Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
Front view of the Beach House, walking distance to the ocean and downtown.

Charming Carpinteria Beach House [#207057] | View Property

Carpinteria
House, 2 Bedrooms + Attached Unit, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4-8)
$255 - $329/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (19)

Sort by:
  • Beach House

    Beach House

    • Guest Jim S. (Story City,Iowa)
    • Date of stay 01/01/14
    • Review Submitted 03/12/14
    Great place! Lots of outdoor areas to enjoy in yard, balconies, and decks. Convenient to Carpinteria beach and downtown shopping, grocery store, and restaurants.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Excellent Getaway

    Excellent Getaway

    • Guest ledean s.
    • Date of stay 10/25/13
    • Review Submitted 10/30/13
    I love this house, this is our 2nd visit back, it is close to everything beach, shopping etc... Everything is right at your fingertips and this house is very roomy, well worth every penny We enjoy it more and more and we highly recommend it! The owner is also a delight to work with....

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great value for such an awesome space

    Great value for such an awesome space

    • Guest Charlie (Seattle, WA)
    • Date of stay 08/24/13
    • Review Submitted 09/09/13
    We staged a family reunion in Carpinteria this summer and I rented this house for 1 week for my children to stay in (I already have a place nearby where I stayed with my wife). There were six Adults and 2 Toddlers who stayed there. And if you compare the price of hotel accommodations anywhere near Carpinteria with the price of this place, it is already a clear winner even if the place was no better than a hotel. But it was so much better, it is hardly worth making a comparison. Here are the things we enjoyed most. It is by no means a comprehensive list of amenities, but in the interest of not boring anyone, I will try to call out the highlights. 1. The condition of the property when we arrived - This place is spotless and well maintained. 2. Provisioning. - there was nothing we could have needed that was not already there, including 8 or 10 bicycles (I think that was the count, there were more than we needed, regardless) beach toys for the children, and an amazing beach wagon in the garage (which we used to tote two toddlers, their toys and our gear to the beach each day - there is even a cooler on the back where you can place things like sandwiches and sodas that you want to keep cool). 3. The grill in the back yard is in excellent condition and we used it almost every night, but in the house, there is also a gas range and a gas stove which we used in the mornings to make breakfast (there is no pot pan, or utensil you can imagine that is not already there, so you can cook like a gourmet if that is your desire). 4. The fire pit in the back yard which we used almost every night. 5. There is a very handy outdoor shower which we used to rinse the sand and salt off before entering the house each day. It was really nice to be able to use it for a quick rinse rather than having to queue up for a shower inside. 6. Upstairs, in a very comfortable sitting area that divides two of the bedrooms, there is a large TV with Cable and a nice selection of videos. 7. The downstairs, there is a game area with video games and another TV... 8. The house is within an easy 10 or 12 minute stroll from anything in downtown Carpinteria, and no more than 5 or 6 minutes (if you walk very slow to accommodate the toddlers...) from the beach. 9. It was very easy to work with Ruta (the owner) and the property management company she uses. There really aren't enough nice things to say about this house.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 3/3

  • Great Beach House

    Great Beach House

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 05/31/13
    • Review Submitted 06/03/13
    We stayed the weekend at this wonderful beach house. The location is perfect! A short walk to the beach and a short walk to town. We did not get in the car once. We rode bikes to breakfast, and walked to dinner. The house is very charming and full of anything you would need to make your stay enjoyable. The train tracks are behind the house, which might be a concern for some, but the trains did not bother us at all. I would recommend this house very highly.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A home away from home

    A home away from home

    • Guest Sue (Newport, RI/United States)
    • Date of stay 05/06/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    This rental is like going to someone's home. It's nicely decorated and the kitchen is well stocked with many staples already there. There are ample dishes, glassware, serving pieces to make it easy to entertain. The owner was lovely when I talked to her. The house is spotless and well maintained. It's a family oriented home. The only negative for our stay was the noise of the train at night.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Great place to stay!

    Great place to stay!

    • Guest Diane P. (Roseville)
    • Date of stay 05/03/13
    • Review Submitted 05/18/13
    Arriving at this beach house is like arriving at a home away from home. Our family, spread out all over California, met at the beach house to enjoy time together, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The house, conveniently located just a few blocks from the beach (especially convenient for a family of self-proclaimed beach bums) evokes feelings of a fancy getaway in a very comfortable and cozy place. The house was furnished with everything a person visiting the beach could possibly want, from bikes to explore Carpinteria, a wagon to haul needed items to the beach, and even Goo Gone to get rid of tar from between your toes. We would have needed to spend far more than a weekend there to take advantage of all the house had to offer; as it was, we enjoyed a lazy weekend with lots of good food, drinks, and laughter while sprawled on the couches in the cozy upstairs living room. The house was a perfect, peaceful retreat, and we hope that we will get to stay here again someday!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Great Weekend Getaway

    Great Weekend Getaway

    • Guest UCLA fan (Woodland Hills, CA)
    • Date of stay 04/12/13
    • Review Submitted 04/17/13
    This charming beach house was only an hours drive out of Los Angeles and perfect for our weekend getaway. It is right by the beach and an easy walk into town to eat and shop. Great vintage stores! The accommodations are extremely cozy and comfortable and I would recommend it for a girls weekend or family vacation.

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Wonderfully Charming

    Wonderfully Charming

    • Guest Blessed (Ahwahnee, ca)
    • Date of stay 10/11/12
    • Review Submitted 10/17/12
    Excellent beach House! Beautiful, Comfortable, and a place for everyone. Very Thoughtful owner, who has everything you will need to enjoy your stay, just bring the family!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Beach House was the perfect fit for us!

    The Beach House was the perfect fit for us!

    • Guest Sandy (Valley, Washington)
    • Date of stay 09/25/12
    • Review Submitted 10/11/12
    Three "old friends" decided it was time for a "girls gathering" in the Santa Barbara area. We found the listing for the Beach House in Carpinteria near by that fit our budget and we were not disappointed! Carpinteria is a great beach town and the Beach House felt like home. Plenty of room with everything one would need for their stay. Shopping, dining and the beach were all within walking distance. Bicycles were available for transportation as well. At the end of our week, we decided that we must return with our spouses as they would appreciate the Beach House and Carpinteria too!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Comfort and Beauty

    Comfort and Beauty

    • Guest Deborah (San Francisco, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/25/12
    • Review Submitted 09/24/12
    I almost hesitate to give my review, because this vacation rental is so special that I'm afraid it will get so booked up that we'll never be lucky enough to rent again. The photos, while charming, don't begin to show how absolutely lovely and comfortable and roomy the Beach House is. There are so many treats for your eyes, as wherever you look you see beautiful and unusual decor to remind you that you are on vacation at the beach, with cheerful and soothing pastel walls painted various shades, and seashells, mermaids, seahorses and rattan abounding. Everything is of top quality, from the bed linens, to the coffee maker, the TV's in every room, the wine glasses, and the abundance of beach towels and chairs. The walk to the beach and to Linden Avenue (where the town's main action is) was short and easy... much closer than it appeared when I first checked out the distance on Google Earth. There are only 3 of us in our family, but the Beach House could easily sleep many more and would be perfect for larger families or groups of friends. The 2 floors of the house, the 2 decks, the attached Sugar Shack, and the large back yard provide tons of space. In short, vacationing at the Beach House is like staying at a favorite aunt and uncle's place, especially if your aunt is really good at decorating and making you feel comfortable. We can't wait for a return visit!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • A quick walk to the beach and town!

    A quick walk to the beach and town!

    • Guest The Cueto Family (Glendale, CA)
    • Date of stay 08/18/12
    • Review Submitted 08/25/12
    The Beach House was exactly as described online. It is clean, large, and had a lot of homey touches we were not expecting like lots of pillows, throw blankets, beach stuff, and especially, the beach wagon! For the first few days, we were 6 adults and 4 kids ranging in age from 1.5 - 10. The adults all had a bedroom, and the kids all fit well in the livingroom. Once we were down to a family of 4, we had room to spare. We spent our mornings biking around town, and our afternoons on the beach. The downstairs bedroom / living space is perfect for in laws, or teenagers. The upstairs is perfect for a more typical family. The house has a lot of stairs, so I might not recommend it for an older person who has trouble with stairs. What we really loved: the outdoor shower the porch and the balcony in the afternoon the garage to store all of our beach gear the proximity to the beach and town Without hesitation, I would recommend this property to most anyone. The owners have done a great job of making this house feel like our home away from home and I hope we can repeat this vacation again next summer!

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Beach House Wonders

    Beach House Wonders

    • Guest Beach Combers (Upstate NY)
    • Date of stay 01/21/12
    • Review Submitted 03/26/12
    This is the second year we have stayed at the Beach House, and we absolutely love it there. Everything you need is provided, and it is so convenient to town and the beach. It now feels like our second home! The decor is beachy chic and is very comfortable. We love that we can walk anywhere and Carp is a very special town. We will be back, for sure.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 2/2

  • Great Beach House

    Great Beach House

    • Guest Steph (Monterey, CA )
    • Date of stay 10/11/11
    • Review Submitted 10/19/11
    Ruta and family do a great job with supplying all of your needs in this shabby chic decorated beach house. Down to the linens, soap, games, and beach toys. This is a very comfortable home close to town, beach and restaurants. It's also great for entertaining family meals. The beach wagon is the best perk! Thanks for the great rental and we hope to make it a tradition!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Adorable house, perfect location, SO beachy!!

    Adorable house, perfect location, SO beachy!!

    • Guest JSun (San Francisco)
    • Date of stay 06/16/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    I just stayed here with a group of women for a baby shower, 7 women to be exact. We had plenty of space and slept comfortably because the house comes with 2 pull out beds and a couch that can be turned into a bed. The house is SO adorable, very beachy and warm. We had a great time enjoying drinks on the upstairs balcony and taking the 5 minute walk to the beach. Ruta does a wonderful job of setting up the perfect weekend!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Good location in a charming beach town

    Good location in a charming beach town

    • Guest Angel (Orange county)
    • Date of stay 05/27/11
    • Review Submitted 05/31/11
    The owner was very helpful and friendly. The beach house has a very big lot, with a spacious living room and two big rooms with king beds. The beds are very comfortable. We love the antique stovetop in the downstairs kitchen, and the grill in the backyard. The beach is right down the street, one of the most beautiful and peaceful beach I've seen in California. The location is very convenient. Shops, food, and the beach are all within walking-distance. Downtown Santa Barbara is only 15 mins away, so it is nice for a half day trip. There is a railroad behind the house, but at night there was no train crossing by, so that was not an issue to us at all.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A Memorable Month

    A Memorable Month

    • Guest Beach Combers (Upstate NY)
    • Date of stay 03/01/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    We stayed for an entire month at the Beach House and enjoyed every minute of our visit. The Beach House is a perfect way to spend time in the wonderful town of Carpinteria. It's outfitted with absolutely everything one could need, and is in an ideal location that is close to town, the beach and the Salt Marsh. The kitchen is totally complete, and we ate brunch every morning after a long beach walk at the cozy sunlit table in the second floor living area. The bedrooms are huge and very comfortable, and everything is decorated in beachy chic. The back yard is lovely and includes a barbeque as well as lawn furniture. Santa Barbara is only 20 minutes away, and you have tons of things to keep you busy in the neighboring environs.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Home away from home, At the Beach

    Home away from home, At the Beach

    • Guest Nigel (Los Angeles)
    • Date of stay 09/19/10
    • Review Submitted 10/17/10
    My family just completed a week's vacation at The Beach House, which was our second year in a row staying there. It truly is a home away from home and Ruta has equipped the house wonderfully with all sorts of beach toys, bikes, etc., and a comfortable and friendly atmosphere that makes the burdens of life lift almost as soon as you walk in the door. Every time we come to Carpinteria, we will stay at The Beach House.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Absolute Perfection!

    Absolute Perfection!

    • Guest Ginny (felch)
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 09/01/10
    We just returned from a long weekend at this very charming and well-appointed house. It is four short blocks to the beach. Very clean and sweet. Location (Carp) is perfect, weather was perfect and we found all we needed for a comfortable and happy visit.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: We always try to accommodate our guests needs and make their stay with us enjoyable and memorable.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/1

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest New and Returning Guests
    • Date of stay 01/01/91
    • Review Submitted 03/23/10
    Read our many guest comments from our "Guest Book" that people have signed available during your stay at the Beach House

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/6



Page 1 of 1 [ 1 ]