Feedback
Enter a location, property ID, keywords, and/or descriptive words.
The Villa Sophia - LA Villa Accommodation

The Villa Sophia - Romantic Honeymoon Spa Retreat [#207172] | View Property

Los Angeles
Villa, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)
$395/nt US Dollars
Write a Review

Traveler Reviews (85)

Sort by:
  • Absolutely spectacular

    Absolutely spectacular

    • Guest Anonymous
    • Date of stay 02/27/14
    • Review Submitted 04/11/14
    I would definitely recommend staying there, our family had such a wonderful time. The property was gorgeous and everything was easy and simple. There was so many great amenities, just a beautiful place to stay!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Villa Sophia in LA - a truly luxurious refuge!

    The Villa Sophia in LA - a truly luxurious refuge!

    • Guest Carey G.
    • Date of stay 01/10/14
    • Review Submitted 03/22/14
    "The Villa Sophia is an extraordinary place to stay in Los Angeles. Steeped in traditional architecture the house is perched high above the madness of downtown L.A. with jaw dropping views. The pool house retains the old character feel but with some lavish modern touches. Truly a place to spoil yourself for a few days. Quite apart from the luxurious surroundings, the owner Tim is a genuinely nice bloke who along with “Sophie” made us feel very welcome. Tim’s recommendations for restaurants were spot on. To quote from the old Nike ad, “Just do it!” You won’t regret staying at this place.”

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Amazing Place

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing Place

    • Guest jadg2014 London, United Kingdom
    • Date of stay 12/20/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Wow, this place was even better than the photos ! I wanted peace and tranquility and thats what I got. Views were incredible, everything was perfect, Tim the owner was very helpful. Only minus point was the pool wasn't heated , water a bit cold in December so had to pay extra to heat. Go there you wont regret it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • The Villa Sophia is Charming

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The Villa Sophia is Charming

    • Guest Kayleigh N. Los Angeles, CA
    • Date of stay 12/11/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Villa Sophia is a truly charming property; the accommodations are very comfortable (great bed), and well outfitted. with a large and stunning tiled pool, beautiful garden, terrace and spa. The Villa Sophia is everything you could wish for and more...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Just what I needed

    Just what I needed

    • Guest Touring Band (Sweden / New York / On the road)
    • Date of stay 10/26/13
    • Review Submitted 03/07/14
    I spent a week in Los Angeles at the Villa Sophia and couldn't have been more pleased! The Villa was perfect to be able to work, be centrally located, while at the same time be able to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The Villa Sophia added peace and tranquility to my stay, and allowed for an escape and privacy that you don't get staying at one of the typical "LA hotels". I travel constantly and rent properties and hotels, and Tim was an excellent host and everything was at the highest level of excellence. Thank you again and I cannot wait to go back!!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Beautiful and Private Getaway

    Beautiful and Private Getaway

    • Guest Heidi L.
    • Date of stay 09/29/13
    • Review Submitted 11/06/13
    We spent a few nights at the Villa Sophia to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. Tim was very accommodating and helpful when we arrived. The grounds are beautiful...it was like a little slice of Tuscany! The guest house was perfect for a couple...much attention to detail was given when creating this place. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was amazing! We were so busy during the day that we didn't get the chance to just sit and relax by the pool, but it is gorgeous! Sophie was a delight, and she knows exactly what she wants when she comes to see you (her daily biscuits!). The location of this property is fantastic for all of the Hollywood and Los Angeles sites...very convenient to everything! This property is deserving of your stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Looking forward to going back

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Looking forward to going back

    • Guest R&S, Hong Kong
    • Date of stay 09/08/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    My partner and I booked this stay at Villa Sophia as part of our California experience. Living a crazy busy life in asia wanted somewhere to totally relax, Villa Sophia did that and more. The whole experience was perfect, we ended up cancelling many trips just to stay all day by the pool. The pool and Poolhouse are perfect place to hide away, you could be on and Italian Island for la seems a million miles away. It was worth travelling to the other side of the world just to experience this unique location and feel so special. Tim the host is always a moment away but never intrusive you feel totally alone and Sophia the dog is a delight visiting for her biscuits.Sorry about Scruffy Tim our hearts are with you on that one. We will be back very soon. Thanks a million R

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Villa Exceptionnelle

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Villa Exceptionnelle

    • Guest Eclair A Paris, France
    • Date of stay 08/04/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Vacances de stars à prix fort raisonnable. Difficile de quitter la maison. Je comprends les 35 avis 5/5. Hate de retourner ! Piscine grande, jaccuzi réglable, pas de sur-taxes de séjour ou autre au check-out, la douche fait également hamamm, transats confortables et épais, literie de même, feu de cheminée possible et vue depuis les hauteurs sur tout le downtown...

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • A little touch of paradise

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A little touch of paradise

    • Guest Hmltnangel - Bathgate, UK
    • Date of stay 06/15/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Tim & Sophie are pleasant and welcoming and on and to help with any problems quickly. The house is lovely and on the hillside overlooking la. Everything you need for a fantastic break. The pool is fantastic and is possibly the most impressive part of the Villa Sophia. That being said the rest of the house is great too. Location is close to everything you might need, supermarket close by, close to the Interstate. A fair trek from the airport if youre flying in but not too far. A few small issues such as power cuts and issues with aircon breaking near the end of the stay but nothing that detracted from the overall stay Thanks Tim and we will possibly see you again sometime.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Honeymoon Perfection

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Honeymoon Perfection

    • Guest Megan and Steven, Minnesota, USA
    • Date of stay 06/01/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    My husband and I stayed at The Villa Sophia for a week in June. It was beyond our expectations, and we couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon stay. Tim was a wonderful host and was eager to help answer any questions we had about local food and attractions! The villa is in a great location close to everything we needed. Every detail was completely thought out- from the beautiful flower petals that fall on top of the water in the hot tub to the fountain lights flickering off the leaves of the trees. The view of the city was absolutely gorgeous as well. We would stay here over a hotel any day! I can't tell you how nice it was to be away from home but still have all of the conveniences like a toaster over, a nespresso maker, candles, movies, and pretty much anything you can think of. Wonderful everything!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Fabulous Pool House with a Tuscany Feel

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Fabulous Pool House with a Tuscany Feel

    • Guest Johanne and Mario from Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
    • Date of stay 03/30/13
    • Review Submitted 04/20/13
    Villa Sophia, what more can one ask for... An awesome pool house in an Italian-style setting. The pool, the spa, the steam room and the landscaping are extraordinary. The view is spectacular. We were so glad to get back to the Villa to enjoy the quietness and luxury of the house. The fireplace, the kitchenette, the Nespresso latte machine, everything was there to satisfy our needs. Sophie came to see us every morning to get her biscuits.... Our daughter was so glad to see her. It was great to be so close to Griffith Park with its endless trails. The best way to appreciate Villa Sophia is to stay in the Loz Feliz area away from the LA traffic. Tim was very discreet, he made us feel at home and was available if we had any questions. We will definitely go back to relax at the Villa. Tim, thanks for allowing us to feel like this was our place for the week.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Unbeatable L.A. Experience

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Unbeatable L.A. Experience

    • Guest Bill - Wellington, New Zealand
    • Date of stay 01/18/13
    • Review Submitted 02/19/14
    Absolutely superb accommodation far exceeding any hotel suite you could stay in as you get all the luxury of a beautiful hotel suite with sole and exclusive use of the absolutely beautiful garden, terrace, swimming pool and spa. Truly unbeatable in la. Constantine, the owner is a real gentleman leaving you to enjoy his wonderful property as if it was your own. Great location for enjoying walks around the Griffith Park.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/0

  • Best find ever!

    Best find ever!

    • Guest Mary M.
    • Date of stay 01/04/13
    • Review Submitted 01/11/13
    Although the pictures say it all, you really must be at this incredible retreat to experience all its splendor. This is a beautiful place in an exceptional location in an awesome neighborhood with yummy food and walking distance to a network of paths in the gigantic and gorgeous park. Tim, the owner, was so responsive and always available, yet gave us the privacy to feel as if we had this whole glorious place to ourselves. The light changes every hour and the views are incredible. Every detail within the living space has been considered. I am very picky about bedding, etc. and the bed, sheets, and pillows are lovely. The steam shower is nicer than any I have ever been in. The temperature controls for the hot tub, etc. are right at your fingertips. There is a beautiful gas fireplace to gather around. The kitchen is well equipped. I was there with kids, and Tim was very welcoming and considerate of what they would need (Keep in mind your kids would need to be very proficient swimmers. They slept on an air mattress and loved it. But this place is probably best suited to couples, so romantic...) Everything is very clean, all the time. Not only would I recommend this property to a relative, but I hope to return myself, and it is already part of a beautiful memory for my family.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • All the Luxury of a Beautiful Hotel Suite

    Guest comment entered by owner

    All the Luxury of a Beautiful Hotel Suite

    • Guest Bill, Wellington, New Zealand
    • Date of stay 12/21/12
    • Review Submitted 01/25/13
    Absolutely superb accommodation far exceeding any hotel suite you could stay in as you get all the luxury of a beautiful hotel suite with sole and exclusive use of the absolutely beautiful garden, terrace, swimming pool and spa. Truly unbeatable in L.A. Constantine, the owner is a real gentleman leaving you to enjoy his wonderful property as if it was your own. Great location for enjoying walks around the Griffith Park.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Even More Beautiful than the Pictures

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Even More Beautiful than the Pictures

    • Guest Jon and Rosie
    • Date of stay 12/14/12
    • Review Submitted 12/26/12
    We had three days at this villa. Ever dream of traveling to Italy? Well, this is one better, right in your back yard (if you are in S. Cal - recommended highly if you are from elsewhere too). The place is even more beautiful than the pictures, in a truly classical old Los Angeles home way. All the furniture and accessories are the real thing - elegant, old school, and comfortable. The pool rivals the tile pool at the Hearst Castle on a small scale. The feeling is so peaceful, and the view of Los Angeles is extraordinary. Nearby you have the endless trails of Griffith Park, and the Griffith Observatory is in walking distance. There is a huge steam bath and ample sized Jacuzzi. The kitchen is small but fully useful - even free espresso for coffee lovers. A huge comfortable bed and Hi-Def. TV with surround sound, plus some videos and books available for your use, round out the experience

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • charm! comfort! views! peace!

    charm! comfort! views! peace!

    • Guest APV (USA)
    • Date of stay 11/20/12
    • Review Submitted 01/23/13
    Villa Sophia is a truly charming property; the accommodations are very comfortable (great bed), and well outfitted. Has a wonderful sense of privacy and seclusion, while being in a most handy location. We found it to be very quiet. The outdoor space is extensive, well furnished, and completely enchanting- with a large and stunning tiled pool. However, the view is the most outstanding part of Villa Sophia- exquisite panorama of LA! Tim, the owner/host, was very welcoming and helpful and was on hand to answer questions. This is a VERY special property! NB, there are steps to the property- if that's an issue, you might check with Tim- I'm not sure how many steps there are-

    Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Transported to Tuscany...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Transported to Tuscany...

    • Guest Joe from Masachusetts
    • Date of stay 10/17/12
    • Review Submitted 12/26/12
    What an unbelievable experience I had staying at the Villa Sophia. From the moment you step foot on the property, you are transported to Tuscany. I absolutely love the fact that you are so close to everything in LA, yet there's such a feeling of privacy and exclusivity. You can't ask for a better host than Tim. He greets you immediately; helps you with your bags; explains everything about the property in perfect detail. The pool house is cozy, well-lit, and beautifully decorated. The full use of the pool and hot tub felt amazing after a full day at Universal Studios and Disneyland. I felt so relaxed, and let's not forget about the one-of-a-kind shower; it has a steam room built inside! I have absolutely no desire to stay anywhere else while in the Los Angeles area. I am looking to return next spring and bring my girlfriend along. I have no doubt in my mind that she'll flip when she sees this place. Many thanks to Tim Vlahos and Sophie! See you both soon!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • The best place to stay in LA

    Guest comment entered by owner

    The best place to stay in LA

    • Guest Meaghan and Zachary, Toronto, Cananda
    • Date of stay 10/16/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    Our one-week honeymoon at Villa Sophia was absolutely perfect. If you're considering booking here, just do it. The property, the view - gorgeous. The pool and hot tub are wonderful. The bed and the steam shower will have you relaxed in no time. The little kitchen has everything you need. It's perfectly situated, close to everything we wanted to visit (delicious restaurnats, a concert at the hollywood bowl, visit to the Griffith Observatory). Tim is a wonderful host. Sophie is a charming visitor. It's really, truly perfect. Seriously, just stop your researching and book it : )

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • 25th Wedding Anniversary, wished we stayed longer

    Guest comment entered by owner

    25th Wedding Anniversary, wished we stayed longer

    • Guest Martin and Emma, Reading, England
    • Date of stay 09/29/12
    • Review Submitted 11/01/12
    After an extensive search of the internet my wife and I came across Villa Sophia and our first thought was that there had to be a catch.......but no! It is exactly as stated and pictured from our internet viewings. The property was a Hollywood haven with amazing views of LA, its also quiet which we wanted - certainly to start our vacation. The pool and terrace area were lovely and we really felt very at home. The pool house was perfect - comfortable bed, and the views are stunning even from the over sized shower morning or evening! We stayed for 4 nights, and then moved on to San Diego for 4 nights, we should have stayed at Villa Sophia! Los Feliz and its great restaurants are only short (ish) walk away, especially EN Sushi which we loved. Tim you were attentive and the perfect host, at some point we will be back..........THANK YOU!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A LOVELY PLACE TO RELAX WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF LA

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A LOVELY PLACE TO RELAX WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF LA

    • Guest Cecile (Paris, France)
    • Date of stay 08/05/12
    • Review Submitted 09/27/12
    We stayed at The Villa Sophia for a full week with our 2 young daughters and had a very good time. The guest house is very convenient, the pool perfect, the garden ideal to enjoy meals and the view absolutely stunning. Los Feliz is a very nice area with all convenient shops nearby and very close from all the spots to visit in the city. We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed all the time spent there. This is the kind of place you want to keep secret to be sure it will be availble when you want to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • lovely and unique

    lovely and unique

    • Guest myra (toronto, canada)
    • Date of stay 07/20/12
    • Review Submitted 10/22/12
    This was one of the most interesting places my husband and I have stayed, in LA or anywhere else. Tim, the owner, is a pleasure to deal with. As others have noted, aside from the spectacular views, it is the attention to detail that sets this place apart. Everything has been chosen with thought. We only had a few days to enjoy the Villa, but the experience has stayed with us. We will certainly return. Myra and Neil, Toronto, Canada

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • AMAZING....Just as the pictures

    Guest comment entered by owner

    AMAZING....Just as the pictures

    • Guest Kelly & Ian- UK
    • Date of stay 07/12/12
    • Review Submitted 08/16/12
    We wanted something amazing but private as a base for our adventures in California, a hotel could not fulfill this. THANKFULLY we found The Villa Sophia Pool House. This is nothing less than incredible, literally what you see in the pictures is what you get. Tim( Owner) is superb, you literally feel like the place is yours while you are there...you have sole access to the pool and beautiful gardens. Total luxury at a great price!! The Villa Sophia is everything you could wish for and more...Thank-you for an incredible stay!! Until next time!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Beautiful views and great attention to detail.

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Beautiful views and great attention to detail.

    • Guest Ryan and Campbell
    • Date of stay 05/15/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    My wife & I stayed at the Villa Sophia while in Los Angeles for a weekend. We loved it. The Villa is secluded but a short walk to the heart of Los Feliz, and the view from the pool is beautiful. What really makes the Villa special, though, is the owner's careful attention to detail. Tim provided a wealth of amenities -- large and small -- for our stay: espresso/cappuccino machine, iPhone docs for the stereo; clothes steamer, curling iron, wine fridge, steam shower, yoga mats, and many more. Our mornings involved waking up, enjoying a fresh cappuccino while gazing over the Hollywood hills, grabbing breakfast at Little Dom's (5 minutes away), and then lounging by the pool. Everything was fantastic, and we can't wait to return. Thanks, Tim!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Amazing! Hollywood Glamour for our Honeymoon

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing! Hollywood Glamour for our Honeymoon

    • Guest Deianira
    • Date of stay 05/04/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    The Villa Sophia is amazing!!! Looks exactly like it does in the pictures - like a historic piece of Hollywood glam. The strangest thing is that the bit you stay in is a new extension - but has been done in such a fantastic way, that you can't imagine it never having been there. It's right up on top of a winding hill road - so the views are unbelievable. It's secluded but close to Los Feliz so you have the best of both worlds. The accommodation itself is gorgeous! Huge comfy bed, lovely fireplace, little kitchen but the best bit to me was the huge steam room complete with three showers! That and the beautiful pool / jacuzzi outside. The owner Tim was great - you're staying in part of his home, but it didn't feel like you were imposing as the two areas are separate-ish anyway. His dog Sophie was adorable!! There was a box of dog biscuits to give her when she came a calling...and boy did she love those biscuits!! Don't get me wrong - she wasn't there all the time, but it was really sweet in the morning - she would come down, get a biscuit and scurry off!! Adorable dog :) In short it felt a little bit like being a Hollywood star for a few days! If I could live in that pool house I would! Not sure when we will have the money to stay here again but it was a superb location for part of our honeymoon and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone! :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • A serene paradise atop of LA's bustling metropolis

    Guest comment entered by owner

    A serene paradise atop of LA's bustling metropolis

    • Guest Fran
    • Date of stay 04/30/12
    • Review Submitted 08/13/12
    Villa Sophia is nothing short of spectacular. Upon entering the house complex, we (my partner and I) immediately felt as if we had been transported to a villa in Tuscany. The air changed, the mood lightened, the lemon and orange trees surrounding the house tweaked our senses. We could barely believe that a place like this existed in a busy city like LA. The amazing views to be had from the palce aside, the suite had all the things needed to pamper ourselves (Tim, the owner, has thought of everything!) - cozy blankets to keep us warm while we watched the gorgeous sunset from the patio, yoga mats and pool loungers, an indoor fireplace, a large TV and extremely comfortable bed, a walk-in shower...and the list goes on. He even had a bottle of champagne and Perrier waiting for us! Our stay at Villa Sophia was definitely the highlight of our trip. I can't wait to return!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Luxurious place to stay! Absolutely one of a kind!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Luxurious place to stay! Absolutely one of a kind!

    • Guest Heide & Dennis from Helsinki
    • Date of stay 10/06/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    We had the privilege to spend the last week of our three week honeymoon at Villa Sophia and we loved it !!! The apartment, the steam bath, the location, the beautiful house, garden and the private swimming pool were all just amazing!!! Perfect ending to our perfect honeymoon, which began in Bora Bora. If you visit la I strongly recommend you to stay at Villa Sophia! The beautiful pictures on the website don't do justice to the place - it is just sooo beautiful!Thank you Tim and thank you Sophia for the wonderful stay! We really, really hope to find time to come back soon!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Incredible stay, amazing place, awesome host, but... Request a few added conveniences

    Incredible stay, amazing place, awesome host, but... Request a few added conveniences

    • Guest Mai (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 09/27/11
    • Review Submitted 11/26/11
    Even with a few very minor drawbacks that only mildly bothered us from time to time, this property provided us with a very pleasurable, relaxing experience overall. The host is very inviting, helps you with your luggage, explains how everything works & then... gives you your privacy! The only likely visitor is Sophia. She is such a sweet little dog! Her curiosity is very endearing. The view is beautiful from every angle & the pool house offers a stress-melting indoor/outdoor experience that can't be beat. We felt truly transported & our visitors were enchanted. The accommodations were eat-off-the-floor clean, well kept, brightly lit & luxuriously appointed. The kitchenette was small but user friendly. The breakfast bar only seated one comfortably but we spent every meal "in" at the glass table outdoors anyway. Besides the jaw-dropping view all-around, my other favorite features on the property had to be the incredibly large multi-function rain shower that turns into a steam-room on command & the lull-you-to-sleep, perfectly molded, chaise lounge in the bathroom's changing area. As for those drawbacks I mentioned, most of them are probably avoidable via early requests to the host (be prepared to pay for this added convenience, it'll surely be worth every penny)... 1) The pool... Must be heated to truly enjoy it, & you must pay additionally for that heat. Also, morning swims are best to avoid the bugs that are naturally attracted to the water by afternoon. For later bug-less swims, there's a skimmer near the pool. 2) If you plan to utilize the yard for meals alfresco, swimming & lounging, be sure to request that someone cleans the lounge chairs/cushions from top to bottom before your arrival & also be sure to arrange a clean up after any landscaping. We found the conditions outside to be less pristinely managed than the ones inside. As it is expected outside (and only so manageable), spiders were living in the lounge cushions, webs were in the flower plants & statues near the pool, but it was probably most uncomfortable returning to find landscapers' clippings covering every surface (including the pool) at a vacation stay. 3) As for the unavoidable. There's only street parking. Don't bring an SUV or other large vehicle -- it's on an extremely narrow road in the hills. There's also conditional parking here, so know before you go. All told, this place was worth every penny & unforgettable. We just wish we planned ahead for the extras!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Owner response: Well, all winning streaks eventually come to an end. This is our first non-5 star review since we opened 3 years ago. I certainly will have a talk with my housekeeper and gardener regarding the seat cushions, spider webs and grass clippings although they have both always been exemplary employees and exceptionally fastidious. Regarding the bugs, Southern California has very few bugs but like all pools some bugs will land on the water. The pool filter (skimmer) can be turned on by the guest at any time. Pool heat is a personal preference but I was able to go back and find that the Los Angeles temperature was 85 degrees upon check-in for Maitley on September 27. The pool is completely tiled, has southern exposure for all day sunshine and is shielded from any possible wind so therefore warmer than other pools. If this pool needed to be heated then all pools need to be heated. Regarding parking I myself have parked my Range Rover SUV's on this dead-end street every day since I moved here in year 2000 with never a problem. Also, to illustrate, I built much of what is now the Villa Sophia over a couple year period, which required that very many, larger than SUV, trucks needed to park on my street with never any issues. Lastly, the conditional street parking applies to approximately 50% of this empty, dead-end street. The marked areas only apply on "Red Flag Days" which according to the local fire department we have had 4 in 2011. We alert guests when such a day is upon us and instruct them to park directly up the street about 50 meters. We will be sure to address that in our rental agreement forthwith. Thank you Maitely and I hope you will come again! Tim

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • !! 5 Star Luxury !!

    !! 5 Star Luxury !!

    • Guest Benjamin B.
    • Date of stay 09/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/21/11
    We loved to be at the overwhelming tuscan hilltop villa, enjoying the pool, the luxury outdoor spa and of course the amazing, incredible Los Angeles skyline view. We definitey will come back again. Great and very secure neighborhood, great restaurants nearby, very nice village of Los Feliz. Griffith Park and Observatory very near. Espescially the big bathroom with the sauna we used everyday. Fire place at the bedroom is great for romantic evenings.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Just Amazing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Just Amazing

    • Guest Chris from Oxfordshire, UK
    • Date of stay 09/11/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    My wife, young 8 month old daughter and myself stayed at Villa Sophia in September 2011. We could not recommend it enough to anyone who is in LA for a week or more (or less for that matter) as it is far more convenient and on a par price-wise than many aspects of staying in la hotels. You will never get tired of the amazing views while sitting in the hot tub, large pool, steam room, the lovely big bed and the luxurious and tasteful nature of absolutely everything. This is near perfection, all down to the smallest detail. If you are a fan of peace and tranquility, this is also the place for you - well away from the hustle and bustle of Hollywood, yet perfectly placed for travelling to all parts of LA, indeed California as it is just 5 mins from the highway to SF. Tim is a perfect host - always around if you need anything but not obtrusive and we had a wonderful and restful week here. Kind of like staying in a relaxed hotel where the fridge is full of your own beers and snacks and you have total privacy. This will always be our home in future whenever we visit LA - would particularly recommend to European visitors not familiar with the areas as it is a great base.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Cannot recommend Villa Sophia enough!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Cannot recommend Villa Sophia enough!

    • Guest Ren and Mick from Australia
    • Date of stay 09/01/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    What fantastic memories my husband and I have of Villa Sophia! 7 nights in paradise is how we describe this Villa to our friends back in australia. We found Villa Sophia on line and booked our whole USA holiday around staying at this Villa! and we are so glad we did. The attention to detail, location & cleanliness of the Villa was excellent. The friendliness of host Tim & Pet host Sophie was really great, especially when nothing is too much for Tim (like checking I didnt leave the straightener on when I had left for the day!!). Tim leaves you to live in the Villa as if it where your own home! Pet dog Sophie visiting us for her dog biscuits helped too.. We spent many days sitting on the Deck Lounge chairs sunning ourselves & relaxing by the pool and thinking wow this is so awesome! I can't recommend Villa Sophia enough to anyone staying in the la area. The location near all the places we wanted to explore was ideal, like Runyon Canyon, Griffith Park, Beverley Hills, Venice Beach etc.. and best of all we felt safe. Thanks Tim & Sophie! We hope that we can stay with you again in the near future :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Tuscan Inspired Oasis in Los Angeles

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Tuscan Inspired Oasis in Los Angeles

    • Guest Cynthia from Las Vegas
    • Date of stay 08/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    The Villa Sophia will not disappoint even the most discerning traveler. Its astounding beauty and tranquility provide an atmosphere ripe for relaxation, all the while the excitement of Los angeles is a stones throw away. We visited for my husband's birthday getaway and the Villa Sophia provided a serene backdrop for our la adventures.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Tuscan Inspired Oasis in Los Angeles

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Tuscan Inspired Oasis in Los Angeles

    • Guest Cynthia from Las Vegas
    • Date of stay 08/14/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    The Villa Sophia will not disappoint even the most discerning traveler. Its astounding beauty and tranquility provide an atmosphere ripe for relaxation, all the while the excitement of Los angeles is a stones throw away. We visited for my husband's birthday getaway and the Villa Sophia provided a serene backdrop for our la adventures.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Paradise

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Paradise

    • Guest Rozalynd from Sonoma County, California
    • Date of stay 08/12/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    My husband and I have had on heck of a stressful summer, and really needed to relax and unwind. We found Villa Sophia and thought it was just the ticket...and it was! We swam in the beautiful crystal clear pool everyday, sipped champagne in the hot tub while enjoying the fabulous city lights of downtown la at night, and the steam shower in the awesome master bath was just what the doctor ordered. Our little dog, CoCo, loved the beautiful grounds so much, that when it was time to leave, she wouldn't budge. We had to carry her out (to be honest, we didn't want to leave either!). We come to la often and we will be back. Such a treat!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Romantic Hideaway

    Romantic Hideaway

    • Guest Alex H. (London)
    • Date of stay 06/24/11
    • Review Submitted 08/08/11
    This was the second time we have stayed at Villa Sophia. It is a fantastic place to stay. Close enough to downtown LA, 10 minutes drive, Universal Studios and Griffin Park but tucked away in the hills that you would not realise you were so close. We stayed here for our anniversary. It was extremely romantic. We especially enjoyed watching the sunsets from the hot tub. It is great value compared to a five star hotel with the various taxes, parking and internet charges. Facilities include a shower room that turns into a steam room, hot tub, swimming pool, exercise mats and weights. Villa Sophia has a homely feel added to with the appearance of the owners dog, Sophie who was really friendly and fun.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Romantic Villa in the Hills....

    Romantic Villa in the Hills....

    • Guest Jan (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada)
    • Date of stay 05/22/11
    • Review Submitted 06/21/11
    We recently spent 6 days at this wonderful property. From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked the perfect place. The accommodation, grounds, pool, view, all remarkable. Our host Tim was very gracious and we appreciated the privacy provided by this terrific home. The location was perfect, and my husband enjoyed being able to have his daily 'runs' in the area. This property is the place for those seeking something special and exclusive in the heart of LA! Many thanks Tim! We shall return!

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Our Favorite Los Angeles 5 Star Hotel

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Our Favorite Los Angeles 5 Star Hotel

    • Guest Stephanie
    • Date of stay 05/21/11
    • Review Submitted 07/18/11
    Enticed by the enchanting photos of Villa Sophia, my 21 year old daughter and I soon found ourselves outside it's walled gate and door. Tim, the villa's charming owner, welcomed us and graciously escorted us to the pool house . Well, the photos had lured us, and the actual experience captivated us. So much so that we promptly booked our next longer stay even prior to departure! Although typically guests of many of the 5 Star hotels in the Los angeles area, this time we found ourselves seemingly magically transported into a whole other world, easily making this our overall favorite. What was best about it? The privilege of finding ourselves enjoying top notch accommodations within a space whose dimensions seamlessly expanded to include the breathtaking garden and pool, with vistas of the skyline twinkling in the background. There are no bad days here - even on a rainy morning we happily sipped coffee by the crackling fireplace and marveled at the almost fairy tale like setting we found ourselves in. The photos and description of this property are modest in terms of what we actually enjoyed. What remains an additional plus is the warmth and grace of it's owner, who has left no stone unturned to ensure that his pampered guests feel happy, welcome, and at home!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Anna from Sweden
    • Date of stay 04/18/11
    • Review Submitted 05/09/11
    "THE BEST VACATION EVER!" The Villa is even more beautiful than the pictures suggest. It is absolutely gorgeous with its view of downtown L.A., the pool and everything that makes the experience Tuscan as well as Hollywoodesque. The first class furniture and accessories ranges from Cartier key chains to a wonderfully soft Williams- Sonoma cashmere blanket which adds to the luxurious feel to the place . Needless to say everything was clean and very comfortable (I'm especially thinking about the bed which was particularly comfortable- I've never slept so well!). Everything from booking, paying, checking in, to staying at the Villa has been a pleasure. Tim is the perfect host- barely visible but always very welcoming. My fiancé and I enjoyed the stay so much that we instantly started to plan our return to the Villa. To verbalize how we feel about our stay at the Villa is much harder than I imagined- there's simply no words! Let me just say that it was an outstanding vacation rental and that I think it's by far the best way to experience Los angeles!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Heaven on Earth

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Heaven on Earth

    • Guest Alicia from Seattle
    • Date of stay 04/05/11
    • Review Submitted 10/24/11
    What an incredibly peaceful and restorative stay! Not only does the Villa Sophia have a stunning view but it's location is next to Griffith Park with all the recreation and fabulous neighborhoods to explore. The light and love of this property radiates in the beauty and small details of the architecture and comfortable furnishings Our spirits so enjoyed every moment of our stay; swimming, soaking, steaming, meals around the pool and long nights under the stars. Tim and Sophia are lovely hosts and create a sacred and most private space to relax in. Bravo for a one of a kind experience!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Villa Sophia is Breathtaking

    Villa Sophia is Breathtaking

    • Guest Batman (Middle East)
    • Date of stay 03/23/11
    • Review Submitted 03/29/11
    There isn't a word in the Webster Dictionary to describe how wonderful my stay was at the Villa Sophia. From the time I reserved it online Tim was the elite professional and provided information to the letter without a hiccup. I was skeptical at first as I was coming from a great distance - the middle east and had never rented a vacation property. But Tim quickly put to rest any uncertainty. The pictures on the internet DOESN'T do Villa Sophia any justice but I understand you have to put something up for advertisement. Tim has opened his wonderful pool house to the world and I encourage anyone looking for something special and unique then this is the place. I will never stay in a hotel again as long as VIlla Sophia is available when I'm in the Los Angeles area. Los Feliz hills is a well kept secret that I'm glad I stumbled up on. The local attractions were cozy, laid back and romantic. So may I extend my sincere thanks and gratitude to Tim for opening the Villa Sophia to me. JW

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest Lisa
    • Date of stay 03/21/11
    • Review Submitted 04/06/11
    I just had the pleasure of staying at The Villa Sophia for the 3rd time and another review is in order because there are new luxuries since my trip - including a gorgeous new bed, walk ways with flowers, 2 huge olive trees that lend the perfect amount of shade to the lounge chairs by the pool, aqua de parma amenities - yum! And lastly, it was raining and I discovered the fireplace, which made a dreary week, cozy and warm. Once again, it's simply the best "hotel room" in LA - even in the rain! Highly recommended!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 1/2

  • Guest comment entered by owner

    • Guest ranster
    • Date of stay 02/04/11
    • Review Submitted 02/10/11
    Worth every cent! We feel so lucky to have secured a booking here Tim and Sophia were perfect hosts -giving us sufficient privacy not to intrude but also did not make us feel forgotten.We stayed in 5 star hotels in New York and San Francisco and the comfort and facilities in Villa Sophia surpassed both.We especially liked the espresso machine, steam room/shower and open fire. (and Sophie of course) We will definitely return- next time for a longer stay.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • "A Weekend I Will Never Forget"

    Guest comment entered by owner

    "A Weekend I Will Never Forget"

    • Guest Brian Chesky
    • Date of stay 01/15/11
    • Review Submitted 01/19/11
    Amazing! Staying at Tim and Sophia's place was truly a remarkable experience; the kind where you instantly think to tell all of your friends. I had an immediate instinct to share photos on Facebook and Twitter. It is actually shocking to think that you could get this grandiose villa in the hills of Los Feliz, just next to the Hollywood Hills, for under $400 a night. The home was built in 1927, but the poolhouse that you will be staying in was recently built in 2003. You will have exclusive access to an exquisite pool and hot tub, where you will be able to enjoy a view of the Los Angeles skyline, and view into the horizon for miles. You may recognize the house as the set for the Bride of Frankenstein movie. Quite secluded, and basking in the warm rays of Souther California, this luxurious dream home created a weekend I will never forget.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • pictures do not do it justice...

    Guest comment entered by owner

    pictures do not do it justice...

    • Guest worldtraveler777_11 from Nashville, Tennessee
    • Date of stay 12/24/10
    • Review Submitted 01/08/11
    After almost 3 years we took a vacation that did not involve work and saw this amazing property. We have traveled here in the USa and abroad and sometimes when you get to a property, it is not all that it was advertised. To be honest, the pictures do not do it justice, as it is more beautiful in person. The grounds, landscaping, furniture and everything together makes one think that you are in a 5 star spa resort! The shower that also acts as a steam room is the "piece de resistance". Tim has excellent taste and has painstakingly created a space that is elegant, has wondeful views [ you can see downtown la ] , and most importantly, very private. We felt that we had this beautiful property all to ourselves as we only saw our host one time during our stay. Tim was always available by phone or email if you had a question or he saw a way to make things more comfortable for you! Tim greeted us upon arrival and went over the operation of the pool, hot tub, steam shower, etc and also helped us with our luggage. We highly recommend this property to anyone that seeks an oasis that soothes your mind as well as body! We cant wait to return to this beautiful property!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Ultimate Relaxation

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Ultimate Relaxation

    • Guest Melanie and Clark Walker from Bloomington,Illinois
    • Date of stay 10/29/10
    • Review Submitted 12/02/10
    There are insufficient words to describe what a magnificent place this is. It is such a gift that Tim is willing to open his home and share it with others. From the steam shower to the outdoor jacuzzi our time here was completely relaxing. The wine and chocolate a pleasant suprise. We enjoyed the Nespresso regulary-in fact loved it so much we will replace our dated and unused machine at home with one soon. Our only regret is that our business required us to be gone as much as we were-but the time we were there was such a peaceful interlude. Better than a five star resort! Thanks so much Tim!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Downtown Luxury

    Downtown Luxury

    • Guest Alex H. (London)
    • Date of stay 10/04/10
    • Review Submitted 11/09/10
    My wife and I stayed at Villa Sophia in October 2010. We would recommend it, very quiet, relaxing with a pool, hot tub and steam bath. The pool house was very spacious with a small kitchen. Much better than staying in a hotel.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, romantic getaway, sightseeing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Don't look any further! This is the perfect place!

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Don't look any further! This is the perfect place!

    • Guest By Jen255100 from Melbourne, Australia
    • Date of stay 09/01/10
    • Review Submitted 12/02/10
    On arrival, my husband and I gasped at the obvious features - the amazing view, the beautiful pool and hot tub (spa), huge bathroom with steam room and gorgeous decor. We couldn't believe that we didn't have to share this with anyone (except each other!). On further investigation we were delighted to discover the little touches that make Sophia Villa even more special: delicious wine and chocolates, L'Occitane bathroom products and the world's most comfortable bed! We will definitely stay here again!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Beautiful getaway

    Beautiful getaway

    • Guest happy traveler (New York, NY)
    • Date of stay 08/31/10
    • Review Submitted 09/10/10
    Everything about our stay at the villa was perfection. The location's terrific, the views are unbeatable, and Tim (along with friendly pets Sophie and Mittens) is a wonderful host. The pool and villa are every bit as beautiful as the pictures suggest. Perfect stay for an independent couple looking to enjoy LA and relax in a private, gorgeous environment. Highly recommended!

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Amazing

    Guest comment entered by owner

    Amazing

    • Guest Joanna and Andreas from Warsaw, Poland
    • Date of stay 08/28/10
    • Review Submitted 12/02/10
    This is the perfect place to stay in L.A. Absolutly private, fantastic views and an amazing pool. We spent wonderful, relaxing 10 days at Villa Sophia. Thanks Tim! I highly recommend this property.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Tuscany Retreat and Highly Recommended

    Tuscany Retreat and Highly Recommended

    • Guest Ros (CA)
    • Date of stay 08/21/10
    • Review Submitted 08/31/10
    A unique Tuscany Retreat that should be experienced. Perfect intimate retreat for a couple and have recommended as such to many friends.

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1

  • Amazing!

    Amazing!

    • Guest Angela (San Antonio,Tx)
    • Date of stay 07/31/10
    • Review Submitted 08/12/10
    Everything about Villa Sophia is first class. Tim is a great host and he really did think of everything to make his guests comfortable. The linens, beautiful lighting, fantastic spa shower and of course the pool and terrace were simply luxurious. My husband had music playing constantly throughout the villa with the first class sound system. Although not a full kitchen, we had everything there we needed but the stove , and who wants to cook on vacation anyway? The views are gorgeous and I must admit, having a private pool and hot tub was just awesome! We love the Los Feliz area and we were minutes by car from grocery,restaurants and our son! I know we'll be back. Tim, his adorable dog, Sophie and his cat Mittens made us feel very welcome.

    Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No Helpful votes: 0/1



Page 1 of 2 [ 1 | 2 ] Next