return again as soon as we can.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Wonderful place to stay

    Wonderful place to stay

    • Guest Junee (Boynton Beach, FL)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/16/09
    We had a wonderful week at the Highland House, visiting our son & daughter-in-law in Boulder. Everything was very convenient, the place was clean and comfortable, and even our dog loved staying there! Everyone involved was friendly and caring and we'll come back for sure!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

    • Guest ThePearlmans (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 07/20/09
    • Review Submitted 07/20/09
    We loved staying at the Highland Guest House and will definitely stay there again when we return to Boulder. The accommodations are first class. The location couldn't be better, walking distance to everything, but just far enough away from downtown to allow for peace and quiet. But most important, everyone we came in contact with was extremely friendly and most accommodating,especially Sina, the owner. I wholeheartedly recommend the Highland Guest house to anyone who wishes to have the quintessential "Boulder" experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Quintessential Boulder

    Quintessential Boulder

    • Guest ThePearlmans (Santa Barbara, CA)
    • Date of stay 06/30/09
    • Review Submitted 07/21/09
    We loved staying at the Highland Guest House and will definitely stay there again. The accommodations are first class. The location couldn't be better, walking distance to everything, but just far enough away from downtown to allow for peace and quiet when you want it. But most important, everyone we came in contact with at the Guest House was extremely friendly and most accommodating, especially Sina, the owner. I wholeheartedly recommend the Highland Guest House to anyone who wishes to have the Quintessential "Boulder" experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

    • Guest MaryEDesign (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 05/28/09
    • Review Submitted 05/28/09
    I rented the Highland Guest house for a three month retreat this spring. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay surrounded by the natural beauty of the Highland grounds and Boulder Creek. Truly a little bit of the country life in the city. I enjoyed the serenity of sitting by the creek and the convenience of being within walking distance to downtown Boulder and the Pearl Street Mall. The Guest House is cozy, quiet and surprisingly light and open with attractive furnishings and modern appliances. I felt so at home and I can’t wait to stay again.Mary – Interior Designer

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The beauty of nature in the heart of the city

    The beauty of nature in the heart of the city

    • Guest MaryEDesign (Colorado)
    • Date of stay 03/01/09
    • Review Submitted 05/05/09
    I rented the Highland Guest house for a three month retreat this spring. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay surrounded by the natural beauty of the Highland grounds and Boulder Creek. Truly a little bit of the country life in the city. I enjoyed the serenity of sitting by the creek and the convenience of being within walking distance to downtown Boulder and the Pearl Street Mall. The Guest House is cozy, quiet and surprisingly light and open with attractive furnishings and modern appliances. I felt so at home and I can’t wait to stay again. Mary – Interior Designer

    Recommended for: Sightseeing

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]