Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front of House from Somerset Avenue

The Cottage in Maine You've Been Looking for Near the Beach [#205352] | View Property

Old Orchard Beach
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6)
$275 - $421/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Somerset Rental

    Somerset Rental

    • Guest Michigan traveler (Detroit, Michigan)
    • Date of stay 08/17/13
    • Review Submitted 08/26/13
    Very nice home, tastefully decorated and convenient to both Portland and the Kennebunks. My wife and adult children and i had a very pleasant stay.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Comfortable and Restful

    Comfortable and Restful

    • Guest Tom (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 07/27/13
    • Review Submitted 08/12/13
    That's how to describe our stay at Somerset Cottage--comfortable and restful. It was great to be able to explore Maine's coastal region and return to the lovely well-appointed cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Relaxing Family Getaway

    Relaxing Family Getaway

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 06/29/13
    • Review Submitted 07/10/13
    What a beautiful and well maintained home. It was the perfect fit for our family. We spent time sitting out on the patio and it is a convenient walk to the ocean. Our children, aged 18 and 22, found plenty to do when they were not on the beach with a nearby mall, movie theatre, minigolfing, and the shops on the pier. Even made a day trip to Boston to see friends. We are already discussing the possibility of a return visit next summer. It was great that we were able to bring our small dog and not have to worry about her when we were away. Many places are not pet friendly, so it was wonderful to have that available to us. She slept comfortably in her kennel for any short family outings we made. Also, it was very nice to have such friendly and helpful caretaker/neighbors available to answer any questions we had. Definitely a week well spent.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Clean, well appointed, charming cottage

    Clean, well appointed, charming cottage

    • Guest TomA (United States)
    • Date of stay 08/11/12
    • Review Submitted 08/19/12
    We enjoyed our stay in the cottage, which the owner has taken great care with—it's clean, well furnished, and well maintained with a helpful renter's guide and directions to the owner's favorite activities. Also, the owner was responsive and his neighbors were very helpful—they introduced themselves, helped get us situated and were available if we needed them. Old Orchard beach is indeed about a ten minute walk. We brought bikes for the kids, which made it easy going and I'd recommend bikes if you want to go back and forth during the day, as we did. It's easy to explore Portland from here and we ate our way around much of the area in search of the perfect lobster roll (our fave seafood was at Evertide in Portland).

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Another wonderful stay!

    Another wonderful stay!

    • Guest Jon (Des Moines, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 07/28/12
    • Review Submitted 08/23/12
    This property is a beautifully maintained cottage in a great location. We and our children look forward all year to spending a week in Old Orchard Beach, and this is our third year in a row staying at 27 Somerset. What greater recommendation can one make?

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Charming Cottage in Old Orchard Beach

    Charming Cottage in Old Orchard Beach

    • Guest Jersey Girl (Manchester, NJ)
    • Date of stay 07/21/12
    • Review Submitted 08/01/12
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay . It was a beautiful home, clean and well maintained and beautifully decorated. The owner left us a list of restaurants and we went to 3 out of the 6 and all 3 were great. We especially liked Buffleheads in Biddleford and Yellow Fin. I was hoping to be closer to the beach area it was a long walk.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Above expectations

    Above expectations

    • Guest samuel a.
    • Date of stay 07/07/12
    • Review Submitted 07/18/12
    excellent stay, the place is very well organized, cozy, comfortable, luxurious and easy to use, I appreciated the kitchen very well equipped for making fancy diners at night, as well as the barbecue. Coming back from the beach and chilling on the back porch along the garden was my favorite spot. Thank you Stephen for this professional grade rental!

    Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Somerset Cottage

    Somerset Cottage

    • Guest Pat (East Burke, Vt)
    • Date of stay 06/09/12
    • Review Submitted 07/29/12
    What a delightful place! Somerset Cottage is not your usual beach rental but rather a well kept, comfortable home that is obviously well loved. The shady trees and quiet neighborhood complement the restful, upscale interior and ensure a relaxing stay. We had a marvellous month in Maine and hope to return frequently.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Glorious 2 weeks at Somerset

    Glorious 2 weeks at Somerset

    • Guest "Relaxed and Revitalized" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
    • Date of stay 08/20/11
    • Review Submitted 09/11/11
    My family and I have spent many years coming to the Maine coast and this is the 3rd property we have rented. The moment we walked in the door, I knew it was going to be a great vacation; everything was to my esthetic and well thought out. The house is beautiful, well designed and maintained. The 2 weeks we spent there were all that I had hoped for and more. I work very hard and was so very happy to get the relaxation and comfort I needed. Thanks to the cottage caretakers we also had no problem with Hurricane Irene and actually enjoyed the day indoors mid way in our 2 weeks. I will be keeping the wonderful memories of this vacation in my mind for some time to come.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • One of our Favourite Vacations

    One of our Favourite Vacations

    • Guest Alicia (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 08/13/11
    • Review Submitted 08/22/11
    We just returned from a very relaxing family vacation in Old Orchard Beach. The cottage was exactly like the photographs and we loved that it was set in a quiet neighbourhood only a short drive from the beach and a 20 minute drive to many amazing activities. The cottage is very clean and features many original artworks on the walls. The kitchen is fully stocked and the livingroom is cozy and fills with warm sunlight throughout the day. We were welcomed by wonderfully helpful neighbours and found the owner's manual of places to visit extremely useful. We also loved all the family activities available nearby eg. in town- the beach, the pier and amusement rides. Not far away-whale whatching, indoor go-karting, the city of Portland art gallery and restaurants, the views in Cape Porpoise, the shops in Kennebunk Port and driving the scenic windy roads near Biddeford Pool. My husband and I enjoyed choosing new routes to jog on the beach or through streets each morning. We also saw many families kayaking, fishing and boating. Our two children were never bored! We made memories in Old Orchard Beach and the surrounding area that will last a lifetime!

    Recommended for: Families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Fun!

    Fun!

    • Guest Abby (Maine)
    • Date of stay 08/06/11
    • Review Submitted 08/17/11
    A little deceiving about the walk to the beach. You should say 10-15 minutes. With kids and stuff it is not 7 minutes. The house was VERY comfortable and nice. The renovations are terrific and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were immaculate. We'd rent again for sure. Thank you.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, pet owners.

    Owner response: Dear Rick -so pleased that you were happy with my house. Surprised that it took you 10-15 minutes with the kids -as I actually timed myself and 80-year old mother -as 8 minutes going, 10 minutes returning. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Our first family trip to Maine

    Our first family trip to Maine

    • Guest Pennsylvania Newbies (Havertown, PA)
    • Date of stay 06/26/11
    • Review Submitted 07/05/11
    We found this place on line and were attracted to the way it looked, especially the yard. From the moment we arrived it was obvious we made a good choice. The house was clean, comfortable and well equipped. A decent patio to relax on and read. A barbecue grill and a yard table and chairs with an umbrella so our kids could "picnic". The neighborhood is nice and quiet, with lots of shade, friendly and helpful neighbors and it's close enough to be walking distance to both town and beach. By our second day we had already talked about coming back again. Former Pennsylvania neighbors of ours who had relocated to New Hampshire came over for a visit and a beach trip and were so impressed with the place they wanted info on how to book it. The internet access was a real plus. I plugged in my laptop on the desk in the living room and had the advantage of using the web to help track down places for activities and sight seeing and other more practical locations like the dog park, Dunkin Donuts etc. Speaking of the dog park, the place is pet friendly so we brought along our Australian Shepherd and he had a blast. You can take dogs on the beach in the early morning and late evening and the entire town and area is strikingly pet friendly. Overall we had a terrific first vacation to Maine and the cottage where we chose to stay was a huge part of the experience.

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/4

  • Excellent place for a family!

    Excellent place for a family!

    • Guest Scott (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 06/18/11
    • Review Submitted 06/26/11
    We stayed at Somerset Cottage from June 18-25, 2011, and absolutely enjoyed every minute of it. It's located in a wonderfully quiet, friendly neighborhood, about a 15 minute walk to a nice stretch of sandy beach. The cottage is well-appointed; the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. We grilled and ate dinner outside several times. And we slept like babies in the comfortable beds. Old Orchard Beach and the surrounding communities have a lot to offer to vacationing families, and this was the perfect base from which to explore it all. I highly, highly recommend Somerset Cottage!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, tourists without a car, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Family from Upstate NY

    Family from Upstate NY

    • Guest Mike (Rome, Ny)
    • Date of stay 08/13/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    The cottage was very comfortable and clean. Steven did a fantastic job renovating and decorating the cottage. All the amentities needed were there. I would book this cottage again when my travel plans bring me back to this area. There are a lot of things to do in the area. We would highly recomend staying at Somerset Cottage. We really enjoyed the day of shark fishing with Kristin K Charters (left a card in the desk for future guest) and the meal at Buffleheads that was recomended by Steven in his guest book was exceptional. You will not be disappointed with this cottage.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Beautiful Vacation Home

    Beautiful Vacation Home

    • Guest Jon (Des Moines, Iowa)
    • Date of stay 08/08/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    My family of 5 spent a terrific week this summer in this meticulously maintained cottage. We plan to return next year. Property is on a very quiet street about 8 blocks from Old Orchard Beach and 25 minutes to Portland Old Harbor. The cottage was well-appointed with new furniture, a full kitchen with new appliances, dinnerware, and utensils/flatware. The owner (Mr. Darling) was a pleasure to deal with and the caretaker lives across the street and was also delightful. Overall, a wonderful experience.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great home in quiet area

    Great home in quiet area

    • Guest PS718 (Brooklyn, NY)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/21/10
    Stayed here for a week in late July. Home is beautifully renovated and thoughtfully appointed. Located in quiet neighborhood close to beach. Overall a great experience.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • 8 minute walk to Old Orchard Beach

    8 minute walk to Old Orchard Beach

    • Guest Sasquatch (Toronto)
    • Date of stay 07/25/09
    • Review Submitted 08/14/09
    A lovely home and well maintained. One comment for consideration. - A gas BBQ

    Recommended for: Families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Owner response: To be added September 09

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Wonderful cottage

    Wonderful cottage

    • Guest 09FamVac (Wolfeboro NH)
    • Date of stay 08/29/08
    • Review Submitted 08/31/08
    We simply loved this cottage. It was so comfortable, relaxing and incredibly well kept and clean. It was a terrific location for our family. We were able to enjoy the surrounding ammenities and return to a "home away from home." Highly recommend. Jane

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet owners.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 4/4

  • Great vacation spot

    Great vacation spot

    • Guest MGBSNOW (Pincourt, Quebec, Canada)
    • Date of stay 07/26/08
    • Review Submitted 08/05/08
    Our family spent a week here end of July 2008 and wished we rented for two. It was charming, warm and luxurious and we felt right at home upon arrival. The beach was minutes away and relaxing on the veranda at night with a glass of red wine or a tea was enjoyable. We would recommend this place to family and friends alike, everything we needed was in place, shopping and commodities were near by. The beach and weather were great and walking on the peer a delight. Owner recommendations for shopping and restaurants were excellent and would recommend his first selection should you like seafood.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 7/7



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]