Large Home Sleeps 8. Walk to the Village. Perfect Family Getaway! [#208249] | View Property
3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Full Bathrooms. Sleeps 8.
$1250 - $1900/wk US Dollars
Write a Review
Beautiful, Spacious, Multi-family Vacation Home
Beautiful, Spacious, Multi-family Vacation Home
This listing was everything it stated and more. The layout of this home is perfect for two families with plenty of extra room so that no one ever feels like they are "on top of each other." We had a total of 8 guests stay at this property and you would never have known. As soon as we arrived and opened the front door- we were in love!! The loft was much larger than expected and added so much appeal to the living area. The kitchen was huge with plenty of counter-space to prepare meals for a large group with high-end appliances. The property was very clean and well stocked with all of your basic neccessities and much more. Another added benefit not mentioned in the listing is a sliding glass window that opens to an outside "bar" which made grilling easy. The bedrooms were spacious and the walk-in closets were so big that I do not believe anyone could ever run out of room. The bathrooms (not pictured) were perfect. There were separate areas for showering so that more than one person could utilize bathroom space at a given time. The patio/deck area (my personal favorite) was enormous with plenty of chairs to sit outside while enjoying the beautiful, tropical atmosphere that surrounds you. Our families loved having the use of a pool and spa all to ourselves during our vacation which was maintained/cleaned twice during the week of our stay. The village is a short walk- pretty much around the corner from the house with plenty of shopping, restaurants, and bars to choose from. There were closer beach access points to the property, but we chose to drive to other beach access points that included parking. The drive was only 2 or 3 minutes. I can honestly say that there is absolutely nothing that I would change about this property. Jim and his wife were a pleasure to work with and always responded to any questions or concerns in a timely manner. There is no doubt in my mind that we will rent this property again next year, and that seems like it can't come soon enough!!!!
- Guest Jennifer D.
- Date of stay 07/27/13
- Review Submitted 08/06/13
Owner response: Thank you for your kind words. We're very pleased you enjoyed your vacation and our home. We wish you the best in all your travels, and hope we'll see you again here on Siesta Key in the future!
quiet roomy retreat
quiet roomy retreat
My husband, sister, brother and I stayed at this home 10 days. The house is as described. As mentioned by a previous reviewer the house is older and in need of some repair. The patio screens did not slide and were off track when we first arrived. A call to Jim was quickly responded to early the next day when he came to repair the sliders. The house was set up perfectly for us with the master suite on one side and the other two bedrooms and bath on the other side of the porch. this allowed for privacy. The patio was accessed from the living room and two of the bedrooms. The kitchen had a pass through window to the patio which was very convenient. We paid to have the pool heated and even with cooler nights it was pleasant to swim in especially followed by a soak in the hot tub. A pool cover would help retain the heat. The neighborhood was quiet and only a 10" walk to town and beach-if you used one of the beach access roads off Ocean. The backyard is private and jungle-like. Only recommendations are to up grade at least main tv to flat screen(no need to have tube tv's any more) and to clean/replace carpet. All in all a great find. Thanks, Jim!
- Guest sue (Milwaukee)
- Date of stay 01/26/13
- Review Submitted 02/07/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you enjoyed our home, and hope we’ll see you again in the future. We take your comments seriously. For future guests’ viewing pleasure, we’ve just replaced the living room and master bedroom TV’s with high definition flat screen models. A huge improvement! Thank you again, and happy travels!
The house was amazing! The pictures don't do it justice. The wooden deck around the pool is huge and provided the perfect space to lounge and just hang out. The bedrooms are large and large closets for lots of storage. The bathrooms were large as well. Everything was very clean. We enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again next year. The only downside was we couldn't stay longer!
- Guest Ashlee & Russ (Fort Myers, FL)
- Date of stay 10/30/12
- Review Submitted 11/09/12
Recommended for: People with disabilities, age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you for your kind words. We’re always gratified that travelers like you enjoy our home while vacationing on Siesta Key. We hope to see you again soon!
The house was an absolute tropical paradise. Any concerns were promptly addressed by the owner who was very charming. The neighbourhood was quiet and the village and beach access an easy 5 minute walk. We hosted our future in-laws with a barbecue dinner in a relaxed and gracious atmosphere. The end of our vacation came too soon and we would definitely rent here again in the future.
- Guest Vida S (Los Angeles, CA)
- Date of stay 10/06/12
- Review Submitted 10/15/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway, sightseeing.
Owner response: Thank you for your kind words! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll visit us again soon.
The description of the listing was accurate except it didn't mention the two foam style king size beds which were perfect for sleeping. The house was clean and neat, the pool was cleaned twice while we were there and everything worked as expected. The property is very quiet and secluded with beautiful natural foliage it is relatively close to siesta village and the beach and both are within walking distance check a map for distance you may want to drive though. The owner stopped by once to check on us he was very pleasant and asked if we had any issues. The bathrooms worked well, AC was fine, full size washer and dryer looked new, we had no problems at all. This is a beautiful property on a beautiful island you wont be disappointed.
- Guest John N.
- Date of stay 04/14/12
- Review Submitted 04/28/12
Great Get Away!
Great Get Away!
This property listing was accurately described and pleasantly larger than the photos appear. Tho owner, Jim, was very easy to deal with when booking the reservation/negotiation and provided us with all the documentation that he said he would at the appropraite times. I like the fact that there was no security deposit. Instead, your rental included a purchase of rental insurance. The house itself is a bit old and in need of minor maintenance but as a rental home it is perfect. Some of the baking wear is a bit worn but usable. Top of the line cooking range (Viking) which made it fun to cook on vacation. While we were there, we experienced the A/C not working. The owner promptly returned my call and called an on-call A/C service repair to fix it same day, late the evening. Pleasantly surprised! The property is a short walk to the village. VERY QUIET in comparison to others that we traveled with who stayed in the village. Worth the walk/drive for peace. Pool well maintained, pool service came out twice per week. We were not bothered at all by the fact that there was no lanai. There was also plenty of toilet paper in the home! Thanks for a nice stay.
- Guest Tracy M.
- Date of stay 03/31/12
- Review Submitted 04/09/12
Owner response: Thank you for your kind words! Some months ago, we eliminated the need to take and return security deposits. Instead, included in your rental amount is a Property Damage Protection policy, which protects the property against accidental damage which may occur during your stay. With this protection, we no longer require a security deposit from our guests. Also, we take your reviews seriously. As a result of your input, we recently re-stocked the house with a complete line of baking products. Cakes, pies, muffins, pizzas...it's all there just waiting for the baker's touch! And yes, for those who value quiet, our home is perfectly situated. Close enough to be an easy walk to the Village...but in a quiet, private neighborhood. Thank you for sharing your input. We find it valuable, and we're sure that future guests do as well!
We Had A Great TimeGuest comment entered by owner
We Had A Great Time
Had a great time! Thanks for letting us enjoy your house!
- Guest The H. Family
- Date of stay 03/17/12
- Review Submitted 04/27/12
Perfect vacation for 2 families!
Perfect vacation for 2 families!
Had a wonderful time during our visit! The house was larger than it appeared in the pictures and had a great lay-out for 2 families each with 2 kids. The owner was very pleasant to deal with and the location was outstanding. Very walkable to the downtown and beach area. Thanks for an great vacation Jim!
- Guest Julie G.
- Date of stay 03/09/12
- Review Submitted 03/23/12
Owner response: Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed yourselves, and hope you'll visit again.
We have been to Siesta for several years and rented with various firms. We found the management company of this home to be rude, misleading, and a pain to deal with. I was told the pool would be taken care of, only to find upon arrival that we were to provide a deposit. I would not have had an issue with this had the pool been heated properly. It was too cold for our comfort until our last day, to which we complained about on more than one occasion with no response. The oven was broken upon arrival. This was fixed mid week of our stay which caused an inconvenience for our family. The owner of the home showed up the first morning, unexpectedly to "see how things were going". We found this odd and uncomfortable considering we were still in our pajamas. The owner the. Showed up a second time after we called the mgmt company about the stove just to see for himself if it ease not working, it still wasn't working. Then the owners wife, after calling my cell phone numerous times at 8 am, showed upmwith a repair man to fix the stove. Count it, 3 am visits by the owners! I find that unacceptable. And last, but not least, we have yet to receive our full deposit back and have made numerous requests for explanation as to why our deposit was shorted. The owner of this property was easy to work with and the home was what it stated, but I would never stay here again. Thisnhome was left cleaner after we departed than it was upon arrival. We purchased items that we left that were not there such as dish rags and towels along with cleaning supplies. I encouraged this owner several times regarding my concerns with his management company, I hope they have made some changes as it appears we weren't the only ones doped by this place!
- Guest Shannon (Fort Wayne, IN)
- Date of stay 04/01/11
- Review Submitted 07/19/11
Rent with Eyes Wide Open
Rent with Eyes Wide Open
The house is everything it appears to be, beautiful, except there is no lanai as advertised - no outdoor screening at all (and no landline phone). My family enjoyed the house very much, but we had bad experiences with the owners and property manager. We got permission to bring our show dogs (great danes) after giving an extra damage deposit and extra cleaning fee. Because of a previous negative guest review, we requested the property manager meet us prior to check-in to walk through the house so any damage would be recorded and not attributed to us upon check-out. She took pictures on her phone of huge stains on carpets. Our dogs were always crated when left alone in the house, as we explained upon rental. When we requested the prop.mgr. walk through the house with us on check-out, I had to remind her the stains were pre-existing and she took pictures of them. She told us everything was fine. Later, they blamed our dogs for the stains. There was quite a bit wrong with the house on check-in that had to be fixed (which eventually was): all the sliding screen doors were off the runners, all the sliding doors needed oiling, a rusted out BBQ had to be replaced, a burnt out ballast in 2nd bathroom had to be replaced. There was absolutely no yard cleanup or deck cleanup done - I had to wash black grime off pool furniture, sweep cobwebs off the outside of house (front and back) and sweep dead leaves off everything. We even asked if we were the first renters of the season (they said no). We had many problems with the pool heater, first not working at all, then heating the pool to 103 degrees overnight (of which we were under-reimbursed from the propane bill). We found it amusing, that after paying top dollar to rent their house for a month, they charged us for a missing (or ruined, they never explained) face cloth, and a can of air freshener (they said the house smelled like dog which it didn't). To this date, the owners have not replied to several emails we sent outlining our concerns and disappointment in how we were treated - this is very unprofessional and inconsiderate. It took us many email requests to finally get our deposit back, then needed to persist again because they only sent half what was owed. They hold their renters to a high standard with full rental fee up-front months in advance, but they don't meet their own standards. After 12 years renting wonderful properties in Siesta Key without incident, we would not deal with these people again.
- Guest patccline (Richmond Hill, Ontario Canada)
- Date of stay 01/21/11
- Review Submitted 05/12/11
Owner response: We’re very fortunate as property owners on Siesta Key. We’ve had over 60 guests since we began renting our property, and most, as even this guest acknowledges, find the home beautiful. The vast majority of our guests leave pleased. We take guest reviews seriously, and do what we can to make things right when they go wrong. Here’s what we’ve done to address this guest’s concerns: The Home. We thought our photos spoke for themselves…they clearly show that our pool/deck area is not caged. We don’t know why this guest concluded otherwise. However, we’ve updated our property description to clearly state that these areas are not caged, and hope this will prevent future misunderstandings. In terms of a landline phone, we don’t have one, never have had one, do not state in our ad that we have one…we don’t know why this guest concluded we had one. The Dogs. Although beautiful creatures, this guest’s dogs were huge. Please see our property’s photos for a picture of the beasts! It was our mistake to accept such large dogs in the first place. But for this guest to imply that dogs this size left no trace of their presence after a 1-month stay is just disingenuous. Out of fairness to the next incoming guest, we felt it necessary to sanitize and deodorize the house, at this guest’s expense, as they'd previously agreed. Pool/Propane. Our listing makes it clear that the pool is heated at the guest’s expense. This guest stayed with us during Jan/Feb (the coldest part of our season), and requested that the pool be heated to 84 degrees. When temperatures average 50 degrees, heating the pool to 84 does require a bit of propane. The guest was billed only for the propane they used, and were given a credit for that brief time when the water was overheated. Deposits. As stated earlier, extra cleaning was made necessary by this guest’s dogs. This was deducted from the guest’s original deposit, and the balance was accounted for and returned.
Great house for some R&R
Great house for some R&R
We had a great week of rest & relaxation at this house. We had 7, and there was plenty of space for everyone. I don't know that I would consider that hike a short walk to the beach - it is a quick drive, and there was plenty of (free) parking, so that was a preferable option in the heat & humidity to get us there quickly. The accomodations were great - kids spent a ton of time in the pool. The kitchen needed some new pots & pans, but pretty much everything that I needed to cook & prepare meals was there. Fridge was large - the gas oven was in pretty good shape - it did take a little time for me to get used to since I'm used to cooking with electric, though... I thought that the "Village" would offer more shopping and offer more of a market-type experience, but it was primarily just a clustering of bars & restaurants, with just a few shops to stroll through. There was a great ice cream shop, though. On the down side, the house wasn't ready for us to check in on time - they were running a couple of hours behind cleaning. There were a few items that I suggested that the owner fix/repair - I gave them a list, so hopefully most of the items have been fixed. Take toilet paper. Take a DVD player if you want to watch movies. Take laundry detergent so you don't get stuck paying for more than the 2 loads that the cleaners are expecting to perform (also was handy during the week to wash beach towels & clothes). The deposit was a hassle to get back, which was frustrating because it was cash up front (not a credit card hold) & it required multiple follow-ups to get it back (minus the exorbitant cleaning fee). They do disclose the deposit & cleaning fees on the front-end, but I would prefer they just include cleaning fees in the cost of the rental, because the amount charged doesn't jibe with the amount of work required to clean. The beach was gorgeous. The neighborhood was quiet. The weather was outstanding. The owner was responsive and nice - way better to deal with than the property managing company. Overall, the house was great - it was a fantastic week & we would definitely do it again."
- Guest Sean (Tampa, FL)
- Date of stay 08/17/10
- Review Submitted 10/12/10
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet owners, romantic getaway.
A great place to relax!
A great place to relax!
This home was perfect for us! It slept 8 comfortably. The house is in great condition, nice amenities throughout. The house is nicely and tastefully decorated. The beach is about 15 minutes walk but if you drive, there is plenty of parking available. The beach is spectacular! Nice white sand, warm clear water!! My one concern was that the house was not ready when we were to check in. The house smelled like cigarettes even though the house listed as non smoking. Once the housekeeping staff finished cleaning, then everything was fine. The housekeepers were very friendly and gave us good tips for staying on Siesta Key. If we have another opportunity to vacation again in Florida, we would definitely rent this house again!! Thank you Jim!
- Guest Arsenia H. (Half Moon Bay, Ca)
- Date of stay 06/01/10
- Review Submitted 09/05/10
Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway.
Siesta Key Paradise
Siesta Key Paradise
We were 2 families w/3 kids 9mos to 6yrs coming from opposite ends of the country..This home is MUCH larger than the photos imply. We had more than enough room to hang out all together, or have quiet downtime. Originally, we had wanted to be beachfront, but are so glad that we did not make that mistake. It would have far too noisy from the busy street. We were a very easy 10-15 min walk from the nicest beach, and had the benefit of an very quiet relaxing neighbourhood. The home had a beautiful kitchen, and was very well laid out. The pool/hot tub combo was great, and very clean and well maintained. The deck area was huge and enjoyed a good sized awning to stay out of the sun. We have not a negative word to say...already planning our return...thanks Jim!!
- Guest Georoy (Vancouver/Montreal)
- Date of stay 04/24/10
- Review Submitted 06/02/10
Recommended for: People with disabilities, families with teenagers, families with young children.
The house is absolutely beautiful. From our first day there we decided to return next summer. Unfortunately a month after check out we received a partial payment of our security deposit. We were charged for damages that we did not cause...for example a broken screen door to the lanai...we never even used the screen! So basically, the house is nice but be prepared to pay for damages regardless.
- Guest Truly disappointed (nyc)
- Date of stay 08/16/09
- Review Submitted 01/12/10
Owner response: We're always disappointed when our property is damaged and we have to actually use any part of a security deposit. Luckily, it's rarely been the case. Our property is managed by a local, licensed rental agent here on Siesta Key. Damages are reviewed and confirmed. Only real damage to the property results in part of the deposit being held back, which was the case in this instance.